The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Target Corporationjob giveaway

I have worked for Target for 2 1/2 years. About a year ago, my mom passed away. I had to immediately leave for her funeral. While I was gone Target gave away my job and reasonable accommodation! When I came back I had nothing. They just wanted me to go home and I said no. I will not leave this store until you get me a job and get it now!! However, the job they got me was not in line with my reasonable accommodation. They, Target, claim that it is/was. I know it is not. I am standing 70% of the time and my restriction is much lower than that. Target accepted this restriction when I was hired and now lied to me. I have turned them into the EEOC for disability discrimination. I would not advise anyone to work there. They are nothing but a dictatorship in a democracy or at least that is how they operate.

Responses

  • Sp
    spookyone Mar 11, 2013

    What is wrong with you? You acknowledge that you were aware of the 90 day return policy when you made the purchase, now you have the audacity to act like the injured party when you try to return something eleven months later? You acknowledge making the purchase in September. This is posted in August. ELEVEN MONTHS!

    0 Votes
  • Sp
    spookyone Mar 11, 2013

    You give truly disabled persons a bad name. You don't say, but from your wording I'm betting you didn't inform the store of why you were going to miss work for your mom's funeral, you just no-showed, and I bet you were gone more than the two or three days a company usually allows for a parent's death, too. Am I right? It was a give-away when you said "I had to immediately leave for her funeral." Because both of my parents are dead so I KNOW how that goes, and the funeral never happens all that quickly. There is PLENTY of time to call your employer and say "Hey, my mom passed away and I have to go to XXXXX for the funeral. I'll be back by YYYYY date." I actually went to work one of the two days immediately after my dad died because his funeral wasn't until three days later. I called my boss the morning after, explained that my dad had died and I needed to make arrangements. We easily got the arrangements made that day, and I went to work the next day. I took off for the funeral and the next couple of days for bereavement, then I went back to work. My mom was in a different city, so I called my boss and let him know I'd be gone, then was gone for 4 days--one more than my company routinely provides--because I lived so far away. But had my employer not known where I was and why, I sure wouldn't expect them to hold my job, and they have no legal obligation to if you have not applied for and received leave under the "Family Medical Leave Act." You can't just not go to work, say "My mom died, " and magically get your job back. You were EXTREMELY lucky to get another job with them.

    And BTW, every job is a dictatorship. Jobs are not democracies. None of them are. Grow up already.

    0 Votes
  • Sp
    spookyone Mar 11, 2013

    Scooter, that it is a Target brand proves it came from a Target store. It doesn't prove the Target store was PAID for it--that is what a receipt proves. Target is very liberal with returns on items you purchased with a credit card, and will refund them without a receipt if you present the card you used for payment. I do it all the time. If you don't have a receipt and didn't pay with a card, you're SOL, and their posted policy says so. You seem to have done it a lot of times--aren't you aware by now that you need a receipt? Why keep returning things without one? Insanity is sometimes defined as doing the same thing over and over and expecting different results. Keep that in mind.

    0 Votes
  • Dr
    drift13b Mar 07, 2011

    People steal things, then return them for money. Hence the requirement for a receipt

    1 Votes
  • Po
    pobarjenkins Feb 20, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I'm going to go to the superbowl next year and tell them I lost my ticket but I really did pay for one. I'll show them my bank statement and then I'll let you know what they say.

    3 Votes
  • Po
    pobarjenkins Feb 20, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    If you know you need a receipt why do you keep showing up without one? It is the ONLY proof that you purchased that product, where you purchased it, when you purchased it, and how you purchased it. All of these details (including how much you purchased it for) are required to execute a proper return. You are being silly. Do not blame others for your own carelessness. Save your receipt... always. They are allowing you the opportunity to return something, and you are refusing to follow their very simple guideline. You have no excuses here, and Target has done nothing wrong.

    2 Votes
  • Oh
    OhWowReally Feb 19, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My recommendation would not start your official letter to the Target CEO "My name is Scooter." If I'm the Target CEO and read this line, I would either immediately not take what I am about to read seriously, or would immediately shred and move on to the next "I'm better than everyone else" customer, who did not hear the word "no" nearly enough growing up.

    1 Votes
  • Ac
    Ace.Scooter Feb 19, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    To: Mr. Gregg Steinhafel
    Target Corporate Office | Headquarters
    1000 Nicollet Mall
    Minneapolis, MN 55403

    Greetings Mr. Steinhafel,

    My name is Scooter and I frequently shop your Target stores throughout the year as it very convenient to my home and work. I’m employed in a large box retail store and understand how employees and policies exemplify customer service. I also understand how frustrating returns and exchanges are and can be. However, that last few times I’ve shopped your store I was highly disappointed and unsure if I will ever shop at another Target again.

    The last couple times I’ve attempted to return or exchange a Target brand item I’m quickly faulted because I don’t have my receipt(s) and it’s been rocky from then on. From check out to the customer service desk I’ve experienced numerous problems that I just cannot let it go untold. When I’m first engaged at your customer service desk to make a return or exchange the person behind the counter coldly ask for my receipt then immediately scolds and advises me there is no way you are able to return or exchange your own Target Brand unopened product without a receipt. Clearly it is an unopened Target brand item so I’m being accused of stealing. I can assure you with bank statements that I’ve made plenty of purchases at your store and did not steal this product nor produce it in my bathroom.

    This is by no means will be an exhaustive list of the poor customer service I’ve received. This attitude and policy is unacceptable and nobody should be treated in this manner. I hope that this is a last-time experience that I will never have to endure again. However, I feel compelled to make my complaint known if for no other reason than I do not wish to see anyone else go through an experience such as this. Please respond with how you have handled this issue and how I can be sure this will never happen to me again.

    Sincerely,

    Scooter

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    mal experiencia Jul 03, 2010

    I hate target, But I know where you are coming from. Targets PDA gives only scant information on certain Items. CHRISTMAS really messes them up. The fact of the matter is that target gets shipments every night. The PDA and store registers can identify whats sold out but not in the same day.
    It can take 2 to 3 weeks to reshelve certain items. In my case, it took 30 days to restock converters. In that case, I couldn't give out a raincheck because stock was so bad that we weren't getting the same item. The raincheck wouldn't have been redeemable.
    As for going to walmart, good for you. I believe in a free economy. Although, I could tell you to go to walmart before, I feel okay to tell you THATS NOT A BIG THREAT. WALMART IS THE SAME KIND OF LOSER TARGET IS.

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Rick082870 Jun 16, 2010

    CRY ME A RIVER!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Rick082870 Jun 16, 2010

    You need to take more responsibility for your own actions, after the first dent i would have checked the 2nd cooler just to make sure, "things happen" Sorry you had to drive a hole 20 min out of your way.
    CRY ME A RIVER!!!

    0 Votes
  • Da
    DanK33 Feb 23, 2010

    Target.com advertised small computer for $199 online and said only available in stores. Website then directed me to the nearest store that had merchandise in stock. Went to store and was told they had none and did not have any at all that day. They then refused rain check and refused to let me know if and when more stock would arrive and told me that Target.com and Target stores had no connection to each other. The website purposely sends you to a store to buy something that they never had to begin with and then refuses to accept any responsibility. I took this complaint up with every person in that store and then with Target.com and then with target Corporation and no one at any level would resolve this issue and made the same claim of no connection of stores and website, thus admitting that this is a fraudulent way to drive customers into the store for merchandise that is not there, hoping they will then shop. I made it clear to everyone at every level of customer service at Target Corporation that after shopping there regularly for 45 years that I would never do so again. They did not care. Target used to have the best customer service of any business and now has none whatsoever. WalMart has won over my business from here on.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    MIDNIGHTCOBRA Feb 25, 2009

    as you say "The store manager should of been more helpful." you mean compensation for your time correct... NO SIR... you said yourself that the box was fine and it was put on the the... since it was dented that is a manufacturing issue not with Target!

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    MIDNIGHTCOBRA Feb 25, 2009

    Thanks Robbie for explaining this to this incompetent person...

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Marcia Nov 09, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My husband & I tried to purchase a 12 bottle wine cooler today from Target. In our Sunday paper, the Target ad had a great price on a 12 bottle wine cooler. We went to the Target in our town and realized when we got home, the cooler was scratched and dented. My husband returned it and than drove to a Target in a nearby town (20 minutes car ride) and brought home wine cooler #2. It turned out this one had a huge dent in it. The box was perfect so my husband did not check the appliance before leaving the store. Our mistake!! He drove back to the second store and talked with the store manager who was willing to give us a $3 credit for our trouble. We wasted 4 hours trying to make a purchase. Target needs to check their merchandise before putting it on on the shelf. The store manager should of been more helpful. Why should we have to check the merchandise that closely before we leave the store. I AM DONE SHOPPING AT TARGET. TARGET HAS LOST MY BUSINESS

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    Robbie Oct 29, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Did the receipt not say when it expires? Or maybe you didn't see the return policy printed on the back of the receipt? Target did not just come up with this return policy out of the blue. It is the same if you were to go to Wal-Mart also. Use some common sense, it is not that hard to follow some simple rules. You can return an item with a receipt within 90 days. Once that 90 days is up, they can't do anything, simple as that. Get over it, it is your fault anyways.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chris Aug 28, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    What kind of item is it you are attempting to return?

    0 Votes
  • Valerie Aug 11, 2008

    I bought a Christmas present at target which cost $150. I started shopping early in September and noticed that they have a 90 day return policy. I understand this so I am not requesting a refund just a store credit. I was told that they will do nothing. The item is unopened and they still sell the product. This is a horrible way to treat the consumer especially since they just opened a Target right across from my work.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.