The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

[Resolved] Empire Carpet / Fraudulent quote!

1 United States Review updated:

On 2/21/07, a sales representative from Empire came to my house to give me a quote. The representative measured the two rooms (living room and bedroom), advising me that it totaled 80 square yards. I picked out two different samples. For the less expensive sample, he advised that it cost $29 per square yard, including removal of the existing carpet, padding and installation. Including taxes, he quoted a price slightly more than $2,500. After I hesitated, he stated that the "sale" would end that day. I asked him what the "regular price" was, and he responded that it was $38 per square yard. After I hesitated further, he asked how much I would be willing to pay. I paused, then stated, "maybe $2,000." He said, "Okay, but I need to know now." I hesitated again, and then I left the room to call a contractor-contact of mine to ask if that price was reasonable. He advised me that the price was high. I told the sales representative that I had to think about it, and I would call him the following week. After he left, I had an independent carpeting contractor come to the house to give me a competitive quote. The other contractor came to my house later in the day to take measurements. He advised me that the two rooms totaled only 68 square yards. Thus, the Empire sales representative lied to me about the total yardage. I decided to drop it, and not call Empire back.

The most egregious act by Empire, however, was still to come. On 2/25/07, I received a call from an Empire telephone representative, who asked me if I was interested in purchasing the carpet. Without explanation, I said no. She responded that Empire could beat the last quote. I stated that I was still not interested. She asked me why. I then started to explain the entire story, including that Empire lied about the amount of square yards. Before I was finished explaining what had happened, but after I told her that Empire lied about the total yardage, the Empire telephone representative hung up on me. I fully expected her to apologize and tell me that Empire would undertake an investigation, but instead she did just the opposite. By hanging up on me, she exposed Empire for the fraud it really is. Obviously, this was not a situation where the sales representative who went to my home was a "bad egg." To the contrary, by hanging up on me, she proved that Empire is in on the fraud. Empire's fraudulent scheme, among other things, is to overquote the amount of square yards needed. Empire should be shut down.

  • Resolution statement

    Customer care service did everything in their power to resolve this complaint. All attempts to contact the complainant have failed. Therefore, this complaint has been annulled and must not be considered where image of the company in question and it's services are concerned.

  • Empire Today Customer Care's Response, Apr 30, 2012

    Jerome, we’re disappointed that you’ve experienced issues with your product post-installation, as we always want to work with our customers to ensure they have a positive experience. We understand that we’ve been in contact with you and that we’ve scheduled repairs for later this week. If you have any additional questions or concerns, please call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email us at Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

  • Empire Today Customer Care's Response, Jul 02, 2012

    Thomas, we regret that your product has not been meeting your expectations. We understand that we’ve been in contact with you about this issue recently and that an inspection was done. We will have a member of out customer service team follow up with you soon to discuss the results of the inspection and your concerns in more detail. If you have any questions or concerns, please contact us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email us at Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

  • Empire Today Customer Care's Response, Oct 08, 2012

    Linduska, we regret the issues that occurred during your installation. We would like to opportunity to learn more about your situation and help make things right. Unfortunately, we cannot locate your account with the information provided here. Please call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email, and a member of our customer service team will reach out you. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

  • Empire Today Customer Care's Response, Feb 21, 2013

    We’re disappointed that you were not satisfied with your experience working as an independent contractor, as we always strive to create a positive work environment. We would be happy to discuss the concerns you have expressed here. Please contact our Human Resources department at 888-588-2315 ext. 3007. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

  • Empire Today Customer Care's Response, Feb 28, 2014

    Wilbow, thank you for bringing your missed appointments to our attention. We realize that this is a frustrating situation, and we are disappointed, as this is not the level of service that we expect for our customers. We would appreciate the opportunity to make things right for you, but unfortunately, we cannot locate your account with the information posted here. Please call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email your information to, and we will reach out to you to discuss a resolution. Thank you. Jeanette Ramey, National Customer Service Manager

  • Empire Today Customer Care's Response, Apr 21, 2014

    Thanks for sharing, Bradley! We love receiving feedback from our customers, and we’re thrilled that you enjoyed your experience with us. We truly appreciate the recommendation and hope you’re enjoying the new look and feel of your home!
    Jeanette Ramey, National Customer Service Manager

  • Empire Today Customer Care's Response, Oct 24, 2014

    Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We always strive to provide a positive work environment, and we would like the opportunity to discuss these issues with you in more detail. Please contact our human resources department so that we can learn more about your concerns.

  • Empire Today Customer Care's Response, Jul 28, 2016

    We regret that your experience did not meet your expectations. We never want our customers to be disappointed in the products or services that they receive. Although you have decided to go with another company, we would be happy to discuss any questions or concerns that you may still have. Please feel free to contact us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

  • Empire Today Customer Care's Response, Aug 01, 2016

    Thank you for making us aware of your concerns, Ralph. We regret that you did not agree with the pricing for the additional work that was required to complete your installation. We will be following up with you shortly to discuss this matter in more detail. You can also reach us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

  • Empire Today Customer Care's Response, Aug 01, 2016

    We’re sorry for the difficulties you had scheduling your appointment and that you weren’t kept informed throughout the installation process. We do expect our sales representatives to work with each individual customer’s budget and needs during your sales appointment and we’re disappointed to hear that your sales appointment didn’t meet your expecations. However, your feedback is very important to us and we’d like the chance to speak with you further to address your concerns and to learn more. We never want anyone to leave their experience with us unhappy and want to make things right. If you’re willing to speak with us, please email your information to or call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 and we’ll follow back with you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

Sort by: UpDate | Rating


  • Em
      30th of Apr, 2007
    0 Votes

    Thank you for bringing this to our attention. Total customer satisfaction is important to us here at Empire Today.  We take customer feedback very seriously and we are always striving to improve the customer’s experience. Unfortunately, we were not able to locate any of your information that may link us to your account being that you did not identify yourself at any time. Please give us the opportunity to correct your issues at a suitable time. You can reach us at 800-583-3000 and ask to speak to one of our resolution experts and please give us either your telephone number that links to your account or your contract number. Thank you have a great day.

  • Ka
      30th of Jul, 2007
    0 Votes

    I had a similar experience, except that I was naive enough to purchase the cheaper carpet they recommended that I was grossly overcharged for. The carpet shredded so excessively that it clogged every vacuum cleaner I tried. Within one year the carpet was so worn that it looked at least 5 years old. When I complained and Empire came out to inspect it, I still did not get a response back. I had to call customer service only to be told that it needed to be steam cleaned. When I filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau they made up all kinds of things to say that I voided the warranty. They have refused to give me any kind of credit. I ended up having to give a carpet allowance when I finally sold my house. I agree that they are crooks and selling extremely cheap products at above market prices. It seems that there should be some kind of recourse against companies like this.

  • Ba
      13th of Aug, 2007
    0 Votes

    Thanks for this site as well as the complaints. I have an appointment for an Empire free estimate next week and am canceling. There commercial sounded too good to be true.

  • Mi
      28th of Aug, 2007
    0 Votes

    To make my home more attractive for sale on the market, I will be recarpeting it. In addition to getting my first quote from one retailer, I wanted to get a second quote. I thought I'd check out Empire, since they do such a huge amount of TV and radio advertising. I went online to get their phone number & noticed this "Complaint" listing. Thanks to this listing and complaints, I won't even be calling Empire. I appreciate whoever set up this site and those who wrote up their feelings about Empire -- what a despicable operation!

  • Da
      11th of Sep, 2007
    +1 Votes

    Im actualy waiting right now for the empire estimate guy, Im glad I got to read these reports, thank you

  • Ja
      26th of Sep, 2007
    0 Votes
    Empire Today - Poor quality product!
    United States

    I had purchased flooring a year ago, a few months after installation the floor was scratched. It took many phone calls to empire and one phone call to finance company when i finally got someone to come out and replace the damaged areas. Now the floor is buckling at the seams. Someone did come out and took pictures and said someone else would get back with me. After a few week i called customer service (answering machine) and left messages. As of this date no one has returned my calls. I will never buy from empire again. The floor doesn't hold up like they said it should.

  • Jo
      15th of Oct, 2007
    0 Votes

    I'm so glad I saw this ! I was looking for empires number via the web and saw this comment thread.

    I'll find somebody else to quote it.


  • Sh
      7th of Nov, 2007
    0 Votes


  • Me
      7th of Nov, 2007
    0 Votes

    I had a similar experience. I felt highly pressured in my home and ended up calling and canceling, however the carpet installers arrived at my home the following day to install the carpet and they stated they had no record of me canceling despite the fact that I spoke with the person who came out and measured. I felt humiliated and embarrassed when the installers came out anyway and I felt pressured once again to have them install the carpets/flooring anyway. I finally just called and spoke to the sales rep and was quite angry I felt as if I was being duped.

    A few months later, I received several quotes for comparable flooring with a much lower price tag!

    I think they get customers who are desperate to get things done and get those of us who are impatient and impulsive- and... naive.

  • Ex
      23rd of Nov, 2007
    0 Votes

    overpriced, high pressure, arrogant, they are not helping our industry at all. Buy from your local experienced installer. Lower price, one on one service. I know, I am that guy. I value ALL of my customers. ALL OF THEM

  • El
      28th of Nov, 2007
    0 Votes

    Thank you for the ten Complaint postings. I read every one of them and then called to cance tomorrows appointment which I just made this afternoon.

    Got through to a live body but when she heard that I was cancelling my appointment and that I was not interested in re-scheduling said she would transfer me to the person who could do that. Ten minutes later she returned and said I should call back tomorrow.

    That caused me to become very factual and described my findings and consider this notice as a cancellation.

    She put me thru to another person who offered me $50.00 off my purchase ( ON WHAT PRICE ???) if I re-scheduled.
    That confirmed my readings and intent. We cancelled tomorrow's appointment. Thank you for the insight.

  • Wa
      1st of Dec, 2007
    0 Votes

    called yesterday for appointment to estimate said would be there between 9 and 11 on sat. it is now 12:30 and not hear yet! what a bunch of losers! I will go with my local HOME DEPOT! Thanks for the site. Later losers

  • Ke
      3rd of Dec, 2007
    0 Votes

    Thanks for all the posts! It seems they operate similar to how carpet cleaners operate. I was going to schedule an appointment and have now decided to look elsewhere based on what I learned here.

  • Cn
      5th of Dec, 2007
    0 Votes

    I own a duplex and I am currently remodeling both sides. Thank you to all of you for your feedback on that company! I was going to set up an appointment with them but forgot their phone number from the TV add. I had to look it up on line and saw what a nightmare company they are !!! I will let all of my friends know about that "caca" company.

  • Kw
      13th of Dec, 2007
    0 Votes

    I'm really glad to have found this site, I had just called to setup an appointment to get an estimate on carpet. Which by reading this Won't happen. I want to say thanks to all that have taken their time to help others not get scammed by companies like this one.

  • Du
      17th of Dec, 2007
    0 Votes

    I just got online to look for Empire's phone number after seeing their tv commercial and I am so glad to come across this complaint listing. Thank you so much for the information. IF IT SOUNDS TOO GOOD TO BE TRUE, THEN IT PROBABLY IS!!!

  • Sh
      19th of Dec, 2007
    0 Votes

    Go to the top of this website and type in Home Depot in the website search bar and over 200 complaints come up. That's less than Empire. Anyone who has every been to Home Depot knows what you get from minimum wage workers. Good luck at Home Depot, 3-4 weeks for special orders or the crap they have on hand in 3-4 days. Had nothing but horrible experiences with Home Depot.

    Good Luck Dealing with HD, they are real professionals that get paid minimum wage, of course they don't care to work hard for you.

    Laughing about the buttons to push when trying to find someone to help you in the departments. Just walk in and look around and ask questions most workers walk by you with their head down as if please don't dare ask me a question. Dealing with the managers is even better, have fun.

  • Sh
      19th of Dec, 2007
    0 Votes

    I'm sorry to mis-quote the complaints from typing in Home Depot above in the website search box. There are only 210 complaints and 21 pages of complaints.

  • Ed
      1st of Jan, 2008
    0 Votes

    I do home inspections, and I can't tell you how many complaints I hear and see about Empire. Carpet is thin and the installation is often substandard, particularly around seems and baseboards. I would never, ever have Empire install anything for me.

  • St
      23rd of Jan, 2008
    0 Votes

    Had a very similar experience. I measured up after the rep had gone and my measurements came in smaller by over 25%. I did this to try and get a per foot cost (they wouldn't give me one - not their policy I was told) to compare and found the carpet was way overpriced as well.

    The manager told me that I didn't know what I was doing and tried to spin me a line that the measurements were out because of the wastage they had to build in due to roll width.

    Needless to say I didn't proceed.

    They prey on our impatience and a desire for immediacy.

    Do your homework and get reputable suppliers in.

Post your comment