The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website
Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In

[Resolved] Cheapoair / refund issues!

1 United States Review updated:

This all started because I wanted to change my arrival time by 1.5 hours. See my email to cheapoair and by the way, I still don't have my refund yet. I was told on 7/12 that I would be charged a $100 cancellation fee since I was changing my arrival time on my flight within 24 hours. At cheapoair's request I canceled the booking #502367 and re booked with the correct time. I was then asked to send an email to chen@cheapoair.com requesting the cancellation and acknowledging the $100 fee which I did at 10:17pm on 7/12.

I've been trying to get a status on my refund for booking #502367 since 7/17/07 (More than 6 weeks). I've emailed twice 7/17/07 and 7/19/07 - no response) and called numerous times including 8/14, 8/15, 8/22). I was placed on hold forever (Once for over an hour) and disconnected several times. When I did reach someone I was always told that my refund was being processed, but it would take up to 6 weeks to get it back. I was even told by perry that it may take until the end of august which would be 8 weeks although cheapoair's website states approx. 4-6 weeks.

6 weeks later and now i'm being told that it will take an additional 3 weeks due to some internal errors at cheapair and that I had not sent back my canceled ticket. Well no one ever told me that I needed to send the ticket back which I would have done immediately. Again, i've been in communication with your company for weeks and wasn't until I talked to philip on 8/22 that I was ever told to send the ticket back.

On 8/22/07, I overnighted the ticket back to cheapoair and received confirmation that it was received on 8/23.

On 8/23 after the receipt of my ticket I was then told by philip that the airline would deduct $200 from my refund for the cancellation which no one at cheapoair ever told me. They only told me about the $100 cancellation fee from cheapoair. Again, I was only changing my flight time not canceling my trip. By now i'm very frustrated and disappointed with your company and it's service with the exception of philip how has tried to help. I would have never changed by flight time if I had known it would have cost me an additional $300. Sorry, but getting into milan 1.5 hours earlier would not have been worth it. Philp said that he would try to get the some of the $200 refunded from my current booking, but the key word was 'try' which he didn't even mention in his email to me.

I do not feel I should be charged a fee at all especially one that I was never made aware of or approved. Again, i've been in dealing with cheapoair for over 6 weeks!! At this point the following people will be contacted and will be made aware of this horrendous service (Again with the exception of philip); ram peddinit (Head of call center), steve lanzalotto (Director of operations), werner kunz (Chief strategy officer) and sam jain (Ceo). I'm also contacting consumer affairs.

This is the first and last time I will ever use our site and I will make all of my friends, families and associates aware of how I was treated. It's a simple refund and should not have been this time consuming and stressful to take care of.

  • Resolution statement

    Customer care service did everything in their power to resolve this complaint. All attempts to contact the complainant have failed. Therefore, this complaint has been annulled and must not be considered where image of the company in question and it's services are concerned.

  • CheapOair Customer Care's Response, Oct 30, 2007

    Dear Ms. Hill,

    I am following up to the posting on this website, and it appears you have received your refund. I am truly sorry for the delay and the bad experience you had while using our products and services.

    Cheapoair values your business, and we are striving each day to provide quality service and products.

  • CheapOair Customer Care's Response, Dec 08, 2008

    Dear Valued Customer,


    CheapOair uses 3rd party software and feed to display fares on over 300 Airlines, 75, 000 Hotels, and 35 Car Rental cos., We use best industry practices to display fares based on the most current data supplied by the GDS's - Global Distribution Systems. The Airlines load their fares on ATPCO, from where the GDS's access these fares and supply to us and other Online Travel Agencies. There is approximately 10-15% chance of the fare not being available which is Industry standard, all major Online agencies have the same policy. This is also due to cached data and not real time data provided to us by the GDS's. We make best efforts to minimize these by reducing our SOLD OUT issues but we are totally dependent on 3rd parties for this information. We regret this and apologize for the in-convenience".

    for futher assistance please email me at:
    randrews@cheapoair.com
    866-636-9088

  • CheapOair Customer Care's Response, Dec 08, 2008

    In regards to the above complaint, Airtran airways has not filed bankruptcy, and is still in full operations.

    randrews@cheapoair.com
    866-636-9088

  • CheapOair Customer Care's Response, Dec 14, 2011

    Our website clearly displays all pricing in US currency. We are based in the US, therefore, all purchases will be charged. Apparently the customer did not review the booking page prior to hitting submit. We are sorry that they had the added expense, but clearly an oversight by the consumer.

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Va
      3rd of Dec, 2007
    0 Votes

    As of 12/3/07, Cheapoair still has not provided my complete refund. Alitalia refunded my ticket, but Cheapoair owes me $100. They are now saying that Alitailia is responsible for this refund which could take up to 6 months, per Renee Andrews at Cheapoair. However, in their written response to the Better Business Bureau they acknowledge fault and claim that my refund will be coming from THEIR accounting department. Still nothing!

  • Pa
      24th of Apr, 2008
    -1 Votes
    RuezArt - Cheapoair
    United States

    I tried booking a flight on cheapo and re-did my flight information several times to see about different dates in order to get the lowest fairs. A lower fair came up for a certian date and I booked it. When I looked at the ticket the return data had been changed to a month or two later than I had entered. Did I make a mistake or did their software default to another date?? I'll never know but I paid the $100 fee to cancell and then went directly to the airlines site and even considering the loss due to cancelling, I found the flight I wanted for several hundred dollars less than cheapo.

    Just wondering... has anyone else experienced "dates changing?"

  • Le
      26th of Jun, 2008
    0 Votes
    CheapOair - Airline flight canceled
    CheapOAir
    2502 Riddick Road
    Elizabeth City
    North Carolina
    United States
    Phone: 252 338 6681
    www.cheapoair.com

    MY COMPLAINT has 3 parts:

    1. Cheapoair did not notify me of any changes about my reservations for four to Hawaii scheduled for June 28, 2008. I booked trip on 1/4/08. It was only on June 25 that I found out Air Tran Airlines had filed bankruptcy on April 3, 2008. No e mail or telephone call was received by me. I have searched my deleted and junk mail but found nothing from them.

    2. On further inquiry with CSA Travel Protection Insurance, I found that Cheapoair had canceled my insurance on April 29, 2008 without my knowledge or notification.

    3. Although Cheapoair did put back a portion of the fare, No notice was sent to me about what they were doing or why. I did not pick up this info until calling the Credit card co. The only solution they presented to me was to make a new travel arrangement for an additional cost of $7, ooo. I believe my insurance claim would have picked up any cost for the tickets.

  • Di
      21st of Jul, 2008
    0 Votes
    CheapOair - Possible fraud
    CheapOAir
    United States
    www.cheapoair.com

    My sister bought a tickets to LA for her and her family at a great (false) price. two hours after booking and printing the receipt they called her to say that fare is no longer available and it was more than double. She's since spent over 5 hours on the phone trying to resolve this nightmare. They have not resolved it nor honored her fare and it's become a huge time consuming disaster. Apparently they have done this repeatedly! They try to lure you with the cheap fare then call you to get you to rebook and cancel your flight. They need to be investigated by the government.

  • Pa
      15th of Oct, 2008
    0 Votes

    I found Cheapoair to be a total rip off. After American Air canceled our flight to Dallas, they immediately refunded the total cost of the tickets to Cheapoair. After over nine months of requests for a refund, "noel@cheapoair.com" said that Cheapoair would only refund $30.00. Further they said:

    Dear XXX,

    As per our terms and conditions, all service fees are non refundable. As advised previously, the $30.00 refund that was processed in your case was an exception and a courtesy. We will not process any further refunds, this issue is closed.

    Thank You,
    Billing Department

    Ticket Details
    ===================
    Ticket ID: 50686
    Department: Billing
    Priority: Medium

    Recommend all people avoid cheapoair!!

  • Ma
      24th of Jan, 2009
    +1 Votes
    Cheapo Air - Beware of fraudulent company
    Cheapo Air
    United States

    We had a HORRIBLE experience with Cheapo Air. Once you book your ticket at their quoted price, leaving your credit card number with them online, they send you an email 3 DAYS LATER telling you that the original price has increased by HUNDREDS of dollars. Your only choice is to purchase the plane ticket at this new RIDICULOUS price, or charge you a cancellation fee.

    Cheapo Air has absolutely NO work ethic, I am highly disturbed and disgusted by their lack of respect for customers, and I highly recommend any reader of this complaint to NEVER do business with Cheapo Air.

  • Lo
      8th of Feb, 2009
    +1 Votes

    i bought a ticket to italy with cheap o air, the airline change the itenerary, so i asked for a refund, cheap o air charged to my account after the refund 3 time to my credit card and said it was taxes, and now the wont even respond to my calls, they are no good. its criminal to charge without letting you know.

  • Lo
      8th of Feb, 2009
    +1 Votes

    I bought a ticket to italy, the airlines changed the itenerary so i had to cancell, you never gave me full refund, plus charged 3 times after the fact to my credit card without telling me and said it was taxes, i want my taxes back how dare you charge to my account for a flight i never took, its criminal to continue to abuse someone credit card!!!

  • Si
      6th of Aug, 2009
    +1 Votes

    I am currently dealing with an issue myself. Just spent over 2 hours on-again off-again hold. And was told by Nigel, a customer service supervisor that I was an idiot. I sure was for booking with Cheapoair.com. I WILL NEVER book a flight with them again.

  • La
      12th of May, 2010
    0 Votes
    CheapOAir - Warning, poor service, non c0mpetitive
    Cheapoair
    United States

    Cannot Recommend...Purchased ticket, found other competitive sites, very Poor service was on hold for :40 min then disconnected...Major problem was other travel sites offered same flight itinerary A $154.00 less than CheapOair...CheapOair never answered phone, sent e-mail CheapOair finally responded and would not match the competitive published fare...More expensive...Shop before you purchase..

  • Ni
      4th of Jun, 2010
    0 Votes

    Cheap o air, Is the worst company to deal with. They have no understanding to customers. And they charged us twice for a ticket that we could never use at all because of pass port problems. They would not refund the first money then charged our credit card again for the same flight or ticket. The customer service mgr. was very rude and took our problem personal. She even started yelling over the phone at me and would not give me the phone number of the owner of the company. I will never recommend anyone to use this company at anytime because if you have a problem they will refuse you any type of a refund and they will charge your account twice like they did us.

  • Ai
      19th of Jan, 2011
    0 Votes
    CheapOAir - terrible customer service
    Cheapoair
    United States

    Cheapoair might be cheap but has the worst customer service!!! Because of that I wont fly with them. I would rather spend an extra $100 an fly with someone that acutally wants to help. And TRUST ME, the travel insurance doesnt help. So save your money

  • In
      21st of Jan, 2011
    0 Votes

    Dear Sir/Madam, it sounds like you are in need of assistance. I would certainly be glad to look into what ever your concern maybe. I would also like to mention that we are not an airline, but a travel agency, so if you had a problem with airline service that is something other than service provided by CheapOair.com. As for the insurance, that is separate also from our company, Travel Guard is a leading travel insurance provider, and the details of the policy are listed on our website on what they cover and don't cover, again, that is a separate issue from CheapOair.com. Please forward me your 7 digit booking number to randrews@cheapoair.com, with blog posting in the subject line, and I will see what I can do for you.

  • To
      22nd of Jun, 2011
    +1 Votes

    Cheapoair charged me for auto rental insurance for budget rental car in Panama!. Budget does not accept insurance issued out of the country in Panama?. As a travel advisory company selling insurance on auto rentals, they should know this and refrain from selling insurance/. It is a fraud upon the customer?. Do not patronize the services of this company, .

    cheapoair Refused to refund monies when I complained and made request for refund". amex no help either!. the company has not responded to any request for explanation or refund of monies I wascharged for auto rental insurance

    that was not accepted by Budget rental agency in Panama.

  • Fr
      22nd of Jul, 2011
    +1 Votes
    CheapOair - Missleading/Horrible Service
    Ontario
    Canada

    We are flying out of Detriot early in the morning to get to Orlando . We wanted to book a hotel to stay over night so no rush to get the plane in the morning. We called CheapOair and I specifically asked for a hotel package with park and jet included ( I mentioned that 4 times during our coverstaion). He said he had one for $115 cdn (for 2 rooms). The day after booking I called the actual hotel to make sure all was right. Well the park and jet service was NOT included in our booking. It is an xtra $45 charge. So I called them back to ask why. First off the wait times to actually talk to somone is always excessive as in atleast 30 minutes or so. I finally got in touch with the booking agent and informed him of what I had found out. He said all his computer shows him is that its an available service. I said well why didnt you tell me that when I specifically asked for that to be included. He just repeated himself 3 times over. So then he replied that I can cancel and receive all the funds back except $1. I then said no I still need a hotel So i'd like to keep the booking for now. The next dayI receive an e mail from them saving I cancelled my booking and will be refunded $19 usd with in 14 days. So I called back, again waiting for over 30 minutes, to talk to the billings agent. Told her the whole story then she puts me on hold. After waiting for 45 minutes I gave up and hung up.
    Bottem line HORRIBLE service with agents that either dont listen or try to sell you something that notexactaly what you wanted.

  • Ja
      1st of Aug, 2011
    +1 Votes
    CheapoAir.com - Rip off
    CheapOair.com
    United States

    Booked 4 flights with British Air through CheapOair thinking we'd get a discount. Flights were cancelled due to BA strike. CheapOair first refused to refund our money even thought we rebooked the flights with them throught Air Lingus fo a lot more money as it was under 14 days. Then they agreed to refund our cancelled fares and sent us emails outlining our refund for each of the four round trip tickets on British Air. They refunded three but now are refusing to refund our fourth identical ticket for reasons unknown to us. We have multiple emails confirming refund but they dont seem to think that matters much. They are willing to reimburse us at the rate of 40 cents on the dollar... can't figure out why that seems they best they can do. Taking them to small claims court and will definitely win and it wil cost them lots more than the cost of the refund...attorney fees and all.. One piece of advice.. go straight to the airlines and you could book for even less than Cheapoair advertises. They are bad for the industry...

  • He
      4th of Aug, 2011
    +1 Votes
    CheapoAir.com - Poor customer service
    CheapOair.com
    United States

    This company does not have adequate staffing to answer queries regarding credit card billing. Twice today i called and was directed to "accounting" the first time, and after 27 minutes, the line disconnected. This evening, after 23 minutes without a live person, a voice came on the phone and said "fred", followed by an answering machine. Very unprofessional, and I do not know whether the charge on my credit card is legitimate or not.

  • Pa
      9th of Oct, 2011
    +1 Votes
    CheapoAir.com - Beware this company
    CheapOair.com
    United States

    I bought a fare to Hawaii for two through Cheapoair and they offered a $50 discount. They immediately hemmed and hawed and said, "No you misread it; it was a $10 per person discount up to 5 people."

    That was only the first problem. I called back within 24 hours to change the reservation. They were going to add a bunch of fees onto it--even though it was within 24 hours. So I told them to cancel the reservation. She said she would and said I would be refunded within 48-72 hours.

    Nine days later the tickets have still not been refunded. I used the chat feature, waited for about 15 minutes, and was finally told that someone would call me. They never did. I tried again. Still no one contacted me.
    Finally tonight I decided to stay on the phone until I got some answers. I was on the phone for over an hour. The first representative asked me if I wanted to confirm my reservation. I said, "No, I cancelled it over a week ago." He said that it was still active. When I told him that simply was not true, he hung up on me. I called back and asked to speak to s supervisor. All of the representatives I spoke to at Cheapoair overspoke me, would not listen, kept talking over me and not letting me talk.

    I asked to be transferred to a supervisor, and was told that the next person was one. I had to go through everything again. He admitted that it showed that I had cancelled the reservation within 24 hours, but that the tickets were not cancelled with the airlines. He said I could get a credit. I told her I didn't want a credit; I needed a refund. He said it wasn't possible because it was beyond 24 hours.

    I asked him if he was a supervisor. He said no. I told him I had asked to speak to a supervisor. He said that I would have to hold. I did for another 5 minutes or so and finally got someone who said he was a supervisor. We kept on back and forth and he said he would TRY to "help" me. I told him no, that he needed to fix the mistake that Cheapoair made. He refused to acknowledge any mistake on Cheapoair's part. He refused to send me an email stating that I had cancelled the reservation within 24 hours. He kept saying that they would TRY to help me. Finally he said he would "research" it and get back to me within 5 days (by next Monday or Tuesday). I protested until the end of the conversation, but he wouldn't budge.

    All of the representatives I dealt with kept talking over me and not allowing me to finish a thought. And now I may have lost about $1400 because of their mistake that they are refusing to acknowledge.

  • Ra
      20th of Oct, 2011
    +1 Votes
    Cheapo Air - Beware of fraudulent company
    CheapOAir
    Beaverton
    Oregon
    United States
    cheapoair.com

    I got two airline reservations to Puerto Vallarta thru CheapOAir. When I made the reservation I was getting concerned that I wasn't being asked for my seat assignments. After they took my credit card into I was offered the chance to make seat assignments for a charge of $11.50 per reservation ($23 total). I declined, made the reservation and went to the US
    Airways website and made our seat assignments for every leg of the trip (for free). Also on the US Airways site I discovered that CheapO was charging $28 to make the reservation. I
    called CheapO's customer service and complained. The rep said that that was for taxes. After I pointed out that the tax figure CheapO quoted was $28 more than the airline, he admitted
    the reservation fee, but only offered to cancel my reservations. Take my advice, use CheapO to only find out about cheap airfares. Go the airline's website to make the reservation and seat assignments for $51 cheaper.

  • Lu
      24th of Nov, 2011
    +1 Votes

    I just booked a flight with the and they charged me in USD instead of CAD. I ended up paying more that what I would have paid if I booked direct from theairline. This company is a scam!

Post your comment