The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Bally's Total FitnessUnauthorized billing

Bally's Total Fitness is an absolute rip off. They are trying to sell me 'debt' to bill collector who are saying I owe 4, 000 dollars for a contract that I just started three months ago. They tell me after the I sign the contract that they charge for the whole contract and they took me for three years. So they add up they monthly charges for the whole three years and what I actually doing is making payments on it as if it is a loan. Incredible huh?

To make matters worse I have a medical condition and I want to cancel my contract they are making me get a doctors not which has the prognosis on it. The date of onset of illness and the fact that it has to mention that I am medically unable to work out. This is absolutely ridiculous they make it near impossible to cancel your contract. Never would I ever believe that it would be easier to cancel life insurance than it would be to cancel a gym membership. Their aggressive tactics just make them seem a like a monster.

Now that I sent the doctors note, they say that since some one else is still on my contract, an old boyfriend, I have to track him down to let him know that he is now responsible for his future monthly payments, if not they will continue to charge me WTF? Plus the doctors note is in review so as long as it is in review they can continue to charge me. Ridiculous! They wont even bring down the price of the contract, even with me canceling it will still be the same price. This is completely absurd. you are d**n right that I am going to fight this. I will not be held responsible for this.

I had no idea I was locking my self into a three year contract and the only way to cancel was a medical condition verified by a doctor. Or living more than 25 miles away from a Ballys. Which is absurd because if there is a Ballys just 20 miles away I would not drive out just to go work out. They tell you all this after the fact. They convince you of one thing then tell you another.

Does anyone know if there are any class action suits against Ballys, or if any legal or administrative action is being taken? I really want to take this to the next step.

Responses

  • Sh
    Shane Shields Nov 20, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I went to the Humble, TX Bally's Total Fitness back in Sept 2017 . I signed up for a month to month contract cause i already had a 24hr Fitness membership but that facility was quite a ways from me. So after 2 months i decided to cancel the Bally's because they closed at 9pm and i ususally didnt get home til after 9pm at the time, so I ended up at 24hr fitness all the time and keeping this was a waste. SO when I called they told me i couldnt cancel becasue i was under a 3 yr contract. The sales person at Bally's lied to me and told me that i was on a month to month and could cancel at anytime. I have been struggling with them for the past 2 yrs trying to get this off of my credit. So far nothing has changed. Does anyone know who i could contact to put a stop to this.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    downinTX Jan 12, 2009

    It took me 2 1/2 hours to find a real live human being at Bally's. If you would like the name and number to a Sr. VP, leave me your email address and I will send it to you. Needless to say, I have had many problems withj them also, but I think this person will help you.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Robert Jun 17, 2009

    Im writing this in hopes taht we can all do something together to fight this corporate heartless, royal screwing! It was eight years ago that bally's got me and im just now finding out that in 2017 a judgement was brought against me over it. Im tired of this nonsense and nothing happening. Please read my story and decide if you want or can help.

    It start for me when I was working at the mall as operations leader at best buy. It wasn't like I made a lot of money or anything just watched over the cashiers, counted money, so on so forth. I basiclly was an underpayed babysitter.

    One ay i was walking through the mall and saw a drawing for a free two week membership and figured what the heck, can't hurt, HA. Anyway, about a week later I got a call about my free two weeks. Awesome I thought I was chosen, LMFAO! Just so happens that there was everyone that put their name in got it so they could get you in the office. I was a sucker and fell for it.

    I went in, sat down with a very attractive girl, hum? I then thought I was signing my two weeks but was also suckered into paying something? I don't to this day know what I payed for?

    Five days after I signed the stupid contract I called them at the mall to tell them it was a bad idea and I will never work out in a gym, nevermind that gym. They proceeded to tell me the contract rules about 3 days or 25 miles.

    Now to end my story im in a judgement suit for $1, 400 eight years later trying to get a loan and cant at thirty years old. Please help me take these people down. Many of you have been taken by this and even one poor soul was raped by an employee and yet they still won't let her out of the contract.

    0 Votes
  • Un
    Unitedcs Dec 01, 2009

    Contact the Attorney Generals' office for your state. A better business negative report also goes a long way to protect others in your community. Good luck...

    0 Votes
  • Un
    Unitedcs Dec 01, 2009

    Attorney General

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Caroltones Dec 14, 2009

    Bally's home office has waits of up to 2 and a 1/2 hours to speak with a representative only to be promptly disconnected. Their sales people will tell you anything to get you to sign a contract and then that contract is binding for 3 years. When you complain about being misled by staff you are simply told that is doesn't matter what you were told (even if it was lies) because you signed in "blood" basically, for the next 3 years. You will never be accommodated or treated as a paying customer in any way after signing a contract as normal business must do. They do not care if you are unhappy because they have your credit card # and that is all they care about. In the end, basically everything they tell you in the beginning is a lie to get your money and they make any contact after that impossible.

    0 Votes
  • Sq
    Squandylee Jan 19, 2010

    I joined the local Ballys fitness in Hurst, Texas in August 2017. I joined that location because 1. it was close to home, no need to access freeways to go workout. 2. I am disabled and belonged to Silver Sneakers, this was the fitness center that my insurance said had the best range of equiptment for my needs. In late October 2017 I was diagnoised with breast cancer. I went to the gym and told them that I would not be back until the doctor released me, but I continued to pay my dues, in fact I paid more than the monthly amount due. After 6 surgeries and the recoveries for those surgeries I was given permission to return to the gym. I went there back the latter part of 2017 to find there no Bally's there. I called to find out what had happened, and evidently the gym was closed rather suddenly. Now that leaves me without a means to go exercise with a gym I had been paying dues. The first lady I spoke to said they would reduce my fee to 160. for the remainder of my contract. I felt that was not something that would help me since Ballys refuses to put a new facility out in our area for us to go to. Now the existing building that was the prior home to Bally's is once again up for lease as a fitness center. Where is the justice in taking advantage of us that need and want a service. Now that there is not one close, I am still being harrassed to pay dues for membership in a center that NO LONGER EXISTS.

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    katedid123 Apr 19, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    DO NOT sign up with this gym. They refuse to cancel my membership. I called the 1-800 number and waited on the phone for almost an hour to talk to someone. I told them that I had lost my job and could no longer afford to pay for the membership and would need to cancel. They refused. I have had to change credit cards to get them to stop billing me. They are VERY deceptive. Do not waste your time and don't let them trick you into doing the trainer sessions. They are very over priced and you can do everything they "teach" you, on your own. I went to two of these sessions and wanted to cancel and they refused. IT IS A SCAM! Please trust me on this. I had read other complaints but ignored them. Please don't make the same mistake.

    0 Votes
  • Hs
    hsimmons1 May 06, 2010

    I willing to join the class action suit because the rip me off of three year contract too. They love to fraud people. I ready to put them off of business for good. They need to close every Ballys Total Fitness in the world.

    0 Votes
  • Ud
    udon Aug 19, 2010

    In 2017, I was tricked into a 2-year contract with Bally when I signed up for a trial period. The representative kept saying I can cancel the membership anytime during the 30 days trial period but she NEVER mentioned I need to workout at least 3 times/week if I want to cancel it. I only went there twice for the first two weeks during the trial period. At the 3rd week of the trial, I called to cancel the membership but they refused. Called couple of times later, Bally just wouldn’t let me cancel it. I disputed the $720 Bally membership fee on my credit card. I never used the service after that!! But Bally reported it to Trans Union and Experian and it brings my credit score down!!!

    5 years later, it still hurt my credit score a lot. I cannot even get a better mortgage rate for the refinancing. Anyone can tell me how to remove it from my credit report????

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem