The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Balboa Pressrip off

D Review updated:

I recently published a book with Balboa Press, and I am writing to let everyone know that they are a rip off!

While I was pleased with the production my book, everything else was a disaster. They harass you with marketing calls to purchase more services, their customer service representatives for the most part are pretty clueless, and now they are going on three weeks late in paying authors for their royalties.

It's a shame because Louise Hay, one of my favorite authors of all time has her name attached to this company, and it is simply awful. Don't spend your money with them. You can publish so much more economically hiring independent designers and formatters. Save your money and give it directly to the people who deserve it- not to this shady company.

Responses

  • Ge
    Gene Gonzalez May 24, 2021
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    People- We have all been scammed by this rip off company. I tried posting something on Hay House Facebook about them having a relationship with Balboa and it immediately removed. The got this bogus message that due to a high volume of messages they could no longer provide me support. Then called them and addressed my concerns with them. Said they would get back with me. Just like last time I reached out to them, they will not. Please don't let your friends get scammed by this outfit in the future.

    0 Votes
  • Ga
    Gayle Glogoski Sep 11, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Oh my goodness!

    Reading all the complaints including the last one is like reliving a nightmare.
    I believed because Louise Hay's name was associated with Balboa it had to have credibility based on her values. WRONG!!!

    This company trades on peoples emotions. I wrote a book, bought a package, (in my case the second highest) and spent the rest of this year trying desperately to either receive answers to my emails or find out about royalties and when they're paid. Nothing! After just on a year, I've received ONE royalty cheque for $10.55. When I asked them over and over and over again what this related to I was ignored - with of course the exception of continual sales calls to upgrade if I wanted answers. I've had many, many friends and family order the book, talk to me about it and refer it to others who have also contacted me. So I know there have been sales.

    Today I did something I have never in my life done, or even thought I'd do - - I recycled my five Louise Hay books, - - not to a second hand store but into the dumpster!!!

    If this company, to which Louise Hay supports with her name, is reflective of her principles and values then her writings are as insincere and false as Balboa itself. I have and will, continue to shout it loud and far, just how deceptive this company, and by association, Louise Hay is.

    It's so very obvious my post will have Balboa employees retaliating, but those of us who have been through this sham of a publishing process see through your anonymous keyboard protestations and attempts to denigrate our views. You are the trolls, not those of us who have actually outlaid large sums of hard earned money in an attempt to realise a dream and been bitterly disappointed in the actual process. It's not the sales, or lack thereof as some Balboa staffers have crudely suggested in other posts, that is the most disappointing, but the dismissive way in which we are treated once you have our money. Shame!

    I doubt I'll ever see royalties, but I will continue to very publicly voice my warnings to others who like myself once believed in Louise Hay, her writings and anything connected to her name.

    Gayle Glogoski (for those of you who doubt my sincerity and disgust!)

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    Arthur L. Jul 29, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Several years back, I submitted material to this company and once the got the money, I was then told that my book because it was a true story had to be changed to make sure there were no liabilities. People named had to be dead or give permission for their names to be used. Everything printed was based on court documents and real court experiences which named parties involved. I questioned them about accepting the material, reviewing the material and then accepting payments to get the process started and suddenly it did not fit their criteria in its current state. When I told them that to change the information it would no longer be a true storyline and would change the entire story content and direction. then I had to get permission for the lawyers that handled the case to refer to them in the book. At that point I informed them that everything was a matter of public record they still wanted me to make unnecessary changes. I decided that I wanted a refund and cancel the intended service. they refused. I then filed a written notice to them for the refund gave them 20 day to correct it. they failed. i then filed a Fraud Claim with the banking institution and the Bank refund the money with-in ten days. I later filed a complaint with three States attorney's consumer affairs divisions and reported this matter to several BBB. Since that time they have contacted me with all kinds of offers to publish with them and telling me the people that were employed at that time are gone and no longer with the company. I intended to file suit if the banking failed to come through. The fact is, they want you money, take your money and then fail to provide the services by hiding under the terms of a contract that can be challenged. That called Deceptive Trade and or Deceptive business practices violation which is both a State and Federal violation. Just because there is a contract does not mean Deception and breach of contract does not exist. this company will Fraud you if given the chance, but you have to stand your ground and not allow yourselves to be come the victim.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Robyne Cory Oct 26, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have started to edit but not finalised editing. I have not signed any papers for any final editing. I have paid for printing publishing and marketing.
    I just need my money back. $30, 000 of it
    I am definately not going on with Balboa press
    I have been coned and my bank savings are just my pension payments.
    So lets get my money back for nothing.

    1 Votes
  • Sh
    Shoshi Herscu Jan 08, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I recently published a book with Balboa Press
    I'm complaining about the press release that I purchased from this publisher. They are a rip-off!!!

    I've purchased the web-optimized press release believing what was advertised: that the press release is written by a professional copywriter, and optimize it for web search by selecting relevant keywords. Unfortunately, I was appalled by the very poor quality of the text that I received. Despite providing a lot of relevant information in the questionnaire they asked to complete, the press release was bland, unenticing, and contained many mistakes (the initials in the headline weren't capitalized, some choice of words had a negative impact on readers and other problems). I could also only select one keyword and not keywords as they claimed in their ad.

    I had to ask my editor to revise it in order to have a good press release. He did a marvelous job, but I had to pay him too on top of the $1, 000 sum that I paid Balboa Press.

    Secondly, I asked for a refund because the press release that I've been provided isn't worth the amount that I paid for ($1000). The marketing rep sent me the clause that states that once I approve this service I'm not entitled to any refund. Not only did I receive an amateurishly written press release, I had to pay the editor for revising it and I'm not entitled to any refund!

    I also don't receive full answers from employees at the company and need to ask the same questions time and again. I asked for help from the customer support but they sent me back to the same person who isn't responsive. Moreover, I checked and all the places that my press release was posted were "clips" that weren't even searchable which made them totally worthless. No one could find them.

    I'm very frustrated and upset because this is an ongoing problem for quite a while.

    Thanks for your response in advance.

    Best regards,

    Shoshi Herscu

    7 Votes
  • De
    Debbie A-S Dec 07, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agree, I've had the same issues. The problem is that they are run by Author House, Author Solutions. If Hay House is going to put their name on it, they should run it.
    Debbie S

    3 Votes
  • Ro
    Robert Groves Jun 18, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They did put their name on their post. However, you did not. Shoo troll.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Sheryl Bacon-Jones May 01, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I've got $1000 that says booklover55 is an employee of Balboa Press... give me a break. Insulting someone who has been through the process based on no direct personal experience is suspect and typical of a victim shaming troll. Coming from someone who actually has a base of knowledge to judge from, I can tell you that Balboa Press isn't necessarily a scam. You do get your published book as promised. What you don't get is accurate sales reports and never ending run around. I have orders from Amazon that I have never been paid for and these are just the orders I know of. When I contacted Balboa on several occasions they tell you that you have to get proof of purchase from Amazon. When I contact Amazon they say that Balboa is the account holder and information can only be released to them... and so the vicious cycle continues. I must reiterate the ridiculousness of this...Balboa wants me to obtain receipts from people I don't know or have access to their information and provide it to them. Even if I could access this information, then what? Send them an email telling them I am the author of the book they purchased and I need a copy of their receipt because the publishing company sucks? If this is the sort of thing you are into then go for it...it would be perfect for booklover55... -Sheryl Bacon-Jones

    9 Votes
  • Ja
    Jane Howe Mar 10, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    SO far Balboa has been everything they have said they would be . I love my team they are informative, passionate and readily available to me at any time ive need them or had questions. Jane Howe... Janie Rose.

    2 Votes
  • Lo
    Lori Ellen Brochhagen Feb 08, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I agree with you, completely. My experience was the same. I assumed (my bad) that because it had Louise Hay's name that the company would treat authors with more respect; I should have done more research. I think it's appalling that they make so much money off of my creation--that I paid them to publish--It's not like they need to re-coop their money from investing in me. They could have at least bought me a drink ...

    10 Votes
  • Bo
    booklover55 May 27, 2015

    why wouldn't you post your name either to substantiate your claim?

    -5 Votes
  • Bo
    booklover55 May 27, 2015

    I don't see any reason these should be legit reasons this company is a scam. You got what you paid for, a published book. Services like marketing never guarantee results. They have an author agreement that gets signed and is upheld. How do they lie and cheat? How can you prove your sales numbers are higher than what the printer reports. Maybe your book didn't sell, maybe your friends who said they got the book lied. A company sometimes does things a little later than expected, doesn't mean it is a scam, human error happens, kinds like when you file taxes and your return takes longer than a month. The IRS isn't scamming you, they just had a lot do to with so much people power. I'm guessing you are mad because you just wrote bad books.

    -8 Votes
  • Jt
    JT Will Aug 19, 2013

    Class action lawsuit includes Balboa Press managed by Author Solutions, Inc. To view class action or to contact attorneys follow this link: http://www.gslawny.com/lawyer-attorney-2103286.html

    In addition, FB page: Balboa Press Survivors... looking forward to a "cluster suit." https://www.facebook.com/balboapresssurvivors

    4 Votes
  • Dr
    Dr Trevor J Hawkeswood Jun 29, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Yes they (Balboa Press) are a scam and rip off! What they do is offer the author a good royalty but they don't show the correct sales figures!
    Also they lie and cheat!
    They also dont offer a proper signed contract!
    How can they be sued?

    13 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.