Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Books ValoreBooks sell back
D
Author of the complaint
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

December 31, 2009 printed mailing label, mailed - bought insurance. Got an email confirming package delivery. Got email confirming check had been sent - for half of the amount it was to be. Got an email saying half of the books did not arrive - they were all in the same box! Have emailed three times with questions / complaints - one response saying this was their busy time of year to bear with them. January 24, 2010 - NOTHING! The website has no phone number for the company anywhere on it. What can I do to get the money - OR my BOOKS back?

ADVERTISIMENT
Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.

More ValoreBooks complaints & reviews

ValoreBooks - fraud
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
ValoreBooks - 34 days and still no check
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
ValoreBooks - Textbook Rental
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
ValoreBooks - return refusal
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
ValoreBooks - Rejected Item
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
50 comments
Add a comment
K
Aug 09, 2013 11:30 am
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I rented a book from Valore Books. I received the wrong book. When I emailed customer service, I was told that I needed to contact the shipper directly (I thought I was!) in order to resolve the issue. I sent an email to the address they gave me and was told that the book I originally rented was not available and that I needed to return the book they mistakenly shipped within 30 days. They will not process a refund until they receive the book back and I need to ship it at my own expense! This place is as bush league as they come. I ended up renting from Chegg.com.

M
Sep 13, 2013 2:43 pm

Valorebooks.com is the worse excuse for a middle man. Their shipping speeds barely equal that of the early American pony express. You pay the same cost of standard shipping and receive it weeks later than standard speeds. They're customer service matches that of a socially frightened robot. First they ask you to contact the seller for questions before contacting them. Once the seller never responds and you do contact valorebooks, they send you a response thats copied and pasted from their FAQ section on the topic of your concern and soes not address your particular problem or question. Never use this site. Chegg.com is a much better service oriented provider for book purchases and rentals.

N
Sep 07, 2013 9:49 pm

I rented a book from Valore Books.com and the moment I finalized my order it had said the book was shipped. I was immediately charged $27.74 for the rented book.I did not receive any email confirming my order and it had said I would receive an email with the confirmation number but I never did and I also did not recieve any email confirming my shipment. I have sent several email to the merchant seller and have never responed to my email.I have also tried contacting them with a phone number I found in their website but no one ever answers the phone.I have not received any book and it past the date it was said I would recieve the book.I will never do businesses with this company again.

C
Jul 13, 2016 7:36 am

Sold books, books showed up as received and signed for on January 3, 2014. I asked for payment via PayPal which was supposed to be within 8 days--and still do not have it. Twice written to customer service and they say they are "checking into it". HORRIBLE COMPANY!

L
Jul 13, 2016 7:36 am

I am seller on valorebooks.Com and had 5 accounts with them from 2009. They paused all my accounts and stopped my payments. After contacting 50 times they responded and hold my 15000$. I met with an accident was in hospital for 7 months in critical care unit and have no money and business to survive myself. I asked them for my money and they said we have already paid you.

But when I told them I will contact my lawyer then they made me the payment by checks for 9000$ and they sent all those checks to my earlier address because I moved to this address 8 months ago. I told them to send me the cheques at my new address but they refused and said we will not issue checks again. Go to your old address and find yourself.

Same situation happened with textbooksrus and ecampus but they paid me and responded me very fast to my new address. When I contacted director of selling he said this is how we work and these are our policies. This is a beware for all those sellers who are selling there books on valorebooks.They have no commitment of payments and don’t give tracking when they pay you by checks.

I will contact my lawyer now and send a legal notice to them because anyone can change his address, even buyers change address for their shipment. I sold on amazon, ebay and other big websites but this was the worse experience I has with valorebooks.Com

They use your money and only send you when you ask them 100 times.

Valorebooks.Com is fraud website for sellers.

D
Apr 22, 2016 1:26 am

Do not sell your books to this company!

A
Dec 23, 2014 9:47 am
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I wish I would have found this website before I sent my book to them. I called to check on the check and they said it would take about 3 months to even get a check. The rep was rude, took the wrong phone number down, refused to transfer me to manger and hung up on me, I called back and she was rude and hung up again. I called back and got a Georgia who was also very rude and refused to transfer me to manager. In this economy companies like this deserve to go out of business. We work hard for our money and deserve respect from companies. I am contacting my local new channel. I live in a large college town, I am going to tell everyone I know not to do business with Valore books. It's sicking to rip people off like this. I could have sold my book on craigslist faster than this.

T
Oct 24, 2014 3:22 pm

Hey guys,

This is the WORKING number to get right in contact with Valore Books.

[protected]

It was over 6 months and I still didn't receive a refund for my books so I searched til' I found it. You will get a live person.

You're welcome :)

S
Aug 11, 2014 6:17 pm
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I have rented a book through Valore, I got an e-mail asking if I had received my book and the e-mail said that if I did not receive my book with in 24 hrs to contact them. So I e-mailed them, I got a e-mail back saying to contact the seller, I followed there instructions and the e-mail went back to them, I guess as I got another e-mail from the with the exact same instructions. I e-mailed asking for a phone # to get help over the phone and I DID NOT GET one ? NO I got the same instructions as before.

I hope I get my book but as of now I'm not impressed with their customer service.

This is the first time I've used Valore, never again I'll go back to either Knect books or campus book rentals, I ordered two books through campusbook rentals at the same time I ordered the one through Valore, Campusbook rental books are already here.

B
Jul 22, 2014 8:55 am

Yep same issues...I sold my books like I saved up my books from 3 years of college and sent them they were all in perfect condition because I have like OCD on this...sent them they quoted me for $1688.32. I see on the tracking that they got them and its been more than a week for them to have been evaluated. Then they say that they have been rejected all 13 of them and don't tell me why just that I will be getting not money I asked for my books back and they said expect them to the provided address in 2-4 weeks its been 3 months and no one has given me my ###ing books back...that's damn near $2000 and they won't give me my damn books back and they wouldn't tell me why they didn't accept them for a payment... They literally stole my books because they have one number which is always busy and never goes through and they don't send you any emails back on topics so I very pissed like very pissed...

M
Jul 08, 2014 4:39 pm
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I sent a book in May to sell to Valore to which they rejected due to damaged cover. The book was NOT damaged when I mailed it in two padded envelopes... Emailed Valore about when I would be receiving my book back and they said 2-4 weeks. I still have not seen my book nor had an email regarding the status of it. That was a $100 book that I could have sold to someone else. This place is a scam for sure. Especially seeing as how they do not even provide a telephone number to contact them. Rip OFF!

L
Jun 24, 2014 2:31 pm

I had no problem receiving my book from Valore Books or ordering that part was legitimate and easy but now that it's time to return the rental, there's no email I can find or address to send it back to. There isn't even a phone number, this is starting to seem like a sketchy situation. Now i'm worried they'll charge me alot of money for not returning the book. Does anyone have a return address for this damn company?

T
Jun 20, 2014 8:58 am
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I just got the same email from them after i sent my rental back in great shape...they said its either the wrong book or damaged!?!?!?! What the hec is it ?!?! they charged my card almost 200 bucks for this and its total BS...how can we fight this BS..?

S
Jun 06, 2014 8:49 am

I really hate that website I mailed my books on the 22 of may and its still saying that it hasn't gotten there yet. It doesn't make sense. I will never get books from that website again. They are very quite T getting ur money but returning process takes forever.

N
May 29, 2014 4:23 pm

I'm putting together a YouTube show which is supported by Emerson Channel (part of Emerson College in Boston, MA) and many Massachusetts residents. The show basically covers topics like, which sites to avoid (scams like Valore Books and roomster.com), small business owner interview, fun facts/ news, and music events around the States.

Valore books and roomster will be talked about and exposed due to their negligent and blatant scam and indifference towards peoples money, hard work, time, and college loans. I sent them a book (quoted at $123 >) and then I never heard from them. I tried calling the (619) number posted up top, don't bother, it doesn't work.

Please send me your emails/ skype addresses if you are interested in a recorded video call which will be posted on the show (first episode). Let's take these f***ers down :) !

You can email me at [email protected] and we can go forward from there.

Cheers,
N.

L
May 24, 2014 3:31 pm
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I just recently return a rental book to valorebooks company. They email me saying that the book was damage and charge my credit card for 134.00. I want to know if the people that we're going into the same situation had their money back, if so how ?

K
Apr 26, 2014 5:21 pm

I have just learned a valuable lesson, research the company before you do business with them. I will never utilize the services of Valore or JVG Books again. I rented a book through valore and it was shipped from JVG books, when I finished with the book early and wanted to return the book - I contacted JVG - where the book originated from. They told me to return it to them - I did. Now valore wants the book return to them. JVG has the book. Now what am I suppose to do? And I just love how neither one of company's have a phone.

L
Mar 19, 2014 1:30 pm

I usually trade in my books to Amazon; however, I was tempted to send in my book for a higher quote here. I understand the policies; however, they are very vague in their Q&A. They did not define the book condition requirement, rejection only refers to different ISBN/material.
My book is consider good condition with high amount of highlighting and bent corners. It was "REJECTED", $0. They should at least give me a partial of the quoted amount! I contacted them to return the book with a prepaid shipping label from me. THEY REFUSED! I
THEY DON'T EVEN HAVE A CONTACT PHONE NUMBER on their site (RED FLAG!)

S
Mar 07, 2014 2:42 pm

I have been trying to get my check from them for over a year... call customer service and all they can do is escalate it issue to someone else that you never hear from. Thoroughly disappointed. They admit it was received, but no one can seem to know why I haven't gotten a check yet. I think that I will sell my books elsewhere from now on.

S
Feb 18, 2014 12:57 pm

I sell back my books, around last Dec. 2013, if I check my order status, it stated paid, But, I never receive my sell back checks, and emailed to them many times, no one responses me back. I'm looking into where to file a law suit?

U
Feb 09, 2014 8:49 am

I sold several textbooks back to them in December 2013. I tracked my package and they received it DECEMBER 20, 2013. It's now FEBRUARY 9, 2014 and I STILL HAVE NOT RECEIVED PAYMENT! I've emailed their "customer service" department many, many times and all they say is that they're "working on it". I'm SO frustrated with this. How can a company continue to do business when they treat their customers like trash? Other online textbook sites process and mail you a check within several days of receiving the EXPENSIVE textbooks you sell to them. It has been MONTHS since they received my books and NOTHING has been done. This is absolutely ludicrous.

R
Jan 29, 2014 9:19 am

Valore Books has the worst customer service of any company I have ever done business with. A month after I sent the first complaint email(December 24th 2013) I was able to find a number that actually worked, but when I called, the individual I spoke with was short with me, wouldn't let me speak to a supervisor, and said they would call me back within 24 hours. I asked for an employee ID for reference, and she refused to tell me anything but her name. I never heard back from the company, and continue to get charged 6.99 every two weeks for the book that I returned and they lost. The number to call that actually works is [protected]. You may get a busy signal, but it will get through eventually.

H
Dec 27, 2013 4:47 pm

I have searched and searched for a telephone number to talk to someone from your company but...the only number I found was disconnected. I have heard from other companies that they receive many complaints about Valore. I have decided not to order any books at this time. inspire of the fact that your prices are usually cheaper. [email protected]

T
Dec 22, 2013 10:28 am
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

DO NOT RENT FROM THEM! I rented a book, my professor said we weren't going to use the book. I put it on a shelf til it was time to go back. I just received an email and a charge to my debit card because the book was damaged?! It was EXACTLY the way I got it. I am so angry right now! Two days before Christmas when no one is answering my calls! This company is a SCAM>>> they got back the EXACT and UNUSED book then sent me!

M
Dec 20, 2013 2:53 pm

I am very disappointed in this company and myself at that for not doing my research. Just like anyone else I desperately needed some extra money for the holidays and sold my good text books to them. I have made three different shipments out and so far the 2nd shipment they have received and approved my books and said they have paid me today (12/20/13) and mind you, I have not received my damn money that they promised they would give for my books. I chose to have my money sent to my PayPal account and these people havent sent it yet. Im upset and irritated because they are not replying to my messages and do not have a reliable phone number. If anyone knows how to resolve this issue please let me know as soon as possible.

-Althea

S
Dec 18, 2013 1:59 pm

Wish I would have seen these reviews before I tried to sell some books back to Valore. I used 2 other sites and had no problem receiving my checks. Valore, received my books, but never sent confirmation. Then, after bringing confirmation of receipt to their attention, they told me the "buyer" stated the ISBN #s on the books I sent were different from the original ISBN #s. NOT TRUE! They then told me they were sending the books back to me. That was 2 months ago. I've tried contacting them, with no response. SCAM! Take people's money and items and capitalize on it when you have no way to talk or address them directly! Contacting the BBB and anyone else that will listen and put an end to bad business practices like this one!

H
Dec 17, 2013 8:25 pm
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I sold five books back, three of which have been rejected. There was nothing wrong with my three books. Valore needs to return by books or issue payment. I didn't donate my books their bogus/scam company. I have tweeted about this and have over 3200 followers and tagged Valore in the tweets. Valore books are crooks. Send me my books back now!

M
Oct 30, 2013 10:31 pm

I sold a ### load of DVDs to this company it is going on 4 weeks now and have not got my money yet i bought these DVDs from my own pocket and gave lot more for them than they offered me but needed a little extra cash they got my DVDS and guess they will not pay me my cash either will never sell to them again!

J
Oct 06, 2013 11:15 pm

Wow! These [censored] bags are LIARS! DO NOT BUY FROM THIS COMPANY EVER! they charged me for books that I haven't received yet. It's been a month now which, my class is wAay over. Ridiculous! Last time to buy cheap crap. Learned my lesson.

M
Sep 18, 2013 8:28 am
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I have emailed and emailed and emailed and no one has answered. I am trying to return a book for a refund and nobody wants to answer. I need help because I need my money back.

K
Sep 05, 2013 9:51 pm

I am getting EXTREMELY frustrated with this company, as I have been trying to contact them via email AND phone since May. They keep charging my account $6.68 every 2 weeks for a book I returned to them in May, and absolutely NO ONE has returned my various emails and phone calls. I want to speak with someone about this, however, it's difficult to straighten things out when they ignore their customers. This is the WORST rental company I have ever done business with and will continue to tell everyone I can about the horrible experience I have had.

Karen Gonzalez

R
Jun 18, 2013 9:41 pm

I rented a book from Valore Books. I selected "expedited shipping" for twice the cost of normal shipping and it still took six business days to come. Most companies' free shipping is faster than that! However, going through the reviews, I should consider myself lucky I didn't have to wait weeks as it appears many did.

The book was also supposed to be in "good" condition when I ordered it--I received it in an incredibly tattered box with holes in it. There wasn't even any kind of order slip inside, just the book. I've already sent them three messages (one directly through the customer service email and two from the website contact form which states they will respond within 48 hours...hilarious.) Similar to everyone else on here, no response yet.

It will be a while before I have to return my book, but I'm already expected difficulties so I'll be sure to document every step and get USPS delivery confirmation. I'm also prepared to deal with credit card disputes.

Please stay away from this pathetic scam of a company.

A
Jun 14, 2013 12:06 pm
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Oh, my word, I am going through the SAME THING as "vrivera" above! They have charged me for a book they claim came back damaged or was the wrong book, no explanation. This book was in perfect condition when mailed back, no markings, etc. I have contacted my credit card company and will keep this in dispute until Valore contacts me. Will never order from them again. Shame on them.

F
May 30, 2013 2:04 pm

this compny and textbooksrus are rip off artists. stole my books and money. reporting them to BBB attorney general and everyone else

V
May 30, 2013 8:32 am
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I agree 100%. I ordered 2 books from valorebooks and returned them both before their due date. I then received an email saying that my return was marked as "not accepted" because it was the wrong book or it was damaged. The other one says it is late and hasn't been received. I maybe used that book twice all semester and returned it in the EXACT same condition that I rented it in. They have no contact number on their website and they never respond to their messages (I have sent them countless messages). COMPLETE RIP OFF DO NO GET YOUR BOOKS FROM THEM YOU WILL MORE LIKELY BE UNSATISFIED THAN SATISFIED WITH YOUR PURCHASE. They obviously really don't care to help you and just want your money. Please use something else, I've have very good luck with Chegg, I would definitely suggest another option like that one.

D
May 23, 2013 7:56 am
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

Now I'm nervous! I sold my books to them over a month ago, tracking shows that I received my check 2 weeks ago. Have left several messages for them, and yet to have a returned call. Did anyone end up finally getting through and having everything worked out? I'm a single mother who is counting on this $200! :(

K
May 10, 2013 6:21 pm

NEVER SELL TO VALORE BOOKS ! SENT MY BOOKS IN JANUARY. RECEIVED CONFIRMATION IN FEBRUARY. STILL WAITING (MAY10) FOR MY CHECK. I HAVE CONTACTED VALORE BOOKS 3 OR 4 TIMES ABOUT REISSUING A CHECK, WHICH THEY ALL SAID THEY WOULD DO AFTER VERIFYING MY ADDRESS EACH TIME, AND I STILL HAVE YET TO RECEIVE A CHECK. I WILL BE FORCED TO OBTAIN LEGAL ACTION AGAINST VALORE BOOKS.

T
Mar 04, 2013 4:11 pm

I too ordered from Valore Books, I have not received any confirmation email or anything, but yet the money was debited from my account. I have consistently went to the don't have my order number link and requested it be emailed me to and nothing. This is outrageous. My class has already begun, and thanks to Valore I am behind. There is no contact number and when you email customer service you don't get a response. I will never give them my business again. As well as i will alert the Better Business Bureau.

A
Jan 25, 2013 2:48 am

I am checking the status of my books. They accepted my money, but didn't send me a confirmation number!. I think this is a scam or lack of business practices. This site should be taken down. I guess I will go with my first mind and use Amazon!

Total scam!

My daughter is starting college at UPenn in two days. She received her list of textbooks a month ago, and was thrilled when she found one of the books on the ValoreBooks website for a very low price. She confirmed that the item for sale was the 4th Edition of "Applied Regression Analysis and Multivariable Methods by Kleinbaum, David G., Kupper, Lawrence L., Muller, Keith E." The day after she placed the order, she received a confirmation saying that the order had shipped, but three weeks later the book still hadn't arrived. Finally, late last week she got the book in the mail, but it was the INDIAN EDITION - not even the same book. I'll attach photos showing the book they were supposed to send and the one they actually sent.

When my daughter emailed the company they told her to ship it back and she has to pay for the shipping. They also said the order would be subject to a 15% restocking fee. Now she's ordering from Amazon and hoping to get the book in time before her class starts.

Avoid this company! They are a rip off.

ADVERTISIMENT

Learn how the rating is calculated

47 complaints
14 resolved 33 unresolved

ValoreBooks contacts

(added by reviewer)
268 Summer St Suite 502, Massachusetts United States
ADVERTISIMENT