SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

American Income Life Insurance / Employment scam

Ea Tampa Bradenton, FL Review updated:

I posted my resume to careerbuilder targeting a position as a Maintenance Supervisor/HVAC Technician. I received a phone call just a few days later by a man named 'Tom' pitching me about a Maintenance Supervisor position and to come for an interview the next day at a location approximately an hour and a half from my home. Something about the call didn't seem right so I decided to do some research online about a company whose name I realized at the end of the call wasn't even mentioned. His suspicious email with directions not listing a name as the sender, only hrtampa, from a web domain they didn't own ( ailcfl.com which I'm assuming is American Income Life Insurance, Central FL Branch?) had me wondering. The only advice I can give to job seekers out there is to do a reverse look-up or google any companies that contact them directly from the web as most of them are misleading or scams... and I was clearly correct about my instincts on this one!

Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Kr
      Jun 21, 2010

    Same thing, I was told it was a bank, which I never applied at, and they would email me the address for an interview. The email specifically states google map the location, where I found this. I had a gut instinct on this one and sure enough all it is a life insurance company. Who wants to work at a life insurance company with a major in economics and finance?

    0 Votes
  • Ch
      Feb 20, 2018

    @Kris123456 Amen. Same story but with two master's degrees in Applied Math and Statistical Computing. Don't waste your time with these people. Insurance pyramid scams have been around forever, and that's EXACTLY what this is!

    -1 Votes
  • Sc
      Jul 07, 2010
    Best Best Advice

    After reading these comments and horror stories... I'm a bit scared to continue employment with this company. I actually forked up $244.95 to take the license test required for this company. I also submitted my resume on careerbuilder and was contacted by an agent named Alex from AIL. Being unemployed for over a year- AIL sounded promising. I think I'm going to see how it goes on my first week and play it by ear. Thanks for the heads up guys.

    +4 Votes
  • Mi
      Feb 15, 2013

    I also was called from them today after posting a very detailed resume on Monster.com a couple of weeks ago. First off, the number they called me from was [protected]...an ORLANDO number. The telephone number is registered to an Alan Rainey in Orlando, Florida...a supposed Real Estate broker.

    When I received the second call, I called them back. The call immediately went to "on hold" music. Then, a guy answered the phone and he sounded as if he was in a telemarketing hall. When I stated to him that I knew this was a scam and that I currently work for the Federal Government, he stated it wasn't and that they were very interested in my resume. When I asked him what "intrigued" him about my resume, he responded "what position are you looking to get into?". Obviously, these chumps are FAKE! If they ACTUALLY read my resume and my profile on Monster, they would have seen that I am PROFICIENT (26 years experience) in Executive Assistant work and I am looking for a location in my home town. What he was offering was an Insurance sales representative. I HAVE NO SALES EXPERIENCE!!! At the end of the conversation, when I told him that he didn't ACTUALLY read my resume or he would not be calling me, he asked "I'm curious...what part of the Federal Government do you work for?" When I told him that I worked for the Department of Labor, he hung up.

    These people need to be INVESTIGATED IMMEDIATELY!

    +1 Votes
  • Ia
      Mar 02, 2013

    The same thing happned here. Ian Tumbos AKA Matthew Spencer AKA TelemaTechs ripped us off. He took our money and run away with it. BEWARE of Ian Tumbos AKA Matthew Spencer AKA Telematechs residing at Guzman Street, Mandurriao Iloilo City, Philippines. Phone number: +[protected].

    Ian Tumbos AKA Matthew Spencer AKA Telematechs is running a scam from the Philippines. Ian Tumbos AKA Matthew Spencer AKA Telematechs will take your money and run with it.

    Ian Tumbos AKA Matthew Spencer AKA Telematechs has a fake address in a run down building in the US: 610 S Coronado, Los Angeles, CA 90017.

    Ian Tumbos AKA Matthew Spencer AKA Telematechs has a fake (magicjack) phone number in the US [protected].

    Ian Tumbos AKA Matthew Spencer AKA Telematechs will not even run a campaign for you or your company. All Ian Tumbos AKA Matthew Spencer AKA Telematechs does is give you lies and excuses..
    ** Our company got called by Ian Tumbos AKA Matthew Spencer AKA Telematechs and sold us on 30 appointments for $1, 400 in a month.
    ** It has been now almost six months and Ian Tumbos AKA Matthew Spencer AKA Telematechs did not deliver any appointments.
    ** Ian Tumbos AKA Matthew Spencer AKA Telematechs is no longer taking our calls nor answering our dozen emails.
    ********** BEWARE OF THIS TELEMARKETING SCAM & TELEMARKETING FRAUD***********************************

    +1 Votes
  • Ne
      Feb 01, 2014

    Received a call from a young woman who said the name of the company so fast I could not make it out (She also sounded as if she was a tele- marketer 321.304.2582) informing me that executive management reviewed my resume on Monster.com and would like to set up an interview. Ok, she is calling on a Saturday to set up an interview, odd but I need a job so listen on. We would like to set this interview up for next week would that be ok? Sure, what position are you hiring for? We are hiring for all positions from entry level to management positions… really? What was on my resume that interested your company? It was something that management saw… really? Is this selling insurance? No, oh ok because I have gotten a fair amount of calls from the Insurance industry and my strength is automotive management. What positions are you hiring for again? Everything! And where is the interview? Altamonte springs, Florida (Um, right where the other insurance companies are). And the name of the company again please, Matthew Henderson Agency. With no real description of what I am interviewing for I’m not sure I’m interested. Well look us up on-line and give us a call if you are interested. Thank you. It sure didn’t take long to find out it was insurance. While there is a positive video on you tube most of what I found is negative. When the first conversation you have with a potential employer involves a lie on their part it becomes very concerning. I believe I will remove my resume from monster and rely on networking and searching company websites.

    +1 Votes
  • Am
      Apr 25, 2014

    Just recieved my own phone call from them in Tampa. "Ben" called and left a message with the name said so fast I had to listen 8 times to get it. "HrTampa". When I asked about what they were hiring for he said "All positions from customer service to Management". He said my resume had been "pushed" through because I was such a good candidate (I have a Masters in Adult Education). Glad I looked you guys up before I wasted time.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
      Apr 25, 2014

    [protected]- Tina Honeykin with American Life Insurance (??) Has been calling my cell for over a week & finally left a voicemail today stating she recently reviewed my resume and wants me to call as she has a few more questions. I absolutely am NOT interested in sales so I googled the company and found this site. I will be blocking this number but they call from various numbers. Too bad there are no longer sites to be fully entrusted with personal resumes anymore!

    0 Votes
  • Br
      May 30, 2014

    I also asked the polite caller to slowly repeat the company names, I asked her if this was indeed a Insurance company, she said that their were several job opportunities and could not pinpoint what kind of job other than saying it was an agency... and How is it that these company's are not watched my Monster or Career Builders is their no one watching who sees are resumes ? I also had a email hiring me without personally speaking or face 2 face conversation, of course wanting my SS# or passport REALLY!!!
    Beware my Friends..How I long for the days when showing up to F2F interview was something I didn't have to worry about, other than feeding my family and keeping a roof over our heads

    +3 Votes
  • So
      Jul 01, 2014

    I also received a call from [protected] and a woman left me a message after I had posted my resume on CareerBuilder. The number she asked me to call her back at was [protected]. When I called the number back, a man answered and had no idea who left me the message, but asked me to come in for an interview this week. He stated that another man by the name of Beau Locker would be interviewing me. When I asked how my background fitted their job description, he stated that the company realizes that people aren't always able to find employment in their fields and so they wanted to reach out and invite people to apply with them and then see which position each person would be appropriate for. Now that I'm reading these reviews, I am suspicious and will not be going to the interview. Thanks to all those who have taken the time to write them. CareerBuilder really needs to make sure these employers have been vetted before they are allowed access to our resumes.

    0 Votes
  • Ho
      Aug 02, 2014

    Thank you for posting. Same story. The girl Bianca Maloney spoke so fast. It was a Saturday morning. So instead of calling her back, I remembered that i never applied to Matthew Henderson Agency. The phone # [protected] had a caller ID of Human Resources.
    The girl calling sounded unprofessional, so I replayed the message 10 times to get the info. and googled them. BAD NEWS SCAMMERS Shame on them trying to rip off the unemployed.

    +2 Votes
  • Jo
      Aug 06, 2014

    Thanks for all the posts on this subject. I too am looking for working currently and The Matt Henderson Agency isn't one of the ones I applied to. Same number was given [protected] but the call came from [protected]. If it's a recruiter calling they will tell me what they are calling about and why and usually follow up with an email with all of their contact information and maybe a request to connect on LinkedIn. Screen your calls and do a little research on who's calling and don't sucked into something that you don't want to do even if you have been out of work for while, don't waste your time put it to use somewhere else for you in a positive way.

    0 Votes
  • St
      Aug 25, 2014

    I just received the same call, from a women in HR. She said her company name was Mathew Henderson Agency. The phone number used was [protected]. They found my information on Monster.com and were hiring all management level positions and that the top management saw something that stood out on my resume. This is so cruel when I am looking for a job to have people trick you like this. I am now too afraid to go to my interview which they had to schedule the next day in the morning.

    +2 Votes
  • Te
      Sep 09, 2014

    I received a call this afternoon from the same 321.304.2586 phone number from a women who's name I wasn't able to catch. She told me management had seen my resume on Monster and wanted me to come in for an interview the next morning. I found it strange when she asked what my work background was, seeing how she identified herself as being from HR. When I told her she said that it was my past HR experience and it was for a group administrator. She went on to explain the position consisted of speaking to either groups of people or individuals about benefits. This did not seem strange as larger companies do have benefit admins. She did say that this was not a temp position but full time. What struck me as odd was that she said she was calling blindly and was not provided my resume prior to calling. I am supposed to interview with a man named Mathew. How ever after deciding to do some research on the company and reading these post, I will not be driving over an hour to Altamont Springs for the interview. She did provide me with another phone number 407.682.7522 to call if needed. I am glad I found this site and would like to thank everyone who has posted in helping help me not waste gas or time on a scam.

    +1 Votes
  • Pe
      Oct 11, 2014

    Just got a call from Annette Smith with this agency out of Orlando saying they saw my resume on Monster and wanted to discuss job opportunities. First "bell of warning, " I don't live anywhere NEAR Orlando! I immediately looked up the agency. The call came from [protected]. Glad I looked all this up before calling back!

    +1 Votes
  • Cr
      Oct 14, 2014

    I received a call from a woman this afternoon asking to schedule an interview for tomorrow morning. It was from [protected]. She said my interview would be with a man named Beau Locker at 9:25 am. I was suspicious from the moment she started talking, mostly because she gave me the whole spiel about how I wouldn't be interviewing for a specific position and that none of the positions she was talking about were positions for companies I'd applied to. She gave me this callback number: [protected]. I called the number after doing some research as well as reading all these posts and after being passed around a few times, I finally got some man on the line who said I was confirmed to have an interview but that he would cancel it for me. As far as I can tell, Beau Locker is not only a ridiculous name but also a false one as there is no social media profiles for that name and only one vague listing in the white pages. As far as I can tell, this firm is either a full-on information theft scam organization or a third-party staffing agency for the world's most generic, non-descriptive jobs in the Imaginary district of Orlando.

    +1 Votes
  • Ca
      Sep 20, 2018

    @creek004 I just received a call from a lady name Taylor sha also said the name of the company so fast I could not understand her I did not recall applying for the position she mentioned but I am in need of a job I setup an interview and began searching my profile on careerbuilder and monster and no app this is the information they sent me with no company signature The Henderson Agencies provides supplemental benefits to members of different groups, and or unions.
    You will be working with members explaining their benefits, answering questions, and providing them with enrollment paperwork. (So a lot of customer service.)
    Let me know if anything changes or you can't make it.
    Thank you and good luck!
    Company Name: Henderson Agencies
    Interview Location:
    110 West Orange St Altamonte Springs Fl 32714
    Hiring Manager: Beau Locker
    They called from [protected] and the number attached to the email was [protected]
    Glad I saw this before wasting my time

    0 Votes
  • Wd
      Nov 20, 2014

    I also received a call on November 5th from the "Matt Henderson Agency" Alina was the woman who left the message and I also how to listen to it several times to understand the company name. The number she called from was [protected] but the call back number she left for me on the voice mail was [protected]. She did not specify what position the interview was for just that it was a full time position. She used the information from my resume which I posted on career builder to contact me. It's pretty despicable to take advantage of people who are just looking for a job.

    0 Votes
  • Da
      Dec 01, 2014

    Same thing, Edward called me from [protected], Mathew Henderson Agency for a job interview in Melbourne...so glad I found this website.. now I know not to except any other calls from him.

    0 Votes
  • Pe
      Dec 06, 2014

    Seems like the call I received fit all the info people shared here. The call was from someone named Sandra something, from a company named Matthews, something (Henderson? Citizen?), and Associates. Like everybody else I had to listen to the message 100 times to try and catch what's the name of the company she's saying. The phone number was from a Tampa area [protected] and she wanted me to call the number [protected]. Full of BS. Don't even bother talking to them.

    0 Votes
  • Te
      Dec 30, 2014

    I did a reverse look up because something did not sound right about this voice mail I received.

    I received a voice mail today from a Tampa number [protected] (Sandra from HR)stating they had found my resume on monster.com and we're very interested. If I was still interested in full time employment to please give them a call. when I called back, she said that because of my experience her supervisor had asked that she call me in for an interview...and wanted to schedule that immediately without telling me the title or position. she said they had taking the resumes back after she had left me a voicemail and didn't know what position...she seemed to have been trying to get me to say what my experience was...she said she didn't remember but I had some sort of customer service and leadership skills. I asked her to please call me back when she knew what position they were calling me informed before I scheduled an interview... my resume states I have over 25 years in accounting and 10 in HR...

    Thanks for the heads up.

    0 Votes
  • No
      Jan 07, 2015

    received a call regarding my resume and scheduled for an interview the next day. Caller did not even remember calling me initially and thought that she had explained the position and then said that I would probably be interviewing with the regional manager also. So glad that I googled this information because it was not sounding to clear to me over the phone.

    0 Votes
  • Or
      Jan 09, 2015

    I Just received a message to call HR at [protected] but the actual number calling in was [protected]. I called and the gal answering just answered HR...she went on to state that she was forwarded my resume from either Career Builder or Monster (she couldn't say which one). Stated the company was American Income in Altamonte Springs. She would like to set an interview for next week and will call on Monday (today is Friday)...didn't tell me anything about the position only that was I still looking for Full Time employment? I immediately researched this company, and found this feed...I am not looking for a commission only insurance sales job...I have no experience with this, yet I do have my Health Insurance License. I wonder if they do a search on license's to get their leads??? There are so many job scams really makes you wonder if Monster and Career Builders are safe sites!

    +1 Votes
  • Ch
      Feb 09, 2015

    I just received the same message as well. She stated she was from AIL in Orlando. She said they were hiring and wanted me for a interview. I researched this, and came across this. I have no experience in Insurance sales either. I had just updated my resume on Career Builder as well.

    +1 Votes
  • Ap
      Apr 28, 2015

    I had scheduled an interview with this company but something didn't seem right so I made up an excuse to buy time so that I could do research. They called back, Crystal from HR, the interview is in the morning and I'm now . contemplating if I'll go or not..

    0 Votes
  • Ke
      Oct 27, 2015

    This is getting to be the standard these days after posting a resume online, especially w/ Monster. This company called me from Tampa/St. Pete and left me a message. Katrina Davis with the HR Dept at AIL had some questions about my resume. Like someone noted above, I was to call back some 888 number. Nothing in my resume is even remotely associated with selling life insurance, a point I made to a call last week I received from an Orlando company. The woman, Janine, was obviously in a telemarketing room, and wanted me to come in for an interview with Liberty National Insurance. She said she saw my resume on Monster. I think its time to get off Monster. There are plenty of others.

    0 Votes
  • El
      Nov 16, 2015

    Oh great! I got an interview scheduled for tomorrow which is 11/17/15. I think I'm going to cancel after reading all of this.

    0 Votes
  • Me
      Jan 29, 2016

    Don't go to the interview. I went to one a couple years ago. It's not an interview. They sit you and 30 other people in a room and a man tells you about how much money he's made selling insurance. It's absolutely insane. It's complete bogus.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
      Feb 18, 2016

    i applied for job in career builder & monster recently got a phone call from [protected] made appointment for job inter view for exact position & skill set i applied appointment was immediate & setup next day, i did ask address with confirmation email but he provided address to 1101 west hibuscus blvd, suit 107, florida & manager's name given vance rountree . I did research in google and realize how danger i could get in if not those who commented above almost same my life . Because they asking bg check & making sure you have a reliable car that means in my case i got about 200 miles to address they given if i drive their they could have set me up steal my car . Could have kill me. Please be aware these type of scams targeting jobless/helpless people.

    0 Votes
  • Lo
      Mar 23, 2016

    The greatest puzzle in this complaint board really is that, for a bunch of people looking for a job, everyone sure do know how to complain about an opportunity that is readily available.

    To those that are complaining, have you ever thought that maybe the reason why you don't have a job in the first place is because of your attitude?

    American Income Life is a great company! If you're wondering why we do not focus so much on employee resumes when you come in for an interview is because the first requirement for success in this company, is you guess it.

    Right mindset, right attitude.

    To those of you saying that this is a scam, I'd say look in the mirror. This company has been around for a long time and compliant with all federal and state laws.

    American Income has earned one of the highest ratings from AM best and is backed by the BBB.

    Furthermore I challenge all the naysayers in here to test my integrity and come see me in the Altamonte Springs office. I haven't been wrong yet.

    I'm Logan Klink and you'll see me Monday to Friday in that office. Talk is cheap, I'll gladly admit in here that I am wrong if you can prove to me that American Income Life isn't a credible company and will gladly surrender my State of Florida license.

    +1 Votes
  • Ki
      Apr 27, 2016

    Just got a call from these guys. I quickly Googled and found this board. I answered, asked them to please remove me from their list. The lady gave me quite a bit of attitude with the few words I let her say to me. "Really? This is for a job interview." My answer: "Yes, please remove me from your list as I'm not interested." As I'm hanging up, I hear her going off saying, "Well, thank YOU!" and other things. I have no need to deal w/ these guys.

    0 Votes
  • Bj
      May 11, 2016

    Wow... I have an "interview" in the morning. Not sure what to expect...

    0 Votes
  • Ju
      May 20, 2016

    They just called me. I had missed the call, googled the number and so this thread. I called back and after it rang a few times, it went to a voicemail saying "HR Department is not available." They called me back and a woman answered, "hello, this is HR department, how can I help you?." Fishyyyy. I said I had a missed call from this number. She asked for my name and said, "oh yes, I called because my manager saw your resume on Monster and we are currently hiring for all positions from customer service to management. We have a interview available for this Monday. Would you be interested to attend?"

    What? You absolutely gave me NO information on the company or what it's about. Glad I came across this post. I said no thank you and she just wished me a good weekend. STAY AWAYYY.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
      Jun 06, 2016

    Same here, just received a call from [protected] from a lady that spoke so fast - she did mention some thing something Agency and that they saw my resume on monster.com. I asked for what job does it entail- she couldn't respond, she didn't know. Wanted me to come in for an interview in 2 days in some location near my house. I agreed and hung up. I didn't feel right so I started googling. Thank gosh I found this site. I will NOT be going. Anyways, i have a background in Logistics and Supply Chain...and to sell life insurance? No thank you

    0 Votes
  • Po
      Aug 21, 2017

    This company is a real scam without a doubt! They called me over the phone to set up an interview, I told them before I even would consider any interest is no sales please and no commissioned based salary structures, well they lied to me when I arrived there, it was a sales position even though they told me it wasn't and to top it off they wanted me to pay around 250 dollars upfront for a insurance agent license fingerprint costs and test exam cost with no paid training, who in this world would do that, pay 250 upfront then work 3 weeks without a paycheck that's insane, I am not saying insurance is a bad field but no pay during training and then paying for everything upfront is something a world class organization would not do.
    This branch is located in Orlando florida, don't waste your time with this the company calls themselves Henderson management group for American income life, don't waste your time there folks go somewhere else, any other insurance company may be better than this one to work for!

    -1 Votes
  • Ck
      Oct 08, 2017

    You are receiving these calls because they are hiring! One bad seed on this post, over someone on the phone not seeing the person's resume led you all to behave this way. This is sad! I pray you all found a career after this one bad seed talked you out of a career with a verify lucrative insurance company. I have doing business with them for years and everyone is AMAZING! I'm sorry you missed the opportunity not giving yourself a chance. Not everyone wants to work to make money...

    -1 Votes
  • Ch
      Feb 20, 2018

    This is an insurance pyramid scam. Look up Henderson Agencies. You'll read about how a guy with a degree and no experience worked his way up to owning 7 locations! Who wouldn't want that, right? Especially if you're out of work. Do your homework, lots of it. Search the names of every company, person, domain, and phone number. In the end, trust your gut. Pyramid scams have been around forever because the people at the top make money...from YOUR work. If something seems too good to be true, then it is...ALWAYS! We live in predatory times, my friends. Don't get suckered, scammed, or swindled.

    +1 Votes
  • Ck
      Feb 20, 2018

    I’m sorry you feel that way because individuals have the chance to make a career without a degree. Many millionaires created a business without a college education. There is no scam when it comes to insurance. They are federally regulated and state regulated.

    0 Votes

Post your comment