The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Traneinferior product

On Oct 29, 2007, I contracted with an authorized Trane dealer and purchased an XL14 SEER, model # 4WCY4024A1000AA. On April 25, 2011 after only using the air conditioning for 2 summers, our unit no longer cooled. It blew air but no cold air. On 4-26-11, I contacted a certified Trane technician to come out and diagnose the problem. I was informed that beneath the panel, the copper distributor lines touched and due to the normal vibration of the system it caused the copper to have a hole in the line. This leaked out the freon enough that it would not hold a charge. I could have them replace the coil that has the lines built on for over $900 or I could repair the copper line and have it soldered for $655. My system has a 10 yr warranty on parts but not labor. I decided to minimize the damages and paid to have the line repaired instead of having Trane replace the coil on 4-27-11. I also contacted Ingersol Rand on 4-27-11 for a phone number and was given the wrong number and hung up on instead of transferred like I was told. I looked up Trane online and found a consumer website to file a complaint and did so. Today, 4-29-11, I received an email with no name back that said it was out of their control. I called the Tyler, TX office and asked to speak to Nicole Fields, the supervisor. I was told she was at lunch and would return my call. The email tried to put the fault on the installer, the technician, or me. None of the three listed manufactured or assembled that system. This is a manufacturing defect that should be recalled & repaired at Trane's expense. They do not want to pay their certified tech for this but neither did I!!! They don't care about the quality of their product, because if they did, they would have quality control measures in place for this and not have outsourced the coil to be made in China! They sell inferior and defective products and certainly lack in customer service!

Responses

  • Ke
    Keith12 Feb 13, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Have a Trane XL19i 2.5 ton, also have a Goodman heat pump 4 ton, Goodman is a 13 seer about 14 yrs. old, the Trane XL19i is 5 yrs. old, every winter, live in North Carolina on coast, have trouble with Trane in heating mode, have had tech out servicing unit 2to 3 times mostly winter months, the Goodman still heats great in winter no problems, never had a tech out for it, am now thinking about buying a furnace to back up Trane heat pump, just can't afford to junk it, plus seems to do okay in summer months for cooling. Any comments would maybe help.

    1 Votes
  • Ju
    June Harrell Aug 31, 2014

    We have a 16 seer Trane and replacing our 2nd coil in a 4 year old home, that we have only lived in for 1 1/2 years. Prior to this residence, we had moved in a brand new home with American Standard. A/C. We had a defective coil in that home within 4 years. So now we have paid labor and multiple service visits over $1, 000 for nearly new units.

    1 Votes
  • Ac
    A/C Old Timer Oct 23, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I think the main purpose of your post is to do biased name calling. In one sentence you say how you have been selling Trane for a VERY LONG TIME. Then in another sentence you say that you SWITCHED TO TRANE. Obviously there are some lies circulating with the air. Stories contradict themselves. Your account has 1 post and was created October 22, 2012 ( Just yesterday). Incidently, ALL MANUFACTURERS test run their units before they leave the factory. Additionally the wiring technicians wire hundreds of units everyday and must pass wiring tests before going onto the line. I have been to Carrier & American Standard/Trane in Tyler, Rheem/Ruud in Ft.Smith Arkansas, Goodman/ Amana in Houston, and all have excellent quality control programs. It sounds to me like you are seriously full of it and have no idea what you are talking about. I seriously doubt Trane or any other manufacturer is going to let literally thousands of units pass by QC they they would ultimately have to pay a contractor to site repair. It just does not make financial sense.
    Additionally, if there were problems, what Model and Serial series did it affect? I have seen none.

    -1 Votes
  • Qu
    Quality What? Oct 22, 2012

    I have been selling Trane equipment for a very long time. I have notice that the light commercial equipment I have been selling that comes from Tyler Texas is not manufacture correctly. Wiring and installed items. I must say I'm rather disappointed in the poor quality that I have been witnessing. If I wanted to sell an inferior product I would sell Goodman or some other low grade unit. I switched to Trane because it was a better product. How is Trane maintaining it's ISO certification if they have this many defects in their manufacturing process. It bodes the question just how much weight do these ISO ratings really carry with regards to "QUALITY"?
    I would hope Trane does not go the path that Lennox and Carrier have gone before.

    2 Votes
  • Ac
    A/C Old Timer Aug 14, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Yes, that is definately the issue...out of millions made, millions of condenser coils are failing everyday, that is why people continue to buy them. The failure rate is actually so outstanding it must be the number 1 story on CNN. Why is it when one person has a failure on their equipment and too cheap to buy a labor warranty that it becomes the manufacturers position to have to go beyond the terms that were accepted when the unit were purchased. Don't you think the people at the FTC have heard from this kind of chronic complainer before? Get for real and get a life.

    -1 Votes
  • Ct
    CTYankee203 Jul 24, 2012

    EVERYONE!!! If you have a problem with TRANE condenser coils, CALL THE Federal Trade Commission at [protected] and LODGE A COMPLAINT. The specific issue is that the company continued to manufacture and distribute units with known defects in the condenser coils AND will not pay for a COMPLETE replacement - INCLUDING LABOR. Many disreputable installers are only too happy to sell a TRANE unit, because they have a GUARANTEED source of income - all the service costs involved with replacing the unit. If all consumers contact the FTC - a case will be opened and an investigation will proceed.

    3 Votes
  • Ac
    A/C Old Timer May 11, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The unit was installed in 2007. That was 3-1/2 years ago. During that time settling, vibration and other factors can cause it to make contact and leak. Why did you not buy a labor warranty at the time? They were definately available. It is a calculated risk that you took and the numbers didn't play in your favor. Did you have a technician out on an annual basis to check the system? Perhaps it would have been caught then, instead of now, and if you did have a technician check it, why did he not find it? If the copper had not been properly soldered...that would have been a defect in materials or workmanship. It's not like thousands of units are having the same problem as yours. Perhaps in the installation process it was bumped or something to shift the distributer... How would that be Trane's fault?
    People forget...Warranties are against defects in materials and workmanship in the building of a unit, not against some knucklehead that does not know how to handle the equipment during installation or some home-owner that doesn't want to pay to have annual check-ups.

    -1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.