American Mintscam!

1
C Review updated:

I filled out survey paid shipping and handling and never received bald eagle with mountains collectors knives and never received free watch.

Responses

  • Je
    jean levin Jun 14, 2008

    Did not receive $5 coins ordered May 26, 2008
    from American Mint from Advertisement sent to me.
    Do not have address or phone number to contact American Mint. Please anyone HELP!!!HElp!!!

    0 Votes
  • Na
    n/a n/a Feb 21, 2018

    @jean levin 877-807-6468 but scroll down and read former employee article first

    1 Votes
  • Je
    jean levin Jun 14, 2008

    have never received order for $5 coins what can I do to receive these or hear from this company why they haven't sent my coins.

    1 Votes
  • Je
    jean levin Jun 14, 2008

    Is there any way to contact the American Mint to what is ligitimate about them? I saw the letter about
    the person calling the American and they seemed to get nowhere. Is there any co or person or firm to contact to get any results? Hope somebody does something to stop this scam.. I think I learned a lesson, fortunately I did not give them my credit card number as I have no credit card.

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    William A. Reed Jun 19, 2008

    MY complaint;
    Is that I have instructed the company (American Mint ) to cancel

    my contract #012619671
    and they still send material and a statement wanting payment for something that I did not order..

    The phone # on the letter will not connect. They should pay the return shipping cost. or the material is mine...

    2 Votes
  • Je
    JERRY STACET Jan 29, 2009

    I order some coins back in nov of 2008 and still have not got them yet.I call them and they said that they ard still on back order.Does anyone know what I can do.

    0 Votes
  • Sd
    sdk1 May 19, 2009

    To all that have had problems with American Mint.I ordered one promotional coin and was to only pay $4.95 shipping.They sent another coin along with the one I ordered and are trying to charge me $69.95. After reading about American Mint being fined over $25, 000.00 and ordered to change thier practices, I informed them I would not pay for somthing that I did not order.I also reported them to the F.T.C. and the Pennsylvania Attorney General's Office. Google American Mint, You will see Freedom Tower and American Mint Coin Scams Halted. Read it, Then join me in reporting them to the above mentioned offices. Lets stop these Jerks! FYI-They are an German Co.-Not American
    Ken

    3 Votes
  • Cl
    cleanne1980 Jul 10, 2009

    I am an EX-employee of American Mint. First I will tell you that American Mint is legite, HOWEVER, they are very shady people, with their customers and their employees. I never understood their business in my two years of working there. They treat their customers poorly. Be aware that when you call the customer service line, you are put on a speaker phone (which you will not even notice) while all the other employees quietly laugh, roll their eyes, and make fun of you. Second, the supervisors there really do not care about the issues with your account when you are transferred to them. AND, if you leave a message for them, do not expect a return call. They have no intention of calling you back. They are too busy paying their bills online and surfing on the internet. As far as the coins and knives you do order, they are all crap. The company itself pays about $.05 for those cheap things and then charges you the $49.95-$79.95 to your account OR your credit card if it is on file. NEVER SEND THEM YOUR CREDIT CARD INFO!! You will only create financial problems, which they will then in turn report you to collections. And when you do return the items back to the company and you are owed a refund, be sure to call the company or they will keep your refund. After so many days, they are entitled to keep your refund! Can you believe that? Now, on to the reason of being sent more than one item...American Mint is a collectors company for those people who truely do collect coins, knives, and such. So when you see that "get this coin for only $4.95 shipping and handeling, " it sounds like a deal, right? WRONG! You are setting yourself up to collect their line of coins. So they send you the one you ordered, plus a second one to "preview." If you do not send the previewed item back within a few days, that is when you get charged that ridiculous amount of money, and again, if you do not pay it, they will without a doubt turn your account over to collections and ruin your credit score. I have seen this done time and time again. They take advantage of people, especially the elderly. Even when people are in the hospital, having health problems, or just living on disability, they DO NOT CARE. This is only a beginning of what American Mint does to its customers. I advise everyone to stay away from that company, and if you really do need to order items from there, just know your information!

    3 Votes
  • My
    MYoung123 Feb 11, 2010

    Contact information:

    write to:
    American Mint
    5020 Louise Drive (or PO Box 10)
    Mechanicsburg, PA 17055

    Call:
    Toll-free customer service #877-807-6468

    e-mail:
    [email protected]

    1 Votes
  • Ed
    edba Apr 10, 2011

    yes, they do send you the coins "for preview" and demand for the money for something you did not orderd even if you did notice
    them NOT to send anything ...

    1 Votes
  • Ha
    haney Jul 02, 2012

    I was sent two coins by aerican mint after I was told I just pay shipping charges of $4.95. As far as I knew that was it. I was also was sent a free vile of gold flakes. then I broke it open it was nothing but flakes of gold paper. Now they say I owe them $79 for the two coins. I told them I took the coins to get appraised and I was told they werent worth over $10 a piece. I emailed them and told them they will get nothing from me and they wont. They dont have my credit or debit card inforaton or anything. My advice is stay away from them.

    3 Votes
  • Ch
    charles macdonald Aug 14, 2012

    they sent me a collectors gun and paid the 29.95 then i was sent another one .i have tried to pay this with creditcard with their customer service reps but to no avail .im getting bills with late fees and harrassing letters . i have resorted to sending a check certified to get them to sign for it and hopefully cash the check. i am so frustrated . i dont know whatelse to do

    -1 Votes
  • Ms
    MS EMGREY Nov 26, 2012

    I NEVER GOT MY 4.95 COIN ! I HAVE BEEN BILLED 59.95 IWANT PAY. CUST#019412321. IHAVE CALLED NO ANSER FROM YALL.

    0 Votes
  • Ms
    MS EMGREY Nov 26, 2012

    I HAVE BEEN BILLED FOR COINS I DIDNOT RECIVED! ISENT 4.95 FOR A COIN AND DIDNT GET COIN.

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    Bob Navarro May 07, 2013

    I paid $4.95 and received a worthless coin which had been advertised as silver.

    0 Votes
  • To
    Tom3w Aug 22, 2013

    Thanks for info. Got the "$80 coin for just $5 s/h" but tip off was "signature required" regardless of payment method. So not only could ruin credit, but opportunity to forge id.

    0 Votes
  • Su
    supervlad666 Sep 17, 2013

    to all who complain about American Mint or any continuity marketing I have this to say.

    WHY NOT TRY READING THE OFFER BEFORE YOU RESPOND TO IT!!!???

    You are a bunch of ignorant dipspits. It clearly says in the offer that if you buy this coin for $4.95 you will be enrolled in the "at home preview service." That means you will get other coins. so YES YOU DID ORDER THEM DUMMY!

    How stupid and helpless are you idiots?

    -4 Votes
  • De
    Deborah Legrand-Wellman Jun 06, 2018

    @supervlad666 Unfortunately there are a lot of folks (especially the elderly) who didn't understand what they were signing up for.
    I'm trying to help someone right now who is getting bills for over $200.
    I will also be contacting the Attorney General's Office and the Better Business Bureau.

    0 Votes
  • Ap
    aprilrenee Oct 24, 2014

    My mother was charged $89.95 for something she never received. She is an elderly person who has been targeted by this company before. In addition to this complaint, I will be following up w/the Federal Authorities.

    0 Votes
  • Jj
    jjmcwill Jan 15, 2015

    Just because it's legal doesn't mean it is ethical or right. These people need to be shut down and possibly tarred and feathered.
    My partner at work is an elderly man with a kind and generous heart. Always willing to give what he has. Not long ago I was talking to him about the benefits of adding gold and silver bullion to his portfolio. Later on down the line he informed me that he had begun purchasing bullion from American mint. He is my friend so I decided to check and make sure he was not getting ripped off. I checked their website and was shocked at what I saw. Silver bullion being sold for hundreds of dollars. I quickly informed him that he was over paying and getting scammed. I asked him to bring in what he had and was horrified to discover that he was paying hundreds of dollars a month for stuff he didn't order and worse yet...It wasn't even silver. It was crap metal with shiny paint. These people are indeed preying on the elderly and it ###ing shameful. You see, he could not read the small print. He was not aware that he was entering an agreement of this sort. They know the elderly are more susceptible to this type of scam. He was heart broken when he realized he had been scammed and there is nothing he can do about it. He has worked hard the last 10 years to pay every debt he owed rather than file for bankruptcy. He put a block on his debit card so that these scammers could no longer steal his money and they will undoubtedly report him to the credit agencies. So the upshot is, a good man lost a lot of money on polished turds and will now have a blight on his credit. Something needs to be done about this.

    2 Votes
  • De
    Deborah Legrand-Wellman Jun 06, 2018

    @jjmcwill You can file complaints with the Better Business Bureau, and also with the Attorney General's Office

    0 Votes
  • Jb
    JB83 Feb 19, 2015

    I totally agree with what you have said here. My mother is now in a similar boat. She has received something she did not order from American Mint and upon calling them to tell them she did not order it, they told her to keep it for 90 days. I'm sure after the 90 days she will be billed yet again for the $80 dollars which shows on the invoice that was in the package. Now my father has to try and straighten this out. This is a deliberate act on the part of this so-called company. They deserve to have their business license pulled and made void!
    Places should not be allowed to auto-opt you in to programs/subscriptions unless you physically put a check mark in a box saying yes I want to do this.

    1 Votes
  • Ca
    CA Hellman Mar 23, 2015

    My mother did the same thing, she received two coins in her order, and thought they were for the $4.95 she paid and was very happy...until she showed them to me and I about had a cow. I looked at the paperwork and PROVED to her they were a scam, they were worthless, and she owed them almost $100 for the second coin that was sent to her w/o her permission, and I provided proof they were not actual GOLD like she was lead to believe. I explicitly told her at least 3 times in the past year NOT to order from places like this, but she is 85 and thought she had found a "gold mine", no pun intended.
    Now, I get to deal with closing out her subscription scam and hoping they don't sell her personal info, including the checking a/c and routing # she used for the original $4.95 purchase. You would think our government would do something to help the elderly instead of taking almost everything away from them as the current leaders are doing now.

    0 Votes
  • Gh
    GHartshorn Jul 01, 2015

    Im pissed, I guess im considered ELDERLY, Im in my mid 50's but anyway, I just got taken for 89.95. I authorized $4.95 to de taken from my debit card and they took the 89.95 because i didnt crossout the fine print on the order form at the bottom right hand corner. At first customer service said they would reimburse me because the order hadnt been sent out yet. Then after 20 minutes on hold the story was completely differant. They said the order was already sent out and by me not crossing out that paragraph, that meant that i paid the 89.95 for future coins in the collection. Wow, who pays for something that they have no idea what it is theyre paying for????All that paragraph says is if i wish to not be sent previews of future collections then crossout that paragraph and if I wish to keep getting previews then do nothing. How does that turn into paying 89.95 for the future coin in the collection. Bottom line, I only authorized 4.95 to be taken and they took 89.95 non refundable-BULLCRAP!!! Somehting needs to be done and im going to do my part guaranteed, Im a lawyer so we'll see who laughs last. G. Hartshorn

    1 Votes
  • Ch
    [email protected] Jul 03, 2015

    I have had nothing but good service from American Mint. I followed the instructions on the order card and mailed the required a mount and have always received the product ordered and the free items without complaint an am satisfied with their product. So it sounds like we have a lot of dummies expecting to get something for nothing. I agree with the above writer Supervlad666

    -9 Votes
  • Ir
    Irishman32 Jul 29, 2015

    Ordered a coin which cost me $79.00. Received it and noticed the case was cracked and the coin holder card was a mess. Sent them an email and they promised to send me a new coin holder and display case. Some 6 weeks later and nothing arrived. As I had already paid for the coin it appears that there's no rush in sending me the replacement part. Emailed them again yesterday and got another promise that it will be sent to me. After reading an article on line by an ex employee of American Mint I decided that I am not dealing with them anymore. I'm going to attaché that article for others to read. One final note which can help future customers, don't pay by credit card, pay by money order or check only. That way they cannot hit your credit card for items damaged or not received. Here's that article, enjoy.

    This is on the internet and from a ex American Mint employee!!!
    Wow, I never looked at American Mint on the internet while I worked there for several years. I know how many people we pissed off over the years. First, 90% of the coins they sell aren't worth anything at all. They are collectibles and only worth what somebody is willing to pay for them. American Mint is owned by a Germany Company HMK GmBH. Initially, most coins were ordered from a Germany Company Munz-Pragstatt GmBH Munchen (referred to as MPM). Although still not worth much, the collectible coins were of much better quality. As a coin line becomes more successful, we send the Germany coins to China to be copied! MPM has no idea we get coins from China or we send their coins to China to be copied. The China coins are crap. The quality is horrible as you can see real distinct color differences. But here is the bottom line, here is a typical American Mint promotion. This special whatever named coin for only $4.95 plus shipping.
    Okay, here is where the fun begins. Say the coin was a regular gold layered or silver-layered copper nickel bought by them from China. Usually, these coins will cost American Mint approximately $0.80-$1.50. They are charging $4.95 for the coin plus $4.95 shipping and handling. This would be a total of $9.90. They use FedEx Smartpost as their shipper and can ship anywhere in the US under a pound for about $1.74. Total cost to American Mint approximately $3. At $9.90, that is over a 300% profit. When a customer orders one of these promotional coins, they are entered into a subscription program. They can opt out of this but it is buried in the small print. In about three weeks, the customer will receive another collectible in the series of coins. This is where American Mint makes their money. These subscription coins are often sold at $79.95. Often, they are the same China coins bought by American Mint for $0.80-$1.50. Now that is quite a profit.
    They put Certificates of Authenticity with each coin. What a joke especially for real United States currency coins they sell. For years and years, they advertised and certified these coins as being in Extremely Fine condition. An example of this was a promotion they ran with the 1907 Indian Head Penny. The certificates stated they were in extremely fine condition. The coins were never graded. I probably verified several thousands of these coins in my time there. Based on the coin red book, most of these were good or very good condition. The difference in price for good-very good and extremely fine is about $8. In fact, they were selling this way for years until they got worried about False Advertising. So what they had me do is reinsert new certificates into the coins saying they were good or very good condition. No attempt was made to tell the customers they were misled. This occurred many times with Franklin Half Dollars, Peace Dollars, Morgan Dollars, and Indian Head Pennies. Probably, thousands and thousands of these coins went out in extremely fine condition.
    If you are buying real coins, you are probably better off going to a local coin dealer as American Mint marks up real currency as much as 50% of their cost. Beware of this company. I learned the hard way all about them. I'm currently drafting 51 letters to the Attorney General of each State and Washington DC to outline other business practices

    1 Votes
  • El
    Elmer Gales Oct 09, 2015

    iRECEOVED a GLDCOIN TODAYAND I hAD NOIDEA I WAS TORECEIVE A sECOND
    COINALOBNG WITH A INVOICE FOR 99.90 iWILLBE HAPPY tO RET U RN THE SECOND COIN PROVIDED YOUSEND ME ARETURN ADDRESSi I DO NOTPLAN TO PAY THE INVOICEAND WILLBE HAPPY TO RETURN IT TO YOU . I Didnotknow I would rececive one coin a month IF ioRDERED THE FREE ONES. please advISE ej gaLES @3916
    SHILOH RIDGE Edmond oklahoma

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Robinandjohn Dec 16, 2015

    My 82 year old Mom was also ripped off by these people. not only for one, but 5 of the 24k gold plated banknotes for 89.95 + shipping for me for Christmas presents. I called complained and told them these were not worth five dollars, and said they were a rip-off and was told they really look pretty by their Rep. It's sad how they tricked her into this worthless 100.00 Banknote coin that is selling on ebay right now for 2.50 w/free shipping. I agree with everyone else, These people are crooks and need to be shut down. These items are useless and cost my Mom more money than she can afford to spend. Thinking they were 4.95 when actually costing almost 100.00. each. HELP THE ELDERLY-DON'T RIP THEM OFF...

    1 Votes
  • Su
    Suni G. Cabrera Dec 24, 2015

    I sent my check on November 9th, 2015, and expected the knife in return. I have received nothing, and it is Christmas Day today. Is no way I can communicate with them further, they have no address.

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Sherry Jakey Jan 26, 2016

    I just received a notice from a collection agency that claims I owe American Mint $102.40. I am unfamiliar with American Mint and National Recovery Agency. At no time have I ever ordered or contacted either of these entities for anything whatsoever. I attempted to call the collection agency and was only encouraged to make a payment by phone. This was not acceptable. I am 77 years old and of sound mind and body. My next move is to contact my State Attorney General and the State Attorney General of Pennsylvania. If anyone there can be of further assistance, it would appreciate it.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    James Harvey Feb 06, 2016

    I ordered 1 silver Eagle for $19.95 + $4.95 shipping, and paid them $24.90 for it, on 23 October 2015. I sent the rest of the junk "coins" back because they were worthless, just plated pot metal.
    That was in October last year. Now, a full 3+ months later, hey send me a bill for $99.95 for the junk coins that I sent back to them.

    DO NOT DEAL WITH THEM ...THEY ARE LIARS AND RIP OFF ARTISTS

    1 Votes
  • Ch
    charles boomhower Feb 22, 2016

    ive also payed for a statue of liberty archival ed coin back at the first of year and still havent recieved it yet but get all kinds of other mail to buy other stuff

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shouldbeputoutof business Nov 04, 2016

    I am an EX-employee of American Mint. First I will tell you that American Mint is legite, HOWEVER, they are very shady people, with their customers and their employees. A company that has very shady people with their customers are NOT LEGITE. They are lying thieves who prey on the ignorance of people just to get rich. You talk about a company that is legal but shouldn't be allowed to do business, that is plan parenthood . This company is like a lot of companies who pay the government to look the other way, and done care about anything expect making money for themselves.

    3 Votes
  • Dm
    DMT123 Jan 03, 2017

    Why are these people not prosecuted or brought under some sort of investigation for their deceitful practices and scams against the elderly?? They did the same to my dad. And then they don't answer the phone, or answer for their misdeeds. Stay far, far away from this company!

    1 Votes
  • Ra
    Ranting Coed Feb 15, 2017

    They are definitely a shady company. They charged us $79.95 for coins we NEVER ORDERED and NEVER RECEIVED, then it took me nearly two months for customer service to respond to my emails. When they did and finally agreed to send us a post loss claim form, we returned the form and instead of giving us the full refund of $79.95 that they said they would, they only gave us back $9.90. So far they've not responded to my subsequent emails. I finally messaged them on facebook. If I have to call again, the person on the other end will not be happy. And if they don't refund us in full, my bank has already agreed to file a fraud claim against them.

    -1 Votes
  • Ja
    jaruizjr Mar 21, 2017

    SCAAAAAAAM! ordered the bald Eagle Knife. Beautiful Knife but it seemed second hand with cuts and Chips. Do not go for the scam. These guys are desperate. If you call customer service, it's like speaking to the wall. As a matter of fact, I recommend you speak to the wall if you want better results. I was looking so forward to it. Their loss, but above all, my stupidity to believing in this company.

    -1 Votes
  • Le
    Leon Tucker Mar 17, 2018

    Thankful I have not purchased from American mint . I was looking at there products & OMG . They are selling a 1oz silver Ben Franklin 100 bill for 195.00 . Gees you can purchase a 4oz duplicate bill for 79.00 . On top of that they have very confusing & misleading statements that one who don't know any better can get ripped off very easily . I was so mad that I wrote them a email & told them what I thought about it .I'm sure the employees just read it & laugh . A co. like this is what gives reputable dealers a black eye . Please, please no one buy any thing from here . I can not understand how some one can work @ this place with out being ashamed of there self . After looking @ there web site & writing them I felt like I needed a bath Leon Tucket / Kentucky

    -1 Votes
  • Da
    Dan Moriarty Aug 13, 2018

    Why would anyone buy Trump's speeches since they are free and on TV every night? This company should be shut down by PA in their lawsuit!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem