Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In
The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website

Samsung Syncmaster T260HD LCD TV / no service = lousy service

Georgia, United States Review updated:
5
Purchased a T260HD LCD monitor 8/29/2008 from NewEgg.com. October 6th, called Samsung to report that the picture was all washed out and that I would like to get the unit repaired or replaced (Transaction # [protected]). Wow... nice service people - looks like this will go well.

Three weeks later (umm... nice service people???), called back on a weekend and spoke with Shawn. He stated that Samsung had no units available to ship me so they would process a refund of the purchase. Someone was supposed to have called and let me know this but didn't. He said I had to call back on Monday and ask for the ECR (Executive Customer Relations) department so the refund could be processed. I uploaded my purchase order from NewEgg with Shawn's assistance for proof of purchase to the Samsung site.

Things are moving slowly but moving. I miss having a good picture on my TV so I went ahead and ordered another T260HD from Amazon (hind site being 20/20, I wish I hadn't).

Called back on Monday 10/27/2008 and spoke with Karen in the ECR department. She said I would be receiving an email with the return authorization and that it would take 14 to 21 days to process the refund after they received the faulty unit. Great!... finally getting somewhere!

Checked email every day for the next 3 weeks... no RA number from Samsung. Called back 11/21/2008 and spoke to Tyler. He resubmitted the request for refund to the mysterious people who approve of such things... said they don't have direct phone lines to them so all he could do was send another email request. I thanked him for his time and began to wonder if Samsung ever intended to refund my money.

Thinking that the squeaky wheel gets the oil, I decided to call twice a week until this is resolved. The must get a lot of this. Read on...

Called again 11/24/2008 and was sent again to the ECR department hold line (as usual). After about 80 minutes on hold, hung up and called back. Sent to ECR hold again. Hung up after another 45 minutes on hold. Now I'm furious... but still powerless. I have my new TV and it still works fine but the bad unit is still sitting on the floor, in the box, awaiting an email / RA number from Samsung. At this point, I essentially have $1100 in a functioning $500 TV.

11/26/2008 -Found a direct number to the ECR department [protected]) in another forum where some other poor customer was putting up with Samsung's poor service. Now they don't have my transaction number until I am talking to someone in the ECR department. Got the same story as last call... all Rachel from the ECR department could do was resend the email request to the mysterious approving authority. I voiced my dissatisfaction to Rachel who seemed unaffected by my complaints.

12/3/2008 - Still have to wait on hold for an average of 30 minutes but at least I get straight to the only people that have the power to send an email to the person/people that have the power to provide me with a stupid email with a return authorization and subsequent refund.

12/5/2008 - My hopes of getting a refund prior to Christmas and thus have some money to by gifts for my family have been dashed. Next step: call my credit card company and file a formal dispute to hopefully get a refund.

I already own a Samsung phone, two 22" computer monitors, an HD 32" CRT TV in my bedroom and now two T260HD monitors, one of which works.

I was going to purchase another T260HD for my kitchen and a 61" DLP rear projector for my living room in January/February to replace my aging Panasonic 50" rear projector LCD. Not happening...

I am now convinced that Samsung cares nothing about its customers and will therefore never purchase another of their products for the rest of my life. My friends, neighbors and family all consider me their technical adviser on electronics purchases... I will never again recommend Samsung products to them. Over just the next year, this will cost Samsung $10, 000 to $20, 000 in sales.

ECR now means Endless Customer Run-Around to me. Please do not purchase Samsung products.


Ray
Ra
0

Comments

Sort by: UpDate | Rating
Me
  7th of Mar, 2009
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I have just started (March 1st 2009) going though the same process and getting nowhere. I'm one week into my battle to get service on my 52"LCD TV. Bought extended warranty. Set is 7 months old. Check this story: They are perfectly willing to send a repair guy to my home, BUT THEY CAN'T FIND ANYONE (Authorized service Center) IN MY AREA THAT IS SIGNED ON WITH SAMSUNG.! I found one in less than 10 minutes after I was told that. Now they're talking two/five weeks before they can get this repair guy "In their system as a qualified tech" . Stay tuned.../gene

Post your comment

Submit
Samsung Electronics Logo Samsung Electronics
Customer Care Service
Overall Satisfaction Rating

1148 Reviews
129, Samsung-ro, Yeongtong-gu, Suwon-si
Gyeonggi-do
England, Surrey
Korea (South)
+82 222 550 114
View Full Information
     

Reply to

close
Send