Capital Onedeceptive customer service

B
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

April 4, 2010
Richard Fairbank, CEO
Capital One Financial Cooperation
1680 Capital One Drive
McLean, VA [protected]
Fax-[protected]

Dear Mr. Fairbank:

As a customer, I find it very troubling with attempts to reach one of your office subordinates via telephone and US Mail almost impossible.
Since February 22, 2010, I made numerous attempts via telephone and US Mail to report and on-going issue with my account and the unprofessional conduct by your debt collection staff located at your Knoxville Tennessee and Plano Texas Call Centers.

I received the attached letter dated March 8, 2010, signed by a William Shank responding on your behalf with instruction to contact him at [protected]. In that letter, please notice a number of handwritten names and phone numbers that I spoke to in the search of William Shank who never gave a telephone extension or employee number etc. After an exhausted 2 hours on the phone with a number of rude customer service agents, I was told no one with that name existed within the Capital One System. In addition, I received a generic second attached letter dated March 9, 2010 threatening with repossession of the vehicle. This I consider to be in retaliation for my attempt to report the Call Centers employee’s unprofessional and unlawful conduct to your office.

On March 31, 2010, I took the entire day off, for the sole purpose to resolve my on going issues with Capital One Auto Loan. I started the morning by trying to call your cooperate headquarters direct phone number [protected] only to received the following messages, “The switch board operators are not available please leave a message”. After a number of exhausted calls I was able to reach Mr. Scott Meadow from treasury department. Mr. Meadow apologized on the behalf of Capital one, for my endless unsuccessful attempt to resolve my Auto Loan issue and unable to reach your office, he promised to have some one from VP of Customer Relations level contact me immediately.
I received a phone call from some one identifying themselves as Narada ID or employee number VCL764 approximately 30 minutes after ending the call with Mr. Meadow. Mr. Narada took down my loan number and promised to call me back within an hour, I requested his phone number or extension he told me he did not have a call back number. It should be noted, neither Mr. Narada nor any one else from Capital One has yet to contact me as of April 4, 2010.

It is refreshing to read as a stock holder, and customer that Capital One has been widely recognized for its entrepreneurial culture, progressive work place, and community engagement.
Nevertheless, I find it quite disturbing for a company of such enormity can have so many identical complaints from hundreds of its auto -loan customers posted on several on-line forums.

It appears Capital One Auto-Loan has complete ignore what I am trying to accomplished as a consumer and rather engaged in intimidation and threats in an attempt to collect a debt that is less than 25 days old, therefore, triggering a direct violation of the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act (FDCPA), 15 U.S.C. § 1692 et seq.

While I would appreciate a timely resolution to this matter, I will not be subjected to the unprofessional and unlawful conduct by Capital One Call Center or Debt Collection Employees.
I can be reached at xxx-xxx-xxxx only to discuss the forgoing matter. I do not wish to be bombarded with any harassment phone calls at my place of employment.

Sincerely

Responses

  • An
    Ann Writer Oct 30, 2011

    Yes, the Customer Service people are truly stupid and want to argue. And most of them do not even speak English well enough to be understood, which infuriates me.

    Aside from that, corporate doesn't want to be contacted. Best thing to do is file complaint with Consumer Financial Protection Bureau and they send it to Capitol One complaints board in McLean VA. Or the Better Business Bureau in McLean. And better yet, contact credit card.com code of ethics for code violations.

    My spelling is perfect. Thank you.

    0 Votes
  • Dt
    DTOM RTB May 20, 2010

    Didn't mean to get going on so much detail, but as you probably felt, once you got started, one gets wound up. Sorry
    DTOM RTB

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    Bob Dumas May 20, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Yes the ststus quo remains the same. Fairbanks don't care!

    0 Votes
  • Dt
    DTOM RTB May 20, 2010

    Bob,

    This becomes a small world, when dealing with Capital One. Simular to you, I move just about all my business over to Capital One (Banking, Savings, Auto loan, a three business cards) over $200K a year, but that does not mean anything. This is the letter I wrote to Mr. Fairbanks. I received the similar letter from our mysterious William Shank, which I noticed no position was mentioned. This leads me to believe this must be a 'Stage Name' so you cannot pin anyone down.

    When talking to them, I've asked for a Supervisor or Manager, which they are reluctant to pass you to or simply say they do not have one. When I respond back in other conversations that I have talked previously to another supervisor and give the name--- no one knows that person. The main ‘kicker’ is they cannot do anything unless the ‘Computer’ tells them too!!!

    Most of the conversations I’ve had with them, they do not have any record of (With all due respect--- I guess it’s too far to India for them to hear!) They never had any note to the agreement for a skip payment. Now, They keep saying they will allow the skip payment, IF I catch up the one payment they show behind. Fine, except I explained this back in November 09, when all this started and if I had the Payment, I would not have asked for a skip!

    Bottom line, the different branches of Capital One do not communicate with each other, their accounting system is about as defunct as one could get (but they understand, sometimes, how they figure) and I’m Sorry to say Mr. Fairbank appears to be the typical Corp CEO, that has no idea or care, as to what’s going on with his company. If anyone needs to be ‘Put’ into ‘Undercover Boss’ it could be him.

    In all fairness, the only good experience I had with them has been through the local branch I dealt with. They should learn from them how to carry on business! I have since transferred all my business over to Bank of Houston --- a 5-Star rated bank. At least I can understand their accounting!

    A Frustrated Texan,

    DTOM RTB


    LETTER TO MR. FAIRBANK

    5/20/2010

    Mr. Fairbank,

    I realize you are very busy person, but I think some things need to be brought to your attention. We have been customers a number of years of Capital One Bank, Capital One Auto, and Capital One Credit Card accounts. I use Capital One for the majority of our financial services. There have been a number of situations in the past year, which have troubled me to no end, with the way we have been treated as a loyal customer. I’m not looking for any special treatment, but as a customer should be treated. Maybe it’s a situation that would be beneficial for you to take on the ‘Undercover Boss’ to see what is really going on. As far as my local branch goes, they have been very good with the way they treat us and their customers, but when it comes to the rest of the Capital One Auto and credit card groups, and overhaul is in need!

    I will not go into all the detail at this time (it would take up to much space --- most will follow below), but I will address this letter to one main complaint regarding our Auto account. We have equity in our home, which at first we were told we could get a loan, then found out No loans we given out, even though the Bank (including CO), received part of the ‘Obama Bail Out.’ This would have made it possible to keep all bills current for another year. In the meantime, we have used all out savings and resources to see that all our bills were kept current --- this included helping keep Capital One solvent.

    The Situation:
    I have tried explaining I was told numerous times, starting in Nov 24, 09, that I was allowed to skip a month’s payment in December, to help adjust my overall payments, since I have been laid off since last May 09 and had an operation on my right leg. This has added to the difficulty of landing another position in the different fields and industries I normally work in, after being laid off in May 09. (See Notes below of the frustration I have been dealing with.) I will not go into additional explanation, since I have repeated it too many times already, to the CS agents and Supervisors.

    It is my understanding, from my last conversation with Jim (Supr), that they do not understand how Capital Ones System works to decide when one is ‘eligible’ to be allowed a adjust or skip a payment in any way, unless the ‘Computer’ tells them they can! Therefore, they cannot ‘work’ with a customer to help get through a Hardship. I know that CO has rules, Regulations, Guidelines, Directives and Procedures to follow and give instruction to its employees and management.

    So I guess I will make a suggestion to resolve this issue.

    1. In a Good Will gesture from Capital One Auto, you will override the computer program, and one month will be allowed to skip the payment.
    2. All the Late Charges from Dec 09 will be refunded, because they should not have been charged in the first place if the Skip was allowed as said.
    3. If this cannot be done, then you can have the auto back, and it will be due to Capital One Auto Finances lack of keeping their word, in addition to the harassment.
    4. Since, I do the bulk of my Financial dealing through Capitol One Bank and accounts, I will transfer the $6, 000 to 12, 000+ deposits I put into the Bank and all other business to another Bank or Financial institution.
    5. I will not refer any business to Capital One in the future.
    6. I will follow-up with complaints to the BBB, Texas AG’s Office, and others.

    After all, this stupidity could have been avoided, over a simple ‘Skip, if someone had learned how to support the customer (who has been supporting Capital One) and not only take instructions from a ‘Computer!’ We will not keep going on, playing this Game each month.
    Please acknowledge receipt of this letter from you and what decision you plan to go forward with.

    NOTES:
    11/24/09: Called CS and was told I could Skip payment for December!
    01/06/10: Payment set up for the 13th. Had call stating Payment for Dec past due (was suppose to skip) Late fee $28.00. Called CS, but could not get anyone (Unable to answer call!)!
    01/07/10: Called – talked to Mark (India) transferred to Aliya (Supervisor). Agreed to pay Dec and drop LC then Skip Jan 10 payment.
    01/30/10: Talk to ESKI about account. Explained again payment is set up and I will get caught up as soon as IRS refund comes in. Arranged Extended payment to make payment for Dec (was voided for some reason by COA), Skip Jan. payment then Back on track with payment Feb. 23.
    02/26/10: Had call from CS, could not get him to understand arrangements. He stated I was three months behind, Dec nor Jan payment was extended. Late fees have been assessed. Transferred to Supervisor, (Clarence) after explaining all to him again, he still avoided allowing the Extension and wanted to start a new one. I explained I had followed all instructions and was told I had the extension Twice, only to be told later it was not given. I was getting nowhere; I explained I would take it up with His manager or my Manager at the Branch. Called Mike Coulter (Branch Manager) at the branch, LM Mike called back and I explained the situation. He will call Plano to see what he can work out.
    03/01/09: Faxed C & D Letter, because of the constant harassing calls two or more daily!
    03/25/10: Received Letter stating Accelerated Debt due to account behind one month. Extension was filed in Jan twice, and then revoked because ‘requirements were not met. Payment was skipped in Dec and Jan, because I was told each month there was an extension. Payment was made in Feb (1) and Mar (2). I met requirements in March, as requested and they still have not given extension! Asked to be transferred to Manager to explain situation, because CS was not understanding transactions.
    Transferred to Gary AKN (Manager) ext 8676. He will get back to me in 24hr or by Monday with what they can arrange. I explained to him the only thing they can do would be give the extension and make thing equal! He never returned any communication.
    04/26/10: Called and talked to Matt (CS) who tried to transfer me to Gary (Supr) – Not there. Was transferred to Jim (Supr) who was told the whole story from Nov 09 and the only thing he could come up with ---They have records and the account is not eligible for an extension, because the ‘Computer said so, and that it the only thing they can go by. He said to call back next month and see if the ‘Computer’ can give them permission to extend!!! They do not know how the System works, and have no Documented instructions or directives, so they have to wait for the computer to tell them it’s OK. They have no rules, instructions or Guidelines to know how the computer figures the time one is eligible for an extension. Undoubtedly, they are just ‘Data Processors’, with no In-house training!!!

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    Bob Dumas Apr 04, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    By the way I did Fax and US Certified mail the letter to Richard Fairbanks.

    1 Votes
  • Bo
    Bob Dumas Apr 04, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    But the way I noticed this forum does not allow one to edit their postings. For example, I click on my complaint, then it said edit complaint all I see is the address of Capital One, and nothing else. The main body of text is not visible or accessable to edit.

    1 Votes
  • Bo
    Bob Dumas Apr 04, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Please read the entire letter and you will see I stated only 25 days late they are claiming.. I know I am current, but some how they are trying to run a scam for additional payments.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Daisy Mariposa Apr 04, 2010

    Bob,

    The CEO of Capital One Financial Corporation will most likely not see your letter if you post it on the Complaints Board Web site.

    You have to mail the letter to Mr. Fairbank at the corporate address you stated at the beginning of your complaint.

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.