Responses

  • Sb
    sbwilson1 Nov 17, 2010

    I am having the identical problem that Tony N. is having. I had my Acer Aspire 9410 resoldered while it was under warranty; unfortunately, it has once again come unsoldered. What can be done?????

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    Loudmouthrog Nov 09, 2010

    It just gets worse. I spent 5 hours tracking down a source for a replacement part to fix this problem. Bear in mind I did this sort of thing for a living for 12 years and seldom failed to resolve an issue. ACER models in the; 7000, 7100, 7110, 9300, 9400, & 9420 all have a similar problem. The left hidge side unexpectantly cracks the LCD bezel or rear cover followed by the front. All you need do to make this happen is open the laptop. User abuse is optional. I contacted numerous vendors who list the part as being in their inventory including those named on ACER's website. None of them have it in stock and there is no word from ACER on a release or back order date. Instead the official word is that the item has been discontinued. I can't find it on Ebay, not even as a complete laptop from all of the series that use this bezel that I can scavenge the part from. There's a law in medical devices that requires the manufacturer to support a product for 7 years after it is discontinued from production. It looks like the computer industry needs a law like that too. ACER expecting the consumers to tossing an expensive piece of electronics in the trash after 2 years because they don't want to make parts is unacceptable. My ACER is 2 years old and any day now it could be reduced to trash. Thank you ACER, I held you in high esteem since 1992. I won't be recommending you any more. My condolences to all of those who thought you were purchasing a quality product. You were duped! Just like me. Welcome to the new America.

    0 Votes
  • Kr
    Krician Damian Nov 09, 2010

    Mine is worser. There is NO support on the lit what so ever, So now I am just using it like a regular home pc, Its against the wall, and been here for about 2 years now. I can never take it mobile anymore ):

    0 Votes
  • Ac
    acerproblems Nov 08, 2010

    wow...

    my acer tm 7720G, has similar/same issues. left hinge area has a 2-3 cm crack. Very Ugly and you can see the inside of it when u are closing the lid. Anyhow, i have sticky tape over it atm and barely close the screen. After ranting on how crap Acer tech, this issue, as well as having random white screen and boot up issues is in the Whirlpool forums, an Acer Australia rep contracted me. They called me up and told me my laptop is still under warranty. Backing up stuff now so it gets sent in tomorrow. Guess i am one of the lucky ones. Looking for a new laptop anyways and definitely won't be another acer.

    0 Votes
  • Kr
    Krician Damian Nov 07, 2010

    Sorry, But I would like to re open this thread. This is my conversation with an Acer employee through chat support.

    Swati Prasad: Hi, my name is Swati Prasad. How may I help you?
    Krician Damian: Hello, I have the Aspire 9410, And I have had it for years.
    Swati Prasad: Okay.
    Krician Damian: When I bought it, It lasted about 2 years, then all the sudden the LCD hinges decided to freeze and crack the frame
    Swati Prasad: Alright.
    Swati Prasad: Thank you for the information, Krician.
    Swati Prasad: I understand how you feel at this point of time; I will do my best to sort this out.

    Krician Damian: I have brought the laptop to VARIOUS shops for repair (Since I am out of warranty) and I have ALREADY brought this laptop in for repairs MORE THAN 13 times JUST FOR THIS ISSUE
    Swati Prasad: Krician, from the serial number provided I see that the computer is out of Warranty. As a one time best effort I can provide you with some help.

    Swati Prasad: I understand how frustrated you must be and assure to do my best to resolve the issue that you are experiencing.

    Swati Prasad: I believe the hinges of the laptop is broken, am I correct?
    Krician Damian: They HAVE been breaking
    Swati Prasad: May I know how did it broke?
    Swati Prasad: Are you online with me?
    Krician Damian: The first time was VERY embarrassing, I was in a meeting and I had to present something for my boss, so when I took the laptop out to connect to a projector, once I opened the screen, IT CRACKED the frame
    Swati Prasad: Sorry to know that, Krician.
    Krician Damian: Its happend about 6 times opening the LCD and bout 18 times closing.
    Swati Prasad: Okay.
    Swati Prasad: It is quite unfortunate that one of our best customers has to face such difficulty.

    File attachment upload has started.
    The file acer-aspire-[protected]-c287457.html (92.56KB) was received.
    Krician Damian: Look at ALL these complaints
    Swati Prasad: Krician, I understand how frustrated you may be. I apologize for the inconvenience caused.to you in this regard.
    Swati Prasad: Krician, in this case I would suggest you to contact computer local store such as best buy or Walmart as they will suggest you in this regard.
    Swati Prasad: It was a pleasure to work with you. I thank you for contacting Acer live chat. My name and Badge ID are Swati_GWSI1150.

    Krician Damian: Excuse me?
    Swati Prasad: Yes, I am here.
    Swati Prasad: Could you please respond as the delay may cause disconnection from chat.
    Swati Prasad: It was a pleasure to work with you. I thank you for contacting Acer live chat. My name and Badge ID are Swati_GWSI1150.

    Krician Damian: No, Im done paying more than thousands of dollars to repair shops just for this, Its ACER'S issue, You guys are the ones thats supposed to solve this problem, cause If you didnt read the webpage I sent as a attachment, THERE ARE OVER 30 PEOPLE THAT HAVE HAD THE SAME ISSUE, And we are ready to do someething about this
    Swati Prasad: I understand that, Krician, I apologize for the inconvenience caused, as the computer is out of warranty so the repair will not be free of cost.
    Swati Prasad: In this case I would suggest you to contact the computer local technician, as there is no other option.
    Swati Prasad: It was a pleasure to work with you. I thank you for contacting Acer live chat. My name and Badge ID are Swati_GWSI1150.

    Krician Damian: I know that, But this is a DESIGN FLAW, Its your guys's fault why its happening, not the customers
    Swati Prasad: I understand that, Krician, but there is no other option.
    Krician Damian: So what? You want people to just keep spending their money on repairing when they KNOW it WILL break again?
    Swati Prasad: No, I apologize you will that way.
    Swati Prasad: krician, as the computer is out of warranty that's the reason there is no other option, otherwise we would have take the computer for repair.
    Swati Prasad: The issue occurs when the laptop is not used properly.
    Krician Damian: This kind of issue would require a call back for defects of the product line, cause this is nonsense
    Swati Prasad: The issue occurs when the laptop is not used properly.So I would suggest you to contact the computer local store.
    Swati Prasad: It was a pleasure to work with you. I thank you for contacting Acer live chat. My name and Badge ID are Swati_GWSI1150.

    Krician Damian: Are you saying 30+ people (including me) don't know how to use a laptop?
    Swati Prasad has disconnected.

    She disconnected RIGHT BEFORE I sent my last comment. Guys, we REALLY need to do something, cause I don't want to put up with Acer's Bull.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    John Liu Oct 26, 2010

    Can somebody take a lead to bring a class action against Acer?

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    John Liu Oct 26, 2010

    I bought an Acer laptop from Staples during the Christmas of 2009. In less than six months, hinge cover pieces at two ends fell off. It was not a big issue because it still works well. Then LCD screen became hard to close down. One month later, screws at one corner fell off and LCD became separated from the frame and electric wires exposed out.

    I called Acer and they first said it was out of warranty. I sent them the purchase receipt and warranty card. Then they acknowledged it was still under warranty and asked me to ship to their facility in Texas. But after I sent the computer to their repair facility (I paid over 20 dollars for shipping), they made another excuse that I damaged it and asked me to pay $200 to fix it.

    The computer was not used much and has been kept in very good condition except for the defects. It functions perfectly and does not have any dents or even scratches. If there was a human damage, what kind of damage will knock out screws without damaging LCD screen and other parts? The company simply does not want to honor their warranty!

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    HansM Oct 12, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    DON"T BUY ACER!!

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    Ralph M. Oct 06, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just took my Acer 9410z apart to see If I could fixed it myself and I just found out that I have to replace the whole back cover with the hinges and everything, I totally agree that at this point there should definitely be a recall on this issue because it's just a bad manufacturing design, my laptop was hardly ever open and closed, most of the time it just sat at my desk open attached to a monitor. so I disagree with some people or Acer tech support that says, It's probably user handling mistreatment. I feel sorry for people that had this cover replaced 3 times, Acer should take full responsibility on this!

    0 Votes
  • Fa
    FallinForwardFast Oct 01, 2010

    Bought my Acer 9410Z in July '07 and have overall been very content... until the friggin' left hinge began showing a crack! This crack began a year ago and now my Acer is a "desktop." I had always opened my Acer with both hands as the hinges are inherently tight, and closed it the same way. The crack had been growing larger and larger since the end of '09, and in order to avoid a complete loss, I'm forced to leave the LCD screen up, permanently! Works fine as a PC, just can't move it or take it anywhere. I recently bought an awesome Dell Studio 17 and my Acer has become a fixed object on a TV tray in my bedroom. It's the pet rock of the future. Also looking for a replacement panel & information when I came across several foums with people who have the exact same poblem. Clearly a design flaw. If the company had any pride in their products, any respect for their customers, they would have issued a recall instead of leaving countless consumers with broken rear panels. JUST SAY NO TO ACERS!!!

    0 Votes
  • Au
    Autsawin Sep 28, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Same issue here!!! I actually sent my to Acer about 11 months ago for the exact same hinge problem, and the service cost me about $200. Now, less than a year after sending it to them for repair, my hinges are again stiff and have caused the LCD case to break. I called Acer about it and they told me that because my computer was not under warranty, I would have to pay for the repair. It would be nice to see Acer stand behind their products and services. ACER OWNER, NEVER AGAIN!!!

    0 Votes
  • Wa
    wanda40121 Sep 02, 2010

    My computer hinges are broken I the computer repair can't find any replacement parts. Wha t am I to do now? Not fair!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    RoAppleJune Aug 20, 2010

    Just got my Acer Exstenza back, the repairman all he could do after a week of trying to repair it is tear out the frozen hinge. My acer now opens and closes on one hinge

    0 Votes
  • Cc
    ccr294 Aug 05, 2010

    Sorry - have to disagree with previous post - I had my 9410 for 12 15 months, the plastic case broke as above. There was no freezing up or forcing, the unit is inherently stiff to open. I had mine repaired once & it broke again 18 months later. And knowing that it was 'tender' I was careful when opening & closing the lid.

    Now, the cover is no longer available except at Capital Data - they have a few in stock but the price has gone from $109 to $149.

    I did not mistreat my laptop. The only place it was used was while sitting in my chair while watching TV. I have no doubt that it is a design flaw -

    I've decided to purchase a new laptop vs. spending $250 + shipping both ways, to have it repaired and then have it break again. . I know my next purchase will not be an Acer - and per above not a Dell and per research not an HP - not much left but Toshiba & Sony . . .

    0 Votes
  • Cm
    cmsnet_tech Jul 23, 2010

    Some of you who have only had your computers for under a year, then I would say Acer should fix it. I own a computer repair shop and have one sitting here in front of me with the same problem, that is how I ended up here looking for the part. I just wanted to give my 2 cents, yes I know that is what it's worth. But, after being in this business for over 20 years I would have to say I see very few Acers in my shop. Now Dell on the other hand, well they're why I am still in business! So my hat off to Dell. To heatherbirdlady, I hope you have a GREAT experience with your Dell computer. But when your notebook is 13 months old and the motherboard quits and you have to pay $300 for a fix, then Dell won't be such a great deal anymore.

    The fact is, mobile computers break, as they all do, even desktops! If you get 3 years of good service out of your notebook and a hinge freezes up and you forcefully try to close it, plastic is going to break. I don't understand why everyone thinks that if you buy a computer pay say $1000 or under and you get 3 years out of why should the manufacture be responsible? Should they last longer, yes with good maintenance. Yet we spend $50, 000 or more on new vehicles and the transmission goes out in 5.5 years or over 100, 000 mi, is the dealership where you bought the vehicle going to fix it? Nope! Just saying, if you have not had any problems for 3 years as some of you have stated, why be mad? I had a Gateway in here this morning an NV53 model 4 months old and she has had the use of it for 2 weeks. Video problems, motherboard problems, etc...

    Don't bang a manufacturer who's equipment works well for 3 years then has a problem. I know it stinks but that is why they sell extended warranties! May be worth the extra $50-$100. Ya think? I don't lean towards any one manufacturer because they all have had troubles and will continue to do so, some models are great, cost more but last longer, (most of the time) I know these where not cheap and I know the lady who owns this pc is going to freakout at the cost of fixing it! That is if I can find the part! I am sorry to hear about all the problems, especially right now. I know I couldn't go out and drop a grand on a new notebook! Hope everyone finds a cheap solution to their problems! Have a great weekend!

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    rahul mutha Jul 19, 2010

    the same thing happened to me. had to replace it 3 times now. is there something we can do about this with acer. can any lawyer file a complaint against them for such poor quality product

    0 Votes
  • Cm
    cmartinezn Jul 18, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This is unbelievable... Didn't expect to find so many complaints about the same problem. It happened exactly the same to me yesterday. After a laptop session I was going to close it and it got stucked. It's outrageous that an issue like this is ignored by Acer. It's a shame, because I was very happy with the computer (an Aspire 9410Z) and I've had it for 3 years. If they charge more than $100 for the replacement part, I don't think it's worth fixing it. And if I have to start thinking about getting a new laptop, odds that I'm getting another Acer are close to zero.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Don Wojtynek Jun 12, 2010

    This happened to me a month ago, just decided to check the internet for complaints similar to these. WOW I cannot believe this. WHen mine broke, all-of-a-sudden, when I was closing it, one side (left) jammed, one loud crack and that was it. I've always liked Acer products, now this makes me think twice.

    0 Votes
  • To
    Tony N May 15, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have an Acer aspire 5810TZ and it has a bad hinge on the right side it broke after only six months of use . I`ll never buy an Acer Again.

    0 Votes
  • Sb
    sbwilson1 Apr 18, 2010

    I have an Acer Aspire [protected]; purchased 8-07. I love the computer but have had a different problem than described. The part that I plug the power cord into came unsoldered. I contacted Acer and they instructed me to send it back to them for repair. It was returned to me 6-08. Again, I have again enjoyed using my Acer, but the problem has occurred again (4-10).

    0 Votes
  • J9
    j9gates Mar 31, 2010

    Exactly the same problem. It cracked around the first of the year. I love the laptop, but this is inexcusable.

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    froggger83 Mar 28, 2010

    Replaced mine 3 times...cracked again. Acer pretends its a user issue.

    0 Votes
  • Ac
    AcerH8er Mar 24, 2010

    i have the same problem with my aspire [protected]. the left hinge as pictured above brokeand the right hinge followed. as i type this i literally have to hold my screen up and support it with my hand. i never contacted acer directly because apparently they will charge you for calling their service line. i've had a very hard time finding the replacement parts and when i do find them they are very expensive. i am very disappointed in Acers quality and customer service. i will not be buying thier products again.

    0 Votes
  • T9
    t9410l Mar 23, 2010

    Exact same crack. No help from Acer service. Can't find available part. No wonder with such demand.

    0 Votes
  • 19
    19410216 Mar 14, 2010

    MY HINGES ARE OK FOR NOW. THE PROBLEM I HAVE IS THE SCREEN GOES WHITE. I HAVE TO MAUALLY TURN IT OFF. I RESTART "START WINDOWS NORMAL". IT MIGHT START THE FIRST TIME, THE SECOND TIME OR NOT AT ALL. WHEN IT WILL NOT RESTART I UNPLUG THE COMPUTER AND REMOVE THE BATTERY FOR A FEW MINUTES AND IT WILL RESTART. DOES ANYBODY OUT THERE HAVE A SOLUTION FOR THIS WHITE SCREEN PROBLEM?

    0 Votes
  • Al
    A L Mar 02, 2010

    I'm wondering how to avoid this. How did you guys manage to crack the hinge? My Aspire [protected] is used daily for the past 2-1/2 years and doesn't have any damage at all (knock on wood). Did any of you lift it up (even if just a bit) by holding the screen side? I have seen some of the people reporting to me do that and it's so annoying to see employees not care for company items that are assigned to them for their work but don't really belong to them.

    0 Votes
  • Mc
    mcfresh Feb 19, 2010

    I agree with all these posts cause Im looking for partsnow

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    morganvicini Feb 18, 2010

    Those pics look as if I've taken them myself. I've had the bezel/hinge issue twice -- replaced by Acer by company employee connections. This time I'm stuck with it. It's easy to tell by looking that quality was not in the design and parts.

    1 Votes
  • Ro
    RoeMarch68 Feb 15, 2010

    I relieved to see that other have the same problem I have with my ACER laptop (9410). The left side hinge on mine broke as well and I blamed my son who also uses my computer. ACER should make good on the product defect. I would never purchase another ACER product after this experience. I was also told that the part was not covered under the limited warranty. What a ripoff! Are there any lawyers out there that own an ACER and have had the same problem? We would all love to join you against ACER to get restitution!

    1 Votes
  • Jo
    johnn2010 Feb 08, 2010

    Pic of mine

    1 Votes
  • Jo
    johnn2010 Feb 08, 2010

    I have a 9410 left side hinge sticking and cover cracked right side has a stress fracture i'm afraid to close it.. Also my screen goes white when i do close it.I will never buy acer again and yes i fill they should fix them parts are hard to find expensive because they know there in demand i'm also afraid to try to fix it myself and break something else

    1 Votes
  • So
    SophiaStar Feb 03, 2010

    I have the same problem too, but mine's worse - the hinges on both sides have cracked, and the left hinge is actually completely detached on my Acer Aspire 9410. The LCD screen itself is fone. So far I found the part on Notebooksolutions.ca for $115 CAD (I'm from Canada), but apparently they're out of stock for now... It sure would be nice to see Acer take responsibility for this design flaw!

    2 Votes
  • Do
    dontbuyacer Jan 23, 2010

    Would like to know if this issue would be covered by Acer. My situation I had closed the cover, handled the laptop with one hand while holding the laptop in the center (where the web cam is located) gently placed down the laptop on my coffee table then crack. The left side of the top cover had cracked and the vibration was strong enough that hurt my hand for the rest of the evening. Now im in the process of self repairing, found this forum while looking for the left replacement hinge.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jai13 Jan 09, 2010

    even i have the same issue with my laptop aspire [protected], it cracked from left side near hinges. its very headache to get it replaced, i cant find this part over internet and if i find its very costly. and if it is available in US it again costly to get sipped to India.

    1 Votes
  • Ri
    Richard Champion Jan 02, 2010

    It would be nice to see Acer be more responsible for this design flaw on the notebook computer.
    Mine is the 9410 and it's left hinge has frozen up and cracked the case as well.
    I paid $950 for the thing and it has been good up until the hinge froze up on it.
    I'm still using it with only the right side hinge still working properly.
    I can't seem to find anything that would be practical as far as cost is concerned in trying to get it fixed.
    Acer should be held accountable or else let the news get out that this company isn't very responsible for their flaws.
    The adverse advertising would really make their stock price go down for sure.
    Richard Champion

    0 Votes
  • Ru
    Russ Byers Jan 01, 2010

    I also have the same issue. Have not been able to locate the replacement part. This definitely appears to be a design flaw.

    1 Votes
  • Lu
    Luke Rhaney Dec 13, 2009

    The same thing happened to me. I have had to replace the back cover 3 times. I might as well buy a new non acer computer with all of the $$$ I am spending.

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.