The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Ashton Woods Homesbuilt poorly

J Review updated:

Ashton Woods Homes has misrepresented their product to us and other homeowners in the Thornhill subdivision in Orlando Florida since its inception one year ago. The company advertised the neighborhood as a high-end community featuring homes with a very high level of finish. After we bought our home we were informed that the home prices were going to be lowered and the finish level in all homes going forward would not be as nice as our home. The developer would not let us cancel our contract although they decided to change the look and feel of the entire community.


Our home took much longer to finish than we were told because the Ashton Woods design center kept dragging their feet when it came to picking out our options and getting us pricing. In fact, after we locked in our option pricing and signed off on it, they tried to raise the prices of some of our options because they made an error.


Once we moved in, our home had 50 punch list items. The builder has taken forever to get them fixed and has refused to fix the most important problem; our wood floors. The floors were installed as floating floors when we specifically requested the floors be glued down. Now that we are in the house, the floors move all over and have too much give to them. Ashton Woods says that they will not address this issue.


If anyone is thinking of working with Ashton Woods Homes I would strongly suggest they think twice. Ashton Woods Homes misrepresents their product from the beginning, they try to switch pricing on you after your contract has been signed and their construction quality is sub par at best.

Responses

  • Mj
    Mjwk Jul 12, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We bought a home last year from Ashton woods. Big mistake. Unbelievably unethical in their practices and use every shortcut possible to give you the absolute cheapest quality house at their overinflated prices. I call their business and operations a scam and will never buy with them again and will honestly tell everyone I know about the terrible experience we’ve had with them.

    1 Votes
  • Ra
    Ramky M Nov 09, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    prospective home buyers should be aware of how much care they need to exercise regarding any yard work from AW when buying home. AW will not inform you how they will finish the yard, no session during design studio visits on this topic and they do such a bad job and will simply hold you to contract. since yard is typically one of the last items that is finished a home buyer has not much time to react. every warranty request will be denied and home owner will be treated like pest. please make sure you completely review the yard design and understand what you are getting into. Don't trust them to look at things from owner perspective. They are not a luxury home builder by anystretch.

    1 Votes
  • Ca
    Cara Waits Oct 30, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am considering an Ashton Woods home in Texas. I have read these reviews as well as ones for other builders. What I find is the same type of reviews for all builders leading me to believe that there isn't a builder around that can build a solid house. I think we all know that the companies are trying to maximize their profits and build them as fast as they can. Like any purchase, whether it is a car, a service etc., there will be "lemons", especially when houses are built so rapidly. Has anyone had any experience with these builders in Texas and how do they compare in quality and upgrades with other builders, say like Lennar Homes?

    1 Votes
  • Mj
    Mjwk Jul 12, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Cara Waits I’ve worked with many other builders all around the country and have never had the kind of problems I’ve experienced with Ashton woods on all levels. Not even close. But especially the actual quality of what I’m paying for.

    0 Votes
  • Cr
    Craig Ranch Jun 25, 2017

    I am currently building an Ashton Woods home here in North Dallas (McKinney). The issues started the minute they leveled the lot and prepared for the foundation to be poured. I started to notice alcohol cans and bottles throughout the lot and trash being buried at various points. Once the foundation was poured I stopped by again and noticed over 48 beer cans on the lot, in the concrete, buried in the dirt and hidden in wood piles. Ashton Woods has done nothing but make excuses and more excuses for the workers actions. Further, the slab is not level and is in need of repairs as it was not done correctly the first time. The operations manager blamed this on the sub-contractors but would not provide any recourse for their actions. Apparently it's an anything goes environment.

    To make matters worse I visited the other homes under construction and noticed the same thing, alcohol is everywhere. Thinking that it was just this particular builder and development I visited another McKinney, TX development and the same issue was seen. The workers have a systemic problem with drinking on the job site. This company puts everyone involved at risk and does not enforce the law. Be very very cautious!

    1 Votes
  • Rc
    RCBravo Nov 10, 2017

    @Craig Ranch That is par for the course in the trades industry. Same thing was evident in a home I built by a local builder in NJ in 2007. If I were you I would not accept delivery of the home until the foundation is repaired. Contact a lawyer if you need to get your deposit back.

    0 Votes
  • Nov 08, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The following is my opinion. I have never dealt with a builder that has so little respect for the customer. They are not rational at all and only care about the dollar. They make things up to satisfy their arguments for their mistakes. The sales team is fine, it is just local upper management that I found unacceptable to say the least, condescending and disrespectful. I bought an Ashton Woods home in Texas and will remain anonymous as I want my warranty items fixed. Problems started during construction. There was one project manager for the entire neighborhood. I had to inspect my home every other day and let him know what the problems were. They are not even near custom! The quality of interior finish out is terrible and no one seems to care! I have so many warranty issues, I don't have the time to deal with. They claim to have energy efficient homes although their AC system doesn't even meet the city standard as energy efficient. I read the reviews on here before I bought the house. I thought they were limited to Florida and Georgia. LISTEN to the reviews. If I had to do it again, I would walk away, seriously. Ashton Woods quality is comparable to that of a KB home. The only positive thing I have to say is that they respond well to warranty issues but there are just so many. I am having to redo a lot of interior finish work. Sub contractors don't follow plans. If you still decide to buy, do not put any money down for upgrades. Use what upgrade money they give you for cabinets and counters. They charge so much for upgrades, you can have a contractor come in later for the same price or cheaper and actually install the material properly. My advice is to stay away!

    1 Votes
  • Mj
    Mjwk Jul 12, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Agree with this 100%. They use the absolute cheapest materials and contractors I’ve ever seen. Every other builder I’ve worked with had a certain quality standard, not Ashton woods.

    0 Votes
  • Ty
    Tym1 Oct 12, 2016

    Please think twice before building with Ashton Woods in Texas. They have wonderful sales staff, but the senior management could care less about the customer. Their products are sub-par. They hold themselves out to be more than they are. The are not semi-custom. They are straight production. Their design center staff are not trained and will have you picking selections for your bathroom that will not even work in wet areas. STAY AWAY! Save yourself money and time.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    JohnCClark Sep 06, 2016

    People,

    Production (aka Tract) builders generally provide code-minimum build quality. Cost doesn't matter because that is largely driven by lot size and location. A good indicator of build quality is whether or not the house is located in a gated community. Buyers think "safety" when they see gates. Builders like gated communities because it's considered "private" in the eyes of the county. This means a builder can make the streets narrower, the driveways shorter, and can build the homes closer to each other. This enables to builder to maximize the number of homes they can build in the community.

    If you want a better built house in the Southeastern US then stay away from production builders and instead build smaller.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    Beachbum87 Dec 27, 2015

    I almost bought an Ashton Woods home in Sarasota last year. The floor plan was perfect for me and lake lots were available at a fair premium. I have bought several new homes and know you need to add 10-20% to the base price to upgrade it nicely in addition to the lot premium.. There are only a few builders that offer "everything included", usually meaning every home in the neighborhood gets the same tile, granite, cabinets etc. and you don't get to choose a single color or upgrade. I always ask the builder for the printed upgrade list with fees, and then walk through to find out what are the standard features and then take a trip to the builders design center before signing on the dotted line. I want to know what the house will really cost, and which upgrades I should do upfront and what should wait until after I move in. I found AW's prices to be inline with other builders in the area. They were charging more for some items and less for others.

    I walked away from AW due to several factors. Reason #1 was location, although conveniently located to work, shopping and downtown ... the surroundings were not desirable ( older rundown surrounding neighborhoods, mystery vacant land and retail backing to some of the lots). I would have chosen one of interior lake lots, but had concerns about resale price. They were not offering any bargains to compensate. #2 the salesperson in the office. I didn't trust the guy at all. A simple direct question got a 15 minute response that never or partially answered the question I asked in the first place. I felt like I was dealing with a well dressed, well spoken, used car salesman. I visited a second Ashton Woods community in the Tampa area to look at a specific model, where I met another former used car salesman with a real estate licence . I almost overlooked my concerns listed in number #1 because I loved one of their floor plans and the thought of being 5 minutes from work, the mall, and 10-15 to downtown would have been worth the trade offs. However, the fact that the company needs to hire realtors with the personality of a former used car salesman says a lot about the builders business tactics.

    0 Votes
  • La
    LakeMary Dec 22, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We were supposed to buy an Ashton Woods home in Orlando in 2014. We put a $15K down-payment. We lived in Jacksonville at the time. When the employment offer my wife had changed and it was obvious that things would be delayed Ashton Woods did not hesitate to inform us that we had lost our deposit. After a lot of negotiations we were basically forced to buy into another Ashton Woods community because they had already sold our house. This new house we bought from them was full of issues, major and small. Because I am an engineer (and, I'll admit, I was pretty irritated by the way we were treated) I made sure I did not leave a stone "unturned" and discovered a zillion issues. They are not a quality builder, for sure. I discovered electrical wiring issues with the water heater, the alarm system and wall outlets. I had sewer gas into the house because of a cracked p-trap. When they attempted to fix this problem they flooded the first floor of the house. I had cracked tiles because of foundation issues. I consider shower doors not closing, crappy tile, paint, grout work as minor issues. Now that our house is out of the 1 year warranty they will not address the issues, even those that they had attempted to fix as recently as a couple of months ago and they obviously failed miserably. I definitely do not recommend them but if you must then check their homeowners associations that they start in their new developments because that is another can of worms. Good luck with your purchase!

    -1 Votes
  • Da
    Dallas area Nov 25, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I would NOT recommend Ashton Woods to anyone based on my personal experience. There were delays every single week and very poor communication. When I relayed my concerns I thought they acted very unprofessionally, especially when they told me "Just imagine how the guy down the street feels." (The "guy down the street" was even more behind than we were.)

    I dropped Ashton Woods and opted for a quality local builder, which is one of the best decisions I've ever made.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Michelle Heaps Nov 19, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We are building in Vistancia, Dripping Springs, TX. We signed our contract in February 2015, and only got cabinets this last week. We probably won't even close until January 2016. The whole process has been a nightmare. They drastically overcharge in the design center, and had to fight them to get them to re-evaluate some of their prices. They claim to do custom work, but everything you have them price out is at least 3x's what you would pay just going to a big box store to buy. We are doing a lot of the work ourselves after we close. As for the build process. Each stage has been horrible. The trades that they hire out do not follow the plans, and I have no idea what the project manager for Ashton Woods even does. Every single stage has had problems. They didn't put in our floor plug before pouring the foundation, the water pipes weren't even where walls were supposed to be. The plumbed our water softener a foot into our master closet instead of the wall between the closet and the garage. As for framing, they completely botched the area where our stairs go up to the gameroom. We had to fight and fight to get them to change what they had actually framed to what the contract showed needed to be done. Only after showing the project manager a photo of one of the other houses on the street did he actually believe us and take any effort to get the framing fixed. Electrical was a mess. They didn't put things where the plans showed, nor did they read the plans for special requests that we paid for, like dedicated outlets. We just got our cabinets, and discovered a wall was too short making the cabinet stick out past one of our architectural arches. The builder continued to fight with us saying that sometimes things are framed different than the plans. The cabinet doesn't fit. How is this not an issue??? The cabinet guys even installed some of the cabinets crooked. There is no quality control. We wish we would have never picked Ashton Woods. No one follows the plans, and the work is so sub par.

    0 Votes
  • Oct 01, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am looking to see if there will be any comments for Ashton Woods, Harris Branch, Austin. I love the model home and everything looks to be built high quality. After seeing these comments, I'm going to reconsider. One thing that has bothered me is the poor customer service. I realize this is a seller's market but I had to keep going back to get information from the salesperson as he was always busy. They really should have more than one person in the office. Also, they are only willing to give $7500 in upgrades, which may cover my cabinet upgrade only! They had no list of options which could easily raise the price 30-40K. Sounds like you sign a contract and then get hit with the upgrades. Buying a house a major investment and most people need someone there every step of the way. Very unprofessional, unlike when I bought my house from Centex. Centex wouldn't stop bothering me which I liked! Communication is key! I am glad I saw this complaint board! I think I am going to pass!

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    LordM Sep 30, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My wife, and I, purchased a home from Ashton Woods, in Woodstock Knoll GA . Just like Jack, and Diane, (19/29/2014) we are totally disgusted with the company. We tried to contact them numerous times. We've even tried the president of the company, still no response . They are pitiful, all of them . So if your buying, or thinking of buying, save yourself the grief, DON'T .

    0 Votes
  • Kk
    kk5 Sep 18, 2015

    I was told by a realtor to look into a community being built by Ashton Woods in Chandler AZ. I toured the model homes and fell in love with everything from the floor plan to the beautiful details throughout the home. The model was advertised for $450, 000. I was ready to move in until I started asking questions. I wanted to know how much money was invested to upgrade the model. I was told over 400, 000. Once I began asking specific questions about each upgrade, the home I would be able to afford would look nothing like the inside of the home I had looked at. Many of the upgrades were not even available to purchase, they were just added to make the home show perfectly. I felt so deceived. I understand having upgrades in a model, but showing a home almost one million dollars when I was looking for one as advertised for $450, 000 was like showing me a Mercedes then giving me a Ford Focus. That method of advertising alone said volumes about the values and ethics of the company and I choose not purchase anything from this company.

    0 Votes
  • Sr
    Sreelatha Kandavalli Sep 03, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We bought a home in AshtonWoods Provence in Cumming, GA. Our whole experience has been a disaster. I would suggest whoever is looking for a new home to find a better builder. AW has been selling more quantity and building less quality. They're handing incomplete homes, with poor quality and never care to finish the job or take care of quality issues. Their real attitude towards the home buyer comes out once the contract is signed. Please choose a better builder. Good luck - Sreelatha

    0 Votes
  • Df
    DFW1 Aug 17, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i am considering AW in the Dallas-Ft. Worth area in TX. Anyone had experience in this area?

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    nika_cece03 Aug 07, 2015

    My husband and I are considering purchasing an Ashton Woods home in San Antonio, TX. Does anyone have feedback on this local office?

    0 Votes
  • Co
    cobbcounty Jul 18, 2015

    Ashton Woods high pressure sales tactics, inflexibility on almost every issue, and average quality is a recipe for trouble in Atlanta.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    MamaB5 Jun 07, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We purchased in Laureate Park, Orlando and had similar issues with AW. Sales person eventually got fired because she lied to too many people. My husband wrote a letter to the President of AW and apparently we weren't the first. Our neighbors also said they were lied to by the same sales agent. I asked if dove-tailed cabinets and the quality in the model home cabinets were a standard item for them and she said yes. Not! They did eventually come back and fix our drawers but after much cage rattling. They also were telling us that the mosh pit between our yard and the neighbors was due to the heavy rains in summer but after telling them it also was that way in the dry winter months, they blamed it on our overwatering, which was untrue since our settings were appropriate. After a verbal sparring with their warranty guy, Chris, and my neighbor supporting me, they finally put in some French drains. But they did a crappy job so our awesome neighbors had it redone on their own, since they were so fed up with AW, and we haven't had issues since then. AW planted a palm tree right outside of our window so the view was of a tree trunk and they planted an oak tree right next to the house...have you seen a full grown oak tree?...it would have swallowed up the house!...after much fighting again, they finally agreed to move the trees. These are but a few of the issues that we ran into and after the three years, we finally have the house mostly the way it should be. But what a pain in the patooty to get it right. They really don't care about the customers! Be ready to babysit their subs when they do the warranty calls since AW won't do it. Otherwise, you will have to call them to fix it all over again. What a waste of time and resources...do it right the first time people!

    0 Votes
  • La
    LakeMary May 09, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We also bought an Ashton Woods Home in the Fountain Parke subdivision in Lake Mary, Florida. Prior to getting into this home we had a contract with them in a different subdivision. When our job prospects in the Orlando area changed through no fault of our own, Ashton Woods were very eager to keep our 15K deposit. When we finally got our employment situation straightened out Ashton Woods had sold our original subdivision out so we decided to pick an already built unit in the Fountain Parke division and forced them to transfer our deposit there. We moved in in October of 2014. The problems we faced were numerous(about 3 pages of a list) and in April of 2015 they were almost addressed. My impression of Ashton Woods? It is the average high volume builder who does not care but to turn out the numbers. For these numbers to work they underpay their subs who in turn underpay their workers who in turn do a very poor job. The people who are happy with their homes are either the ones who have the time to be on top of the building process on a daily basis and they understand all aspects of the process. The others who are happy are the clueless bunch who'll stay in their home for a couple of years and then move before the house starts falling apart. But these are the general observations from a homeowner who has built with Toll Brothers to Ashton Woods(I consider Ashton Woods an inferior builder to Toll Brothers). I find Ashton Woods to be very deceiving in their sales process as it has been explained by others in this forum. I also find them very arrogant and inflexible when addressing the issues they created. But the most alarming thing is that they apparently are so arrogant in dealing with their subs because of their power, that they really choke their subs into underpaying the poor workers. No other way to explain plumbing issues I discovered in these six months I've lived in my house. For example, we were getting sewer smell in the house. I suspected a p-trap was probably cracked and was afraid I might be having serious foundation problems. The plumber finally dag out a hole in the shower and when he felt the specific p-trap he told me that there was no problem with it and it was probably the toilet bowl near the p-trap that was draining the p-trap. He was ready to tear out the toilet bowl and everything in between. When I explained to him that physics did not support his theory in this specific instance and I insisted he cut the p-trap to closely inspect it he finally gave in and sure enough... Upon inspection I found that the p-trap was drilled from inside, probably during construction, probably by some unhappy worker and this tiny hole was draining the water and allowing sewer vapors in the house. Pardon the long text, but what was very concerning to me was the fact that when I asked the Ashton supervisor to explain how something like this can happen he just totally blew me off. Like I said, just make the numbers look good! The poor home owner has all the time, money and Home Depot is just around the corner, also counting on the homeowner to make their numbers! Lesson for all prospective homeowners? Get educated otherwise you are about to jump in a pool full of great whites! Your knowledge is the only weapon that will keep you swimming...

    0 Votes
  • Bd
    bd1026 May 03, 2015

    I bought an Ashton Woods Townhome in the Lake Mary/Heathrow area in 2012 and had water leaking into one of my light sockets after 16 months. When I called the site manager, he told me that he was because it was the exterior wall and took on the brunk of the sun and rain. When I asked if this meant that the exterior was only good for 16 months, he said it was normal wear and tear. I mentioned that the home has a 10 year structural warranty and he said the issue wasn't structural. If it isn't structural, what is it? Many others in our neighborhood are having other issues, some with the stucco bubbling off of the side of the home when the buildings were repainted. Apparently, Ashton Woods didn't screen their contractors well enough and ensure quality work. Our neighborhood is in the process of filing a class action suit.

    1 Votes
  • Bo
    boozepooper Apr 08, 2015

    I have an ashton woods home that is seven years old. I've had drainage issues, nail pops, etc. All typical for a new home. due to the grading and the loose soil settling causes the drainage to change it's natural. Nail pops occur no matter who the builder is, as the wood dries the nails get loose. I've had several things done to my home and the contractors all say how well an Ashton Woods home is constructed. People expect perfection and there is none, all in all my home has been a very comfortable and reliable place to live. I like the mechanical features of the homes that will save me money and hassles. Pex tubing, zoned AC system, reflective barrier on the roof, etc.

    0 Votes
  • ---------- Feb 19, 2015

    We brought new house from Ashton Woods at Fishhawk Preserve, FL and now regretting why we did so. Poor quality, bad customer care and business with no ethics. When we closed the house, we were exited to move the next day. But when we entered the house as soon as we got the keys, the house was full of bugs, dead frogs, broken front window, broken kitchen cabinets, incomplete painting, and apart from all the fire alarm was on. We called them but no one responded timely. We had to cancel the moving (at the cost of paying twice to movers, Paying one month rent for the previous house lease) Its been 5 months of moving still the issues are not dealt. They come and do the patch works, one room at a time. We had to take off from our job and wait for them to come and do so called their lousy work, very disappointed. They talk about the quality, then why they haven't had any sale of their houses so far, where in other builders like Cardel and David weekly are done with their sale. The other builders have provided good curb and nice palm trees. For us they have put 2 dried sticks, (will post the pictures soon). All I tell for the new home buyers to check with the other builders rather than burning your hands with Aston Woods. Here is a part of the story : As the house was getting constructed, there was different sales representative who showed us the basic designs. When we asked about the built in closet, she said : " Do not get it done with the builders, their charges are expensive. You get it done separately, she said the same even for some of the udates like light, painting etc." That it self raises the question about the integrity in the company. As the house was in the final stage we didnt had the mud room as seen in the model house, that time there was different representative at that location. When my husband emailed, the first representative answered him the mud room will cost extra 9000$. I asked for the same to be custom built from famous in built self, they said it will cost 500$. when I emailed asking about the same, the representative replied saying it costs 6000$ and he said, I came up with the number of 9000$. When I said it was first representative who told us, he is blaming us telling we didn't understand what they said, and he talked about the quality what they provide. So where is the quality of what you were talking now. At that point when two people telling different prices irked, and that time on it was not just money, it was all about integrity and ethics of the company. As I mentioned early there were so many bugs and the fire alarm was on, they had screwed up with all electric connections. As we had closed, they didn't bother to do any thing. We had to cancel our moving dates. During our final walk in itself, there were many things which were not done, and they didn't bother to complete it by the end of closing. (Disappointed with their business) Till now it is not done yet. We have already taken enough time off without pay just to stay home for them to do one thing at a time. I have all the pictures how the condition the house was at the time of closing. Please do some good business with ethics. Just have a look of other homes here to check out what the curb is all about. They have place 2 dried plam sticks and some plants which are not home plants but rather the ones seen on the road side. Please guys take away the so your palm tree and do plant at your model or inventrory home. The customer care is very bad doesn't want to keep up at what is said, thus no one is buying from Ashton Woods as Preserve. The only reason why I am posting is because of the attitude of the sales representative who said " our quality is better than others " the picture itself shows and the fact that no one purchased from Ashton Woods so far other than us. The basic ethics in any business is to tell why you are good but not tell why others are bad. Their inventory house is on sale since February and still on listening. From then to now they have changed the curb of the house twice and outer painting as well, still no one wants to buy. Till last month even the inventory house had the same curb as that of ours with two dry sticks, which they apparently changed as no one even wanted to see the house. If Ashton woods wants to do business here, be honest in providing good customer care.

    0 Votes
  • As
    AshwinPR Jan 08, 2015

    I am currently dealing with Ashton Woods nearing to my clos by this month end. We signed a contract with an option about $40090/- later we found that they made a mistake in the option list showing the price for dining room for $1660/- which was eventually converted as a study room with wood flooring for $1616/-. When we are asking for a compensation for $1660/- they are not willing to equally compensate and keep on arguing that we have negotiated a better price. Think hundred times before you walk into Ashton Woods office, model home or any sales person.

    1 Votes
  • Fe
    FEDUP OF BS Nov 17, 2014

    I bought a house in Ashton wood fieldstone in 2012. I have had two unsatisfactory incidents
    1. after 2 years i completed a routine AC check, then found that i had to do a leak test which then proceed to a recalled part having to be changed. i spent over 3000.00 dollars for all the repairs. I sent it in as a warranty complaint to ashton woods. no one has even responded. i spoke to the builder and he completly ignores me when i mention it.
    2. after 2 years a house was being newly built next door to me well that turned out to be a disaster to me. Due to the work being done, when rain fell water from my back yard had no where to run off. I repeatly called the sales office, put in warranty tickets and i am still awaiting something to be done after mths. Ashton woods wanted me to sign off on a ticket because they fixed drainage in the yard next door. the dirt has back up on my fence since the water has no where to do and has caused the entire side of my house to be water logged and even flooded with water. i refused to sign off on any ticket since my yard is still waterlogged. ashton woods even proceeded to blame my water logged yard on my sprinklers. Apart from damage to my yard, my fence will be damaged and who is going to take responsibility if my foundation is affected i am not at all satisfied with Ashton woods. Further more on their website there seems to be no place to contact anyone else for assistance

    -1 Votes
  • Ja
    Jack and Diane Oct 29, 2014

    My wife and I purchased an Ashton Woods home in Woodstock Knoll and have been disappointed from the beginning of construction on the lack of quality of the home, quality control, and poor follow up. We kept a laundry list of screw-ups they made, not to mention what our neighbors told us the things they messed up on theirs. At one point, I contacted Todd N. at the corporate office, who actually came out to check out a few of our complaints. He turned out to be just like the rest of them. This is our 3rd straight brand new home and, BY FAR, the WORST home. We absolutely love the community and subdivision, but would NEVER recommend this builder. Obviously, Ashton Woods must be paying someone off to be named "Most Trusted Builder". If anyone is considering an Ashton Woods home and wants an honest opinion, respond to this board and I'd be happy to provide my email address.

    1 Votes
  • Mm
    M.M.B.C. Sep 24, 2014

    Ashton Woods needs to be put OUT OF BUSINESS!!! I bought anew home about 10 years ago & after about 6 months (or less) I wished I never did. I moved from a 2br, 2b, 2 car gar., into a 3, 2, 2. After moving into the new house, I found I did not have the closet space I had in the old house. The closet doors open inward, the back door opens inward. I see nail holes in the ceiling, cracks in some of the tile in bath, leaky windows, paint peeling off the inside garage door, fire place has wind noise. The worse is the water heater is in the attic. That should have been a red flag. Within 5 yrs. It leaked thru to the bath rm. ceiling. Thank goodness I was sitting on the pot when it happened or my whole ceiling might have come down. Boards began to come loose from the fence. BUT, the real kicker of this whole thing is: I am the only 1 of 10 houses on a cul-de-sac that did not get a WIND STORM CERT. Could not get any answers from A.W., engineers, inspectors, (or even find some of them)-So now I am paying a very high price for Ins. By the way it is in the Center Pointe s/d in League City, Tx. M.M.B.C.

    0 Votes
  • Va
    Valerie Stephens Sep 21, 2014

    We bought an Ashton Woods home in Smyrna, GA. We had to have over $2, 000.00 work done on the small side yard due to poor drainage. Our yard was a swamp when ever it rained. Complaints were never resolved. Be prepared to fix your own issues with drainage b/c they blow you off with false promises.

    -1 Votes
  • Aw
    aw86 Aug 26, 2014

    Hi All!

    My husband and I are looking at purchasing a AWH in the Bradenton/Sarasota, FL area. Any feedback on the experience from this area would be greatly appreciated, thanks!!

    1 Votes
  • Ea
    EagerHomeBuyer May 22, 2014

    Thank you for the reviews. Ashton Woods will not even call me back regarding some inquiries I have about their houses so this is God telling me that I should not purchase anything from them but I do plan to file a complaint against their company with the BBB and their corporate office.

    2 Votes
  • Ne
    New Buyer May 19, 2014

    I am considering buying an Ashton Woods Homes in Chandler, AZ ( Avian Meadows Subdivision).
    Any information regarding this builder at this location is greatly appreciated.

    0 Votes
  • Va
    vansus Mar 22, 2014

    My husband and i are looking into buying our first home and contacted one of the online reps for more information on their communities. For what you get i think the prices are very high as compared to other builders. Don't let the flashy model design fool you' they are all upgrades and will cost you more. For $265K in Richmond Texas, you only get the standard black appliances baloney and everything else is extra cost to you. With the little information received from them, am running as far as my leg can carry me from this builders.

    1 Votes
  • 42
    42Children Dec 29, 2013

    We live in a community in Colleyville, Texas which was purchased by Ashton Woods. They have absolutely changed the entire feel and look of this once custom community. Our neighbors who have purchased Ashton Woods homes have had numerous issues structurally as well as aesthetically. They have no problem building the same floor plan again and again and will line a street with white brick home after white brick home. I would not recommend purchasing an Ashton Woods home! They are horrible to deal with and they continue to repeat the same structural mistakes home after home. All they care about is getting each lot sold, they ignore deed restrictions as well. Def. would stay clear of Ashton Woods homes!

    1 Votes
  • Tb
    Tb_bucs_fan76 Oct 30, 2013

    All - we are actually going to file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau around fale advertisements and their bait and switch tactics! This is extreemly unethical and bad buisness! We are also considering legal action. If we pull together as a group we can make a difference. Please contact me at [email protected] if you would like to join the Better Business Bureau complaint. Once I am don't with my legal team I will also share information about the potential case.

    2 Votes
  • Md
    Md rafi Aug 20, 2013

    We are home owners in Ashton woods copper creek subdivision in cumming Ga . We brought a inventory home in Dec 2012 during the buying process and even now they are advertising that this community would only have 85 homes . We always wanted a small community that would gated and safe for the family and look tirelessly to buy this home and start a family, we just recently discovered that ashtonwoods has acquired another 10 acres of land adjacent to our community and is extending the community by building another 22 homes, they would pave a road to this 10 acres of land and also have an opening without a gate on the other entrance to the community . Ashtonwoods has deceived and cheated every single home owner . They are all about money, we also have lots of issues with the home and the home owners warranty and customer service is the worst among all builders in the market . Please be aware before buying from them . We are launching a campaign against them and will most likely fight them in the court . They are all about money and don't really care about the home owners .

    1 Votes
  • Un
    Unfortunate AW Jul 19, 2013

    We currently have an Ashton Woods home in Windermere, FL. We are in year 3 of owning (original owners) and we now have a crack in the main floor tile that runs the legth of our home as well as leaky windows (now we have a moldy wall). I would not recommend this company to anyone and would tell anyone looking at them to steer clear! We have neighbors who also have similar problems as well as numerous other problems (all from shotty building). We will never buy an AW home again!

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    JamesCreek2 Jul 16, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    "We just Bought the house from Ashtonwoods in James Creek.. So far, our experience with them has been very good.. Specially the sales manager Roselle and design consultant Camilla..Our house is still in initial stage of building process. I would suggest everyone over here and my friends to consider Ashtonwoods to buy a house."

    I came to know that use "Finger jointed studs" with many joints for framing. Have you noticed? Are they good? Google lookup give mixed reviews about those studs. No other builder in Georgia using them. How is the quality of the house.

    1 Votes
  • Ho
    Homeowner #4 May 09, 2013

    I can't say that I was not warned...We also had a MAJOR issue with Ashton Woods ORLANDO and their reputation for false advertising and 'bait and switch'. They pulled us in by telling us that if we signed with them, they would rent our current home for 6-7 years - guaranteed income. We were approved and saved money for the deposit. We signed the contracts and then called the rental company and they said that Ashton Woods never contacted them for the paperwork and the guy that we were working with, of course, left the company!!! Ashton Woods dropped the ball big time and deliberately puts nothing in writing that they tell you - 2 mortgages is a lot to cover if we cannot guarantee that it can be rented. This was brought to the President of the company - Apparently, he doesn't want to honor the incentives of a previous rep or care if we walk away - but wants to keep our deposit, what?? We were told that everything was taken care of and approved - we didn't need to be involved any further. Because this incentive was not documented as being mentioned again by us at the contract phase (even though it was apparently not part of the main contract), they are declining it was ever said. We didn't think anything of it because it was through a 3rd party and we were told we were all set. We read this about them in the beginning, called them on it, and they said that they do not do business that way. Wrong!!! You are warned...We are trying to fight this but they want to keep our deposit...of course they do.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    JamesCreek Jan 31, 2013

    We just Bought the house from Ashtonwoods in James Creek.. So far, our experience with them has been very good.. Specially the sales manager Roselle and design consultant Camilla..Our house is still in initial stage of building process. I would suggest everyone over here and my friends to consider Ashtonwoods to buy a house.

    1 Votes
  • Fi
    First Time Buyer 2 Jan 07, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am considering buying an awh in Arlington, tx. Any info about local group?

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    Cathy K Dec 11, 2018

    @First Time Buyer 2 I purchased from Ashton Woods in Fort Worth, TX in 2012. Lots of small issues in the first couple of years in the house. Less than seven years in the house, major plumbing issue in the kitchen cabinet caused by a leaking drainpipe concealed in the wall behind the sink. The cabinet has to be rebuilt, lots of black mold has to be remediated, and the plumbing has to be fixed. Why? Ashton Woods used MDF in the kitchen cabinets and didn't prime it, which only made the problem worse. A seven-year old house shouldn't have plumbing issues to this extent, and the cabinets certainly should have been primed. Lots of shortcuts. My neighbors have also had plumbing issues and they closed a few weeks ahead of me. Who would have thought my blender would have a longer warranty than my Ashton Woods home?

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.