The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
AmikaFraud and lies

J Review updated:

Before christmas time I was at the mall with my mom and sister. A girl selling Amika hair straighteners approached me, and had me sit down to test her product. She went on this long speech about how Amika is such a great company, and you can return your straightener for absolutely ANY reason, 'even just to switch colors!' she told us it had a lifetime unconditional warranty.

Now I already OWN 3 different straighteners, none of which are that bad.. but I bought it anyway, only because of the great warranty offered. She Stapled over the part of the receipt where it said no refunds. And threw the warranty information in the very bottom of the box behind anything, basically so I wouldn't read it until i was already home.

Anyway, I had the straightener about a month, it was hot and i set it down on the counter and one of the ceramic plates broke. its a big piece of crap and not worth the money. DO NOT fall for the rep's lies. I read another report from Florida on this company, and the person did the same thing to them. Does amika train their rep's to LIE LIE LIE?

Responses

  • Ni
    nicole May 03, 2009

    SAME EXACT THING HAPPENED TO ME!!
    EXCEPT IT WAS WITH THIS COMPANY CALLED HERSTYLER.
    THEY ARE RUN BY THE SAME PEOPLE,
    SAME COMPANY, SAME PRODUCTS, AND ALL THEY
    DO IS SCAM! MY STRAIGHTENER'S PLATES BROKE BECAUSE
    IT FELL THREE FEET OFF THE GROUND ONTO A CARPET!
    SCAMMERS!

    1 Votes
  • Ti
    tiffany greekin Aug 11, 2009

    OMG that happened to me and my friends. but it was herstyler. they have about 10 at least diffrent names because when they r kicked out or people are coming back and complaining they shut down the stand for a week and srape the name off and put a new one. well i got one for christmas and the plates broke as i was using it! so we brought it back and after fighting and fighting they gave us a new one. so we had it for like a few months then we set it down on the night stand and it fell two feet from the ground and broke. now we call and complain and the people give us attitude. when i went to the mall to yell at them i chickened because it was people from the phone that had been mean and scary. but then as we walked by they looked into the bag and saw we had the hersyler and they asked us all these questions and reconized y voice but i denided it. it was scary. they are all scamers!!! go to like walmart or some other resonbile store. i hear he chi is good my friends have it! and it works great.

    1 Votes
  • Al
    ALICE623 Jan 22, 2010

    THE EXACT SAME THING HAPPENED TO ME TOO!!
    I JUST GOT THE AMIKA TODAY AND THE GUY THERE SAID THAT ORIGINAL PRICE WAS 200 BUCKS AND THAT HE CAN GIVE ME AN EMPLOYEE DISCOUNT CUZ THE ###IN MANAGER ISNT THERE
    HE SAID IT WOULD BE 119
    I SAID THAT ILL COME BACK LATER TO TELL HIMN IF I WANTED IT OR NOT
    I THEN WENT BACK AND HE SAID THAT HE WILL GIVE ME ANOTHER ###IN 20 DOLLARS OFFF
    HE ALSO SAID THAT I GET A FIVE YEAR WARRANTY FOR NOTHING
    I CANT BELIEVE THAT IBELIEVED HIM
    SO I BROUGHT IT WITH 105 WITH GST
    IM GOING TO GO BACK TOMORROW TO GET MY MONEY BACK NO MATTER WHAT
    EVEN THOUGH THE RECEIPT SAID NO REFUND LIKE WTF

    0 Votes
  • Gm
    gmosher Mar 05, 2010

    I have to tell you yesterday my dauther called me and she was at the mall with some friends and there father well, she and her'
    friends went through the guy fixing their hair with the curling iron and then she called me at work and wanted the iron so so so '
    bad she said it was $209.00 and he would bring it down to 1$109.00 then when i still said NO she called me and he would bring
    it down to $80.00 well, I still said NO<NO and then her sister called me and told me that all she wanted was this iron for her birthday and '
    nothing else. And, the guy will sell it to us for $50.00 well from 209.00 to 50.00 does that mean its only worth $50.00 or maybe nothing.
    well, we got it and i have printed some of these great coments and can't wait to show her and we will see how lone the iron last.
    And if it does break you have to pay $22.00 to shiping to get if fixed. Bull 5$%^^&*(&^$
    gail

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    HAILEY772 Mar 29, 2010

    ME TOO! I ALSO WEN TO THE MALL WITH MY MOMA ND MY SISTER BEFORE CHRISTMAS, MY SSTRIGHTENER JUST FELL 2 FEET ON CARPET AND THE PLATE BROKE !!! IM SO MAD ! AND THE GUY ALSO TOLD ME IT WAS ORIGINALLY 200$ AND WE WALKED AWAYAND HE SAID HED GIVE US FREE HAIR OIL AND 2 STRIGHTENERS FOR 165$! I'M SO MAD.I ONLY GOT TO USE IT FOR 4 MONTHS!!!

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    sandiego333 Jun 24, 2010

    ALL THOSE PEOPLE ARE FRAUDS, SAME STORY HERE WITH ME, BUT THATS FINE... THEY LOSE MORE IN THE LONG RUN, PEOPLE DO NOT BUY FROM BOOTHS LIKE THAT, PLEASE!!! THEY ARE FAKES AND THOSE STRAIGHTNERS ARE NOT WORTH A PENNY

    -1 Votes
  • 16
    163PLH Jul 25, 2010

    My boyfriend bought me the amika straighner for christmas in 09. so it has not even been a whole year. well the ladies there charged him 108 dollars with a lifetime warranty (which they said if ANYTHING happens to it bring it back). Well i moved to texas 3 weeks ago and he stayed in newyork. i was un packing, and the straighner was still in the box and in the cushions and it fell like 3 feet from the ground and the plate broke! i was sooo mad.. so finally last week I called the number on my reciept and a woman picked up and i told her my situation on what happen. she said i could go back to the same mall and exchange it, just bring it in the box and the receipt! (i had a slight attitude)Now i have to mail it to NY and he has to go back and exchange it. Now im hoping i have no problems actually exchanging it. CONSIDERING ive read so many reviews on what other ppl have been through with warranty. POINT IS it broke! it worked great but broke. And if they dont exchange it then its a piece of crap.


    Receipt said EXCHANGE ONLY NO REFUNDS

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    Trese Jul 25, 2010

    Chi is the best straightener but buyer beware there are some knock offs from China selling for $55. They usually sell for around $99. The fake was bought at chi.com, not a good idea, it doesn't work! Trust your hairdresser, they should steer you right.

    0 Votes
  • Ve
    very unhappy with product Dec 30, 2010

    Right before Christmas my sister and I were shopping at the mall. This lady from amika pulled us over and wanted to show us her product! This hair straightner seemed amazing. She made it seem so great! Well until about a week of using it! It has destroyed my hair! I am so upset! A whole lot of money spent for nothing!!! The really crappy thing is that is the front of my hair that is destroyed. It is fried!!! My hair smells like burnt hair all of the time no matter what I put in it!! The sad thing is the sales lady never told me that there was no refunds! She told me I could bring it back anytime for any reason!!!

    0 Votes
  • Li
    LilyLaw Jan 02, 2011

    Same happened to me; I was at the Vancouver PNE and I was desperate for a new straightener at the time, anyways i went into one of the markets where there was a huge booth full of professional hair stylists and it was designed like a hair studio, but for Amika, anyways a persistent lady had my mom and I fully convinced that even the slightest problem, and i can bring it back, no worries! Yeah, right.. Anyways 2 months into having the straightener it seemed to wear out, i used it almost everyday, but not for long, and always unplugged it. Recently i tripped over the cord and it fell on the ground, it was carpet and not a hard spill but the plate SHATTERED. I've been devastated because im only fricken 14 and can't afford another 140$ for a new one. I also realized that you cannot get a new one, the warranty doesn't cover EVERYTHING like the lady said. Cheaters.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Anne rice Jan 17, 2011

    Company is under numerous names. The product name is Amika. Receipt reads Corriollis Hair. They work from a booth.
    They are located in the Smithhaven mall Long Island NY. They sell straightening irons, curling irons and blow dryers. Do not buy anything from them..They are full of [censor] and so are their products! They don't last very long and then they won't refund you your $ at all. Now we have to take them to court. [censor]ing bunch of immigrants. Go back where u came from.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    tricia j Apr 26, 2011

    I went to layton mall in Utah and they said I could have a lifetime warranty on the Amika straightner if i had bought it so i did. Then after it stop heating up and not turning on i put it in the box and went to mall and tryed to exchanged it, and it was a different company then they have told me that they have lied to me about the life time warranty that they were just trying to sell there product and pretty much lie to sell there stuff.And now I'm stuck with it and had to buy a new straightner:(

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    lorilynn May 12, 2011

    my question is... after the plate broke were you able to exchange it? I have the reciept and the warranty information and am willing to send it in IF they send me a new one. I haven't had any problems with mine and I bought it 02/2010 but the plate broke a couple of months ago and is now pulling our hair and breaking it off when it gets caught in the broken plate.

    Has anyone been able to exchange it using the warranty? I haven't seen where it has any specific things that arn't covered?

    0 Votes
  • De
    della hogge May 12, 2011

    Wow! Both of my plates came off! It was a waist of my money! This company is a piece of ###.

    0 Votes
  • Si
    sienna9914 Jun 10, 2011

    My daughter and I went to Baybrook Mall in League City Texas and we bought the full meal deal of the mini straightener, the curler and the straightening iron. I was told that I have a lifetime warranty and if any thing breaks to call and ship and I would get a new product. All a bunch of B###t. The plates broke along the edges so I gathered it up and went to the same Kiosk in the mall and it was a different company, but also run by Israelies supposedly Israelies. Amika and its reps just vanished, but they told me to go to Sephora to exchange it...they said that if you buy a product out in the mall it is just a trial to make it to the big department stores. Also, the man tried to sell me another iron, buy one get one free. It is a scam!!! I have found no return address or number to call! Never buy outside a legitimate store! Amika is sold in Sephora and Sephora has a legitimate return policy otherwise ignore all the rest.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    makeupdiva13 Sep 01, 2011

    I bought my iron at a hair show for professionals only. Funny thing is, my receipt doesn't say Amika on it. It's one of those companies that have been mentioned previously from the posts above. My box has a warranty card in it. I'm going to call Amika direct and see what the deal is. Also, I can be a ten-a-shous ### if I feel I'm being wronged. IF they give me the run around I WILL go to the show operators and complain, file a complaint with the BBB sighting ALL of the above complaints, I will contact the Consumer Affairs division in my state (CA), the state which the show was held (NV), the state where the company has it's address (NY, I think), and last but not least I will contact the Attorney General regarding fraud of this company. If you all are really serious abou this, I suggest you do the same to get your money back and get crap companies out of the market. I will have to see what happens, hopefully it is taken care of and I won't have to go balls-to-the-wall against them, but it looks like from what I read above... :( BTW two things. 1. I saw Amika beinig sold on either QVC or HSN & 2. the people at the show were from Brazil (or so they said, but when I started to talk to them in Spanish, which is similar to Portugese, they didn't know what I was saying and just nodded their heads)... WTF? Why can't they get good ol' USA citizens to sell the product? Is it because most of us wouldn't rip off our fellow citizens??? Something to ponder.

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    lorraineshu Nov 12, 2011

    Ow wow, i just bought a curling iron from amika today, i was so happy. I paid 100 euros, but i think it is a fair price if the product is good. Now after reading all your comments i feel so depressed. I wanted to check the website for more info on their products, and ended up here aswell. The seller told me it was an Italian product, i only buy italian or japanese hairstylers, but i can not find that back anywhere on the site or in the box. Does anyone know where this product comes from?
    Also i can not find the colour on this item on their site, could it be a fake? I bought a "true tattoo" curling wand, red ed harvy style.
    I bought mine from a stand on the Schiphol airport in amsterdam. The company is called shaitzikcosmetics, and they gave me a free Herstyler brand spray.
    I don't care for a free hairspray, but after i see the name of that spray being named here several times i know we are talking about the same product and company.
    Anyways, i hope i wasn't ripped off, and that i can enjoy this product anyway.

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    VintageOrange Dec 09, 2011

    The same thing just happened to me. I have decided to take some assertive action to ensure this does not happen again. Tomorrow I will demand a refund. I will tell the sales rep that I would stand there sharing my experience with every customer that shows interest in their products, I will post my experience and links of other complaints on Facebook, file a complaint with BBB, and to ensure no one else is treated this way; I will call KGW (TV Station) with a consumer report. Sometimes being pissed is not enough; action must be taken. I was given the gimic of a ridicules discount, and the sales person withheld the fact there were no refunds. I found this out after the transaction as it's written only on the receipt. The person worked me like a stripper on a pole, I felt equally as dirty after I got home and realized what happened.

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    hairmonster Mar 22, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hi
    This is from a very happy customer from herstyler. I just want to share my experience that i have.
    I'm a customer of Herstyler already a few years and bought my first product in London on my vacation.
    I've been in the shoppingcentre and a nice guy asked me if I want to try a few products on my hair and I agreed.
    He showed me a herstyler straightner and later on the curler too and I was amazed. Nothing has ever worked that well on my hair.
    I used it a lot almost every day, and ond day when I used it, it fell on the floor and the plates cracked. I was pissed!! and sad at the same time.
    The next day I wrote to the company, what happend and I asked where I can exchange it since it is a international product.
    On the same day i had an email with the adress and phonenumber where to exchange it. i send it there and after 4 days i got my brand new straightner at home. and this straightner i already have about 2 years and it still works as the very first day!
    i can recommend Herstyler to everyone who wants a good straightner and good service!

    0 Votes
  • Am
    amikastoressuck Nov 26, 2012

    I am so mad at amika and their reps/the people that work for them.
    I really wanted to buy a straightener because I got my hair blow dried every month and I thought it would be better if I got a straightner because it would cost less money rather than paying every month. So, I went to the mall with my mom as she told me that she saw a Jose Eber store (a company that sells straightners, etc) and it actually turned out to be Amika, so we asked them if there was a Jose Eber store in the mall and she was like No No, Jose Eber is going to close and shut down in this city. And we actually believed them and were like okay, do you have any straightners? My hair is really long and thick so it takes a long-long time to straighten and its hard to. My mom said the price was TOO MUCH and she's like "we're giving you discount, its half the price!!" ... My mom loves sales and stuff so she's like "really?!?" And then she was like "I don't believe you" and the lady was like "yes maam, buy it!! Its better than any straightner ever!!" And we bought it like dumb idiots. The straightner was ### and THERES NO REFUND. The straightner doesn't even straighten properly and it cost a lot of money.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Dontbuyamika Dec 04, 2012

    I bought my straightener at the mall also. It broke the first time in less than a year. When I purchased it, they said it was a lifetime warranty. When I called because it broke, they informed me it was a limited one year warranty. I ended up buying the lifetime warranty and getting it replaced. That was such a hassle. They never sent me any warranty paperwork and I just assumed they would keep my information on file. The replacement broke a few months ago. I didn't even have the replacement a year. When I contacted them, they said they had no information on me. They needed my warranty paperwork or a copy of my bank statement. I asked them if they had any record of the previous replacement so that I could check my bank statement. Then, they told me that my warranty was processed on a specific date. When I questioned what that meant after I could not find anything on my bank statement around that date, they said they had no information on me. I called them out on it and they apologized. I considered buying a chi and forgetting this Amika crap but I went ahead and sent it back anyway. After they received it, they could not even figure out how to ship it to my address and asked for an alternative address. Since I had already gone through all the crap with them before, I was very frustrated at their continued incompetence. I told them I was pretty fed up with them. Of course, they took offense and blamed the whole situation on me. I told them that I was pretty fed up with them and thought that the products are shoddy and that their customer service was horrible. They then accused me of slander (I am an attorney and I can guarantee you that there was no slander). I asked them to refund me the money that I sent them for shipping and another purchase of a lifetime warranty. They then responded to me saying that they were manufacturers and that I needed to contact the retailer. This of course was completely indicative of their complete evasive communication. After I clarified what refund I was asking for, they refused to respond to me. They provide a phone number but they direct you to email them. It is much easier for them to hide behind email and refuse to have any direct customer contact. Spread the word...do not buy Amika straighteners. Wal-mart cheapos work better and you can at least return shoddy products to wal-mart.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    micheled Feb 08, 2013

    I've had my straightener for almost a year, and I loved until recently it just STOPPED TURNING ON! Wtf? Why make a cheap product so you can have a million bad reviews. Bad idea. This company isn't going to last long.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Charlotte Jones Davis Jun 29, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I order Amika hair spray and their hair oil on Memorial Day on line and I have not received my products yet. You can't even get on the web site Love Amika.com anymore. Oh yes they have my more but this isn't going down without a fight. Now the hair products I have used when I brought the flat iron from HSN is very good for my hair haven't really used the flat iron much, it's hard for me to hot iron my hair will someone please tell me how to start getting in touch with these people.

    0 Votes
  • Vm
    Vmrozik Nov 16, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I'm so mad and I'm still disputing this. She said it doesn't damage the hair and the left side that she demonstrated on the most shows the most damage. Whatever the put in the mall made it look so nice and a few hours later it dried out my hair and my scalp itched horribly. She even over taxed me on it. She said it doesn't cause a reaction and I should know what I'm allergic to. How can I know if I never put it in my hair before. And my hair is damaged horribly. I complained to the mall and they never even got back to me either. I filed to BBB and they said I have to take it to irs and office if attorney general.
    And when I sit and think about it more if something is so guaranteed to work they wouldn't say no refunds. All those infomercials say it's guaranteed to work or ur money back. It's no money back on this crap because they know it doesn't work.

    0 Votes
  • Am
    Amz4u2nv Dec 08, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The same thing happened to us, we were pulled in to an amika open counter at the westfield London mall.. They rep said that a full refund can be made if you decide that it is not for you... we got scammed, we went back within 3 days and were told to send an email to head office.. done that and they said we won't refund you the money... what lies... how can this company be allowed to sell at a westfield mall... it just brings the name down of westfield. I hope people find this complaint and be cautious when buying their products.. cause it seems that whatever the reps say is a complete lie.. and all they are after is their commission.

    0 Votes
  • Ko
    kogie Mar 02, 2014

    bought my amika about 3 years ago at westfield london i have been trying to contact amika for almost a year now and guess what they dont have any offices in london and they r no more in westfield i am now sitting with an amika that does not work and dont know who to contavt

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Doyle123 May 21, 2014

    I have to say I have had a very different experience with Amika. I bought my straighter from the stall at Schipol Airport Amsterdam 3 years ago. Christmas 2012 I also bought a curler before I flew home for the holidays. I dropped the straighter that Christmas on a tiled floor so was not surprised that it broke and when I came back to the Netherlands I went back to the counter and explained to them what happened. The girl changed the iron for me immediately no questions asked and the new one has worked great since and so has my curler. I use them all the time with no issues at all and have no doubt if something came up I could just go back to them with it.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    SassySal Aug 18, 2014

    As a hairstylist & traveling to many states. These "Flat Irons" are not worthless. Do some research. Many of my friends have them in their hair salon. The reason why they are fragile is because they are "CERAMIC" what part do you guys not understand?! Or would you rather have a coated CHI or Sally's flat irons that have METAL underneath the plates?! If so be my guest. Metal tends to fizz the hair whenever there's temperature change & cause you more split ends and dryness . Yes, you may feel weird buying from a booth, but the reason why is because you get a demo before you purchase it. Rather than going to Walmart, and getting upset that it doesn't work on your hair.

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    Hateamika Sep 30, 2014

    These people are scammers!! Stand your ground people!! And those of you in Westfield shepards bush are the lowest of the lows! Watch their reactions when you approach them, they get very sketchy! The man at Westfield said they are not amika anymore and haven't been for 2 years so when we asked why is it still on the sign he said they are changing it.. Was I born yesterday. Then when I said I bought mine less than 2 years ago he said they changed in March! The lies!! Don't fall for it! What good use is a hair straightener that's "ceramic" if it breaks! sassysal you sound like one of those dirt bags!

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    RaniSingh6 Nov 08, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I've had a really different experience with Amika and Aria.
    I bought the amika curling wand 25mm in Birmingham at the bullring in 2012, it's incredible and still works. The curls stay in for about three days, no product needed. I admit that i overpaid for it, in hidnsight when they were talking to me I should have checked on my phone to see what it was really retailing at. They also told me they would curl my hair for free whenever I would visit the bullring. As I don't live in Birmingham the lady said stratford westfield would do the same thing. Westfield didn't do the free hairstyling, when I complained I got a herstyler straightner for absolutely free (it's not very good).
    I recently bought the aria 13mm curler - it is incredible, no regrets.
    I also ordered the nume 3 in 1 titan wand - its not that great compared to amika.

    I'm really sorry some of you guys have had a bad experience.

    I do not work for any of the brands, just a normal girl who likes curling her hair.

    0 Votes
  • La
    Latina2myhart Feb 26, 2015

    I bought an Amika Flat Iron thru the show called Extra on TV from Style Minded and less then a month it died. I have been trying to reach out to them and no answer. I bought a PYT at the mall like 3-4 yrs ago and it still works. So much for good deals. Will never buy form then again..

    0 Votes
  • Jd
    JDavidson Sep 29, 2015

    I got my straightener from Amika in 2006. WIthin a week I dropped it and it cracked. I went back to the mall in which my mom bought it from, with the receipt in hand, they they gave me a whole new one FOR FREE, just like my mother was told. I am not sure if I got the actual company and the rest got an in between person, but I had no trouble. Now I am hesitant though to send it in, after 9 years of having it. It has always worked amazing, but if I set it down now, the light goes out and it won't heat up unless I set it down gently and don't let the turn on button jiggle.

    I have had mine for a very long time, but it has always seemed to work great, and I have very thick frizzy hair.

    0 Votes
  • Am
    Amy Ryder Davis Feb 16, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Actually all ceramic irons will break if you drop them, and really come on, nothing now days has a lifetime warranty, so if you buy that line then shame on you, but the amika titanium iron IS the best iron I have ever used, I have been a hairdresser for 20 years, I never thought I would like one more than a CHI but the titanium amika is better, there are several different kinds of amika so make sure you know I am talking about the titanium one. I have dropped ceramic CHI irons and have paid the $30 or so to have it replaced but it was my fault. Anyway Amika does make an excellent titanium iron!! I love mine!

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    Jackie Clinton Mingus Jan 06, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I bought an Amika straightener in 2010. This is the 2nd time I have had to get it exchanged. It was purchased from a mall in St. Louis Missouri and I got the lifetime warranty card. The first time is was exchanged was in 2013 due to one of the plates no longer heating and this 2nd time is because I dropped it on ceramic tiles. However, Amika has always exchanged my product without fail. They take a while, but hands down, it's worth it. Follow the return instructions and you will not be disappointed. This Amika straightener is better than any straightener me or my family and friends have ever used and it's worth every penny and return hassle there is.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    SandraL, Nov 05, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I bought the Antidote. Silk-wrapped styler. Only work three times and suddenly stop. I lost the receipt somewhere in my house, and I try to contact the store where I bought. They say no. Few days ago I was looking for something and I found the receipt. I contact the store again. the employee was so rude to me and don't want to change it, knowing that it has one year of warranty. I went to complaint online. It's worst. Because I have to pay $30 USD for the shipping.
    This company and their products are garbage and all the employees too.

    Comments

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions