Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In
The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website

Sony Ericsson India / Unjustified and unreasonable acts of the manufacturers and service providers

India Review updated:
95% 38
I purchased 1 pc. Sony Ericsson W800i cell phone (IMEI No. [protected]) from M/S S.P. Communication on 15/04/2006 for Rs. 18900 (Bill no. 00/62/K6). After using it for sometime, the joystick stopped working and I complained the same to the authorized service centre of Sony Ericsson (USHA INFOTECH (P) LTD., MR. GOUTAM CHAKRABORTY, Beslls House, 10A, Ho-Chi-Minh Sarani,2nd Floor, Kolkata, West Bengal, 700071 Phone: [protected]) on 15/11/2006 and deposited my handset vide complaint ID [protected]. On 17/11/2006, I phoned the concerned officer MR. GAUTAM CHKRABORTY and he told me that the handset cannot be repaired and further they will replace the same with the new one as it is under warranty period. Subsequently, I deposited the phone accessories full box to them. They were supposed to give the replacement withing 10 to 15 days. Thereafter I paid several visits to them followed by phone calls but they are not giving any head. It is almost 50 days have passed.Mr. Chakraborty has finally promised me to give the replacement on 7/01/2007 but again failed. To the most disgust, he is saying a stereotyped message " We cant say, whenever the Company will provide, we will give you the replacement".

I am a common consumer and facing a tremendous hardship due to such practice of the authorized service centre. I seek your kind intervention to get me the replacement and the compensation for the delay and the strict action against the authorized service centre, M/S Usha Infotech (particularly the concerned officer Mr. Gautam Chakraborty) so as to curb such unjustified and unreasonable acts of the manufacturers and service providers.

Consequences : I am without phone. Since I cannot afford to buy a further new handset, I had to take a handset from my friend and that too not on regular basis. I have a grocery shop and without phone, I have been incurring a huge monetary loss and my buyers are giving order to others as they cant
contact me over phone. I have to visit the authorized service centre during the office hours, as
result first I have to close my shop then I visit there.


Sort by: UpDate | Rating
A  19th of Jan, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree +1 Votes
Just complain same with Costumer Forum in your city/area/district.

Contact them and describe your situation, it is obvious that you do not have in Written that they will give you New Mobile against faulty. If yes go with.

At least contact and discuss your case.
A  17th of May, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I purchased a Sony Ericsson Handset Bearing Model no. K550i. But i am facing lots of problem in that handset. Bad product.
A  13th of Jun, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
Yes, I do agree with the above complaint as I am also a victim of such act by the Manufacturer and the service provider.
A  3rd of Oct, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
dear sir,

i purchased Sony Ericsson K550i, imei # 35665701-189787-0 on 29.09.2007 from RPG Cellucom India Pvt. Ltd., shop # 305, Forum Mall, Elgin Road, Kolkata - 700020, ph # 03364554186, the phone was packed sealed, but to my utter surprise i found the phone had some specific problems -

1. the reception quality is very poor.
2. call drops are frequent.
3. the ear speaker delivers very bad sound.
4. the phone gets hot very soon effecting the ears too.
5. when am syncronising the phone with the computer with the usb cable, after completing my job, when am removing the usb cable, the phone gets automatic switch off and then on itself.

i took the defective set to the shop, one representative named Arindam ( ph # 09830753345 ) inspected the problem and found that i was correct, as the set was newly purchased i demanded the shop to change my phone and give me a new one, as i dont have any extra handset and without a phone these days its hard to survive, but they insisted that it should be taken to the service centre, which may take atleast a week or more. so i left my defective phone with them and was compelled to buy a motorola set for standby untill my set is coming from repair. prior i used SE K750i, P1, P990i, but am disheartened this time.

well if i am under warranty and the defective set is brought for complain within two days, am i wrong to ask for a new handset ?

i am a sony fan, but its difficult to take such a harrasment from the company i love most.

kindly look after my matter at the earliest, wich i beg to you.

debjit mitra
N  31st of Oct, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes

Sony Ericsson - India - Sony Ericsson is selling products to the wrong retailers

I bought a cellphone from the retailer called the mobile store and after some days my mobile started going blank i had to call my friends after every 2mins when i went to this retailer he gave me the wrong address to repair my mobile and when i came back he gave me another address and i had already wasted behind this stupid mobile phone i want my phone replaced as soon as possible and i have never seen a retail bill without a telephone number Sony Ericsson is disappointing the cust by selling defective piece in the market so will never recommend for such a mobile.
N  9th of Jan, 2008 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
my name is sunil i purchased sony ericsson w910 for rs 18500 and after 15 days or approx 20 i started facing problems like sliding n phone start up so i gave it in company to repair so they told me to cum after 15days.after 15days i got a call from company that ur mobile will not be get repaired i was shocked by hearing such a stupid reply bcos only 15 days had been over i purchased the mobile.when i asked wats the prob they just told me that parts r not available.so u tel me what shall i do only 15days had been over i purchased mobile n iam from a middle class family n bearing 18500 is a huge amount for me. plz help me
D  14th of Jan, 2008 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
The quality which sony was offering previously has been changed. I had purchased k700i and after its performance for over year, i have inspired to use this make only. So I have buy latest k810i but after some days, i am facing lot of problems. Service centre in delhi Yusuf sarai or Paschim vihar etc... are the collection centre only thet do not repair. I am disapponted & not to buy the same product in future.
A  2nd of Apr, 2008 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I bought a Sony W200i Set five months ago. My hand set is giving me trouble. The vibration system is not working.

Please look after my matter.

With regards
A  24th of Apr, 2008 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
My cell phone(w300i) display was showing some problems for which i approached the sony erriccson service station at garodia nagar east, Ghatkopar. The attendant told me it is beyond their scope of warranty even when my phone is just 8 months old. She got my phone repaired for Rs 1200 but to my horror plainly refused to hand over me any reciept or bill or any sort of acknowledgment.

She says it is our policy not to give reciepts. Isnt this against the law??
A  14th of May, 2008 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
Plz cheque The My Missing Mobile is SonyEricsson W610i
I do Complet in Annpurna Police Station
Request your find my Mobile My IMEI # 354894014453193

coll Me at PH. : 0731-4058841, 9827083569
A  15th of May, 2008 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
w 550 soft ware change after initliaszing GDFS
N  23rd of May, 2008 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
my mobile is k200i, in this set how to capture a video. there is no any function is showing in this, whenever I checked on Internet about this set, there is video Capture is showing as "Yes"

pl. reply me immediately on my mail.


A  17th of Jun, 2008 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
Hai guys,
N  24th of Jun, 2008 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
A  14th of Jul, 2008 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I purchased a W580i handset in the last of march 2008.
Within 1 month of normal usage, the cell started heating up very soon, while in use(calling).
Rt Outsourcing(Allahabad) is service center where i gave my set for repair.
They said its Unrepairable. they kept the set for about a month and said they have changed the motherboard of the set.
After 15 days its screen display gone.
I approached them and they said.. now the screen is gone and it shall be repaired as soon the stock arrives. kindly wait.
It has been now more than 15 days and i every alternate day ask them for repair and they say.. SORRY Sir. Cant Help. STOCK has not arrived.
Just 3 and 1/2 months of purchase and the cellphone is like a torture.
I swear i shall never in life purchase or suggest anyone purchase a hand set of Sony Ericsson!!

Manvendra(Allahabad, U.P.)
A  16th of Jul, 2008 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
i have a sony ericsson w580i and i have had three of them in ten months i will never buy another sony ericsson after having this model because nobody has been interested in my problem and i now once the year is up, my phone will only be three months old when anything goes wrong i will have to pay for a new one the model is ###! it has been made to brake after three months im sure of it.
A  23rd of Jul, 2008 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I bought a sony ericson k800i model from modern home, Doha, Qatar, in november 2006.Now i am having a problem with the phone, all the functions are working but there is no text displaying on the phone .As i consulted with the service centre in calicut, kerala, india .they are telling it is a problem with the software and they are not having the software for this model because this model is not for sale in india .so what should i do to get my phone repaired ?can you please give me some help ?
N  30th of Jul, 2008 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
i have given the set to repair then ur people told that it has to be replaced then i agree for that and i give the mobile on 17.07.2008 and ask one week time but still now i did't get my set they r not responding me i given in mysore kuvempunagar in accel frontline ltd, 515/A, 1st floor P&T block anikethethana main road kuvempunagar mysore please help me out in this matter i request u to do needfull to me please
A  2nd of Aug, 2008 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
purchased Sony Ericsson K220i, imei # 35619701263606-8 on 20/07/08 from Poorvika mobile world., shop # 174, N.S.C.Bose Road, Parrys, Chennai - 600001. ph #044 - 42061993, the phone was packed sealed, but to my utter surprise i found the phone had some specific problems -

1. the reception quality is very poor.
2. call drops are frequent.
3. the ear speaker delivers very bad sound.
4. camera picturs could not save.

you know one thing iam purchase with in 10 days only. i tell the information of service centre they r not responce . i complaint directly head office This is my complaint No : SE 738-1738
A  2nd of Aug, 2008 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes

Date of Purchase: 2/8/2007

1)I had a problem with my phone from the day when i bought it, it had the famous bug that when camera button is pressed 4 6 0 wont be working.
2)I once gave it at Digicom kalyan to Mr Girish for charging problem it wasnt getting charged, he took nearly 7 days and told that the board of the phone is to be changed and once when i went there he just resetted it and gave it back anyhow the problem was solved.
3)Then i started getting problem of camera pics taking time to getting saved on the MMC.
4)While talking on phone suddenly the call used to drop and the Entertainment menu used to be displayed on screen.
5)When unlocking the keypad sometimes it didnt used to get unlocked after pressing the * button the unlock key was showing on the screen that it is pressed but the phone didnt used to get unlock.
6)Considering all this problems i went to Salora Service Center Grant Road(E), Mumbai. on 1/8/2008
7)There they took my mobile for repair after an hour they gave it back to me and the reason given to me was that your cell is out of warranty as it has liquid damage on the keypad.
8) I said ok as in the mobile was working well just having a few bugs in it as i am a Computer Engineer i do understand the difference between Hardware and Software problem so i accepted.
9) Then i inserted in the Battery and sim card and turned on the phone, to my surprise the KEYS 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9, 0, *, #, left Selection, WEBkey were not working so i said the concerned person to check the mobile and give it back to me as it was, he said that if it was to be done so easily i must have repaired it, i said i was not having any hardware problem but my problem was software bugs.
10)So going to SE Service Center just increased my problem to a very great extent. I forced the Service Center persons to just consider the matter and look into it but they replied it cant be done, if i want it to be repaired i will have to pay Rs.600 for repairs as your mobile is out of warranty we wont even consider your case if you come after today. I asked them can i meet your concerned head they replied why?,
after some time i was telling them and they were not responding me.
11)After a request they provided me a Receipt of the complaint and told to me that "You Can Take Whatever actions you want against us!"
12)I walked off from the Service Center.
13)Then i used the phone for 2 days just to receive calls and to call them whose nos are there in my PhoneBook.
14)I then tried to get it repaired from a local repairer and guess what he told me that the strip connecting the keypad and the socket was broken and guess how it happened "at the Service Center" i know that you people cant take water damage mobiles under warranty, its ok, but what if your engineer has mishandled it and broken inner parts, shall i pay for it?, Liquid damage can sort the electronic parts but can it cut a cable <<--Does it seem sensible.
15)After reading the above matter do you believe that it was the liquid damage responsible for the non-working of the keypad.
16)It was the mishandling of the Service Engineer responsible for it.

Salora International Limited
Date- 01-08-2008
Complaint ID- SES08MUM18522
Customer Name- Ketan Gajjar
Phone - 9821167072
Model no K550i
IMEI- 354893018459826
Checked by Mr AKRAM at Salora, Grant Road, Mumbai

18) Please do the needful in the above matter ASAP
19) Awaiting for your Quick & Earnest reply.

With Regards,
Maunil K. Gajjar

Post your Comment

Sony Corporation Logo Sony Corporation
Customer Care Service
1-7-1 Konan
New York
Japan - 108-0075
+81 367 482 111
View Full Information

Reply to