Explore your opportunities! Create an account or Sign In
The most trusted and popular consumer complaints website

Aircanada.com / Aeroplan / Aeroplan sucks!

86% 43
Business class ticket goes from 7500o points to 432000 points! When will someone start a class action suit against Aeroplan.


Sort by: UpDate | Rating
A  18th of May, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree +2 Votes
I used to work in travel. I have savvy for internet travel and bookings related info. I noticed since aeroplan changed web format most recently within the last year, the same thing i used to notice with former Canadian airliner jetsgo web bookings. That when you asked for particular fare line/link it changed the next time you asked. Kind of like a program that knew that it was being queried, and so when you asked for fare and seats, it suddenly hiked the price, and when asked it said all the seats at the currently advert low price were being taken up. Fraudulent, criminal, suspected larceny by large corp... But for me the really big thing are the lying s**ts on the phone who try to suck you in...
A  29th of Oct, 2007 by 
Agree Disagree +1 Votes
It doesn't matter anymore. You can never redeem award flight no matter how many miles you earned.

The use two tricks:
1. Online booking System errors
2. Nobody answer the phone.

They want you to redeem cheap merchandises and gift cards. BTW. You can find those cheap merchandises in One Dollar Stores.
A  16th of Jan, 2008 by 
Agree Disagree +2 Votes
Its rediculous. I sent a complaint to Aeroplan for a rudity that I had from their customer service. They reply me for circumstance beyond their control and close the incidence as SOLVED.

Recently you requested personal assistance from our on-line support center. Below is a summary of your request and our response. The only way to get another response is to call the number of getting rude again.

If this issue is not resolved to your satisfaction, you may reopen it within the next 14 days.

Thank you for allowing us to be of service to you.


Discussion Thread
Response (Aeroplan) 01/16/2008 07:38 AM
Thank you for your e-mail.

Due to circumstances beyond our control, we are currently unable to respond to your request electronically. Please visit the Help section of the Aeroplan Website or contact the Aeroplan Centre at 1-800-361-5373 (from Canada and U.S.A.), 7 days a week from 07:00 to 23:00 (ET). For all other areas, please use 1-514-395-0300. One of our representatives will be pleased to help you with your request.

The following numbers from certain countries can also be used to reach Aeroplan:

France: 0825-882-883
UK: 0871-220-7777
Switzerland: 0848-237675
Hong Kong: 852-2521-2138

For technical issues or navigational assistance, please call our Technical Help Desk at 1-866-689-8080 (from Canada and U.S.A.), 7 days a week, from 08:00-24:00 (ET). For all other areas, please use 1-902-367-8445.

Thank you for your patience and understanding.

Please, do not reply to this e-mail.

* * * * *

Customer (Gorman) 01/15/2008 06:22 PM
I send this email because your customer service is really rude to me. I called 1-800-361-5373 on 3:10 Jan 15, 2008 PST, a lady answered my phone. Her accent is really strong and can not understand even my address I told her. She said rudely that my address is incorrect and tell me the address exactly I told her. I had a question of my account expired and like to resume and report for milage credit, she keep saying the rule of the company and finally said I can go to Star-Alliance if I like. It is such unprofessional. I think I will not fly Aircanada any more since the milage service is so poor.

Question Reference #080115-000375
Date Created: 01/15/2008 06:22 PM
Last Updated: 01/16/2008 07:38 AM
Status: * Solved
Other Product:
Aeroplan Number: 779931781
Aeroplan Status: Basic
Phone (Day): 604-XXXXXXX

A  6th of May, 2008 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I hate Aeroplan. When Esso started offering Aeroplan, I thought it was a great idea to switch over to it. I then subscribed to points.com and starting transfering my existing esso points to aeroplan miles. I was able to transfer even the small increments of esso points to aeroplan (i thought that was great)

To my dissatisfaction. I then noticed that no amount could be transfered back, after many emails to determine what the minimum qty required to switch them back, i received NO reply. I later discovered on the website that for a mere 15000 aeroplan miles i can switch back to esso points. 15000?!?!?!...that works out to be $45000 worth of gasoline purchases.

But back to aeroplan solely...so I switch my point collection back to esso points, and now want to spend whatever i have accumulated in my account at the aeroplan website. I Can donate points or for a "measly" 5000 miles i can get a one year subscription to "Canadian Business Magazine"...thanks...that's EXACTLY what i deserve after spending $15000 in gas to earn 5000 miles...

Don't forget to spend your miles within 7 years or they expire. B.S.

And all of this courtesy of an Airline branded with our country's name.
N  5th of Jun, 2009 by 
Agree Disagree +1 Votes
After my husband and I booked our flights from Montreal to Victoria on Oct 13th, I realised that it was the 9th that I actually wanted. I immediately rang Aeroplan and they said it would cost almost $200 to change the booking! Add this to the cost of $225 in fees etc and we could have paid full Tango fare with an airport change of $50 if we wanted.
For the most part, Aeroplan is a rip-off and when our CIBC Visa airmiles card is to be renewed...it will be cancelled.
As a retired 38 year employee within the airline industry, I have found that it is simply not worth using Aeroplan miles when with a little effort you can get great deals just by shopping around. For example, if you live in Montreal you can fly from Burlington VT for about the same amount of money that Aeroplan charges in fees and taxes if you fly from Montreal. Same with leaving from Buffalo vs Toronto.
Yes, more inconvenient but if you book directly through the airline's website, they are more amenable to changing...and I've found that if you nicely approach one of their airport agents, you can change your flight for nothing!
Aeroplan sucks!! They want a lot of miles..high change/cancellation fees etc.
A  15th of Jul, 2009 by 
Agree Disagree +1 Votes
We are flying to UK using 160, 000 earoplan miles for two people. Air Canada with fuel surcharge BS and then airport fees is going to charge $1350.00 ontop of the aeroplan miles. We could buy 2 tickets with all fees included for $1800.00 and save 160, 000 Aeroplan miles. What is the point of Aeroplan? Just to get you to think your getting a deal and give them more money? I hate AirCanada with a passion. The service, the prices, aeroplan-everything. Will do everything we can to have work flights use other airlines.
A  26th of Jul, 2009 by 
Agree Disagree +3 Votes
I just tried to book a flight 3 months in advance with aeroplan points from Vancouver to Toronto and found out that there web site says they have no direct flights available! (They fly this route 5 times a day non stop). So I look at business class, which should cost me 40, 000 points return. Suprise, they want 226, 000 points for the direct flight!!!

Remind me again why we use this airline? I would rather throw my points away then let air canada take my money and my points. Westjet gets my booking again and I still can't use my 220, 000 points I've collected from aeroplan. THEY SUCK.
A  3rd of Aug, 2009 by 
Agree Disagree +1 Votes
MONTREAL -- The Quebec Superior Court has granted authorization to launch a class-action lawsuit challenging Groupe Aeroplan Inc.'s practice since October 2006 of cancelling points accumulated in its loyalty program.

The motion, obtained by Montreal lawyer Owen Falquero of Merchant Law Group LLP, was filed on behalf of about seven plaintiffs across Canada. But the number of petitioners, if and when a class-action suit is launched, could balloon to thousands of people.

The motion was filed formally on behalf of Noella Neale of Port Coquitlam, B.C., a single mother whose 150, 000 points were annulled by Aeroplan because she hadn't made a contribution or a redemption in her account for one year, a period during which she had fallen ill.

Those points fell victim to Aeroplan's rules, instituted in October of 2006, under which the company erases points in an account dormant for 12 months.

In a telephone interview, Neale said she was going to pay for her daughter's trip to New Zealand -- her graduation gift -- until she tried to pay from her account and saw that it had been emptied.

Aeroplan spokeswoman JoAnne Hayes declined to comment on the issue because it is now before the courts.

In a statement, Aeroplan noted that "no class action has yet been filed. This motion is the first procedural step before any such action can be instituted."

The company noted that "petitioners (are) seek(ing) court permission to sue Aeroplan on behalf of program members in Canada to obtain reinstatement of expired miles, reimbursement of any amounts already expended by Aeroplan members to reinstate their expired miles, $50 in compensatory damages and an undetermined amount in exemplary damages on behalf of each class member, all in relation to changes made to the Aeroplan program concerning accumulation and expiry of Aeroplan Miles as announced Oct. 16th, 2006."

But Aeroplan stressed that it "is of the view that there are good grounds for opposing the motion for authorization and will vigorously defend any class action, should one be authorized by the court."

Neale said: "I felt like they stole from me."

"If the bank took my money like that, it would be theft. I earned those points. They belong to me, and (Aeroplan) has no right to take them away from me."

-- Canwest News Service
A  5th of Sep, 2009 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I have taken the route of using my card at Esso, submitting hard to read numbers off off orange juice cartons, cereal bars and corn chip bags in order to keep my points alive. Well, isn't just the way of air canada, to have no record and now have suspended my account and taken all of my points away. Customer service was rude, wanted 'proof' of my entries, like what a snap shot of the screen? They were rude, non helpful and certainly displayed the too bad for you attitude. I guess keeping small fry like me that does not fly monthly is not a concern for them. Loyalty to our countries namesake means nothing.
I am now determined to fly anybody, and they are usually cheaper anyway, but Air canada, and quaker can chew somebody elses oats, cause I'll get my oats elsewhere.
I don't know how this 'stealing' my aeroplan points is not illegal.
Angry does not even begin to explain my outrage. Wait till they want another bailout, I'll be on the front lines fighting that with all that I have.
A  10th of Feb, 2010 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
Aeroplan truly sucks. Their advertising campaign misleads. The excessive point requirements for travel rips off people. I am truly under impressed and have separated myself from all point plans associated with Aeroplan. Bye bye Esso. Bye bye CIBC Visa. Bye bye AirCanada!
N  2nd of Apr, 2010 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
"Points don't really mean anything" says Drew Carey in Whose Line Is it Anyway? This Line DESCRIBES AEROPLAN and AIR CANADA. Here is my story.

There is no organization as deceitful and misleading as Aeroplan and Aircanada. I have more than 67000 points and they recently sent me a package with upgrade certificates, guest lounge passes and a bunch of other paper crap. This means that I have "elite" status. But what it really means is that Air Canada and Aeroplan have managed to fool me long enough without actually giving anything back to me. Why? I tried recently to upgrade a flight from sydney to vancouver using these upgrade certificates but unfortunately the economy ticket that i bought was not the right fare. Even though that they said Tango M and U class can be upgraded. Apparently, I need a "brown certificate" as oppossed to a "blue certificate" to be able to upgrade any economy fare to business. This is the interesting thing: in order for me to upgrade my ticket I have to pay over 1200 dollars more (one way) and then be placed in a waiting list which is not even guaranteed that I will even get upgraded. The whole point of staying loyal to this f****ing company is to be rewarded an upgrade when you buy the cheapest ticket.

Here is another annoying thing. If you are departing from Sydney to YVR, the business class passengers get an express pass through customs in Australia with a voucher that gets them through the line up in customs faster (Sydney airport is somewhat of a zoo). I specifically asked the AC people during check in with my "elite" status if they could give a customs express voucher. The answer "NO". They also wouldn't give me a pass to go to the Air New Zealand lounge. Very "elite" indeed.

I want to warn anyone who is about to start getting aeroplan points by making their reservations with air Canada: After miles and miles of flying with air Canada you only get a useless package of upgrade certificates which you are not going to be able to use anyways. Why would you pay thousands of dollars more for a latitude fare and not be guaranteed a seat in the business class. Star alliance is a rip off. Try to collect points with someone else.

Another thing: I don't know why Qantas is not flying direct to Vancouver even though we have so many Australians in BC. I suspect Air Canada is pulling all the strings to make sure they hold on to this route. I heard they are quietly and successfully fighting Emirates so that they can't start a direct Vancouver Dubai flight. ###!
N  25th of May, 2010 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I have had my points taken twice from Air Canada. First, I discovered that my points had been taken the day before I had travelled. I was livid and attempted to contact them. The problem was that I had moved to the Middle East and couldn't phone them. Unfortunately, even though the rest of the world uses internet correspondance, Aeroplan doesn't. I did call them to ask why my points had been taken, put back on two weeks later (after I had already flown) and then removed again two weeks later but nobody answered the phone. I had never received any correspondance from them stating that my 62000 points would disappear and never got any response.

So I decided to give them another chance, especially since Air Canada seems to have a monopoly on international travel. What a mistake. I flew three times round trip England to Van. The last time I flew was December 2008 but, having had bad expereiences in the past, I was careful to only book through Avis when renting a car and used my card for approved hotels between Dec 2008 and the present. Turns out that I went to check my point balance the other day only to discover that they were gone again - 28000, this time. I was livid.

I waited a few days to call and have just gotten off of the phone. I was informed that only a few of the Avis locations are affiliated with Aeroplan (although Avis stated that all of their locations are affiliated) and that it was my problem. The woman on the phone was excessively rude (my husband was truly shocked by how rude the "customer service" rep was) and then put me on long distance hold for 20mins to "check on something". In the end, I was told there was nothing that could be done and that it was too bad. I couldn't believe it!

We've now decided we will never fly with Air Canada again. I am ashamed to say that such a substandard airline carries Canada on it's planes. I have been more than responsible in this matter but have decided, since Aeroplan and Air Canada are not held accountable for bad business practice and consumer affairs, that I can not endorse nor recommend this company or its affiliates to anyone. What a shame to have to boycott so many Canadian companies - and what does all of this say to non Canadians about Canadian business?
A  5th of Jul, 2010 by 
Agree Disagree +1 Votes
My dealing with Aeroplan sound much like all of the others .

-no ticket available at that rate
-it will cost you to reedem
-missing points on my account
- lost point due to " inactivity"

What's a consumer to do? Anyone?? Is anyone advocating for the comsumer?
A  8th of Jul, 2010 by 
Agree Disagree +1 Votes
I will stop flying Air Canada. They suck. Surcharges, inflexibility of their people, everything is awful. I have to redeem miles on stuff because I could never book a flight on the dates I wanted. When I was able to fly using my miles, they did not accept me to be in stand-by for an early flight, even paying the standard change fee available on regular flights. Who built their business model don't care about people. They don't want to keep the customer loyalty.
N  27th of Aug, 2010 by 
Agree Disagree 0 Votes
I was 'fortunate' enough to gain the so called 'prestige' status after flying 25.000 miles last year with my aeroplan. I booked a ticket to Madrid and like so others on the site, I was unable to use one of my four upgrade certificates even though I paid over $1000 dollars for the flight. As others mentioned, I didn't have the right booking code. What infuriated me the most was that I asked for a seat with leg room and was stuck in bulkhead with a newborn infant right next to me while I looked into the business section and peered into a half empty business class section! Then I later went to the back of the plane only to find the last rows filled with people sprawled out over three seats each. Thanks for the special treatment Air Canada.
I will be sure to book my next trips with TAP or Lufthansa where both gave better service to me as a 'normal' customer.
A  27th of Dec, 2010 by 
Agree Disagree +1 Votes
Areoplan is the most disappointing rewards program in the marketplace. Be cautious as they say they notify you of rewards miles expiring but you may not receive them do to filtering from your ISP. I will never fly Air Canada again for business or pleasure...
N  6th of Mar, 2011 by 
Agree Disagree +2 Votes
Aeroplan is nothing more than a corporate scam. I am trying to use miles to purchase a ticket from LAX to YYZ, which is 7 months away! CSR says no seats available...try back later.
I will be switching air mile plans and will not fly AC. They are a bunch of FN crooks.
A  16th of Mar, 2011 by 
Agree Disagree +2 Votes
Aeroplan does suck!

I stopped flying Air Canada from Toronto to Hong Kong, because having points on this airline is completely useless. I have 900, 000 points and i can never use them!

Plus now i fly Cathay Pacific, such a better airline at all levels especially points, flight are always available and you can make lat minute changes with a smile at the other end of the line.

I think a pre-requisite to work for Air Canada is to be arrogant and i think their service and entire company suck!
A  16th of Mar, 2011 by 
Agree Disagree +2 Votes
BEWARE _ AEROPLAN IS A SCAM! I have accumulated 80, 000 Aeroplan points over the last few years and have been trying, unsuccessfully, to redeem them for travel over the last year. I tried to book a flight from Calgary to Las Vegas 3 months in advance and was told there was no availability. I tried to book a flight to Maui 4 months in advance and was quoted 180, 000 miles round trip for a terrible flight that was 20 hours due to connections. I would not ever purchase a flight with that type of terrible connection. This week I tried to book a flight to St. Loius in May, off season, leaving on a Wednesday and was asked if I could leave on the Tuesday as there was no availability for my requested dates! I can't fathom this type of mediocre program with such a limited availability. The manager at Aeroplan said their hands were tied because they share seats with other partner programs such as United, and that the airlines decide how many seats they alolocate to points flyers. He suggested I book even further in advance so I just attempted to book a holiday in DECEMBER and guess what? NO AVAILIBILITY for my dates, and the alternate dates were horrible 20 hour flights again, and the points cost was 180, 000!
When I tried to complain to CIBC VIsa and to Aeroplan, there was no formal complaint process and I was told to use my points on gift cards. I honestly feel like Aeroplan is now a SCAM.
A  30th of Mar, 2011 by 
Agree Disagree +1 Votes
I totally agree, Aeroplan has hit the dumps for me. I've been a member for over 20 years and the last few years I've noticed Aeroplan depreciating my miles at a high rate. Twice since last summer it takes more AP miles for the same cash.
Flights require a rapidly increasing cash payment for fees and taxes, such that the fees for a flight to England is as much as paying full cash for a flight only about 15 years back. Other airlines have not increased their flight cost nearly as fast.

So I'm liquidating my AP miles, to move on.
Looking at an iPad from Aeroplan, I see AP selling the iPad V1 for the same AP miles it takes to get an iPad V2 ?
Yet Apple is selling the iPad V1 at a significant discount.

Those running Aeroplan are either stupid or are thieves.

Post your Comment

Air Canada Logo Air Canada
Customer Care Service
PO Box 64239, RPO Thorncliffe
Canada - T2K6J7
+49 692 711 5112
View Full Information

Reply to