SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

[Resolved] Regushidden renewal clauses and misleading info by reps

Review updated:

Good morning. I've read what happened to jeff in the us and I am sad to say that the same situation is happening to me right now in buenos aires, argentina. The hidden 3 month virtual office fee/contract renewal that, after the 12 month contract i've signed, regus try to charge me. Nobody seems to take over my complaint that started as soon as I received the invoice but the one who answered, did that in a rude way and by email (I don't know where she is or who she is). The gm who sold me the 12 month package is in the office all the time and say nothing about this even when I copied him in my several emails. Someone from somewhere answer my emails in a rude way saying that I have to paid what i've signed (In fact the contract is not clear whatsoever about this) however that's not the point because I stated very cleary that my commintment was for a campus office for 12 month.in fact i've got a rate for a 12 month package not a 15 month package with another kind of product I never was intesrested in. What surprirsed me is that the modus operandis is being exactly as it is stated by jeff in this board and exactly as happened in many places according to intentet so, now, I think is not missmanagement here but an organized way to collect money and, of course, get rid of the clients for good.
The botton line is that since january 6th when this nightmare started I try to go to the office as less as possible due the bad atmosphere and because I do not know what they are capable of so, I do not want to face an awful moment.

  • Resolution statement

    Customer care service did everything in their power to resolve this complaint. All attempts to contact the complainant have failed. Therefore, this complaint has been annulled and must not be considered where image of the company in question and it's services are concerned.

  • GabrielGonz's Response, Feb 10, 2011

    Sorry to hear that there are some problems. Would you like me to put you in contact with a senior customer service representative? If so, could you please provide me with the following details: Name/Company Name/Location of Centre.

    You can send these details directly to me at the following email address:

    Gabriel.Gonzalez[at]regus.com

    Regards

    Gabriel Gonzalez
    Group Social Media Executive

  • Regus Group Customer Care's Response, Apr 16, 2018

    Dear Madam/Sir,
    We are sorry to read your feedback and apologise for any confusion which may have been caused.
    Transparency is key to us so we would always make sure that any concern has been clarified before signature and payment.
    Also, please note that your MyRegus portal (www.myregus.com) allows you to review your agreement, check and amend your services at any time.
    However, we would be happy to investigate the situation for you and clarify any pending concern. In order to assist you further, please can you email us at customer.[protected]@regus.com with your company name and details?
    We appreciate your business; thank you.

  • Regus Group Customer Care's Response, Jul 12, 2019

    Dear John,
    We are sorry to read that you are unhappy. We take renewals very seriously and great care in communicating how the process works. Furthermore, it’s our goal to make this an efficient yet very simple process for all our customers.
    Prior to any renewal, our customers receive courtesy reminder emails, ensuring you are kept informed at all times and never taken by surprise. These emails (which you received on 14 and 23 November 2018) provide several options on price, term, and the possibility to end the agreement if required.
    Once your agreement has renewed, we will confirm it but if anything isn’t to your satisfaction, we will still offer additional options if we hear from you quickly after the event.
    We are sorry if you couldn’t review these emails. We send them to the address we have on file, which is the same that you use to log into MyRegus. It is always worth checking if your contact details are up to date in your online account, where you can check the status of your services at any time. You also have the option to amend or end your agreement there.
    Should you require additional information or if there is anything further we can assist you with, then please do not hesitate to contact us at account.[protected]@regus.com.
    Thank you

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Me
      Oct 19, 2011

    Good Evening, Good morning. Thanks for writing this, It happens to Jeff in the US, It is happening to you in Buenos Aires, Argentina and it happened to me as well in Mexico and i have spoke with some of my friends they started a new company and wanted to have a office in a comercial place, when sign the contract even Regus Marketing people goes their home and when they look for them to cancle the contract they just hiding them self, they just said please call 01800 numbers and they never appears, this really abusing their customer and still their money, i would say if you wants to have some place to work please never look or recommend Regus to any one because at start they might offer very good promotion to you(like fishing) but it will cost you alot at the end when you wants to cancel the contract or when you do not wants to renew the contract, Regus guys think really smart to abuse you by hidden 3 month Virtual office fee/or contract renewal automatically that, after the 12 month contract I've signed, Regus try to charge me. Nobody seems to take over my complaint that started as soon as I received the invoice but the one who answered, commintment was for a campus office for 12 month. What surprirsed me is that the modus operandis is being exactly as it is stated by Jeff in this Board, you and me and exactly as happened in many places according to intentet so, now, I also think think is not missmanagement here but an organized way to collect and steel your moeny with white-collar.
    my idea to protect who ever read this message and please take this very seriouse and dont either get near to them you do not wants get impacted your personal andprofession life with it, really it is very painful to deal with Regus guys.

    +1 Votes
  • Ih
      Nov 21, 2011

    I just got scammed by this company as well. I live in NJ, USA I signed a three month contract and have been stuck in it for a year due to the auto-renue c;lause. I canteacted the area manager and got a rude email saying i had to pay as the clause was in the contract. However, when I sighned the contract I was told it was 3 montha and all I had to give was one months notice. This campany is full of scam artists. DO not use them.

    +1 Votes
  • St
      Jun 19, 2012

    The auto-renewing clause is in the terms and conditions. Read them before you sign them. It's not the company's fault that you are unwilling to read the terms. Additionally, there are no hidden "virtual office services" attached to the contracts, it states very plainly that you will receive a business continuation service upon the termination of your agreement. Once again, if you don't read the agreement, it's not Regus' fault. If you don't understand something in the agreement, ask questions. The people will tell you about it. It's pretty simple. Read contracts, if you don't like something within them, don't sign them.

    -2 Votes
  • Cy
      Aug 07, 2012

    The auto-renewal clause is inconspicuously buried in the back of the agreement. There is no notice or reminder given during the lease term about the lease auto-renewing if no notice is given prior to 90-days of lease term. As a business owner I read hundreds of documents every month. It's a little bit of reach to expect that I memorize the every clause on the back of Regus' service contract.

    Having spent 5 years in property management before I have never dealt with auto-renewal on leases. Furthermore, In most cases notice prior to termination of the lease was 30 days and on very rare instances 60 days. 90-days is out of the ordinary. I'm sure this is all intentional in the hopes of benefiting from the customer either overlooking or forgetting the terms so Regus can get another year of revenue.

    Sure, Regus isn't the only company with this type of ever-green clause in the agreement. However, other companies do not commit you to repeat the same term (one year). In fact, they would immediately cancel the renewal once you decline to extend the service. The predatory practice employed by Regus does nothing but leave a bad taste in the customer mouth. Ultimately, the consumers have the power to warn other through various medium about the unethical practices employed by Regus.

    -1 Votes
  • Sa
      Dec 06, 2012

    Regus in India is pretty much the same. The centre manager just stone walls every effort for discussion on this one sided auto renewal clause. I had very specifically told the sales person that we dont want any auto renewal and he had told me that they will first notify and now they just send an email that we are happy that you have agreed for renewal. Absolutely disgusting business practice. What do they think that people are blind to such things. With these business practices, you dont grow - just remain a mediocre company which people will love to hate. Sanjeev [protected]@amplusinfra.com

    +1 Votes
  • Ka
      Feb 25, 2014

    Same situation in San Diego...auto renewal for 12 months on a virtual office. Very poor response time from office manager, and very poor communication. This is obviously a corporate culture that promotes a dismissive and manipulative stance toward its customers. I will never use Regus again. Very short-sighted business. Look at Zappos for a model of a company that takes care of its customers.

    0 Votes
  • An
      Aug 18, 2014

    Absolutely agree -- same issue in Evanston IL (just outside of Chicago). I signed up for a 6 month "Platinum" contract, and was told I'd receive renewal emails so that I'd have the chance to 'opt out'. That was clearly a lie, as I never received such emails, and later found out my contract auto-renewed. Another issue is that when you sign-up, it gives you an option to "click here to print agreement", however... the printed pages do not reference the auto-renewal clause, because it's in the "Terms & Conditions" letter, which doesn't print out nor is it even referenced in the agreement pages that get printed. (I have a .pdf of my printout to prove this). It's an embarrassing way to set-up agreements and treat your customers, especially when your business model is predicated on long-term loyalty. In my case, the Office Manager is actually pretty constructive, even though his hands are tied by corporate policy. Unless this issue gets resolved, I doubt I'll ever use Regus again.

    +1 Votes
  • Jc
      Sep 23, 2014

    I have been lied to and mis-sold by REGUS.
    They are trying the auto renewal trick on me as well, despite the fact at the time I bought the service I told them I only wanted the service for 18 months.
    They didn't even ask me if I wanted to renew, 3 months before hand. It know full well if they asked then there is a chance that people may leave. This is a deliberate trap.

    +1 Votes
  • Jh
      Sep 14, 2015

    Might want to put ME in touch with a customer rep as well. I've been a loyal (and dissatisfied) customer of Regus from almost 10 years now. I recently elected to terminate my membership, due to non-use (for a VERY long time) and Regus had the audacity to invoke an "auto-renew" clause that it purports will bind me until July of 2016! Are they insane? Put me in touch with someone soon or I will engage in a multi-faceted attack that will include legal action, non-defamatory testimonials on FB and Twitter (over 700 Followers). Oh, and I have a radio show which I will use to openly discuss my horrific experience with this poorly run company. Regus once overcharged me for just under a year! I was too trusting, and never checked my bank statements. BIG mistake. They also materially breached the contract in a number of ways, which I will be happy to warn people about, if Regus doesn't buck up...and quick. J Hartt

    +1 Votes
  • To
      Oct 27, 2015

    Bottom line is the know new business owners rarely read the auto renewal clauses and that most new businesses fail (90%) This is why they stick that auto-renew in there to lock you in for you money. The Virtual Office is completely ridiculous to have a 90 day cancelleation clause. With a Virtaul office their inventory of support resources doesn't change if you renew or not.

    +2 Votes
  • Ta
      Nov 02, 2015

    For the last 5 years I have run a small company (just me) from a small industrial unit in Peterborough UK. When Regus took over the management started going wrong. They responded to questions about their Direct Debit letter by telling people to read the letter!? When that process didn't work (resulting in non collection of rent) they sent eviction warnings. Subsequently it was me that had to sort out the mess they made. Above inflation increases in rent etc. Now the local manager has sent an email telling me that I will be charged £49 for the use their IT and telephone system even though I do not use it. The email came out on Fridey telling me this would start on Sunday!!! When I told the manager I have never used their system, and don't want it, I was told 'it's there and you will pay for it. It's not our fault if you don't use it!'
    I am now looking for other premises because I cannot trust Regus not to find additional costs to foist on tenents and I have no intention ow wasting money trying to get them to change their ways. This is quite embarassing as Regus was founded in Britain. Time to move

    0 Votes
  • Hy
      Jan 12, 2016

    Yep, another gut checked Regus client here too. The thing is I initiated contact with them BEFORE the 90 day auto renewal, and here I am 3 months and a 2 day before my auto renewal, unable to get out of it. My fault is that I initiated contact through their online account portal, which I just noticed has no archive or history of communication - so to avoid another issue in March 2017, I'm getting someone to verify by email right now that the contract will not be renewed. Regus is not a service I will be using, should have ever used, and yep, the various online reviews are very accurate.

    +2 Votes
  • Ka
      Feb 08, 2016

    Regus Peterborough, is the worst place to get a office or virtual office.
    When you want to cancel the contract they say its a 12 month contract and when your contract is about to run out they renew the contract for 12 more months.
    On top of that you get bullied with the Terms and Conditions, then when you read the Terms and Conditions and explain they are wrong.
    Then they still try to get 3 months of contract out of you.
    Also late payment fees as well, and don't want to give back the deposit.
    I am never going back to Regus, it would be better to rent the office or shop form the council.
    The staff are rude and arrogant, and ready to take your money how ever they can.
    When you enter Regus Peterborough.
    YOU ENTER THE WILD WEST.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
      Feb 10, 2016

    I signed a 6 month agreement with Regus and went to cancel and to my surprise I am unable to cancel for an additional 90 days. It is misleading to have a term length agreement and then require advanced notice of 90 days (or any length) to cancel. Very disappointing as I was simply going to suspend my services with the hope of renewing when business picked up. I certainly will not be going back to Regus now though.

    Has anyone had any success in arguing these charges with their banks?

    +1 Votes
  • Ca
      Feb 26, 2016

    This is a Regus scam and I was a victim of it. They also don't return deposits and will find excuses and fake fees to eat up any fees. They always send bills to collection before a month is even due and their fault for forgetting to input the automatic payment. They have taken payments through wire and not applied the amount to my account. Trying to get a hold of anyone virtually impossible unless of course they need a payment. Believe me, it isn't the local employees, it is an environment where the corporate office in Dallas uses the locals to extract as much as they can legally do and take it to the point where even if unfair, like the 90 days termination requirement on a month to month contract, withholding deposits, and insane fees, you end up paying or risk having them ruin your credit. Just pray you have a local employee with a heart or face a nightmare.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
      Apr 13, 2018

    I had the same experience with Regus, they cheekily insert 3 months renewal clause in their termination, now I have to just pay 3 months without using it. I signed up for monthly renewals but not 3 monthly. This is kind of imposed on me without my notice.

    Regus sucks. I am from Milton Keynes, UK

    +1 Votes
  • Mk
      Aug 15, 2018

    PLEASE BE AWARE OF THIS COMPANY, IT'S A TOTAL SCAM. PLEASE DO NOT GIVE THEM YOUR CREDIT CARD..THEY CHARGED THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS ON MY CREDIT CARD WITHOUT MY CONSENT BECAUSE OF HIDDEN 'AUTO RENEWAL' CLAUSE IN THE CONTRACT. TAKING THEM TO CONSUMER COURT.

    +1 Votes
  •   Aug 21, 2018

    @mkumari Dear mkumari,
    We are sorry to hear that you are unhappy and apologise for any confusion which may have been caused.
    Transparency is key to us and we work hard to ensure full clarity on everything that we do.
    We would like to assist you but haven’t been able to identify your account. Could you please contact us at account.[protected]@regus.com, with your company name and/or reference number (as stated on your invoices)?
    Did you know that you can check your agreement, meeting room bookings and other services through your online account? Simply go to our website and log into your account. From there you can also check payments, amend your payment method and download your invoices, which helpfully include a summary of the net balance on your account.
    We look forward to receiving more information from you.
    Many thanks.

    0 Votes
  • Mk
      Aug 24, 2018

    There is no such thing as transparency in this company, just dirty hidden clauses in your contract that is scamming consumers day in and day out. Here's my account # 8917909, Let me know what you can do.

    +2 Votes
  •   Aug 24, 2018

    @mkumari Many thanks. A member of our team will be in touch very shortly!. Thank you

    0 Votes
  • Me
      Jan 31, 2019

    Regus is an absolute SCAM company and I would never recommend them to anyone. I was misled to sign a 12 months contract with one of Regus's office in Croydon, the Account Manager, who seemed to be a nice guy at the time turned into an a***whole when I confronted him with the miscommunication and misleading he did to sign me up. He tricked me to enter my bank details into the online agreement, telling nothing will be taking off and it is simply a process to reserve the office and I had 10 days to approve the payment. Nothing he said was actually true as the money worth £2096 was taken out an hour after I left the office. Absolute disgrace and it is really a shame to see in this day and age dodgy salespeople still exist. After my confrontation with him, he simply told me to get in touch with the accounting department who are based somewhere in Luxemburg. When speaking with these people they simply ask you to email them the issue and they will respond. 48 hours has gone past and they haven't responded.

    Now all this mess has happened, I really dont want to be part of this scam company and I want to get out of the contract asap.

    Can someone please share with their experience from getting out of a 12 months contract with this idiotic company?

    Many thanks
    ZP

    +1 Votes
  •   Feb 13, 2019

    @MEC2019 Dear Zaid,
    We're sorry to read that you were "misled to sign a 12 months contract" with us. Transparency is key to us and this is not the way we operate.
    Although your post is anonymous, we were able to identify your account and already provided you with clear responses. Not sure why you're saying that nobody contacted you.
    Please note that we offer flexibility to all our customers, but we have to know your business plans in advance, and therefore ask for anticipation on your side to end your agreement.
    Should you have further information to share with us, please feel free to email us at account.[protected]@regus.com.
    Thank you

    0 Votes
  • Jo
      Jul 11, 2019

    REGUS is HORRIBLE! I canceled via email December 2018 for a contract that was up in March. They said I sent the notice 2 weeks too late .
    Stay away from REGUS. Shaina S.

    0 Votes

Post your comment