The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Rain SoftRain Soft water system is horrible

My Rains Soft water treatment system is horrible. It doesn't work as advertised. I get dirty water out of my sink taps, toilets showers about 3 - 4 days a week. The system has been in place for about a year and my water has been worse than it was on the softener and chlorinator we had previously which they hauled away after installing the Rain Soft system. I paid $5000 for this system. I've complained, FL & Energy Water & Air have sent tech's out at least once a month. The problem still continues. What do i do next? I'm trying to contact the corporate office. Someone has got to stop running me around and fix this thing. It needs to work as advertised by their sales person Louella said it would. The "liquid Soap Products" suck. They do not clean anything. We were told that these products along with the beautiful clean rain soft water would be all we need to keep our home clean and spotless. Yeah right, we have water stains on everything!!! I can't keep the toilets clean, shower stalls clean, our clothes smell after washing them. We are at our wits end. My wife is ready to leave me because I pulled the trigger on the $5000 water system when the one we had was adequate, the only problem I had grown tired of was having to mess with liquid chlorine and constantly trying to get the right amount in the chlorinating tank so the water didn’t smell like chlorine. I was looking for a “hands off “water purification system. Louella came to our home and spent just over 3 hours showing us all these amazing things Rain Soft water can do and the “Liquid Soap Products”. How bad and horrible our water was, she did some many tests to make the water yellow, brown, pruple and it was disgusting. She wouldn’t drink our water, she said bottle water was bad to, spring water had animal feces in it. I was convinced we HAD TO HAVE this Rain Soft water system, then she told me the price $8500. I laughed at her. I told her there is no way we would pay that much even if the water turned to gold coming out of the tap and asked her to leave. Well she wouldn’t leave, she said she just couldn’t live with herself knowing we had such bad water and then made some calls outside. She came back in and said $6500. Again I told her this wasn’t going to work for us. We just don’t have that kind of money. She finally said ok we can have it for their cost, $5000 that she was only gonna make $100 but I had to give them my existing softener and chlorinator on trade. My wife didn’t want to do it, it was still too much money. I’m a salesman that’s what I do. I had to tough negotiate with my wife to get this unbelievable, life changing, I’ll never have to mix chlorine again water purification system. This was the best water on the planet. We’ll never have to clean anything ever again. We’ll have pure water, life couldn’t be better. We’ll be healthier, we’ll save so much money because you only have to use a teeny tiny amount of their concentrated “Liquid Soap Products”.
The system was installed April 2010 by FL & Energy Water & Air. They came out to fix it around 2 times a month through September 2010. I don't have all of the service work orders but I have 6 of them dating through late August, and 2 more from April & May 2011. They didn't always give me a copy. I even tried to reach the sales person Loella and couldn’t get her to call me after repeated attempts. I haven’t seen or spoken to her since the day she demoed the product and sold us on Rain Soft. Jude, the service tech asked that I give a few months before calling them for service work on that last trip Sept, 2010. He said that the system needed time to adjust and settle in. Well nothing changed in the water quality. During those few months through Nov 2010 we still had dirty water and all the associated problems. The holidays were upon us and we got caught up in them and didn’t make a service call. I am a business owner and became very very busy after the first of the year. It is my busiest season Jan. – April. I work long hours and 7 day weeks. My wife is a CPA and she does the same. I thought my wife had called in service work and she thought I had been taking care of it. In Feb 2011 we started getting solicitation calls from Rain Soft to do warranty maintenance work on the system. They were going to charge me for this. I argued with them that the system had never worked as advertised and no sense doing maintenance on a system that doesn't work especially at my expense. I resumed the service work requests to get the problem fixed once and for all, March 2011. I called corporate and spoke to a woman there that sympathized with my story but said she couldn’t do anything that I had to talk with FL & Energy Water & Air. She was going to call the owner of FL & Energy Water & Air on my behalf and have him contact me. No one ever called not from corporate or FL & Energy Water & Air. I reluctantly called them because I had no choice but they hadn’t fixed anything on the system since it was installed. I ask to speak to the owner, why not go directly to the top. I spoke to a young man and he swore he’d get my message to him after hearing my story and the owner would get right back with me. I didn’t get a call. I waited two weeks and repeated my calls and requests about every 3 days when our water would be dirty as it served as a constant reminder and soon to be reason for a divorce. I finally asked to speak to someone who runs the business, a manager, supervisor, someone…… I talked with a "man in charge" Scott at FL & Energy Water & Air. He was upset with me that I hadn’t called in a service order from Nov 2010, even after I explained why. He assured me the problem would get fixed. They kept sending the same tech out however, Jude, that had come out all the previous times last year. This went on for about 3 or four service calls and finally last week, May 5th, 2011 a new tech came out, Mike M. I told him my story, I showed him the shower stalls and how disgusting they are and that they look like this weekly, and the toilets black ring that appears over and over and over every other day, and the smell of the water, the smell of our clean clothes and bath towels, the water stains on the glass in the master bath shower stall, the stains on our wine glasses, pots and pans, everything. He suggested we put bleach discs in our toilet tanks to keep those clean that because the water was so clean it draws bacteria and the dark rings that appear every other day is bacteria???? What?? really??? We did it, I am tired of having to clean the toilets as often as we do. I'll try anything to lessen the work load. Do you know how embarrassing it is to have family and company over and have dirty toilet water. It looks like someone forgot to flush, 3 – 4 days a week!!! Mike M. inspected the system and said a seal was broken and all clogged up and that was the problem and everything should be fine. He was at the house for about 20-30 minutes. Well today is Mother's day May 8th, 2011 and the water was brown again out of the faucets, sinks, showers and toilets. Nothing has changed. It’s the same old problem.
My wife has contacts. She puts them in the mornings and has to use the water from our reverse osmosis tap in the kitchen every day because the water from our master bathroom tap is brown and smelly. There is a two gallon storage tank for the osmosis water. We use this to cook, to drink. The water from our tap to us is not drinkable. Taking a shower is awful, you don’t feel clan and you smell. Our clothes have a distinct pissy smell. We thought it was the “Liquid Soap Products” not cleaning them. Those products didn’t clean anything, It isn’t concentrated. We had to use double just to get the clothes to smell tolerable. We finally gave up on the “Liquid Soap Products” and went back to regular laundry detergents, we’ve tried every brand we can to make the clothes smell better. We even bought a new washer and dryer. It’s the water!!
I want my $5000 refunded or for the love of God please fix this system to work like it was advertised to work. Put in a new system whatever it takes. I’ve asked FL & Energy Water & Air to come out and do the sales presentation all over again. Come out and show me what this water system is supposed to do. I have pictures I'd be happy to share with the world just email me at [protected]@cfl.rr.com I will not stop trying to get this resolved. I can call my local TV networks to do a story. I can start an anti Rain Soft Facebook page and website. This will get resolved.
Leonard Jenkins

Rain Soft water system is horrible
Rain Soft water system is horrible
Rain Soft water system is horrible
Rain Soft water system is horrible
Rain Soft water system is horrible
Rain Soft water system is horrible
Rain Soft water system is horrible
Rain Soft water system is horrible
Rain Soft water system is horrible

Responses

  • Sh
    Sheleane Steele Oct 15, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I feel the same way especially with my laundry. I disconnected my rain soft equipment and my laundry is normal again, well except for the towels and a few clothes, pretty sure I need to just buy new ones. It's a terrible distinct smell. My toilets also get the black ring, I feel like this rain soft crap has costed me more then before I had it. So disappointed. I deal with Home Water Solutions in Loveland Colo

    0 Votes
  • 81
    81m Jun 09, 2014

    I read that the waste water line can be too low in the sewer drainout and can suck up sewage into your lines, that may be what is happening.

    0 Votes
  • Aw
    awild72 Apr 22, 2011

    I PAID THE WATER SOFTENER FOR 25 MONTH. THEY OVER CHARGE FOR DELAY, ON 04/13 I PAID $180.00 AND AMERICAN FINCO BILLED ON 04/17/ $ 129.94 FOR FINANCE CHARGED . I NEED HELP WITH THIS COMPANY. I WANT TO SUBMITTT THIS BECAUSE IS THE WORST COMPANY. THEY ARE NOT CONSUMER FRIENDLY. PLEASE HELP ME.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.