The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
The RoomStoreLies, deception, poor service!

I am writing regarding a dispute I am having with store number 9550 at 524 S. College Road in Wilmington, NC 28403. I purchased a two-piece sectional sofa from this store on 7/16/2017. I had browsed the store a few times and had mentioned to one of the female salespersons, on this particular day, that I was moving soon and was in the market for some furniture. She mentioned in passing that occasionally people who have recently moved would receive a 20% Off coupon in the mail. I told her this was appealing to me and that it would be worthwhile for me to wait and receive the additional discount. I was then told that I should make my purchase that day in order to take advantage of the 5% off the store was offering as a special, and that if I happened to receive the coupon, I could simply return for a refund of the difference. I agreed, and made the purchase.

Sure enough, a few weeks later, I received a �20% Off Any furniture item� coupon in the mail. I returned to the store around 8/7/2017 for my refund. After speaking with Barbara at the checkout counter, I was told that her manager, Tim, would need to approve the request and that she could call me tomorrow with the results. Barbara was very nice and did call me the next day. Unfortunately her response was that the coupon applies only to 20% off my �next purchase, � despite the lack of any wording to this affect on the coupon itself. I have reviewed the coupon numerous times, and nowhere does it indicate "next purchase." I was told that the policy comes down from corporate and there was no way for the store manager to override it.

Aside from the friendliness of the employees at this store, I feel I have been blatantly lied to and I have lost trust in this organization. 20% off of a $1, 000 item equals $200. Given that I wasn�t moving until 8/1/2017, I would have happily waited to purchase my sofa in order to receive the additional 20% off. Instead, I was deceived and pressured into making the purchase that day. I feel like The Roomstore is trying to cheat me out of the additional discount that was promised to me. Frankly, this is bad business. It�s sad because I truly love many of the items they carry and I am still in the market for bedroom and dining sets. I can guarantee you that I will not purchase a single item from this store again. How easy would it be for them to honor their initial promise and continue to receive my patronage? Very easy!

Attempts to sort out the issue with corporate customer service have failed. When I called their care department, they simply called the store manager and re-affirmed that they are unwilling to make good on their intentional lie. I asked for a manager but was told that they don't even handle discounts percentages over the phone and that I would have to deal with the store directly. No ownership of my problem was ever shown.

This issue is unresolved...

Responses

  • Valerie May 09, 2008

    We had a bedroom set delivered this afternoon from the Manassas VA RoomStore.

    The deliverers tracked mud up the stairs and into the bedroom. This was only the beginning.

    After they left I discovered that the wood behind and underneath the drawers was covered in mildew on at least two of the pieces. Because the drawers do not slide out or lift out, I had to unscrew the back panel to confirm that it was mildew and get pictures.

    We are seeking a full refund and they better not try to stick us with a restocking fee for their mildewed furniture.

    So far their customer service representatives have seemed fairly helpful in expediting the return. We will see if that proves to be the case.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Daisy Burgos Oct 13, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I purchased a complete bedroom Set from the room store in 7/3/2017. I accepted delivery on 7/30/08. The first week in September my bed broke. I contacted the Room Store & set up an appoint for repair. I was told the 20th of September a repair man would come. When I called to verify on the 19th. I was told no date was made for a repairman to come. I then set up a date for the 27th of September. A repairman did show up & told me he could not repair my bed he needed supplies which he would order & the roomstore would contact me for another repair date. I was contacted the first week in October, and was told the earliest date for repair would be October 13th. I once again agreed. The repairmand did show up & I was told me bed could not be repaired because the foot board appeared to be defective. He told me it looked as if someone tried to fix it by adding brackets to the foot board. The repair guy order me an another foot board, so now I am still waiting for repair. I have been approximately six weeks without a bed. This is the absolute worst experience I have had with furniture. I will never again purchase anything else from this company. I paid for my merchandise in full, and if I purchased with my credit card I would stop payment. I feel as though they really don't care, because they are already paid. There has been no mention of compensation for the fact that I have had no bed for SIX WEEKS!!!

    0 Votes
  • Je
    jetzzx1 Feb 04, 2009

    Howdy, I had to respond to your posting because I received the 20% off New Homeowner discount card in the mail too. I also had a hard time understanding what "bonus" furniture meant. My sales lady explained to me that once I bought something - I got the next item at a 20% discount. Worked out great for me - saved $360 off of my mattress. They let you use it the same day - maybe the salesperson that helped you wasn't as informed as the lady who helped me (in Tyler, Tx.). Overall, I had a great experince and spent much less than at he other stores I had shopped. Sorry yours didn't go as well.

    1 Votes
  • Je
    jetzzx1 Feb 04, 2009

    So - what are the results? You posted a complaint about something that your not sure of the outcome - ??? I'm not sure that you gave them a fair shot.

    1 Votes
  • Ta
    Taneka Mar 09, 2009

    The Roomstore has the worst customer service. I purchased a bedroom group on Feb. 17th. Upon ordering the sales person informed me that they did not have the entire group, and that I would have to wait until it became available and someone would give me a call. No one ever called me so I called them to see if the group was in yet. They told me that the furniture was in and that they could deliver it on Mar. 7 th, 12-4 pm. On Mar 6th at 8:00pm I recieved a call from the delivery dept. telling me that the headboard was damaged an undeliverable. I was very upset and I had explained to them that I did not have a bed to sleep on. Anyway, I told them to deliver the rest of the set because I did not trust them to keep it. The bedroom set was paid in full. On Mar.7th the "so called" delivery team showed up at my door at 4:00 pm. They were very inexperienced and unprofessional. Anyway, they could not get the furniture up the steps in my home. I had to hire a moving company to get the furniture upstairs to the bedroom.They did it effortlessly. I ended up paying the moving company the same amount I had already paid the Roomstore for delivery. I will NEVER buy anything from the Roomstore again!!!

    0 Votes
  • St
    Steve G May 14, 2009

    Was your complaint resolved? I really want to know. My name is Steve Giordano and I am the COO of RoomStore--

    [protected]@roomstore.com

    0 Votes
  • St
    Steve G May 14, 2009

    Is this still unresolved? My name is Steve Giordano and I am the COO of RoomStore. Please contact me directly at [protected]@roomstore.com

    Thank you!

    0 Votes
  • Oc
    OctG65 Dec 18, 2009

    When it comes to stains, The RoomStore's 5-Year Furniture Protection and Extended Warranty Plan covers visual stains only. If you have a smell that goes along with that stain, be ready for a foul surprise and some stinky customer service.

    Tim, a customer service manager, reported The RoomStore NEVER COVERS CLAIMS REGARDING ODORS...even if the odor is a result of an accident otherwise covered in the warranty. For example, Tim informed me pet urine may be cleaned under the warranty, but if a urine odor remains after the visual stain is removed it'll become your new "welcome home" smell as far as The RoomStore is concerned. Odor simply will not be remedied, no ifs, ands, or buts.

    Accidental food and beverage smell? Now you can ruminate in last month's garlic marinara stench for many months to come! Human urine or stomach fluid smell? Cozy up to the aromatic plumes of wafting urea and vomit reminiscent of truck stop bathrooms and grade school hallways after a mystery meat Friday! Did your pet get sick or urinate on your new furniture? Now you can invite friends and family over to relax in the pungent notes of dog park! All this, courtesy of The RoomStore and its stinky warranty plan.

    The RoomStore justifies this policy through its following warranty exclusion (of which there are 18 in total): "...anything not specifically mentioned in this Protection Plan." Because the letters o-d-o-r are not specifically strung together within the text of the plan, The RoomStore does not consider odor to be a coverable damage. As a result, you're likely to be left stain-free but very smelly after trying to make a claim with The RoomStore. When it comes to purchasing furniture (and its warranties), you'd be well served to turn your nose up at The RoomStore and make your way to one of its many competitors.

    0 Votes
  • Ed
    EdwF87 Jan 15, 2010

    Room stored charges consumers unauthorized credit charges, multiple deferred charges. They mislead you on sales of 70% off on stocked merchandise, then bill you for not having delivered furniture and do not tell you the truth abouth promoional sales, instead double trible charge your account. I reported them, I called them, they gave me wrong number for dispute and hope I will shut up. I brought $3500 worth of furniture and they charged me $5718.13 for a year so that can unauthorize charges to your account to by adding other charges. Rip off! I Reported them to BBB!! I

    0 Votes
  • Be
    bekahjean15 Apr 09, 2010

    I purchased a living room set at the Room Store on 01/15/2017. I was pleased with the service I had up until after I had completed my purchase transaction. I paid in full for my items and was told that my items would be delivered and set up in my home no later than 2 weeks from my date of purchase with a guaranteed date of on or before 02/05/2017. I called on 01/22/2017 to check on the status and was told it would be in early and I would be called by the end of the week to set up a delivery date. I was not contacted and called back on 01/26/10 and was told the order had been pushed out a week (02/02/10.) I once again called at the end of the next week (02/02/10) and was then told it would be another 2 weeks (02/16/2017) but would probably be in much sooner.
    After this call I was very frustrated and debated canceling my order since at this time the Room Store had the whole payment for my furniture and was being very unfaithful as to when the furniture would be in my possession. On 02/04/2017 I called and spoke with an assistant manager who told me that if I was unhappy I could simply cancel my order. He seemed to have no sympathy to the fact that I had been misinformed on numerous occasions. I told him I really liked the furniture and would be willing to work with The Room Store to get this issue resolved. At this point I was offered a refund on the delivery cost of $149.00. He refused to work with me anymore than this minimal sum and was not at all apologetic of the way I had been treated. He also informed me that he had no way of guaranteeing I would receive my furniture in the near future. Throughout the whole conversation he continued to put blame on the manufacturer and offered no form of apology. At that point I canceled my order due to the way I had been treated accompanied by the fact that my money had been in possession of The Room Store for over a month with no guarantee of when my furniture would be in my home. My refund was received on 02/12/10.
    On 02/15/2017 I placed the same order at another Room Store location and chose the payment option of financing. I informed this location of my past experience and was guaranteed nothing of the sort would occur again. I was told my order would be delivered on or before a two week period, once again I was informed that my furniture would probably be in much sooner. On 03/02/10 I had not heard from The Room Store and called to check the status of my order. I was once again told the order had been pushed back and would be in before 03/21/2017. The assistant manager Steve guaranteed me this would be the latest and that he really doubted it would take this long. At this point he refunded my $149.00 delivery charge. On 03/10/2017 I still had not heard any news on my order and called and was informed my order was supposed to come in that day but had not so I should expect it to be in the store the next day. I was told to call back the next day and check on the status. I called 2 days later 03/12/2017 and was once again told the order was not there and had been pushed out.
    I called once again that week and spoke with the store manager. I acquired as to when the last order had been received for this particular piece of furniture and was told that an order had not been received since 12/2017. I cannot understand why I was continually informed that the furniture would be in by a certain date (and most likely before) if this piece had not been received for months. I once again called The Room Store the following week and was told that my order had yet again been pushed out and the store had received an email stating the sectional would be in the following week (03/29/2017.) Again I called the store on 03/30/2017 and was told the order had been pushed out once again to 04/05/2017. I then called the store on 04/06/2017 and was told my order had been pushed out until 04/09/2017. Today is 04/09/2017 and I still have not heard anything.

    0 Votes
  • Te
    Terri Jobe Apr 12, 2010

    Rebekah,

    I realize you spoke with Gail Friday afternoon. We want you to receive your furniture and be a raving fan once you do. We are truly sorry for the delay and I hope the gift certificate Gail provided will show you that.

    0 Votes
  • Pr
    prettynailschick Apr 12, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The complaint seems creditable! I purchased a living room suite from Room Store and 2 of the 3 pieces were damaged. The wanted me to bring the pieces back to the store and pick up the other pieces. The told me they woul deliver them for an additional delivery fee of $99. BEWARE ROOM STORE GIVES HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE!

    0 Votes
  • He
    Henry May 05, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Unbelievable! Ordered a bedroom set from Room Store in Ahwautkee Arizona, it was delievered damaged, the nail was put through the foot board and the price stickers were not removed and thus removed the finish! I called that day and spoke to customer service and was told that I would have to call the store and the manager would have to handle it. I spoke to the manager after calling everyday and he promised to make it right & then I got sick and was unable to bug them so when I finally felt good enough to deal with it, I called the store again and the assistant manager screamed and hung up on me and they have done nothing to make this right! I did exactly what the contract stated I had to do! This all started in November of last year! There is no way to contact anyone about this because all their numbers go to junk voicemail! How dare the room store treat anyone like this!

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    Harold Jun 22, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was trying to make a purchase at the Rockville Store, and I asked the manager some general questions. Later I overheard him talking to a sale person and was laughing at me. I immediately approached him and asked what his namewas and he told me that it was none of my business. That if I had a problem I needed to direct it to customer service, which I did and found out the manager's name. I was going to buy a whole house full of furniture but I ended up purchasing at Regency. Never again will I shop the Roomstore, Aaron Brown does not even deserve the title of manager.

    0 Votes
  • Te
    texasgirlof3 Oct 07, 2010

    Hi- what sectional did you order and did it ever arrive. I've had a similar issue at a RS in Austin ove a sectional. It was backordered and 'pushed back' several times as well. I was asked if I wanted to choose something else. No- I bought what I liked the first time! We finally got the sofa, after someone ahead of us on the wait list cancelled his order. I should have cancelled mine. we are on month 5 with the sofa and the fabric has fallen apart. Theyve offered to replace the cushions, even though the entire sofa (arms and fronts) has the same problem. Which means that every 5 months I get to do this again? Again I was asked if I wanted to trade it in for something else. 1- i DONT LIKE ANYTHING ELSE 2- I DONT WANT ANYTHING FROM RS EVER AGAIN. 3- WOULDNT IT BE CHEAPER FOR RS TO JUST REFUND MY MONEY THAN TAKE BACK A SOFA THEY CANT SELL AND GIVE ME A NEW ONE? Also- I get to pay for the delivery of the new set too. Horrible!

    0 Votes
  • Wo
    Woman123 Oct 15, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I went into the Roomstore to purchase an entertainment center. The salesman told me he would waive the delivery charge. Everything was fine when I left--the total had been billed to my new Roomstore account and I was satisfied. About two days later I found another entertainment center I liked better in Sam's. I called the salesman back and told him I wanted to return the entertainment center. I even asked him if there would be any charges since I had only purchased the entertainment center about two days before. He said NO and that the amount would be credited back to my account. They came to pick up the entertainment center and I thought everything was fine. About two months later, I received a bill for $75. I called to inquire about the bill and the customer service representative told me the store credited everything back besides the delivery charge. I told him I didnt have a delivery charge. Long story short, after calling to discuss this matter and even going to the store, they told me I had to pay delivery even though it was waived because I didnt keep the entertainment center! On top of that, they claimed the salesman who sold me the entertainment center no longer worked there so they couldnt ask him about it. Then, they charged me a late fee when I didnt even get a bill with the original charges. Please be aware..these people are crooks!

    0 Votes
  • Hv
    Hvnsent78 Feb 13, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I just recently bought a new home and therefore was in need of a lot of furniture. I first purchased a bed and dresser which was almost $2, 000 and decided to go ahead and open up an account because of the no interest. When I went to pick up the furniture it took over an hour for someone to find it and then the customer service staff went back and forth arguing about who was at fault and "they don't get paid enough to do this ***" and "I can't help because I can't miss any sales on the floor" all while I am trying to patiently wait. I never made a complaint because I was finally happy just to get home with the furniture. Over the next couple of weeks I received about 10 phone calls from Roomstore thanking me for my purchase and about upcoming sales. I was approved with a very high credit limit and they considered me a "valued customer" I went back and made a purchase for another room...again totaling about $1, 000 and scheduled for a pick up day. My birthday weekend I had friends and family up to see my new house which is the reason I scheduled my furniture pick up the day before. Well during the five conversations that I had with the staff as well as all of my purchase paperwork no one seemed to check to see that the day I scheduled was not a "pick up day". SO here I am the day before my bday and party sitting on the phone shocked at the professionalism of the staff who tried to get upset with me for their own scheduling mistake. I was told that they could not find my furniture and that the manager would not be in until the next day. Needless to say I did not get in touch with the manager even though I called several times. When I finally spoke with the manager he was polite and offered me a discount and free delivery (since I had already paid a friend who came for nothing). I told him that at that point I just needed a day to think about it and would call him back. I called the next day and the next until I finally spoke with Charmane or Tremayne who spoke over me the entire time, implied I was lying, and was extremely unprofessional. I have since contacted the corporate office and plan to close my account and continue with whatever steps I need in order to get reimbursed and cut ties. Please read these reviews and do not shop at this store because it is nothing but a headache!

    0 Votes
  • Ba
    Bailey242003 Feb 16, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We purchased a sectional from The Room Store off Ray Rd. in Chandler in Arizona in October 2017. We thought we made a smart purchase but little did we know. The first day we got the sectional we had a problem with the chaise reclining and not locking...had a technician come out in October, it's February and we are still waiting for the part. I called weekly to find out he status only to be told next week...etc. Next week is now 4 months later...REALLY???

    Then in November the recliner on the end is defected due to the wood frame snapping. They put in an order for the new recliner in November...it's now February. Every time I call and ask to speak to a manager they want to put you to a voice-mail. When I ask to speak to someone above the manager they don't have an answer. I am beyond disgusted with customer service and their readiness and promptness to handle a situation that has no reason to go on for as long as it has.

    Had I found this forum sooner I would have never purchased from them. I think that all of us need to file a class action suit for shady business practices. I call today for a status and was told they are waiting for the parts to come in after the Chinese New Year...because the parts come from China...interesting how I was never made aware of any of this the hundred times I called...now that puts me into March. Who in this company looks out for the consumer? That's the million dollar question apparently with no answer!

    0 Votes
  • Tj
    tjobe Feb 16, 2011

    My name is Terri Jobe and I am the Director of Customer Loyalty for Roomstores in DC, VA, PA, SC, NC and Texas. We are not affiliated with this RoomStore but I do have a contact there that may prove helpful to you. Please contact me at [protected]@roomstore.com and I will be happy to share this information with you.

    0 Votes
  • Si
    SisforSatisfaction Jul 24, 2011

    Which Roomstore did you go to?

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem