Alamo Rent A Car company logo
Alamo Rent A Car
reviews & complaints
Alamo Rent A Car
reviews & complaints

Learn how the rating is calculated

330 complaints
246 resolved 84 unresolved

This account has been claimed by Alamo Rent A Car customer service / representatives through our verification process.

ADVERTISIMENT

Alamo Rent A Car reviews & complaints 241 - 280

Alamo Rent A Car complaints 330

Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Alamo Rent A Car - defect gps

We had a car from the 14 to the 24th of May. The car was fine, but the GPS was not. First the speak didn't work, so we had no guidance other than to look at it, and driving the roads in LA and looking at GPS was not easy. Secondly it suddenly stopped and we could not get it alive again from the car charger, so we were totally lost without a map and didn't know where to go and to get back to our hotel.
When we returned the car, we told the serviceman, and he said we would get the money back and they would return it to my credit card, we haven't seen a dime.

I
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Alamo Rent A Car - car rental

I made a reservation on Alamo.com for a full size automatic Nissan Sentra or similar at the Santo Domingo airport for Sunday April 19th, 2018. (Please see reservation below) When I arrived at the...

Read full review
S
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Alamo Rent A Car - request refund, company refused to rent vehicle

Hello: On May 22, 2018 at approximately 3:00 pm, I had arrived at the Alamo located at the Detroit Mi. Airport, refer to Confirmation # 1838392591COUNC. Unfortunately I had lost my current California Drivers License; I did have an old California Drivers License with my photo and Drivers License Number, however it was obviously expired. The front desk clerk referred me to her manager, he instructed me to call the California Department of Motor Vehicles, explain the situation to them and request a copy of my current license. Approximately 2 hours later, I returned to the counter with the requested document The manager that I had talked to earlier had gone home, so I was referred to another manager. The 2nd manager looked over the new document, along with my Drivers License. The manager told me that in addition I would need to provide Alamo with a copy of my Driving Record. I explained to the manager that I was not told that this newly requested document would be necessary, had I been told, I would have asked for it as well. I explained that it took me over 2 hours just to get proof of my license and that the California Department of Motor Vehicles would be closed, therefore making it impossible for me to get the document. The manager told me that there was nothing he could do for me and that Alamo would not be able to rent me a car. I was told that my reservation would be cancelled and that it would take a few days for the refund to post to my account. I remained in the Alamo office till 10;30 pm while I waited for my ride to arrive.

Due to Monday being a Holiday, I waited till 5/29/2018 to see if my refund had posted, it was then that I learned that the refund had not been processed. I called Expedia, the company that I reserved the car through. Itinerary # [protected]. Expedia told me that Alamo had refused to refund me the money because the reservation hadn't been cancelled.

Alamo told me that they could not rent to me, therefore the reservation should have been cancelled, especially since I was told previously that they would cancel the reservation and that it would take a few days for the refund to post. A few days later, I managed to rent a car from Budget of Lansing.

I am respectfully requesting that my reservation be refunded as I was instructed it would be

. Sincerely,

Steve Romkee

steve. [protected]@gmail.com

ADVERTISIMENT
A
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Alamo Rent A Car - car rental/billing

Hi, I have been following up with your customer support for more than a month now regarding my refund of double charged rental bill. One was charged on my credit card and other was the check from...

Read full review
J
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Alamo Rent A Car - car rental

I have always rented my cars from Alamo even when you guys messed up in the past, because people make mistakes, but to have me rent a car and approve it, then nonchalantly turn around, call me up...

Read full review
F
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Alamo Rent A Car - unauthorized credit card charges - daily

I returned the rented vehicle on the due date April 19, 2018 at Sabiha Airport, Istanbul Turkey. Thereafter Alamo- Enterprise is charging my credit card on a daily basis. So far there have been over 7 unauthorized transactions by Alamo. I have tried reaching the office multiple times but no response. I have had to cancel my credit card. Utterly unprofessional and unethical practice on part of your company. I I am attaching my bank statement and original invoice to include the the security deposit. I expect a full reimbursement, and compensation for all the trouble ASAP.

M
Apr 24, 2018
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Alamo Rent A Car - billing - I was advised I could use my cc to rent and do the "hold" then use my debit card to pay the final bill.

The counter person told me it wouldn't be a problem to use my CC as the hold card but actually pay with my DC. My CC was actually charged. I called the CS line and was advised it had been taken care of and to wait 24 hours to see the change. 72 hours later, no change and the charge officially posted. I called CS again and the lady was again polite and said she'd take a look, then the call disconnects. Ridiculous. My expense system calls for me to pay with my debit, then expense the charge. If it's paid on CC, I can't do that. 3/3 on liars at Alamo. Des Moines Airport location.

D
Apr 14, 2018
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Alamo Rent A Car - overcharged on car rental

We were quoted a price by Alamo for a car rental. The quote invoice is attached. When we received the car and returned the rental car, we were charged more than they quoted us. I ask two different...

Read full review
M
Apr 09, 2018
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Alamo Rent A Car - unprofessional behavior by a alamo on-site manager at miami international airport

On Thursday, April 5th, 2018 at the Alamo Rental Desk inside the Miami International Airport, we were informed that since we presented them with my Driver's License and our Credit Card which was a...

Read full review
S
Apr 07, 2018
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Alamo Rent A Car - not refunding my money due

Ref [protected]
I have a receipt showing a $60 refund to be issued at Tampa airport after I returned a car I had several problems with. I was also guaranteed a phone call from the manager and $100 vouchers due to inconvenience. After 2 weeks and still no vouchers or refund in my bank I am still getting the run around from Mr Connelly one of managers for alamo based in Orlando.
A manager in Sanford airport showed me on her computer screen that because the clerk at Orlando pick up counter was too lazy to enter my details there is no phone number, credit card number or address on file.
No apologies from Mr Connelly still no resolution of my refund and definately no vouchers in the post.
This is an obvious scam by Alamo for overseas visitors to think the are getting a refund/compensation though once they leave the country nothinges but the run around and never received.

Alamo Rent A Car - customer service at new orleans airport/kenner, la

I am requesting someone from the corporate company to call me directly. Due to the employee being distracted on a personal call while trying to complete my rental agreement I have been charged on 2 credit cards $700 for a $199 rental Alamo is telling me and my credit card company they lost the authorization number to complete the release of funds on my credit card! Rebecca Wiley was the manager and completely unwilling to take my call and the credit card company...my credit card company can't releaase the funds without this number and I had to put the charges on my work credit card which could threaten my job. I am appalled at the lack of assistance by Alamo and the horrible customer service. I want a call from someone with authority immediately.

Nicole Rittenhouse
[protected] (mobile)

Update by Nicole Rittenhouse
Apr 07, 2018

Extremely pleased that Karen at Alamo called and was able to resolve.

R
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Alamo Rent A Car - supplemental charge at end of agreed upon payments

I had an accident while on vacation with an ALAMO car I rented. We agreed upon a price I owed and set up payments. I owe $199. And change as of 3/30/18, but today I got an email saying I owe an extra $448.00 do to a supplement change that I was never aware of until now.
Is this legal after an agreement for a specific price and payment plan?

Thank yoi

T
Mar 27, 2018
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Alamo Rent A Car - car rental

We rented a car at the St Pete/Clearwater airport. The process to get the car was smooth. We decided to get gas on our own before returning the car. However there was no gas station anywhere close to the airport. I fell like this might have been planned so we payed the upcharged gas. I believe the agents could have informed us of the lack of stations near by.

Are you frigging kidding me? You must have passed dozens of gas stations when your fuel was getting low. You should have used one of them, or found out where one was, it's very easy to do. Instead you whine and blame the car rental agents for not telling you what you could have easily found out for yourself. They're rental agents, not babysitters.

The company told us we should bring it back full...thus we began looking closer to the airport. Also...if you noticed I gave them a high rating...so slide off your high horse.

K
Mar 26, 2018
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Alamo Rent A Car - charges for damaged windshield

I picked up a Grand Cherokee from SFO on Feb. 10 and returned the vehicle on to LAX on Feb. 22. The rental agreement# is [protected].

We were hit by a small flying rock on the highway, causing a small crack. When I returned the vehicle at LAX, I specifically told the inspection guy about the crack on windshield, and he said there's nothing for me to worry about. No damage report was filed.

Few weeks later I received mail from damage recovery unit saying I'm responsible for the damage and charges me $212 for replacing the windshield. The claim# is [protected]. I called DRU and told them what their inspection guy told me, and they said they can't speak for their staff and any damage to windshield is my responsibility.

I'm really frustrated with the way Alamo does business. I'm not trying to run away with this, but at least tell me the truth when I returned the vehicle, so I can prepare for all this. Now I'm having trouble reporting this to my credit card company, since I've thrown away the rental agreements after believing that "there's nothing to worry about".

J
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Alamo Rent A Car - lost key charge

My friend rented from Alamo at LAX. We all stayed in sane house in Palm Springs. Upon leaving my wife accidentally grabbed my friends keys to car. We were 1/2 hour from airport when they called u...

Read full review
S
Mar 21, 2018
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Alamo Rent A Car - rental car van

We rented a van thru Allegiant Air. Thought we were getting a great deal until we got to the St. Petersburg Airport for pick up. I had paid on line, all I thought would be needed was to sign the form. You had three agents and it took over an hour to get waited on. I finally was first in line, the gal that waited on me had dark long hair, dark skinned. She was rude. She said there would be an extra charge of $100. I told her we paid thru Allegiant Air, she said if we had gone directly thru Alama we wouldn't have been charged. In addition, she asked how many were there, I said two, she said "do you really need the van". We were in town for a wedding and picking up 5 more people, not that it was any of her business. She gave me the paperwork, I asked her for a receipt, she said it was in the paperwork, when I left and checked once we found the van, it wasn't there. I did get another receipt upon return and was charged an additional $105.59. Also, to compound my frustration with Alamo, today, I got charged a random amount on my credit card of $5.29. I believe this to be fraud. I have contacted my cc agency and closed the account. I need to have my card refunded the $105.59 of overcharges. Res #[protected]

Sincerely, Sharon V. Minner
svm.[protected]@gmail.com
[protected]

S
Mar 13, 2018
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Alamo Rent A Car - damage recovery which was not caused by me

Hi, I am placing a complaint with regards to claim number [protected] for which I have been asked to pay 173$ for a broken seat belt for a rental car I took in SFO around December 25 2017. While...

Read full review
H
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Alamo Rent A Car - alamo rentals

Confirmations ref-1238053173count Hey hope you are well We picked up a rental car from you sat 3rd march. Ever since we have had a few problems. Including when we first got to mco airport, we were...

Read full review
L
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Alamo Rent A Car - extremely rude customer service

On February 14th, 2018 American Airlines from Newburgh Ny, arrived at Georgia airport Atlanta...had conformation number for rental..was 11:30 pm, refused our card, refused cash, refused to call anyone, was renting for Georgia two weeks...wouldn't take none of my cards including visa, American express, discover...had no compassion what so ever..actually very loudly told us to go away with his mouth and hand motions, told us to keep quiet..seemed very unruly and was laughing...actually Budget rental next to them said did I hear him right and we replied yes you heard him right, they were applaud as we were... we are senior citizens, my husband is 100% disabled veteran, he's 71 and I'm 69..we were frightened as the rentals close midnight, thankfully Budget made a call and provided us with a vehicle...your rep was rude, uncaring, unprofessional and just didn't care as he and another fellow, laughed and made remarks...I recall his name to be Jordan...we were renting for two weeks, booked weeks ahead of time to save money and unfortunately it ended up costing us like $260- more which took away from our spending during our stay...we were very very disappointed, we rented in November 2017 in Las Vegas and we were very satisfied and decided to rent for our Georgia trip but unfortunately it didn't work out that way...someone like your rep in Georgia should not be working for a large company like yours due to his unprofessional behavior...
Sincerely,
Philip and Laura Beechel

I
Mar 08, 2018
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company has left an official comment on the complaint.

Alamo Rent A Car - help desk rude behavior

Last Saturday March the 3rd, my husband and I had a reservation for a rental car with Alamo picking up at the International Philadelphia airport and dropping off in Allentown, PA. Due to the severe...

Read full review

We are here to help

  • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
  • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
  • Honest and unbiased reviews
  • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free
1  ...  6 7 8  ...  17

Alamo Rent A Car Company contacts

Website

www.alamo.com

Alamo Rent A Car representative

ADVERTISIMENT