SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Ashley Home FurnitureI would be paying $744.00 to return furniture that does not recline and that id poorly constructed

Review updated:

We ordered a sectional sofa on 1/9/2012, I put down $144.99. We did not receive it until 2/2/2012 the date after I paid an additional $200.00 toward my contact with RAC Acceptance. When we got the furniture home and set it up we were disappointed because the recliners did not work. The left did not work at all and the right recliners could be pulled out manually. We went back to the store at 2160 Madison, Tennessee [protected] on 2/4/2012. I understand that by law one has three full business days to break a contact before it becomes binding. RAC told me at that time that Ashley Furniture had to do the refund even though I paid the payment to RAC. We were not able to return the furniture. We still have the furniture at this time and we were told today 2/9/2012, by the store manager that I would have to pay an addditional $400.00 in a re-stock fee to return it. That would mean that I would be paying $744.00 to return furniture that does not recline and that id poorly constructed.

Mo
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Sl
      Jan 03, 2011
    Ashley Home Furniture - Bad service
    Ashley Home Furniture
    United States

    From an email I sent with additional updated information posted below:

    My mother ordered a complete bedroom set for me on October 11, 2010 in addition to a living room set for her home and other home furnishings throughout multiple visits.

    The bedroom set was not delivered until November 10 (which is fine). I was only told (as it is also written on your forms) to look for damages such as scratches, nicks, etc which I did. After the delivery when I was putting my clothes into the main dresser I noticed the supporting beam going straight down the middle of the dresser holding the drawers was completely broken apart causing the drawers not to close properly and look crooked. At this time, I inspected the other pieces more closely and noticed the drawers not fully closing on a chest also ordered.

    Upon calling Ashley the following day (because it was already too late the day of the delivery), an appointment was scheduled for November 18 for someone to come see the damage. The person came and took the reports. (A new dresser was delivered December 4.) As for the chest, he stated he believed the wood was "warped, " but would put in first to have a one drawer delivered to see if that could fix the problem. He told me I would be able to replace the drawer myself.

    Upon delivery of the drawer, my husband and I could not figure out how to remove the drawer and upon investigation my husband noticed it was screwed in and there would be no way for him to figure out a way to get to the screw. I called Ashley and was told I was suppose to call them when the drawer was delivered so they could send someone to install it (though I was never told this, so a few wasted days had already gone by since I had received the drawer). An appointment was set for December 21 and as usual I was told someone would contact me the day before with my time window.

    No one called me by 7:30 PM on December 20. The lateness did not worry me until that point because my previous call (for the December 4 delivery) had come in at 7 PM. December 20 is my wedding anniversary and I had to begin making calls to try to figure out how to plan my following day during my anniversary dinner. I called Customer Service to no avail and even attempts at calling the store for over an hour failed. Finally at 8:30 PM, I just let the phone ring and ring and ring until someone finally picked up at the store (the Carle Place, NY location). Of course, they could provide me no help but said it was normal for delivery calls to be made up until 9PM. No one ever called.

    I did not receive a call with my time window until 7:56 A.M. on December 21, the day of my scheduled appointment. This is unacceptable. Here is where the many problems I have with your service start:

    1) Your windows are not accommodating at all. I have a school-age child. The windows I have thus been given my FOUR times I've needed Ashley to come have been either 8-12 or 1-4. Both have times in which a parent is either dropping off or picking up a child from school, yet absolutely no help is given to try to generate a more specific time to tell the technician to be at a location.

    2) Your policy of contacting customers the NIGHT before or as my most recent experience, the DAY OF, offers no time to work out a plan to shift schedules around for the following day.

    3) How it takes more than 7 days to set up an appointment, and in my now two repair instances, more than 7 days to "process a report".

    4) Your no refund policy. I just want my money back at this point, and I would live with the damaged dresser because it is causing me more time-wise and aggravation-wise dealing with this.

    Going back to today's occurrence, I am now being told by the technician from today that he did not feel comfortable installing the new drawer as he noticed significant damage to it (the glue holding the drawers together coming apart i.e. the drawer is coming apart, chips off the wood) and actually stated I did need a new chest because new drawers won't fix it and the middle supported beam is bowing in causing the drawers to not fully close. Why did the November 18 technician not make this same recommendation and I could have been possibly done with all of this?

    I am now being told the report won't be on file until next week, so there is nothing Ashley can do until that time AND that due to the holidays and the closure of the warehouse deliveries won't resume until January 4, 2011. At that point, who knows how long it will take the store to get my new chest and then schedule the delivery.

    There is no reason that I should still be dealing with an order in January 2011 that was placed on October 11, 2010. As I told the representatives I spoke with today at the customer service number (Linda at 10:10 A.M. when I called to complain about the time window and Julio at 12:40 P.M. when I tried to speed up the process knowing I needed a new chest), this is not like an initial order delivery in which I have no choice but to make my whole day available to a delivery I am expecting. These are REPAIRS I am dealing with and Ashley should have a more understanding policy in cases like this.

    I will be returning to work in January and will not be able to take time off for this and due to family birthdays, even my Saturdays will now be booked if I cannot guarantee a time window that works for me. So what do I do, wait until February? That is absurd.

    I have not only dealt with time lost in waiting at home for a technician to come but also in the amount of time I've spent on the phone each time I've had to argue about my time window to insist it fit the schedule I had.

    I thank you in advance for your response. I sent an email to the Customer Care email last night and have not yet heard back. My next step is to contact the Better Business Bureau as practices like this are not acceptable and more customers need to fight back.

    Updated as of 12/29/10:

    Without notice, UPS delivered a drawer to my surprise. Call Ashley and although problems were noted on technician's report, because only a drawer had been requested an attempt had to be made to install it before they would order a new chest. This means this will be the FIFTH visit and more to come since I know this will not fix the problem. I just want my money back and I'll live with it!!!

    0 Votes
  • An
      Feb 20, 2011
    Ashley Home Furniture - Poor customer service/product
    Ashley home furniture
    Phoenix
    Arizona
    United States

    WARNING! WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER! DON'T EVER buy anything from Ashley. Wish I would have read all the bad reviews before purchasing. It's even more sad that the area manager gives the worst service. I have been dealing with Ashley's for over 2 months trying to get a defective piece replaced. No one cares that they make you wait hours and hours for delivery and after 2 months of waiting, several phone calls and another day of waiting for the delivery - they bring another defective piece of furniture. Area manager says she doesn't get messages, refused my phone call because she was "busy" but says she didn't know I called??!! After over an hour on hold she says she didn't know I was waiting! Doesn't want to make it right, just wants you to waste another day to pick up furniture. No one knows what is going on and no one cares. Furniture is not made well but the worst thing is the customer service. They hound you when you come in the store to get your business and spend millions of dollars advertising for new customers but don't care about current customers. I will never shop at Ashley's again and make sure to tell as many people as possible how horrible they treat their customers.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
      Oct 01, 2012

    Hi – I work at Rent-A-Center and I’m sorry to hear about your recent experience with RAC Acceptance. We always want our customers to receive their items in the condition that they were expecting and that was outlined in the rental agreement, and I know the company would want to get some more information about this. Please give our Customer Care line a call at [protected] and let them know what happened so we can try to make things right. Thanks.

    0 Votes

Post your comment