The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

Dri*www. Avast.com / Did not order, yet billed $149.50

1 Beaverton, OR, United States Review updated:
Contact information:

On January 23, 2009 my credit card was changed $149.50 for a would assume was AVAST virus protection. I have been fighting the credit card company as a fraudulant charge without much sucess. I need this charge removed from my credit card. Full line on bill is DRI*www.avast.com element5.info MN

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Pe
      21st of Aug, 2009
    0 Votes

    Dear Sir/Madam,

    Since my computer protection had expired I renewed as the update urged. This I did apparently three times on August 10, 12 and 14 of '09. Each time I thought it was processed - however I received warnings that I was not covered or protected by Avast com elements5 - although each time I discovered that the amount was taken from my account AND today I attempted to respond to the warning of non-protection - went through the Order Process and assume that I will be protected. I hope that this is so.

    However, I have paid 4 times for the same order. I fear that I have paid 4 times for the the one order -
    please clarify and let me know asap how to fix this.

    Peter F. Bagley
    pbagley@nbnet. nb.ca

  • Li
      10th of Sep, 2009
    0 Votes

    I am not that smart with the computer. On 7/12/09 ordered Avast element 5 on line. The key given to me would not work. Was still having trouble with computer and viruses so ordered again with the back up disk on 8/8/09. Had to have a computer friend come and correct everything. I am now being charged $39.95 twice and should only be charged once. Please correct.

    Linda Boyd
    lindaj223@yahoo.com

  • Da
      9th of Nov, 2009
    0 Votes

    I was stung by Avast and One Element as well and was denied a refund. All went well with the order which was discounted as a continuing customer until I pressed the submit button. The billing was for a higher amount than was on the screen. I protested to no avail. Suggest dealing with an anti-virus company that doesn't fudge to make more money... Where I live we call this the old bait and switch move! Anywhere you live, this is called cheating!

    Dave Rutledge
    dave.rutledge@woodsbros.com
    Order REF ID: 301695845

  • Ch
      12th of Jun, 2010
    -1 Votes

    I got stung too - did not order any software from avast, yet my credit card bill has an item for 59.95 EUR plus FX Fee of $AUD2.77. If I had have bought it, I would have paid in AUD not EUR. Credit card statement shows:
    DRI www avast com element5 info DE

  • So
      29th of Jun, 2010
    0 Votes

    TOTAL FRIGGEN RIP OFFS---- I am on the phone right now fighting cause I was charged $39.95 and I never purchased it or gave any of my credit card info. I downloaded the free trial version months ago and that was it. And then i see a charge on my bank statement. They are asking me for the purchase # and i tell them i do not have one cause i did not purchase anything. Then they tell me that they need to navigate thru my computer to make sure that I do not have the software (like I have it and am trying to steal it from them) I said no friggen way do u need to go thru my comp and thats how they probably got my bank info to begin with, I have never heard of a place having to have ur permission to get into ur computer to just simply refund my money... I was so livid I lost it. I still have not gotten anywhere, they said they would send the info on to their supervisor adn they would get a hold of me. I told them that I would be getting a hold of them for I was not done with this crap. My bank said to come in and file a complaint and do some paperwork. This is not the end!

  • Ge
      16th of May, 2012
    0 Votes

    I never thought that avast was crooked, but recent experience has proved me wrong.. I wanted to get another year of avast virus protection and was told I needed to upgrade for more protection. I was offered a special price of $19.99 for a year. i thought well why not? so I filled out the app punched in my mastercard number, and hit submit before i seen a small 3 in the top right of the screen, it seems i bought 3 protections for the year. I only own 1 pc, but was billed $65.07 on my credit card. It was late at night so i wanted to correct problem in the morning. I e-mailed 'ORDERS@ADVAST.COM, EXPLAINING THE PROBLEM. Then not getting a reply, i checked my credit card info, and yes i was billed and paid. I thought that we could fix problem later, when i went to download software to install virus protection, the program would not accept the terms of agreement. I then went to tech support three different times, only talked to people from India, who spoke very poor english. I called my own tech support and he installed a different virus system, so much for avast, i'll contest the bill, .they will only cheat me only once. Gene Dobson genedbsn@msn.com

  • Ga
      29th of Aug, 2012
    0 Votes

    To whom it may concern:
    I spent an hour and a half with one of your customer service people, she (a name i cannot spell or pronounce. She seemed to know what she was doing, hacked into my computer and fixed it supposedly. I have purchased your antivirus and easy pass.programs an
    easy pass is screwing up my ability to get into certain web sites. She proceeded to clean up my computer and afterward said Avast was not able to work for my computer, She said that Microsoft antivirus was all i could use .She also gave me the phone number, for
    REFUNDS, I promptly called and got the good old runaround. Your company has 40 dollars of my money and i am formally requesting a total and complete refund. My email address is gsgaryslater@gmail.com. in addition I was not even given a notice in my email that you received anything and these pop-ups on my computer is really annoying, So. do the right thing and refund my money. Thank you Gary Slater

  • Sh
      19th of Jan, 2013
    0 Votes

    they owe me forty two dollars and will not put it back into my account they carge me twice i will hav to take legal actions i e mail them three times and they said they will not refund my money

  • Sh
      19th of Jan, 2013
    0 Votes

    they refuse to put forty two dollars and thirty nine cents back into my account i have e mailed them 5 times it was there mistake not mine i gave them the two numbers and they said they dont owe me that money is mine i want id back in my account now

  • Sh
      19th of Jan, 2013
    0 Votes

    please put my money u owe my account i was charge twice sharonhinker2012@hotmail.com

  • Ro
      17th of Apr, 2013
    0 Votes

    I ordered avast and after ordering it would not connect to my computer so I called and they wanted more money telling me there was something wrong with my pc. I informed them my pc is new and that I wanted my money back. All I got was a run around and now I have to go to my bank and file a complaint and my bank will get my money back for me. Do not buy from these people. It is a total rip off.

  • Es
      20th of Aug, 2013
    0 Votes

    on 6/4/13you billed my credit card for$21.39 order #12371839744 and again on6/10/13 for $21.39. 7/01/13 your e-mail informed me I didn' have any coverage; I've been trying ever since toget these amounts credited to my card without any success to this date 8/20/13.. 8/19/13 I rec'd email to contact you at thisaddress and resubmit this claim for credit. During this time I've been on the phone and computer for hours on end and got nothing but the runaround. Yesterday you gave me and my wife a toll free number to help only to find it wasmcfee! Real funny! I contacted two agencys and they asked me to send allthe emails to them which I did. I'm not sending any more information regarding these charges; The balls in your court!

  • Me
      11th of Apr, 2014
    0 Votes

    Dec 28, 2013 I ordered the 1 year Total Support from Avast which was $179.99. They went though my computer and supposedly fixed and updated what they said was necessary. There were websites that I could no longer use that were very important to me!
    Dec 30, 2013 I called them to complain and they went through their program again of fixing! Still not working for me!
    Jan 2, 2014 called them again -- No answer - (waited 10 min)
    Jan 2, 2014 called my creditcard bank and filed a dispute
    Jan 3, 2014 called them again -- No answer - (waited 15 min)
    Jan 3, 2014 called them again -- No answer - (waited another 15 min)
    Jan 3, 2014 called again using the sales phone number, they told me to keep trying that someone should answer
    Jan 3, 2014 called them again -- No answer - (waited another 15 min)
    Jan 8, 2014 called them again -- No answer
    Jan 12, 2014 I received an email from avast stating that they had returned my money of $179.99
    I could go on and on with the phone calls that I have made and all the run a rounds that I have gotten.
    April 11, 2014 and I have never received credit of the $179.99!
    I had to have my computer fixed locally and was told it was definitely screwed up.

    DO NOT BUY ANYTHING FROM AVAST AS THEY ARE A TOTAL RIP OFF

    I am not going to let this go by any means!

    MTracy

  • Gr
      30th of Dec, 2015
    0 Votes

    you have charge me for software I don't have. the charge will be denied. spiritsgrace@outlook.com.

Post your comment