The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Alabama Powerbill is strangely high but no help from reps.

Alabama power has been installing Smart Meters in the area, Ours had a problem, When hooked up they could not get it to work correctly (said the tech installing it). He left and a few months went by and another tech showed up saying it was not transmitting. Well here is the problem Our bill made a drastic jump for the month they said it wasn't transmitting. They just said it was the hottest month so I used more energy. I live in a large house but the fact is it has no A/C or Heating system. We use a window unit that was brand new and smaller than the one we used the previous year. Also we have been behind on payments now thats our fault but we made arrangments for payment and yet it never seems to go down. We have been paying $150 per week almost all year missing only a few at times when rent is due. We got our bill down and have only $111 due to be in a current bill yet the rep said we still need to pay the $150 for the week because we will have a new bill comming out . Why should that matter if it's not a cutoff notice. We have only 200 to pay bills this week so if we paid the 150 they want it would leave us 50 to try to feed our family of 4 for the week. The rep puts payment arrangments in the system so we are obligated to pay it . Why would I need to pay into a new bill that is not a cut off notice. This company cares nothing about people they tell you to go get hand outs like project share which is always broke so they can't help and all other programs take longer than 30 days . The point is why should I have to try to milk the system to pay a bill that I could pay next week or just pay the 111 that is due. They still say pay the 150 or they will cut my services then require a new deposit and reconnect fees . I am not saying I am perfect but we have been having a tuff year like lots of others but Alabama power is greedy asking people to use there grocery money and neglect other payments just to get theirs and will threaten and talk to you like crap .

Responses

  • Ia
    IAmbeer Feb 09, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I think we should do just that.. my bill went in Dec $221.00 to 678.00 in January, this months it's 550.00 this month.. they can't take debit cards over 500.00 over the phone, and then when I went into the office, they wouldn't take debit cards at all.. (Stone Age) They have incompetent employees, they cut off my powers during a snow storm, and then when I paid the bill, and asked when they will come cut my lights on, they basically said whenever the hell we feel like it, cause I spent the whole day freezing and my baby daughter got sick because of it..I decided to turn off my main breaker box, and video the meter, and it was running even though I had no electricity going to the house.. My mother in law, runs two fridges, a freezer, house, three barns, two water pumps for ponds, and her light bill is cheaper than mine every month, hers was 356.00 mine 550.00.. I guess I'll have to move to Georgia, that's the plan anyways .. but if anyone wants to get into a class action suit with these folks, I'll sign up..

    1 Votes
  • Rc
    RCrutch May 27, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    AL power is ripping people off! After they put 2 new meters on our home...after many, many calls to the D.A.'s office, A.G.'s office, public service commission & AL Power...our bill has gone down on average $90 a month! If I hadn't made phone calls weekly, to everyone I could think of, nothing would've changed! It may take a group of people filling a class action suite.

    1 Votes
  • Rc
    RCrutch Feb 09, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    we are having the same problems with AL power...they are ripping people off because they can! we are on our 3rd meter and waiting to see if our bill jumps back up. i've gone to the public service commission many times...what a joke! one lady tried to talk me out of filing a complaint against them. it's about time to get an attorney involved.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Andrek1876 Jun 16, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I Andre Kistner I been scammed by Alabama power, fist I only live my one person and she work full time just as I am plus we done over time that mean we are only home 20% out of our 100% of the day..my bill never pass $90 until I have a friend stayed over for 3weeks and then it went to $124 then after he went back home my bill went back to the regular by the way it was in April then for my June bill it came for $210 that like 3 triple when I called the customer rep they said my usage went up aww no I am doing the same thing for the past 6 months and now my bill just triple the just said well that how it is...I wish the government would investigate these giants so they can stop take advantage of the poor..

    1 Votes
  • Cy
    CYNTHIA CASH Feb 29, 2012

    I CYNTHIA CASH DISAGREE WITH MY POWER BILL . I HAVE BEEN ON A BUDGET FOR MONTHS. MY POWER BILL WENT TO 350 .OO DOLLARS TO 535 .OO DOLLARS IN ONE YEAR. I NEED SOMEBODY TO COME OUT AND CHECK THIS PROMBLE OUT. I HAVE PAYED MY HEAT PUMP OUT LAST MONTH WHEN I PAYED THE HEAD PUMP OUT LIGHTS WENT UP 94.OO MORE DOLLARS . TO WHOM THIS MAY CONCERN PLEASE GIVE ME A CALL [protected] THANK YOU. MY E-MAIL IS [email protected] ADDRESS 3000 AVE T BIRMINGHAM ALA 35901.

    0 Votes
  • Sj
    sJones1518 Jan 26, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We live in Mobile too, and I have my doubts about Alabama Power's methods and practices - let alone those so called "Smart" meters. For the last 4 years, every year like clockwork in Dec-Jan our bill typically jumps to about 3-times the amount (which is about double the usage) than it was in Nov-Dec - despite no significant change in habit or usage. Sure, it's obviously going to be more than it was in the Spring, Summer and Autumn months; but a sudden jump in the middle of winter is mighty suspicious. So I understand your grievances; we've complained every year to no avail. Every winter we expect to get fleeced, and only once have we not been. Likewise, in the summer of 2009, our Aug-Sept bill jumped to $450, from just $125 in July-Aug; which is preposterous, considering we were on vacation for the last two weeks in August that year. Oddly, the following year it mysteriously was some of our lowest bills to date (around $65), so maybe they just take a long time to "FIX" the numbers. And, astoundingly, for some reason last winter (Dec 2010-Jan 2011) we only had a bill of $185; peculiar to say the least, since it was mighty cold that year. However, this year, despite the mild winter (more like Spring) our bill went from $85 in Nov-Dec to $244 in January 2012. That's some screwy math. Something certainly smells fishy here.

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.