The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Plato's Closethorrible customer service

T

I have just had one of the worst customer service experiences I have ever had in one of the Platos Closet stores. The one located on 1808 W International Speedway Blvd, Suite 504, Daytona Beach, FL 32114. Sunday (yesterday) afternoon I bought a purse from there and this morning when I brought it to work I noticed that one of the handles was ready to come off. I brought it back to the store and was not going to ask for a refund just a credit or another purse.

At this point I was told by the owners that there are no refunds on purses and then they proceeded to blame me for ruining the purse. I mean really! I spent $30 on a purse and I was going to ruin it! I understand that the purse being used was slightly frayed. I am okay with that but the purse should have never been sold in the first place if the handle was ready to come off. Is that the kind of reputation they want for their stores? They were rude and yes I told them this was unacceptable and they could at least give me store credit or another purse. Again they chose to blame me for ruining the purse. Honestly why would I have bought it in the first place if I was going to ruin it in less than a day? When I asked them for the corporate number and their names so I could call and complain they asked me to leave and told me I could get the information on the website. Again horrible customer service. Not once did they attempt to work with me, instead they chose to blame me and then to make matters worse they asked me to leave.

Responses

  • Bl
    Black balloon May 04, 2014

    Lol. The one I go to in Canton Ohio has stains, holes and more in the clothes they sell. My mom saw a purse with stains on it and told one of the girls. They sold it to her cheaper. I have gotten luck with selling and buying there. But, before they moved, they teens that worked there previously were ###.

    0 Votes
  • Pr
    prranch8250 Aug 01, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My daughter words for a Plato's and everyone one in there is very helpful and polite.. always offering to help me look for something and even look in the back for something specific, if I am not just browsing..
    I have seen some stuff in there that I am surprised that they are selling, but then, I am not buying them either if they are not up to my standards.. pretty simple rule and certainly not a reason to BASH all of the Plato's Closets out there..
    No one is forcing you to either buy or sell from them.. sounds like you need to just take your business elsewhere..

    0 Votes
  • Co
    Connie Adams Carlton Mar 23, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I went once as well! I brought them two bins full of designer and brand new abercrombie and hollister clothing including jeans, shirts, skirts, and dresses, even brand new and un used flip flops with the tags still on! There must have been at least 100 items there, and they offered me 45 dollars. I know they would sell my items for way more than what they had offered. The fat and rude girls there laughed at me when I was surprised! I took my bin home! I also feel like it is a bit dirty there and it smells kind of gross. I like getting clothes new, I do not like used clothing or the nasty stores they are sold in. But this one was particularly gross!

    0 Votes
  • Po
    pobarjenkins Feb 19, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have been to two Plato's closets. I am quite fond of the Plato's Closet in Coon Rapids, MN. While the employees are nothing to write home about, they aren't rude. They are what you would expect of a bunch of teenage girls getting paid minimum wage after high school.

    The quality of clothes at this Plato's is extremely high for a cost that's extremely low (usually $5).

    It doesn't surprise me that they don't pay well for your used clothes and it shouldn't surprise you either. The company needs to turn a profit somehow. Though I must say that I am no fan of Hollister or abercrombie clothes, so that is not what I look at.

    Either way, it's important to remember that every Plato's is different, and those people that defend Plato's Closet can be just as correct as the people that dislike it.

    2 Votes
  • No
    norwoodsoccer04 Feb 19, 2011

    First off for everyone who gets rude on here and stands up for Plato's, most of you are in the wrong. I have been to many different Plato's and it's the same story every time. Every single employee who works at this store is rude. They are all either snobby or just have a lack of respect. I have yet to meet a nice employee. Secondly, the clothes they sell AREN'T gently used. They will sell things with worn spots(little fabric balls) or holes and tears. When I have brought in brand new heels in box and wrapper and clothes with the tags on it, they want to give you ten dollars. Word of advice, go to E bay. What I'd also like to make known is that they will sell bad condition clothing in brands like American Eagle, and Hollister Etc. for a ridiculous amount of money. You can go to the store and find Brand NEW clothes for cheaper then Plato's. Especially on the clearance rack, and it's all cute and in-style. I will pay no more than 10$ at Hollister for shirts and hoodies, and as little as 4$ at American Eagle. To sum it all up, Plato's tries to rip you off in anyway possible. They have one of the worst customer satisfaction ratings and they're "deals" aren't worth it. Go to the store and spend less money for brand new clothes.

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    Happy Day Feb 07, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    What a JOKE and a WASTE OF TIME

    A very disrespectful "guy" works at this store, and he was very rude to me. I could say a few more things about my whole experience but I think I'll be the better person and just never go back.

    0 Votes
  • Wh
    Whocares123 Jun 23, 2010

    I had a bad experience there today, too. I went in to try and get some cash for 9 tops that I have. I wasn't greeted. Immediately the girl behind the desk asks if I had been there before. She had me fill out a paper and said "next time you come we ask that you leave the clothes off the hanger." Maybe it was rude, maybe not. But does it really matter that much that you have to tell people that? It took me 20 seconds to remove all the hangers. Anyway, she said I would get my estimate in about 10 minutes. It probably could have been quicker would she have stopped gossiping about some other girl to her co-worker. At one point, I heard the co-worker say how "stupid some people are." It was very unprofessional. After watching and listening to her gossip for about a minute, I went up and stood in front of her, hoping to hurry her up. I don't care about talking while you work, just as long as you can do both of those things at the same time. I didn't let her finish the estimate. I just took the clothes and left. I will get more satisfaction giving them away for free. I won't be going back there again. It's a shame because I saw some really cute shirts in there that I would have purchased.

    0 Votes
  • Us
    usmce5wife May 17, 2010

    I have to say I was very disappointed I went there for the 1st time today and the people that worked there were very rude. One of the workers was making fun of and talking about a costumer they just got off the phone with. Also I have found much better deals at the salvation army they wanted 16.00 dollars for a pair of old navy jeans that had rips in the bottom where they had been to long on the person that wore them before. I was really looking forward to going there and I am not happy with what I found.

    0 Votes
  • Bu
    busy25 Oct 27, 2009

    I went there myself and experienced the same rude treatment from the "owner". I will never shop there EVER!

    0 Votes
  • Ag
    aghany Oct 26, 2009

    I don't know how companies like this stay in business. Over $30 they have lost a customer in the worst possible way. They accused the customer of damaging the purse and threw her out of the store when asked for the corporate number. Did they think when she did call the corporate number that she would think better of them and the store? They probably thought she would give up and not call all. Why refuse to give their names? Sounds like they didn't want to get in trouble with the corporate office if she did happen to call.

    No matter what the cost was anyone would expect the merchandise to last longer than 24 hours. After examining the purse they should have offered her another purse of the same value or store credit. The customer would have walked away happy and most likely would have felt they had a good experience and continued to be a valued customer.

    Stores need their customers as much as the customers need their merchandise. People work hard for their money. This store has turned an inconvenience into a bad experience. They have lost this customer and probably anyone else that she's relayed her experience to.

    I refuse to shop at stores that do not respect and value their customers. I too work hard for my money. They are not the only store in town.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    MariaFightingBack Oct 26, 2009

    I have just had one of the worst customer service experiences I’ve ever had. Sunday (yesterday) afternoon I bought a purse from there and this morning when I brought it to work I noticed that one of the handles was ready to come off. I brought it back to the store and wasn’t going to ask for a refund just a credit or another purse.

    At this point I was told by the owners that there are no refunds on purses and then they proceeded to blame me for ruining the purse. I mean really! I spent $30 on a purse and I was going to ruin it! I understand that the purse being used was slightly frayed. I don’t have a problem with that but the purse should’ve never been sold in the first place if the handle was ready to come off. They were very, very, rude and yes I told them this was unacceptable and they could at least give me store credit or another purse. Again they chose to blame me for ruining the purse. Honestly why would’ve I bought it in the first place if I was going to ruin it in less than a day? When I asked them for the corporate number and their names so I could call and complain they asked me to leave and told me I could get the information on the website. Again horrible customer service. Not once did they attempt to work with me, instead they chose to blame me and then to make matters worse they asked me to leave.

    0 Votes
  • To
    Toggle Oct 22, 2009

    Platos Closet has the rudest employees I have ever encountered in my life. Three separate location visits and plenty of internet complaints have confirmed this for me. I honestly wonder what they look for in their new hires because they are all so disrespectful. I even encountered a funny situation while shopping at my local mall. As I was shopping in an American Eagle store, the employees caught a young teen shoplifting and identified her as one of the many Platos Closet employees who steals for that dreadful store. As if they don't take enough from their customers, now they are encouraging their workers to steal so that they don't have to pay you ANYTHING! Shameless.

    0 Votes
  • Ih
    I hate Plato's Closet! Oct 12, 2009

    Do not go to the cary crossroads loaction... Ann the manager does not know how to treat people who have questions or don't know all the rules of her little franchise consignment shop clothing store. She is a rude, disrespectful person who does not know how to treat people who are only trying to help her business prosper. This company is too picky for what it really is. High end my #!

    Ann... Kiss it!

    0 Votes
  • Au
    aussiegal Aug 13, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Platos closet store in Dallas, kicking paying customers out of the store with the announcement from a teen employee " we're closed, you all have to leave now or I'll call the manager" doesn't cut it.

    Beyond bad business practice which smacks of high school "maturity", closing the doors close to 10 minutes early!
    Beyond husseling the customers through the doors held open wide by said employee.

    Beyond the fact that my daughter and I drove over 30 minutes to get there though traffic in an unfamiliar city. That an excited just turned 12 year old girl was visiting ANY Platos closet store for the first time. All she wanted was to get new clothes for her new school after just moving to the state, but ended up walking out bewildered by the harsh treatment after being in there for less than one minute.

    Inconsiderate vermin.

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.