SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Shaws Supermarketpoor treatment to customers

Review updated:

I was in the wareham, MA Rte, 6 store 6/13/08. I had three young children with me. As I was looking to cash out to see what was available I noticed one that cashier had some items on the belt and 1 person being processed. Thinking the items on the belt was that persons I went in that line. 2 young little boys where standing just prior to the entrance. I didn't think too much about it. Then I noticed a cart with a pocketbook and more items in it in front of me. I waited and waited and waited until the person in front of that carriage cashed out. Leaving the unattended cart. Still that person never came back to her cart. I had roughly 6-8 items in my cart. Thinking I'll just pass them over to the cashier since that person with the items on the belt wasn't back yet and the person in front has already left. The cashier started to automatically ring up the missing persons items. I said that its not mine it's someone else's. If she could take my items since that person wasn't back and its been a good 5 min. s The cashier stated Oh that's OK because it happens all the time!!! So I got upset. Now I understand their policy. I just need to place my items on the belt and do other things because I don't care if I hold other people UP?? The women came back after I was arguing with the cashier about this practice. The woman stated one of her kids ran off. She had a total of 5 kids. She left two young boys 5, 6? to watch her items and took the older ones with her to go look for her other child. What if someone came an took the two young boys or her pocketbook? No one thought anything wrong with that!!! Yes and I had a total of 3 kids. 3, 5 and 5 plus I'm a grandmother with disability. So Now the manager (that's what he said he was) came over and first he gives me a dirty look and when I tell him I'm upset with the cashier and tries to explain. He continues to give me dirty look, turns his back on me and bad mouth me for speaking UP. At that point I said I had enough and left my 6-8 items and took my 3 grandchildren and went to another store! That cashier and manager needs to know how to handle a situation like that in the future! Take the people that are there first!!! Give them respect.

Ed
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Ac
      Dec 03, 2009

    I agree that they should have taken you first but badmouthing an entire company because of 2 snotty employees is rather extreme.

    +1 Votes
  • Bi
      Nov 14, 2010

    Bet you are a white trash redneck

    +1 Votes
  • Mo
      Aug 15, 2018
    Shaws Supermarkets - Deli customer service
    Middlebury
    Vermont
    United States
    Shaw’s.com

    I was waiting at the deli counter and one of the deli clerks her name is Shelly she looked at me and then walked away to my side of the counter to greet a friend whom she took a selfie with using her own cell phone. She then for maybe 5 minutes stood there and conversed with her friend knowing I was waiting for service. I Found her on FB see photo

    -1 Votes
  • Ra
      Aug 20, 2018
    Shaws Supermarkets - service
    Nashua
    New Hampshire
    United States

    The Shaw's on main st Nashua NH sucks
    I went in there today and spent 134 dollars and had to bag my own groceries while 4 employees one being the manager stands down two registers talking to the cashier about when they all get out

    0 Votes
  • Jp
      Aug 20, 2018
    Shaws Supermarkets - out of or non stock,
    augusta
    Georgia
    United States

    I now have to shop two stores Shaws and Hannafords but will switch to just Hannafords if problem persist. The Shaws in Augusta, Me has eliminated Post raisin bran from the store along with Keebler Vanilla fingers . I know this sounds petty but the list of out of stock or eliminated items continue to grow.

    -1 Votes
  •   Sep 16, 2019

    @jpl63 Go to the customer service and request a rain check. Welcome to 1980.

    0 Votes
  • Lo
      Nov 12, 2018
    Shaws - employees
    Yarmouth
    Maine
    United States

    I was in Shaw's 1108 State Rd, S.Yarmouth MA 02664 on Dec 29, 2016 at 6:26pm and the stock employees were swearing using the F word among other words, the other employees were talking totally ignored me while I was in line. I am terribly disgusted. I shop there everyday but I will probably go to Stop n Shop now.

    0 Votes
  • Da
      Nov 19, 2018
    Shaws Supermarkets - Product
    Worcester
    Massachusetts
    United States

    I purchased the signature farms Cafe bowl from the Shaw's location in Shrewsbury and there was a hard piece that almost looks like a bone in my salad I took a picture of the object

    0 Votes
  • Ty
      Dec 11, 2018
    Shaws Supermarkets - Customer services
    150 western ave
    Augusta
    Maine
    United States

    I cashed a check for 86 dollars and was only handed back 35. I didn't notice until I got home and immediately went back and told the stores manager. I was told that once I left the store there was nothing that they could do. I asked them to count the draw and they told me they couldn't do that

    0 Votes
  • Ed
      May 05, 2019
    Shaws Supermarkets - Signature Pizza Supreme
    United States

    I was cooking a signature Pizza Supreme rising crust, according to the directions directly on the center rack. When I went to check it, the center of the pizza had fallen through the rack and making a mess in the oven. I shop at Shaw's frequently and this is the first time I've had a problem.
    Ed DeLuca
    [protected]
    [protected]@gmail.com

    0 Votes
  •   Sep 16, 2019

    @ed deluca You need to put it on a baking sheet!

    It may not actually day that in the box but it's just common sense.

    0 Votes
  • Ha
      Jun 08, 2019
    Shaws Supermarkets - 100%guaranteed is not true they wont let u return bad food
    United States

    u dont care about customers shaws supermarket customer service rep fought w/homemaker over returns urpolicy 100%guaranteed or urmoney back she refused 2let me return wrong tortillashells werent low carb like i told aide 2buy&bad 6layer dip taste awful bland no taste mansfield MA

    0 Votes
  • Pi
      Jul 07, 2019
    Shaws Supermarkets - Bottle redemption
    United States

    I am a customer of Shaw's in Sanford. I tried to returns my bottles and cans and then do my shopping this evening only to find the bottle redemption closed while the store is still open. I did my shopping at Hannaford instead.

    0 Votes
  •   Sep 16, 2019

    You couldn't ask what happened to this customer? This was the only cashier open???

    0 Votes

Post your comment