AT&Tcustomer service

S
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

Customer Beware!! AVOID AT&T.

Crooks, liars, incompetent bumbling fools...A company so large, one hand doesn't know what the other hand is doing. With the flip of a switch, they turn off your service, then act like there's a technical difficulty too complicated for the outsourced AT&T tech in India to diagnose. After several days of outage, they’ll send an AT&T DSL service tech to your home. He’ll tell you have bad wiring and give you a new modem and leave you with a huge bill.

Want to kill 2 hours? Call AT&T and ask for the phone number to the cancellation department. They will become very confused. They won't have a phone number. You will be passed around to 5 different AT&T customer representatives. They will put you on hold for 15 minutes at a time while they "search for the phone number to the cancellation dept." What they are really doing is while you sit there on hold is talking to other disgruntled customers. Finally you will get through to a customer representative who apologizes for the problems you are having and they will transfer you to another customer service representative who finally gives you to what they call the "retention department". I wonder how many cooperate tools it took to come up with the idea of changing the word "cancellation" to "retention".

This is what customers get when the big communications companies eliminate all of the competition. They pretty much do whatever the hell they want to do while customer service falls to the wayside.

Avoid AT&T!!
*Message sent via neighbors wireles router.

Responses

  • Dm
    d misico Feb 15, 2018

    have a run a around sense I bundled with direct tv and home phone and internet !
    billing, suspion of phone because they credited to wrong account that they gave me .
    so had to pay it again to get my phone and internet turned buck on again !

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Carol Jean Davis Sep 12, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I got scammed into the $89 bundle. After almost a year my bill may have been $89 two times. The customer service stinks and at this point, I just wish I could get out of the 2 year contract. I wish I could get some help.

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Ken Byrd Dec 30, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    GEE I never thought that any business could be that disorganized mishandled, confused, untimely, incompetent, screwed up, ####ed up, mismanaged,
    poorly staffed, untested, I know because if they would self test once in a while or just once they wouldn't be this messed up. They are also a pain in the butt, pigheaded, uncaring, overpaid, know nothing, stupid and complete i####s. All I wanted to do is keep my old number they screwed up the number is still available, but after 60 to 80 hours of phone calls I give up I cant stand it any more . I am actually horse from telling the story. I need a drink perhaps 10 drinks I am livid I can certainly understand how someone could launch a nuclear missle at att. Wow that's all I can say just wow I never thought such a large company could promote such m####s and be so poorly run any other mortal human being would never in a hundred years deal with such a legion of #####s. K Byrd [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Michelle Adams-Jones Dec 19, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am a very unhappy customer of AT&T. First of all, the customer service ought to be re-named as customer disservice. I have had 2 representatives disconnect me right in the middle of an already lengthy telephone call in which we were attempting to set up an Att&t account and port my phone number to the new phone. The phone was offered by Direct TV for my being a "loyal customer" Once the phone was sent to me, I went on a long, downward spiral with untrained, mumbling, fumbling technicians who not only could not answer simple questions without putting my on long holds only to come back and ask me for the same information that requested before the hold or to disconnect me. It is humiliating to know that such so called service providers as AT&T can buy other providers giving paying consumers less options ie Direct TV. You ought to be ashamed of yourselves. BIG Greedy AT&T. You are a thief and instead of making life more enjoyable for your customers, you cause immeasurable grief. You are the worst!!!

    0 Votes
  • Th
    Thomas Martin Sep 02, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Guess what...
    I cancelled my services months ago, now they are charging me
    for services I do not receive.
    I am planning a nice big lawsuit...

    0 Votes
  • Cl
    Claudio Gamez, MBA, CRCST Jun 11, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I should have written this email months ago, but as I have continued to give AT&T the benefit the of the doubt, I have also continued to be strung along.

    In December I took advantage of the BOGO offer AT&T had to offer. I upgraded one line and got a free phone in store at the Burbank location for one set, and I also traded old phones in to take advantage of the $200 credit being offered per phone. The second set I requested over the phone, and that is where all the problems began.

    Firstly, before I placed the order over the phone, I specifically asked the representative if it would be possible to have the two phones shipped to 2 different addresses, because one of my end users was in Chicago, and they needed a phone ASAP. He assured me it wouldn’t be a problem, this was problem number 1, because as I found out after the email confirmation came through, both phones were being shipped to the same address (my billing address), plus he had added a tablet to the order without even mentioning it to me, asking me if I wanted it, or confirming that it was on the order. At that point it was too late to change the order, so I had to wait for it to arrive, then I had to go to an AT&T store to return the items in lieu of saving time. The store was extremely helpful and equally frustrated because of the situation with the lies and inconvenience. I arrived at the store, completely irritated and frustrated because of the situation, and I walked out very thankful and I vowed to never again order a phone through your website or phone.

    A week after my visit to the store I noticed that there were a total of $800 applied to my account, and I had to call to inquire what this was about because I was only aware of $600. It was explained to me the store incorrectly had input one of the IMEI numbers, and that was why the extra $200 credit, and that I should consider the 4th credit a token of AT&T because of the problems with the phones, that it would not be taken away. It was taken away, but because I am also in a professional setting I did not call to argue that point. I was allotted the proper credits and I moved forward.

    Now, over 6 months later I am still waiting for my proper credit for one of the BOGO lines. I have conversed with multiple agents, the last 3 times have been through chat to have it in writing. on 5/16, I was promised by one of the chat managers that this would be resolved prior to my next billing cycle, on 6/5 it had not yet happened. on 6/5 I reached out to AT&T on chat again, and once more had to explain the situation, that manager told me it would be a form that he needed to fill out to properly get the credits for the line missing the credit. 5 full business days have now passed and I have yet to see the credit on my account.

    This is absolutely ridiculous. It can be seen as only a $21 credit a month, yet its been at least 5 credits missed, which are now equivalent to over $100.00, and even after the frustrating experience with the orders, I continue to have to contact AT&T for answers and corrections.

    This experience has left a horrible taste in my mouth regarding how effectively AT&T worries about problems that their own representatives have caused and the whirlwind of consequences that I am still dealing with. All because the person that took my order on the phone, felt it necessary to lie, and include a tablet on my order to meet some sort of sales promo or quota I am sure.

    Absolutely ridiculous! I have begun exploring my options to leave AT&T as soon as contracts expire or even as soon as a carrier is willing to pay my cancellation fees, and Sprint seems to be front runner.

    My hopes with this email is to make AT&T aware of the utter nonsense I have had to deal with, even as a long time loyal customer, and I also have the slight glimmer of hope that perhaps by putting this long email together, someone at AT&T will care enough to actually correct this problem, and restore faith in a company that has had my business and that of my family for YEARS.

    utterly frustrated and disappointed,

    Claudio Gamez

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    christine bragg May 11, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was an AT&T customer for approximately 10 years and have kept my att.net email address for going on 20 years. Just 3 days ago, I was locked out of my email account due to a supposed malware email that may or may not have been received. I have now tried unsuccessfully to have my email unlocked, but they are saying that the zip codes I have provided do not match with what their systems has. Which is odd since I provided every single zip code for the city of appleton, wi and some of the surrounding areas. I have told them this repeatedly, each and every single service tech, supervisor, and complaint line (which turns out was billing), and yet they keep asking me to provide them with the zip on the profile. How many times do I have to explain that the system was not provided with the correct information? I use this email for everything: banking, bills, personal email, resume/interviews...basically my life, and now I am being told that no one can help me. They have taken my email address from me and refuse to give it back because I am unable to provide a zip code for something that was set up for me at an AT&T store. I need this resolved and not to hear "I am sorry" or "Unfortunately...". That is not good enough. If I had the ability to affect the world and have them all dump AT&T at this point, I would. There should be alternate means in place for a person to verify their email. If I was a hacker trying to get into a specific email, I would not be calling tech support, talking to a supervisor, demanding results or anything, I would be moving on to the next email. There are easier ways to hack a person's email than working with your tech support staff, AT&T. So KUDOS to you for hiring the least helpful tech team and coming up with the worst way for a person to verify their own email address from 20 years ago, since I don't have bills from 6 years ago, it was a dry-loop hook up - so no phone number, and no matching zip code. I will never use AT&T again. No one should ever be locked out of their own email account with no real way to get control of it back.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Ronny Junkins Dec 30, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My partner and I signed up for DIRECT TV a year ago. We did agree to a 24 month contract even though I knew that there was a possibility that we might move before the end of the term so I asked the representative and he assured me that if we moved we would not be held responsible if we actually move. We moved and signed up with AT&T U-VERSE . Since DIRECT TV states that they are part of AT&T, we thought there shouldn't be any problems. I WAS WRONG!!! Despite the fact that I was lied to by the salesman and besides the fact that Direct TV and U-verse are suppose to be part of the same company, we will be saddled with a $220 early termination fee!!!

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Mia Thomas Nov 23, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    To whom it may concern,
    After many years of being a loyal customer of both Illinois Bell and AT&T I have canceled my telephone service effective November, 23, 2015
    .
    For the past 14 months starting with September 13, 2014 the date I moved to a new residence. I transferred my land line and attempted to transfer my Uverse internet service.
    I was unaware that the area of my new residence could not support the Uverse internet service. AT&T mailed me a new modem because they like myself were under
    The impression that service would be installed at my new residence. I returned the modem using the the return label that was provided and mailed it using the
    US Postal Service. After several months had passed the charges for the modem continued to appear on my bill. I continued to call and I was assured that it would be removed
    From my billing statement. I again continued to call and I finally became frustrated to the point that I asked to have my service canceled. The customer representative that
    Was assisting me apologized and switched me over to the Loyalty Dept. I spoke to someone that identified herself as Brittany. She apologized for all of the inconvenience
    And assured me that the issue would be resolved even giving me her ID number to reassure me that the matter was resolved.
    I received a disconnection notice on November 14th 2015 for past due charges associated with the Uverse Modem which I had returned over a year ago.

    When I initially began to call about these charges each time the representative was able to access my account and confirm that I had indeed returned the equipment and that it was
    Just a matter of the billing department updating their information. Imagine my frustration when I called today and after one hour and twenty minutes of being transferred
    From one department to another I was finally told that they could no longer see any record of returned equipment. It was then that I asked to have my service canceled, again I
    Received an apology and was told that I would have to be transferred to the loyalty department guess who answered Brittany !!! somehow I was cut off from Brittany and
    That was just the final straw. I found the Corporate phone number and called to request that my service be terminated . I spoke with someone that identified himself as Brian,
    He was very polite and attempted to soothe my experience by offering me a lower monthly service. I was insulted by this I explained to Brian that this was not the issue and I was not expecting a hand out . I also shared with Brian that I am seventy years old and have worked hard to retain a decent credit status. I pay my bills on time all the time. I requested the total amount of my bill including outstanding charges for the returned modem. My fear is that if I did not pay that it would be turned over to the credit bureau. I paid the amount requested $ 154.96
    I have my own theory about what happened to the equipment that I returned and I think it was something unscrupulous that involves returned equipment information
    Being deleted from your system and possibly sold in a boot leg manner. It is just unfortunate and unfair that a loyal and dedicated customer has been treated in this manner.
    In my humble opinion the quality of customer service is bad. I have been in the work force many years and have observed what happens when everything is departmentalized
    It does not promote cohesive service and in most instances causes confusion because a simple problem has to go thru too many hands before it can be resolved.
    Thank you for listening.
    I am requesting that confirmation of complete payment of all services be provided to me in the form of a written confirmation

    0 Votes
  • Zb
    Z Bouchillon Dec 11, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Dealing with AT&T customer service for 4 days today and issues are still not resolved. Have just been on the phone with customer service or wireless service for 2 hours already. The rep had the audacity to ask me if I would like to hear more options as to how they could save us money and I finally said, "No. I do not want any further "help" from AT&T. They are totally unbelievably incompetent to help any body with any problem related to combined billing, separate billing, wireless, internet, or tv services. Today I will be talking with my husband about completely doing away with AT&T as our provider as I just paid a bill for $236 12/1/14 as a combined bill customer. I find out this morning that there is a bill for WIRELESS that was due 12/4/1014 of more than $238. When asked what did I just pay a combined billing of more than $236 and have a bill due for $238 when I paid the billing that was mailed to our home. This is $474 for two phones and one internet connection in our home. No one could answer my question - internet or wireless. Believe me, I don't need this kind of headache and do not have funds to pay any more for phone service. These people are just as bad as the government - lining their pockets. Well - I don't have to have these services and will be doing away with these as quickly as I possibly can. If I could not take care of my customers when they call or take care of my duties as a manager, I would not have a job very long. I cannot believe the stupidity of customer service personnel - in India or America - that I hear on the other end of the phone day after day after day.

    0 Votes
  • Al
    AliceGarfield Dec 05, 2014

    At&t misinforms customers, has lousy products, has horrible customer service, and always finds ways to rip off their customers and treat them like garbage.

    0 Votes
  • Wm
    Wmdewb Jan 30, 2014

    I just finished speaking with the 6th employee with AT&T. The last said my U-Verse Internet bill would be $14.95 for the first 12 months. I received the first bill for $31.95. The last billing rep said the previous rep I spoke with was mistaken or misquoted (lied). Surely AT&T knows who the last rep I spoke with is. This sort of supports the theory they have a lying culture at the AT&T billing department.

    0 Votes
  • Bk
    BKosek Feb 23, 2013

    I have spent almost a year with AT&T's "lack of customer service" department trying to find out why I was over charged. I paid my bill every month except for the disputed charge. AT&T terminated my contract and now wants me to pay a $500 early termination fee. I did not terminate my contract - AT&T did that. I am also denied access to my account online. Since I used ebills I have no access to my account. After 17 years of being a "valuable customer" - 14 of which were without contracts - this is how AT&T thanks me.

    0 Votes
  • Gh
    G Hildreth Feb 11, 2013

    I live out in the country and called about DSL service. Was told it was now available here and told to fill out the forms on the internet. I filled out all the forms and was given a conformation number...Fast forward, received an e-mail saying there was already service at my home, well I wish there was but that was incorrect...Called the web sales center, after 3 people telling me that the conformation number isn't theirs and one person hanging up on me, I didn't cuss, yell, even tho I would have liked to by then I realize that they can't do the impossible...No one is able to tell me what the conformation number is, it came from their site, they say they have no record of the transaction... Then got a e-mail saying they would notify me when the installation would be every thing is fine...haven't heard a thing from them since, and probably won't. This is a total of 4hrs. on the phone and 3 hrs. on the internet so far, and yes I'm going to call again. Someone has this info, if it isn't them I want to know who. The site had a https, so I think it's them. Oh, and one person said they would call me back, I figure this is when hell freezes over.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shoeswasbroken Oct 17, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    dang keyboard messing up was supposed to be we dont have any credit cards

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shoeswasbroken Oct 17, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Thats right we don't have any credit cards, we either pay cash or do not need it. This has saved us from purchasing things we do not have the money for with credit cards and from interest rates.

    -1 Votes
  • Place Needs More Descartes uses ebt cards

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shoeswasbroken Oct 17, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Not been satisfied at all so far with AT&T. We just moved into our home, on Sept. 14th we had our service connected. We received two packages with the exact same modem from UPS, tech guy came on Sept. 15th to turn on our services, phone we have had no problems with, but, the internet would not allow two people to connect at the same time through their modem, so we had a router (brand new) and still only one person could connect, if we tried to connect through the router, neither of us could get internet. Also, we were supposed to have the phone/internet/cable bundle, but our cable did not work. Called their not so 24/7 support line, and talked to about twenty people before finally getting the internet problem taken care of, each time mentioning our cable still was not working. They kept sending us to Direct TV Sales, who replied we have no records of your order, you need to call AT&T, after five days and at least twenty more people, we were finally told that we should have gotten a modem, after a week of no modem arriving, once again called support, who finally informed us we had to pay 29.95 for the equipment first, and had to use a credit card, we told them we don't use credit cards, wasn't there any other way like billing us or debit card, well of course there wasn't, so had to call my mother and ask her to use her card to get service hooked up. Upon being told about the equipment fee, finally, we asked to speak to a manager, after all this is about the 40th person we talked to and nobody bothered to mention it. The manager came to the phone, explained, and apologized, promising us a 50 dollar VISA gift card and a reduction of our first bill. Finally got everything to work, but, did not get a gift card, did not get a reduction of first bill, what we did get was a 248.00 bill, again calling to find out what in the world, it was explained these are first time fees for the equipment, all i can say is our bundle is 89.95 a month, so that equipment of one modem must have some gold in it.
    This has been one of the most frustrating dealings with a company i can recall in along time. "

    0 Votes
  • Cl
    cldr774 Jun 20, 2012

    i dumped them years ago - you have to get rid of their service completely to show them you're serious - by keeping them and still getting the ### service - you're just showing that you'll keep taking it
    and still pay them for crap

    0 Votes
  • Ir
    Ironhorsep Jun 20, 2012

    AT&T has never been the leader in customer service in my opinion, but I used to think it was no worse than other monolithic corporations. My experience with this company over the past month has convinced me that could probably win the prize for worst customer service in the country, perhaps the world.
    I can't go into documenting all the wasted hours, phones call, empty promises, etc., etc. without getting angry so suffice it to say "Congratulations AT&T. You kept a customer only because I don't apparently have a real choice for local phone service (isn't that a monopoly?). You may have gotten your lousy $49 but you lost my respect and any sense loyalty after being a faithful customer for years."

    0 Votes
  • Na
    natpav Mar 10, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They are bandits!!! wait and see what biils you get from them in future and if you do not pay they send you to collection agency even if you didn't owe.Then you will fiqht with the collector and finely pay because even BBB can't stop them to still.

    0 Votes
  • Ly
    lynn Feb 28, 2012

    AT& T HAS GONE completely downhill in regard to customer service. Anytime, I call for billing questions, or any reason for that fact, I am put on hold, transferred, call dropped, back on hold, transferred, transferred again, and again and again. Then call dropped. Call back, go through the whole name, address, phone number, etc., and transferred once again. On hold for another 1/2 hour and then call dropped. This scenerio has gone on for 2-3 hours at a time. I can't figure it out. No other company has customer service like this. My last experience resulted in 14 transfers, 3 dropped calls and 3 hours of wait time. I had an AT&T representative HANG UP on me when I asked for her name because of her rudeness. When they say "this call is recorded for customer satisfaction..." AT&T needs to review those calls and take action against the rude, unknowledgable representatives they have hired. Customers should not put up with this-leave AT&T---get a cell phone with Verizon, or go to SAGE telecom. Do not pay AT&T for service when their customer service is AWFUL!

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Doug9556 Feb 09, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I ordered at&t U-verse bundle package on Jan24, 2012 and received installation date as Feb 3rd 9am to 11am time, on that day,
    I closed my store and put a tag saying "I'll be back by 12:00" and I came to my home and waited for the Installer and he showed up
    about 40minutes late and told me it will take 5-6hours to finish the job, made me so angry, so I refused the installation and the guy called at&t and it takes another 35minutes to finished talking and told me they set up cumming Wednesday 1-3pm as another installation date, And Wednesday, I closed my store and came home waited installer for 1&1/2hours and nobody showed up, so I called customer service and was told there was some mistake and they don't have any appointment for meat that time, That really made me boiled over, and I shouted to phone, and she was telling me that my phone number's have no confirmation number yet so it can't be connect today and I have to make another appointment to complete installation, at that moment my door's knocked and at&t installer stand right there. That really made me crazy. SO I CANCELED AT&T SHEET Y Service. Looks like they don't care about other people's valuable TIME. I had to close my store 2-days and yet they want another
    day. and I tried to contact at&t for formal COMPLAINT thru the customer service but they are not connecting me to their management.

    0 Votes
  • St
    stressedmother Jan 25, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This was my complaint letter to at&t lets see what good it will do ha ha...
    I spent two days trying to add a(1) phone line to my account. The people that you hired in the Credit and Activations
    Department were far from helpful. They were extremely intrusive, asking me for highly sensitive information including my
    Mortgage information, and Gas Card information, neither of which have anything to do with adding a telephone. I
    understand that you are trying to protect my identity from theft, but when two forms of ID were requested, I provided
    a valid drivers license, and a Government Gun License, but that was not good enough.
    You then requested that I photo copy and fax them to your office, which In turn I and the Walmart Associate managed
    to provide this from the electronics department at my local Walmart. This was STILL not good enough. They then told me,
    that I needed to
    go to an official AT&T store, which was 30 minutes away. The worst part of this experience with your company, was that
    the previous day I upgraded to a $350 phone, which you had no problems taking that money, but you had a problem adding
    a new phone line, and that I couldn't upgrade and add a line in the same day. None of this makes ANY sense. I come home and
    spend 1.5 hours on the telephone with your customer service so that I could handle the line addition problem the next day,
    and it did me no good. I still had problems. I went back and spent 2 hours on the telephone with your Customer Care
    department, while the Walmart Associate spent the same two hours on their phone with your Credit and Activations department,
    FIGHTING to get this phone line added. Finally we get it finished. I come home to write a complaint about your terrible
    service, only to discover that you not only added 1 phone, but YOU ADDED A SECOND PHONE AS WELL!!! I got charged
    double activations fees and discovered another phone on my account. So I call AGAIN to your customer service, only to
    find more problems. I spoke with Customer Care supervisor, Jason Cordero, and he again was less than helpful.
    He ignored me the entire time, like he didn't want to bother listening to me or helping me fix my problem.
    He was rude and inattentive, even after multiple plea's for an answer. He then proceeded to tell me that AT&T
    did not have a customer complaint department, or a customer services department, which is absolutley
    absurd. Overall after 2 days multi hours, and multiple phone calls I came within a hairs width of canceling my ALL of
    my AT&T phones and services, and switching to Verizon. If your customer service doesn't pick up, then you will be
    losing a 10 year customer. VERY DISAPPOINTING.

    0 Votes
  • El
    Ella LeClair Nov 16, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This customer service department was patronizing after a legitimate service complaint. Therefore, I had my primary number ported over to Verizon when my contract ended. I forgot to close out the three other family lines connected under this primary line at this time. These lines had not been used in a year. I was charged $10 per line before my primary number was ported to Verizon. Without any customer service representative telling me, the cost of these three lines went from $30/month to $117/month. I had electronic billing for this primary number. I received one invoice by email. I could not get into since my primary number had been ported out. By the time I called, I had racked up several months of charges at $117/month for three family lines that had been unused in over a year. AT&T is a money-grubbing rip-off of a company that drops calls like there is no tomorrow. Don't bother complaining to the FCC or AT&T. So far, I've been very happy with Verizon.

    0 Votes
  • Dr
    dreamer08 Oct 09, 2011

    Yes, At&t are not only idiots, but everyone who works for them as well! I have been over charged, lied to, cheated, doubled charged and I am done with this company! I live in a small town in texas but I will be seeking a class action suit to either join or start! These hugh corps need to be brought down to size and shown they can't do this to hard working people!

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Roger Alswager Sep 26, 2011

    They are simply IDIOTS. I tried to stay with them and increase my services to include Uverse and they insist on driving us to a competitor for wireless service to get rid of a worthless piece of telephone equipment.

    So we will accommodate their desires and go to another provider!

    We will stay with Time Warner for television.

    We will switch our landline account.

    And we will forget about the idiots that can't even speak or understand English in the AT&T warranty department.

    0 Votes
  • Se
    seals Aug 16, 2011

    Am a AT&T customer many yrs i order what was supprose to be a free phone [protected] . put my old sims card inside this phone. now am charge 146.oo just cancel the 757# which I was told by the AT&t rep from the store on jefferson ave. it was okay. so at my lows with this company. please email some help, [email protected] my [protected] was from old LG at&T phone. just the president of the company or some one higher to reslove this terrible nightmare

    0 Votes
  • De
    delaine7298 May 04, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was extremely frustrated with this service. ATT handeled bundeled service billing for my hard line phone, internet and direct tv. When I called back to discusss the huge bills I was getting I was passed around to four different people all of which gave me different answers. I called multiple times after having the issue 'fixed' only to have it occur again and again. i got the 'I'm so sorry for the inconvienience but the screen says you owe..." or 'that order did not go thru, let us do it now" this literally happened over and over. I could not beleive it. Here I am again. I separated my direct fromthe bundle in Novemeber 2010 and att is still billing me for direct tv! but they dont beleive me, thier systems are not in sync. This has been the worst experience.

    0 Votes
  • Vw
    VW11 Feb 17, 2011

    While I disagree with your statement that ALL people who can not pay are dead beats, I do agree that collection agencies have the right to collect money owed to them. What I do not agree with is the fact that they intend to belittle people and treat them with such disrespect. In the case that C. Cannon was talking about, ok, that is horrible that a person would do that, but not all people are like that. Some people may no longer be able to make payments because of losing a job, or death of a spouse who provided 100% of the income. Not fair of you to count all people as deadbeats.

    -1 Votes
  • Sa
    Sarah I. - unhappy customer Feb 17, 2011

    I've had a Samsung Impression phone since August. All along it has not worked very well, often needing to be re-started to send messages. Then this week the touch screen stopped working (meaning all I could do was dial numbers I had memorized on the keypad, with no access to the main menu). I went into a "service center" on Monday (in Manhattan at 42nd street and 5th ave), explained the issue and told them I had one year warranty, and they gave me a "new" phone and a new sim card and sent me on my way. Two hours later I got home (Jackson Heights) to find I had no service at all on the phone anywhere. Later that day I returned to Manhattan, downtown at west 14th street, and still had no service. The next day I returned to the same store, the same two people working. Explained I was in there yesterday, explained the issue, and they asked my zip code, went on the computer and said there was a tower down, or under maintenance, in my area that they started working on at 4:30 in the morning the day the phone was issued to me and continued until 5:30 this morning. When I got home the issue should be resolved, I could get a new phone, but he didn't believe it was the phone. Blindly believing this man, I said ok, thank you for your time, and left again with the same phone. This day I was working in upper Manhattan at 71st and Central Park West, and upon arriving at work, still no signal. I returned home that night to find I had no signal again. So now the third day in a row, I had to make this in-convenient trip to their store. I get there, same people working, and explain the issue once more, this time giving multiple addresses I'd been at with no service. I was asked for information under the battery but couldn't read it because the ink was smearing off. That's when they told me this "new" phone was actually re-furbished (I understand many service centers issue re-furbished phones, but don't tell me its brand new and then contradict yourself). He put in my zipcode and the two of the places I'd been working. He then informs me there are actually towers down in all of those areas (although the man the day before had told me the work started and ended and that my phone should be fine... I guess they stopped working and then decided to pick it right up again. Interesting.) And the most valid point I gave them was the fact that my roommate was also an AT&T user and she has perfect service in our apartment. He said sometimes thats the case, it varies from phone to phone. That being said, I asked if I could simply try a new phone then since mine hasn't worked for three days, it is now affecting my career, and no-one has been able to give me consistent information. The man told me its not their policy to issue another phone since there appears to be nothing physically wrong and there is service being done in all these areas I mentioned. So there best solution for me is to wait it out... hardly an option. That night I have to call AT&T, sit on the phone for literally 2 and 1/2 hours, speak to three separate people, go through all sorts of troubleshooting, and finally they agree to ship me another re-furbished phone, that may take more than 7 business days due to President's Day on Monday. So I'm supposed to either pay $15 to have a phone express shipped, or go for possibly more than 2 full weeks with no phone. This company has horrific customer service, inconsistent and inconsiderate policies, and overall poor attitude in handling customer affairs. This entire experience has been not only frustrating, but has hindered my career, cost me un-acceptable amounts of time to find no resolution to my issues, and shown me AT&T is an utterly un-professional service provider. If it didn't cost an obscene amount of money to cancel my contract pre-maturely, I would cancel it instantly.

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    Babs0619 Dec 09, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    New service, New home phone and High speed internet... ok service man showed up to do phone messed up the phone service of neighbor left yard in mess. sloppy work, mult. calls and sitting on phone for ever hearing "how important my call is", took at least 4 calls and each call 30 to 45 min to get to speak to a person.
    Next the service man that was to come and wire for internet never showed up. mult calls again. each call 30 to 45 mins. after 4months of paying for internet that we did not have. Cancelled all service. spoke to at least 5 people on phone 2 hours, once because after holding for 45 mins was told that transferring and disconnected me, has to start over. This time though I would not be denied. If it took 10 hours, the 4 person told me I had an attitude. duh!! These people would have given Jesus one. Last women told me if I would pay 122.00 she would close account. oh well, I paid for 4 or 5 months of service that we never recieved but I just want them to go away. So I Paid,

    GUESS WHAT... we have been turned over to collection. for 53.26 more.
    They need to be put out of business.

    I make 31.00 dollars per hours I spent at least 20 hours dealing with these people I feel they own me 620.

    1 Votes
  • Ro
    Rodney Vicars Dec 08, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    A change in my monthly income was changed beyond my control. Because I am on Disability and retired, the dates that my income to be directly deposited was changed, which conflicted with the due date of my payment.
    I tried two months to get them to cooperate with me and they said there was nothing that they could do and I would have to change my telephone number.
    The discontinued my phone service while I was int he hospital which infuriated me because I tried to get them to help me with situation.

    All other creditors were more than happy to cooperate with me and changed the due date of payment.

    I am leaving ATT/

    Rodney Vicars

    1 Votes
  • 5s
    5snowball Nov 13, 2010

    Cant even tell you the nightmare I have been having, had U-Verse installed last week. The one thing I needed was 1 phone line that ran though a Jack that had NO features, ie call waiting, forwarding, etc. This is for my work from home job. Was ensured that the phone was VoiP but would run through a separate jack. Installers came and will installing the service, cut my Jack out of my wall. Told me I didn't need it. Of course, the second line had all the features and when I called customer service to get this disconnected, they had no clue how to do this. After 40 minutes on the phone and loss of hours at work, I finally spoke to someone about having a regular old landline installed for just this one line. Had the installer out in about 6 days, not bad, but unable to work. This guys shows up, but alas, forgot to bring his drill that day. I HAD TO LEND HIM MINE! So anyway he installs everything and it seems to be working okay, until the next morning when I have to work. NO Dial Tone. I call customer service and am told that everything is fine on their end and if they send someone out it will cost me $71.00 on top of the $50 I have to pay to install the stupid jack that they took out!! Called Comcast and they are on there way, but in the mean time I get an e bill from U-Verse and I guess they forgot to mention, that the first bill is for 2 months! Now they want an additional $268.00 from me. This company is a scam!!

    0 Votes
  • Cd
    cdbamford Sep 20, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have never been on the phone with AT&T for less than an hour. Here are my problems with AT&T living in Florida and in California. The same problems still exist, and I can't find the right better business bureau to report them to: 1.) DAVIS CALIFORNIA PROBLEMS: When I first signed up [protected] ), I had cell phone, internet & home phone on the same bill. That was a nightmare. If I called about one, they said I called the wrong AT&T & would give me another number to call. It was never clear which one to call for my problem. I would LITERALLY be on the phone for at least an hour each time I called. During that initial set up phase, I spent FOUR (literally FOUR) hours on the phone with tech support. They kept teling me that if they sent a tech guy out to my apt and it was a problem with m y computer and not with their line, they would charge me $100 for the visit. Each person they transferred me to woudl do the same exact troubleshooting steps and would insist that I do them before they helped me further. After four hours on the phone I had to wait for the tech support guy who was scheduled to show up within a 4 or 5 hour time window. When the tech support guy arrived, he told me that they had given me the wrong log in information.
    2.) STILL DAVIS CALIFORNIA, 2010: This past December (2009) I called to cancel my DSL because they wanted to charge me $100 for a new DSL modem, even though I had been a customer for 3 years. They convinced me to stay for a cheapr rate plus free modem, but I was incorrectly billed the $100 for the modem anyway! I called back 4 months in a row (Jan 2010, feb 2010, March 2010, april 2010) and each time the customer service agent assured me that it had been taken off my bill. Seriously? These calls were more in the 30-40 minute range, admittedly under the one hour or more that I am used to.
    3.) JACKSONVILLE, FLORIDA, Then I moved to Florida. Oh yay, I get to set up new service again. I got DSL only (no home phone, no cell phone) because comcast is 3 times the price of AT&T. I might just go that route now. For the first 2 weeks, the service was so slow (slower than dial up) that I could not use it. I called to cancel it and switch to comcast, and they convinced me that the speed I subscribed to should not be that slow, so I agreed to talk to tech support. TWO HOURS later I asked if he could call me back because I needed to get to the post office before it closed. He finally did call me back and wanted to trouble shot more. I said no and asked for the tech guy to come by instead. The guy came 2 days later and fixed the problem, so finally I have usable service. BUT that's not all. When I signed up they wanted to charge me for a modem. I said I didn't want the modem because I had an new AT&T modem. THe guy said that due to an error in teh system it would not let me sign up for this plan without purchasing the modem but that I could return it to them for a full refund. I did this but had to pay the $10 shipping at UPS to do so.
    4.) JACKSONVILLE, FLORIDA, I called back today to see why the charge for the modem was still on my account. [First of all the billing phone number is not on the bill, so last week I used the online form to send an email. No one replied, so I called back today.] That's when I spent over an hour on the phone. The first number I called had an annoying automated voice menu that finally sent me to "Internet billing." I was automatically transferred to a recording that said the office would be closed for labor day and "goodbye" it hung up on me. Then I tried the online chat. I went through the menus, selected DSL billing help, then chat. The guy on the chat line said he/she could not help me & I had to call billing. The billing number was a different toll free number, so I called it. After waiting online through a few more prompts, the lady who answered and took all my info said she couldn't help me and transferred me again. I went through another series of menues and finally got a "customer retention" person. This lady took all my info again, listened to my story AGAIN, told me I would be refunded for the modem but would NOT be refunded for the 2 weeks that the DSL didn't work because I had "usage" recorded on the account. This is when I was trying to use it but it didn't work. Keep in mind that this is a matter of a $10 refund, and I PAID another $10 for their mistake when I had to send the modem back through UPS. Then when she asked what I wanted besides the refund for hte modem, we were disconnected. She was audibly irritated with me (I swear I was trying to be patient and tried to be as nice as possible under the circumstances. . .I don't blame her, I blame AT&T). Either way I am pretty sure that she intentionally hung up on me. What can we do about this? In my experience the different billing departments keep passing the buck. Spending hours on the phone with customer service is ridiculous.

    0 Votes
  • Di
    Diygirl10 Sep 03, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I ordered Internet service from AT&T over a week ago. We waited and waited for our modem to come in the mail-we called customer service and found out they forgot to order the equipment-so I'm pretty annoyed at this point-they say they will expedite the order and we should get it Wednesday. So, Thursday rolls around and no modem-I call to verify that the order for the modem was indeed placed-guess what??? it wasn't! They forgot to place our order twice-I couldn't believe it. The only solution they gave me was to credit my account for the days we didn't actually use the internet-well DUH! that is not really doing anything for me! I told them I was very disappointed as a new customer and I really have no incentive to stay with AT&T if my experience has been this bad already. I asked them to credit our account for the modem-that's the least they could do! They told me they could not do this, I was so fed up I told them to just cancel my service.

    I've never experienced such bad customer service-it's like they don't even care if they have customers or not. Just so you know AT&T-there are plenty of other internet providers out there and I will definitely discourage all of my family and friends to go with AT&T. Unbelievable!

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jaadmom Aug 05, 2010

    I have never seen a company with worse customer service. I switched from my cable company to AT&T because they were offering internet service free for a year. This should have been a savings of $35 per month. I received my first bill which was for two months and there was a $70 charge for internet service. I called them on 6/1/10 and was told that it would be corrected in 2-3 billing cycles. While I thought it was ridiculous that it would take this long, I accepted it. The next bill I received still showed the $35 charge but since the rep said it would take 2-3 billing cycles I did not think too much of it. The next bill I had did give me the credit for internet for the current month but only credited my account for $34 for previous charges which should have been $105. I called customer service and the rep said that they were going to start giving me the free internet for the next 12 months but would not go back to when I first received the service. I explained that I did not want it from this point forward I wanted the amount credited to my account. When she said that would not happen I asked to speak to a supervisor and she said a supervisor could not help me. How does this make sense? I explained that I don't want to stay with them for the next 12 months so I would not get the full amount off. I am so frustrated. How can a company bill you for something that you were supposed to have for free and then tell you they won't give your money back. Every person I know who deals with this company has the same issues. I have no idea how they stay in business.

    0 Votes
  • Fl
    Flor1ida Jun 25, 2010

    I have been calling AT&T almost everday to get them to come and pick up the branches they left in my yard when they cut them last week to clear phone wires. I also called them today to reset my voice mail and they told me it would be reset by the time I get home from work. Well it wasn't. I have had phone trouble on and off since April 2010. They said they would give me a credit and I pulled up my bill and there was no credit. All they want to do is sell me on getting a cell phone through them. They can't seem to fix the problem so why would I want a cell phone through them. What happened to customer service. It used to be they would bend over backwards to keep your business. Not anymore. I am upset.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    Scam Breaker May 02, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have several complaints about AT&T service but the most riduculous issue is how stupid their customer representatives are. Long story but the jest is we had a credit on our account for over two months before in the middle of a billing cycle they processed everything. On a Friday we get a letter that said we had a past due amount of $60 and the following Monday they cut off our service. I could not even call them. With all of the other problems my family and I were having with them that Monday evening I switched to Verizon. According to them we were past due this $60 because their processing computor said it was past due even though are previous bill said we had a credit. Now after two years and three collection agencies I found a web site that basically tells people how to fight them, and fight them I will. I have sent them two certified letters and will follow the other steps in that web site. Eventually, I will be suing them as I am going to recover all of my expenses. I have all of the evidence needed, they will spend thousands of dollars trying to defend themselves even though they haven't a chance in hell. My attorney laughed when I showed him my evidence and said this was a "no brainer" and I didn't even need him.

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    nico stanculescu Jan 20, 2010

    order was due to be completed today. have been on the phone to report problem for more than 1 h 23 min and no agent picks up. i finally gave up. inadmissible!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.