United Automobile Insurancewill not honor claim

K
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

August 23, 2008



RE: Claim [protected]
United Automobile Insurance Company

July 19, 2008, I was pumping gas at Valero Gas Station located on the corner of John West and La Prada Road when a van struck the front end of my 2008 Hyundai Tucson. Due to the damage only being scratches I opted to not make a police report because the damage was minimal and I only asked for a copy of his insurance card. Two weeks later I went to Bankston Dealership located on NWHGWY and Abrams for my estimate which came to a total of $368.51.
Ever since the estimate was completed and submitted to United Automobile Insurance Company I have since been waiting for them to complete their investigation over this incident. Their investigation concludes of the policy holder to contact them and get his side of the story (quote Debra). I have been waiting for over a month for him to get back with his insurance company and state ‘yes this incident took place on July 19’ but that seems unlikely.
Debra at United Automobile is supposedly handling my claim number. Overall the entire staff that I have spoken with about this claim seems uninterested in resolving this and has not made any attempts to get the ball rolling with processing my claim. I even mentioned that I would contact my insurance State Farm to let them know what was happening and Debra commented that it “wouldn’t do me any good because the estimate is under $500 and my policy probably has a $500 deductible.” After listening to her make this statement I became gravely concerned that this Insurance Company is not diligent with taking care of claims in a proper manner.
I am forwarding this information to the public in hopes of exposing this company for how it handles claims. From what I have been through with them they come across as very mismanaged and unprofessional. Even though my damages are $368.51, it is the principal of the matter to honor the claim filed and pay for the damages. If anyone can get this company feathers ruffled I know it’s the free press! Your help is much appreciated!

Responses

  • Wi
    William Egan Oct 07, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am having the same issue. Both of my vehicles were hit in my driveway on June 7, 2008 by a van load of illegal aliens from Honduras. I was watching television in my house and my wife and son were asleep. The brakes went out in their van and they thought my truck and SUV would be a good place to crash. The McKinney, Texas police department came to the scene and arrested the driver (no Texas Drivers License). I was assured by Captain Ron Jones of the McKinney PD that this van was insured at the time of the accident. The insurance company on the proof of insurance card was Auto Assurance Professionals in Irving, Texas. After numerous phone calls to get an adjuster out and numerous promises from Auto Assurance that they would pay the claim, nothing happened. I finally drove to the location, on August 18, 2008 and spoke to Maria. She stated that they do not pay claims and that I needed to contact United Automobile Insurance. Hogwash!!! This Auto Assurance Professionals business needs to be shut down! This is a place where illegals go to pay for one month of insurance in order to get proof of insurance for the annual Texas Vehicle Inspection Sticker.

    I have been in contact with United Auto since August 21st. My claims adjuster is Maricella Martinez. Ms. Martinez is also stating that they need to investigate further and need to find out who is at fault. The police report clearly states who is at fault. She has also stated that they cannot get a statement from their insured. Well, ... it is very difficult to locate an illegal alien. Thus, insurance should not be written to illegal aliens.

    Anyway, I finally had an adjuster from United Auto look at my truck yesterday and his estimate was half of what my insurance company (Farmers) and the body shop estimated. My SUV only needs $468.03 worth of work and United Auto is giving me the same $500.00 deductible story. The adjuster said he would have to get special approval to give an estimate on the SUV.

    So, four months later and I am still trying to get my vehicles repaired...

    -1 Votes
  • Sa
    sammydancer85 Dec 15, 2008

    I'm going through a claim right now and rather than paying a couple hundred more dollars for dealer parts, I had to wait for the dealer to order cheaper parts from one of the insurance's after market parts vendors. It also took a full 5 business days for an adjuster to go out to the dealership, and there is no emergency number for weekends. I had my incident on a Sat night and had to wait till the following Monday to even file the claim. It's been 3 weeks and after fighting with the insurance because they didn't find everything wrong with the car the first 2 times that they went out, I am finally getting my car back. I am now in the process of switching insurances. I do not recommend this insurance to anyone that wants their car back within 3 weeks with no hassle.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    satedpeaches Jan 05, 2009

    i ABSOLUTELY agree!

    I was in a car accident in January 08.

    I was literally at a full stop to turn into my job's parking lot when I was hit.

    This was my first car accident and damage didnt seem too bad, so we didnt call the police to file a report. (stupid me- first mistake!)
    While we were looking over our damage, I got on the line with my insurance company and they took all her information. They told me they would be in touch with me.

    Then, as I drove off I heard sccratching. When i got out of the car, I soon realized my muffler was dragging! I called her insurance company to tell them i needed them to get someone out there, since she had already assumed liability- THEY NEEDED TO FIX MY CAR!

    A WHOLE WEEK PASSED BEFORE I HAD TO GO THROUGH MY OWN INSURANCE COMPANY TO GET RESULTS!

    I had to get a rental car, and they agreed to reimburse me, again, because they assumed liability. I paid out of pocket because rental was not covered on my policy, and i have submited the reciept THREE times and have not even recieved NOT ONE phone call back! Maria (the claim adjuster) was either away from the desk or out of the office and nobody in the ENTIRE office could/ would help me! I left message, after message, after message. No call.

    Needless to say, here we are a year later and I have not received any reimbursements or phone call for that matter.

    STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY AND HOPE TO GOD THAT YOU DON'T GET IN AN ACCIDENT WITH ONE OF THEIR "INSURED"!!!

    FOR BETTER RESULTS, GO THROUGH YOUR OWN INSURANCE COMPANY AND LET THEM HANDLE IT! IF YOU DEPEND ON UNITED AUTO, YOU'LL WAIT FOREVER!

    0 Votes
  • Dc
    dchxt2008 Feb 15, 2009

    I was in a wreck October 23, 2008. At a stop light a car rear ended me hitting me into another car in front of me and then instead of hitting the brakes, the car behind me hit me again -TOTALLING my suv! Of course the person behind me had United Automobile Insurance and as you can imagine it is now February 15, 2009 and i am still waiting for my settlement check and my bodily injury check! The first month of my claim the Insurance company never contacted me and when we did finally get ahold of them they refused to take liability even though in the police report the car behind me admitted to hitting us and that they were not even paying attentin when the wreck occured! So UAI finally started to process our claim and told the body shop to go ahead and try to fix my car when the body shop originally told me it was beyond repair. Now UAI is trying to say that I told the body shop to start repairing my car. Even the body shop is arguing that I didnt tell them to start working on the car and that UAI told them to. The total damages to my car total over $8, 000 but they only want to give us half of that and give the other half to the body shop. I even got my insurance company (Allstate) involved and they got me a rental car for a month because UAI wouldnt pay for me a rental car. When discussing that I deserve the full amount my car is worth the woman that was in charge of my claim (Erica Subberath/Subberuth (check spelling for last name) starting laughing and cussing to my step father over the phone (the car was in his name). My mother contacted the Texas Board of Insurers and gave them our complaint and when United Automobile Insurance got contacted about it they completely lied about every detail of the claim and said that it was us that wasnt returning their phone calls and dragging our feet trying to resolve the claim! The body injury claim guy (Richard Green) that we were dealing with didnt call me for two and half months after the wreck. I was taken away in an ambulance from the wreck and they had no idea if i was alright or not, dead or alive.. and didnt seem too worried about finding out. I didnt have any broken bones or anything but it did keep me from working at my job for two weeks which is a big cut in my income being an independent college student. I had to have help getting up out of bed or getting into bed, standing up, getting dressed, etc.. because my body was so badly bruised and whiplashed. I FINALLY got my statement recorded with him two weeks ago on a monday which i was assured that i would hear back from Mr. Green at the end of the week but still, two weeks later going on three, have no heard back. I have left countless messages on Mr. Greens voicemail to contact me as soon as him can but still have heard nothing back.

    We are finally going through our own insurance (Allstate) and they are going to take my car and giving me the full $8, 000 for the car, therefore United Automobile is going to have to pay the body shop whatever they owe them and still give me my bodily injury check.

    If you have to deal with this company my heart goes out to you and buy lots of advil and maybe take up boxing or something to get all your anger out after having to talk to these incompetent claim adjusters!!

    Its going on four months now and im praying i dont have to deal with these people ever again! Please stay away from United Automobile Insurance!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ho
    houston victim Apr 16, 2009

    Please report this company! they are getting away with crimes. I am victim as all of you are. I have reported them to TDI, BBB, ICE, TDI Fraud Claims, and about to contact the IRS Fraud division -

    Join me and stop being a victim! i was rear ended at a red light!!! i was obeying the law - this company will not even talk to my eye-witnesses. They told me that "no matter what i do, they will deny my claim" - they told me that "they deny rear-end cases ALL OF THE TIME"

    This is criminal

    0 Votes
  • Ho
    houston victim Apr 16, 2009

    Also, the man who hit me, could not speak english and had a 30 day policy. This is a pattern. I am in houston. PLEASE FILE YOUR COMPLAINTS - I AM DOING MY PART TO TRY TO PREVENT MORE VICTIMS LIKE US.

    1 Votes
  • Pi
    Pi.... off in SC May 22, 2009

    I seriously don't understand how this company can continue to screw people over! Are they not held accountable to anyone? They have been reported numerous times yet nothing is ever done! I'm tired of these illegals being shielded by this company. If they don't have to follow our laws, then why should anyone else?

    0 Votes
  • Fo
    foxcrazy Jun 17, 2009

    you should see the parillo family $40 million mansion in chicago...it is fabulous!...they contribute to political parties and actually flew the ex illinois governor ryan on their private jet to florida to see a basketball game, unfortunately he is now in jail for corruption and wow the patriarch's grandfather was al capones attorney at one time and a few years back had a short story written about their claims handling titled.."bad hands people", but stay at the dallas ritz carlton and im sure they dont think they are bad people.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    DoNotUseUnitedAuto Sep 25, 2009

    I hate this insurance company.

    I pretty much had the same problem all of you had. One of their "insured" hit me and the police came to the accident and he got a ticket.
    He was "kind" enough to give me all of his information: name, insurance company, policy number, AND personal cell phone number.

    I called United Auto and gave my statement the next day. I did not hear from them or my adjustor "Josina Garcia" for a week. I called back a week later and my adjustor would NEVER answer her phone. I spoke to some other lady who told me they couldn't get ahold of their insured and if they didn't get ahold of him in 30 days the case would be cancelled or something like that. I could not believe what htey were saying. I also couldnt get a hold of their insured I would call every hour every day for 3 days straight and NOTHING. I gave my mom his number and she called him and he answered her! When she asked him if he knew who I was he said "why?" and she said "i'm her mother" and he hung up! I called the police department and told them I thought he was trying to evade this and if they could help me. The lady who answered said to call back later an someone could probably help me get a hold of him :D I IMMEDIATELY left him a voicemail saying I had already spoken to the police and if he didn't call United Auto the police was going to be involved. The next day his insurance called me and said they "finally" got his statement. Ha!

    My car was TOTALED and they only gave me about $2, 000...the damages to my car were worth A LOT more.

    I went to the hospital after the accident and I don't have health insurance and my bill was $5, 000. United Auto said we could come to a "settlement." I DONT THINK SO. Your insured was at fault, I sent you a copy of the police report saying he got a ticket and everything. I have no need to pay for ANY of that money. That's what you are for United Auto. Let the suing begin.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    royalgem49 Oct 17, 2009

    Hi Everyone:

    There is a way you can fight back when you have to deal with companies like United Auto Insurance. Having an attorney fight for you for just 35.95 per month. Anyone that see this comment please call me so you can fight back using an attorney. Call me and I will give you the details, Roger at [protected] or email me at [protected]@gmail.com. Thank you in advance for calling me.

    0 Votes
  • An
    AnonyMouse2010 May 07, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was in an accident as well. Here is my story and I hope it helps someone else.

    I was in traffic and a lady turned in front of me and hit my car. I injured my head in the accident.

    The police officer WITNESSED my accident and in the police report put her at fault.

    I have now obtained an attorney and I am suing them.

    If you find out at the scene that this insurance company is who that person is using... just save yourself some time and get an attorney. They give the same stories to everyone. They are not wanting to honor claims, they do not want to help you and ARE NOT YOUR FRIEND.

    The medical adjuster pretended to be my friend and while she seemed nice... forget it.

    0 Votes
  • An
    AnonyMouse2010 May 07, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Please use a reputable attorney. Someone offering services for $40.00 a month does not sound reputable.

    Most personal injury attorneys will fight for you if they think you have a case and just take a percentage of your settlement. No up front costs.

    0 Votes
  • Ce
    Cesar A. Jun 02, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Same thing here. They are making outrageous claims and presenting them as facts just to claim70% liability. Considering their policy holder ran in front of my car, after running a stop sign, the are 100% liable. They pretty much told me they can assume anything regardless of what the police report says, and arrive at their own conclusions. The person I was speaking to seemed pretty agitated, would talk over me, an cared very little for what I had to say.

    As everyone has said, this company makes your claim a horrible ordeal. We are now looking for different routes to get this resolve.

    0 Votes
  • Un
    unhappyvictim Jun 17, 2010

    I am having the exact same problem! My husband and I were driving home from the store on 6/6/10 and we were side swiped by a United Auto insured driver. This driver in the process of leaving the scene in turn hit a motorcycle throwing the man from it. I have been dealing with this company ever since! I have had my car damage estimated at 3 different dealerships, then they tell me that they don't have anyone in my area to come out and appraise the damage so they want me to take my NEW Chevy Trailblazer to some mom and pop garage to have the damage estimated! I told them that I would but I wanted it to be repaired at a Chevy dealership with genuine Chevy parts. The girl on the other end of the line proceeds to tell me that I will get my car fixed there or I can take the check and pay whatever else to have it fixed where I wanted. I got the estimate and sent it back to them and asked them when I could expect my check to arrive so I could make the appointment to have the reapirs made and was then told that they haven't even accepted liability for the claim yet! This is 10 days after the incident and there is a police report stating that it was their drivers fault! They then proceeded to tell my insurance agent that the estimate from the place that they told me to go to was going to have to be reviewed by their "in house appraisers" and that they would let me know what the total was going to be after that! I am about to just say nevermind and pay my deductable and go through my insurance company (Farmers). This United Auto Group is a nightmare to deal with and now that I have done everything on my part to get them the info that they needed to complete my claim, it has been 3 days and my insurance agen nor myself can get anyone to answer their phones, we leave messages and no one returns our calls. The voicemail says that they will return your call in 24 hours but that is a total lie. We then resorted to calling this perticular womans "Supervisor" and he is just as much of a deadbeat as his employee!

    1 Votes
  • Wa
    waykionys Jun 26, 2010

    OMG! How many inresponsible people out there. Last saturday I was inpact in the back of my truck while i was waiting for te ligth to change fron red to green. Guess what a lady hit me in the back push my truck i hit another car she provided the United Auto policy num. On monday i called talk to the united claims dept and place a claim they gave my a claim number and told me to contact the other parts involve so they can call and make there statement. My truck is in a storage so yesterday i call back the insurance to see how everything is doing and they told me they denied the claim because the ladys insurance was cancelled so she dont have any type of coverage. jajajaja How in the world they give you a claim num. whenever you tell them the policy num they should know rigth away when the computer pop the number and they can tell you if the policy is active or not active. Now i can't pull my cay from the storage because they want to charge me 800.00 to take it out from my pocket and then what. please if you know more and can help me give me a call [protected]. what about the United auto responsability. I will go anywhere to work this out.

    1 Votes
  • Ch
    cheap tricks Jul 13, 2010

    cheap tricks
    I am having trouble getting my car worked on by anyone but their preferred shops. Steering is illegal but here is how they get away with it. They have a contract signed by their preferred shops to work at less than market hourly rate. In minor damage repacement is not allowed, it must be repaired. When you take it to another body shop the estimate is higher and United won't budge from their estimate therefore steering you to their preferred body shop.
    I talked to a preferred body shop manager and he stated United is the most difficult insurance to work with and he cannot wait for the contract to expire.

    0 Votes
  • Sk
    skinny minny Aug 05, 2010

    I TOTALLY AGREE WITH EVERYONE'S COMMENTS. THIS INSURANCE COMPANY IS WACK!!! i HAD AN ACCIDENT IN EARLY JULY AND STILL HAVENT RECEIVED A CHECK TO HAVE MY CAR REPAIRED. i HAVE fULL COVERAGE WITHOUT RENTERS COVERAGE, AND A 1000 DEDUCTIBLE THAT IS JUST UNHEARD OF.
    THE EMPLOYEES ARE TRAINED TO BE [censor]S!
    THIS COMPANY NEEDS TO BE CHECKED OUT WITH THE BBB OF GA! DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY BY ANY MEANS THEY DONT CARE ABOUT CUSTOMERS, NOT RELIABLE, WILL NOT HONOR CLAIMS WITHOUT A FIGHT, (YOU WOULD THINK THEY SPENDING MONEY FROM THEIR OWN POCKETS).

    0 Votes
  • An
    AnonyMouse2010 Aug 05, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Stealth:

    I am not a customer of this company and they are treating me like crap when their insured was found to be at fault. This company has no morals and even if that gentleman paid his deductable they wont pay. After Katrina several people sued this company ecaise they would not honor claims and WON an undisclosed settlement.

    THIS COMPANY IS A SHAM!!!

    0 Votes
  • An
    AnonyMouse2010 Aug 06, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Stealth... They advised me to get an attorney.

    Which I did and funny thing is after filing suit...what happened? The point is people should not have to get an attorney to get a claim paid when it has already been determined by a court of law their insured is at fault. My uninsured motorist clause does not cover this accident and State Farm will not do the talking if the other person has insurance. By filing a different claim my premiums would rise and I should not have to pay higher premiums because their driver cannot drive


    You continue to live in that world where the insurance companies are the good guys. Some of them are but when one of their insured's hits you...I will be happy to give you the name of my attorney because you will need it.

    0 Votes
  • An
    AnonyMouse2010 Aug 06, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    If you have full coverage...not liability.

    0 Votes
  • An
    AnonyMouse2010 Aug 06, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    You obviously quit reading when I said "which I did and after we filed suit guess what?"

    And you would have also seen that my insurance is State Farm.


    I realize you hate stupid people, I do to, but this company is one that preys upon people who shouldn't be insured in the first place.

    0 Votes
  • An
    AnonyMouse2010 Aug 06, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    And the claim you would have to file with your insurance (provided it is full coverage) where they go after them and pay you up front can be used to raise your insurance premiums.

    1 Votes
  • Ke
    keityweity Aug 18, 2010

    the same thing happened to me he claim was 533.21 this must be a BROKE insurance company!

    1 Votes
  • Co
    copyertech Sep 18, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    united auto insurance IS A SHAM .i got in to a ACCIDENT with a united auto insurance driver .i was mot at fault did not have much damage so i did not sue .little did i know that the police report is not good in court.a few months past and i got a letter for me to pay them. all i know is if you get in to a ACCIDENT with a united auto insurance driver, do not do the same go after them .get a good lawyer and sue them fast .

    1 Votes
  • Ay
    aylesworthaz Sep 21, 2010

    I too am getting the run-around from this company. I was in an accident 5 MONTHS ago. The police determined UAI's insured was at fault, and UAI finally sent me a letter informing me that they would total my car for $1700 and let me keep the vehicle. I signed the property damage release, converted my car's title to salvage and am STILL waiting for my check 6 weeks later. My claims adjuster Courtney Browning says she is still waiting to receive the damage releases from the other 2 vehicles hit by their insured in the accident, and that she can't release my settlement check until she has their releases.
    I re-read the property damage release, and it doesn't say anywhere on there that receipt of my settlement check is contingent upon receipt of all 3 releases from all 3 parties. I pointed this out to Courtney and said I would be contacting a lawyer to force UAI to pay, and she didn't care at all.
    This company treats people like complete crap, as if they couldn't care less about their reputation. Well, you'd better believe I am telling everyone I know about my negative experience with this company, and you'd better believe I am getting a lawyer involved--I am sick of being screwed.

    1 Votes
  • No
    Notamechanic Oct 01, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    It's 2010, and United is continuing to do business in the same matter. The accident was 45 days ago. The claims adjustor assured the check was mailed. I never recieved it. I then agreed to have them send the check directly to the recommened repair shop. The shop First Class Auto (Dallas), gave excuse upon excuse regarding delay to repair my car after keeping it for 32 days. When I went to retieve my vehicle, they (the shop) did not completely do ALL the repairs needed. The reasoning behind the delay; UAI only agreed to pay SOME of the damages caused by accident.

    I can't get a BBB rating on either, nor do I know what avenues to report my complaints.
    Watch out for incomplete estimates; non-payments or minimum payments of claims directly to the consumer; the cheapest route to repair your vehicle; no assistance when using other repair estimates, you must go to their preferred auto shop for UAI to pay; Zero CS for problem solving your claim requests. etc.

    This is just one of my attempts to get the word out.
    DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH EITHER UAI or FIRST CLASS AUTO.

    1 Votes
  • An
    AnonyMouse2010 Oct 02, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Report them to the Texas Board of Insurance.

    1 Votes
  • An
    Another United victim Nov 06, 2010

    I am having the same problem with United Automobile Insurance Company as all of the above, especially this comment posted by William Egan which is the exact wording used by the same adjuster he had to deal with and here is his comment " Ms. Martinez is also stating that they need to investigate further and need to find out who is at fault. The police report clearly states who is at fault. She has also stated that they cannot get a statement from their insured." I got a letter from Ms. Martinez with the exact wording. This is evidently their standard response. The people that hit our car, totaling the car and breaking my daughters arm, were all immigrants (not sure if legal or not) and none could speak English. United also stated that they will need to get an interpretor before they can accept any liability, since their insured can't speak any English. Then later they said they have been unable to locate their insured. Even though the police gave their insured a citation for turning left directly in front of us at a traffic light, United is now claiming the police should not have given them a ticket since he couldn't get a statement from them since they don't speak English. United seems to specialize in marketing their policies to immigrants, both legal and illegal, and then use the same tactics to never pay when their insured cause an accident. Is there no government agency monitoring these type companies????

    1 Votes
  • Gp
    gp2010 Nov 20, 2010

    DOL-9/25/2010
    UAI insured struck me in a parking lot and was intoxicated at the time so called police made him walk the line and took him to jail. After no contact from UAI for 2 wks called and reported claim and faxed over police reprt and when I contacted the in house adjuster she stated that I was on the wrong side of the street...uh dummy it was a parking lot...police report states I stopped and even gave way for your insured to by pass me when he admitted he was looking down and police carried him off to jail! She then informed me she would have to speak with her supervisor and advised her I am not taking 50/50 liability and needed my car fixed. Explained to her she was speaking to a claims adjuster and that ain't happening. Thought it was going smooth until check was sent but notice in check states it is a draft only...it only took a month for me to evne get this draft/check...it only takes 2-3 days for mail to get from one side of Dallas to the other...ridiculous! Well placed in b/s now 3 wks ago this Monday Nov 21st and my b/s states they are waiting on them to cut the supplement as they had the wrong name on the check/draft. There body shop wrote a claim for 1200.00 which I already knew was a low ball estimate as it is a Lexus and when the supplement came about it was 2700.00. This is a jacked leg insurance company and should be out of business. Oh btw, they only want to reimburse for a rental and only up to 23.99 a day. Needless to say this week went through my insurance for a rental as I have 30/day coverage and your insured hit me...they should be shut down and normally a no bodily injury claim should take less than 30 days to investigate, pay out and close. Contact the Dept of Insurance to file a complaint as they were just on Ch 11 news last week here in Dallas. [protected]/www.tdi.state.tx.us I am sure they have a gizzillion complaints.

    1 Votes
  • Ci
    cityrage305 Feb 16, 2011

    they suck as an insurance company. I am still waiting for my claim and its been a month already. They only gave me $375 to rent a car. So far I have spent $800 for car rental. DO NOT GET THEM!

    1 Votes
  • Sc
    Schala Mar 22, 2011

    I too have had a similar problem. When I first reported my claim on 2/6/2011 the rep tried to tell me that I had to go to one of the two auto shops that they deal with. I later advised them that I was aware that this is against GA STATE LAW! When I let them know that I was aware of the law then they said oh of course you get to choose any shop you wish.
    I was told to meet with an adjuster who took picture of my car. I told him that I seemed to have problems with my suspension because immediately after the accident my car started making a knocking noise that I could also feel. He said that this could not be addressed until after it was in the shop, but he was notating that. When the collision center received the paper work on the claim initially, I was told that nothing showed up on the notes about issues with the suspension. They first cut a check for repairs without ever receiving an estimate in the amount of $715. The person who hit me damaged the body and also the suspension so I knew the amount they sent would not be enough. The repairs ended up totaling $1399. I am so glad that I did not cash that check. The collision center called me one night and that the damage was to the Rack & Pinion. He also mention that they don't return phone calls well. A man named Mel Chung called me at 7:45 one evening and said that if the collision center could not find a used part and had to purchase a new one, that I would have to pay for the part. He told the collision center that my portion of cost on a new part would be 100%. I was advised about "betterment" by the Georgia Insurance commisioner with whom I submitted a complaint, however I was told that if it was a brand new part I would have to pay a percentage not the entire percentage.
    My other problem is that they do not answer their phones and do not return voicemail messages. The accident happened on 2/6/2011 the person over the claim never even spoke to me until today 4/22/11. Because I could not reach him I began speaking to a "supervisor" Antonia Campbell. Before putting my vehicle in the shop I questioned why I had to pay for the rental car up front. She informed me that, that is just thier procedure and that upon returning the rental car that I need to fax her the bill and they will issue a reimbursment. I faxed the bill to her on 3/10 and 3/11. I left her two voicemail messages after this. She never responded. I called her on Friday 3/18 early afternoon. As of Monday night she had still not returned my call. I called the insurance comissioner again on Monday after leaving Antonia another message. I received a call from Yessico Briones ( the original person over the claim) on 3/22. He advised me that they had sent me a check for the rental car in the amount of $191.46. I paid $273. I questioned him and he said that Antonia notated the claim that she and a cs representative had informed that they only pay approximately $21 per day. This was NEVER made clear to me. She simply told me to fax her the bill and I would be reimbursed after the fact. I also questioned about compensation for diminished value. I asked to speak with her and she lied to my face (actually my ear) and said that she discussed the amount with me. My whole problem in the first place was the fact that I could not afford to pay for a rental myself being a single mother and a full time college student. With this said, why would I rent a car that cost $48 per day knowing that I would not be refunded for the entire amount?! I AM NOT STUPID! I told her that I would contact the insurance commissioner again, she said "Go ahead" as if to dare me. She is rude, and what kind of supervisor gets approximately 10 voicemails over the corse of a month and a half and only returns 2? I probably called a total of 30 times. I had even asked a customer service rep to transfer me to her and to Yessico on two different accasions. I was told both times that they had spoken with them and were told to transfer me, just to get a voicemail again!
    I later recieved another call from Yessico saying that the rental company agreed to discount the rental and refund me $43.90 which still leaves me about $36 short, but that is better than $80. He called me again and said the diminished value was approved. I asked him how much it was and was told $25.38. I had previously been told by a used car dealer that diminshed value should amount to 10% of the repair cost on a 2001 vehicle, so I questioned this. I called the commisioners office again and spoke with Don Cameron and also called an attorney, both of whom advised me that the 10% was not accurate, but to call and ask for the formula used to determine it. The attorney from Montlick and Associates advised me that I could "Google" it. I called Yessico and asked for the formula and he informed me that they give 10% of the value of the car. I asked how much my car was worth, he said $250. I told him that I just want what is fair and that I would research the Kelley Blue Book value on my vehicle. Via www.kbb.com the value for a 2001 Ford Taurus 4 door with leather and automatic windows, locks, and seats with 82, 871 miles on it is $2550 for the FAIR market value. That is the lowest value they list. The highest would have been $3375. So with this said, where do they get that my car is only worth $250? In actuality if they base the compensation off of the Blue Book Value then I should receive about $250 for this. That is some bull! I pay more than that for my car note every month and he said that all my car is worth is $250. I am upside down, but not that much! I called Yessico and left a message asking him this and requesting that he look into it! I am still awaiting a responce.
    To the lady who hit " You need to change insurance companies! ASAP! Someone is going to end up sueing you one day after going through crap like this. I am livid with the treatment I have received. Like the first person complained, it is the principle of the matter that counts! UAIC sucks! Go Progressive!!!

    1 Votes
  • Tp
    tpworks May 20, 2011

    I was hit by a United Auto insured vehicle while stopped in a center turn lane of 5 lanes on south atlanta road by Kroger. The person that hit me was an employee at Kroger and made an illegal left turn and rear ended me resulting in $2600.00 damage to my Ranger. Their adjuster showed up at my residence 2 weeks later only to declare my vehicle a total loss. That way the title and plates go to the state and make you a lowball offer to settle. They make your life a living hell trying to get you to withdraw your claim in order to keep your vehicle. This vehicle is my life line as I am in the Home maintenence and repair line of work. I don't know how these people can sleep at night. What goes around comes around.

    1 Votes
  • Lo
    Louise J Jun 08, 2011

    I work for a used cars delaeship and I made a couple claims with this company. IT'S the WORST company I ever deal with. The customer service is terrible, the claims take forever to be resolved, the adjusters are so mean. We definately will NOT accept this insurance any more. If you need insurance DO NOT use this one.

    1 Votes
  • Fu
    Fustrated to the max Nov 06, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    After reading these complaints I'm starting early on filing my complaints with all TDI, BBB, ICE and TDI Fraud Claims. I had and accident with someone this company insurers. The lady ran the red light, she immediately called them from the accident and excepted responsibility stated she was @ fault. She wanted me to directly to the company 1 block away to file a claim with her, because my arm was hurting I called the fire department and ambulance. After I was checked out and told it was just burns from the air bags deploying. I followed her to her insurance company. The police called my cell phone and asked where were we at and i told him good thing I did that. These people have given me the blues every since. I got a claim # immediately went home called the adjuster to get a renter car cause I was unable to drive my car. The adjuster stated she need to talk to there insurer to get a statement and she was calling her now and she would call me back. So I called the lady that hit me and we called them back on 3 way she took responsibility again. Mind you we spoke to someone else and the lady that was supposed to be calling her never did call. The next day I called again about a rental to be able to get to work. I received the same statement that they needed a full statement from their insured for real. I stated to the lady (Vivian) she did twice yesterday. I hung up called the lady back she called again and gave the another statement. I then called them back I was told I would not get a rental until my vehicle was check for damages estimated time of repair was noted. Okay now 5 day go by they came out and gave me the estimate (Total Lost) what. Lets not forget a note stating it may take up to 30 days for a complete investigation and if my vehicle is somewhere collecting storage fees I need to have taken somewhere there is no fees. Wow Fa REAL, I then again called about transportation and was told because it is a total lost they would not pay for a rental. That I should file that on my own insurance, (what) I didn't do anything wrong why would I want my insurance rates to go up. They also told me they would have and amount in approximately 3 days well its been 5 days and no call yet.

    1 Votes
  • On
    onlinereputationscam Apr 02, 2012

    All the Victims of United Automobile Insurance Company and Richard Parrillo are invited to participate In a website dedicated to halting this fraud You can also place your name on a potential class action lawsuit http://richardparrillocomplaints.com RichardParrilloComplaints.com

    1 Votes
  • Ms
    Ms.305 Aug 13, 2012

    This company is a joke and a rip off. The are thieves hiding behind a company name. I purchased their insurance for a a vehicle which turned out to be a lemon. The policy was in effect for 10 days. The refused to reimburse the premium and charge me an additional $98.00. Needless to say they can eat that charge and whatever else they want to chew on because they've gotten all they are going to get.

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    VICTIM2 UNITED AUTO Aug 15, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This insurance company is very unprofessional and in-helpful. I was rear ended by one of there policy holders on May 16th. It took me 3 days to get intouch with United Auto to file a claim because the holders insurace card stated AAFORDABLE. Then after making a claim they stated that it will take 24-72 hours for someone to contact me. It took 3 days for them to call me back and say that the policy holder DID NOT have coverage at the time. ONE WEEK LATER united auto called me saying that he DID have insurance. However, by this time I had to start the repair process through my insurance company. It is 7/16 and I United auto have called me one time two weeks ago stating that I have to call me insurance company and get letters requesting reimbursement. This company is more than a rip off, they are un-professional and Un- responsive. I have posted this message because customer representative like Jessica and Cliam adjusters Like Matthew make it hard for the victims who are only victims due to there policy holders mishaps. GET IT TOGETHER. I DO NOT RECOMMEND ANYONE TO DO BUSINESS WITH THIS COMPANY.

    0 Votes
  • Wh
    wholmes28 Feb 04, 2013

    January 28, 2013


    Texas Department of Insurance
    Re: COMPLAINT ON CLAIM
    UNITED AUTOMOBILE INSURANCE
    # [protected] Accident date: 11/3/2012
    Policy and Procedures Questioned
    I was hit by an UAI’s policy holder. Is it policy for me to have to file a claim against my insurance policy, pay a $500 deductible and then have the two insurance companies fight to get my reimbursement? Is it policy to have to pay my own injury costs? Therefore, go injured due to not having money to pay to see a doctor? Is it policy to have to pay for your own rental car while yours is being repaired? I have been driving and insured for 39 years and never heard of such, but it happened to me and it’s still going on.
    It was approaching 9:00 P.M. the night of 11/3/2012, I was in the at a stopping point in the parking lot of SPEC’S LIQUIOR STORE as the store was closing when the above insure came out the store and got into his car. I was sitting directly behind him when he entered and proceeded to back up. I noticed that he was not taking caution as he backed up and started to blow my horn for his attention. He continued without braking and struck my car. I was sitting at an angle in front of Houston Police who was parked on duty in front of the store. I looked at the officers and worded “I know you saw that”. One of the officers shook his head and got out of his car and came to my car. The driver, who identified himself as Raydezel Gonzalez got out and stated he did not see me. It was dark on the lot and as we tried to see the damages it appeared to be nothing on my vehicle so the officer stated since it was minor all we had to do was exchange information and presented us with the accident report document.
    The next morning I looked at car and noticed there were damages and called his insurance company, Old American County Mutual, who instructed me to contact my insurance company to file claim, pay my own deductible and after their investigations I may get my deposit back. I stated it wasn’t my fault and didn’t feel I should have to pay for his error. They said I should file with my company and then they would investigate and after the results I would be reimbursed if needed. Finally, I was assigned an adjuster, Kristy Sampson who instructed me to take car to J. D Auto Collision on 11/8/2012 for estimate of damages. The estimate quoted was $834.48 for the right front bumper replacement and headlight damage. I was told I could take the car anywhere for repair so I took it the Dodge dealership. I was then told I had to pay for the rental car during the repairs and would be reimbursed. I felt this wasn’t fair to me since I didn’t create the problem but had to do it in order to get my car repaired. I informed her I had a slight pain in my lower back and left shoulder. I assumed it was from holding tight to the steering wheel on impact. I was instructed I would have to pay for the doctor bill as well. After several attempts to get them to pay for me to see the Dr. and rent the car I decided the fight wasn’t worth it and looked for a rental car so I could get my car repaired. I finally made reservations and dropped car off on Tuesday the 11th of December.
    As I was being dropped off with courtesy transportation the adjuster, Kristy called stating she had made reservations for me at Enterprise. I returned to the dealership to be informed there was not a car available for that rate to come back after 2:00 for pick up. I returned after work to find out I had to pay a $350.00 deposit for the car. I was stunned because I repeatedly stated I didn’t have the funds for the rental and definitely didn’t have $350.00 for t he deposit. If the insurance company was to pay for the rental the deposit would be $50.00 but for me it was $350.00. I didn’t have the money therefore I was stranded with no car and no way to get home since Enterprise said they could not drop me off and I had canceled my previous reservations after speaking to Kristy about her reservation. After an hour or so I finally found someone to get me home. The next morning I desperately tried to get a rental and a way to work. No one was available to transport me to either work or rental location. I phoned Kristy about the situation and was instructed to get a taxi. Well, a taxi would put me in more debt and take away from the car rental which I already couldn’t afford. I had to call in from work due to no transportation. I called Kristy and begged her to get me a vehicle so I could get to work she said there was nothing she could do. With tears flowing I asked for supervisor and explained my circumstances. She, the supervisor, informed me they would take care of my lost days, just forward documentation to them. I explained that I hear complaints that it took months to be reimbursed from UAI and she assured me to submit the days and she would take care of it.
    By Wednesday the dealership was done with their estimate which was higher than the prior one and the dealership had to wait for the insurance adjuster to come approve the car repairs. It was the following Tuesday before they finally came out which means I would have the car 4 additional days. After giving the approval the dealership the car was repaired within 3 days but we then had to wait for a verbal approval that the insurance company would pay the dealership due to the money for the first estimate being sent to my address. Why was it sent to my address? I checked my mail and had not received the check. The approval was made finally and I was able to pick up car on Friday 12/28/2012. The total repair time due to their neglect was 13 days which was 10 days past the originally quoted 3 days. Four days later I returned to address where I had moved from to find the check Kristy said was mailed out November 29th in my mailbox.
    I then, called Kristy to verify when this check was mailed out and question why it was sent to me. She instructed me to tear up the check. I inquired about sending the days lost information and was directed to Sandra Escobar in personal injury department.
    After speaking to Sandra, who spoke very rudely to me, stating could not process my lost days until I closed out the bodily injury. She then asked about the bodily injury and I told her I was unable to see a Doctor due to lack of funds in paying for the rental car. She stated I needed to complete documentation and fax back to her. I did so. Now, she states because it was not bodily injury I would not be paid for my days lost. I spoke with her supervisor, Tom Brown on Friday the 25th who said he was not the correct person it needed to go back to claims and he or someone else would get to me on Monday. I called again on Tuesday who said I was at the top of his list but hadn’t gotten to it as of yet.
    My question: What kind of professionalism does your company practice? Why are you out to not treat people fairly? Where does it end with you? Why don’t people get the payments they deserve?
    I’ve looked on line and I’m not the first. There are hundreds of complaints of the same nature. If this is the best you can do as a consumer, maybe you all should not be in business. YOU ARE DOING MORE HARM THAN GOOD.

    0 Votes
  • Zo
    zolybreak Mar 18, 2013

    Hi
    I m having full insurance with uai I got in accident hiting the curb because of icey road
    They estimate 420 under the 500 deductible
    They sent me to a shop they told me they cant fix the car because theyre shop not updated for the technology on the car
    I took the car to the deler to get an estimate of the parts and then all together
    Deler says around 5000
    Insurance offers 1086
    How is this posible if they forced me to have full insurance because of buying new car
    Please help w attorney phone number cause I cant deal w this anymore is beeig two weeks since accident nothing is happening
    Thank you

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    robert t wallace Sep 12, 2014

    I was hit by one of United's customers. Been fighting with them for 3 months to get my car covered. I ended up writing a check.. Now they deny my rental car claim.. After googling them, seems this is common behavior. Sure hope someone does something to stop this behiavior.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem