Rainbowexpensive piece of junk

J
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer

Yesterday I sat through a two hour demonstration of the "Rainbow Cleaning System" (from a friend of my son). I was quite embarrassed for this young man, and advised him to find another part time job as soon as possible. Are there really people out there gullible enough to buy this product? How do they justify the $2600 price tag (and that does not even include the power nozzle)? I'm an engineer and have a pretty good idea of what vacuum cleaner components should cost. Even manufactured in the USA, a conservative figure would be around $400. My recently purchased Kenmore with a HEPA filter costs $250. According to Consumers Reports, my model Kenmore received a high mark for carpet cleaning and emissions. The Rainbow also received a high mark for emissions, however it received a poor rating for cleaning carpet. Then there's the additional setup the Rainbow requires prior to usage and the cleanup required after usage. It just doesn't make any logical sense why someone would pay close to $3000 for a vacuum cleaner, when equivalent brands are available at a fraction of the cost.

When the young man requested referrals, I told him that I could not in good faith give him any based on the questionable claims he made about the product, and also that it bordered on being an outright scam.

Responses

  • De
    Denise B. Herndon Jul 22, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have had a rainbow for over 25 years. My first rainbow lasted 24 of those years and it could probably have gone another 10 years but I decided to get the new version. I am very sorry I purchased the new one. It was an expense I didn't really need and there are several things on the new one I just hate. I don't like how you attach the water basin, I don't like the safety features, if you it a sock on the floor it shuts down the carpet cleaning head until you shut off the unit and do a few more things to get it going again. But I guess all in all I would NEVER trade it for a bagged vacuum. My house smell great and is cleaner than any bagged vacuum could ever get it.

    0 Votes
  • Mm
    Mmb2017 Jul 16, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I helped a friend by allowing a free demo of the Rainbow Water Vaccum and Carpet Cleaner combo. The demo went quickly and it seemed to of done a good job. I admit I felt committed and wanted to help this young couple.Once they told me the cost I freaked, but was talked into the payment plan deal. I still with my common sense truly could not justify paying this price for a Vaccum and Carpet Cleaner. I own a Electrolux for 33 years and have been pleased. I called one day too late to return this Rainbow Unit. I have not used or opened one box item since I received it in March 2017. I'm very interested in selling this complete Brand New Unit, please if anyone is interested or knows someone who is interested, we can discuss the price. Email me at: [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jesika04 Feb 18, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I bought the vacuum and agreed to the $2900 price. A month later I find out the company took out a $4000 loan under my name for the product. I did not consent to the $4000 loan for a vacuum. The company did not disclose that information. When I stated that i did not consent to the $4000 price and that they can take their machine back they stated they will not and that they will be putting it on my credit. Its a scam. Dont waste your money. You can get the whole system online for less than $1000.

    0 Votes
  • Mm
    Mmb2017 Jul 16, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Jesika04 Same happened to me.. I'm trying to sell my Rainbow water Vac / Carpet Cleaner combo. Brand New, never used and in its original packing . Did you sell or kept your unit? I'm trying to sell mine, certainly someone who likes this product may be interested in purchasing from me.

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    mrzee Sep 17, 2016

    I bought mine new in 1976 for C$400 and it still works like the day I bought it. The only repair was the on/off switch needed replacing.after about 10 years Best purchase I've ever made.

    0 Votes
  • Go
    Gord Rebel Feb 29, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    What do you think you are paying for, the salesperson commission.

    0 Votes
  • Ra
    rainbowforlife Feb 24, 2016

    I paid over 2 grand for my rainbow and have not turn it off since I got it five years ago. It runs every single day solely as my air purification system first. I'm pretty sure I got my money's worth in the first couple months of purchase. I didn't get a rip off at all. I purchased from a distributor. It seems like you would have known that information before you purchased. Anyways, whenever I need to clean, I don't have to buy a filter, I just use water to clean, it doesn't stink, I bought a pack a fragrances, which yeah may be pricey, but, It took me a good 5 months to get through a whole pack, it's worth it! Simply for the fact that I don't have to worry about aggravating my asthma and my allergies, having a dog smell in my home, spreading mold germs and bacteria when I vacuumn, is good enough for me! I love that when I'm done, there is no grit on my floor and I don't feel it on my feet and it smells clean. I don't dust often because I run the rainbow daily! I can just leave my rainbow on low speed and have it going as an air purification system. Best american made invention ever. Don't get me started on the accessories! Shampooer, best ever, and now the minijet for tiles and hardwoods! Also a cleaner for the couch!!! Love rainbow!

    2 Votes
  • Ti
    Tina Munsey Feb 18, 2016

    I clean houses for a living. I have one rainbow that is 31 years old this year...I use it to clean offices and my garage..I have one that is 8years old that i use in other people's home...i also have one that is about 15months old for my house...I've been using rainbows for 32years and there is nothing that can be compared to this machines. I would consider saling them but I'm to busy cleaning houses with my rainbow...

    2 Votes
  • Mm
    Mmb2017 Jul 16, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Tina Munsey I purchased in 3/17 a Rainbow water vac and Carpet Cleaner combo. Brand New, never used, still in the unopened boxes. Would you be interested in buying or know if anyone who would want to purchase?

    0 Votes
  • Va
    ValerieH Aug 15, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have owned my rainbow for over 20 years. I would put it up against any new vacuum with hepa filters any day. It runs great, has never broken down, everyone asks to borrow a it when they need to do a good clean in their place.

    1 Votes
  • Mo
    moanho Apr 17, 2015

    I actually came to this site while researching prices and info on new rainbow vaccuums. To say that anyone that would be responding has to be a salesman is rediculious. I, as do many people often research reviews and prices before making such an expensive purchase. I remember as a child in the 80's watching my mom drag her Rainbow vacuum up and down the stairs and all over the house. I never understood why she didn't feel the need to buy an easier vaccuum, All that dragging around and then having to empty the water seemed like too much work when she could buy a new upright. Well, now I'm a mother of 3 and have to borrow her rainbow whenever I want to do a good deep clean. I have been dreaming of the day that I could afford to buy my own but with the hefty price tag that just hasn't been in our budget. Anyone who even thinks these vaccuums aren't any better than any other vaccuum obviously haven't ever used one to clean their house after using their regular vaccuum. My sister was able to find a used one that is 20 years old and it still works great! I'm saving now to purchase my own. The happiness that comes with how clean and dust free your house is after you use it is well worth the price.

    1 Votes
  • Mm
    Mmb2017 Jul 16, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @moanho I have a Brand New Rainbow Water Vac and Carpet Cleaner combo never used or even opened the boxes for sell. Would you be interested in buying?

    0 Votes
  • Ru
    Ruby Zimmie Feb 07, 2015
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have not purchased one yet, because of the cost but I think it is amazing...However, I have some concerns about the Las Vegas location. They had a booth at the Home and Garden show. They had a jar of money and said if you guessed the money in the jar youd win the cash and the small table top Rainbow. So I gave it a shot. A lady named Gina called me and said i didnt win the cash but I still won a tabletop model and she would "deliver" it to my house. She said my husband must be present as well so I know it was going to be a hard sale situation. She arrived on time and began the presentation. It was amazing to see but she went off in so many different directions it was just OVERKILL. I would have bought one 30 minutes into it. At abn hour in a half into it. I HAD to stop her. I said, I LOVE it, lets cut to the chase...How much? Before telling me how much she said I would NOT get the free tabletop model "I won" if i didnt let her complete the 2 hour presentation. I told her, we had NO idea until now you planned on being her 2 hours! She said if we gave her two names and phone numbers she would give us the tabletop model after all so i gave her the names of two wealthy friends who had sinus problems and said I would call them right away to let them know I had given out their numbers. She said okay, boxed up her stuff and went to her car with the small tabletop model tucked under her arm. I just was so TIRED, Hungry, having to pee so I didnt fight with her. The next morning i got up to start cleaning and wanted to wash out the filter in my Dyson since she had shown me how filthy it was. She had taken the Hipa Filter housing off to show us the dirt. Come to find out she had broken off the clip that holds the filter on to the unit. I called her cell. It said she couldn't take any new messages. So I called the office straight up 9 . The phone rang AT LEAST 20 times before someone answered the line. I asked for Gina, he said she doesn't work in the office but he would leave her a message at home. She has never called me back. I called again today. The woman answering the phone never would tell me the name of the manager. She said she would give Gina the message...AGAIN. Still no call back. From all I am reading here I think it is easy to determine the product is AMAZING but the scammer sales mentality and lies is OFF THE CHARTS! If they just sold these units at a fair price at Target, had a reputable customer service dept that really stood by their product the way Dyson has for me and eliminated all the ### contests, sales commissions and other non sense, they could be a top notch company making a boat load of money so I just do not get it why companies decide this is the ONLY way to do business. Short sighted.

    0 Votes
  • Mo
    Mountaha Dec 10, 2014

    I live in Beirut, Lebanon and have got a Rainbow through my mother. Suddenly the motor stopped and was diagnosed by the after sales team as irreparable damage and needs replacement. They asked for $450 for the replacement although the machine is only 6 years old. I don't see exactly the value for money for a machine that breaks down after 6 years and needs 25% of its value for repair. Rainbow is definitely a scam

    0 Votes
  • Va
    vacdoc Jul 22, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I own a vacuum store for 34 years. I've seen all the pyrimid schemes. We do not carry any of them because we can be found. Vacuum stores are much more reputable. Please buy local and get an expert in the business for lifE.

    1 Votes
  • Mm
    Mmb2017 Jul 16, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @vacdoc I have a brand new unused Rainbow water Vac and Carpet Cleaner combo for sell, purchased 3/17. Are you interested in purchasing or know of anyone?

    0 Votes
  • Ge
    Geriol Feb 17, 2014

    I love this Rainbow but being a new user, I left the water and muck in it way too long and need to replace my HEPA filter. I have a brand new one and can't figure out how to get the HEPA filter out. I don't want to break it. I looked on line but can't find any instructions. Even in the manual. It just says to replace it. How? Any ideas?

    0 Votes
  • Ca
    CarlaGD Jun 18, 2013

    I love the Rainbow Cleaning System. The unit has changed the life of my 85 year old mom who suffers from COPD. We cleaned her room 4 times and she has not used her nebulizer 4x per day any longer. If some one is complaining they don't understand what their traditional vacuum is doing to their home. Just get a demo and see. You can't deny it! LOVE LOVE MY RAINBOW!!!There is a pot of gold at the end of the Rainbow. My mom's health!!

    -1 Votes
  • Ca
    CarlaGD Jun 18, 2013

    The Rainbow is phenomenal . My mom no longer requires the use of her steroid nebulizer 4x per day. I rainbowed her room 4 times and she no longer wheezes or coughs every morning. The people that are complaining have NO idea of what they are talking about. Especially the ones that did not by it. I would pay more after what it has done for me and my family. Guess what? I cleaned almost every other day...Thanks REXAIR...Oh and I am now a Rainbow Dealer too!!!

    0 Votes
  • An
    A. Neihoff Apr 27, 2013

    @danny leebob You my Sir are ridiculous. I do NOT work for Rainbow nor know anybody that works for rainbow. Being as I bought mine second hand, I have been googling "how to's" and ran across this forum. Do you have any idea how stupid your comment is. Why did you even post here, you are ONE of the people you write about LMAO! Get a life danny leebob

    0 Votes
  • An
    A. Neihoff Apr 27, 2013

    I guess there are ignorant people everywhere. If you are NOT enjoying & loving your Rainbow Vac, it is simply because you failed to read instructions or don't know beans from apple butter. I bought mine second hand (Series E 2 model) and just LOVE IT! It has everything except birth control, and THAT I don't need. I'm hoping this will last me for several years. If it doesn't, I will search for another 2nd hand one, as I do not have the money to buy a brand new one. NOTHING compares to my Rainbow. And the engineer who replied on the first page (couple years ago) I think you must be real old and ready to retire OR perhaps you should change jobs or go back to college. I do feel it is over priced, but definitely does not deserve bad feedback from people who don't know what they are doing or are to lazy to change the water. The guy with the fly problem!!! Change water after EVERY use, that is SO GROSS!!! AND recommended by rainbow in their manual.

    0 Votes
  • Mm
    Mmb2017 Jul 16, 2017
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @A. Neihoff Need another one, got one to sell.

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Dove08 Apr 27, 2013

    How much is really for E2 2013

    0 Votes
  • Do
    Dove08 Apr 27, 2013

    Omg a salesman sold us this RAINBOW E2 for 3999! I'm trying to find out the real price! Please help????

    0 Votes
  • Le
    LexaMonroe Apr 27, 2013

    I bought a Rainbow about 3 years ago when I was making money. I soon discovered it is the biggest POS I hate the thing. I went back to a regular vacuum ASAP. I used it about 10x found out I simply CAN'T STAND to change the nasty water. Put it in the shed for 3 years. Now I'm using it ONLY because of the long hose, because I have a housefly infestation inside the house, and every day have about 200 houseflies appear out of nowhere. I suck them up with the Rainbow. I've been using it 9 days straight for this. Tonight I change the nasty water (yesterday's water) again, I put it back together... AND IT DIES. Simply won't turn on, no matter what I try.
    I personally think it's dead.
    GOOD RIDDENCE!
    There's NOTHING on the web about fixing the damn thing either, other than "make sure it's plugged in!" Oooooh, wish I had thought of that one!

    I wouldn't buy another Rainbow POS if it was the last vacuum on Earth.
    The ONLY thing about it I'll miss is the extra long hose.

    1 Votes
  • Ra
    Rainbower Apr 25, 2013

    I had my rainbow since 1994 and it is still going great, love it every time I use it. I did feel a bit uncomfortable with the high price, but after 20 years of use (we have no other cleaning system other than a rainbow machine), I felt that it is a good investment.

    1 Votes
  • Kk
    kkrinne7 Nov 01, 2012

    i feel rainbow is a very good machine and have owned mine for 10 years. i have the E-series. I also sold them for a time to make extra income but also had a full time job also. Due to the main office closing i had to turn everything in. I just recently got into selling rainbow again. I'm now selling the current model the E-2. And yes they are expensive but well worth the price. It beats buying a new vacuum every couple of years. They also gone up in price since ten years ago but so have cars and everything else. i would recommend the rainbow to everyone. I'm hoping i can upgrade to the new model in the near future and hand my old one down to family to continue to use and enjoy.

    0 Votes
  • Sc
    scott1234567 Aug 24, 2012

    People have much more important things to spend their money on than a
    "$2400.00" vacuum cleaner, what kind of drugs you hooked on, were facing depression and collapse in this country, wake up!

    1 Votes
  • Ge
    GeorgePasquale Jul 20, 2012

    I've owned both a rainbow (1980 till not too long ago) and dyson (present). Rainbows are good for the fact that they have no consumables, you just use water and by wetting the dust, no filter is needed to catch any loose particles. Also they seem to last a good while if you look after it. however... there is always a however. Repairs are ridiculous and you kinda feel pressured to proceed with it as you spent a fortune on it. I went the other way, for the cost of the repairs i got one of the best dysons new and it does the same job if not better. For a company that has been in operation for as long as it has you would think they would drop the price with technology always getting cheaper. long story short. if you want a big expensive vacuum that is a pain to lug around, you know what to get. if you want to spend a fifth of the price and get a vacuum that does the same job and is more portable, get a dyson, heck get anything it's a vacuum :-) PS if you have to get a repair for your rainbow get them to show you every single part that need to be replaces. half the items they said "needed replacing" were already working parts that worked just fine so don't let them cheat you. it's all about money with zero customer service. My PS was a bit bias but relevant to the discussion, just looking out for everyone

    2 Votes
  • Ar
    ArmyVet Jul 14, 2012

    Well guys y'all were looking for a dealer to come out right and that's what I'm doing. I am Army Veteran. I just got out in Dec and with the rough economy was just having bad luck finding a job. Well I answered an ad and started selling Rainbows. Guys I am a Vet and if I didn't truly believe in the product I would not be selling it. Who ever said that dealers make $1000 a sell was incorrect. But whom ever said everyone has to make some money along the way was correct. Rexair whom is the manufacturer of Rainbows has to make something. Then they are passed down to the distributors whom have make money. Now think the owner of that distributor has to pay everyone whom works in that office. Your talking the serviceman, marketing department, collections, sells, trainers, and the list continues... Then obviously the dealer has to make some money to or else why would I be selling them? So expensive machine? YES? But not the most expensive... But definitely not the cheapest... But it is and always will be the best product on the market. My deepest sympathy for anyone who has had misfortune with their Rainbow.

    -1 Votes
  • Te
    Technician Rick Dec 04, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    For the price that we paid for our Rainbow vac I find it very difficult to justify ever buying another one. Since we purchased this vac for almost $3000.00 nearly 9 years ago I have repaired the power cord, replaced a broken castor wheel, replaced a vibrating vacuum impeller and replaced the drive gear and belt on the rainbowmate 3 times. The locking tabs on the vacuum hose have also become weak and come apart while vacuuming. Other than that it has been trouble free! I was not expecting any failures on a vacuum for this price. If I wouldn't have repaired it at home, we would have been without a vacuum for quite some time. We have the E series and I would not recommend anyone to buy a Rainbow vacuum for 2 reasons, high price and lack of durability.

    3 Votes
  • Ju
    JuneLim Nov 01, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    And I have to add... That whatever commission the salesperson makes doesn't matter just as long as the product is good. If u buy a $100 vacuum, the cost is probably only $30 too, and money is made by the middlemen along the way. It's not as if they sell Rainbows everyday and earn millions through this. Even if they do sell one daily, it is only though their own hardwork, luck and the quality of the product itself.

    -1 Votes
  • Ju
    JuneLim Nov 01, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    To all the skeptical ppl who suspect everyone typing comments are some form of Rainbow salespersons, no, I'm not one. Yeah right, how can u tell from the words I'm typing? Well, I'm not American, I live in Singapore, some tiny island country in South East Asia, and I bought my Rainbow 4 years ago at SGD$3500(USD$2700).

    I'm not exactly crazy about my Rainbow because I rarely use it personally. The cleaning is usually done by my husband or helper. But I bought it immediately when I saw the demo because I am a hygiene freak and the efficiency of Rainbow impressed me. I sold my Dyson immediately upon getting the Rainbow.

    Frankly, despite the multiple uses of Rainbow like cleaning the air-cons or curtains, which I'm too lazy to do, the basic functions of vacuuming, powernozzling and air purifying is already well-worth the money.

    I had forgotten the benefits of my Rainbow and was about to sell it to get some money back, but now I am convinced that I have made a wonderful investment that will last me for the next few decades. The Rainbow is expensive because every bit of it is quality. From the sturdy pipes to the plastic covering, which someone as rough as me drags around and rams into walls, without finding any damage done.

    I've bought many other electrical appliances in the last few years, mostly the more expensive range because I believe that price = quality, which isn't exactly so because my washer is falling apart after 5 years, I've changed 2 dryers in 4 years, my iron failed after a week and the electric kettle cover just keeps falling off. This is besides the point but Tefal is a horrible brand.

    The downside of Rainbow is that it is heavy and it is troublesome. But honestly, my cheap air ionizer was equally troublesome. Because the Rainbow was too troublesome, I didn't bother to purify my air through the night for the last few years. But a week ago, because my 2 sons and I were falling very ill, I decided to use the Rainbow in hopes that they wont spread the germs back to each other as one was almost recovering. Within 3 days, the younger one, who is 23 mths old with a very sensitive respiratory system and usually coughs for lengthy periods, recovered completely. By the 4th day, the elder one, the 3 yr old who was coughing badly prior to this, also recovered.

    I now realize I've been hiding this wonderful machine for too long and despite the hassle, I will fully utilize it from now on. With all the instalment schemes readily available these days, I think this is definitely a great investment that will go a long way!

    -2 Votes
  • mark40511 Apr 02, 2011

    Sorry but if you fill a Shop Vac with water it will not do the same thing. There is NO separator in a shop vac. That's one of the most important parts of the Rainbow ...The separator technology...Although I wish Rexair (instead of adding a hepa) would redesign the separator to be even more effective.

    -2 Votes
  • So
    Solo22 Mar 28, 2011

    I just had two salesmen in my house for 2 hrs trying to sell me the Rainbow, It's a great concept to trap the dirt in water rather than a filter, we all know that a traditional vacuum will recycle some of the dust back in to the air through the exhaust. That's why I will use the idea and save myself $2, 400.00 by using my $80.00 shop vac, filling it with 2 gal ow water and get the same results. I suggest you do the same and maybe use that money for a nice vacation on a white sand beach, you know, a little pat on the back for keeping your house so clean.

    2 Votes
  • Em
    Emmie lou Sep 21, 2010

    To be honest...I found this site to see if Rainbow was a good company to work for...since I have been out of work for over a year and could not find a job that I was not over qualified for in my field...I have worked odd jobs and partime...but it does not pay me what I am worth...reading the complaints etc...have just confirmed that i am going to meet with them and see what it is all about myself...and it makes me want to sell Rainbow...as I already know how great it is by my past experience and that the complaints of it not working well or not being worth it is untrue...I am looking forward to proving you all wrong with my new experiences as a sales person for Rainbow...Thanks for helping me make up my mind...

    0 Votes
  • Em
    Emmie lou Sep 20, 2010

    God bless the idiots on here. They have nothing better to do than sound important to themselves. You would rather make the rich richer and buy from a big company or chain who underpays the person waiting on you than to support a sales person who is probably trying to feed his family and by pass the middle man and get paid what he is worth. You are probably one of those people who will buy something from a chain specialty store and pay way too much to say you got it there...and go to a crafts person at an exhibition and think you should pay them way less because it is handmade...so sad that is the way a lot of people think...America was known for people to be self employed and have the American dream...that is what our tax system is made on...not the people who have a limited income working for someone else. The immigrants come here and the first thing they do is not understand that we have so much freedom here and we would rather work for a boss for a limited paycheck instead of controlling it themselves...and I guess that people who are limited on their thinking and try to harm others by saying crap like you have are the blame for the American dream fading for the average American and you should not complain about people coming here and owning everything here who are from other countries. I hope most people will ignore ignorance.

    -2 Votes
  • Em
    Emmie lou Sep 20, 2010

    I owned a Rainbow in the 80s and within four weeks my allergies improved tremendously...I did not have to dust as often as I did before and the carpet was cleaner than ever after a month of using it. I am sorry if you got a sorry sales person or a bad experience with your situation, but don't lead people who may need it for health reasons awray just because you had a bad experience...there is not one product on the market or company that does not have some problems...but this machine is needed by many for their families health...It is not just a vacuum...that is one of the extra things it can do. It removes allergens and particles out of the air within a very short time and does what it is suppose to. I wonder how many of these complaints are from competitors who just like to make their competition look bad. I even heard on Oprah how great she loved it...she would not mention something that had not proven to be what it says. So grow up and if you don't want it fine...but some of the crap you posted here as complaints are your own doing...especially the ones who say there were pushed into signing papers and ripped off...you have a computer ...do your research and if someone were pushy with me...they would be pushed right out of my home or I would have the police escort them out. I hope people who could benefit from the Rainbow will be wiser to the wiser.

    -1 Votes
  • Go
    Gold2116 Aug 08, 2010

    I am gold2116 the email address is [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Go
    Gold2116 Aug 08, 2010

    I am a rainbow representative and I have to tell you that I am very pleased with what i do. I sell rainbows on a frequent basis because of 2 things. 1. I am honest 2. it works. To all you dealers out there telling people false things just to get a sale stop, you are making it bad for people who wants to sell this awesome machine. My first thing that I do is let the customer know how much it cost and if they let you stay after that you can sell this machine. I dont pressure people to by it, I just demostrate the product and sell 8 out of 10, because I'm real and true. I always think of the customer first and there needs and they appreciate that and trust me. I never had a customer complaint. I got customers inviting me and my wife to cookouts and family reunions. Enough of that. This is the BEST SYSTEM EVER when it comes to house cleaning. The office I work for is honest, because I told them that if they lie to me or a customer I will not work for them. 8 months later I am the best in the office and win all prizes. I never promise anything I can't deliver to my customer. People dont let a bad salesman keep you from purchasing the Best home cleaning machine in the business, just tell them no and go find another salesman. Kirby, electrolux, dyson, and all those other so-called cleaning machines cannot stand up to the rainbow. These products are NOT cleaning your air they are making it worse. I have went to customers homes who had these products and after the demo they where more than happy to give me their old products. They LOVE the rainbow. I read about the engineer look man your kenmore is not on the level of the rainbow. So with all that said the purchase of a rainbow is the best thing you can ever make. I know the price is high but it is a 30+ year machine, how much money will you spend in thirty years on, new vacuum purchases every 2 years, bags, belts, filters etc. way more than the price of the rainbow. Not to mention the air fresheners we buy (read the back of the can it says hazzardness to humans and pets). So in my closing, I will never sell something that does not work, nor will I sell to someone who can't afford it, I am not a pressure salesman. I dont have to pressure anyone to buy the rainbow, the rainbow puts pressure on the customer because they have to choose, if they are going to continue to use something that is bad for them or will they purchase the best cleaning system ever. Remember we are not born with allergies and asthma we aquire it by using bad cleaning products. The air outside dont make you sick it is the air inside. EVERYBODY needs a rainbow. I know yal ready for me to leave a phone numer and my name not so. Some of you are heartless. There is no bad rainbows just bad dealers. Today is 8/8/2010 I will set up an email address in 2 days for those of you that want a real salesman and a real home cleaning system. If you want to do a demo with me or if you have a problem with your rainbow email me all you haters stay away. I know yall not, but dont expect a reply. If you live in the Philadelphia, Southern New Jersey, Maryland, Delaware, Virginia area give me a shout, keep it short and no profanity please. [email protected]

    -1 Votes
  • Da
    danny leebob Jul 22, 2010

    I always doubt direct selling products. Just look at the promoter or agent and you know you are not paying for the product but the salesman. No man would come to your house with boxes and wasted his whole evening if the reward is mediocre. Some people will tell you that you can't compare a Mercedes with a Toyota, but the fact is you are not going to drive your Rainbow and show it off to your neighbours.

    1 Votes
  • Ju
    Just one more observation Jun 04, 2010

    Here's my 2 cents. Let me remind you readers that this site is called Complaints Board. It is a site about voicing a complaint. WHY, I mean really, WHY would anyone spend their time to read and then respond in disagreement to one individual’s complaint about a vacuum cleaner of all things??? Scenario: You buy a vacuum. If you like it, you tell your family, mention it to friends, done. You don't go the internet and search/read people's complaints about it just to contradict and add your own overly-exaggerated positive feelings about your "amazing" vacuum cleaner. It just does not happen. Every bit of your common sense must tell you that these responses that praise this product like the ones posted here are surely generated by unethical and/or desperate Rainbow salespeople or others with some monetary stake somehow.

    I found it suspicious also that the internet is FULL of people claiming that their Rainbow is the best thing since sliced bread, even though Consumer Reports has repeatedly given it mediocre ratings at best. Well, I didn’t want to think that salespeople polluted consumer websites to hype their own product but this proves it beyond a shadow of a doubt. Buyer beware.

    Now let me predict the future. Continue to read the posts that follow this one in time. I'll bet that "normal everyday people" will spend their time in response, ripping my comments apart, calling me names with derogatory adjectives, and/or "feeling sorry for me." These people either have no life but to defend their precious vacuum, or else have some monetary stake in this product. You decide which.

    As for me, I am now convinced that Rainbow vacuums are overly-hyped and overly-biased by false reports generated by the multitude of salespeople trying to make a paycheck. Its AMWAY-like, commission-based business model is the sole reason for its absurd cost. At $1500 to $3000, those that have bought this may claim “You get what you pay for” but the better idiom in this instance is “A fool and his money are soon parted.” We will not be buying a Rainbow.

    6 Votes
  • Ke
    KenzieFrenzie Apr 27, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    EVERYONE USING A VACCUM CLEANER WITH A FILTER FULL OF WHOLES... YOU'RE AN EFFING IDIOT. im saorry but rainbows are an incredible product from an amazing company. Sorry you had a rude sales man, there are nice ones out there who arent just looking for your money. IT IS NOT A PYRAMID SCHEME!!! Go to an open house and actually research your information before you say anything because you sound incredibly stupid. I am passionate about this because I know what an amazing priduct and company Rainbow is. And fyi, price is 2498 and the power nozzle AND the aqua mate are included. so check your facts THANKS!

    -2 Votes
  • 2r
    2-rainbow buyer Apr 06, 2010

    GREETINGS: I was Born in 1955!!! My Mother had a REX-AIR!!! YEPP!!! The Orginal...She traded it in on a New one in the Mid 1960's... That one died in the late 1970's...I bought her & My sister New ones in 1986...( I had a very good Year in 1985)... Do they WEAR OUT??? Yes!!! After 11-12 Years use Every other FREAKING DAY!!! Do they REQUIRE MAINTANCE?? Yepp!! Shag Carpet, was Rough on them( My 89yo...mother still has a den with it!!)... I Replace the Wide rubber Belt on the power Floor sweeper...Every 2-3 years!! I ALLWAYS KEEP A NEW SPARE ONE!! In a Drawer In a sealed bag out of Direct sun light!! After 11 years (1997) I had to replace the Power motor in the Floor sweeper On One... The Brushes( they transfer/provide the Electric power to make the motor go round) had worn Down!! it was being used nearly every day...+ after comparing the beater bar..to a New one...I replaced it TOO!! In 2002 After Remodeling a Bathroom...I got Drywall dust in the Main Vacumn unit...Motor Bad...It acted Erratic...Would not Start everytime... I pushed the Switch on... Upon disassembly... I found the MAIN Vacumn motor Brushes had worn Down...To their Limit... I put all the parts In a Box And took it to a dealer/ repair center here in the Dallas Tx area... He completly disassembled the Main Vacumn motor for me... And the precision Ball bearings were noisy... & Wore out... He ordered in a Rebuilt Main Vacumn Motor, and Power cord It was getting Very frayed...( where it flexed at the entrance to the vacumn) The impellers were Filthy... He cleaned and rebuilt the entire UNIT...It is still Running...But since the Child Is out on her own, And the dog passed away in 2000... It does not get used 1/4 as much as it did IT"S first 16 years!!! Am I a engineer?? No!! old industrial Electrician/ Electronics Tech... Retired Maintance manager... My mother? Her Rainbow at 24 Is still working Fine!!!... I say Raising 1 Kid /with Long haired dog... Wears out 1 rainbow!! Do the hoses wear out? YES!! The Basins Crack & Break? YES!! If Dropped!! Are they Any GOOD?? YES!!! But They aint CHEAP!!!... Oh... & I PAID CASH FER BOTH!!! Orginally!!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Maggie Beretervide Feb 15, 2010

    Hello my name is Maggie, I am a Rainbow consultant, I would like to begin by apologizing for those who are not satisfied with the service they have received, and if I can be of any assistance please message me on here to receive further contact information. Thank you and have a Blessed Day!!

    -1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.