Roomstore FurnitureProblem with Delivery

Q
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

I ordered a bedroom set at the end of July and was told that they would deliver my bedroom set in a week and here it is September and it still has not been delivered yet. Everytime I call the sales rep gives me another date. Now they are saying that the bedroom set would be delivered in October (the first week), but they can not give me a delivery date because it's not in the warehouse (which is down the street from my house) I dont think they even know when it's going to come to the warehouse. I did not do a layaway plan I paid cash in full. I will never order anything from the Roomstore again.

Responses

  • Co
    cohena2 Nov 03, 2011

    Keep us posted on how your experience with the Roomstore in Columbia goes. Hopefully it goes well.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    cohena2 Nov 03, 2011

    I had the same issue with the Roomstore location at the Columbia, MD store I recommend you get a refund like I did if you have not received your furniture yet. Below I detail my horrible ordeaI I had with that Roomstore location. will say my first purchase of an entertainment center purchased from the Roomstore last year was delivered on time, without an problems and works great. But I purchased a recliner from the Roomstore in Columbia, MD on 9/17/11 because of my previous positive experience with the roomstore. I bought this to replace my broken recliner. I was told by the sales lady named Susan Quinn (who was very nice and pleasant) that the recliner was on back order with the manufacturer but they would have one in stock and delivered to me by the end of September. Wrong! I called customer service at the beginning of October only to be told the item was not yet in stock but it would be in stock and delivered to me by Mid October. Wrong again! I called their customer service late last week only to now be told they will not have that recliner in stock till early to mid November at the earliest and that is not even a guarantee, .
    I called the delivery department on Wednesday 10/19 and was told my my furniture would not be in stock till mid to late November now. Thursday 10/20 I called the delivery department again and was told they don't have access to tell me when an item will be in stock and I had to go to the store I bought it from to find out that information. I was told by the second phone rep on Thursday that the first phone shouldn't have given me a November delivery date because they have no access to such information. I went to the Columbia store on 10/20 and the salesman looked up my order and told me they have 10 of those chairs on order and I am #4 on the waiting list and they will have it in stock by late October at the latest. I was also told by the store salesman he had no idea where the phone rep got a delivery date of mid to late November. I told the salesman if my item is not in stock by late October as promised they will be seeing me again and I will not be so nice this time.
    I called the delivery department on 10/31 and after being transferred to several different people I was eventually transferred to the Columbia store where I bought my recliner. I was told I needed to speak to my sales person Susan Quinn who they couldn't locate at the moment. I chose to visit the store later that evening instead. Susan who as usual was very friendly pulled my order up in the system and tells me it was due to arrive in late October and since today is the last day of October she couldn't estimate when my recliner would be in but she hoped it would be soon. Meanwhile I sit at home on a recliner that is broken and is killing my back. Thats why I bought a new recliner in the first place. Susan tells me I am #3 on the waiting list out of a group of 13 people waiting. I see 3 customers waiting ahead of me for the same recliner in the same color. The supposed #1 customer has been waiting since August 1st for their recliner. Who makes a customer wait 3 months for furniture? That is not customer service. But heres where it gets interesting. I see a customer has been waiting since March 2017 for the same recliner and Susan tells me that customer has not finished paying for their furniture yet and thats why they've been waiting since March and haven't received it yet. I am told by Susan the customer waiting since March is last on the waiting list till they pay off the recliner. I also am told 13 people have order the same recliner in the same color as me but they only have 10 on order. Who sells more recliners than what they have on order? Especially if a customer has been waiting 3 months to receive theirs. I left the store tonight thinking I would wait another week or two to see if the recliner comes in. But after sitting in my broken recliner and feeling nothing but back pain I can no longer wait.
    I emailed the customer loyalty department last night. This evening around 5:30 I received a call from Margo who said she was the store manager of the store in Columbia, MD. She said she had received an email from me explaining how upset I am about my order. I explain to her how upset I am about my ordeal. I then ask if I can have my recliner in a different color because my sales woman Susan Quinn told me the color I wanted was the only color that was out of stock. Margo the supposed store manager tells me she can't switch me to another color because the Roomstore is out of stock on all furniture made by Franklin and has been for many months. I'm then told the mfgr which is Franklin keeps pushing back the date on when they will ship the Roomstore the items. She says they have no furniture made by Franklin instock. She then offers me the floor model at a discounted price of $50 off. For all my trouble and hassle all I am offered is $50 off. Really? I want to order a NEW chair NOT a USED floor model. Who goes to a store looking to purchase a floor model? Also why not tell me up front they're out of stock on all furniture made by Franklin? Further proof that the Roomstore is only out to make a sale and doesn't care about their customers.
    I went to the Roomstore on RT. 40 in Catonsville, MD on 11/1 to see what they would say about the my recliner. I was told the recliner would not be in stock till late December or early January at the very earliest. I went back to the Columbia, MD store and Margo processed my refund on 11/1 after I decliner floor model or another recliner. Hopefully refund comes soon. DO NOT SHOP AT THE ROOMSTORE BECAUSE THEY LIE ABOUT WHEN ITEMS WILL BE IN STOCK TO GET A SALE!! They just lost a customer which I'm sure they don't care about.

    0 Votes
  • Si
    SisforSatisfaction Jul 24, 2011

    Which Roomstore did you visit?

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Ritzo1 Nov 30, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    After purchasing a sectional sofa with a pull-out bed, 2 recliners, and extended warranty, I found out that the Room Store does not stand behind their product - even with the extended warranty.

    One of the recliners did not close properly (less than a year after purchase.) A serviceman came out, was not able to fix the problem, and said his manager would call by Tuesday. When I didnt hear from him after 2 weeks, I called to find out my service ticket had been closed as complete. This began months of trying to get service, no return calls, people being rude, trying to get "Corporate" to return my calls, and total and complete frustration and disgust with this company and the way it does business.

    I would never, I repeat, never consider purchasing anything from the Room Store. I wish I had done some online research before buying a poorly made piece of furniture with a customer service attitude that the customer does not matter after the sale.

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Cosits Sep 23, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Their couches are junk! We are on our second one. First one replaced under their warranty with this one. Got the couch today (9-23-10) Just 5 minutes ago, I sat down and heard the support break. After I inspected it, I found the wooden support split. Also, I noticed staples not all the way through their attachment points, and some staples not all the way in at all. I also noticed, that one of the support braces has a long knot in the wood that runs half way through the piece. Thats a no-no when constructing wooden supports btw.

    I'm going to fix it myself, cause' I can add extra braces and the like which the repair technician won't do.
    p.s. I weigh 190lbs 6ft

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Daisy Aug 11, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Bought a main event sectional sofa less then a week ago, and a wooden piece that support the chase is broken in half making the middle of the chase sag miserably. we're light weight people weighing less than 115lbs each, and rarely sat there. Called Customer Loyalty service and they scheduled a technician to come by in 3 weeks to "determine" if it's a defect. COME ON! We just received the sofa less than a week, sat there less than 4 times, how can a broken wooden piece needed to be determined if it's a defect? I will never purpose roomstore furniture again. Piece of junk!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.