SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

American Income LifeStay away from these guys

Review updated:

I have been unemployed for nearly seven months. My resume is posted on several web-sites. I receive a call about managing an office for a insurance company. They were pretty sketching on the phone about the position. I scheduled an interview and went in. When I get there I am greeted by a young female sitting behind a desk. I noticed straight away that this was not a typical office. No computer or phone on her desk, not much but clipboards, blank resumes and a sign-in sheet. I signed in only filled out a small part of the application since I had my resume, as she directed me to do. In just a few minutes a gentleman came out of a office and questioned me to come in. We sat down he told me how lucky I was and how they had picked my resume out of 1000's. Then he took me to small conference room where, along with others, I would be given a description of the JOB. Afterward there would be another personal interview. There were about eight of us that sat and listened about how fantastic it is to work for their company. How in just a few years we could be making $100, 000 if we were really dedicated. Then started taking people back for their second personal interview. I was the third person to go in. I was told that since I was more mature they would like me to be a manager in charge of training others. Then they slide a piece of paper over and questioned me to fill it out with my credit card information to pay for the class to get a State Insurance License, which was $280 and I would additionally have to buy a lap-top computer if I didn't already have one. I told the guy that I want to reckon about it and I had another interview across town that I needed to get to. He stated I should go ahead and fill out the slip so I wouldn't have to come back. I told him for a second time that I wanted to reckon about it. He then told me I neede to be back before 4pm or he would have to give the position to someone else. I said okay and left. The more I got to thinking about it the thought came up…"if it is to excellent to be right…it probably isn't right". Then I thought about the young woman that was standing in front of the desk as I was leaving. It dawned on to me that the guy that had been talking to me had told the person behind the desk (now a young guy in a suit) not to let her leave until she had "the slip of paper" filled out. The more I thought about it the "shifty-er" the whole office seemed. A desk in every office a picture or two and a company banner. No phones, post it notes, pens and nothing personal existed in any of the offices. I did not go back or call them back. When I got home I found the other comments on this website. I thank God I did not fill out that "slip of paper" with my credit card information on it.

Gu
Sort by: UpDate | Rating

Comments

  • Sm
      Apr 20, 2012

    So I received a call after replying for a Customer Service position with AIL. I asked immediately if it was commission only and was told it would be discussed at the interview. I went in to the interview and eight other people were also waiting for interviews. I waited until I saw a gentlemen, who stated the position paid $45, 000 to $50, 000 per year. You make more if you work overtime. So I received a call later that day for a second interview, which was two days later. There were sixteen people at this "interview" and we were told about the company. We were also told that it is a commission only position, no paid training, and that it would cost $!29.99 for a class, $185 to get licensed, and $65 background check, which WE are supposed to pay for. After spending an hour listening to the gentleman speak, he informed us that he could only bring us on if we could pay for the class that same day. This was not mentioned until we got there.

    If you are in need a job, don't even bother with this place. If you have $400 that you may or may not throw away, depending on your ability to sell, give it a try, but know that you may not receive that money back. I'm very disappointed and frustrated that so many Customer Service Positions that are now listed are SALES jobs. Job seekers beware.

    +1 Votes
  • Ai
      Apr 28, 2012

    I'm commenting on smileys comment. The start up fees is what bothered you? That seems to be a problem in today's attitude of "everybody owes me something". Do hospitals pay for doctors schooling? I think not. Do dental offices pay for their dentists training? Nope. Trust me, that's what I was going to do before joining American income. It's a VERY small investment for an incredible return. I'm 22 now and if thing continue at the rate they have been goin then this year will put over 119k in my pocket. This company is a blessing for giving someone like me a real chance at success, and I find it very offensive to hear people talk so in such negative ways about something they either spent two weeks at and when they didnt have a manager to write business for them and had to do it by themselves but weren't cut out for it, or we're too scared to actually open their mind to an amazing experience. O well that's just more money for meeeee!

    -1 Votes
  • Ai
      Apr 28, 2012

    O and for the guy who wrote the post, maybe someone who's been unemployed for almost a year should take a look at their attitude and appreciate a company that would even consider a person who obviously has no confidence in themselves. Remember, beggars can't be choosers...

    -2 Votes
  • Ri
      May 11, 2012

    To AILetsgetit:

    Without you telling us you were 22 I could have guessed how young you were based off of your naivety and lack of real world experience. You are EXACTLY the type AIL hires, a mindless drone without an original thought it your mind. You are completely missing "Smiley77's" point which is that he was lied too in order to get him into the interview and was lied too again one he was there. And please don't even compare what you "do" to a doctor or dentist. Yes, they have to pay for their licenses and practices (although most hospitals give signing bonuses to help offset those expenses, but I digress). But their profession is no where as low as yours, slumming funeral policies to unsuspecting union members. His attitude has nothing to do with the EXPERIENCE he went through with AIL. In fact I would submit that his attitude was very professional given how he was treated.
    Finally, please tell us who you are on AIL's spotlight, if you have made what you say you made (highly doubtful) then you should show up in AIL's spotlight magazine. Put your money where your sadly misinformed mouth is.

    0 Votes
  • Bu
      Feb 14, 2013

    I too was called for an interview by an AIL rep who said she (Lady X) had my resume and was told by her director to set-up an interview with me. The next week, I arrived for my interview, if you can call it such, 15 minutes ahead of the appointed time. The process was impersonal--more like a cattle call (I was in a room with about 15 other "candidates", some of which were to be interviewed by the same Mr. X., and some to be interviewed by other staff (from an HR standpoint, I find this unprofessional to have candidates all "huddled" together. Anyway, after a 10 minute wait, my name was called and a Mr. Z (not Mr. X as indicated when I was first contacted) greeted me, and escorted me to his office. Mr. Z did not ask me the "typical" recruiter/HR questions, in fact, his approach was more like he was attempting to sell me a vacuum cleaner, or a used car. When he completed his "script", I asked exactly which position I am being considered for, but he too just like Lady X, never gave me a direct answer, but instead said, "well we'd like to see if everyone we talk to is a "good fit" for us, and if "AIL" is a "good fit" for every candidate, but then instantly he asked me, "how is your work ethic". Mr. Z then tells me that he is going to escort me to a conference room where he would like me to sit, interact, smile, take notes, and ask questions for AIL's overview of the company, and "try to be noticed". Mr Z said this overview is necessary to see "who is a good fit". At this point, my mind is turning on all cylinders. As Mr. Z and I walk to the conference room, he hands me a "personality profile form", and he tells me to complete this form in the conference room while I am waiting for the overview to begin. The profile is 4-5 pages. When I entered the conference room, there are at least 20 so-called "candidates" already seated, filling out their "profiles", and waiting for the overview to being. At this point, I asked Mr. Z to, "point me to the direction of the restroom before I get started with the profile and overview". Mr. Z walks me over to the restroom, and greets me good-bye with, "I'll see you after the overview and have a good day". I waited in the restroom for 5 minutes, then went back to the receptionist and told her, "I am unable to stay", and I left the building and drove away in my car. AIL, in my opinion, scams people to get them in the door to a "so-called" interview, but in reality, they are looking for telemarketers/sales people; however, they never disclosed this piece of information when they initially contacted me, or when they had me meet with Mr. Z. To ask "so-called candidates" to sit for a 1 hour overview of their company, fill-out paperwork, and "try to be noticed" is beyond comprehension from an HR perspective.

    +1 Votes
  • Bu
      Feb 22, 2013

    I left the interview when I realized it was a cattle call, and before filling out any of AIL's paperwork, and before listening to their overview. Didn't want to listen to their scam any further, and as I said I left and did not give AIL the opportunity to hire or not hire me. AIL, in my opinion, uses deceptive recruitment practices.

    0 Votes
  • Ca
      Apr 07, 2013

    I, too, was called but they had three positions open in their seven new offices that they had just opened in the area. I have been a legal assistant/paralegal for over 20 years and also posted a resume online (Monster, etc). as I am unemployed and working at home right now. The three positions that her manager was considering me for were management, benefits rep and/or customer service rep. Well, it's a far cry from customer service rep to management which was first red flag. Then I was told that entry level positions paid $60, 000 to start. Second flag. She was very pleasant (too pleasant) and very vague. Just gave me the name of her manager and an address for interview. Told me to bring tablet and pen "just in case I was to stay for orientation." Orientation for what? I was very suspicious and started researching company. Couldn't find anything but scam, scam, scam.

    What will they think of next? Can't even trust that a job isn't a scam these days! And by the way, all of you that left during your so-called interviews - GOOD FOR YOU!!!

    +1 Votes
  • Ca
      Apr 07, 2013

    To RickAltigsucks: So happy you spoke your mind to AILetsgetit. You are absolutely right!!! And it is the principle of the matter to begin with. You don't have to lie and scam people into working there. Why not just be up front. But, after all, they do have people like AILetsgetit working for them - that fell for their crap. And I, too, highly doubt that AILetsgetit is even legit! Probably someone within the company just lying again and trying to make them look legitimate.

    0 Votes
  • Ed
      Sep 17, 2013

    I was just called this past Saturday and was given the same speil. They wanted me to come into their office for an interview on Tuesday (today). When asked what the position was, I was told Entry Level to Managment. I still hadn't been told the name of the company. I told them I couldn't make it on Tuesday and Thank You.
    I was then called again today for an Interview appointment. I said OK. I now have an appointment for Thursday. I was finally given the name of the company and the address as well as the name of the interviewer. I then asked where they had gotten my resume since I had no recollection of applying with them. I was told "from ower Recruiting Department".
    Now, I had been put through this same set up about a year ago. At that time, since I live a couple blocks from the address, I drove by just to see where I was going the next day. There was no sign, and the office looked empty from a distance. So, I pulled up and got out to look in the windows since I was beginning to think I had the wrong address. The offices were completely empty. No furniture, nothing. My appointment was for 9am the next morning. The address was correct from what I was told. So, I went for the appointment. Lo and behold, when I arrived at the address, there was a sign, a Better Business sticker on the door, a reception desk, chairs, desks the whole works in an office that was completely empty the evening before. But, no office phones (only cell phones) and no desk computers (just what appeared to be personal laptops). There was a copier (I found the box behind the building) but there seemed to be no office supplies (staplers, folders, reference books, etc. No personal items on the desks or even extra pens. It was like a stage set. I was greeted by the same gentleman I have the appointment with this time. He started his speech and didn't answer any of the questions I posed to him. All I could do was start to laugh. I got up and walked out laughing and loudly saying "What a joke!".
    I'll go again this time just to challenge them and chat up the others waiting for their appointments. It should be fun. Hopefully, I can impress upon the other interviewees than they are being sucked into a scam.
    Oh, I drove by the office again this evening. Different sign, but the furnishings are in there like I would expect since they had appointments for today. But the office wasn't there last month when I had to go to the Lab next door for a blood test.

    +1 Votes
  • In
      Nov 16, 2014

    Many companies will do an initial group interview these days. When there are so many resumes that are sent to a company, some have resorted to this. I used to work for AIL in 95, it was a totally different company then. My manager was very helpful, and I knew what I was getting in to. I had leads, and my appointments were set for me. I did well as far as selling, but it didn't pay anything, so I left.

    If you are going to write complaint reports here, why don't you all report the managers to the state insurance office, as well? You are allowed to do that! Insurance agents/brokers are bound by a code of ethics. If ethics aren't shown, report them. There are fines, suspension of license, etc. that can happen. Managers/brokers are a dime a dozen these days. Anyone can work into management, but it doesn't mean they should, or that they'll be good managers.

    There is a lot of money that can be made as an insurance agent, so don't let this company sour you on insurance. People need it!

    I'm sorry that you all had this kind of experience with this company. It's just plain sad to me that people are treated this way. As an insurance agent, I'm called pretty frequently by them for an interview. I refuse to ever be captive again, there's just no money in it!

    Good luck to all of you, I hope you find what you're looking for!

    0 Votes

Post your comment