Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Products & Services Xlibris Publishing Scam
More
A
Author of the complaint
8:23 am
Review updated:
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Quite simply, Xlibris is a fraudulent, dishonest and incompetent, disaster zone. Xlibris is nothing more than a quick-buck scam printer, posing as a "print-on-demand publisher", and it has one of the highest complaints percentages for a small business of it's type - with numerous civil legal proceedings for fraud and libel - including one major one that is currently in the Indiana courts and when the judgement is made public in Spring 2011, will likely make the Rebecca Brandewyne/Authorhouse saga look like a walk in the park. (Word is they're going to need to remortgage a few houses to cover the damages on this latest libel case) Xlibris was started in the late 1990s in a parents' basement, and was previously run out of a garage/home office in Philadelphia, but in the last year moved to the Author Solutions call-center with partner frauds, AuthorHouse (which has a long legal history - just Google "Authorhouse Scam" to find out) and Searchforpublishers.com - the quintessential Author trap. As of December 2010, Xlibris owes huge back taxes to the IRS and is currently carrying huge liabilities that Mr Princeton CEO Kevin Weiss has strategized to rescue with disturbingly dubious "publish 2 for 1" / "publish for a buck" coupon deals which any writer, however good or bad, should stay well clear. Their book production is dogshit like their customer service. Piers Anthony, one of the website's English owners, one of the swarming flies who still fronts this scam, is a failed British "published author" and part time con-man who lives in Florida, and has a few skeletons of his own - including a 20-year old criminal record in the UK for serious sexual misconduct, fraud and theft. Yes, Random House does still own a percentage - but let's be clear folks, Random House has a sleeping stake much the same way that Microsoft partially owns the adult services site, Ingenio/Niteflirt and don't they keep that very quiet. RH makes VERY CLEAR that Xlibris books have nothing to do with RH. The Xlibris website contains inept, vague material which is more confusing than helpful, and makes wild inconsistent boasts about how the company has "600 staff" on one page, yet, on another page mysteriously has "300 employees". The company actually has 3 full time employees, (including Mr Ivy League Kevin Weiss), and at any one time up to 10 part time workers, most of whom are part-time college students who know virtually nothing about publishing except high school english and how to make a greasy $10/hour. The problems with printing at Xlibris are as long as Authorhouse's scam history, they are a disgusting company and I'm sorry they ever crossed paths with my work.

ADVERTISIMENT
Helpful? 7 0
Share
Reply

More Xlibris Publishing complaints & reviews

Xlibris Publishing - fraud
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Xlibris Publishing - promises no delievery more money
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Xlibris Publishing - fraud scam theft
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
90 comments
Add a comment
K
Apr 27, 2022 8:23 am

Is there a class action lawsuit against Xlibris? How do I get involved in it?

Helpful?
0 0
A
Apr 22, 2022 8:23 am

I was looking into publishing with Xlibris but I had unexpected life events come up where I had to pull my project and after many phone calls and run around they’re telling me, I owe them money for a book that nothing was ever done with. I already spent $3,000+ dollars and they have the audacity to tell me I owe money. The whole things started to scream SCAM when I kept getting bombarded for more and more money, and now I know for a fact this company is a scam. If there’s a lawsuit out for them, I’m in.

Helpful?
0 0
B
Mar 26, 2022 8:23 am

My name is Bradley Hughes and I wrote a book 'Poverty pain and redemption' using the pseudonym José Daniel's which was published in 04/02/2017. I have never ever received royalties since,but when I was in the process of making payment Alex brown who works for Xlibris called me every night and spoke to me for up to 2 hours helping me make payment until the payment was made. Once payment was made I have not received royalties since 2017. Yes they are a bunch of crooks

Helpful?
0 0
D
Mar 18, 2022 8:23 am

Thanks. Good to know. I still don't like it that RH is affiliated. Now, how to get some money back from Xlibris?!?

regards

Dominic g

Helpful?
0 0
L

Xlibris over promise and under delivery
The only thing they are concerned about is taking your money, aggressive marketing requests again asking more money.Book published was Not correctly formatted and they refused to rectify their mistakes unless more money paid
Complaints ignored or lengthy waits to reply but never in a positive way
No royalties ever received
Excess postage charges
High book price They determined despite saying I had control of price
Cut my losses ended contract and yet they still have my withdrawn book on sale at Amazon for £1 .90and only Xlibris can cancel
I’d rather not have a book at all than experience what I consider a massive fraudulent scam making me feel Robbed

Helpful?
1 0
T
Sep 25, 2021 8:23 am

They convinced me to purchase their projects, and when I was completely out of money for their projects, they assured me that I had cash coming from them. Yeah, right. They took over $18K and I still have not seen a single penny from their "projects." I deeply regret not having just told them "No."

Helpful?
1 0
L

I too was robbed by IUniverse another scammer under Author Solutions. 30, 000.00 and no books sold. I have caught them lying, sitting on un-launched campaigns for 11 months. Ignored when I ran out of money. Completely incompetent design and production skills. NON english speaking operators that don't proofread because they don't speak or read English. Up-charges when I had to re-do all the work myself. Claims of being partners with Hollywood and The New York Times. Never sent my book but their FLAT version. and then tried to sell it to me twice "for that extra push" Max Baker. Amazon was a bust also bought twice but kept in the dark for a year. Key words to find it were NOT applied. They used the unknown title as the key words! Author Solutions need to be shut down and kicked out of the country. Philippine Mafia!

Helpful?
0 0
M
Aug 25, 2021 8:23 am

What's happening with the Class Action. I have halted all publishing business with Xlibris. They lied to me for 6 months and stole $NZ90, 000 from me for fake marketing packages. Xlibris is a very sophisticated scam and must be brought to justice. Xlibris have ceased publishing my first book 'Dear Mr Len' and I have relaunched it with Book Trail Agency. Book Trail are also publishing and 7 books that I have written. I have survived the Xlbris holocaust but many other first time authors wont survive these criminals. I'm eager for the Class Action to proceed. My email is [email protected]

Helpful?
0 0
M
Aug 05, 2021 8:23 am

Mr Len here again. I got Book Trail Agency to relaunch my book "Dear Mr Len" and take it away from the criminal scammers Xlibris. Book Trail also launched, for first time, my second book "'Solly' Mr Len".

I'd already paid Xlibris to publish these books before I realised they were a scammers. They refuse to give a refund.

Xlibris stole $NZ90, 000 off me for fake marketing packages: $20, 000 books to film, $6, 000 audio book, $7, 500 New York Times advertisment. None of this happened - all lies and they did this to me when I was suffering from stress-induced bi-polar disorder that they probably caused. But they saw a weakness and persisted.

I told them how I'd donate my royalties to charities and they told me how kind and lovely that was, yet still stole my royalties. They stole the money destined for kids with cancer and the blind.

Xlibris are the most nasty Nazi-Mafia outfit on Earth and I will work with any one who attempts to bring them to justice.

I don't want them to know where I now live as I think they will do anything to shut me up.

Xlibris are to be avoided at all costs. DO NOT ASK THEM TO PUBLISH YOUR BOOK.

Mr Len

Helpful?
1 0
P
Jun 13, 2021 8:23 am

Hello, my name is Brian and I have more than enough to say about the bad practices of the publisher Xlibris. I have a number of manuscripts that I would like to publish, but after the questionable behavior during my business with Xlibris, having two books published by them. One was redone to put added material onto the package, and it was completed after I had strongly said, not to make any changes. You could easily tell it was not the same book and unauthorized changes made. The second book is completely paid for and the company Xlibris is clear, that they are not going to publish this book or make any attempt to do so. I gave them my stimulus check and I got a slap in face. They published my first book, "A Belly Buff Duff Shared His Stuff." in 2009 and got one check for about 2.00 dollars since then. That's it.

Helpful?
0 0
S
May 12, 2021 8:23 am

i published my craft book with them in 2012, and no royalties as yet even though i know damn well it has sold, now they say they cant send sterling cheques so i accepted to be paid in US dollar cheques still no royalties have arrived! Now they say i need a USA tax number which i cannot get so a further 30% will be deducted from my royalties, and a fee of $50 for not filling out the tax form! All the while i get repeated calls asking me to buy my book from them, its a total disgrace and scam. I worked hard on my book and they are the only ones profiting from it, i'd like to pull my book from them but do not know how to go about it, it has almost made me want to give up writing as it just seems all my hardwork is for nothing!

View 0 more photos
Helpful?
0 0
M
Apr 22, 2021 8:23 am

I have also had a bad experience with Xlibris and have taken my next book to Book Trail Agency to publish. They will also republish my first book 'Dear Mr Len'. After 7 months I have not received any royalties. I have been sweet-talked into buying very expensive and unnecessary marketing packages. Xlibris talked me into buying a 'book to film' package for $NZ20, 000. This was a total scam. I've since found out that if Hollywood wants my book, they will come to me. I asked Xlibris for a refund and they gave me a $NZ8, 000 credit 'as a goodwill gesture'. So what about the other $NZ12, 000? I also paid $NZ7, 500 for New York Times advertisement. My friends in New York have not seen this (after 6 months). Unfortunately I paid Xlibris about $NZ7, 000 to publish my second book 'Solly Mr Len'. They are avoiding giving me a refund. Writers beware; do not give your hard work to Xlibris. They are a self-serving outfit that needs to be shut down. My email is [email protected]

Helpful?
0 0
J
Apr 22, 2021 8:23 am

I would love to be involved with this lawsuit. I have 4 children's books they have had for over 2 years and still are not published and for months now, no one will get back to me.

Helpful?
0 0

Xlibris is indeed fraudulent in my experience. After 11 years of Xlibris selling my book online and otherwise, I have received 0 royalties. Ironically they can find no record of any of my books being sold and yet strangers are re-selling them online every day. As a further audacity, they will not grant me access to my dashboard.

Now, la creme de la creme ... they are now attempting to woo me into doing this all over again.
Duh.

I would gladly join a class action suit against this company and in fact would be pleased to commence one if given the support!

If you have a similar tendency please respond to [email protected] My name is Malcolm Mills

Helpful?
0 0
J
Apr 21, 2021 8:23 am

Same here...I have not received any royalty and I know it has sold copies (my books). What a scam and the names of their employees are mostly American names (surnames) but they are mostly from the Philippines. Nothing against the Philippines or "Filipino names"----but. they adopted names that are not their real last names.

Helpful?
0 0
N
Sep 25, 2020 8:23 am

I would like to be added to the lawsuit. My book was published in 2016. I have made nothing. I have seen no royalties. My book has been sold in other countries. I feel ripped off and want my money back. They priced my book at an extremely high price that I did not agree on. My email address is [email protected]

Helpful?
0 0
D
Aug 27, 2020 8:23 am

I want parr in lawsuit xlibris ripped me off 7000.00 how do i do it [email protected]

Helpful?
0 0
R
Aug 13, 2020 8:23 am

Worse experience ever wanted out the contract but couldn’t . Very poor editing full of errors. Still haven’t received a dime in royalties . Very dishonest people will never wish them on my worse enemy . Got robbed out of $12, 500

View 0 more photos
Helpful?
0 0
K
Jul 01, 2020 8:23 am

I, too have been ripped off by this company. My book was published in 2012. I've made nothing from it but it is in 3 pages of Google Search pages. My book is selling in different languages around the world and I receive no royalties. I am keen to take these people on.
[email protected]

Helpful?
0 0
P
Sep 02, 2019 8:23 am

Xlibris scam
Xlibris published my book, To Weave a Tangled Web, back in 2011. They constantly tried to get me to spend thousands of dollars on their book tour packages and finally claimed that the reason I have never seen a penny in royalties is I didn't spend the money on their book tour packages. My book is in on Amazon.com, Ebay, Barnes and Noble, Powell Books and more, yet they claim that not a single book has sold in eight (8) years.

Helpful?
0 0
P
Jul 13, 2019 8:23 am

Three Years ago i come acroos, for publishing my medical Book. After all the lies, after receiving my huge amount, started giving all excuses.
They are a biggest scam.I dont think they have educated people to help you.

After loosing 3 years, funds, etc, i had to pay a reputable company.

It seems they are a kind of money laundering to Phillipines/Manila.

dangerous, crooked people

Helpful?
0 0
R
Sep 09, 2018 8:23 am

I have just been reading the comments authors have been making about their experiences with Xlibris. As I had thought, 99.9% have had similar issues to what I experienced this year when I published my first book. Like many I have spent thousands in terms of publishing and marketing and have not received the services I paid for.

For instance, they had initially messed up the format of my book, which is a collection of poems, rather than make it better, and I had to redo it for them. Secondly, they’ve didn’t proof-read the book either. To add to this, once the book was published friends who tried to purchase the paperback had various issues. This included not receiving the what they purchased on Amazon and later being given the recommendation to get off Xlibris and being told (on Amazon) that Amazon doesn’t sell in that zone (Australia etc). Some were only able to buy on e-book. When I queried Xlibris about this, they gave me lame excuses that they have no control over Amazon, or friends should or should not try the Australian website (inconsistent responses). In this case I felt there was false advertising on Amazon (why put it there if not available?)

This alerted me because one or two friends bought my book through Xlibris directly, but I didn’t see any sales records on their website, so no royalties. Plus, Xlibris kept telling me that their Amazon sales records are only updated on a quarterly basis. In terms of marketing, the team just used my book’s summary rather than create anything of their own. Plus, the Coordinator agreed that I could add anything on my website for free (I have email proof), but later said it would cost me. Lastly, because the Marketing Manager had offered to start marketing the book as soon it was ready even though the total would be paid along the way, I queried why it wasn’t going to ones that we had agreed on. The Coordinator’s response said I hadn’t finished paying the total, and that the book fairs they had in mind are next year! These recent experiences made me stop the automatic payments.
From the experiences I have had, I feel that Xlibris are very cunning in terms of continuously referring people from one department to another, claiming the department doesn’t deal with the issue that an author may be trying to solve. This way, nothing gets done. Their customer service is totally useless, and they make excuses that certain departments only follow US working hours, whilst I have caught them off guard on this. In their email signatures they have Australian addresses, and through my recent research I have discovered these are totally wrong. Why put these on the email when not physically there? They are based in Cebu, Philippines, and my conclusion is that they are scammers and just want to get money of self-publishing authors without providing agreed services….I would NEVER recommend frauds like them to anyone.

Helpful?
0 0
M
Aug 09, 2018 8:23 am

Xlibris is a crooked company. Use them at your own risk. They took a lot of money from me and to date I haven't receive 1 penny and no loyalties. I's been 4 years and I was promised 2 books for the price of one then they disagree about that after they took the money from me. The book is printed with structural mistakes and they blamed me instead of taking the responsibility in finding positive outcome to the problem.

They pretend that they are in America, then I found out that they are in Cebu, The Philippines using slave labours . The Filipinos has given themselves English names to play the part. It's total scam. They gave me so much stress and they are full of lies. Shame on the vultures / Crooks. Basically they stole my book.

When I complained, they've been passing me around and used bullying tactics. I've now decided to fight them, the criminals. Together we can stop those crooks / parasites of publishing business.

Helpful?
1 0
X
Mar 15, 2018 8:23 am

Hello, and thanks for your message. We're sorry to hear that you've been having a poor experience with us. Please feel free to contact our Royalties department directly, at [email protected] .

Helpful?
0 0
J
Apr 21, 2021 8:23 am

I had contacted your customer service and was directed to the royalty section and I must tell you I am tired of following up my royalties because no checks as promised were sent to me. At the same time-----I am very positive my books are selling...nothing has been sent over to me as compensation...Very frustrating and I am beginning to believe this is a crooked company, fraudulent and a baseless account---Scammers (?)...very frustrating!

Helpful?
0 0
D
Jan 30, 2018 8:23 am

In 2013 I self-published my first script, titled: "Chi-Chi and the Salazar family" the publisher, I used to publish the script was "Xlibris". I've spent close to two thousand dollars with this publisher to advertise my book to obtain publicity and sells. Since 2013 all I've gained has been sixty dollars. My book since it came out has been sold overseas and has many five stars over the internet and great reviews, people on eBay are selling my book in the UK, Australia, and France.

The publisher hasn't sent me a check for more than two years and my book has been sold up until today. Then, why was my last check from them a few years ago? When I asked them about why I haven't received a check in the past few years, they always give me vague answers that I don't understand. A few weeks ago, I called and asked them, why haven't I received a check from 2016 and 2017 and they told me they will going to contact me which they did not. I don't recognize what's actually going on, they can tell me anything they want and I possess no evidence to belie.
I had no idea that so many people were going through the same problems as me, too bad I waited so many years to seek help.I own all the rights to my book.

Helpful?
0 0

This is really tragic to hear I think you should seek legal actions against them I know a few lawyers that will be willing to fight for your dividends.

Helpful?
0 0
R
Jan 05, 2018 8:23 am

I have something GREAT to say about Xlibris...They make a lovely book as long as YOU, the author, know what you are doing...I have previously owned a graphic design business and have my own vision on what a good quality finished book should look like. Xlibris helped me produce just that. I now have 5 books published with Xlibris...myself strictly navigating the whole process. Xlibris was more than patient with my critical details and many adjusts and changes.
It you want to see what they can achieve in full color 8 1/2 " book...Buy one of mine: The Lizard's Tail...You will be amazed.
The only problem with any print-on-demand is the cost of individual books...and the cost of shipping. That is the only problem with Xlibris.

Helpful?
0 0
P
Dec 14, 2017 8:23 am

Completely on board with you!

Helpful?
0 0
B
Oct 22, 2017 8:23 am

I agree with every comment above. Luckily, I caught most of their editing mistakes (over fifty in 221 pages - this after two editing rejects of over 100 additional errors in the first proof copy I received). Still, the book went to press and was delivered to me with almost thirty errors. What dismays me most: Their total lack of the marketing services they promised me. Two book fairs that display their books offered to display my book for nearly $2, 000. This include ONLY putting up a poster of my book. I would't be allowed to have a booth to talk to possible distributors, nor would my books be there to buy! What is most egregious is that I cannot collect my royalties. I have six signed affidavits stating that people purchased copies of my book on Amazon in Aug./Sept. yet in late October they do not appear on my read out. Luckily, I'm doing local marketing of my book and have sold almost 100 copies (compared a total of SEVEN by Xlibris). There is an absolute absence of marketing from Xlibris. They are simply just an over-priced book printing company. Will anyone like to participate in a Class Action suit against Xlibris. I have already talked to several lawyers and some are REALLY interested in filing a case!

Helpful?
1 0
C
Jun 06, 2017 8:23 am

Xlibris need to be reported to the Fraud Squad. How can they take people's money, don't produce a thing and then refuse to speak with the author or respond to e mails? The only time that one hears from them is when they want to collect more money. What a fraudulent company!

Helpful?
0 0
D
May 30, 2017 8:23 am

Xlibris is trying to con me out of the initial payment I made to them in respect of a book I am trying to publish. They took my initial payment and when the book went up for review they tried to tell me that there was a chance I would have a suit brought against me because some parts of the book said questionable things about certain people. First of all, no one in the book is having his/her real name mentioned and the book take place in the 1960s. Most of the people who could have been identified are dead. The publisher tried to wriggle out of publishing the book by saying it wouldn't be responsible for any suits made against them in respect of my book. That would have been a bit difficult since the majority of the people had died at least 30 years ago, some 40, I would advise that no on consider Xlibris. Amazingly, this publisher has been tracking me down since last summer. You should by all means avoid this company.

Helpful?
1 0
C
Apr 26, 2017 8:23 am

On July 18, 2016, I contracted the services of Xlibris to publish a children’s book entitled ABC Animal Rhymes. I made it clear to them that my target market for this book is public libraries and school libraries which means that the book was to be published with a hard cover. A sample copy of the book was sent to me in September 2016 in paperback format with a retail price of $21.99. I subsequently advised them that the price was not competitive in addition to the fact that the book needs to be hard cover. Their representative advised me that to effect these changes (i.e. reduce price and change to hard cover), I was required to remit an additional $106.40 to which I complied on October 31, 2016.

Four months later in February 2017, a representative contacted me with an electronic copy of the changes to the interior galley for which I verbally approved but there was no change to the retail price and the book cover. She advised that there was no internal (XLIBRIS) notation of the book being amended to be hard cover and price reduction – even though I paid an additional $106.40 for those specific amendments.

During the foregoing saga, I began to receive phone calls from a company that calls itself Book Venture Publishing expressing to me how concerned they were regarding my book. The voice of their representative resembled the voice of a representative I was once in contact with at Xlibris. When I said to the Book Venture representative, “You sound like Chris Michaels who I used to speak with at Xlibris”, the phone line went dead. The person on the other end of the phone remained silent and then hung up. Book Venture Publishing has also sent me e mails regarding Xlibris unethical conduct with authors. If one were to Google Xlibirs Scam, one would be appalled at the findings. The very core of my being is remorseful for failure to conduct my due diligence before engaging the services of Xlibris – the most fraudulent and unethical company that I have ever engaged in a business transaction.

After seven/eight months of haggling with Xlibris to publish a simple children’s book, a firm decision was made to let go and part company with them because their business ethics is beyond questionable.

I have NOT received my 5 (author) hard cover books and other marketing materials to include bookmarks, business cards and posters.

In total, I have paid Xlibris $2, 114.90 to publish and market/publicize my book - broken down as follows:
· $785.90 (i.e. $246.50 on July 18, 2016; $216.50 on Aug 18, 2016; $216.50 on Sept 18, 2016 and $106.40 on Oct 31, 2016) for publishing.

· And $1, 329 (i.e. $463.00 - Sept 30, 2016; $433.00 - Oct 30, 2016; $433.00 - Nov 30, 2016) for publicity/marketing.

The question is, “How can this Scam Artist – Xlibris charge for marketing and publicity of a book that has not been produced?”

Please also note that Xlibris uses a United States address but all their representatives are in the Philippines who unfortunately lack basic intelligence and the inability to communicate fluently in English. The staff turnover is ridiculously high which contributes to the lack of continuity in the communication process. I sincerely believe that the reason why I eventually folded and signed on with them is because of the constant hounding by their sales representative. After they got my money, my phone stopped ringing.

Helpful?
0 0
L
Apr 22, 2017 8:23 am

STAY AWAY FROM XLIBRIS THEY ARE A FRAUD! DONT WORK WITH YOU! TAKE YOUR MONEY. NEED TO BE SHUT DOWN.

Helpful?
0 0
L
Apr 22, 2017 8:23 am

xlibris is a fraud company, they don't work with you, they take your money, hang up on you, they are pathetic .They need to be shut down!

Helpful?
0 0
L
Apr 22, 2017 8:23 am

xlibris is a complete scam…… stay away they disconnect you, lie and don't have any respect for the writers, , , , , , , , , , fraud

Helpful?
0 0
A
Jan 02, 2010 8:23 am

I am a poet who has been searching for the right publisher for over two years. I was contacted by Xyllibris Publishing Co. Employee Jethro Aragon collected monies from me to publish my books. Afterwards we disagreed about the scale and payment of royalties. A long story short, after several emails and phone calls they refused to refund monies collected including an overdraft fee. Even though it was agreed that they would do so. Aragon stopped answering my phone calls and emails. (very professional) I will be contacting the BBB to file a complaint also including legal action! STAY AWAY FROM XYLLIBRIS PUBLISHING!

Helpful?
0 0
H
Feb 17, 2021 8:23 am

Hello, is the suit still happening. They have conned my mother and I absolutely want to be part of the lawsuit.

Helpful?
0 0
P
Jul 11, 2020 8:23 am

I would like to get my money back, and I would also like to put my name down for the class action as Xilbris has taken over $20, 000 and I have received no loyalties. Please help.

Helpful?
0 0
R
Nov 09, 2019 8:23 am

I published in 2011. My book is on many sites including sites in Europe. I have yet to receive royalties.

Helpful?
0 0
B
Jul 17, 2018 8:23 am

Thanks for posting... I am a first time author who has self-published with Xlibris. Guess I should've known what was to come when I signed a contract that included such things as " you can only sue us in the State of Indiana."
I have experienced a myriad of problems: incompetent staff, continual sales attempts to glean more money, and non-transparency... still believe they printed the wrong manuscript and made me pay to revise it

Helpful?
1 0
D
Jul 13, 2016 8:23 am

Hawaii was admitted into the union of the United Stated of America August 19th 1959. We have been a state for 50+years... explain to me then why we are charged International shipping? The rep I spoke to gave me the casual reason "because of the distance." Maine to California is farther away than Hawaii is to the East coast so do they charge Mainers international shipping?

So Hawaii gets discriminated against because we're not attached? And then this clown keeps me on hold for 8 minutes after I asked for a manager. When he comes on he says that no one from the team is there, because it's Saturday.

I understand perfectly well that Hawaii has a higher shipping rate, I've lived here 30 years...but INTERNATIONAL SHIPPING?

What a bunch of BULL#^&!

Helpful?
0 0
F
Jul 13, 2016 8:23 am

I feel that they are a scam when it comes to royalty checks and is not honest with the author when it comes to marketing campaigns.

Helpful?
0 0
N
Jun 03, 2016 8:23 am

I'm the author of Repercussions: What happens in the dark will come to light. I'm experiencing problems myself as a new author. My first book was published with Xlibris on February 29, 2016. I know individuals personally who purchased my book and I also have E.F.T so I don't need to meet the threshold of 75.00 us dollars to receive payment. Also my book was mysteriously not searchable or available in Xlibris bookstore a few days for royalties to be paid. I'm also feeling that something isn't right

Helpful?
0 0
J
May 27, 2016 8:23 am

I sent in my typed manuscript to xlibris a year ago - at the time I wanted to get it in to a publisher because I wrote it in '86. They have had the manuscript for a year, I was hoping things would change but it hasn't. The person I originally was in contact with is no longer with the company and I want my manuscript back - I called to talk to them today and the person I spoke with told me that the original contact did not give him the manuscript. So, I told him that I wanted it back and I told him that it was his responsibility to find the script and mail it back to me. I am giving him 10 days to get back in my hands. My worry is, what can I do if I don't get it back? I guess in 10 days, I'm gonna have to look for an attorney. Thank goodness I never sent them any money.

Helpful?
1 0
H
May 03, 2016 8:23 am

I am in the same boat as everyone else on here. I created a children's activity book J.D. Drool Monkey's Big Day in 2014. I have seen on many web sites around the globe that there are numerous copies available from new to used. I have invested over $20, 000 and have only made roughly $50 in royalties. I was invited to attend Book to Screen Pitch Fest in Los Angeles and the International Book Fair in Miami. At the book fair, the Xlibris representative told me to only give the books out to the "important children"! ALL CHILDREN ARE IMPORTANT! With all of this publicity you would think my books would be doing better. I have lost all faith in Xlibris as my publishing company. Everyone on here needs to get one lawyer and sue the pants off these people.

Helpful?
0 0
R
Apr 28, 2016 8:23 am

I have experienced all of the problem sited above with Xlibris. What I'd like to do is to form some kind of group which can officially go after Xlibris and have them banned from the business or more. I'd like to have them indicted for fraud and support a criminal case against them naming the individuals in the organization who are responsible. Any Attorneys out their who can supply some advice?

Helpful?
0 0
ADVERTISIMENT

Learn how the rating is calculated

60 complaints
4 resolved 56 unresolved

Xlibris Publishing contacts

(added by reviewer)
1663 Liberty Drive, Suite 200, Indiana United States
ADVERTISIMENT