I am going through the call and cancel thing now.
I called them in January '08 and what they didn't tell me, was that after giving me the whole sales pitch of you will get two months free just for being with them, and they would cancel my account, I get billed for the high speed accelerator that I deleted off of my system two months later.
They didn't tell me that they would start billing me again, usually when you call to cancel, that means CANCEL! Not start it up again, and be billed for the high speed separately.
So I call them again, and they give me the sales pitch again, and I could barely understand the guy speaking his version of English, and I ask him, can't you just cancel the service permantly, cause I don't want it anymore, and I deleted everything off my PC, cause I don't want the two free months?
He told me flat out no.
He said that I have to call two months later again, and tell them I no longer want the service, or they will bill me for the high speed, again.
So this is how they get to start billing you again.
Now I've called to cancel, and have to call two months later to cancel, again, and this better be the last time.
NetZero is the perfect name for these guys, try to cancel them, and you'll get ZERO.