The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Santander Consumer USARefuse overpayment refund

S Review updated:

I sent a payment to citifinancial and santander bought out my loan. On sept 25, 2010 my credit union refinanced my auto and sent santander a check for$ 24, 337.93 but my payoff was $23, 474.28 leaving difference of $863.65. Santander also recieved my payment from citifinancial in amount of $712.00 that they also cashed. I'm being told that they can't tell me where my money in over payment went, and on nov. 10, 2010 my credit union faxed a copy of both cleared checks, and asked that santander find this over payment money and send back to me. Both checks cleared oct. 1, 2010, i've been waiting over month for these refunds for overpayments, but still nothing. When I call and speak to someone they tell me no refund due, i'll recieve payment 30 days after payoff is recieved, or payment will be sent 30 days after titled is sent, again it's a bunch of bull and I have not recieved a dime.

Responses

  • Ch
    Charles Marquette May 28, 2020
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    SANTANDER’ SHADY DEALINGS

    I had an account with then Gateway One Lending & Finance up until my last payment on a car loan.
    Before I made my final payment on the loan, 'Gateway One Lending' was bought out by SANTANDER CONSUMER USA. The remaining amount to pay off the loan was (or rather should have been) $578.48. I found out about all of this when I did call to make my final payment. It was SANTANDER who answered my call. About this time, I was in the process of selling the car but I needed the title so I sent SANTANDER a Post Office Money Order for the remaining amount. When I called back to check if they received the Money Order, their answer was "No, we have not received anything." I needed the title as soon as possible so I did ask them if I could make the payment over the phone and when they receive the Money Order just return back to me. To that they responded "Sure, we can do that." So I did make the final payment over the phone (with an added "fee" they don't explain why). Two more days later I went back to the Post Office to find out why SANTANDER had not received my mail. As it turned out, based on Post Office record, Santander had received my mail with the payment just two days after I sent it in. Furthermore, the Post Office provided me with a scanned copy of the delivery which contains the date, the recipient’s address and signature. I also asked the Post Office if they could find out if the Money Order had been cashed or deposited and they said “yes, we can do that.” On March 26, I received from the Post Office a copy of the Money Order—front and back—that was deposited by SANTANDER. Since then, I’ve been trying to get my money back without any success. I cannot believe that we have this lending entity outright stealing with impunity from common folks. But I’m about to let these crook [censored] know that I’m not going out silent.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Maryann Duncan Mar 30, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My loan was paid off 2/1/16. It was over paid $530. They never sent a refund supposedly until 3/7/16...over 30 days after being paid off! Its been 2 months and I still havent gotten my money. I have called numerous times and get a different story each time! Then Im told my check cant be reissued until its missing 30 days??? I was also told it was a debit card refund issued by a 3rd party and given a card company to contact to see where it is. I was told accounting would look into it...and to call back 3-5 days later...I did that TWICE...Nothing!! One rep gave me a number to call..it was a fax number! Now I have the number to the "office of the president" which I have yet to call...I filed a complaint yesterday with the PA Banking Commission. I dont know if they can help. Perhaps the credit union that paid them off can help? I doubt it. I'm very pissed at them. I also went to a local retail branch and the CSR there couldnt barely speak english and she couldnt explain ANY of the paperwork I was signing for a personal loan to buy a hearing aid. I was called by a division doing satisfaction surveys...the guy hung up on me after the 2nd question. Total incompetence beginning to end.

    0 Votes
  • No
    NOJ Knowsbest Sep 30, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Maryann Duncan I recieved my refund with interest

    0 Votes
  • Jj
    jj261 Jan 27, 2012

    Today JAN 27, 2012 they still need to send me my over payment of 740.00 dollars. It has been 9 days from when they said it would arrive and about one and half months since I paid off my truck.. Everything they are telling me matches everything being posted in this blog. Has anyone eventually received their over-payment? If I do not get it next week I will start looking for an attorney that handles consumer abuse by financial institution. Send me an email if you finally received yours or if you currently have a law suit which you would like me to join. My email is [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Fe
    FeliciaBrooke Aug 20, 2011

    They did the same thing to me only I had 4 payments left to make on the car! 2006 Aveo car worth $13, 000 purchased in 2006, had it for 5yrs and they repo it stating my loan maturity date expired in July 2011. No phone call or paperwork stated I was deliquent only them showing up with a tow truck !! They said that because I called and resheduled my payment 3 times in 5 yrs that enabled the loan to mature and expire due to the fact that the car should have been paid off July 2011. So basically I paid $450 a month for 5yrs ($27, 000) for a car worth $13, 000. after they repod the car they told me i needed to pay $4200 to get the car back and would not negotiate any type of payment plan!! and yes the harrassment for payments is an automated service that calls you prior and after payments lookin for more $$$. If you needed to contact them you will be sent to an automated recording never a person unless its to give money!!

    0 Votes
  • Ag
    A.G. TILLIS Jan 14, 2011

    I agree!!! My daughter's car note is held by Santander Consumer USA. Santander's statements demand payment of an amount which includes their late fee, even though payments are not yet due. My daughter was paying the full amount they demanded, even though she was paying on time, but wasn't receiving credit for the full amount. When Santander began calling every day demanding payment, I was prompted to look at my daughter's statements. Their statements are misleading, their practices are illegal and I was stunned when I saw that the interest rate was an illegal, unconscionable 25% . My many calls to them, demanding an explanation hgyuresulted in nothing but double talk. My requests for the name of a manager and to speak to one of them, were refused. Resolving a problem is accomplished only by the active cooperation of both parties, but Santander neither wanted to resolve the problem, nor to cooperate. Therefore, my only recourse is to institute a lawsuit on behalf of my daughter against them. If anyone has experienced similar overcharges, illegal interest rates and is part of a lawsuit which my daughter can join please let me know. Otherwise, I will proced on behalf of my daughter, and if anyone is interestd in joining in the action, please let me know and I can convert it to a class action, [email protected]
    A.G. TILLIS

    1 Votes
  • Bi
    Billybill Dec 17, 2010

    Hi David A Miller, I agree to what you are saying. I am also in the same boat where you all are. They took my overpayment which was left after payoff, they also took away my gap insurance money and they don't know how and why accounting department did this. and now they refuses to give me my money back and they are very rude and simlar reply wait for 5 to 6 weeks and after that again 5 to 6 weeks. I wish if someone has so much power that they can sue this company and shut it down. this company is really a night mare and I don't know how they manage to buy our loans from other banks. I hope if we could take this all the way to the higher authority who has power to shut this company down and get all of our money back...

    0 Votes
  • Da
    David A Miller Nov 26, 2010

    CALL TO ACTION: I suggest everyone call [protected] and leave Kristin Caldwell a message with your complaint. BE PASSIONATE. BE DETERMINED. BE JUST AS RUDE AS THEIR COLLECTIONS DEPARTMENT CAN BE. DON'T BE AFRAID. DONT'T DELETE ANY MESSAGES THEY LEAVE FROM YOUR DEVICES. I'm in the same situation as everyone here. Been waiting on $440.65 refund for 5 months. During my second call to Santander back in August 2010 I was told by a Santander CSR, "Make sure that you stay on top of this and keep calling Santander". I should have paid better attention to this obvious warning. Kristin Caldwell did nothing more than delay me another 45-days. The check she told me "was in the mail" never arrived. If we can get organized...we can can change this. FIRST: Social Networking is powerful. TELL ALL your FACEBOOK friends about Santander's scam and ask them to help spread the word. SECOND: File a formal complaint with your State's Department of Consumer Protection, State's Attorney General's Office, and the Better Business Bureau. This is very important. THIRD, if you have the means, by all means, contact an attorney. If this is not an option and you're willing to make a difference. WE...as a group...can solicit the help of legal counsel for a class-action suit against Santander. Serious, sincere, and honest inquires [email protected]

    2 Votes
  • Je
    Jerry M Nov 23, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am in ths same boat as you. My car was paid off Sept. 17, 2010 and as of Nov. 22, 2010 have not received a refund of overpayment. I have been misinformed and lied to by their customer service reps and managers. I have been told that a check refund was logged on Nov. 12 and it should take 10 days. When I called to complain of the check not being received that requested I should give it until Nov. 26, 2010. Who else can we complain to about this injustice. I have also contacted the Better Business Bureau in Dallas and they have given me a case number.

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.