The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Reliance Communication / cell phone not activated!

1 India Review updated:

My Cell was lost 5 days back when I blocked it at customer care (*333). As advised the day after (9/11/2006) i visited the Web Word at Forum, Bangalore (at 7:50PM). Where i was told that the number cannot be transferred at their outlet and asked me to visit MG Road Web Word. (May be the person in charge wanted to leave early although 8:30 is the closing time!!)

Next morning Friday (10/11/2006) i visited the MG Road Web World. They said that they cannot transfer the number to my old blank handset (this was the extra handset i had) and I will have to buy a virgin handset only then they can do so. (Good phone selling strategy!! But not Fair!!)

I had no option but to buy a new handset. They promised that they have sent the request for activation and the number would be transferred to this new handset with RSN: RJPHSC010109371 within 24 hrs.

It has been more than 2 days now. I have also complained on customer care (*333) with complaint number: [protected] but all in vein. I have called up customer care 2 times after registering the complaint but they are not able to help at all. The Web world is not able to help too.

I have been running around for last 4 days to get my phone working between your Call center and Web World which are not in sink with the information. Causing huge inconvenience to me. They have been passing the buck to each other. Without helping me with a solution. Finally i have given up now. And decided you write it here. As a next step. And also share my experience!!

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Su
      29th of Nov, 2006
    0 Votes

    Can anyone tell me can i retain my reliance prepaid no new mobile without HCC?

  • Fo
      1st of Dec, 2006
    0 Votes

    The executive of Reliance Communication came to our house on 14/11/2006. Seeing all the tariff plans we registered for Tariff plan 290 and submitted all documents of concern and cheque of Rupees 561/- on RCIL. He gave us the receipt for the same.

    Its many days, we have not received any handset and whenever we call they say that "Is your verification done?" and when we say "yes" they say u will receive the handset in two days its already many days up but we have not received any handset and now they don't pick up our call..
    We don't know its carelessness on their part or what. Please find for the same and try to put this matter out to public else many others will be cheated.

  • Vi
      10th of Dec, 2006
    0 Votes

    Mr. Ambani no point in wasting the hard earned money on customer care cell if you don't care for the customers on 1st hand.

    Directly coming to the point... In the name of re-verification process i've been tortured since past 1 month! ... No intimation...directly barred the services despite of the fact that i successfully recharged my prepaid connection a day before the due date!!.... Re-submitted the address proff etc at web world around 10 days back.. No response!!

    Customer care & web world ppl not at all in sync.

    Customer care tried to avoid registering my complain.. finally after pursuing 4 three day...booked my complained(no.42448559) & promised to reactivate my services within 72hrs & now while i am typing my views its already more than 80 hrs have gone! & customer care cell has no answer!

    Plz 4 god's sake shut yr services if you can't provide the same to the customers!! (4get to provide quality service)!!!

    I'm sorry 4 being so blun't but hope mr. Ambani will try to put himself into aam junta's shoes!

  • Ib
      12th of Dec, 2006
    0 Votes

    Well i totally agree with you...my outgoing calls have been deactivated for no reason..but still i need to re-submit my documents..it happened on Thursday (5 days ago) and striving from a worse case situations...i totally agree on ur saying that the reliance provides one of the worst customer services. besides *333 always comes enageged or the customer services representatives r always busy. i m really tired of all this mess....

  • In
      14th of Dec, 2006
    0 Votes

    i am facing the same problem ....i taken a data card after the promise given by reliance that it will be activated in 48 hrs but now almost 5 days gone and not activated yet...i was need of internet very urgently so i inquired most of service provider ...all of them said it will take 3 days except reliance who said it can be done in 2 days ...their verification department is pathetic ....thy only care about selling their data card or mobile after that thy know that u wont switch to other provider because no one support cdma except reliance so please don’t believe reliance words and go for their connection ...any way i am going to take sify just to oppose their monopoly and for that i lose 5000 rs cost of data card...
    NOTE: PLEASE DON'T BELIEVE RELIANCE AND DON'T GO FOR THAT. ALWAYS HAVE A CHOICE!

  • Tv
      19th of Dec, 2006
    0 Votes

    My reliance cell phone outgoing is also blocked ...after i prepaid my cell no.9370622960 for rs.495/-. I have already submitted :01.my pan card copy;02. My electricity bill copy 03. my housing society rent receipt copy to reliance communications -ghatkopar office center on 17th December,2006. I have also registered a complaint on 30333333 and my complaint no. Is 43019492 registered today viz.20th December,2006. I told them i have to attend my mother's funeral proceedings at kondhwa pune where my mother died. I had bought the reliance cell phone along with my brother and so had given his c/o address at t23/24, konarkpuram, kondhwa, pune and the cell purchased over a year back.

  • Zu
      26th of Dec, 2006
    0 Votes

    Complaint number--43214545...that's what was given 2 me...
    No calls can be received or can be made.....for no reason of mine...
    called up customer care..every time they say that this is the complaint and your services will be resumed within 24 hours...almost days now....no result :(

  • Ch
      11th of Jan, 2007
    0 Votes

    HANDSETS WITH NO SERVICE CENTRES,

    I bought a classic 131 handset for my postpaid connection.On the first day itself, the phone started misbehaving. A smell started communing out of the handset as i started my conversation,it started to heat up. It cannot be tolerated for a brand new handset to get heated up in initial few minutes of activation.

    For more to happen,i called up customer care and they said me to visit the reliance communication shop.The shop person said,"Sir" you need not worry,we will send it to service centre.For the same i had already inquired from customer care that their is no service centre for classic 131 handsets.

    We tried to contact the service centre, fortunately the numbers were wrong. Finally i asked to replace the hand set,for this the rel communication person said ....you have to buy a higher end set.Which costs me double the amount of my previous cell............which i had to do at end. "You cant force customer....Mr reliance"

    Why reliance is selling handsets when it does not have service center. One thing specially i would like to express tha reliance communication and web world people are not all in sync......

    Resulting in harassment of customers....

  • Tv
      11th of Jan, 2007
    0 Votes

    Dear Customer,

    In response to your mail received at Customer Care, we would like to inform you the we have made a note of your complaint and we assure that we will take appropriate actions based on your feedback.

    Yours sincerely,

    Sandeep Amin
    Customer Care
    Reliance Communications

    The information provided is based on prevailing terms and conditions of the company, which, are subject to change without prior notice.

    This electronic message transmission contains information from Reliance Infocomm & is confidential or privileged. The information is intended to be for the use of the individual or entity named above. If you are not the intended recipient, beware that any disclosure, copy distribution or use of the contents of this information is prohibited. If you have received the electronic transmission in error please notify us immediately.

    -----Original Message-----
    From: TARA S (tarakkadvs@hotmail.com)
    Date: Thursday, January 11, 2007 09:34 PM
    To: customercare@relianceada.com (customercare@relianceada.com)
    Subject: RE:Reference your mail:RESPONSE

    I am outraged that you call yourselves "Reliance CUSTOMER CARE SERVICE".

    Firstly, you have the audacity to simply "disconnect" my outgoing calls without any NOTICE or without any hint of the reasons for disconnecting one fine day on or around 15th Dec. In fact I had to go to your Reliance Ghatkopar office to find out to my dismay about the fact that I have to fill up a form(which after filling up was not even acknowledged,i.e. I did not get a receipt, stating that I have submitted the form and all proofs and photo. In this way I had no evidence to say that I have done all that Reliance Telecom wanted to "re-activate" my stuff. Further I was told by the lady taking my form that my phone will be reactivated in 48 hours. And when I complained on the phone to yourselves I was asked my credentials and was told that there was no way Reliance could confirm when my phone will be reactivated within reasonable time. That sounded more "CARE-LESS or TWO HOOTS FOR THE CUSTOMER" THAN "RELIANCE CUSTOMER CARE"!

    SECONDLY, after repeated complaints and visits to your Ghatkopar office I came to know that YOUR Computer records were showing the name and address to be different from mine. This I thought was the "LAST STRAW". It made me out to be a "CHOR OF RELIANCE CELL PHONE" or "I HAVE BOUGHT YOUR RELIANCE CELL PHONE FROM A THIEF-SELLER" when I had paid hard currency to that dealer of yours in Kondwa,Pune for which no receipt even was given and nor was any "Proof of Identity or Residence" asked for at the time of purchase. If it was a lapse it was a major LAPSE ON THE PART OF THE RELIANCE DEALER who wanted to make a quick buck apparently and cared less about the procedures. IS THIS MY FAULT SIR, please let me know.

    THIRDLY, I get the message that my outgoing calls are reactivated around 4th of Jan-2007 when my urgent need of attending my mother's funeral was all over. Further, I was not even given the benefit of the DAYS LOST DUE TO YOUR COMPANY'S "EXTRA-CARE" in cutting off my phone calls for the period 15th Dec.06 or so till 4th Jan-07. And this AFTER I HAD RECHARGED MY CELL PHONE FOR Rs.495/- just the day before it got "cut-off" mysteriously and without notice. And till date I AM NOT SURE WHETHER there exists any other person in Pune having my SAME CELL NUMBER AND HIS/HER CALLS GET CHARGED AGAINST MY CELL PHONE! I am sure you will deny this and the same is the case with me: I HAVE NO PROOF of that...except that sometimes the balance in my pre-paid account diminishes in an accelerated manner....which gives me the creeps.

    I HOPE YOU UNDERSTAND that MUCH MORE IS NEEDED TO RETAIN GOOD CLIENTS than giving them the "short-shrift" LIKE U DID TO ME.

    AND I WOULD LIKE YOUR CHAIRMAN mr.ANIL AMBANI to read my letter and let me know his views.

    T.V.SUBRAMANIAN

    2,Temple View,Chhedanagar,Chembur,Mumbai-400089

    11th Jan,2007

  • Re
      20th of May, 2007
    0 Votes

    I agree their web world is a "chaos centre, with their uninformed people, long ques for making payments, fake commitments.

  • Su
      24th of May, 2007
    0 Votes

    As per me, Reliance is one of the worst telecom operators in India. I am having Reliance Postpaid LG FWP phone. There is call drop problem. If i use my Receiver, then call drops after few minutes, but its not the same with Speakerphone!! I have registered many complaints... But no such action is taken. They simply say Change your phone. Even BSNL, MTNL are having home satisfaction customer service... But RELIANCE... NOT AT ALL...

    I also had a talk with many of the team supervisors... But no action... Problem is since last 2 months and around 10 complaints have been launched!!

    I SUGGEST ALL NEW CUSTOMERS TO DISCARD THEIR SERVICES AS SOON AS POSSIBLE.. COZ RELIANCE IS THE WORST COMPANY... No proper services...

    Surekha Mittal.

  • Kr
      27th of May, 2007
    0 Votes

    Re: Reliance Communication

    I am having the reliance pre paid lifetime validity connection & also recharging my pre-paid connection time to time. I am also submitted my residence proof & id proof to the reliance customer care-Surat (Gujarat). My mobile number is 9327935058.

    My mobile services discontinued from the last 15 days due to that i have suffering from lost of trace and my social, service & business contact are also suffered.

    i am also given written intimation through telegram for continue my services & provide me written clarification for discontinuation of the services. but till the date i am not received any response from your Surat Office, address is Anand Mahal Road-Surat.

    Further, it is for your information that i have found that my mobile number i.e 9327935058 alloted to an other customer on sim-card connection at Baroda.

    I am not accepted this type of services from you renowned group.

  • Ma
      10th of Jul, 2007
    0 Votes

    Re: Reliance Communication

    My mail below very clearly states that it is with reference to an Internet Data card (not a Handset Change Card as you write below.) The said card has been with the Shivaji Park Web World since Sunday July 08 07. An employee called me Monday afternoon to get some number and since then I do not have any idea what is going on:

    If there is a wait at least inform me of it. I expect to hear from you'll.

    This is harassment and I have been subject to yelling by a couple of people on your Customer Service line as well as at the store. The tone in which they spoke to me was totally intolerable and not justifiable. All the details are int he mail trail below. I have purchased this card June 18. Today is July 10 07. I would prefer that you return my money but you are not willing to do this either. This is just open daylight robbery that I pay Rs 4000 and get a piece of junk which doesn't work under the pretext of retail sales. This high-headed attitude of your company smacks of a a very arrogant attitude. I would never recommend your company to anyone.

    Do you think because of the zillions this company may be worth and Anil Ambani's pretentious political ambitions that you can do anything you like? It is an outrage to call yourselves "Reliance CUSTOMER CARE SERVICE".

    According to the Chairman of Reliance Communications, Mr. Anil Dhirubhai Ambani “I look forward to a sustainable & mutually rewarding relationship with you “, I would be grateful if you could continue with this mission of his & help me by providing a solution to the problem with your data card so that it is a win-win situation AS SOON AS POSSIBLE.

    -Margaret Maynard
    July 10 07

    On 7/10/07, customercare@relianceada.com wrote:
    Dear Customer,

    In response to your mail regarding Handset Change Card (HCC) issue, we would like to inform you that as per the confirmation received from the concerned department the target RSN or ESN is not present in Reliance database so request could not be processed. Hence, we request you to visit the nearest Reliance World location or Reliance Communications outlet for further assistance.

    The list of Reliance World location or Reliance Communications outlet is attached for your ready reference.

    Yours sincerely,

    Abhijeet Thakur
    Customer Care
    Reliance Communications

    The information provided is based on prevailing terms and conditions of the company, which, are subject to change without prior notice.

    This electronic message transmission contains information from Reliance Communications & is confidential or privileged. The information is intended to be for the use of the individual or entity named above. If you are not the intended recipient, beware that any disclosure, copy distribution or use of the contents of this information is prohibited. If you have received the electronic transmission in error please notify us immediately.

    -----Original Message-----

    From: Maggie Maynard (maggiemaynard@gmail.com)
    Date: Thursday, July 05, 2007 09:04 PM
    To: customercare@relianceada.com (customercare@relianceada.com); kavitasahni@relianceada.com (kavitasahni@relianceada.com)
    Subject: Individual Internet Data Card Complaint Number: 51796115 Interaction No: 686792910

    I am writing regarding my internet data card.

    The facts: Purchased on June 18 07 from Reliance Web World -Shivaji Park.
    MDN 932 371 9041 RSN RZT CDC000146630

    Till now, despite several phone calls and visits in person to that outlet, my card is not activated.
    Your level of service at customer care is reprehensible and disgusting. I think the people at Shivaji Park reliance have tried to do their job by communicating this information to you.

    Can you please tell me why a card purchased on the 18th, and address verification was done on the 19th, which should have been activated within 3 days is still not working?
    Neither are you willing to return my money? Do you want me to report this to the police and take it to Consumer Court.

    Just now I am on the phone to your customer care line and one of your representatives told me that from technical department the matter is resolved."
    Excuse me? So how come I am getting a message to call the customer care because the card cannot be activated? Next the supervisor came on the line and said the RSN is not in your data base so it cannot be activated.

    What took so long? Why did I have to wait 2 weeks for this information. I have been told to go to the Shivaji Park outlet and according to Pravin one of you supervisors on the phone, "they will do the needful..." I will go there this Sunday, July 8 and I expect this problem to be resolved once and for all without any further hassle or headache.

    Thank you

    -- (Margaret Maynard)
    Maggie Maynard
    Training Consultant
    +91 982 040 7396

  • Jk
      17th of Jul, 2007
    0 Votes

    For last 4 years i am the customer to reliance india mobile and i have 4 connections on my name. Recently, i get connection for 9394084610 and i have submitted my id proof and address prof along with my photo at web world, s v complex, r s road, kurnool on 30.06.07. At that time my cell was activated and it runs good. Later it was disconnected due non submitting of application. So, i went to webworld and checked, they says that your application is ok. But, my cell was not activated. Again i approached they says that we will check it and we will solve the problem with 2 hours but there is no use. After 3 days when i went to your office they are saying that photo was mismatched i solve the problem my level best. Till now it happens nearly 16 days my problem was not solved. I am not getting service from their office as i mentioned above.

    Thanking you,
    j.k.raghavendra

  • Mu
      18th of Jul, 2007
    0 Votes

    I had applied for reliance net connect and was supplied an account after i submitted the necessary documents. Now after a month of using it my service was abruptly disconnected and after numerous calls to the customer service (of course the *333 doesn't work from the datacard!!! I had to dial the 30333333 using STD from a bsnl landline) they told me that their records show that i haven't submitted an application! if i hadn't submitted the necessary application /documents how was i given access for a month and charged for it? A few more calls to the idiots at the local web world center and one person says that it was probably disconnected because i didn't reply to a verification call on the supplied datacard number! Why would they try to call me on the datacard number since i only use it when i need access to the internet!!!

    Stay away from reliance. Very poor service.

  • Cj
      20th of Jul, 2007
    0 Votes

    Reliance has the worst connectivity i have witnessed. I have Airtel, Idea, Hutch and reliance connections. I am in Assam right now and have to use the local connection, ie reliance, cant use the other because they would be in roaming and would cost me alot. I am really depressed due to the connection getting dropped or not getting connected at all. So i resort to using my other sim cards. They work superb! (but they cost me a lot). I bought the reliance just for this purpose, ie to cut down on cost.

    I have suffered from extreme irritation behavior coz of idea... Reliance is BAD BAD BAD.

  • Mu
      23rd of Jul, 2007
    0 Votes

    We purchased 10 sets of reliance in the name of H.Aggarwal & Bros, Under corporate package. But Sorry to say that Our experience of using Reliance infocom services is very bad. It is either network problem or Hand set problem. We will not be able to talk properly.

    NATURE OF PROBLEMS : Clarity of Sound & Brakeage of Signal etc.

    This problems will all our Handsets to all our staff members in proper city area and even under open sky. We talked to local sales executive , the person who deal with us and then we also give representation to Customer care officer sitting in local office, Jalandhar. But of no use.
    Technical person visited us in our office and asked us that Booster is required in our office Area and we will take permission and do it. As early as possible but more than 1 month had passed.

  • Sa
      8th of Aug, 2007
    0 Votes
    Reliance Communication - Poor service!
    India

    I am using Reliance mobile as well as Broadband for last One year. It has been a routine for me to run behind your useless call centers & customer care for bill since last six months. Time & again people from Reliance talk about resolving the service & bill delivery problem. But till date there is no progress & we have to suffer being associated with Reliance Mobile Service. It is only a bourden for the customer to use such unmanaged services.

    Such a bad & regardless company!

  • Sa
      10th of Aug, 2007
    0 Votes

    Reliance is the worst possible company i have ever seen. The classic handsets do not have any service stations. The numbers given to us are all incorrect. It is a shame on the name of Late Mr Ambani that Reliance is bringing.

  • De
      13th of Aug, 2007
    0 Votes

    I purchased one data card from Reliance web word, when i installed it was not working. After that, i went to reliance web word for changing the card but the representative said that he will not change card and it was corporate connection. Very very poor service!

Post your comment