SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Michaels Arts and Craftsuncomfortable experience

Review updated:

From the time you walk through the doors in the local Bozeman MT Michaels, you feel completely unwelcome, the unhappiness is so evident. Then, you will wait in a long line to pay for merchandise from other countries which is horribly overpriced. The customer is lured in with the allowance of One sale coupon per week, while you will get a reasonable price after the coupon, everything else is way over the competitors price. Don't even try to return an item, even with a receipt, the hassle is not worth it. Throw out the item, apparently that is what they do anyway. Which is why Michaels makes shopping there an uncomfortable experience. Turn and burn, baby.

To
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • My
      Dec 01, 2009

    Michael's has the worst customer service of any store, Long, long lines because it's more
    important to keep the shelves stocked. I count the # of people in lines...sometimes I have counted up to 20. If it gets over 3, I ask to get another checker! Joann's is the same way. Long, long long..lines...only 1 cashier...Ross is that way too. except they are way too messy!

    -4 Votes
  • Ju
      Dec 03, 2009

    Not all Michaels stores are like that. The customer is always right. And customer service comes before stocking shelves. Not everyone you see working on the floor is trained to be a cashier. There are different positions in the store you know.

    +4 Votes
  • Sm
      Dec 28, 2009

    Some of the workers at the Sterling VA store are very rude, and apparently the management does not care. I called the national customer care number to describe my experience and was told I would recieve a call back within 72 hours. I received no call back.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
      Jan 12, 2010

    I received a cricut cartridge for Christmas as a gift that I already had. The person who bought it got it for $35.99 (regular price: $89.99). When I tried to bring it back and exchange it for another one that is the same regular price and with a receipt they advised me that they could refund the $35.99 that was paid and then inorder to get a different one I would have to pay $89.99 for it. Otherwise I would have to wait for the cartridge to go on sale again inorder to do the exchange I wanted. How is this fair for a consumer. In no way was I trying to get any money back or rip them off. I just wanted a cartridge that I didn't already have. They would sell the one I was returning the same way and amount of the one I wanted.

    -2 Votes
  • Ka
      Jun 14, 2010

    I just today went to the Michaels in my city, Portage, Mi. Every week for months, I have gone into Michaels to pick up some craft items. I am a frequent customer and have spent a moderate amount weekly!! Today, as I always do... as I shop I pick up the artificial flowers off the floor. I was told by employees, you should be here before we close, you'd pick up a bag full. I in turn, began doing so on my weekly shopping trips. People are knocking into so many of the "fake" blooms! Never do I purposely pull or knock off a bloom! When I went to check out my purchases, and put the flowers in a bag, I was told I couldn't do this. I asked for the manager. He told me I was in fact stealing! I even asked thenif he could put a price on their "trash" I had picked up!!?? He took the basket and said no. Why had I want to know why had I been told they sweep up them every night and throw them away? I am not selling these blooms, I bring them home throw them in baskets around my house for decoration or I buy a wreath from the dollar store and decorate them for family, friends or my daughter's caregivers. I have nursing for my daughter during the day, so at night when I take over, while she's sleeping this is my "hobby" something that gave me pleasure. Thankyou Michaels, you have lost what I would have called... one of your valued customer's. I also plan I sharing with everyone I know, and know that shop there how the customer isn't right or treated courteously at what was once a favorite weekly shopping place!! HobbyLobby, out of my way, but here I come!!

    -3 Votes
  • No
      Jul 11, 2010

    I am a frequent customer at the Michael's store located in McAllen, TX. So much in fact that I considered it my favorite store. On Saturday, July 10, I was disgusted by Mari, a Michael's employee. As I was shopping, Mari was sweeping and kept getting in the way of customers, including myself. Each customer, had to move in order for her to sweep. As a business owner myself, I know that a customer must not be inconvenienced from their shopping experience. I heard her complaining to another employee about the mess that was on the floor. Also, it is unprofessional behavior to let customers know about your discontentment.
    On each of my shopping trips, I let my young son, who is in the shopping cart, look at a book while we are at the store. More than half of the times, I buy the book that he chooses to review. That Saturday, was not the exception. The difference was that this time, my sister who has a special needs child, went with me to the store. My nephew and son were together looking at the books. My son in the cart and my nephew following along. At one point, my nephew got the two books out of the cart and threw them on the floor and ran along to look for his mom. I had not seen he had thrown them on the floor until Mari came along and asked in a stern voice "are you going to buy these". I replied that I had not seen them on the floor and that I would pick them up. Mari picked them up herself. She also told the person in charge of the intercom to say the announcement about parents and their children. I firmly believe she did not have to make the intercom request in front of me, she made me very unwelcome, including the children, who are a major part of Michael's customer base. I understand that as a business owner or employee, you don't want to be picking up after customers, but that is part of retail. I feel she took out her discontentment on me. I have lost my favorite store, and Michael's has lost a loyal customer.

    -3 Votes
  •   Apr 24, 2019

    @noldogel I'm sorry. Mari sweeping the way she was turns out to be appropriate due to you demonstrating crappy parenting and child minding.

    -2 Votes
  • Ja
      Aug 15, 2010

    I am an avid crafter and have shopped in a number of craft stores with never a bad experience. Until, I shopped at Michaels in Sterling. I have recently moved here from across the country and was hoping to find a new craft home. I was extremely displeased with my experience. I had filed an online survey about my experience, which I commented on the lack of customer service during checkout. I got a call from the manager who asked why I hadn't made a complaint at the store. I explained to her that sometimes regardless of how legitimate your complaint maybe, there is no true resolution and satisfaction to making the complaint. She says well, I would have definitely corrected the problem, maybe not in front of you but at another time. I explained her to that, it's not that I want corporate punishment, but a "sorry" would be starting point and possibly a motivator for me to come back. And so, I barely got an apology from her, it was an uncomfortable experience even having her call me and make a very bad attempt at apologizing about my experience. Although, the follow up call was very poorly executed, I made the mistake of shopping at Michaels again. Today I visited the store to ask help on a custom silk flower arrangement. I was met with arrogance and a very unwilling employee. He was impatient in trying to determine my needs and accused me of trying to save money on not paying for labor on preparing a custom silk flower arrangement. Which according to him, I wanted him to pick out all the materials, show me how to make it, and skip out on paying the 30% labor cost. Give me a break, first the arrangement was $20 in materials, the labor would have then only been $6. Was he kidding, I just spend $66 on scrapbook items. And for those scrap bookers out there, you know that this hobby is not for the faint of heart when it comes to your pocketbook. But that’s not the point; he was rude, arrogant and dismissive. Besides, is it not the concept of a craft store to empower the customer to make it themselves? I will not make the same mistake again…I refused to shop at Michaels in Sterling and will tell all my friends and family to not shop there.

    +1 Votes
  • 14
      Aug 30, 2010

    Michaels is generally a horrible place to shop, as well as a horrible place to work. I recently quit because, after experience working at two different locations, corporate seems to have a knack for hiring insipid, inept, and sloppy people not fit to run a store/frame shop much less a cash register. Definite price gouging occurring in both the main store and the frame shop, selling non-company brand art supplies at the highest possible MSRP. A massive decrease in quality in frame shop materials, saw pieces getting returned all the time for issues related to the frame, glass and mounting being suspect. Don't expect great customer service from a staff that is entirely oppressed by a thick, tightly-wound corporate regime who mistreats the employees on an ethical level.

    +4 Votes
  • Il
      Sep 29, 2010

    Let me just say the Michaels i work at needs more employees to make the customer service better. Yeah we keep a clean store compared to the other two near by but that is not what sells. The company is trying to cut back but want to offer world class service lol World class service by making the employees not very happy.

    +8 Votes
  • Ta
      Nov 15, 2010

    I would LOVE LOVE LOVE it if Corporate would send someone to actually work at Michaels stores for a week!!! Please try it!! You'll see that you are asking things of these people that are NOT humanely possible. Make up your mind and let them do the job!!!
    There is no family life for a manager, stress is killing them, and you can't win!!! Work your [censor] off to get the job done, for WHAT? To be yelled at for over hours? Please experience the Hell for yourself!! See what it is you are asking of these guys!!!
    Seriously!!!

    +8 Votes
  • Fr
      Feb 20, 2011
    Best Best Advice

    I work at Michaels and it is extremely stressful and frustrating. The number of payroll hours for staffing is based off of sales, so if there was a slow week, hours keep getting cut to the point that there is one poor employee on the floor all by themselves trying to do everything. This happened today, a Saturday, to me. Despite the fact that we were crazy busy, I was the only person available to help customers because one cashier was called off altogether and the other backup was sent home early because we were over payroll hours. So that meant that I was the only backup on register and I spent the entire day literally running back and forth. I understand the customer frustration; when you do find an associate to help you, you feel as if they are dismissing you but it's because as the only associate there at any given time I have a line of 4 customers waiting for my help, one person on the phone I am supposed to get a price for, and someone paging me to go back to register because the lines are 10 people long, so there is no way I can spend the time with each customer that they deserve. It is horrible what corporate expects. They want more and more done for less. I'm sorry but I am not a machine and it isn't fair to the customers. Corporate keeps sending us these threatening letters about providing world class customers service but how the h*ll am I suppose to do that when I am the only one there?

    +10 Votes
  • He
      Mar 14, 2011

    I currently work at michaels and so far, its been an useless job. Its like I dont even have one. I only get schelduled twice a week, for only 8 hours total, and Im being pushed to look for another job just to pay my phone bill! Plus, they always leave me alone at the register, and when I ask for a back up, they come up, ring up like 2 customers, and then leave again just as my line gets 5 more. When I was hired, the manager told me that they needed more people because they were firing the people who werent working out. If they were firing everyone, then why dont I have more hours? At my last job, I was only working 2 to 4 hours shifts, and still getting at least 15 hours per paycheck. Now, my paycheck doesnt even go over 100 dollars! I love the fact that I work in a craft store, especially my favortie one, but seriously, this is ridiculous. I have bills to pay, and finding a job right now is hard. Finding this one was a miracle. Now it just feels like hell.

    +8 Votes
  • Ro
      Apr 05, 2011

    I recently signed up for the basic baking class, I was upset when I asked to see what I needed to take this course they told me that I needed to purchase the course first. After I piad & looked what I needed for the class i was really upset but I was in the class with some friends. I felt this was real intrapment & unfair!!! They sould include the items with the purchase of the class even if they have to raise the cost of the class!!!

    +2 Votes
  • Li
      Apr 06, 2011

    Went to a Michaels yesterday and a couple of items rung up for $.01 and the cashier gave me the items. I went to another Michaels today and found a few things on clearance. Some rung up for $.01 and this cashier refused to give them to me for that price. She said the items were supposed to go back to the vendor, and I could buy them, for the price that the item was tagged for. So...if they're supposed to go back to the vendor, why are they still being sold? It's not so much the price as the principle of the matter? Very disappointed in Michaels.

    +1 Votes
  • Il
      Apr 06, 2011

    The items that ring up for .01 lol they get tossed in the trash they don't ship them back. I cant believe she said that, and if a customer finds a item that is 0.01 then we have to sell it. Some things get missed just cus they are all mixed up and the clearance gets so messy so fast i should know at my store i will clean in then 10 min later someone comes by and it look like a storm went through. But yes you are right Liz.R she should have sold them to you.

    +2 Votes
  • Wh
      May 05, 2011

    The point made here that penny-priced clearance items go back to the vendor is misinformed. Employees in the know are lying when they say you can't buy it because of it being sent back. The vendors won't take them; they already made their money off Michaels over-buying! The items are THROWN IN THE GARBAGE!

    As one who has worked in a Michaels or two for many years, I must say that since the company has changed hands, each time, the employees take the blow the hardest, and they've become more miserable over the years. I've seen managers lose their sanity, become bitter and easily set off due to schedules, cut-backs, general corporation demands, having to stay for more than 50 hours a week, you name it. On top of that, dealing with a staff that's frustrated and red tape preventing more much-needed supplies needed for the store's basic needs because of Corporate's demands for more cash.

    Want a doozy for a laugh? To celebrate Michaels reaching the $4, 000, 000, 000 mark in profit, rather than giving every store a little pizza party or some sort of small break, the company purchased little tiny gold and blue pins that said "$4B" for employees to wear on their aprons. Uh...why the hell to your underpaid and overworked slaves-to-economic-desperation CARE how much YOU profited off THEIR backs? And why should they wear a pin celebrating you, Michaels? You've pushed them to the limit with demands, had it trickle down even FURTHER to the frustrated and over-charged customers, and now you're telling them all to celebrate how amazing your cut-back and price gauge strategy worked. "We sucked you all bone dry! Come celebrate with us!"

    I just don't understand how this company is still around.

    Oh yeah, congrats on your losing tens of thousands to New York State for being sneaky little rats with your frame shop "sale" tactics. Be sure to punish the employees good for that one. Because, you know, it's all their fault and never yours.

    +2 Votes
  • An
      May 06, 2011

    Ready to dish...
    why_do_we_bother is completely right, penny merchandise is not sent back to vendors. An item becomes a penny after it has been on clearance or has been discontinued for a certain amount of time and can no longer be sold and must be thrown away. However, these items aren't always found before a customer finds them. When a customer brings a pennied merchandise to the register, we follow the appropriate SOP (Standard Operating Procedure). And that is to LET THE CUSTOMER BUY THE ITEM OR ITEMS FOR A PENNY AND PROCEED TO GET THE REST OF THE PENNIED MERCHANDISE OFF THE FLOOR. ANY associate who says they can't sell you the penny merchandise is either ignorant of the SOP or just plain lying because they are like most of our associates, lazy and incompetent.

    I am a front end supervisor, which means basically I am a cashier with keys as no one seems to believe an FES has any authority. So many times in my employment at this friggin company I have stopped and looked around and have realized I am surrounded by idiots...by which I mean my fellow employees. We are all bitter to some degree or another, mostly due to a horrible lack of payroll hours pushing us to within an inch of insanity. But not all of us are fools...just most of us.

    When you see one line open up front and ten people in line, know that I do not like it anymore than you do. I don't like feeling like everyone in that line wants to slaughter me. Most of the time I can call up a sales associate (who takes her sweet time coming up usually), on several occasions I've had no one to call and have been told theres nothing that can be done (by a manager who usually feels they are above hopping on register for a few minutes). This company constantly drills into our heads that we must provide excellent customer service. Yet, it gets quite difficult when I have no backup for registers, I am answering the phones, I have to say a little ditty about our framing/floral sales on the phone and intercom, and I have to make sure during the time that each customer is in front of me I ask them to sign up for our email list, give them flyers and tell them I'm giving them said flyers, highlight and point out the coupons they receive with their receipt, and highlight and tell them if they have a survey with their receipt. On top of giving actual customer service instead of loading them up on all of our crappy offers to get them back in our doors. By the end they dont want to hear it, they just want to get away from me and I can't blame them. Answering the phone is the worst, it's so rude to do in front of a customer but if I don't do it I get yelled at by others who can't move a few feet from where theyre talking together to answer it themselves.

    The reason we have long lines, the reason you can never find anyone in the store to ask for help, the reason why theres only a few people on a shift at night is because of payroll hours. And the worse a store does in sales, the less payroll hours the store gets. It's a vicious cycle really. No customer service means crappy sales which means no payroll hours which means even less customer service and so on and so on until we all shut down...

    And honestly, calling 1-800-MICHAELS doesn't help. They have outsourced that customer care line to India, same place our help desk line has been outsourced to. If you think your local Michaels couldn't care less, wait until you talk to some Indian woman whose probably never heard of your small town much less been to it working full-time out of their home in Delhi.

    Try finding and calling one of our U.S. corporate numbers, and you will most likely be rudely directed to the outsourced customer service line. You can't even get people on the corporate level to show you some respect.

    A couple of more points then I'm done ranting. About the exchanging of the Cricut cartridge. While Cricut is often treated more suspiciously than most other items in the store because of a high shrink rate, theres no reason why, with a receipt, an EVEN exchange can't be done. Hell, it's easier for us just to do an even exchange, and if the box is unopened and you have the receipt, the manager should have had no problem whatsoever with it. Utterly ridiculous that these ###ic associates pick such petty, petty fights.
    Next, while sweeping is important at the end of the night, no employee should ever, ever, ever make a customer get out of the way so they can finish an aisle. They can skip the aisle and either come back to it or skip it altogether if its not dirty.
    As far as the custom floral arrangement goes, the associate should not have been a [censored] about the fee. Helping you is not costing him any labor, it's his job. The labor fee is in place for the time and supplies the floral designer has "store-use"-d that he or she uses in the arrangement. Walking around with someone helping them decide on flowers to use in an arrangement they want to do themselves is not the customer trying to be cheap, and that associate was an ### for suggesting it. Its good to try doing something new yourself, and I'm sure the awesome floral designer at my store would agree with me. Shes one of the best employees Michael's could ever hope for. Oh and to the same customer who went through that, I'm sorry the manager of that store was an idiot as well when it came to your survey. Instead of asking why you didn't make a complaint in the store, the manager should have offered a Michaels gift card. Sounds like its too late now though because of their stupidity.
    Lastly, for the person who wanted to sign up for cake decorating, you should have been given a syllabus to look at if you requested one BEFORE having to buy into the course. Usually we just let people look at it but not keep it because it comes with a coupon in it, but if we know that the person is coming back to sign up we sometimes give it to them. We are supposed to encourage people to take the courses, not make them want to punch us in the face.
    Ok, I'm tired from ranting now. By the way, I'm still an employee at Michael's, so I'm gonna stay as anonymous as possible. A lot needs to change, from the ground up...

    +7 Votes
  • Ma
      Jun 07, 2011

    SOP on penny items is actually NOT to sell it. Seriously, where are you getting this information especially being an FES. Go into your office, pull out the SOP binder and reread that SOP. Once a penny item is found, it is corporate SOP to remove the item from the register as they CANNOT BE SOLD through the register, simply place the penny item in the bag for the customer, finish the transaction and call an employee to check to see if there is any remaining product. What this means for the customer is that they are being given a free item but a professional FES or cashier will not make a big deal of it and will just void it from the POS and continue on. Yes, penny items are tossed occasionally but they have also started a grab bag system with penny items and all stores should be doing this. Penny items are thrown into bags and sold for a few dollars a bag. A good deal actually and infinitely better than the old policy of tossing the merchandise.

    +2 Votes
  • Ma
      Jun 07, 2011

    As far as calling the hotline, once a complaint has been placed, it is forwarded to the store manager through email who then has a period of time to contact the customer and attempt to resolve the issue. They also have to send a report of the attempt to corporate and their district managers.

    +2 Votes
  • Ba
      Jun 13, 2011

    UGh WE Can be Desperate in $$$$
    This place is bad to work for especially ever since the company was sold to jerks who have now clue how to run a craft store and Corporate who just sits on chairs { I hope they have big fat ### im sure they are laughing}, all day making stupid demands like arts and crafts is what people eat it like food, I know its frustrating to be a customer at the store but seriously 4 people closing the store or all day One manager, second a cashier, also third framer and forth a if there is a another employee for floor. How are we supposed to give wonderful costumer service, whe have tons of stock to put away and be back up cashiers and help with phone calls helping people if we have 30 items of clearance ### and helping customers on the floor with how to make a project like if we knew how to make crap, just be creative yourself, There was a stupid customer who came in with arrogant talk and said " HEY you where is your craft specialist ?" I turn around and said "hold on Let me call " First of all what no manners "Hello can you help me find something please " NO we get the " DO YOU KNOW WHere i can find BLah BLah Blah" . Another thing we cant know how much ### we have in the store and how it is used since we stock items and Micheals doesnt give any products to employees to work with we just read labels as you should do also.
    THERE IS NO FREAKING CRAFT SCHOOL TO KNOW HOW TO MAKE A CRAFT, I COULD SHOW YOU THE PRODUCT I DONT USE PERSONALLY AND IF YOU ASK ME HOW ITS WORKS READ THE FREAKING LABEL ON HOW TO USE IT. DONT YOU KNOW HOW TO READ OR HAVE MORE EDUCATION SINCE YOU TREAT US LIKE CRAP TRYING TO HOLD YOUR HAND TO SHOW YOU WHERE THE PRODUCT IS ALSO BCUSS MAN YOU CAN'T FIND THE ### OH WAIT ITS IN FRONT OF YOU DUMB ###. OK . We still need to put away our returns and make sure we smile thru the day of ### we put off with. If you kiss ### and smoke and brings cupcakes you might make it being promoted to best customer service hero lol. what the ### is that just a piece of ### written in it without a district manager lol signature on it, It show show you much the company cares. OH infractions seriously, If you get sick doctors note don't work so why bother with that, they don't work with yours schedule. Upper management don't care as long as they just get a big fat $ and if you complain to anybody is like talking to a wall. District manager are ###, they should only have regional managers that a stupid job that is useless corporate should look into since oh wait their stupid also. OH wait you get no breaks unless you work a 6 hours exact but by then you have to take only a lunch no break. and then if you say i need to leave 10 mins early for a doctor app they look at you like a deer in headlights stupid. people get about 3.5 hours a day to work how the hell are we supposed get all our work done. and don't forget to clean the store as you are working. IS corporate STUPID. Give us more hours and and extra people in the store. PEOPLE if you don't have the money to shop DON"T shop. this isn't the dollar store. even at the dollar store they don't sell a penny stuff. ### WOMEN SHoppers who want things for free with their ugly bad attitudes im sure you are not getting any of you know what, that you probably taking in off employees bcuss you want some crafts done to do more junk to environment. I hope MIcheals store closes and the looks of it it might bcuss stupid corporate decisions. Las thing 40 percent coupons is one per customer per day.Dont have your 5 year old paying for some stupid Cricut Cartrigde. Seriously are you desperate in crafts. go buy your kid nice shoes or a ice cream.

    -4 Votes
  • Cn
      Sep 24, 2011

    just come to hobby lobby guys :)

    0 Votes
  • Sa
      Oct 11, 2011

    I've had serious issues with the Framing Department at the Houston Bunker Hill store. A senior staff member today could be heard swearing from the framing room. This was within earshot of myself and my child. I am now very displeased with that store. I previously brushed off their short-comings when there were splinters of glass inside the artwork that I'd had framed there. I previously brushed off their inability to get things level in the matting and frames. I previously brushed off the thumb marks on the inside of the glass, and badly finished work wear the dust sheet was hurriedly and roughly trimmed with a sharp blade. I previously brushed off the fact that one of my paintings had the d rings upside down (on the wrong side of the frame). But I draw the line at rudeness and swearing.

    0 Votes
  • Pu
      Mar 23, 2012

    I know of a former employee whose family member died and was given infractions because they took off to bury the family. Then was fired for not being on time due to getting caught in heavy traffic. I've been in the store when the managers were calling out the high sales at the time that were coming in from other stores in the district. Michael's is not competing with other retailers. Their in competition with themselves!
    Other times I have heard the GM in a store telling custom framers to sell the product like they were in car sales. I actually asked a framer how much commission they make for frames and was told none. these people go to the effort of learning a skill and only receive an hourly wage!Usually bare minimum. I could go on but other have posted before me. They need to put this on Facebook, and other social media, other wise no one will ever be made aware of the corporation' s slavery, and I for one will not be taking my money there anymore. I checked out who owns the company. Three, private financial firms. The company was taken off the NYSE in 2006, and now only make money for a handful at the sweat off the backs of billions. { employees & customers alike.}

    -1 Votes
  • Vb
      May 08, 2012

    I work in the Framing Dept. at my local Michaels. I'm sorry so many of you have had such bad experiences with your local stores. I don't like it when we have to work with a skeleton crew after having busy days, but the lighter days it's not so bad. We get very few complaints from customers and very few complaints about items that we've framed. I've only been in Framing since last fall, but I've picked up on everything there is to learn rather quickly. I don't agree with the way certain things are run in the store, but I'll keep that to myself. I wish I knew what advice to give all of you about your complaints, but all I can say is to use our official site and keep making comments or suggestions in the comment box with hope of it being resolved. Sometimes we can't help it when lines get backed up because don't control who does or doesn't know how to run a register and other times the floor person is busy trying to handle all the customers stopping them while they're working. If you were on our side of things I think many of you would understand just how much of what happens is out of our control. If I've helped a customer who's back near my area I always offer to ring them up so they don't have to stand in line at the front of the store. It's our job to help you so you would want to return. No matter how bad or stressful of a day I have, I try to put a smile on for my customers. I hope future visits can be more pleasant.

    +1 Votes
  • Ca
      May 08, 2012

    Michaels is a TERRIBLE corporation. I worked at the corporate offices and we are trained to basically rip paying customers off. I traveled abroad to find the cheapest factory for goods and the conditions were HORRID to say the least. Don't be a fool and your waste your money on the products Michaels sells, they are inferior quality made in factories by child labor!! It is a terrible company to work for on so many levels.

    0 Votes
  • Da
      Sep 22, 2012

    Perhaps the problem can all be traced back to who owns controling interest in the company. Bain Capital, isn't that the company that our what to be president makes his money from?????????

    -1 Votes
  • Da
      Sep 22, 2012

    Do some research and you will find out that Michaels is owned by Bain Capital, isn't that the company that the present want to be President makes his money from???????

    0 Votes
  • Da
      Sep 25, 2012

    Not sure who Psu87 is but with your response I would never talk about autism. It is a serious matter and you are just out there, way out there.

    0 Votes
  • An
      Oct 17, 2012

    cricut cartridge- if you even exchange it for a different item... its not an even exchange. you also know you cant use coupons on it... so seriously, what was done by the original cashier was correct to the best of the associate's ability. i hate hearing from customers about how we *should* do one thing or another for them. If they worked retail for one year they would be much easier on everyone. I've found that the people with legitimate complaints about attitude or associates lying are usually people who have worked retail before and understand policies and that your job is on line whether the policy makes sense or not.
    Framing- your stuff should all be covered with a lifetime warranty, if it hasn't been fixed already, take it to the next closest Michael's for repairs.

    0 Votes
  • St
      Nov 29, 2012

    Can you return purchases you made a total of around $400? Will they give back your money or will they give you a card with that amount?!?

    0 Votes
  • Cr
      Feb 26, 2013

    Almost all the people who shop at Michael's Arts and Crafts Store are mid-age and up women with nothing better to do with their lives than spend their husbands money on crafts. They are irritable, irrational, and ### women with issues with not only the company but with their own lives as well. Company policy is company policy and some employees are told different things than others. Things happen and none of those customers have to right to induce anger and frustration towards the workers who don't have the luxury of an old husband that pays for every god damn thing. These women that walk in and impulsively put "needed craft" items into their cart frantically looking for things for whatever they are making to pass their precious time. They look for specific items that do a specific job in a store that carries over 30, 000 products and a description of "like a thing, looks like another thing, uses something" is not going to cut it in finding the item. And the horrid anger and frustration and hateful attitudes these women undergo when they can't properly describe and find their craft is overwhelming to the point where your day is just almost ruined. So their done right? With all their shopping items in their cart they wait in line. It takes longer than expected.. waiting, waiting, waiting... What is taking so freaking long!?!? Oh wait, it's another ### in line getting all her 50 craft items scanned. She carefully looks at the screen, at every item checking the price twice making sure it is what she thought it to be. Then almost radically out of no where she goes like: wtf why is everything so expensive, my total should not be this high (no way shocked) this is false advertisement!!! This should not be this price. I want to speak with the manager. So obviously the cashier not wanting to deal with the ### uses the computer to manually override the price to whatever the ### wants it to be. Then the [censored]er pulls out 18 coupons trying to use them all on her precious arts and crafts whereas company policy states that it's 1 coupon per customer per day. 1 you mother[censored]ers, 2 if your nice, and 15% total purchase teachers discount if your not a stupid [censored]ing teacher and is a well known friend who [censored]ing tips. So all items priced the way they should be, almost done, just press the green button ma'am.. ma'am please press the green button, green button ma'am, GREEN BUTTON LADY I can't understand why YOU can't understand that you need to press the green button to finish the transaction GOD. So transaction is done, receipt given to purchaser, and finally next in line. Oh but wait... ### has some items she has to return from yesterday's purchase. Great, now the impatient customers get even more impatient bout to take out all their ### once they get to the cashier (not just craft ### if you know what I mean). Mrs. Dick, you can't return this item it's handcrafted. WHAT!?!? Yes ma'am our policy states clearly on the back of our receipt that you cannot return floral handcrafted items. This is absurd! What is wrong with you people!?!? And she storms out taking her out-dated thanksgiving floral arrangement she used as a centerpiece purchased over 6 months ago and is deemed "nonreturnable". Well [censored] you too old lady now I'm stuck with a bunch of other angry customers bout to go through the same exact ###. Good day.

    -4 Votes
  •   Feb 26, 2013

    ^ You're not sales oriented are you? Maybe horse stalll cleaning as a career would suit you better.

    +3 Votes
  • Th
      Feb 28, 2013

    If you work for a Michael's Arts and Crafts, you get what you see: paid minimum wage, treated less than-mimimum respect. It doesn't matter what previous experience or skills you have, you are only a warm body that can carry things, point directions, count change, and stock shelves. Even the framing staff is usually untrained. They are not professional framers. As a matter if fact, they don't want to hire professional framers because then they will lose money! A professional framer will actually take the time to do a good job and use the correct materials for your artwork! Michael's doesn't want that because it is a few more pennies out of their pocket. If the store is below their daily sales goal, they send their minimum wage employees home so that they might save that 7.35 per hour per employee.
    Michael's Arts and Crafts is little more than the sweat shops from where they buy their merchandise.

    -1 Votes
  • Th
      Feb 28, 2013

    As a matter of fact, Michaels tells their employees all of the time to push sales to customers, put damaged merchadise back on the shelves so that a customer will unknowingly re-purchases it, and will knowingly sell a product to a customer that is low quality.
    NOTE MICHAELS CUSTOMERS: The store does not care about you, your crafts, or your pocketbook. The managers are mainly men that treat crafty women like dumb housewives.

    +2 Votes
  • Fr
      Mar 13, 2013

    So I can find the SOP policy for the penny merchandise in the office? That is good to know. I had a customer come and ask me for the official policy . In our store we are allowed to sale a customer one of the penny items and then we have to throw away the rest. I have had issues with customers taking advantage of this and I am afraid of getting in trouble since it shows up on my sales record. These last two times I believe the customers came from other stores in the area and were specifically hunting for the merchandise.

    As for the rest of it.
    Our store does not have a FES, and the managers always tell me to pander to the customers. Customers are not always right, and it seems as though they are illiterate as well. Corporate makes some pretty silly policies and what works in one store does not work in all of them. I have gotten to the point where I can anticipate what the managers will tell me can do it. What the fellow employers have said about the payroll and the staffing is true, but it doesn't help that the people that are hired are not the best. At my store we had a pretty good team but the old manager moved. Now its like people have some what stopped caring about their jobs and fallen into a passive aggressive state.

    Also while the customers are getting frustrated for lack of help, it does not help to come to the register with a sense of entitlement as well as quite frankly not reading. It does not take a genius to see when something is clearly put down in the wrong spot or the label that is to the far left of the merchandise is not the right one. Lets not forget the meltdown over a coupon and well if you READ the coupon exceptions you will understand why you can not use it on certain items. It does not call for customers to act childishly, throwing items and walking away with out us trying to reach a compromise. I have had things thrown at me, poked and prodded by fake flowers, things dropped on my foot and yet with the exception of peak season I come to work ready to give good customer service. I have had coworker cussed out to tears on her second day because of company policy to give return no receipt returns on a gift card. I have had another one broken down to tears because the customer demanded and blamed her for all the things wrong in the store and when she was near panic attack tell her that she is too sickly and inconsiderately told her sick people should not work.
    I have had a man come up to me, as I ring him out he blatantly tells me that the price is wrong I should change it, when I told him it was correct that some one may have put the item in the wrong spot he tells me no I grovel at his feet because he is a paying customer and some one else put it in the wrong spot, that I should make the item that price because it was it said. See now how do these things make me want to be nice to others?

    And about the registers, if customers worked at Michael too they would understand why its the worse place to be and other associates avoid it like the plague.

    Do not come into the store if you are in an extreme hurry and get pissed when you are talking on your phone and the price is wrong.
    Make sure you read the signs please, if we are wrong we are wrong its no problem.
    I promise we are not trying to make your life worse but if you be kind to use you get the same in return.

    +1 Votes
  • Ma
      May 05, 2013

    I work on the floor at a Michaels Store, and I am a class instructor as well. Our customer service has suffered due to the lack of personnel at the register or on the floor. Corporate lets us have the bare minimum in our store except on Saturdays and Sundays. We do our best to help everyone who needs it, we run around like crazy trying to do everything. Most retail stores are now like this now. As for penny items, we never throw out the penny items!! We group them together in grab bags and sell them for a very small cost, usually a large bag or box of items for $2.00. Some items do get sent back to vendors too. None of the stores in our region throw items away. We even sell damaged items for a quarter of the price rather than throw them away. Please retail customers, be patient with your retail service workers, don't expect them to be your personal shoppers. Read the labels on the products before asking for help and information. Be a good shopper by not dumping items where they don't belong. Put items back in their proper location, or give them to the cashier at checkout. Keep your children at your side, and don't let them play with everything in the store. Don't enter a store 10 minutes before closing expecting to get A1 personal service, and detailed project advice. Store associates need to do closing tasks before the store closes. You will get better service if you are a better customer... we will get better customers if we give better service.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
      May 12, 2013

    I have worked at the Columbus Michael's in Georgia for two years. I have been a very faithful employee. I only call out if i can not move out of bed or if i am in the hospital. When i lost my car do to being unable to pay for insurance, instead of making excuses about not being able to get there, i started walking every day. 10 Miles there and 10 back. Sometimes i would arrive late because of traffic and weather conditions which were beyond my control but i would always make up for the lost time. Now i make sure i am always at least 30minutes early. I have had all of 3 customer complaints, 2of which were misunderstandings which were solved by me and said customers. The other during Christmas, which if you go in to a Michael's around that time who wouldn't complain. I do all the kids crafts, demos, kids classes, birthday parties and the like.why? Because every one else in there refuses to without some sort of extra pay. I help our florist out when i can and i know where everything in the store is. If i do not know about a product i ask the customer about it to use for future reference. I try not to gripe about hours because i am aware that our store cant afford many. And before our new manager came in i never really had a complaint. However, i find it extremely unfair that i make less money than associates that have been there 6 months due to the change in minimum wage. I feel as though that should have been altered for the pre-existing workers as well. I find it insulting that there are women that get more hours than i do when i find them slacking off or zoning out 70% of the time and i spend most of my shift cleaning up after them. I am by no means the perfect employee but i deserve better than 17 measly hours a week. It has become almost impossible to pay all my bills on time as well as feed myself on these kind of hours as this job is my only source of income. I feel as though my store manager has a personal vendetta against me for whatever reason i am unsure. When ever someone else gets a compliment from a customer they get recognized. I get told it's my job and it's what is expected of me. He lectures me like a child for getting stressed which i do not appreciate. And it seems to me and others have said the same that he is harder on me than any one else in the store. But i have stayed there through all of this in hopes of advancing in the company. Recently our part time CEM has announced she is leaving, a position that i have wanted for a while(and i have been clear about wanting) and feel qualified for. I have been there longer than anyone who isn't a manager, and longer than some of them as well, and i am obviously dedicated to my job. Today i find out that the store manager has offered it to a cashier who has been there for 7 months and has only been a cashier and has no managing experience or even experience on the floor for that matter. Though i have nothing against her i am FURIOUS that he didn't even think to ask me. Not once did it cross his mind. When i later asked another manager why she stated that he most likely didn't take me seriously due to my age even though the former CEM at 23 is only a year older than me and had been in that position for over a year. I ask you where is there any justice in this? This store has become complete joke and should seriously be taken down or fixed. After 2 years of this ridiculousness i have had it! I AM DONE!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ro
      Jul 29, 2013

    A total bunch of corporate jack ### ! The replenishment crew go to work at all damn hours, Mostly anywhere from 3 to 5 am i don't know where the corporate big wigs live but it's dark at that time, I just learned ( because my wife unfortunately works there ) that her manager has been threatened with her job because she has been overriding the lights so they can see to stock and build displays etc i mean really wtf . What a bunch of total idiots, but yet if they don't get a 8 hour pog (the big metal display you see loaded with crafts etc ) done in 5 hours or less its a ### chewing . Wish i could be there 1 time when My wife was getting a chewing over crap like that !! Any real employer knows that treating employees like that does not get productivity . They treat them very i for will be glad when my wife tells them where to stick it ! but she is a team player and don't just quit a job because of issues all jobs have down sides to them and I understand people need to work and pay bills BUT FOR ME I WOULD RATHER BE HUNGRY THAN TIRED AND HUNGRY !! SO FOR ALL MICHAELS CORPORATE BIG WIGS KISS MY ### ! As for you employees good luck wish you the best .

    0 Votes
  • Da
      Aug 09, 2013

    So many of these complaints are legitamate. Go to Glassdoor.com and check Michaels and see the reviews employees have given this company. There is an underlying thread throughout every review. I can understand why some managers are rude and nasty and mean, they are constantly being threatened with losing their job because everyone is over worked. Unfortunately their open door policy and complaint procedures are not even recognized. As an employee if you complain, you are harassed abused and forced to resign or you are fired. Can't blame the managers of the stores either because they are just as abused as the rest of the staff. If your are going to complain send your complaints to the Board of Directors, flood them with your complaints.

    +1 Votes
  • Mi
      Oct 09, 2013

    I'm a manager at Michaels (Not *the* store manager - what some places call a Shift Manager). . .
    Penny Stuff: the SOP as of 10/2013 (yep it changes - a lot) is if a customer is checking out and has penny stuff - they get to buy it at a penny BUT they cannot go get more. We are to go get the rest of it off the shelves. . . so if it's in your hands and/or cart - you get it. BUT here's the kicker - people are putting their finds on the internet and I had a pair of customers in yesterday specifically looking for penny baskets - one brought a basket up for a price check - when it proved to be a penny - she became upset because I went and got the rest off the shelves - so after trashing the baskets - they went up to checkout with 2 carts full and left most of them in an aisle after finding they were not a penny. . .then one of them called Corporate and said I grabbed baskets away from her (nope - but I did catch a pile that she almost pulled down onto her head - and then offered them to her) - so the district manager called and chewed me out and the store manager has to call and apologize to this customer (who basically admitted she was there to ripped the company off - by getting merchandise cheaper than the marked price) who lied. . . so I hope this customer is REALLY HAPPY.

    Look people - if I (or some other associate) doesn't seem welcoming - look around you - how many people are working that day - like someone else said: when you stopped me, I was most likely: a) answering a phone call - a customer shopping by phone, b) have 2 or more customers waiting for me to get back to answer their questions, c) being called to register to act as back-up cashier, d) being called to key a void, get something out of the locked cage and/or one of the paint cages (locked because some people feel they must steal) . . . so if I'm frowning - I'm concentrating on remembering everything I need to do in the next 4 seconds. . . . . .

    For the people that want to make floral arrangement like one they see. . . .many times (when they are on sale) they are much cheaper to buy than for you to make - unless you are making several as gifts - the florist (at least ours does) carefully selects bushes that are on sale and splits them over several arrangements - thereby making a nicer arrangement (more colors/different flowers) for a cheaper price. To duplicate them you would end up with a lot of waste and mostly it will cost more because of that. BUT if you can come to our store when it's not busy, I will help you find everything you need to duplicate it. Also understand, it's the exception - most of the associates hired don't know how to craft, don't want to know how to craft and don't care - they just want a paycheck. . .sad but true - I've been here 5 years and only make $3 more than minimum wage and I'm seriously thinking about leaving because of customer abuse like above.

    -1 Votes

Post your comment