The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Alside WindowFraud

G Review updated:

We have a new home with Alside windows installed by the builder. They leak so much cold air that we can't even sit by them because of the amount of cold air that infiltrates thru the window frame. We have frost and ice on the inside of our window frames almost all winter long. They will not return my email messages so we can set up a time for them to come out and look at the problem. We are getting very frustrated by their lack of cooperation. We feel since we are supposed to have a life time warranty that they should at least come out and see what the problem is.

Responses

  • No
    noside Sep 02, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am a contractor that sold 5 twin alside casement windows in 2001. These windows have leaked water for years and I constantly caulked and they still continued to leak water. I squirt tested the windows and the water came in under the window and that usually is not a window problem but a caulk problem. So we caulked more. It only leaked of course when there was a strong hard rain. I decided to tear out the drywall around the window and the squirt test the windows. The water was coming in the center of the twin casements; this is called the mull. I ordered the windows factory mulled so obviously I would consider this to be a factory problem. The homeowner wanted to file the complaint so I had the Alside factory rep come out to see the problem, take pictures, and get the warranty complaint going. The rep agreed the problem was the center mull. Leter came back to homeowner claim denied. No phone number, no address and no signiture on the leter. So I called and talked to an engineer. He said it sounded like a mull problem so he sent me a new center mull strip and told me to take out the old strip, recaulk, and install the new strip they sent. Gave the part to the window installer and he said no way he was going to be responsible for removing a factory installed part. Homeowner called the warranty department and they said claim denied, claim denied, claim denied.

    1 Votes
  • Ka
    Kansas woman Feb 04, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My husband bought new( slider)windows for 4 bedrooms in 2005. We have frost and ice on them most of the winter too. They told us we have to much humidity in our house and that is the problem. We have the same brand windows in the rest of the house and do not have a problem with frost or ice on any of those. Just the slider bedroom windows. We have ice even when the humidity level is 25% or less. It's winter, I like some moisture in my air so my skin doesn't itch! I got warranty claim form, which requires information from a sticker that is suppose to be on the windows in the upper right corner of the window. I have not found any such sticker. I was not here when the were installed, I assume of course this would be on the inside of the frame, NOT on the window it's self.
    If I could redo my choices for windows it would not be with Alside windows!
    The installers did a real sloppy job on the Kitchen window. I sent the off pictures showing the damage and Never got a response. We are lucky we didn't have tile back splash in the kitchen, they damaged the trim around the window and had to replace it, leaving gaps between the trim and the back splash. They damaged the wall and the paint above the window as well.
    My husband just got off the phone from company, they are sending someone out next week, and the salesman says we Never called him on the issue.

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    markz54 Jun 09, 2011

    Most people just do not understand how much water vapor accumulates in their house during winter.The water vapor comes from cooking, bathing,
    laundry, washing, cleaning, doing dishes and ourselves.
    During winter when the house is all closed up and when homeowners have added new siding, roofing and windows with all the added insulation, houses are more sealed up than ever. They are not as drafty as before all the improvements. Air flow is the key as is ventilation. Use exhaust fans, air out the house daily, open curtains so that air can flow around the windows, make use of a dehumidifier if possible.
    Windows are not air tight.The moisture in the house is drawn towards the outdoors. It shows up on your windows and you can see it however it is also on all your exterior surfaces.
    Reduce the humidity and ventilate your houses!

    -2 Votes
  • Ma
    markz54 Jun 09, 2011

    You have a computer. Use it to inform yourself about condensation.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    downalside Oct 10, 2011

    I am experiencing the same problems.
    Frost, wind howling around the sashes, latches not lined up, broken screens, bugs and debris crawl around screens.
    Match blew out next to window. It was by the sash. Humidity was not a problem. I did a test. Frost is evident of poor seals. Moisture/ condensation acceptable. NOT frost.
    Windows are noisy, cold air comes through the glass.
    Difficult to maintain.
    Service: There is none. Many scheduled appointments have been cancelled last minute with excuses.
    I am very unhappy.
    The aluminum wrap is of poor quality. It scratches easily and hold dirt.
    I have never experienced such woe as these hoes!

    -1 Votes
  • Do
    downalside Oct 10, 2011

    photos will be posted soon

    0 Votes
  • Un
    Unmary Jul 05, 2012

    Yea their suppoed Lifetime Warranty against product failure and window breakage is a scam! That is what they tell you when you are purchasing their products but when you have a claim for either/or they start spouting limited lifetime warranty and oh you have no window breakage coverage. And they are a very inferior product-they leak air, they lose their low-e constantly and the customer service is non-existant. Once they have your money-they could give a crap about being honest and standing behind their product-which translation--no repeat business-and I will make sure they will get no new business from anyone I know and I will post on social media(which will reach people I don't even know) not to ever deal with this company-they lie and don't stand behind their guarantees--at all.

    0 Votes
  • Cf
    cfwhitehead Jul 06, 2012

    Based on the number of complaints, the failure to get warranties handled properly (decline and appeal rates should be evaluated for the past few years), the fact that the lifetime warranty only included the first owner prior to 2008 (particularly in the light that first-time construction owners retain their homes for an average of five years), fraud and it's implication should be investigated. Is anyone aware of a class-action lawsuit against Alside or the involvement of the attorney general? This is a publicly traded company and should be held to higher standards. I think it's time to take these systemic issues to the next level. Can anyone give me some additonal info (i.e. Has a social website been established on Facebook to get more involvement?)

    1 Votes
  • Ad
    Adela C Jul 31, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @cfwhitehead I am suing them in court soon, porch door leakes water and insects under and on top

    1 Votes
  • Bo
    bobbad windows Oct 06, 2012

    had bad window glass replaced because the seal was bad. talked and sent the Warranty department the bill paperwork the wanted a cancled check that showed i was not lying. so the said they would send me a check but they never sent it.
    the siding i had replaced with hardy board

    1 Votes
  • Wi
    windowmaster Nov 05, 2012

    I am a contactor who has been replacing windows for 35 yrs. I have used many different windows either on my own jobs or for other contractors and I have to say that Alside windows no matter which model, are the best I have ever used. If I have any problems with their windows which is rare, I find their service to be the best of any of the companys I have used.On an average year I replace about 300 windows and everyone I work for loves their Alside windows. Maybe these people who are complaining would stop feelin drafts if they shut their windows all the way or didn't have them installed by someone who doesn't know what they're doing and saving a dime.

    -2 Votes
  • Va
    valal Dec 07, 2016

    @windowmaster Please let me know which type of Alside windows I should to order. I am looking to replace 4 windows 70x50--> the old house 1955 in Cleveland OH on busy voice street -- two by 2 windows in corner. How can make the connection in corner --> now 2 Larmco aluminum windows connected in corner by aluminum hole.

    1 Votes
  • Da
    Darrell1 Feb 10, 2017

    @valal do not put alside windows in house. you will not be happy. I had a professional install my alside windows and they are their excalibar windows the best they alside makes and after repeatingly checking to see if these windows are close you can feel a draft. believe me I wish I wasn't on this site. I paid a lot of money for these windows and i'm totally dissatisfied with them. check how many complaints they have.

    0 Votes
  • Ad
    Adela C Jul 31, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @windowmaster u must be joking .. THEY ARE A HOAX AND A SCAM..I HAVE A DOOR PORCH IS LEAKING WATER TOP AND BOTTOM AND INSECTS COME IN..I KEEP IT SEALED WITH TOWEL PAPER ..JUST BOUGHT THE HOUSE IN 2017 ..I M SUING BOTH THE ALSIDE AND HOME INSPECTOR! THEY REFUSE TO BELIVE AFTER I SENT VIDEO SHOWING THE LEAK AND THE GAP, AND NUMEROUS PICS

    1 Votes
  • Ad
    Adela C Jul 31, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Adela C NONE..STAY AWAY ..THEY ARE A SCAM

    1 Votes
  • Jp
    Jpaz Nov 06, 2012

    These guys from alside crack me up. They are posting here to make theirselves look good and make people think their windows are good. They are not top of the line and they buy them in bulk from a cheeply made window maker and sell them. I have had all kinds of problems with mine and they even came out and replaced them 3 times. Now they wont even send someone out because they cant fix their junk windows. I now have to replace the pins on the windows so they wont fall down and break the whole window. Alside has junk and they have every excuse in the book for their junk. Its not the humidity its the windows.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Cody Clark Apr 29, 2013

    I have had Alside windows for 4 years now. Sooner State Siding and Windows represented that these windows were the best on the market and have a lifetime warranty. Every window Installed which is an Alside window is sagging. The grids inside the window are un-even and everyone of them leak around the seals. We literally have to dust daily and my families allergies are awful.So far all i get is an excuse and awaiting a decision from their corporate office to send out a repair technician. It sounds like a class action lawsuit could be brought against Alside, which I am looking into today.

    -1 Votes
  • Lc
    L.Chappell Jun 27, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    If I knew about all these complaints I would never bought these windows. I'm so unhappy with these windows. I have had Alside windows for 8 years. This lifetime warranty is ###.It's bad communication when you can't get noone from the company to come out to look at the problem without telling you it will cost you $125.00. My windows are the wrong sizes they measure wrong and had to reorder.Now they leak and have condensation between the double window. I will report them to the BBB.

    0 Votes
  • No
    notagoodidea Jan 24, 2014

    I believe the response about the leaky windows. I have been working with Alside to resolve the issue for 3 years. They aren't very helpful to resolve the issue it is always not a manufacture defect or condensation. I believe these windows have a problem with leakage and they won't won up to it. I hope no one will have to go thru the heart ache that I have encountered.. Hoping in my old age that this would solve the leaky windows. The old windows functioned a lot better than the new ones. I am sure sorry to have purchased this product.

    0 Votes
  • 69
    6900 gone Mar 05, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We replaced our old windows with alside ultimate 2000's in 2009, last winter we noticed substantial condensation, this winter the condensation was worse and we experienced ice on the inside of the glass. A rep from the manufacturer is supposed to come look, we'll see.

    1 Votes
  • Mo
    Mo Sadr Oct 13, 2014

    We replaced 35 windows with Alside windows in 2004, the first winter we noticed our home was colder than other years, we thought it should have been the other way around. We noticed by second year a good ten percent of the windows started building spots like asterisk on the glass and spreading quickly within a few month. The first couple time they came in and replaced the bad windows but the third time when I called to have them to coming to replace a bunch more of bad windows I was told that I have to get some one to replace the windows and they wont do it any more. I did so. By sixth year 40 percents of the windows have been replaced. In 2014 I have another 12 damaged windows that need to be replaced the funny thing is some of these windows that are bad they have been replaced once, this shows how bad this company is managed. They don't give a damn about customers, I don't think they have any clue what manufacturing quality, service is. I have noticed many complains and bad review about this company but no action from us, the consumers, let sue the company so they won't keep on doing to us and the new customers. Please any advise how to get this process going.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Mistermike S. Nov 08, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My personal experience with Alside...

    Alside casement windows are pure and simple JUNK... All 6 original installed windows had manufacturing defects from day one. All 6 casements were replaced under warranty. The replacement casement windows were NO better. The problem is air leakage due to poor sealing gaskets. Alside manufacturing stated "it meets our manufacturing standards" What a joke... Do not purchase Alside casement windows under any circumstances. They produce a sub-standard product.

    The top of their line casement windows are actually the bottom of the barrel. Remember, you get what you pay for... Cheap quality vinyl...

    If I could afford it, I would have these garbage Alside windows removed, pour a gallon of gasoline on them, light them up, and record a you-tube video.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    robbed44 Mar 03, 2015

    I had all the windows in my home replaced in 2001 . I now have two windows with bad seals I called their representative I purchased the windows from. They told me the seals had failed. I located the numbers and sizes as requested they order the replacements. When they came in I was told there would be a charge of $155.00 and further if they delivered and installed them it would cost another $149.00. I was told it was past ten years that is why there was a charge. My original documents make no mention of 10 years it says limited lifetime warranty. Because I did nothing to cause the failure I fell they should be replaced free like the salesman said at the time of purchase. Once again in I don't see how you can call it lifetime warranty. I would never purchase any alside product again. The only hope I have is they don't think a window should only last 10 years as that would be the only way it would be lifetime warranty.

    0 Votes
  • Te
    ten year fog Jan 19, 2017

    @robbed44 For the first 10 years I had two windows replaced at no charge and I picked them up at a local Alside dealer and installed them myself. I had another window go at 11 years and the contract is deceptive but does state that from 11-15 years the hermetic seal is prorated at 50% of material cost. This is listed under the transferable section where they use weasel tactic of including hermetic seal failure with transfer of ownership. The vinyl and locking mechanisms are warranted for life for the original purchaser against material defect. If you submit an online claim [ https://associatedmaterials.force.com ] all documents (proof of purchase, proof of residency [utility bill etc.], and picture of defect has to be less that 2 mB per item. I was told that it takes 30 days to process a claim but you can expedite this by calling [protected] after a week or so. Thanks for listing the price it will be interesting to see what they try to charge me as the cost is supposed to be only material cost. I will list the price they are charging me when I find out for a Excalibur grade 31 3/4 x 61 1/4 double hung lower window. I guess the takeaway message here is that Alside knows the seals will not reliably last over 10 years.

    0 Votes
  • Ad
    Adela C Jul 31, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @ten year fog YOU K=JOKING ..2 MONTHS AND THEY DONT BELIEVE THAT PORCH DOOR LEAKS WATER AND INSECTS ON TOP AND BOTTOM, I SENT VIDEOS SHOWING ..I M SUING THEM IN SMALL THINGS COURT AND FILED BBB..THEY ARE A HOAX

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    windowking Mar 05, 2015

    I can tell you all we are a 64 year old window specialty company, and with 64 years and 4 generations of professional industry knowledge both in sales and installation, I can tell you Alside is the best window to deal with. the only time you will ever have an issue with an alside window is if it is installed incorrectly. Yes this happens all the time. the first mistakes is allowing a carpenter to install a window they are not trained i know they all think they are, I am not argue all you, this is coming from 64 years of experience. so please stop. secondly new homes built with builder grade windows and that is exactly what they are, they are designed to look pretty until the builder gets paid. these windows are not built to preform nor were the meant to. Stop blaming alside for bad windows, the builder stiffed you not alside and carpenters, please stop trying to play window installer and step back and allow a full time window crew to do the job. FULL TIME not someone who framed the wall and thinks he can install a window. remember 64 years of experience, I know this will upset alot of carpenters and guys who think they are installers, but the fact is I am tired of seeing negative comments about alside windows, when in the last 20 years we have not had a single complaint. not one.

    -1 Votes
  • Te
    ten year fog Jan 19, 2017

    @windowking I can see your point as far as leaks around the window but not for hermetic seal failure which has nothing to do with installation. I have a hard time believing after reading the above posts and my own experience (see above response) that you have not had a seal failure in 20 years.

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    WindowDoc Jun 10, 2015

    As I read through these complaints, I can't help but wonder if many of the problems are indicative of installer incompetence. You can have the best windows in the world, but if you have a subcontractor who has no clue what he's doing, you will have disastrous results.

    Also, Alside makes all grades of windows, from D to AAA. I would bet dollars to doughnuts that some folks bought lower grade windows to replace older ones in their homes. But the lower grade windows are supposed to be used for new construction, not for permanent replacement.

    Think of it this way. Firestone makes all types of tires, such as the "Affinity Touring, " the "Precision Sport, " and the "Firehawk GT." So, if you have a lousy mechanic, or if you are driving on tires not suited for your vehicle, you can complain about the tires or the manufacturer. But your complaints are misdirected.

    I'm not saying that this is the case across the board. Every company is going to have problems, make mistakes, etc. My point is that some of the negative comments inappropriately demonize the company when blame lies elsewhere.

    0 Votes
  • Le
    Leaking in Chester County PA Jun 13, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    In 2010 we had 36 casement windows installed from singles to 4 pane with work finished in October of that year. In the spring we opened the windows for fresh air and left them open. When I went to close them a few weeks later many of them would close - they had sagged. I had to use a crowbar to push them up to get them back in the frame. Calling & writing Alside got their Expert Technician Joe out and he didn't see a problem. More phone calls, BBB complaints, etc. got Alside to replace 3 casements using their own contractor because they said it was an installation issue caused by our contractor. Only 3 months later the 3 casements they installed did the exact same thing all of our other casements did. Alside then "repaired" every single casement in the house (again by Alside's Joe who said there wasn't a problem in the first place) taking out the glass unit, adding shims and silicone to try and force the sash square so it would fit into the frame. Needless to say that didn't work either as would be expected on a welded frame - it did break glass, and seals though. Alside continues to say they just have a few repairs to make, one of which is to replace the cracked glass but meanwhile I have had to put plastic and tape on all the windows in the house because they leak air and in some cases water so bad that we couldn't live in the house if I didn't. We ended up filing suit against Alside which is going on 3 years now all without any resolution - Alside does get an A+ for stall tactics. I too sorely wish a class action lawsuit would be established because it is unbelievable how a company can operate against consumers in such a high-handed way without being held accountable.

    0 Votes
  • La
    Larry_Fine Aug 18, 2015

    I agree with most of the comments out here regarding Alside windows and doors. Of course, you have to remember, Alside has a dealer network that only sells to independent contractors. They do have employees that install the windows and doors. You hire a contractor who purchases the windows and/or doors from Alside and is responsible for the installation. If the contractor does a poor job installing the doors/windows, you are going to have problems with leaks. With that said, I have some issues with their windows. First, my wife and I installed 10 new windows and a front door 4 years ago. Every window we received was missing the locks that hold the screens in. After several attempts to get new clips/locks for the screens, we gave up. The dealer just gave us the run-around. Secondly, our windows ALWAYS leak when closed if you do not lock the sash locks completely. The vinyl frames of the windows are very poor quality and allow the windows to flex a lot. My brother is a licensed contractor and the installer of these windows and now refuses to use Alside products for any of his jobs.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    TinaD Nov 22, 2016

    Everybody who has had issues or is still having issues with these awful Alside windows please do THREE things. 1. File with your local Attorney General's Office, Consumer Protection Division. 2. Contact you local news media to alert them and 3. Report it to the BBB. Yes I realize they pay the BBB to keep a good rating but once they have hundreds of complaints to the AGs office, the media and the BBB, they should be affected where it hurts. The bottom line and the pocket book. It makes me ill that this company is being recognized and awarded with anything when they make a really crappy product. I guess if you put them in and move out of your office in a few years you won't have to worry abou the warranty... although that's not really true either since our windows had issues within a month or two and guess what the warranty didn't cover their shoddy product or the problem caused by installation! Now we have windows FULL OF MOLD that they continue to put off replacing. So, I'm going to the media, AG and BBB and please everyone do the same.

    1 Votes
  • Da
    Darrell1 Feb 10, 2017

    @TinaD purchased Alside windows as well. Worst purchased I have ever made. I'm having the same problems like most people on this site. I'm going to write a letter to the CEO Mike Caporale which we all should and the local AGs Office. Wish we could get the news media involved.

    0 Votes
  • Te
    ten year fog2 Jan 19, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    For some reason my reply to robbed44 was removed. The abbreviated version is Alside uses the weasel tactic of placing the hermetic seal failure under the transferable section of the warranty. These windows are only guaranteed for 10 years against seal failure at full replacement. Alside obviously knows that this the useful lifespan of their product. The only benefit of a double glass window is if you can maintain a seal between the glass, not to mention the cosmetic concern of having discoloration in the window. A seal failure after 10 years has absolutely nothing to do with installation is purely manufacturing and quality of the window!

    0 Votes
  • Te
    ten year fog2 Jan 19, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @ten year fog2 I have the Excalibur window, I have had 2 windows replaced within 10 years at full coverage. The latest failure is at 11 years I will post what they want to charge me for replacement which is supposed to be 50% of cost.

    0 Votes
  • Al
    Al Faux Feb 11, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @ten year fog2 They sent me an e-mail with a form to send a check, cash or use a credit card. The cost of a 30"x 28" bottom sash was $58.29. Sounds like you are having the exact same experience I am having.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    TinaD Sep 17, 2017

    FYI, We had our warranty claim resolved by APEX (our contractor) NOT Alside. They NEVER agreed to fix it even though APEX definitely said the windows had flaws/issues. It's Alside's warranty company that is the issue. Just go back to your installer and work it that way. APEX was AWESOME!

    1 Votes
  • Ma
    Mad/Bad Feb 06, 2018

    Alside window are the worst window... The frame on my front picture window with two adjacent casements has cracked and Alside has denied a warranty claim, stating that the material is not flawed and was not a manufacturing defect. what the hell is a warranty good for if they don't stand by there product. If this is not a material flaw, why did it crack? Stay away from Alside windows...

    1 Votes
  • Ra
    rackpoint10 Jun 18, 2018

    Our Alside windows have had broken seals, the posts keeping them in their tracks have broken off, the tracks themselves have broken and the cheap plastic lock sliders regularly break. I am going to contact them today for new posts for the sashes and lock sliders and we'll see where that gets me.

    1 Votes
  • Cs
    Csmretkav Jun 03, 2019

    Alside windows are garbage and defective - the company does not stand by their materials and have warranties that are ridiculous and only protect their interests - not the buyer. Buyer Beware! We are second home owner in a home that is 11 years old. The warranty for the casement was 20 years...except it is only good for the original home owner who sold the home after 6 years. A number of homes in our division have the same issue. Some are covered as they are the original owner, two of us are not. Seems like a shady way to get away with installing defective products.

    Comments

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.