SUBMIT A COMPLAINT

Plentyoffish or POF.comtransgender discrimination

1
M Review updated:

My name is Tasmia, I am a transsexual. I was on plenty of fish in hopes to find true love. I notice they had a section for men seeking men and a section for men seeking women or women seeking men. so beings I identify as a women, I posted in women seeking men. I recieved a few hate mail but overall met some wonderful guys, then suddenly my ad was deleted, i contact POF.com to ask why and they didnt even reply, I made another account 1 day later it was taking down I sent an email no response, I created another account it was deleted an hour after making it. (the time frame of when i created my first account to created my third account was 4 months). I recent tried to create another account and it was deleted again, I email very frustrated and finally I recieve a response to today from POF saying


Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to email Plentyoffish.com.

After a recent review of your account and activity on Plentyoffish.com, we have decided to close your account.

We will not disclose specific details regarding your account’s closure.

Most commonly, account closures are a direct result of a violation of our Terms and Conditions regarding misrepresentation of personal information.

We may also close an account due to complaints about your correspondence, profile content, or for any other reason as stated in our Terms and Conditions.

If you would like to review our Terms and Conditions, you may do so by clicking on the following link:

http://www.plentyoffish.com/terms.aspx

The closure of your account is permanent, and any future accounts will be automatically detected and deleted by the system.

Regards,

Sarah
POF Team
Plentyoffish.com

I am seriously not understanding why my ad was deleted, I never VIOLATED ANY TERMS. NOWHERE IN THERE TERMS SAY TRANSSEXUALS OR TRANSGENDEREDS CANT POST IN THE FEMALE SECTION. IM NOT A SPAMMER, IM NOT AN ESCORT, DIDNT ADVERTISE ANYTHING, THEN PLACE NUDE PIX UP. I WANT TO KNOW WHATS GOING ON. IF I DONT HEAR FROM THERE IN A FEW DAYS, I AM SEEKING LEGAL REPRESENTATION

Responses

  • Da
    daniellie Feb 15, 2011

    I'm facing the same problem. I tried 5 times to maintain a profile at POF. 5 times deleted.
    I received a similar message from this person (Sarah). Apparently POF never "disclose" the reason they cancel your account.
    Despite the service is free and open to the public, POF is operating under heavy discrimination against transgenders.

    Daniellie Parker ([email protected]).

    2 Votes
  • Mi
    Mimi Abadies Nov 11, 2019

    @daniellie Same here, POF blocked my account for joining as woman seeking men. Tinder blocked me, Badoo blocked me, now POF as well. Like wtf is wrong with these dating apps?

    1 Votes
  • Ro
    romanaxx Mar 10, 2011

    I am effectively a heterosexual male, but I live as a transwoman. I have been living full-time for 5-1/2 years.
    A vitriolic woman took exception to my picture as a woman and said there was no place for people like me, and I had to leave.
    Ach, she kept calling me a crossdresser...very insulting. So I got dropped.
    I find this all very amusing. It was like being in the Twilight Zone.
    In my search for a new woman partner, my credentials are impeccable, but those of POF are not.
    POF has a lot of complaints and a low rating. I will work with OKCUPID instead. They have a better rating and they handle offcenter people

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Max Brownlow Apr 22, 2013

    Hi my user name is bojer i have tried for the last 3 days to use my chat box but it continually sates the user is not on site when i no they are or sometimes it will say that i am not connected to the chat line trying to connect why has pof changed from a perfectly good system to a totally inferior one

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Max Brownlow Apr 22, 2013

    hi i have been trying for the last 3 days to use my chat box but it continually states the user is not on site when i no they are orit sometimes says not connected to the chat line trying to connect but never does .. .. why has pof changed from a perfectly good system to a totally inferior one

    0 Votes
  • Eb
    Ebony Von Tru Jul 19, 2013

    I have the same problem with this website I've investigated about this online and pof says they're transgender friendly only because they associate us with Gay men so they want us to post our profile in the male 4 male section. I've been deleted 6 times and it's only because I'm a
    transwomen this hurts my heart to see such ignorance and discrimination on such a huge website they're definitely Gay friendly but not M2F friendly, there's countless stories all over the net about pof discrimination. We need to band together and fight this you can email me @ [email protected]

    1 Votes
  • Ar
    aranp33 Jan 19, 2014

    i have had my account deleted, i have not been rude to anyone posted rude pics or sexuall messeges i think this is highly unfair .ive emailed pof to no response.i was talking to a few nice people .i think its well out of order im thinking maybe when you messege someone and they block you so they dont have to reply.maybe pof take this into account ??.id like a reply please to tell why i have been deleted .ive tried to make other accounts but they get deleted to even with different email addresses im baffled

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    ariDH Jul 28, 2014

    I'm a transman, and have had the same issues. I even tried posting my ad as female, despite identifying as male, with the same results- if I put on my profile that I'm trans, it gets deleted. I never emailed anyone about it, though.

    0 Votes
  • 3v
    3_v_e Sep 07, 2014

    If the state of New Jersey says I'm a female, I'm a female and should be able to post under female section especially if I'm telling you on my bio of my situation.

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    grammy5cool Dec 02, 2014

    There is a guy on your site posing as someone he is not. He has his pictures on someone else profile. name is jeffreyzangndt. from Chambers Pa. The reason I know is because I have been chatting with Jeff and when I saw he was on-line thee profile is from a Howard E Clement... I need to block him from m message list, but he will not reply back so I can... Very up-set...

    0 Votes
  • Na
    naomi lotts Oct 17, 2015

    This has happened today to me and to another trans friend in the past. If we keep just talking about it and not doing anything then we shouldn't complain. I think a joint law suit should be in order.

    -1 Votes
  • Bu
    bumble74 Jan 20, 2016

    I've now been deleted yet again of pof I've not been nasty, rude or anything to upset anyone but yet again my account has been deleted, I'm fed up of wasting my time on a site that doesn't care about people. I was in the process of talking to a couple of people but now thay will think I'm no longer interested. This cant be aloud to happen.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    JackieTS Jan 24, 2016

    I know, not acceptable POF!! I am a transgender pre-op woman and I can't believe POF is ignoring us like this!! This is not acceptable. I joined TSMingle.com which is a 100% free Transsexual dating site. The best thing about TSMingle.com is that it tailors to all the beautiful transgender women and their admirers. They don't require a credit card to join. No ads, no gimmicks, no up sale. TSMingle.com was created by a transgender single because of the deficiencies of dating sites such as POF.

    0 Votes
  • It
    Itiswatitis Apr 07, 2018

    @JackieTS This is a good idea go on to those sites in a population that is catering to your needs.

    0 Votes
  • Xb
    xbellex Feb 26, 2016

    I had the same experience too! I'm transgender pre op woman from England. I have officially changed my gender and yet POF keeps deleting my account and when contacted, do not response at all!
    First time I had overwhelming amount of messages (120 something) within 2 days and then on day 3 they just deleted my profile. I created account at least 4 times and was deleted within an hour or so. This is direct discrimination.

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    Michelle Guinn Aug 03, 2016

    The worst part about this is that it's completely circumstance. I have friends who are just drag queens and crossdressers who have had profiles for years on pof just to hook up and never had any problems. But if even one guy brings attention to your profile then POF has you in their their radar and you're screwed! It's absolutely ridiculous and insulting! I've tried numerous times and my profiles stay up anywhere from one hour to a week but ultimately always disappear and then pof doesn't respond to any emails about why. And yet Tinder, Okcupid and match.com could all care less... the problem is that Pof actually has real guys looking for relationships where as most of okcupid and tinder are guys looking to hook up and match is to expensive.

    In this day and age there is no excuse for the transphobia going on with Pof!

    0 Votes
  • Na
    naomi lotts Sep 01, 2016

    Honestly just talking and complaining does nothing. Still being laughed at and called disgusting until you make an example and file a join action law suit.

    2 Votes
  • Da
    Dani Tempest Sep 04, 2016

    Hello Gf's. I signed up for POF a few days ago. I'm also a pre-op transsexual and have lived full time for many years. Of course I checked female since they do not have a transgender option. I took about an hour and wrote a nice, little profile looking for females and other transwomen for friendship and possibly more. I browsed a bit but didn't send any messages since it was getting late into the night. So today I have some time off and thought it was strange that I wasn't getting any messages (not a one). So went back over to POF to sign in and found that my account was shut down for no reason. I no longer have a profile there although I didn't violate any type of terms. I didn't even message anyone. lol

    So yes there is obviously a good amount of bigotry going on over at POF even in 2016! I guess the fact I was upfront in my first paragraph by mentioning that I'm a non-op transsexual hurt me. I'm thinking that whoever moderates and approves accounts over at POF decided to shut mine down because of that. I didn't even receive a message explaining that it had been tossed. No, instead I found out the hard way. This is outright discrimination! I'm actually a little pissed off about it in all honesty. What are we, Lepers? Is it somehow offensive for someone to pass by a transwoman in their search? I guess the big fish that moderate their pond think that people are unable to just move on if they're not interested. What kinda big fish decides who can be allowed in their pond? Does that fish also moderate who the attractive people are and remove those that aren't? Or what about if someone isn't Christian, does the big fish decide what religions are acceptable and not acceptable in their pond?

    Yeah, kinda silly 'aint it friends? Here we are living in the year 2016 and there are online companies that still have their head up their butt. I suggest we ban together sisters and do what we can to legally prosecute POF for their obvious bigotry towards transwomen. I can only assume they treat transmen the same way. This is outright discrimination! I don't care how anyone decides to slice it. this is discrimination and it's WRONG.

    1 Votes
  • Wi
    Will Holtzapfel Apr 26, 2017

    Having the same Problems with them. We cannot post in m4m cause gay men typically do not want Trans. I feel completely unwanted by POF and to top it off they are licated in B.C. They should know better!!!

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    Shaygan Persaud May 17, 2017

    so the same thing happened to me today...i feel so ashamed of myself

    0 Votes
  • Ae
    Aetherprincess Sep 10, 2017

    Same exact experience as you ladies. This website is vile. I honestly wouldn't care BUT of all the dating sites I've been a member of, I actually get very good response from the members on POF, of course I get death threats and a lot of harassment too, but that goes with the territory of being transgender.

    1 Votes
  • Ae
    Aetherprincess Sep 10, 2017

    My advice to you ladies, blast them on all forms of social media you can. Let our allies speak for us too.

    1 Votes
  • Sc
    Scrapers〘N〙Bots Dec 19, 2017

    If you are transgender and are not trying to hide it you should probably join transgender dating websites because the members won't mind you and will even welcome.

    A great tool worth a mention is the POF USERNAME SEARCH at: https://www.scrapersnbots.com/webtools/plenty-of-fish-username-search.php It's Free and makes it so POF users don't have to pay to upgrade when they get an email saying 'so and so' wants to meet you.

    0 Votes
  • St
    Stacy McMahon Jan 29, 2018

    I'm going to find out how to file a class action lawsuit so everyone email so I can get this ball rolling [email protected]

    1 Votes
  • Ni
    Nikki Orlowski Mar 17, 2018

    I've had the same thing happen to me as well

    1 Votes
  • It
    Itiswatitis Apr 07, 2018

    I'm not against anyone's life choices. However please don't post in the female sections. Not interested at all in being with any type of ts. I understand you identify with a woman but at the end of the day your not a natural born woman. Just like I am not black. I can get all the tans in the world paint my body black I can't out in the ethnicity box I am black when I'm not.

    There should be another category for your type. Please don't shove your beliefs on to others at the end of the day your not a real women I know it is not something to hear but that's the truth and the men who only want women natural women should not be fooled or subjected to false reliance.

    -3 Votes
  • Dani T Aug 26, 2018

    @Itiswatitis Hello, I think where you are unintentionally misled is the fact that most of us mention being trans on our profile which is why we were removed from the site in the first place. lol So nobody is, as you put it "fooling" anyone. That's just silly when the first paragraph of my profile couldn't be clearer...

    "Hello gentlemen! I'm Dani and yes I'm non-op transsexual. I'm cozy in my own skin and very happy with my body and the parts it came with. In other words... I'm not "trying to be female" nor am I one of these "born in the wrong body" types. No, in fact... I was born in exactly the RIGHT body with exactly the right parts! lol The bottom line is... I'm actually very happy being ME, so let's get all of that straight right up front."

    I agree that there are men that are only interested in genetic women and I completely appreciate that and would never EXPECT someone like yourself to be into someone that is trans. So if you had clicked on my profile, I'm quite sure you would have moved along after reading my first paragraph. In fact, you probably wouldn't have read past the very first sentence.

    As far as your "tanning" scenario... I'm sorry, but attempting to relate race and gender is nonsensical. The fact is, you will never appear to be black whereas there are many transwomen today that are able to "pass" in life as the opposite gender without any trouble. It sounds to me like you must have been chatting it up with a pretty TS and she wasn't upfront with you and you were disappointed and possibly angry when she finally told you her little secret. I wouldn't blame you for being upset and would side with you that she was wrong for misleading you. If something like that happened to you that proves my point about some, in fact, many transsexuals being passable these days.

    But the subject we're commenting on here has to do with gender discrimination which is inexcusable in the year 2018 wouldn't you agree?

    All The Best In Your Dating Search! - Dani

    0 Votes
  • Kr
    Krissi0224 May 09, 2019

    @Itiswatitis I’m sorry but I completely disagree with you and I hope you beliefs evolve at some point. I am a woman recognize by the state and the government I answer to. I did not go on this site to misrepresent myself or to mislead any man in any way and was clearly discriminated against. I hate to be the one to point out the obvious but “those” types of men that want to be with trans woman are in your world! Look around.. because they are looking for us. And wouldn’t you feel better as a real woman as you stated more than once knowing that the man you want isn’t getting something somewhere else while being with you? Open your eyes to the world around you.
    Good luck in your search
    Krissi

    -1 Votes
  • It
    Italianbrian Jan 08, 2020

    @Itiswatitis WOW! So now joining a dating site, is shoving my belief on others. A SIMPLE pass me by is not something you can do? Don't write to a transwoman, or just give no reply. I don't understand your problem? I agree that you should be upfront with people, but don't push your "moral compass" on me.

    0 Votes
  • Ev
    Evan TOder Apr 25, 2018

    I am pretty sure the entire world discriminates against transgenders. I mean how long have women been allowed to work? I don’t why people bash POF. Its FREE!! LOL. It has the most members of any site. Its not POF thats bad. People are idiots. Just wanted to mention the tool that replaces the missing POF Username Search: https://www.scrapersnbots.com/webtools/plenty-of-fish-username-search.php

    0 Votes
  • Gi
    Giannadelrey Oct 10, 2018

    wow okay I thought I was honestly over reacting or trippin about this. I think that POF is indeed transphobic... but what can be done?

    1 Votes
  • It
    Italianbrian Jan 08, 2020

    @Giannadelrey You're not. I am an FTM. Never got deleted but WOW! On the anger and hate on that site. I screenshotted them.

    0 Votes
  • Mr
    Mrdubdub Dec 13, 2018

    Its kind of wrong in 2018 that pof still does not have a different markers for people who identify differently. Androgynous transgender etc. I think if they are going to be such a large part of the online dating community at this point they should have to. Or atleast let whoever identify as male or female as they want to. I myself have been wanting to date someone from a different identification other than male or female for years. But i live in maine. The only scenes up here are online lol. So it would be really nice if sites like pof would get with the times.

    1 Votes
  • Kr
    Krissi0224 May 09, 2019

    My name is Kristin I am legally recognized female I have had a legal name change as have lived as a woman for many years. I have worked very hard at being very honest and open about my transgender sexuality. I am a hard working person in mainstream society I do not have a website offer any level of escort service in any way. But I have had my profile deleted 3 times from POF.
    From the very first sentence in my profile I state very clearly “I am not here to fool, mislead or misrepresent myself in anyway I am a transgender woman most commonly recognized as a MTF. If I am not what you are looking for and I am mostly likely not. Please accept my apologies and I hope you find what it is that you are looking for.”
    And after an amazing amount of responses to my profile it’s was taken down. I never sent anyone any pics of any kind other than what was visible on my profile. I never once used foul language or even looked at anyone’s profile who didn’t approach me first and yet my profile was deleted not once. Not twice but three times. There is a desire for heterosexual men to meet trans women (those of us who actually want to meet a man for a relationship)that was very clear the first 3 hours my profile was up I had more than 67 responses in one day.
    But Plenty of Fish is clearly discriminated on Trans participation!!! This needs to end!! We need to band together and demand changes
    This is discrimination in any court in any country!!!

    1 Votes
  • Pa
    paris79 May 21, 2019

    Hi,

    I am a MTF trans woman living in the England UK, POF has taken my profile down 4 times already this year for no reason at all, i havnt advertised anything i havnt spammed my photos were head shots only. This is wrong!!! and total discrimination!!! as previous posts have said we need to get together and seek legal advise as a community!!!

    0 Votes
  • Kr
    Krissi0224 Jun 03, 2019

    There is a petition that has been started for the discrimination of transgender women(only women) from the website POF.
    Please go to Care2petition search POF SINGLES SITE DISCRIMINATION
    Read it, sign it...fight it!!
    If enough of get together share one voice we can make a change

    1 Votes
  • It
    Italianbrian Jan 08, 2020

    @Krissi0224 My Profile has been left on for years. So they are discriminating against my Trans Sisters. Ride this wave all the way through!! GO GET EM' GIRLS! WIN!!

    1 Votes
  • It
    Italianbrian Jan 08, 2020

    @Italianbrian I am an FTM Transman by the way.

    1 Votes
  • Ts
    Tsgrl Jun 09, 2019

    Same thing for me. Banned several times. No reason given. I know its because I'm trans. My original account was deleted after a few months. Made a new one, had that about a year until it was deleted last week. Contacted support. No response. Made a new account and within 15 minutes it was gone and yes I put trans in the description so I know they are discriminating against me based on my gender identity which by the way is illegal in the UK. It's just disgusting that this company is getting away with doing this and it's not ok.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    Chastity Herink Jul 31, 2019

    Greetings,
    Not that I am better then anyone else, but I am post op and all the rest of it
    I put in the prof
    "and it was time to physically change my gender."
    "Surgically, I am post op, as in my outie is now an innie, therefore I am medically a woman, please be respectful with any questions regarding my evolution"

    Been deleted several times
    POF is a canadian company like fetlife so there are different laws There are a lot of fake meetme profiles on POF. okcupidyou have to like someone then the like u back some dumb bs, ts sites are a bunch of chasers.
    FYI I was going to alot of different swingers parties, and I always disclose before being with someone, I was treated like a diseased freak after they were done with me. I am no longer invited and I live in the metropolitan area.
    It is a very lonely road

    1 Votes
  • It
    Italianbrian Jan 08, 2020

    @Chastity Herink Yes it is. If they had a sad button, I would press it.

    0 Votes

Post your comment