The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Spinal Decompression Drx9000False Claim

S Review updated:

DRX9000 is another trip/trap designed to TAKE ADVANTAGE OF PEOPLE IN DESPERATE PAIN.

Read this and then run, don't walk, the other way:

For those who don't know, the DRX 9000 is a fancy traction table billed by those who treat back pain (mainly chiropractors and in my area a group of DO's) as a spinal "decompression" unit. I initially became suspicious and concerned about the device when I had several back pain patients that were previously treated at the DO's facility. The ALL said that their treatment consisted of daily treatments for 6 weeks of spinal decompression in the DRX 9000, water massage (like you see in malls) and blowing up a balloon. The latter is a whole other subject to post about. The point here is the DAILY treatment for 6 weeks. Regardless if they had simple mechanical LBP, HNP, stenosis, etc, everyone seems to have received the same treatment. The worst part is, in many cases, their insurance companies did not pay for this plan of care.

Now the Tampa Tribune reports the manufacturer, Axiom Worldwide, was raided by FBI agents this morning. Why? The story doesn't say, but Dean Moyer over at Rebuild Your Back states this:


Rumor has it that the allegations leveled against Axiom are:

* Axiom instructs DRX 9000 clinic owners how to defraud insurance companies in the training manuals that come with the machine.

* Axiom provides false advertising materials … in the form of slick infomercials and print advertising … as part of the DRX-9000 package.

* Claims of FDA approval are distorted and misrepresented as a selling point in the commercials. The truth is, the U.S. Food and Drug Administration has never evaluated the machine for safety or effectiveness. As it turns out, the DRX was grandfathered in because it is similar to other traction tables and, therefore, considered an existing medical device.

* The claim by Axiom that their machine is based on NASA research is a total fabrication. NASA has never played a part in the development of the DRX or any other spinal decompression machine.

What can you do? Educate, educate, educate. Don't be afraid to tell people the truth. There is NO literature that shows the DRX 9000 to be more beneficial than standard traction and not much literature that shows traction, in general is helpful. Hopefully the Feds can help put a stop to people using "Dr." to dupe the layperson in to forking over money for treatment that is excessive in number and in no way has been shown to be better than less expensive treatment.

Responses

  • Al
    Alexander Willman Jul 01, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am now 71 and since 2018, I was swimming 3 miles per week and completing 90 pushups every Saturday. Then on Dec 30 2019, the pain in my right thigh was so intense, I had to crawl to the bathroom from my bed - A BIG Ouch!. Went to local clinic, got X-rays, and was diagnosed with bilateral degenerative facet arthropathy at L-4 and L-5. MRI confirmed this and the clinic's doctor recommended epidermal injection. Based on two separate doctors advice against this, I went to Dr. Szajowitz in Carlsbad CA, for 14 treatments on the DRX9000. Also went to an excellent physical therapist in Encinitas, and upon her recommendation, I did specific mild stretching exercises daily. Due to COVID, the pool closed, and I walk for 1.5 - 2 miles every afternoon. Now, 6 months later, I have only mild pain, and would recommend the DRX9000 to others with similar diagnosis of sciatica.

    0 Votes
  • Rv
    R Vance Nesbitt Jan 27, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    15 years ago I was diagnosed with Degenerative Disc Disorder in my L4-L5. Of course the spinal doctor wanted to cut into me. Now I'm am a 30 year combat medical and EMS veteran. I know something about the body. I was not about to let them cut into my back, or more to the point thru to my back. Interestingly enough my Chiropractor told me about the 1 DRX 9000 machine in AZ at the time. So I went and talked with the DO who had it and did my own research. I did 22 sessions. With a good stretching routine after treatment I can tell you that 1- I have had ZERO back problems sense the treatment and 2- my x-rays every two years continue to show no degeneration of the L4-L5. So from a medical professional and patient point of view this machine works for specific spinal/disc issues and the 20 plus people I have recommended this treatment to have had similar results. Not one has had a bad experience or outcome.

    2 Votes
  • Qb
    qbert777_99 qbert777_99 Mar 22, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am writing this as my concern is this. Westborough Spine Center is in business to make $$$$ Money and lots of it.
    By preying on the week and stupid or less educated. The Spine Machine does not do what it is promoted to do.
    Dr. Paul Turner is a very SAD, excuse for a Doctor. Never reviewed my MRIs or cared about my well being.
    I stopped treatment because 1st the machine was not fixing my spine and last time it malfunctioned and where was the doctor when I kept yelling for him. In the other room probably booking his Friday afternoon golf game.
    I asked why he took so long to take care of me. His machine was pulling with so much force to was causing more pain than I was in before in my life. Torture of this kind was also used years ago in a device called the "RACK", where they would stretch your arms and legs. Only difference, we called these people Monsters to there face.
    This place is bad. I see the good reviews, they are [censor]. This chiropractor is a lazy, money sucking, don't care about you at all waste of space and money. He hides behind his machine. It does not work. Please I beg of you do your homework. Too many doctors out there prey on the weaker and profit $$$$$$. " The Westborough Spine Center, DRX9000, and Dr. Paul Turner are not worth your time & effort. Boris

    -1 Votes
  • Li
    LizzyMIA Dec 12, 2016

    I have 3 herniated cervical discs with C6-C7 being severe. Three neurosurgeons (1 in Fl and 2 in CA Cedars-Sinai) stating I needed disc fusion (very invasive surgery). I also have 2 herniated discs in my lunar region. I found a wellness center offering DRX decompression and I decided to try once more as I had already gone to chiropractors and physical therapists for my pain. I did 3 sessions/week of the DRX for a month and a half and told once a month to go in for maintenance. I couldn't be happier! The pain, the headaches, the shooting pain down my arm/fingers gone! This guy that posted this article is just upset he lost his clients. I'm not sure if this treats all spine ailments but it works great for herniated discs with narrowing foramens. I'm not sure if it'll last forever but I can at least delay surgery which everyone I've spoken to says to wait as long as possible. They all got had a year-long recovery and not sure it was worth it. Some still have pain and/or numbness in fingers.

    2 Votes
  • Ar
    A.Ray Feb 16, 2016

    I personally had a very serious lower lumbar issue with al my L1-S1 having herniated discs. My worse was 10mm in the S1 position. I can honestly say that my active lifestyle came to an end when I my employer found me on the floor at the office. I was rushed to the ER and give nothing but, a BS pain killer shot as well as a pain killer. However, I was in such pain that the only thing that worked was laying on my back or side, after that incident. That same day my close friend called around to a few chiropractors and found one that he liked. My friend also, had gone through decompression therapy years ago.
    Fast forwarding to present, I have a lifetime of free treatments with this doctor while he is in practice. Which I do occasionally use, because I try and be a bit more active. If you opt out to have this treatment, remember, you have to have a lifestyle change. A diet, a light workout, being able to attend therapy, and most important educate yourself. My friend has not had any episodes occur for years. You will have to wear a brace for your back for the majority of time while doing the treatment, but, it's not the end of the world. I rather see the doctor a few times a year for a tune up then, put myself underneath the knife and God forbid have something happen.

    3 Votes
  • Do
    Don Benedict Jan 31, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am undergoing treatment of spinal decompression with the DRX9000. Tomorrow with be my tenth treatment. I could barely walk into the Chriopractor's office on the first day and now I am walking pretty good. I snowblower my whole driveway this weekend! Yes, I am still having bum pain, but little leg pain. So I can say that there has been sugnificant improvement with 9 treatments. The total cost of 22 treatments will be 4000.00 with1500 covered by my extended health insurance (Sunlife). YES, if my pain goes away and stays away, the money is well worth the investment. I am retired, but I want my life back too without the dam pain.

    Comments

    3 Votes
  • Ko
    Kohut Jean Oct 11, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    After a session of cleaning out kitchen cupboards in the summer of 2013 my back bothered me. Of course I thought from the stooping and bending. But, it got worse and worse until by Fall of 2013 it was agony going through the grocery store, trying to make a simple dinner was agony. It felt like a vise was squeezing my lower back. I had to take small steps to walk, and before I could drive the short distance from work to home I found myself desperately digging for Tylenol in my car. I went to our chiropractor who immediately said sounds like spinal stenosis. I had an MRI prescribed by an MD. Degenerative arthritis of the lower back and the start of spinal stenosis. I was offered epidurals and pain killers. I refused the epidurals but got the RX so I could sort of function better and sleep better.

    I went back to our chiropractor, he recommended a series of 10 treatments on the DRX 9000. After 5 I saw much improvement after 8 I felt as if none of the above had ever happened. I added Pilates to my regimen and two years later I am still functioning very well. Once in awhile I get a little tightness after a long day on my feet but I can do my stretching exercises and the next day I can function through my very busy day just fine. M

    I have two friends who saw the same chiropractor and used the DRX and 2 years later they are still virtually pain free. You can live a normal life with DRX treatments. Follow up exercises for whatever your condition might be also, play a critical role. I thank God for our chiropractor and the DRX 9000. JK

    4 Votes
  • J9
    J989 Oct 16, 2014

    This machine is the best and here's why: Traction pulling from the cable is to not just stretch your neck back out to normal length given that the spinal discs have shrunk down in size but it actually causes a vacuum to help fill the discs back up with fluid and mass. This machine does it slowly even though I wish to speed up the process but there is a lawsuit factor there, so the machine takes time and does it gently. The other thing that you can not copy as if you attempt to build such a device at home with weights is that the angle of the cable pull target the exact few discs that are the worst off. This machine is the best of all Chiro machines, that is why it made it without all the legal processes etc. Take advantage of people in pain? It's incredible how this anti-chiro campaign still exists like it did badly 13 years ago where Medicare would throw the bills in the round file along with Blue Cross in Redbluff. They are not "concerned" for anyone but their own wealth. They have their minds already made up out to prove what they want to already believe? No instead they know very well that it is them who is preposterous pretending to be concerned about you

    3 Votes
  • Lo
    Long Island Long Beacher Jun 18, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    A series of lumbar MRI images over a four year period shows my spine is better today than it was years ago. That said, I'm getting older and back still requires periodic shots, opiates and weekly therapy/DRX treatment. Truth is biggest cure is relieving daily stress. Next in my view is the MRI films show how important the machine has been in my ability to function. Two years ago, i needed a cane and was forced to go out on short-term disability. Today, i get up at 4 am, usually walk to the train, take the train for an hour followed by two subways. After work, i reverse the commute except my wife usually picks me up at the local station. I know I couldn't do it five days a week if it wasn't for the DRX. Just make sure there's trust with the doctor as it gets expensive.

    3 Votes
  • An
    Andrew Reno DC, CCIC Jul 24, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have been using the treatment for seven years now. We have saved hundreds of patients from opoids, injections, second and first back surgeries. Opioid addiction now kills more people than car accidents and sucide combined. The FBI has now labeled it an epidemic. The procedure flat out works!! You should see benefits in your first 10 visits. If not then go do the most dangerous procedures such as injections and being put to sleep for your "elective surgery".
    I have never met a surgeon worth his salt that pushed for elective low back surgery. I have never met a chiropractor or PT that did not know when a surgeon was absolutely necessary. Don't be fooled by the FBI raid. I live near Quanico Virginia and have helped several agents avoid all of the above. To find a good doc make sure he has connections with good nerosurgeons and performs PT as well. Sometimes a team approach is necessary. The only way we save healthcare is to work together to avoid all of the drugs and overuse of profitable dangerous surgeries this country uses. America comprises 5% of the words population yet consumes 90% of the words narcotics. Many PCPs are waking up and good pain management doctors are working hard to find less addictive or non-addictive topical creams. We are working together everyday to help patients from addiction and the cascade effect that low back surgery creates.
    Yours in health,
    Andrew Reno DC, CCIC

    4 Votes
  • Hi
    Hidden Fees May 07, 2013

    The DRX9000 was a Godsend to me. I was in unbearable pain for 6 months and scheduled for removal of 3 herniated discs and the fusion of 4 vertebrae by a noted neurosurgeon in Southlake, TX. After 20 sessions with the DRX9000 I was pain free. That was 2 years ago.

    3 Votes
  • Oc
    ochoninja Nov 14, 2012

    The statement that NASA helped in the development of the machine was not what I read. It stated that it was noticed that in a gravity free atmosphere, the astronauts were taller. Some engineers developed this machine, but nowhere did I read that it had anything to do with NASA. My husband has been going to the Morris Stenosis Center in Santa Monica and they do not just throw you on the machine. Doctor Morris does a thorough initial evaluation and will examine all MRIs, CT scans, X-rays and do testing on flexibility, movement, pain etc. Than one begins with some physical therapy to relax the muscles around the spine to prepare for the decompression, the doctor also teaches us some movements for flexibility and strengthening of muscles and abs to support the back and aid in improvement. The entire staff is very committed and are trained in the procedures and are definitely giving patient centered care. I know some of the procedures as I am an Occupational therapist and have some knowledge of rehab.

    4 Votes
  • Dr
    Dr. Paul M. Turner Dec 14, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    After about 20 yrs of back pain, my fit, strong, active husband, Rob did something major to his back. MRI showed 2 badly herniated discs. He needed surgery but he simply refused to allow anyone cut into his spine. One day Rob’s pain went from bad to debilitating. When I tell you he couldn't move, it is no exaggeration. He couldn’t sit at all. Even a reclining position was unbearable. This meant basically lying on the floor or bed. Even attempting to walk was agonizing. No one could talk him into the surgery-it scared him to death. We have 3 sons and he wanted to be able to be an active part of their lives. He owns a construction company, loves to deep sea fish. Forget it, he couldn’t even join us to the dinner table. This went on for about 5 weeks. I was at my wits end, my poor husband was growing increasingly depressed and he was getting no better with time. About 2:00a.m. one night, in an attempt to learn more about what options he might have other than surgery, I found the info. And web site of Dr. Paul Turner. Westborough is about an hour drive for us, how would I even get him in the car and all the way to Westborough? I watched all the internet news clips and You Tube videos and then brought our lap top to my husband in bed and made him watch. He agreed to try the DRX machine. That morning I called Dr. Turner. He was able to see us right away and that day Rob was on the machine. Dr. Turner explained what he would be able to do with the use of the DRX-we had to try it. We didn’t know what to expect. If this hurt Rob more I could never forgive myself. We took a leap of faith and Rob agreed to try the DRX. That was the first time I had seen my husband in weeks smile. The decompression took the pressure off his discs and he was able to finally breathe. We went every day for about 3 weeks. Dr. Turner was like an angel from heaven. He came in on his week end to treat Rob. It wasn’t over night. The first week we saw very little improvement, but there was improvement. By the end of the 2nd week, he was making big progress and at about 20 sessions, he was 80% pain free. But that wasn’t good enough for either Rob or Dr. Turner. So Rob continued a little bit more (less frequently) until he was nearly perfect. As you can imagine, it was a rebirth for our whole family. And Rob could put his own socks on!!! Let me also tell you, Dr. Turner is not a sales man. He is not a pushy, know-it-all Chiropractor. He is a kind compassionate knowledgeable man who doesn’t bully people. He works entirely on his own and runs his business himself, and he does a perfect job at it. He wants to heal his patients. It has been 2 ½ years since Rob started with Dr. Turner. He goes once a month to keep himself in line and say hello to the man who quite honestly saved his life

    3 Votes
  • Dr
    Dr. Paul M. Turner Nov 27, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The DRX9000 has helped thousands get back to a normal life pain free, Too bad people that treat back pain feel threatened to the point that they have to post misleading comments like this.

    -1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.