Royal Holiday Clubscammed by royal holiday club!

1
M

My wife and I got scammed in buying a vacation membership in mexico in 2004. We attended their so called presentation. After the presentation we explained to them that we owned at timeshare else where and couldn't afford double the maintenance fees. They brought in a fellow named mr. Waller (So called trade in specialist).

He told us that they would purchase our timeshare for x amount of $ and that the proceeds from this transaction would pay for our membership with money to spare and that this transaction would take no longer than 90 days.

We were also give a coupon which we could trade in for a certificate redeemable in 30 years for the value of the membership bought, but to much of our surprise, and it was not explained to us at the time of purchase, on the back of the certificate it said (If the clubs operating rules were not followed, did not make fee payment and other details, this certificate would be null and void). This certificate according to royal would be just like getting your money back on the purchase so the membership would cost nothing.

When we arrived home I was in constant contact with royal time and time again, asking them when the proceeds from the timeshare would be available so we could pay off our membership, all I got was the run around and (We'll check on the progress and get back to you.) this went on for quite some time with no positive action on their behalf and pleading with them that time was of the essence and the 90 days were coming up fast and if we didn't receive these proceeds, we would be stuck making monthly payments we couldn't afford. Then we received a form from a resort service (Contacted by royal) saying they would list our timeshare for a one time fee, (This was when we new we had been lied to about the purchase of our timeshare by royal).

I contacted royal again and asked them what this was all about and they said they do not purchase timeshares. A year had passed and we never used our membership so in nov 2005 I wrote royal a letter stating I wanted to cancel our membership with them and our account was paid in full and our fees were paid up to dec 5 and we would no longer be accountable for any more fees or charges what so ever. We never heard back from them. Next I got a phone call from concord servicing saying I owed fees for 2006 and special hurricane assessment, I told them that I had canceled my membership and would not be paying anything.

I then contacted royal again and told them about the phone call and for them to notify concord not to bother us again and that I canceled my membership in nov 2005.

I've been in constant contact by e-mail with royal about this problem and all they tell me is you cannot cancel your membership you signed a contract for 30 years and if you do not pay, you will be contacted by their collection agency. I told them that their contract was misleading, fraudulent, one sided, all for the company and not for its members. I've been lied to, scammed, told untruths, broken promises, just down right blackmail.

People beware of these scammers... They will do anything to mislead you, tell lies, use fraudulent practices, high pressure sales, and just make your life a nightmare...

Responses

  • Ca
    Cameron Hursh Dec 28, 2006

    I couldn't agree more.

    I had the same experience from the RHC salesperson. I thought I was ready for it. I had the logical sense why this was not a good deal. The salesperson added in a lot of things that weren't part of RHC to entice me. I asked for the RHC club rules book to review it before we met back up the next morning, but he wouldn't give it to me to review (big mistake on my part).
    I am currently trying to dump my RHC membership and would like a tip on the best way to do so.

    Thanks,
    Cameron

    0 Votes
  • Se
    Seth Nuels Dec 28, 2006

    Has anyone ever successfully cancelled their membership with RHC?

    I would love nothing more than to be done with this company.

    My credit card # they have is set to expire, and I'm seriously thinking about not giving them a new one and testing the waters with their collections agency.

    0 Votes
  • Te
    Terry D Jan 10, 2007

    My wife and I were suckered into RHC in Sep 2002. We have used the program several times: 1 cruise (totally stunk), twice in Cancun (and they try to sell you more....), once in Orlando (dirty accommodations), and once in Las Vegas (by far the best). The reservations desk is horrible - it is difficult to understand partially English speaking consultants. After paying for our entire membership off in full, we started getting coupon payment books in the mail. Thankfully, we received a payoff in full letter from the Miami finance company, which was forwarded to the current finance company. All in all, this was a learning experience.... never again! I am looking to sell the membership, but I can't find any company to sell it from without asking for advertising fees or other form of fee. I would be willing to sell at a discounted price to avoid any further out of pocket costs. Those fly-by-night telemarketers prompting to sell my membership for as little as $200. are nothing more than scam artists.... Not one has been able to convince me that their service is reliable, and can provide me money without any additional costs on my end. For example, say if I wanted to sell my membership for 13K. They could sell it for whatever they want, just as long as they send me 13K. They tell me that my membership is worth $20K plus.... okay, then sell it and send me $13K. Whats the problem? They could make $7K plus profit.... "But we need your credit card number." No you don't - send me a certified check in the mail!!!! Once it clears, then I'll release the membership via a trusted third party.

    0 Votes
  • Valerie Jan 19, 2007

    While vacationing in the Bahamas in 8/2004, my Fiancé and I signed a contract for membership with the Royal Holiday Club (RHC). The contract was to provide a service for lodging and other benefits which form part of the club’s vacation plan. After several months of problems with getting accommodations, we stopped sending $722.00 monthly payments per our contract. We tried to arrange trips with Royal Holiday for vacations only to be given the run around and excuses for why we could not be accommodated. We tried several times to get accommodations in Atlantic City, NJ only to be told by the Royal Holiday Representative that Brigantine Beach Resort was booked for up to a year. Prior to signing the contract at the orientation, we told the Representative that we frequent Atlantic City often and wanted to know if RHC was flexible in providing accommodations to Atlantic City. We were assured that RHC was very flexible and we would have no problems with getting accommodations. Boy, what a lie. We were intentionally misled into believing that we would be able to get accommodations with no problem. We have encountered nothing but problems trying to use this plan. On another occasion I called to get accommodations in Atlantic City and was told that the closest they could get us was Connecticut, which is about 200 miles North of Atlantic City. In 2004, I called to get accommodations at Disney World for my Grandson's birthday in 3/2005 and was told that they did not have accommodations in Disney World, but they could get us accommodations in Cancun at some point. What happened to the flexibility that they discussed during the orientation? We have tried on numerous other occasions to get accommodations with RHC with no success. We were paying $722.00 on time each month and still paying out of pocket for our vacations because we could not use the (total contract cost $29,000) travel package with RHC. My experiences with them have been so frustrating that I refuse to deal with them any further. During a conversation with a RHC Representative in 11/2004 when trying to get accommodations, I was told that they will only give us accommodations if we paid the annual fee which was not even due at the time I tried to make accommodations (another excuse). After we returned home from our vacation, RHC kept calling trying to pressure us into paying our account in full. I finally told them not to call my home again. To date, we have paid Royal Holiday $9,416.00 and have received no services from them. We refuse to continue paying Royal Holiday and still pay out of pocket for our vacations. They have also ruined my credit by sending my name to the credit bureaus. It doesn’t matter that they have breached the contract; they want us to continue paying them per the contract. We want nothing more to do with RHC.

    In 11/2006, we referred our case to the BBB of Southeast Florida. The BBB Representative sent our complaint to RHC and they refused to reply. RHC refuses to put anything down on paper. Their Representative (Tony Hernandez) will only harass and try to intimidate us over the phone. Our case was closed with the BBB on 12/20/2006 due to RHC’s refusal to respond to the complaint. The BBB referred me to another agency and provided the following information: “Based on BBB files, this company has an unsatisfactory record with the Bureau due to unanswered complaints regarding contract and selling issues. Consumer complaints state misrepresentation and high pressure selling practices, failure to disclose conditions of the offer and verbal representations not consistent with written terms of the contract. The company has a pattern of failure to eliminate basic cause of complaints and a pattern of no replies to customer complaints brought to its attention by the Bureau. The Bureau processed a total of 158 complaints about this company in the last 36 months, our standard reporting period. Of the total 158 complaints in the last 36 months, 81 of those were closed in the last 12 months.”

    I have also submitted complaints to my Congressman and Maryland State Attorney General. We are senior citizens and we thought that RHC would be a good deal for us after retirement. We also mentioned to the RHC Representative that we planned to travel after we tired. He assured us that this would be a great deal if we planned to travel. Boy were we fooled.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Ann Closson Feb 14, 2007

    To anyone who may be considering dealing with Royal Holiday Club to purchase one of their vacation plans, we would like to issue a warning to be very careful in your decision. We want to relate our experience.

    My husband and I purchased one of their vacation plans while vacationing in Cancun, Mexico in January, 2006 for $15,000.00. The salesperson had all kinds of high pressure tactics while we were sitting there, as my husband and I were not truly convinced at the time this was a great idea. Every time we were unsure about something, the sales lady came up with another gimmick or reason why we should buy - eventually we did.

    My husband and I usually travel about 2 to 3 times per year and sometimes it's planned 2 to 3 weeks before the vacation - Royal Holiday assured us this would be no problem. IT IS A PROBLEM. Just recently I called to make reservations to either the Bahamas or Miami and you guessed it, no availability for the dates we want to travel. Last August, when we traveled to San Francisco, they did not have availability either, and I called a couple of months ahead for that. It's not flexible to the person who purchased it, if Royal Holiday is telling you when you have to vacation or where you have to vacation.

    The saleslady also showed us a book with all the RCI resorts and failed to mention that's an extra maintenance fee for that every year. She just told us that those were also resorts we would get to choose from as well as they work with Royal Holiday. She told us we would get our $15,000 back at the end of a 30-year period. My husband and I thought that sounded like a good idea. How could you lose, right? We are finding out through posts on several boards this is not true.

    She also said if we were completely unhappy, that all we had to do was contact Royal Holiday and they would sell the timeshare for us - I did this and guess what? They don't sell timeshares or buy them back. The guy I was speaking to couldn't understand why the saleslady would tell me that.

    I'm going to report these people to the BBB, PROFECO and any other agency I can think of. They are taking advantage of people on vacation who are just trying to relax and have a good time.

    0 Votes
  • Al
    Aleatha Hall Mar 29, 2007

    I am so glad you wrote this up so well. I am creating a file of all of the complaints I find as I am doing a dispute through my credit card company for $23,000.00 which I paid in full. I received a box of coupons which look fairly worthless to me. I can get the same deals with travel companies without having to have paid $23,000.00.

    The sales reps at Puerto Vallarta Holiday Inn did not tell me there was a 5 day cancellation period by Mexican law. I am going to file with PROFECO and www.econsumer.gov. Plus, I have the credit card company disputing the charges. I changed my credit card number so they cannot charge the annual maintenance fees. I sent them a letter stating I'd be happy to send their box of coupons back.

    I have made no attempt and don't plan to based on many internet complaints to use this club.

    The high pressure sales is a nightmare during vacation when sales resistance is down.

    0 Votes
  • Lo
    Lonna Kossnar Apr 09, 2007

    My husband and I bought the RHC package in March 1999. We paid roughly 23,000 dollars for our package. We have paid our yearly maintenance fee of $445.00 for the last seven years, plus an extra hurricane fee in 2006. That comes to about 28,000 dollars thus far. That's a whole lot of money considering we've only been able to use them for our vacation travels 3 times since we bought it. Every other time they either had no availability or the hotel is under renovations on the dates we want. RIGHT!!! We were also promised many extras if we signed on the dotted line. NOPE , never received any of them. We were also told that our 15,000 credits we get each year would roll over to be added to the next year if we didn't use them. If we didn't use any credits for several years, we could collect enough credits to take a cruise without buying any extra ones. Well we decided to wait and let our credits build for this purpose. Guess what! After not traveling anywhere for 5 years, (which was a little longer wait than I wanted, but then again getting reservations with these guys is impossible) my husband and I figured we had plenty of credits for a really nice 10 day cruise to Hawaii. You figure 15,000 credits times 5 years is 75,000 credits right? WRONG!!! When we tried to book our cruise we only had 30,000 credits. We called RHC and asked what happened to the rest, they told us credits roll over for only 1 year. WHATEVER!!! My husband has tried numerous times to cancel our membership, but are told we are liable for the yearly fee until the 30 years is up. I don't know what to do to get away from this scamming company, but just think of what kind of vacations we could of gone on for the money we have basically thrown away to RHC. My family still go on trips, but we never travel RHC, we pay out of pocket on top of our annual membership fee. What a ripoff. With all the people that have had problems from the company, why isn't something being done to put these liers and frauds out of business?

    0 Votes
  • Ji
    Jim Hanneman Apr 18, 2007

    It seems a lot of us have been scammed by timeshares sellers, then by those who will sell or rent your timeshare, and finally if you pay a fee ($3000.00 & up - Yes, but I cancelled in 3 days and got my money back) they will take it off your hands for good with the promise that you can report it on a Schedule D (Form 1040) Capital Gains and Losses. Yes, your obligation is gone, but deducting off your taxes, another lie. Since then, I was told you can donate it to well recognized chariable organization and deduct it off your taxes. I have checked with my accountant, but haven't heard back yet. Has anyone heard or done this.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Sandra Treat Apr 22, 2007

    It is important to warn anyone and everyone about BookIt, Royal Park, Royal Holiday, and everyone involved in the scam.

    Research these companies before doing business with them.

    0 Votes
  • He
    Helene LaCourture Apr 22, 2007

    It is set up to be a bait and switch. It begins by telling clients it would cost twice as much, and then cut the cost in half, sometimes remove the 10% sales tax, then discount the closing costs. That is just the beginning. After that is all the free things you are going to get if you sign today. Then if you put the whole amount on a card, a bigger discount. Greedy people fall for it. Then want others to feel sorry for them. It is like they say, a fool and their money is soon parted.

    Park Royal, Royal Holiday, and others in the business have this down to a science. It is calculated and staged all the way. The only way to prepare targets is to inform them before they go. But, that won't happen.

    Sometimes PROFECO is successful. But the sooner you act the better your chances. There have been credit card companies who have taken money back, but it is important to document the fraud. Mexican fraud takes a lot of work to get out of once you fall for the bait.

    1 Votes
  • Mi
    Mike Yahoo Group Apr 24, 2007

    THERE IS A YAHOO GROUP TO HELP PEOPLE AGAINST THESE BANDITOS.
    I invite you to join our yahoo group [email protected]
    I formed it in 2001 after being scammed myself.

    I must say that each of the accounts above sounds like a carbon copy of the 400 members of the group. We have tried several avenues to get the word out including a television show aired in Washington DC. Bottom line: They are a Mexican company with no legal recourse available to you. They do not have a law suit system and only respond to pressure from PROFECO. However, they do contract out to US based collections agencies to scare people into paying the fees. It is sending good money after bad. Members of the yahoo group have been successful with a few avenues when actively and aggressively pursued in a timely fashion.

    Feel free to check the group out and join if you need advice or support.

    Good Luck,
    Mike

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Richard Carzona Apr 24, 2007

    This is how I was warned about how I was being set up by a bargain vacation through BookIt.com. I am very glad for the warning. I am now telling others to say,"NO!" to the presentations. Thanks for getting the word out, and I hope you all get your money back.

    Has anyone thought of getting legislation through your local congress representatives making travel agencies who sell packages to resorts who have timeshare presentations have to show that their clients have been completely warned of the risk of vacationing there? I don't know, but I am thinking about how to let others know before it is too late.

    I think credit card companies, travel agents, and others who know about these scams should be responsible to warn unsuspecting vacationers about the set up. The American companies who are getting rich working with these scammers should have this job given to them. Just an idea. Thank you all again for the heads up!!

    0 Votes
  • Un
    Unsuspecting Vacationer Apr 24, 2007

    The contracts usually don't even mention the Mexican law's five day cancellation policy, which is similar to the US "Cooling off period." Instead they will put in a clause to mislead Americans, saying that there is no reconsideration period. This is to delay any action so that they will believe there is no chance to get out of the contract, once they become aware of all the other misrepresentations. You are right, that there needs to be ways to tell people before. If that can't be done posting web sites that make people aware that they are not alone can alert others to act as soon as possible. Unfortunately, most of the victims Royal Holiday release when they prove they have been scammed are put under gag orders, and they are forced to take down the web sites. Squeaky Wheel has a policy that if the dispute is resolved the complaint is removed, or after a year it just expires and goes away. It would be nice if the posters would update the sites as they learn more. The user boards are great once a person is aware they need help. MSN, Yahoo, even postings on AOL user groups give the best steps to use to recover money. Once you realize that MasterCard has actually taken money back for the company even though it is in a foreign country hope comes back. PROFECO, though slow, has helped hundreds of Americans, and Canadians, as well as even Mexicans get the money back. I agree, the American government has to take action where they can and that is with the American travel agencies, and other companies making money from this, even the airlines who are transporting victims. If information warning tourists of what the presentations really are was given out, there would be less time fixing this later. Don't give up, you are not alone, the Internet is full of many people who can encourage you. Also, if you have already been through this, help others. Squeaky Wheel is only $5.00 for a year, and you can share things that will help someone. These complaint forums also are ways to let others know what to do. There will always be new members to this vacationless club.

    0 Votes
  • Un
    Unsuspecting Vacationer Apr 24, 2007

    Oops, above I had a typo, Mastercard has taken money back FROM Royal Holiday. I accidentally typed for the company. Sorry. People have gotten money back through credit card disputes. American Express seems to be the worst though.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    James Stevens Apr 25, 2007

    This isnt about Royal Holiday Club but I was conned out of £1000 by a similar company operating in Mallorca, luckily I was able to cancel the full contract when I realized it was all a con. I decided to fight back by making a warning about holiday clubs with an animated reconstruction of my experience :

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i36A0jfTzOs

    Please pass the link on to anyone you want to warn about holiday clubs, and feel free to post your experiences there (but dont post the club name, this is about holiday clubs in general)

    1 Votes
  • St
    Steven Rameriz Apr 25, 2007

    Other companies do the same thing as Royal Holiday Club, which runs the Park Royal Resorts located in many cities, especially in Mexico. There are many people in South Florida who have reported them to the BBB there because they have offices there. These are often all inclusive resorts in beautiful beach cities. They give the attendees to the presentations alcoholic drinks, show them inflated rates, then offer them "deals" that have to be signed TODAY. If your credit card does not help you they are saying this kind of practice is ethical. Also, in Mexico there is a five day period where you can cancel. IF your credit card does not recover your money if you have tried to cancel according to the law, they are also violating and ignoring the law. Stand up for your rights. Many feel helpless because the company hides across the border. You are not helpless. Get the information you need by visiting the sites listed above and the links on those sites and take action as soon as you can.

    The easiest thing to do is to know before you go on vacation. These presentations are fraudulent, scams meant to take as much of your hard earned money as they can.

    0 Votes
  • Su
    Suresh Dronadula Apr 27, 2007

    I am still under the 5 day business cancellation. Do you guys think I can cancel and get my money back?

    Thanks,
    Suresh

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Richard Carzona Apr 27, 2007

    Yes, but document everything. Send registered letter now. Send e-mail to Royal Holiday today, call your credit card, and tell them you have a five day cancellation period under Mexican law. Submit the fraud complaint now too since as you will see from other cases they deny ever hearing from you.

    1 Votes
  • Su
    Suresh Dronadula Apr 27, 2007

    Thanks Mandy.

    I am on it right now and hopefully I can get my money back. I will post experience/results later.

    Suresh

    0 Votes
  • Vi
    Virginia Barker May 01, 2007

    Everyone who has been scammed by this should write the State Department and their congress representatives to put out a travel warning. I would think PROFECO would have a travel advisory out, they have to spend a lot of their resources on these complaints. They should have airlines pass out the advisory with the immigration forms before they land. Also, cruise ships should pass out warnings with the morning news as they arrive in destinations like Cozumel where their travelers get molested and scammed. If people were given a flayer telling them not to sign any contracts before researching the company there would be less victims. Also, it people were told, if you have signed a contract, you have five days under Mexican law, five business days, to cancel more people would be aware of the scam and the rights they have been denied. We need to get the people we pay to protect us to get on this. If they don't know what a problem it is, we need to make sure they do. This is how we will put them out of business!

    0 Votes
  • St
    Steve May 04, 2007

    I've been dealing with this company for 4 months now. We sent our cancellation letter via registered mail on the 5th business day to all their locations, email (which is pointless) and fax (which didn't go through). We are very, very thankful for reading posts on this board and various others that allowed us to react fast or we would be in a world of hurt right now.

    Our credit card company charged them back and sorted out our money with no problems what-so-ever, cancelled our cards and got new ones, with a alert for Royal Holiday and Concord. Now we are just starting to deal with Concord Servicing's letters.

    As far as RH goes they are really a lowlife business to stay clear of. We don't deal with them at all and if we do call them or they call us we RECORD our conversations with them. There is really no words to describe what kind of people were dealing with here, they lie, cheat, play dumb and harass you endlessly. Its really a waste of time trying to get any resolution out of them.

    Write letters to BBB, Profeco, your gov. and to credit bureaus in your country. We got our money back but i will be damned if they get another cent out of me or ruin my credit.

    Any questions or success with Concord email me

    0 Votes
  • He
    Henry La Couture May 12, 2007

    I noticed there are many more complaints if you put in Royal Holiday, instead of Royal Holiday Club in the search window above. This seems to be like an onion, you peel one layer and the mess just keeps having more and more layers, and your eyes keep crying. The heartbreak I hear through the words of the victims is simply criminal. I saw one story on a Squeaky Wheel page that must have been written by an immigrant to the U.S. who went on vacation to Mexico that made me feel worse for her situation than I do about mine. THIS has got to STOP!!

    0 Votes
  • Su
    suzy May 15, 2007

    I was on vacation in Cancun in August 2004. I was talked into purchasing 15,000 points/year from Royal Holiday vacation club. In order to get me to sign the contract, I was given certificates entitling me to additional 45,000 points and one month free stay at Hyatt Hotel in Cancun. They also waived the maintenance fee for the first year. In January 2005, I received 2 bills, one for the damage caused by Wilma and the other one was for 1st year Maintenance fee. I paid for the damage and refused to pay the fee. I called them constantly for month and months without getting any where with them. They turned me to collection agency. I called the collection agency and tried to get a name of some one that is in the position to help me. I was told that they don't have a contact name because they get their list via email. Finally, I found out that they took away all the certificate, the points for the 1st year and I can not use the club. They are still charging me for the 1st year maintenance fee and late charges. I am planning to go the attorney general and better business. My next step is Florida Attorney General. I want my money back and I don't want anything to do with this company. Suzy

    4/12/ 07 Another broken promise. I got a call from some one that claimed he wanted to resolve the issue. He made promises and I told him to put it in writing so that I can read it. He assured me that I will get the email that evensing. I am still waiting. In the mean time Concord collection agency called and threatened me and told me if I don't pay, they will ruin my credit. I have an appointment to meet with IL Atty General and I am flying to Florida to file a ccomplaint there too. I am determined to resolve the issue soon. They are bunch of sharks.

    5/15/2007 I just filed a complaint with BBBsouth east florida. I am going to florida next week to file a complaint with Florida Attorney General

    -1 Votes
  • Ha
    Harry Cranston May 19, 2007

    I see I am not alone in this terrible mistake. It is not that I believe misery loves company, but this helps me know what I have to do, and where to get help. Thank you all for sharing what happened to you.

    I went to Park Royal Cozumel, and was given some free tours and a free jeep for signing up as a "Founding Member" which was only going to be give if I signed that day. One thing after another, $1,000.00 airfare rebate, $1,000.00 all inclusive rebate, five free years at my home resort, Cozumel. Tried to book vacation, told nothing at the time available. Strange thing is I could book that week through any of the online travel agents. They might as well have given me a certificate for a lifetime membership instead of thirty years. Every piece of paper they gave me is WORTHLESS.

    I will follow the advice I see on the helpful sites. Seeing that many have retrieved the money gives me some relief. I feel so sick. My blood pressure is way up. I have been having trouble sleeping. If the stress from this kills someone, can these people be charged with manslaughter? If anyone from Royal Holiday reads these, how can you live with yourselves? What kind of people are you? To the organizations who support this company by doing business with them - Shame On YOU!!

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    John G. Huang May 22, 2007

    Can we bring a class action suit to fight it out? The whole deal offered by RHC is a scam. Moreover, I can't cancel, can't sell, can't rent and got a collection agent bugging me all the time. I can give the membership for free to someone who is willing to take it. It's a nightmare!

    RHC claimed at the presentation in Mexico it is a US company. But it turns out it is not a US company. Can we do anything about that?

    Thanks,
    John G. Huang
    Tel: 510-758-1388
    Fax:510-758-9388

    0 Votes
  • Ab
    AB Jul 04, 2007

    Talk with Mexican Mafia?

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Lisa Wormuth Jul 19, 2007

    My husband & I were both victims of these unethical people. We were in Nassau, Bahamas and stayed at the Wyndham Resort. Who would have ever thought in a million years that a company based in that hotel would be so fraudulent?! A condition of us taking the timeshare for 15 years was that they took our timeshare in Virginia Beach. We were told in front of several witnesses by Kelphine Johnson that they would take the timeshare and sell it for us. All payments that we were making to Virginia Beach would stop and we would get what profit was left over. Well, after we got home, we faxed the form to Kelphine. I confirmed that she received the fax. After about 2 weeks, I asked for an update as I saw with our Virginia Beach timeshare it still had a balance, etc. She responded to me by saying there was a problem with the developer and she would be having a meeting with him that Friday via email. I told her I did not want to have 2 timeshare payments for the month of July. She said not to worry that she would freeze our RHC account until it was straightened out. (I am so glad I have everything she said in writing!) Several times after that, I asked for an update and to guess what, no avail! She has not answered any of my emails. I then contacted Concord when I saw the payment was coming out of our account. I explained the story to them and of course they hadn't a clue. They also told me that they don't she was incorrect in telling us the things she did. Also, the deposit of $1192.50 that we put down (that amount is listed on the contract), she charged the credit card $2700. She did this also to my brother. The last few days I have called and emailed Concord/RHC about the situation. I have dealt with Michael Mora and this other guy named John. (Both of them, what a waste!). I then received a contact from Yasmin Gomez. She so-called apologized profusely. I laid it out for her & told her everything. She didn't seem to like that I had things in writing from Kelphine Johnson. I want the contract canceled & all monies refunded immediately. She said she forward my email to the Project Director to investigate further. I made sure I mentioned all of the sites I have been posting on! She did reply back to me also that she deleted our account from Auto Pay. That at least happened, but I reiterated what I wanted done. I will keep you posted on what happens next. But we do need to ban together and stop this fraudulent company from doing any more business and taking advantage of people!

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    santosh Jul 23, 2007

    I have been receiving emails from freeloto.com continuously stating i have won a cash prize of $1,095,745 pending but when i claim the prize they ask me to enter a credit card to purchase the amount i was totally in mental torture.

    santosh kumar 19,1st street, padbanaban nagar, adyar $1,095,745

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    JosieBear123 Jul 26, 2007

    We were scammed - we fell for their sales pitch and we were mis-led and just tried to cancel and were threatened! We were not told about the 5 day cancellation period! They lied about what was available to us!

    0 Votes
  • La
    Laurie Pederson Jul 28, 2007

    Today is the first time I tried to set up a trip through my new membership. I put $3000 on a credit card and still owe $11,000. I contacted my credit card company today and canceled my card. If I had to eat the $3000 it would be an expensive lesson, but at least I would not be in the nightmare of trying to get my money back. The one thing I am worried about is my credit. What should I do about my credit rating. Can they place a lien on my property?

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    ROLAND BUTLER Sep 23, 2007

    We went to the presentation at the Oasis in Cancun. We didn't buy into it . They gave us a $50 check we could use at one of the resturants or the gift shop in the resort. The last full day we were there we went into the gift shop they wouldn't accept the check. Don't believe them when they tell you about the free stuff just for listening to the high pressure sales pitch. the whole thing isn't worth the time you spend wasting your vacation.

    0 Votes
  • Yw
    Y Wright Sep 30, 2007

    I also purchased a timeshare in Nassau Bahamas and have been unable to book any trips. I'd like to cancel or sell it asap. Any suggestions...

    This company is a total scam....

    Help!

    0 Votes
  • An
    Anthony Manuel Beltran Jan 29, 2008

    I totally agree with every comment that has ben made about his phony, fraudulent company. I purchased my package about 4 years ago and have had nothing but problems, to the point where I have simply stopped using it. It became evident to me that, in spite of their initial claims, it is costing me more money to use this vacation package than it would have cost me to book the vacations myself. It has turned out to be a complete fraud and scam. Has there been any effort to bring a class action suit against this company? I would do anything and everything I could to put a stop to it, and not only for those of us who have been scammed, but also for those who are yet to be scammed.

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    armin roelcke Feb 28, 2008

    Hi everyone. JUST last night I was at this presentation where they were trying to sell me this 30 year holiday package. After 1 hour I realized how full of crap this was and left. He tried everything by saying that this offer was only valid for that very day (yesterday) in the hope that I would be hurried into a decision without going on the internet and seeing all the things that have been written about this company. A complete and utter scam!! Every tactic was used to try to trick you into this scam. Oh and for those wondering, Royal Holiday is a Mexican company - NOT an American one. After leaving last night, I was sure that this was a bunch of baloney and today I read all these complaints. To be honest, I'm not the least bit surprised. Now I'm angry that I didnt know this last night because I would have told them to go to this website and explain to me why there are so many people claiming that this is a scam. They are fraudulent and phony. I cannot believe such a big company with presence in many countries (or so THEY say!!) is able to rip people off like this and continually get away with it. Some serious action needs to be taken against these thieves!! Stay away from Royal Holiday!!

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    Tanya Mar 18, 2008

    What a nightmare!!
    I have recently added a post and am going crosseyed reading everybody elses ordeal and learning that I am not alone....not by far. The story is the same disheartening story... It truly puts another dent in the faith of the world and people. I am just truly amazed at how many people there are out there with the same complaint and there is nothing that can be done and they are still in business.

    I am not giving up and will keep fighting.. Good luck to you all.

    Tanya

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    bobby Mar 19, 2008

    I am a resident of the united states and own a timeshare in orlando my wife and i bought it in 1990 the maintenance started at 490 it is now 945 for one week a year we have always been able to use it in orlando but it was always difficult to get other destinations. In 1999 we traveled to mexico and was approached by a representative of the royal holiday club to attend a 90 min presentation we resited at first but after a gift was offered we decided to attend. To our surprise we found the concept appealing and more flexible than our present timeshare we decided to purchase 40000 credits for $30000 for 30years it allows us 2weeks to 3weeks of vacation every year and the maintenance was $845 $422 for 2 weeks of vacation when i did the math $30000 divided into 30 years thats $1, 000 a year plus $845 totaling $1845 per year for approximately 16 nights of vacation $115 per night for a suite anywhere we wanted to go in 2004 my wife passed away now i am a single father of two girls and able to take them to places my wife and i hold dare those 16 days are the highlight of my year and royal holiday has made it possible.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    D.O.D. Mar 19, 2008

    tu eres un puerco mentiroso, Yeah Mike, how much did you get paid to write this... bet if we do some investigations your Url's point to Mexico ! lalalalalal

    Royal Holiday Your Days are numbered ! hint: Bernie Ebbers ?

    Soon very soon andale !

    0 Votes
  • Ye
    Yevgeniya Pasechnik Jun 16, 2009

    I lost about $10, 000 for the fraud contract with RHC which is absolutely useless because no availability and much more expensive then to buy through the regular travel agent. I sent complain to Profeco -they answered that because contract was signed in Dominican Republic write to their ambassador who never answered. I sent complain to BBB but didn't get answer. Now I was surprized because I check RHC record - their rate is "B" and no unanswered complains for 36 month. My complain was placed in March 2008 plus they damaged my credit history. I would appreciated any information how to fight with this scam on my e-mail [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • HUNTER Liars Oct 06, 2011

    HUNTER Liars, la división Legal de Travel Time puede gestionar para Ustedes un Acuerdo de Terminación Anticipada de Contrato de Membresia en un plazo máximo de 45 días hábiles.

    Los honorarios son bastante razonables, solo $1, 299.00 USD. Sin importar la situación en que se encuentre su cuenta (pagos vencidos de mensualidades, mantenimientos y/o cuotas extraordinarias).

    Adicionalmente ofrecemos una Garantía de Resultados por escrito, de tal suerte que si no obtenemos para Usted el Acuerdo de Terminación de Contrato: NO COBRAMOS.

    Siempre funciona, cuando se sabe lo que se hace.

    + info: 01 555 536-6997 * LADA sin costo: 01 800 558-8639 * www.hlmexico.com.mx

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mark Miles Mar 15, 2016

    I bought a timeshare with Royal Holiday and they lied to me at everything, every time I check for travel dates are not available and it's cheaper to booked flight and hotel with Expedia. The service is really bad, I asked to speak to the manager and was told that I cannot talk to her and that I cannot cancel my membership. Its been a nightmare for me!!! I was doing a research on internet about this fraudulent resort and how to get out of this fraud, i found this information and i want to share it with you, i hope it helps someone:

    http://www.timesharescam.com/blog/189-how-to-cancel-a-royal-holiday-timeshare-membership/

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem