VizioBad tv

D
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

i bought a 32 inch vizio lcdhd tv in december of 2011. it was not used much but on march 7, 2013 the tv would not come on. the vizio light on the front flashes all the time. i called vizio. they told me the circuit board was more than likrly bad ond could not be fixed. never will i buy a vizio product again. hopefully there will be a class action law suit against them. i am all for that

Responses

  • Ta
    tayscott87 Feb 02, 2009

    this tv is worthless. i paid 700 bucks for a tv that wont power on. walmart wont exchange the piece of crap out. all i say is never buy a vizio.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    carrie Apr 08, 2009

    I bought a 42 inch vizio on Feb 28, 2008 and it went out on March 6, 2009. They will not do one thing about this, they have very poor customer service skills and are not interested at all in making their customers happy. I cannot afford another flat screen television. It is horrible that this product is made so poor. I highly suggest to never buy one. Spending the extra money for a better tv will be worth it in the end.

    0 Votes
  • St
    Steve May 15, 2009

    When I plugged my computer into the back of the Vizio (vx32l) it turned off and never turned on again. How can such a small action cause complete system failure? Its remarkable.

    Calling for service, I was on hold for 60 minutes twice.

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Rayna from Virginia Jun 10, 2009

    I too went through the same thing, Customer service is very poor and not at all willing to make things right or even try. I get the "To bad so sad". My T.V went out completely after having it only 15 months. I am also in no position to pay that much money again. I think I saw someone who wants to get people together to file a class action lawsuit. I am going to sign up for that, because this is just not right.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Ronniep Jun 23, 2009

    We bought a Vizio 47" LCD at Costco (3 hours a way) for $1699.99. When we got it home we found it to have grey areas in the black. we loaded it up and returned it...3 hours away. thinking no prob to return. NO! they said we had to call Vizio. We did. After days of fight they said to take a pic, and send it. We did and no response. We kept it. 2 years later it suddenly went dead. we called to find that our 2 year warranty was up 1 month ago. They said our light went out and that is not worth the $ to repair . What suckers we were. Defective and they will not stand behind! We thought we would support them as they were supposed to be for the people (as I heard, anyway) We are just sick about this. disgusted! and saddened with humanity. I think a class action is in order!

    0 Votes
  • Ga
    gablazer Jul 21, 2009

    I purchased a Vizio 32" plasma tv in June 2008, needless to say the tv stopped powering on in July of this year. Of course the 1 year warranty had expired 20 days earlier, and Vizio will do nothing about it. I can assure you that I will never purchase another Vizio product again. Such crappy products with crappy customer service to boot. I hope Walmart truly know what crap they are selling in the name of a good deal. I would rather pay more for a tv and actually have it last for more than a year than pay over $500 for a disposable tv that can bearly make it to the one year mark. And don't tell me about extended warranties, because my four year old HP plasma tv has never had a problem, and it is actually used more than the Vizio. VIZIO = GARBAGE

    0 Votes
  • Dm
    Dmm354178 Aug 29, 2009

    Do you have any info about the class action suit because the same thing happened to me!

    0 Votes
  • No
    none too happy Oct 27, 2009

    My slightly over a year old 32" Vizio TV developed a clicking on/off/on/off/on before finally staying on the other day and this morning clicked it's last click and finally died. There are complaints all over the internet about this junk and Vizio is well aware of the problem but refuses to help in any way. They took our money, continue to push their cheaply made junk and we're screwed.

    0 Votes
  • Jm
    jmfowler Nov 05, 2009

    My vizio is only 10 1/2 months old it died this morning. I've had trouble with it not turning on. I will never buy a Vizio ever again.

    0 Votes
  • Kh
    khs1976 Dec 16, 2009

    my husband and i purchased a vizio 50" HDTV in sept '07. about 3 months ago, it started just cutting off by itself. sometimes it will stay on 3 seconds, sometimes 3 hours. it is a terrible product!!! vizio will not help you if your warranty is even a day expired. we now have a $1300 TV that is worth $0. dont buy vizio anything!!!

    0 Votes
  • To
    Totally Dissapointed Jan 18, 2010

    Vizio stand for Money on trash never buy a Vizio Tv, my tv is only one year old and while watching went off no picture dead, and technical support worse they ask me to take the battery out of the remote control to reset the tv, I told them how stupid that sound, they dont even know what they .doing lost my money

    0 Votes
  • El
    ElishaLear Sep 09, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I purchased a Vizio TV for $1, 000 about 18 months ago. The backlight has went out and we were told by Vizio that this could not be fixed and we had to buy a new TV. They refuse to compensate us in anyway. The TV is going to cost $325 to repair. We will never buy a Vizio again and will tell as many people as we can not to buy one either.

    0 Votes
  • 19
    1969 karen Feb 14, 2011

    I purchased a Vizio television April of 2008. Complete piece of junk now. I paid $1300.00 for this television and the screen blacks out. I would think that a tv should last longer than 2 years. I cannot even find anyone in my area to repair this piece of junk. I will not be purchasing another Vizio televsion. I have 2 more rooms that I would like to put tv's in and they will not be Vizio's.

    0 Votes
  • Vj
    vj100 Jul 11, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I bought this tv from walmart after reading CNET editor choice review. I paid delivery charges and when i tried to start this out of box new product it did not start. I have never seen anything like this in my life . A brand new product not working ...

    I guess CNET editor's reviews are paid reviews ... VIZIO is smart to spend money on it because people trust on online reviews more than tv ads .

    I called their tech support they don't know if the problem is in the TV or remote. the support guy was very rude . he is going to send me another remote after 10 days ... still waiting ... he told me to try with new remote (10 days waiting and still waiting ) after that he will judge if the problem is in the TV or remote.

    I don't have a choice here, I also wrote to emails addresses available on their website but no response ...

    CNET EDITORS I TRUSTED YOU BUT YOU ARE JUST LIKE ANY OTHER COMMERCIAL MEDIA .

    I have never seen any product like this in my 60 yrs.

    0 Votes
  • Jb
    jbfirebird Jul 11, 2011

    one thing you have to be aware of is that there are some cases of things that dont work even though you just pulled it out of the box. i would contact walmart and let them know. they may swap it with another one. you are on the right line by calling tech support though. but, blaming cnet isnt correct. they based their review on a working model.

    0 Votes
  • Ga
    gatortracks Mar 08, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They didn't tell you it can't be fixed. Tell the truth.

    0 Votes
  • Eb
    Ebony1570 Mar 26, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We bought a Vizio Smart TV 50 " from Wal-Mart on 1/15/2013 for the amount of 698.00 . On 3/23/2015 the television started having green spots all over the screen. My husband called Vizio and they told us that it has to do with a circuit board that they will not mess with since it will cost the amount of a new television. And the television only has a 1 year warranty . I would not recommend buying any Vizio products at all . I am going back to a Sanyo since I had my last television for 14 years with no problems. If you have one of these products I wish you luck .I received no help from Vizio at all .They Do not back the product and really seem like they could careless if you spend your hard working money and the product goes out in 27 months. All I can say is what a piece of junk . We bought it at Wal -Mart Troy Mo

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    Barbara Nwufoh Sep 03, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I purchased a Vizio television two years ago. One day I was looking at it and the screen went black. I could heard the audio, but no picture. When I contacted Vizio, they said it was out of warranty. They gave me the phone number of an authorized repair company. When I called them they said it would cost me $309.00 to come to my home to fix it, with a 90 day warranty, if it could br repaired. I contacted the Ohio Attorney General's office. Vizio Then Vizio emailed me and said they would send an authorized repair person to try and repair the television, but if it couldn't be repaired that was it. Vizio would offer no more support for this problem. They also said that I had to sign a statement saying I acknowledge their position to offer no more help. Vizio said they were not replacing the television nor giving me a refund.
    When the repair person came out he said it couldn't be fixed. I emailed Vizio and informed them that I would file a complaint with the Federal Trade Commission and was comtemplate a law suit. Vizio called me the next day and said they would give me a replacement television (40 inches) for $422.00. The Vizio television that stopped showing a picture cost me $588. including taxes. It was 47 inches, flat screen. I asked them why would I purchased another defective television from them. I will never buy another Vizio product. Please file a complaint with the Attorney General and the Federal Trade Commission if this has happened to you. All televisions should last a minimum of five years. Vizio takes advanage of consumers. The produce defective television and make no effort to solve the problems with the tevison. Vizio is fully aware that the television has problems and they have to rebuild the television to repair it. Never buy any Vizio products if you want a reliable long lasting product.

    0 Votes
  • Re
    Reviewer47765 Nov 05, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    2 yr. old 44" Vizio developed dark cloud in middle of screen. I've been told that it can't be fixed. This is ridiculous. Poor quality, poor design and this appears to be a common problem.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.