American Home Shield (AHS)unable to cancel the policy

1
R Review updated:

I've been with American Home Shield (AHS) for over two years for both of my houses. I'm selling one house, so I have to cancel the policy, which is a month to month policy. I have made several phone calls to request for cancellation of policy, but I either get the run around, placed on hold forever, or never received any phone call back. My last attempt is when I called AHS again and, upon connected through an agent, I informed her that I've called several times and as soon I as mentioned cancellation, I havel then be placed on hold again and no one will pick up the call... it's almost like talking to a puppet!
By the way, AHS will ask you to sign up with them using credit card, so they can easily access your money without your consent. I got real frustrated and called my Credt Card company (A/X), then A/X has stopped all payments and dispute the last payment as well. By them acting like jerks and cons, I initially was only cancelling one policy because I have to, but now I'm cancelling both policies because I wanted to. STAY AWAY FROM AMERICAN HOME SHIELD (AHS). THEY ARE CROOKS!

Responses

  • Zs
    Zsd Jun 21, 2010

    I have exactly the same experience with AHS and still am not successful in canceling my policy.

    6 Votes
  • Sh
    Shipmaster Jul 21, 2011

    I agree fully. I am trying now for 2 months to cancel my policy. I cannot get thru to anyone !! I have tried and tried wasted over 2 hours. Finally I have called Master Card to dispute charges. It is wasting hours of my time. They are very nasty people. DO NOT DEAL WITH THEM.

    They even sent me an automated e-mail that someone will contact me. But no one cares a damn.

    4 Votes
  • Pa
    PawanRB Aug 17, 2015

    Am having similar experience. Wonder why they are considered one of the best. I sold my house and still having to pay for the warranty every month.
    Who to complain?

    5 Votes
  • Ro
    Rod Coffee Apr 28, 2016

    i had heat pump failure this January, the outside unit became frozen solid. The contractor said that i needed to replace my furnace filter. This was so far from what I needed, however this is what I was told. To make a long story short the contractor and AHS gave me the runaround for two solid months before they finally made a successful repair. They ordered three different parts that took a total of seven weeks to secure. I told them that they could get parts from the other side of the world in less time. This issue was in the middle of winter and I think that they were trying to hold out in hope that I would just give up and contact someone else to complete the repair. I had been a loyal customer for 16 years. AHS stated that once a contractor starts a repair they cannot bring in a new one. Bottom line, their contracts are not worth the paper they are printed on. If you are thinking about using their service, don't, RUN LIKE HELL. You will be in line for the worst time of your life with this company. I wish that there was a class action lawsuit out there that I could join because I know that I am not the only one that has been ripped off by these thieves.

    4 Votes
  • Ac
    ACAIsux Aug 31, 2016

    AHS is like playing Russian roulette. Calls are never answered in less than 15 minutes, typically 30-45. Same for their service providers. AHS and the service providers play a shell game. We had SEVEN visits for a single A/C problem, never repaired. I finally hired another contractor who fixed in 30 minutes...I told them the problem, they came with the part, fixed on the spot. AHS requires repeated diagnosis for the same thing, provider sends a different tech each time who can rely on the diagnosis of another tech AT THE SAME COMPANY!

    Now I'm trying to cancel...good luck. On hold 50 minutes, I'm going the credit card route.

    Avoid AHS at all costs.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Dorin Takwa Oct 03, 2017

    Would not recommend this company to anyone. Cancelled my policy and they kept charging my card for over a year. When I found out and called them, they claimed that I never cancelled. They sent a contractor out to my house and he added free-on to the AC unit and it leaked and caused damages of over $1000 to my drywall. I was unable to resolve issue with this contractor, he would not return my calls and when I called AHS, they would not assist me in resolving the issue with the contractor and I then cancelled my services.I called American express to dispute the charges and AHS has a clause where only they can initiate a dispute. I have called multiple times and they said someone would get back to me, nobody has bothered to call back.

    3 Votes
  • Ha
    haidsz Oct 16, 2017

    I am having same problem, about 2 and half hour holding hold and call cuts of every hour and 10 min. it is clearly class action lawsuit where AHS would have to pay millions of dollars in settlement cost.

    1 Votes
  • Sh
    Sherri Brunelle Aug 29, 2018

    Send them a letter of cancellation with return receipt.

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    Frances Laughs Oct 08, 2018

    I called credit card to report fraud. Charges were taken off. A few months later, they charged my new card without me ever updating payment info! I called my card again and had a block put on them. Now I received a bill or past 3-4 months. Anyone been sent to collections from this company?

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    Frank Wolf May 28, 2019

    OMG Frances Laughs that happened to me!!! I changed my card info and somehow they got a hold of it???? I told my bank but they refuse to remove it saying that I authorize it. I told them I did not authorize that charge and now have to dispute it and go through the back and forth nonsense.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    Jordan Dunham Jun 01, 2019

    Has anyone been sent to collections by American Home Shield? I've made two attempts to cancel, then issued charge backs.

    Hoping to wash my hands of this and be done. If I am sent to collections, I am filing a claim against AHS under FCPA.

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem