University of Phoenixeducation, greed, identity theft and student loans

N
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

On may 3rd i went to my accountant to retrieve my income tax return, just to find out the us. Department had taken my check for a student loan that had been outstanding since 2009, keep in mind i file taxes every year. I then contacted the us department of education sure enough according to them there was a loan outstanding since 2009 thru phoenix university. They requested 2 forms of id and 2 tax returns from previous years meaning 2007 thru 2012 along with current drivers license and previous drivers licenses from 2007 thru 2012, who keeps expired drivers licenses, thank god i do, well sent that off, 5 months later they informed me that application for refund had been denied for not filling n the name of the school which i supposedly attended, well that was one of the many pieces of information they refused to give me.

Immediately i phoned university of phoenix and spoke to a gentlemen by the name of judah natiivio head manager for collections and loans department.. The fist thing mr. Nativio told me is that once they retain the department of education they cannot get involved i n there collections tactics, but my account with the university had been written off in 2010 they shouldnt be trying to collect on it, well now it clicked student loan 2009 i file taxes every year why take income tax in 2012, i know they picked the first alna herrera they came across not to mention that collecting on a written off loan is illegal. Noah nativo refused o give me ip address or dates of service.

Wow, imagine how many other victims are out there like me, not only identify theft but also school mishandling of funds. Its crazy, well my story dosent end there, the department of education sent me out another application of default resolution group, for identification fraud. I mailed it out certified next day. This is wrong and unacceptable for anyone let alone the department of education i will fight till this is resolved and my name is cleared.

The real kicker is i never obtained a ged nor graduated from high school, which is the first criteria that must be met before any loan is obtained. We cant even trust our system let alone the united states department of education.

Responses

  • Ma
    magiccandace Feb 26, 2017

    I have also been a victim of ID theft that sounds exactly what slsmile74 has experienced. I have been battling this for 6 years now with no end in sight. My tax return was just taken after expecting it and I just don't know what to do anymore either. There has to be something that can be done. It's ruined my credit, it's so very frustrating!!!

    0 Votes
  • Sl
    slsmile74 Apr 14, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I feel your pain! I am a victim of ID Theft and the federal loans that were taken out in my name (electronically signed) and the school was University of Phoenix - online campus which I NEVER attended! I have been battling this for over 5 years now and my wages and tax refund are garnished by ECMC due to all of this. No one will respond to me or my lawyer and I just don't know what to do anymore!

    0 Votes
  • La
    Lanceitachi May 30, 2012

    University of Phoenix University of Phoenix University of Phoenix University of Phoenix University of Phoenix University of Phoenix

    0 Votes
  • Pr
    princessamy Feb 06, 2012

    I am currently attending UoP and I swear on my last nerve, it's the worst decision I've ever made. My boyfriend was going to go to UoP and is in the Military as well, and we called SEVERAL times over a few months.. countless times, and have never received a phone call back. He finally said screw it and went to a community college, where he is paying 3/4 less than I am and going for the same degree. I'm afraid to drop because of the financial aid and how they could screw me! I don't think half the people exist that they say do...

    0 Votes
  • Po
    Poheixe Nov 02, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have not received the help I need to pass a course. I have take the course twice and both time the instructors were no help. I tried contacting my Academic Counselor and she did not help me with the problem. This school only wants the money I am paying them and they are not concerned about me completing the course.

    0 Votes
  • Ly
    LynGarl Jul 19, 2011

    I've used the case number your provided - nothing came up in the search. I then used every search term I could think of and still nothing.

    Do you have more information about this? I'm afraid most people who actually want to see some proof are going to disregard your claims, me included.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    chrisfriend Apr 12, 2011

    IF YOU ARE A COLLEGE STUDENT JOIN www.aceyourcollegeclasses.com you can post your homework questions there and earn money tutoring others. The site is free to join!

    0 Votes
  • Uo
    UofPhoenix Mar 16, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Hi Kelley,

    I'm sorry that you had a bad experience with the University. If you have a specific issue that you would like resolved, please contact the Office of Dispute Management at [email protected] or [protected].

    Kind regards,

    Libby Bailey, Sr. Student Relations Administrator
    for the University of Phoenix, Office of Dispute Management

    0 Votes
  • Ke
    Kelley Best Mar 14, 2011

    If you are considering going here for the convienience of doing classes online, do not go here! Many universities offer online classes. This school is not only expensive but have the worst employees. Their academic and financial advisors are the worst! You can tell they all hate their job and don't give a crap about you and what you need to graduate! If i wasn't so close to being done, i would transfer!

    0 Votes
  • La
    Laurie2378 Dec 28, 2010

    Yes this school is a scam! My daughter was going to Phoenix for Criminal Justice, ended up with a $8000 "financial aide...student loan" & couldn't pay it, so they sent her to collections. a GC Services called her & set up a "payment plan", now she owes over $9000 after making 7 pmts of $127/mth. HOW DOES THAT WORK? This will be going to BBB & anywhere else i can put it. Internet...what a marketing tool it will be!

    0 Votes
  • charl22 Oct 23, 2010

    Jean,

    Contact me.

    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    Hatedit3653 Oct 14, 2010

    While attempting to transfer from one University of Phoenix location to another, I was told by 12 different employees of the University of Phoenix that Cara Willis (military transfer personnel) is the sole person who handles transfers of servicemembers. For months, I have not received a return phone call or email response from Ms. Willis. Does she even exist? Why can't anyone else handle the transfer?

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jean Carr Oct 12, 2010

    I have been applying for jobs since May of 2009, I have a masters in psychology from the universityof phoenix and every job in health and or human services is telling me they can not use my Master because UOP is not an accredited university in NC. There has to be something I can do because I spent long hours, time and a lot of money for this degree to be told it is useless. help me please.

    0 Votes
  • Dr
    Dr. Timothy Drake Oct 09, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    A lawsuit filed in October against the University of Phoenix for religious discrimination. Go to the 17th Judicial Circuit in Broward County Florida and search case# [protected]. This will tell you the truth about these people and this university!

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Liam Jul 17, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have written and left messages since april, 2010 for several of the staff; Kenneth James Austin and Lynn. I have filed chapter 7 I have sent them my BK paperwork I have written letters faxed over my BK paperwork and now they place me collections. I receive "out of area" phone calls starting at 7:50am central time. This school is a scam.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.