SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

[Resolved] JustAnswerfraud

Review updated:

I've been charged $48 for NOTHING. I have no idea why this showed up on my credit card bill on 12/07 . They are a scam.

Listed on my bill as:
Just Answer Experts My JABILL.COM CA

  • Resolution Statement

    Customer Service has done everything in their power to resolve the complaint. All attempts to contact the customer have failed. Therefore, the complaint has been annulled and must not be considered where image of the company in question and its services are concerned.

  • JustAnswer Customer Care's Response · Oct 28, 2010

    Dear Mary,

    I’m very sorry to hear about your experience. I’m Adam and I work for JA. I have sent you a private message so I can take care of your refund immediately.

    You may reach us anytime through the Contact Us link on our Help page. Our Customer Support team is available 24/7 to help.

    Please let me know if there is anything else I can do. We’re here to help and we’ll work with you until you’re satisfied.

    - Adam

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Cl
      Jan 07, 2009

    I JUST WANT TO CHANGE MY CARD ACCOUNT WITH JUST ANSWER. HOW CAN I DO THAT.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Oct 27, 2009

    I typed my question in a search engine which took me to Just Answer who did not disclose their practices before asking me to agree to a dollar amount if my question was answered with 100% satisfaction.
    As soon as I gave them my paypal info, I was charge 28.00 which I did not authorize.
    I filed a dispute with paypal and then they marked my question as closed by the moderator but did not refund.
    How much more of a SCAM could this possibly be.
    BEWARE JUST ANSWER is a crooked operation beyond beleif !!

    +1 Votes
  •   Jan 11, 2010

    You can see here http://www.paymentmax.com/

    0 Votes
  • Nr
      Jan 23, 2010

    I don't recognize the company or charge. I did contact someone about a pet problem but the
    charge was to be $33, not $60.

    0 Votes
  • Ta
      Mar 22, 2010

    Yes, this is happening to me, I just called my Am Ex and they are investigating, the one thing I do remember is calling a Vet Expert and they were very helpful but when I was asked if I wanted to join this club to get all the expert advice on a monthly basis, I turned it down, but since they had my credit card number they have been charging my account...it never hurts to really look at your statement. This is why I do not like ordering anything on the computer...

    0 Votes
  • Bu
      Mar 30, 2010

    not what I expected. pricing was confusing.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
      Apr 14, 2010

    I have the exact thing on my credit card. I did ask a question on Just answer but never received a response.

    +1 Votes
  • Ga
      Apr 14, 2010

    I too have a complaint. In Feb. 2010 I asked for some help on my computer where I was having problems. They never gave me any help but charged me twice with the total of $29.00! I will never give out my credit card no. again for something like this. They are a scam for sure. Gail

    +1 Votes
  • At
      May 22, 2010

    I guess JustAnswer feels like you want to ask a question every month, so they charge you $24.00 just in case.
    I have attempted to contact them through their website, but my emails aren't responded to.
    Next effort is to have MasterCard not pay them. Waiting for the response to that.

    Definitely something fishy here. I'd like an 800 number posted on their website.

    +1 Votes
  • Re
      Jun 13, 2010

    I too asked for information and had to give them a cc no. The money was taken (17.00) out of my account but never heard from them again. I have tried to contact them but they never return messages. From what I gather someone is getting very rich and they need to be stopped with the help of the law or I would be willing to make a trip if I knew how to find them. Its the principal. R E Jensen

    +1 Votes
  • Ru
      Jul 01, 2010

    just ask took my money and never answered my question

    +1 Votes
  • Wi
      Jul 07, 2010
    JustAnswer - Double charges and no knowledge
    United States

    Had a question about my 15 year old yorkie's extended time in heat. My vet was out of town, thought i would ask. Guy gave me ridiculous response, mainly that she probably had bladder cancer, and then charged me for two questions.
    Stay away from them. Biggest ripoff i've stupidly used on here.

    +1 Votes
  • Be
      Jul 09, 2010

    The same has happened to me. Monthly charges for the last 3 months for a 'Subscription' I never signed up to. Visa have cancelled my card and reissued a new one which they say may stop future payments. They are also sending me a claim form for them to consider taking action on my behalf. The instructions to unsubscribe on the website from the 'MY Account' page do not work, but if you follow the instructions in the FAQ's 'How can I cancel my subscription', then it does appear to stop it. But will not know for sure until my next statement arrives from Visa! B.E., England.

    +1 Votes
  • De
      Jul 25, 2010

    I was also charged for a veterinarian's answer, when all he said back was to consult my family veterinarian. I did not accept his answer, but yes I did give my CC # for payment if I would've accepted it. I got my CC bill today and there it was! I went straight to their site trying to find a phone number, etc. Then I started finding these different complaint sites like this one. I should have done my homework first:( It looks like the BBB is involved in hundreds of cases like ours. They have solved some but not all. I will be calling JustAnswer, hoping to get them to reverse the charge ($18.00 is not that much, but it's the principle of it) and possibly cancel my CC account if I'm not happy with their response.
    It just ticks me off that all I wanted was some "expert" advice for a good old dog that I truly love and it turns out to be a dishonest person or group of people trying to make dishonest money. Shame on them! Here is the contact info for JustAnswer.com if anyone is interested.
    Business Contact and Profile for JustAnswer Corporation
    Name: JustAnswer Corporation
    Phone: [protected]
    Fax: [protected]
    Address: PO Box 29045

    San Francisco, CA 94129
    Website: www.justanswer.com
    Original Business Start Date: July 2002
    Principal: Mr. Nino Cavenecia, Customer Support Manager
    Customer Contact: Mr. Nino Cavenecia, Customer Support Manager - [protected]
    Email Address: [protected]@justanswer.com
    Entity: Corporation
    Incorporated: July 2007, DE
    Employees: 35
    Type of Business: Internet Services
    BBB Accreditation: JustAnswer Corporation is a BBB Accredited business.


    Back to top
    Products and Services of JustAnswer Corporation
    This company offers paid question-and-answer service on the Internet.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
      Dec 31, 2018

    @deb polacek Hi mates!!!... I had a bad taste after just asking a question, cost me more than just $5 dollars... Someone made me a membership in your business... Illegal move, I did not give authorization to became a member of you F business. I am a Pensioner and somebody there in your business is STEALING MY MONEY. my NAME IS Jose Reyes-Garcia the [censored] who made this illegal move taken my money without asking... give me the number of: V811228/12 [protected] in the money withdraw in my bank account... Taken $83 dollars just like that, four times already taking my money. GIVE BACK MY MONEY OR I WILL PROSECUTED AS ILLEGAL MOVE TO COMMIT fraud.
    Give back the money someone is stealing me in your business. my telephone is [protected].
    Jose Reyes-Garcia.

    +1 Votes
  • Le
      Aug 05, 2010

    I gladly paid Larry, the appliance repairman, for his advice on my sludgy Bosch dishwasher. I was thrilled to know this site existed and that I could get help on any number of subjects.
    I selected the $18.00 option. My account was debited another $18.00 for a "deposit" which I had no knowledge of when I opted to use this site.

    I have left a message with the "Customer Contact" number just now to have my account credited.
    I hope that I am NOT left holding my breath.

    Even though this site claims to be BBB accredited, I will call the BBB if I do not get a return call and satisfaction.
    I agree with Ms. Polacek, it's the principal, though in my case it IS the money, as my husband had a stroke, and if I could've afforded an in-person repairman I would have called one.

    VERY DISSATISFIED,
    Lee Taylor

    0 Votes
  • Be
      Aug 27, 2010

    I was charged twice for 1 answer $ 18.00 one month and another 18.00 the next...

    0 Votes
  • Ic
      Aug 31, 2010

    I was also charged $28 for nothing. I asked a question and their rep. (s4sys), asked a question which I answered. A week later and I'm still waiting for a reply and noticed my credit card was charged and my case was noted as closed. Certainly seems like a scam to me.

    0 Votes
  • Ic
      Aug 31, 2010

    The initial charge by Just Answer is a refundable good faith deposit. BUT try getting it back when they do not answer your question. The 888 customer service number stated above does not work - it is a recorded message to send an email to www.justanswer.com/refund. There you will find a form as to why you want a refund. I checked "did not receive a reply" and clicked on send. Then I realized how do they know who is requesting a refund. There is no request to provide any information. Looking back I can't see any information for customer service on their web site. No email address whatsoever and no telephone number. I should have known better that when they don't want to talk to you, you pass on everything.

    0 Votes
  • Kn
      Sep 14, 2010

    Who are they and why isn't there a phone # with their charge as there is with others? I did not give them my card #, I did not "ask a question", and I did not authorize a charge. So my only recourse is- go online and ask why they charged me, then wait til they charge me for asking about this unwarranted charge? I do not give my acct. # to places I'm unfamiliar with, so how did they get it? How do I find their business address & phone?

    0 Votes
  • De
      Sep 14, 2010

    I copied and pasted their information "51 days ago", see above. It paid off because last month my charge account was credited the $18.
    After calling and a couple of emails, I finally found the correct site that took some action...it is www.justanswer.com/refund. Good luck, hope it helps!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Oct 23, 2010

    this company have been taking £7 form my account for months for nothing

    0 Votes
  • Rs
      Jan 18, 2011

    I went to this site to ask about an electronics problem with my dvd player. I authorized what I thought was a one-time payment for the assistance. Instead, my Visa card was charged three times instead of one. I have now gone to the site and (I hope) corrected this by changing my authorization to "No". I will certainly be checking next month's statement very carefully and if this has not solved the problem, I intend to take further action.

    0 Votes
  • Co
      Jan 25, 2011

    I have also lodged my complaint with JustAnswer and am awaiting their response. I was lead to believe that the charge of R124.00 was a once off charge and have now had my card debited twice since the initial payment.
    The whole thing is a scam to get money. I used the Dermatology section.

    +1 Votes
  • Co
      Jan 25, 2011

    I have just received one of their emails with this on the bottom : "If you wish to continue with your Unlimited* Subscription on JustAnswer, your account will be automatically billed for another 30 days of service. If you wish to cancel your subscription, please visit your My Account page. " I have gone there and done the necessary. I will keep you informed. Note the use of "unlimited* subscription". That's where the catch is.

    +1 Votes
  • Su
      Jan 28, 2011

    I've been charge several times, once a month since September/2010, and every month I need to contact my credit card company and dispute the charge, it is a scam...I cannot believe after several months disputing and winning every single dispute, the credit card company still accepts the charge...I will probably need to ask the credit card company to change my plastic...please tell everybody about this scam...

    +1 Votes
  • Oo
      Mar 01, 2011

    In December last year I used Justanswer for a health question and they charged me $36 for an useless answer. And they have been charging me $36/month on my credit card for the last 2 months without my approval. I complained to them and they said that I opted for automatic subscription which I have no idea why it happened and why anyone would want to have monthly subscription for this kind of service.
    Justanswer is giving themselves a certificate for failure with thus kind of business scam.

    +1 Votes
  • De
      Mar 27, 2011

    I have tried five times to get a tax answer, and to no avail. They also took money from my acc, without legal answers, this site is a big scam!!!

    +1 Votes
  • Da
      Apr 28, 2011

    Hello,

    You can contact JustAnswer at [protected]@justanswer.com or you can call them (not a recording) at Toll-Free: [protected] and Intl: [protected]. I assure you that there is a 100% guarantee on their services even after an extended period of time. You will need to be able to provide info for them to locate your account, usually your username, the date and amount of charge and the last 4 of the cc (or the pp addy). Things have improved over there when it comes to customer service. If you receive a pop up of email offering 30 free days, then that's the subscription (and it says subscription right there). If you know anything about 'subscriptions" it's a repeat thing...but where else are you gonna find licensed people (drs, lawyers, computer experts, pet experts, car experts, etc, etc...) for as low as $15 a month? thats a crazy price considering the cost of even a simple office visit to any one of those professions.

    to summarize...
    1. they only take monthly payments if you sign up for the sub, so be careful what you click
    2. you can get a refund for any reason at any time..period. I've done it.
    3. If you use the above info, you WILL get a response
    4. have all of your info ready when you contact them

    +1 Votes
  • Ha
      May 02, 2011

    ccan't check billing

    0 Votes
  • Ch
      Jun 18, 2011

    I'm another person who has been/is being scammed by JustAnswer. They kept asking questions then said they'd solved my problem, which they had not. I keep getting charged it seems like every time they email me for an evaluation of services received.

    Chet

    +1 Votes
  • Ja
      Jul 15, 2011

    You guys in the States are doing OK. $18 charges? I am being charged AUD$78 every month! I've also done the "change to No" on the payment details. We'll see what happens next month.

    I asked two questions, for which I paid, beliving that I was paying a once off for the specific questions.

    Yes, it is a scam. I shall add my report to our Aussie Fraud Police - we have fairly good "cyber cops" down here . . . and I'll also be contact my bank.

    +1 Votes
  • Ca
      Jul 23, 2011

    I’m Carl, a Computer Expert on Just Answer. We are no way a scam and do our best to answer your time sensitive questions the best that we can. I will tell you, the amount you pay for the question will have a HUGE impact with how fast your Question will be answered and how much time an Expert will dedicate to it. We are only paid a portion of the question amount for our services.

    We will of coarse attend to every question the best that we can but who do you know will spend 2 days working on an issue for $10? Anything over $38 is going to get jumped on and answered within 2 minutes unless the description is poorly written or what your asking is underpriced, but it will still get attended to and answered.

    Just Answer is an awesome place to work and a great way to get help on any topic that you can think of for a cheaper price. And if you dont like a certain expert, you can send them to the curb and another one will step right in and take their place and take over.

    In summary people….were not a scam. There are better experts than others and if your not happy with the expert, you can and will ALWAYS get your money refunded back to you.

    -1 Votes
  • Th
      Jul 27, 2011

    Far more customers at JA are scammers than the site or the experts are. Some experts spend hours or even days going back and forth with a customer for $15.00 (which nets the expert $7.50, which can amount to a professional being paid .50 cents an hour) and then the customer declares "I already knew all this", they raise a tantrum wanting their money back, ALWAYS get it and then go away having stolen good faith time dedicated by someone really trying to help them. They THINK they're stealing from a big corporation, but the experts don't work for JA. They seriously get only half of the deposit as an independent contractor. Tons of experts are trying to make ends meet on social security, disability or poor paying jobs in today's economy.
    Nearly 100% of all the complaints here are from customers who hit a wrong button, misunderstood a term of service or as mentioned earlier, posted a vague, badly worded non-question with way too little offered to the expert for what they know will be a difficult customer with a complicated problem.
    Would YOU do someone's term paper for $5.00? Would you re build someone's engine for $15.? Would you even attempt to answer someone who has a kid with a clearly broken leg and excrutiating pain, but telling you up front that they WILL NOT go to the hospital so don't even suggest it and only if your advice WORKS will they pay you the $10 they're offering (your take being $5.). Really?

    0 Votes
  • Ba
      Sep 12, 2011

    Yes it is a scam, I found 3 charges after 1 question, at various dates, do not use them!!! they were too dumb to see the charges on their database when I called. They said that they would take one 48.00 off, , , I am expecting a call within 48 hours, they said, , to resolve.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
      Sep 28, 2011

    paid $3 for an answer that what previously answered and they sent me a picture of a bathroom. do not sign up for this ... They take your money for useless answers.. They didnt even answer my question. that I wanted.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
      Oct 22, 2011

    JUSTANSWER huh i asked advice about my vehicle and agreed the £15 fee but on checking my statements i have found they are helping themselves to £33 per month, can not contact them next step is to visit bank and see if they can rectify, disgruntled (scotland) they are over here too, 080818970US you are a scammer

    0 Votes
  • Th
      Nov 07, 2011

    The way the site works is you make a deposit (YES, this means your credit card is charged, where else does the DEPOSIT come from) and once you are SATISFIED with the answer you receive you ACCEPT the answer, which transfers your deposit from YOUR JustAnswer account to the expert (partially) and the site (the rest). If you are NOT satisfied, the DEPOSIT stays in YOUR JustAnswer account for you to use toward any other questions or you may request a refund of the deposit. JUST because your CC was charged, doesn't mean the expert got paid...it means you have money in your JA account. Most of the complaints on this board appear to have come from those who do not take the time to learn how the site they choose to use operates. Educate yourself before using the site, instead of complaining here and sounding like an idiot. JustAnswer is an awesome site, a great place to make money in this economy, and a great resource for those who want professional, experienced consulting for a very very reasonable price.

    0 Votes
  • To
      Dec 07, 2011

    I have repeated charges of $69 appearing on my credit card. These are not authorised.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
      Jan 11, 2012

    So far I have had a positive experience with JustAnswer.com. I added a few dollars to my account and asked a dental question and a law question. The answers I received were very thorough and helped in in each area. I recently subscribed to the free 30 unlimited trial subscription. This subscription allowed me to answer unlimited question. I asked lots of questions during the trial. All of the questions were professionally answered. My trial period is ending so I just cancelled my unlimited subscription on the site. You have to go under my account and select to turn the subscription off. I plan to still use the site by depositing money and asking questions when needed. So far so good. I check my account for the next month or so to assure that I am not billed for the subscription. I will follow up and let you all know.

    0 Votes
  • Ly
      Jan 25, 2012

    I accepted a response to a medical question but did not want to subscribe further - but cannot cancel

    0 Votes

Post your comment