The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Savingsace.comUnauthorized Charges

Apparently there was some check box or something that I overlooked when I signed up for MyLife.com (formerly Reunion.com) that allows their "affliliates" to have access to your credit / debit information.

I got an email from Savingsace.com that said the were going to start debiting my bank account.
After spending time on the phone with MyLife (who had an "Oh well you must have authorized it attitude) and doing research I have located a toll-free [protected] at Savingsace.com to cancel your membership.
At first they ask for your membership number, telephone number, and creditcard number followed by the # sign. (YEAH RIGHT...I sure wasn't about to give them my phone number and credit card number again)
I only entered the membership number and then the # sign. It took me to a menu to cancel. It said to hit a number to cancel and seemed to accept it.
I also have been emailing the reunion.com / mylife.com people to complain about their association with this company. I can't believe that ultimately the revenue they might be getting for referrals is worth this bad press.

Responses

  • Ma
    Marleen Kuijs Aug 15, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Ace savings is charging USD 8, 95 every month from my credit card. I have no idea for what.
    I can't recall agreeing on a suscription of any kind.
    I never did any buisiness with Ace savings.
    I live in the Netherlands and want the charging to stop.
    I would also like to receive a refund.

    Please, stop the charging from my creditcard!!!

    Comments

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    bonnie miller2011 Jul 26, 2016

    Never heard of this company before and they billed my credit card i dont even know how they got my information.Dear BONNIE LANE,

    Thank you for contacting Customer Service.

    On November 9th, $ 24.95 was debited from your account by SAVINGSACE, [protected].

    If you did not authorize the transaction, you can choose our Customer Service to file a claim or you can contact the merchant directly.

    Please let us know if you wish to file a claim through our Customer Service.

    Again, thank you for contacting Customer Service.


    ----------------------------------------------------
    Sent: 11/10/2010 10:30:11 AM
    To: JPMCEFS
    Subject: Transaction Inquiry

    Account: Primary (...9104) $6.00
    Reason for Inquiry: What is this transaction?
    Transaction Amount ($): 24.95
    Transaction Date: 11/3/2010
    Message/Comments: [protected]-[protected] savingsace i dont know what this charge is

    0 Votes
  • Cu
    CUTEBIGSEXIWOMAN Jul 26, 2016

    THIS COMPANY SAVINGSACE, WITHOUT MY KNOWLEDGE OR CONSENT, CHARGED MY DEBIT CARD WITH 24.95 FOR SOMETHING I DIDNT HAVE A CLUE WHAT IT WAS. THEY CLAIMED ON JULY 26, 2010 I SIGNED UP FOR THE PROGRAM WHICH I KNOW I DEFINETLY DID NOT, BUT ON THAT DAY I DID MAKE A PURCHASE THRU WALMART'S SITE TO STORE ONLINE, SO I GUESS THIS IS HOW THEY GOT MY INFORMATION. WHEN I CALLED THE COMPANY( IAFTER CALLING MY DEBIT CARD SUPPLIER TO SEE WHERE THE CHARGE CAME FROM) THEY WITHOUT ANY HESITATION AGREED TO CANCEL ME AND REVERSE MY CHARGE WHICH THEY DID 2 DAYS LATER. I FIGURED OUT THEIR SCAM, THEY HOPE THAT PPL WONT NOTICE THEIR CHARGE AND THATS HOW THEY GET A WAY WITH IT, BUT IF YOU DO NOTICE THEY ARE TRAINED TO IMMEDIATELY CANCEL YOU SO WONT MAKE A COMPLAINT LIKE THIS.. SAVINGSACE.COM NEED TO BE INVESTIGATED AND STOPPED

    0 Votes
  • Pi
    Pitarian Jul 26, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I conducted my bi-monthly credit card statement online. What do I find there but a mysterious charge of $19.95 from www.savingsace.com. Now, I know that I didn't authorize the charge. Frankly, I haven't bought clothes in the last six or seven months. And, I am not a consumer. I live simply. I am not looking for major deals when it comes to shopping. I buy some things online, but not the things listed on www.savingsace.com. I called the toll free number on my statement, immediately. The first thing that the computerized voice asked for was a membership number. Since, I didn't authorize this charge, I don't know my membership number. But, they are slick. They requested my credit card number. I gave it to them. The computerized voice guided me through the process of canceling. After I canceled, the computerized voice gave me my membership number. I called back to speak to a live person. I spoke with Shauna (I.D. 700070). I informed her that I thought that since this erroneous charge occurred within the last two weeks that it should be reversed. She stated that it will be reversed. So, I suppose that I can't say that I was ripped off. The company did reverse the charges. It was a waste of my time, however. I think that this case serves as a warning to all that when one signs up for one service (such as MyLife.com), there are other services waiting in the wings to steal all of your information and take money right from under you. It is a form of organized crime. Now, I'm not sure that I trust MyLife.com. It was formerly Reunion.com. I signed up because of an e-mail advertisement that claimed that someone was searching for me. It turned out that someone did in fact look for me. The Gold Membership that I purchased on MyLife.com does not reveal the name of the person 'searching' for me. I feel like a total fool. I'm old as dirt and should have known better, I suppose. But, when my membership led to another charge from another company that I would never be interested in, I became furious. I have filed this [redacted] to warn everyone that Reunion.com, now MyLife.com, is a scam outfit designed to relieve you of your money. Who knows what other companies might be affiliated with this company that does not connect anyone with anyone? They prey on people with fond memories of teenage and young adult years who are interested in connecting with old friends. The problem is that they keep stringing the member along with higher levels of membership to get the 'golden egg' of a connection with old friends. In the end, there isn't anyone to connect with. It is all a game that they play to keep the money flowing in.

    0 Votes
  • Mj
    mjari78 Jul 26, 2016

    I just receive a letter telling me that I''m now a member of SavingAce. I don't even know who they are. They charge my Amex $19.95. Gave a membership # [protected] and told me that I must have received already a Welcome pack, which I haven't. I'll like this people to give me my money back. I know it's not much, but I don't want anything to do with them if that the way they work. I don't even know what they do.
    Thank you
    Mayra A. Rios

    0 Votes
  • Bu
    BUTLER, SALLY Jul 26, 2016

    I DO NOT WANT THIS SERVICE. I DO NOT AGREE 19.95. SALLYBUTLER

    0 Votes
  • Mj
    MJ Sheehan Jul 26, 2016

    Now, that will teach me to not check my credit card statements. I discovered a $24.95 charge from these jokers in March and disputed the charge to my credit card company, who promptly refunded the unauthorized charges. I figured that tmy bank wouldn't allow the charges from SavingsAce again. -- big mistake! What I later learned is that my bank usually doesn't reverse those charges back against the disputed company unless they exceed $30.

    So, I stumbled along unwittingly until I got an e-mail from SAVINGSACE saying that unless I contacted them, they would to increase its automatic monthly membership charge to $29.95.

    Today, I called SAVINGSACE at [protected] and received a prompt e-mail notoce that they closed my account. Meanwhile I have learned from my bank that the jokers had slowly sucked $383.00 out of my acounts since 8Sep09.

    I've initiated fraud action through my bank, but it's just an administrative thing; I might get some of the money back if the bank deems that they should reverse the charges to SAVINSACE.

    Unfortunately, since my account is compromised, the bank closed it and issued a new card. Of course, that's not without causing some hassles changeing automatic payments for utilities, freeway transponders, etc. I've also filed a fraud complaint with the Federal Trade Commission, but they only serve as a data warehouse for local law enforcement, they don't actually investigate or prosecute the fraudulent parties. They did provide me with a nice five-page form that I can turn over to the local police department.

    I have no idea who my credit card information came into the hands of these jerks. I have learned that I will renew receipt of paper bills, discontinue automatic payment of my credit card bill from my bank account, go over my charges closely, AND close my credit card account whenever a disputable charge suggests that the account number was compromised. WATCH OUT FOR SAVINGSACE!!!

    0 Votes
  • An
    annalouisa hernandez Jul 26, 2016

    unautherizedcharges of 49.90 were made on nov12, 2009 i want my money backBalance/Transaction History
    Card InformationCard Information Cardholder Name: ANNALOUISA HERNANDEZ
    Actual Balance: $0.10
    Available Balance: $0.10
    Card Number: XXXX XXXX XXXX 7451
    Expiration Date [MM/YY]: 05/11
    Status: Active

    Note: Your Available Balance may differ from your Actual Balance due to pending transactions that have not yet posted to your account.

    Pending TransactionsPending Transactions No pending transactions found.
    Posted TransactionsPosted Transactions Posted Transaction Details Posted Date Merchant/Location Description Amount
    11-12-2009 MVQ*SAVEACE Purchase of Goods or Services ($49.90)

    0 Votes
  • Me
    Menrace Jul 26, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    SavingsAce charged my Visa 19.95 this month. I didn't catch that they had charged my account last month too . I called today - they said my husband signed up for the savings service when he ordered Christmas gifts back in Dec. from Metro Style apparel. My husband said there was nothing extra he signed or checked. I cancelled today but they tell me it's a valid charge. Now I will call Visa to dispute these charges. I will raise hell until I get my money back.

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    Hallece Jul 26, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This site somehow got my debit card number and started debiting small amounts, like $11.95. When my hubby got the bank statement he blew his lid at me...!!! which made me research this fraudulent company. Do NOT get suckered in, if they bill you go into your bank with your statement and the many complaints of fraud against them. The Bank will back out their money and hopefully get someone to get this THIEVES, . Do not be passive they are robbing you and probably cruising on a large boat from port to port to pick up money. Lets put them all in Jail...

    0 Votes
  • Ni
    Nicole Maxim Dec 28, 2010

    This company is the flock of criminals. When I applied for a service MyLife.com, they had stolen my credit card information and charged me $19.95 without my permission. I called them and asked for my money and they didn't give anything back.
    And I am not the only one. They rob people every day and Police must take care of them.

    0 Votes
  • 4l
    4Leaf_Clover Dec 12, 2010

    I have also been receiving monthly debits from SavingsAce of $16.95. I have no idea what it is and do not use the MyLife.com or Reunion.com and haven't done any online shopping other than on eBay so I have no idea where they got my debit information from.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    moondar Mar 16, 2010

    I was also have an unauthorized charge to my debit card by Savingsace.com

    I have since cancelled my membership and plan to take legal action to try and recieve a refund of the money taken from my account without my permission.

    MyLife .com will also be losing my business, I never gave permission for the to give out my bank information!

    I sure the Better Business Bureau will be happy to investigate!

    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ll
    L. Leidecker Dec 20, 2009

    Yep.
    I signed on for a month of searches on "My Life" and was automatically signed up on Savings Ace...for an undisclosed monthly automatic deduction from my debit card.
    No receipt, just an e-mail stating that if I didn't call their toll-free number to cancel, they'd start deducting.
    The cancellation was easy...I think they're just throwing in a net and seeing what they can drag in, even a one shot charge is worth it for them, right?

    0 Votes
  • De
    Deliverance32 Oct 04, 2009

    From the list of complaints I have read, mine included, it appears that hopefully some lawyer will get burned and file for a class action suit against the lowlifes at Savingsace, and Reunion, Until that happens looks like we lose...

    0 Votes
  • Zu
    Zuzu11 Sep 05, 2009

    To all of you, I checked my bank account and I saw the same thing. My card had been charged $39.95 for something that I never asked for. It was from mylife.com and it stated something to the effect of reunion.com as well. I tried to call them, but they were closed by that time. I will call them again in the morning. More than likely I will get the same thing that everybody else got. If this is the case, we need to raise the bar on this crime. Just think of how many people do not check their accounts that it may have affected. We have got to end this mess because appearntly it has went on for some time.

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    tafoyahl Sep 01, 2009

    just had my account debited!, called [protected] followed prompt's on telephone and canceled membership that i never authorized? they debited 24.95 and then again 24.95 is there something else i should do, to prevent them from debited what ever they want, then have to wait to get my money back???...I am so upset this is why i never, ever should buy anything online!!!

    0 Votes
  • Jp
    J Parker Jun 12, 2009

    I called them at that number.(Call us toll free: [protected]). I did enter my credit card number and the phone message rattled off my member number. The robot instructions allowed me to cancel my membership but I wanted a refund, as I did not knowingly subscribe to this. I was routed to a live customer service representative who canceled my membership and issued a refund. I received an e-mail confirmation immediately and assume that my credit card will be refunded as promised. They did not hassle me or try to talk me out of this at all which is good!

    J. Parker

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    Harv May 29, 2009

    I check my credit card charges every morning. I had a charge from savingsace.com which I have never heard of or visited their site. In talking to Carla at the company, she informed they are discount shopping service which I signed up for on atmylife.com. When I pressed her on when I signed up and other questions, Carla simply informed me that she just canceled my service and the charge would be withdrawn from my card. Strange, I thought for someone who seemed to know my card number and stated I signed up for the service. In checking "Who is this', I found that atmylife.com is available for purchase. I will see if they issue a credit to my card before I contact any legal folks...

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Don Heatherly May 06, 2009

    I was charged $14.95 on my bank account and I don't know what for. I called and they stated it was a subscription to something but gave no details. I was able to cancel my subscription to whatever it was they said I agreed to. I'm concerned as to how they got me bank account number to draft this charge staight out of my account without me knowing it or without me receiving a receipt. I just happen to notice it when I was reconsiling my account. Scarry.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.