Outdoor Adventureslawsuit and accounting

J
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

I am in the middle of a lawsuit with this company. Case # 12 - 7073 gc in the 74the district court bay city, mi.
I have seen courts lie for the plaintiff but theis is unreal. I had a previous case and settled with theoutdoor adventures counsel and a thomas soerger. But now thomas soerger wants to apply thee payments his way and not according to thee agreement. I had paid some more payments and when i asked thomas soerger to adjust theis he had a new case filed.
I will be filing and answer and counter - complaint since he filed bothe law suits at thee beginning of summer and denied us access for two full summers.
Be careful how you deal with these people as they are very untrustworthey. They have created some type of accounting documents which is very confusing.

Any one wanting more information can contact my email at: [protected]@yahoo.com

Responses

  • Valerie Jan 17, 2007

    I was promised so many wonderful things with OUTDOORS ADVENTURES, only to be extremely disappointed. The costs for this 'deal' is ridiculous--OVER $8000.00--and, again, this was suppose to be a 'deal'. Not only do you pay $8000.00 or even more, but then you have to pay a yearly fee of $348.00! For what? Never any availability, and if there is availability, it is a complete and total disaster: Dirty rooms, broken items, smelly, and the most rude people I have ever met! They won't let you out of this 'deal' for anything. OUTDOORS ADVENTURES say that this is an 'investment'. I say they are a SCAM. I feel with all my heart that---OUTDOORS ADVENTURES is a SCAM!!!

    20 Votes
  • Pc
    pcfix609 May 14, 2009

    Yes to all including what we found out recently. The more or less $8000 you paid for was actually for a 5 year membership term! We didn't know that or maybe we did not understand their agent during the sale day. All we thought was the deal was for a "lifetime" membership. We were wrong. There are no rights and no ownership after 5 years and after you have paid over $8000 plus the yearly $348. It's not worth it - the Davidson MI resort and others is a joke.

    11 Votes
  • Jl
    JLThomas Mar 28, 2010

    My wife and I went to Outdoor Adventures as part of a promo that's designed to get people to join the facilities in March 2010. They give you a key that will hopefully win a truck, but have two prizes if that doesn't happen. First they guarantee you've won a minimum of $500.00, which is simply inaccurate.

    There's 5 potential prizes and you win two: 1) His her watch, which is worth $20.00 MAYBE with odds of 74, 992 out of 75, 000; 2) Disney Trip with odds of 1 out of 75, 000; 3) 27" TV, with odds of 3 out of 75, 000; 4) eight 3night-2day vacations, which is more complicated then it's worth to even attempt to book, plus it costs $50.00 just to do the paperwork with a refund once you land the hotel with zero airfare, etc. with odds of 74, 992 out of 75, 000; and 5) $500.00, with odds of 2 out of 75, 000.

    The long and short: You will win the $20 dollar watches and the 8 vacations you really can't use. They also promised a $25 dollar resturant voucher, which I had to remind them of (as they forgot).

    Finally, it costs $10, 000 to join and $360 per year for one park only -- which wasn't nearly as nice as many state parks I've stayed in. The salesman couldn't even answer any questions related to overbooking, peak times, slow times, cost to use the outdoor pool, etc. His answers were circle-jerks. Then they slid in the ultimate salesman to try and convince us of this great deal, at which point he cut the price in half. This alone was a turn off. Having the price dropped in 1/2 within minutes demostrates the true value of this package. It's worthless. Goodluck Outdoor Adventures...see you in bankruptcy court.

    My two cents worth: Don't give an organization like this $10, 000 of your hard earned money, as bankruptcy will wipe your poor investment right out. They apparently have no safeguards in place to protect your 10k.

    5 Votes
  • Co
    concerned member holder Apr 14, 2010

    We got suckered into this lifetime contract. The first year we got into the campgrounds fairly easy, the second year was the year I paid them off and it was a nightmare to get a reservation. if you are going to get a membership look online for someone selling thiers. you will save a boatload, just remember lifetime means lifetime, you will pay at least the $360 a year for the rest of your life weither you use it or not. We didn't get a reserveation at all for the Davison location last year as they said they were booked up all summer. When they gaurentee a place to camp it can be at any of the five campgrounds, and doesn't have to be a camp site. it can just be an open feild and if you are lucky they will run extention cords out for power. If you go and listen to a presentation, nothing is free, but the camping after the membership fee and dues are paid.

    We were most interested in the coast to coast travel arrangments. It doen't work well at all and can get better prices on expedia. By the bay it is an additional fee for that too annually!

    4 Votes
  • Ba
    baseballdad Jun 21, 2018

    @concerned member holder I have used outdoor adventures for nearly 20 years now. I was willed in thru my parents. Which means I can only book 30 days out. With that said, I have always managed to get a reservation. Cabins are touch and go, but I can always get a campsite. I have never heard of them running extention cords. That sounds ridiculous. I do agree, if your interested to buy a membership from someone else who is selling theirs! Vacation/Time share presentations are always horrible. No surprise there. Overall I have camped quite a bit in my 37 years. Outdoor adventure campgrounds are far better...

    -7 Votes
  • Lo
    Love camping Jul 12, 2010

    While the cost is high, initially, the pleasure of camping there is well worth it. Unfortunently the Davison location gets the Detroit and south traffic, along with locals from the area, in which keeps it packed year round. They are trying to make improvements to size and accomidations to handle the extreme load, but if willing to travel another 1.5-2 hours north, those resorts are very nice also.
    Yes, attitudes very. I'd never camp near Detroit as attitudes would be abundent, however I run into very few in Davison with a very poor attitude.
    As for kids, I have the lifetime family and 2 kids over 18. They are welcome to camp at any and have took advantage of the canoe deal up north.
    Now my one negative; we rented the cabin in Davison and the water smelled like rotten eggs. I hear they are working on that but don't know the status. I've stayed at simular to better resorts in which the water smelled the same or worse.
    Overall; great vacation option for families which love to camp and can afford it in the long hall.

    -3 Votes
  • Sc
    schmitten Aug 16, 2010

    This is a scam. I used to camp off a family members membership and had no problems. After awhile I decided to sign up for a membership and now I can only get on the waiting list and get a 1-2 day warning that an opening came up for the weekend I put in for. over ninety percent of what there salesman tell you is a lie, they just want you to sign the membership papers to take your money. I even had reservations I made over two months ago for this up coming weekend and they don't have me on the books and their only resolution was to put me on a waiting list due to their mistake. The place is a joke and I have filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau in hopes to get some money back and end the nightmare with Outdoor Adventures. The other issue when you do get in the place is that you have to worry about your stuff getting stolen and it's way over crowed. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

    4 Votes
  • Sq
    squeezics Sep 07, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They did the same thing to my husband and I. I can NEVER get in and the salesman all lie!! I have placed a complaint with the BBB and the AG. I know I maybe stuck in this contract, but its worth a try to get out of it! I was also told I would be able to camp anytime, but when reservations were placed I was told it's full, yet I seen 40-60 EMPTY spots (they claim they are not "done yet") They offer a lot of promises but return nothing!! The staff at the campground was nice, but the people in the office are not. Oh ya I was told that "summer is a very busy time of the year for camping" DAAAA its SUMMER when do most people camp in the winter?

    5 Votes
  • Eo
    eophelia Sep 21, 2010

    Yes, Outdoor Adventures is a total scam- we were not told about that $360 a year fee. While we were trying to work that out with them, they placed more and more fees on our account, making it impossible to pay. We tried to negotiate payment amounts with them to get back on track. They refused to talk more about, saying, "we'll just see what happens."

    What happened? No letters, no warning, but a summons to appear in court to pay the full amount- we are being sued!

    I am desperate for guidance on how to get out of this horrific scam (and my husband isn't allowed to touch another key that may win him a truck ever again).

    4 Votes
  • Wl
    WLW7410 Nov 02, 2010

    Wow, a lot of negative...I did see a contract and decided not to sign. It was clearly listed a yearly membership fee in which can increase until a certain age..not only was that in the contract I almost signed, but it was listed in the check list the salesman went over with me. I decided, though, I loved the park, I didn't want to enter into an agreement that was for a life time...after all, I do not know who long I will live and I may not want to camp for that long. I don't know if I just pay attention to detail, but I didn't find any deceit, just the average salespeople...

    0 Votes
  • Ne
    Need to be Free Aug 15, 2018

    @WLW7410 Then why are you on this site? Are you an employee, trying to do damage control. Sorry, this many people are not imagining things. For my own self, our salesman used a piece of notebook paper to tabulate all the benefits, and we did not see the actual contract until we signed a one page document saying we agreed to everything our salesman just went over with us. Later, when we received the actual terms (minus the notebook paper) it was not even close to the same thing. We made every single payment on time, and have paid every single annual dues, early, for 14 years. Yet, we can never get into Davison, where our tour took place, and are steered to Standish, which is poorly maintained. And I mean, the health department shut down both pools and hot tubs just before we arrived the last time, and hours were reduced for boats and mini golf. There was little to do and there we sat in a run down, crummy park, baking in the heat. This is no one's idea of a vacation. The corporate office is as rude as the day is long. I would love to see this place go belly up so we can all be free of this hell.

    8 Votes
  • Se
    seanpad Dec 02, 2010

    I feel like I was taken advantage of with this campground. I went in to win my truck ( which I don't think anyone won) and was talked into signing this contract because it was so great. Shame on me I knew better. But I have a 5 year old son and all of the promises they were telling me of all this great stuff that was coming just sounded to good to pass up. Nothing they said they were going to do has been done yet. Just empty promises on their behalf. The monthly payment isn't bad but with the quarterly dues I have fallen a little behind.
    We never use the place because its always so busy and just wanted out. Thats not possible.
    Now the attorneys want me to pay in full or they are going to sue me. I agree that I sound contract - but I signed a contract for certain promises and I haven't seen them. If they don't keep theirs why should I keep mine.
    They don't report to the credit bureau when payments are good so why should they report when the payments are bad.
    Lots of questions, no answers, smoke and mirrors, Empty promises and lies.
    Like I said shame on me I guess I should have known better.

    11 Votes
  • Mr
    Mrs. N. Smith Jan 14, 2011

    I have some of the same complaints. davison very hard to get into when I signed up you could only book 30 days in advance but as time went on new members could book 90 day in advance making it impossible to get in anywhere. I stopped paying for something I couldn't use. Was served a summons went to court and they didn't show the judge say nothing dismissed and they they filed again, like I had nothing better to do with my time. The second time I was unable to get to court due to work they recieved a judgement against me and one day an officer of the court came collect the amount to or take my vehicle to sell to pay the debt. I had to go to gthe bank and gt a cashiers check of 1500.00 then could pay 100 per month until the balance was paid. I made these payments for several month the hear from the legal department informing me that the court officer was being investigated and did I have proof of any payment I had made because none of them had been turned over the the resort. I did have the 1500.00 payment but the monthly payments I could only prove 3 of them the rest I lost out on. I will say that my five years were up and they did allow me to extend my membership until 2013 but I have to pay the $348.00 each year even though I already paid the annual fees for the five years I was under contract for that was included in my judgement. I do like the parks but they are much more crowded then when I sogned up and after 2013 I will not be extending my membership with them nor would I recommend my friends and family to join. Unless you camp one weekend a month from June to October You would payless to just go to a mom and pops campground for what the annual dues cost.

    -1 Votes
  • Cu
    cupaba Jan 23, 2011

    My wife and I filled out a entry form to win a Chevy ext. cab 4x4 which was inside Briarwood mall in Ann Arbor MI shortly before christmas 2010. we got a phone call on Jan. 16 2010 from a rep of Outdoor Adventures. She told us we would be getting a package in the mail that contained a key that MIGHT start the vehicle in the raffle. The info package came and inside was a key and a flyer. we were unable to make it to the Davison location on Jan. 2011. I opened the key envelope and to my surprise it was a dummy key. I took it to a freind at a dealer and he laughed at me. the key is a fake. it wont open or start anything. i am upset for two reasons.. this company would trick people into thinking they have a real key that can win a truck. this is bad buisness for the state of michigan. when the economy is struggling and anybody who thinks they are going to win will drive a long distance to be at OA. then once they get there it would be easy to see they have been duped. secondly, they are using valuable materials to create a scam. most of these so called keys will end up in the garbage. so i am mad for these people for creating litter for their own profit. in other words companies like this are not wanted needed or good for michigans economy. we have mailed OA a nice letter letting them know we are sending copies of thier scam to the BBB and the michigan attorney general.

    7 Votes
  • Us
    usedmember Jun 16, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    STAY AWAY!!!
    You will be stuck in more ways than you can imagine. There is no way to get out of the contract. Fall behind one time and you will be put on a black list and will always be told that there is a waiting list. They WILL get a judgment against you and WILL make every effort to collect by seizing assets or garnishment, even if you do not use the membership. Your yearly maintenance dues will also be added on to any outstanding balance even if you do not use the membership.
    Once again my advice is to STAY FAR FAR AWAY!!!

    3 Votes
  • Or
    orcide Jul 31, 2011

    You guys must be ###s... We have had out membership for well over 5 years, not ONE time have we ever not been able to get into the park, especially if you make early reservations, and not try to always go during the holiday periods. We have loved every time we have went and outside of the drunken louts and kids that no one paid attention to, we have no qualms with any of the 5 resort locations, and no we didn't have to pay extra to be able to use any of the 5.

    -6 Votes
  • Ba
    baseballdad Jun 21, 2018

    @orcide I agree. I book 30 days out and always get the campground I want...

    -1 Votes
  • Th
    Theresalafata Mar 14, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @orcide So out of the last FIFTY complaints I've just read between here, yelp and the BBB one "good" one comes along. so either ALL those people are makng up all these complaints or you are INSANELY luckly.
    I think I will pass on this *to good to be true offer, that buy the way HAS to be purchased RIGHT THEN, any legitimate company doesn't need to use that pressure sale's technique.!!!
    Thats the lovely thing about this day and age with the internet we can read customers views and complaints whereas years ago you couldn't. So that in itselfis helping keep business's HONEST.

    5 Votes
  • Us
    usedmember Aug 02, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    orcide. I am happy to hear that you have never had any issues. Sorry to say that Many others have. You must be one of the fortunate ones that have never had any problems like job loss, divorce or any other issues that have put a burden on you. Yes it is true if you have either paid for your membership in full from day one or have never been late on a payment or dues that you will be able to get a camping spot. But if you are late, have any problem at all making a payment or dues you Will be put on a black list.
    Outdoor Adventures has Greatly over sold and continue to pack in more and more members. A 20 to 30 minute wait to even get thru the gate is not uncommon. Annual dues are near $400 now. Please keep going to their 5 locations. It will insure me a space at one of the many state or private campgrounds with less congestion. I don't know about you but one of the reasons I take my family camping is to get away from the congestion of the city. Oh and do the math. It may just save a lot of money to use state or private campgrounds. $25 a day for 15 days in some other campground = $375=more locations, less people and the list goes on and on.
    Have a nice day.

    3 Votes
  • Wi
    withoutluck Aug 06, 2011

    We have had out membership for well over 7 years, And I hate the place 5 mile in hour speed is crazy it take 45 min to drive thought the place and the staff on the golf carts pass you on the road like your sitting still . And if they stop you for going over the speed they put on a black list, that how they can sell more membership.Outdoors Adventures is just one big scam! and the guy that Owens it no it ha!! Gary king

    1 Votes
  • Sa
    Sange Rhodes Apr 26, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @withoutluck can you gift us more detail about how you got out from this nightmare membership! we is one of the family that got into this nightmare membership and we never happy with it campground ever because it all scam!!!

    could you please let us know how. my e-mail [protected]@gmail.com Please and Thank you

    0 Votes
  • An
    Andi101 Sep 04, 2019

    @Sange Rhodes go to www.michigan.gov/ag and file a complaint. This is the attorney general of Michigan and we are also into this mess. We want out!!! We filed with them, they got back to us. We are now waiting cause we just filed, but got our letter saying we are not the only ones that filed against them.

    0 Votes
  • Lu
    Luckydog48642 Sep 07, 2011

    I am a finalist to win the truck. I was pretty excited before I read all this. I'm guessing I'll have to sign into a contract to be eligable to win the truck? Well, O-well. Sounds like a lot of people get duped easily into spending 8 thousand dollars on a whim. Must have a lot more money than I do. Before I spend that kind of dough, I look into a company. I mean, C-mon people. What were you thinking?

    1 Votes
  • Mi
    miapple Sep 21, 2011

    For anyone who is looking to join Outdoor Adventures...do not purchase a new contract! There are several contract that are lifetime that people are trying to sell. I've have a lifetime full family membership for 10 years and never had a problem. We camp at the Standish resort during the summer. Come to Davidson for fall camp. Granted, at Standish the full hook-ups are the first to go, but we've managed to always get a site. We've recently purchased a lot that we own in a RV Resort in Homer and are trying to sell our membership. OA will not assist in any way with selling you memberships. You are on your own. But, these memberships are a deal compared to the cost of the current memberships.

    -4 Votes
  • Mi
    MI-Couple Sep 22, 2011

    HOLY COW my wife and I WON THE TRUCK!!! Just kidding!!! I don't think there is even a truck to win! They called my wife about our "appointment" with them tomorrow and after she asked a few questions about what was involoved, they got angry and ended up hanging up on her! That made the decision NOT to go tomorrow very easy! After reading other comments here, I am glad I'm not going to waste the time and gas to go there! Spend the extra $10 to get a yearly Michigan State Park pass and go camping somewhere nice!!!

    4 Votes
  • Mi
    miapple Sep 22, 2011

    MI-Couple. If you have a membership that allows you to use all five camps without all of the restrictions...it's a great deal. Like I said, we've had our membership for 10 years and basically used the Standish Resort. We did enjoy it for years along with our children and grand children. But, we've moved on. We now have the trailer on our own lot in Homer, that we own as part of the RV resort. We are becoming snow birds and leaving the state for the winter. This last year our children have gotten more use out of the membership than we did. And their children and getting older and not wanting to camp as much anymore. This is why we are selling our contract. But, what did suprize us is that OA will not help you in any way sell your contract. You would think that they would offer to do so with the seller paying a commission? We just don't want to pay the $300.00 main. fee if we are not going to use it. But, for anyone wanting to enjoy the OA experience...do not purchase a new contract without checking out buying a current membership. Also, once you have the membership, you will be dragged into sales pitches with something like...you need to have your membership picture updated. It's nothing but a scam for you to 'upgrade' your membership to allow for more camping days on site. The contract we have allows for all five parks, two weeks on, one week off. It was more than enough for us since we do more than just camping. I can't believe the cost of these membership that people are paying today! And not even for a lifetime contract!

    0 Votes
  • Ae
    aea998877 Aug 14, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @miapple have you been able to solve the problem??? i am in the same situation and will like to know if you were able to solve it and how. Thanks

    1 Votes
  • An
    Andi101 Oct 01, 2019

    @aea998877 michigan.gov/ag and file a complaint

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    HappyCampersMI Sep 26, 2011

    Some real idiots on here. I read ALL the comments and it sounds like a bunch of babies that don't pay their bills or are upset they didn't win a truck. We have been members for over eight years and NEVER had a bad experience. I take offense that because you didn't win a truck you can post on here and bash me because I did. I can't believe some people here are complaining and then ADMITTING in the same post that they are behind in their payments. LOL. Stop paying your cell phone bill and see how long it takes for them to shut off the phone. Stop paying your car payment and see how long you can keep driving it. Does anyone on here read anything before they sign it? I do. I wonder what my mortgage company would say if I called them and said "I found another house so I am going to stop paying on this one"? As a proud member of 8 plus years I am glad that some of the ###s on this thread didn't join. I also signed up for the truck and didn't win. But never once did I ever feel like it was a scam. Everyone was and still is super nice their and we weren't "pressured" into doing anything. Our membership has been paid off for three years now but I still owe $33.00 a month for my dues forever. I would like to ask any of these haters on here how many nights you can camp for 33 bucks a month? I bet my family goes a hell of a lot more than you. Sure it was another bill we did not need at the time but it's paid off now and I smile ear to ear camping for free WHENEVER we want to go while your sitting at home with your trailer in the backyard because gas is 4 bucks a gallon and any descent public campground is 50 bucks a night. And state campgrounds are a joke anyway. So just keep complaining. The more potential members read these posts the less people will join and that's just more idiots I don't have to camp next to.

    P.S. I bet we have a lot more vacation photo albums than you.

    Sincerely,

    The Happiest Campers

    -5 Votes
  • Di
    Diappointed Jul 23, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @HappyCampersMI If you camp a "hell of lot" more than others, good for you for getting a reservation. We have been members, Platinum Plus, for 14 years. I paid every payment on time, and pay every single monthly dues on time. No exceptions. Yet, I am constantly being told there are no reservations, with the exception of Saginaw Bay, because it's a mud hole and neglected so there are always open sites. Before we got our camper, and I called at 9:10 am on the 90th day before I wanted to reserve a cabin, I was told none were available. How the hell did they take that many phone calls in 10 minutes??!! We finally paid off the membership and used the money to buy a camper, but can never get in. They always steer me to Saginaw Bay. What's up with that?

    4 Votes
  • Un
    unethical sales Mar 19, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @HappyCampersMI Nice you were able to actually enjoy! You are the only person on here that feels that way. Check your facts...plenty of decent campgrounds under $50 night . Not about finding something "better" about getting what you are told was being sold to you. None of what salesman promised is actual what is provided from reservation availability to actual cost of camping. Lets not even start on cabins! You I'm sure are employed by Outdoor Adventure.

    4 Votes
  • Su
    Susan50538 Sep 22, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @HappyCampersMI Glad you so happy!! And boy are you lucky that's all you have to pay!!. Wondering if you are really a member who purchased this awful membership or someone who us trying to actually swindle more poor unsuspecting person (s) whom have no idea what a rip off this place really is! They should e ashamed of themselves
    I don't know how they can sleep at night know they swindled people who really can't afford this!

    2 Votes
  • Ha
    HappyCampersMI Sep 26, 2011

    One more thing. Every company has it's faults so I thought it only fair to add some here even though they don't deserve it. The Davison location is hard to get into, but no harder than getting into a public campground. You just need to plan ahead. When we camp we head north anyway and just use that location for the day. (my kids LOVE the new water park). Also they kids they have working at the grill look like they are fresh out of prison. They do have good food, and cheap but the workers are pretty hard to look at.

    -5 Votes
  • Pt
    ptltruckerswife Oct 02, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have been a member for 8 years, the first few years we had a great time. We have went to the Saginaw Bay most of the time. The people were very nice and we had a great time. The last 2-3 years have been horrible. It is impossible for our children to use it since they are always booked up, which they did not tell us when we bought it. But the biggest problem is the employees, they are so RUDE...I don't have a problem with the going 5 miles an hour, slow but keeps kids safe...but the employees lie and are so rude now it ruins the idea of even going there. It is impossible to put in a complaint since it is run by the rude people...it's a joke! Or should I say has been, things maybe be looking up, seems they have a new manager Matt, maybe he can get things back to where they were when we 1st started...miss it!! Hope you fix things so we can enjoy it again!! But on the other hand it saved us $4000. for the new deal they have and are trying to sell...won't be buying that after all the trouble we've had..THANKS RUDE Employees!!

    3 Votes
  • Pt
    ptltruckerswife Oct 02, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Just a little note...if you are having a problem with this company or any other please file a complaint with the BBB so the rest of us can know what business are bad

    5 Votes
  • Ya
    Yahoo Bill Oct 14, 2019

    @ptltruckerswife File a complaint with the MI Attorney General. They have the power to bring a lawsuit.

    https://secure.ag.state.mi.us/complaints/consumer.aspx

    1 Votes
  • Bs
    BSdetector Oct 13, 2011

    Why are you here then, ahem, HappyCampers? It's painfully obvious that you are a salesperson or other shill for this outfit. Otherwise you would not be so personally offended by the bad experiences of others. Talk about a joke. You're the one with egg on your face for making such a ludicrous post. Who the hell do you think you're fooling? It's pretty easy to tell the real people from the bogus mouthpieces. The real gem was this:
    P.S. I bet we have a lot more vacation photo albums than you.
    Pfft. Shut up.

    6 Votes
  • Jo
    joanna 41 Nov 28, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    COMPANY IS A HUGH SCAM. THE COMPANY DOES NOT PAY REFERRAL FEES, NO VACANCY FOR RENTING CABINS AND BAD ATTITUDE.

    CONTACT ME TO BEGIN A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT. [protected]@yahoo.com

    6 Votes
  • Pe
    Petty63 Jul 07, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @joanna 41 You are so right sent you a email!

    1 Votes
  • Th
    Theresa Turner Quezada Mar 11, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @joanna 41 total scam. willing to be part of a class action lawsuit. filing complaint with BBB.

    2 Votes
  • An
    Andi101 Aug 17, 2019

    @Theresa Turner Quezada www.michigan.gov/ag and file a claim with the attorney general

    2 Votes
  • An
    Andi101 Sep 04, 2019

    @Theresa Turner Quezada file also with michigan.gov/ag and file a claim...need all the people that we can get to get these people.

    2 Votes
  • Ro
    RobRobRob Dec 03, 2011

    BSdetector, Are you serious? I'm a shill? Your a joke. You have one post on here and it's to bash me? Your a ###. Do you even have a beef with this company? I bet you don't so sit down and zip it. Or are you one of the idiots that were "scammed" because you didn't have the winning key!! HA HA. Don't hate on me because I'm having fun with my kids while your sitting around at home with kids that hate you for not ever doing anything with them. You have issues but it isn't with me. Look in the mirror doorknob, what have you done for your family lately. Your a [censored]. [censored].

    -6 Votes
  • Bu
    Bummincauseisighned Dec 13, 2011

    Outdoor adventures is a huge scam. They say the are all about family fun and all that. That is untill life's miss fortunes may happen then its give us our money now or we will take you to court and ask for all of the money we can and then more. My wife and I filled out the win a truck slip in the mall and a few weeks later received a call and heard we were one of the luck ones picked to receive a key and packet to come and check out if our key fit. So to Davison we went got there and figured out what this was all about. We listened to all what the salesman said and it didn't sound to bad then the price came out I thought it was steep but then they started to give some discounts and such to sweeten the deal. Well we were suckers plain and simple. My only real question that the salesman and the manager ( whom was there to back up on the deals) would tip toe around was what if we run into problems financially and can't make a payment or we need to get out of our contract. As they tip tied around they both said it is with out a dout a possibility to resolve any problem. Hahaha. Three months into our contract my wife lost her job. Yes things we're tight I called and explained my dellemma so one of Oa's wonderful office people handled my case. He said can you make a half payment for a while and get back to me when things look better. I said that would be great. About three more months go by and I get a call from some one from AO they ask me if I can take my payment back to the original amount as I was only paying seven dollars on our premium per month I ask why so little and he told me with interest and FEES that's all I was paying. I went from 160.00 per month to 80.00 and 73.00 was fees and interest???? I then ask if there was any way out of my contract as that was just stupid. He said no but we can sue you for the money. I was in shock by his answer I was not being aggressive or anything like that on the phone but he then became a complete ###. I said I owe six grand on the contract have already payed on it a grand and gave them one thousand cash the day we signed. I said Im not asking for any money back but I seriously want nothing to do with you people if this is your response. His reply was I don't care we just want the money. So I ask again what can I do to get out of this contract. He decided to be nice I guess he began telling me they are giving people a break if they pay the amount they owe off early so he said he will check my balance and send me a letter of the break and final cash I would owe. About two months go buy and bam he comes a lady across my lawn with a summons to appear in court. Holy ### I thought we are being sued. I picked up my phone and called the wonderful ### I spoke to on the phone he answered I ask what happened to the letter of the deal you were giving if I payed it off early. His reply just figured you were not gonna pay and this would be easier to get our money. WTF ???? Yep got sued got a lawyer the contract was written with a win win for there greedy ### in mind and a year later I settled out of court for money I just wanted to throw away (not). Lesson learned read all contracts and if ya can go to a lawyer and have them read it first. They were suing for over 10 thousand plus lawyer fees and court cost. According to my lawyer they have a lot of these cases in bay county the family oriented Outdoor Adventures. Not your family there's!!!

    4 Votes
  • Ti
    tiggerpissed Jan 31, 2012

    Now I know where my "monthly maintenance" fees go. They go to clowns sitting at a computer and putting in positive comments about this scam operation to refute valid complaints. And don't tell me about how many HAPPY PICTURES you have. I'll match yours any day of the week as I am in RV parks all over this nation for at least 5 months of each year. On my first "guaranteed trip" in Davison I couldn't find an open site. When I thought I had one I asked the guy sitting on a picnic table to move so I could set up. He said "I'm saving this site for my buddy". I tried other sites but they where too small or in mud a foot deep. When we left and told the ### at the entrance we couldn't stay due to a lack of location and people holding sites, he said " We'll tell someone". Ha Ha guess what -- Outdoor Adventures has me logged in their "Data Base" as having a happy 3 day stay. NEVER HAPPENED.
    Next trip was to Rifle River. What a Joke this Park is. I was told by campers leave before the weekend because the noise from young drunk river rafters was terrible. I took my Granddaughters and they quickly and correctly named the pool "LIFE GUARD?" the pool Nazi. Which leads to my next complaint -- All employees (Except 1) require customer service training. Except for one, any employee I talked to was rude and confrontational. Oh buy the way, I will take the suggestion from one of the email clowns and submit this to the Better Business Association.

    5 Votes
  • Ho
    HornetNest Mar 13, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am so happy I googled this Outdoor Adventures today! They called me last night and told me I won a chance at a truck. My BS detector was set to high so I googled this place and surprise, surprise it is indeed a scam! What I cannot figure out is how Outdoor Adventures can get away with this. As well as how people can be so naive as to drive so far for a chance to win . For me I live in Grosse Ile, MI and the drive would have been roughly two hours. Better Business Bureau should really investigate complaints about this company. What a shame:(

    6 Votes
  • Je
    Jenjas Apr 25, 2012

    I am also highly disappointed with OUTDOOR ADVENTURES! They are always booked, so its pointless, you can never reserve anything anyhow, yet when signing up they reassured there would always be openings. So untrue. Also yes I agree the cottages are not well keep. They are very dirty, even had food stuck on the dishes, and old food left that smelled aweful, and yes so much is left broken, and they dont come to fix it either. I am very disappointed with how much they said they had to offer that was very untrue, which indeed makes this a scam that you will never get out of. The resort in saginaw has absoulutly no water pressure. The one in davison the people are indeed the most rude people I have ever met. They made this place out to be classy, but its far from classy.

    I think it should be brought to others attention, so they dont make same mistake we did in signing up for this resort. I may be bringing it to the news!!!

    4 Votes
  • Je
    Jenjas Apr 25, 2012

    I honest think the only good comments on this board, are most likely from the workers lol. This place is going to the News and soon!!!

    6 Votes
  • Ca
    CamperMan Jun 20, 2012

    Complaints Board fabricates complaints, and encourages disgruntled employees, fired employees, competitors, people against the causes, products or services of merchants, etc. to slander legitimate businesses. One set of destructive complaints posts was against a pet boarding business, because poverty stricken posters in Russia “hate that Americans take better care of their pets than people.” Look at the title of their site– they have no interest in fair and balanced reporting, because their visits depend on slanted sensationalism. The more egregious the posts, the more visibility they get. Honesty, fairness, equity, legality do not enter into this equation. Unlike legitimate boards and the BBB, merchants have no venue for response, and CB uniformly removes opposing views and merchant responses to encourage herd mentality and lemming posts. They also allow one sock or disgruntled or spamming/ fake poster to post hundreds of separate complaints, without editing IP addresses, so a single sabateur of a merchant can make it look like the merchant got “hundreds” of complaints– all from the SAME poster!!

    -2 Votes
  • Ya
    Yahoo Bill Oct 14, 2019

    @CamperMan File a complaint with the MI Attorney General. They have the power to bring a lawsuit.
    That way it will be a legitimate board and not some herd mentality from Russia that you are afraid of.

    https://secure.ag.state.mi.us/complaints/consumer.aspx

    1 Votes
  • Si
    Sickened in Highland Jul 20, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    We Purchased an Rv 3 weeks ago, the Person at the Rv Place told us we get free camping here in Michigan, one place offers 21 free camping days, another gives 10 free camping days. Was told in order to redem your Free Camping you must go to their place
    (Outdoor Adventures in Davison Michigan) and take the (so Called Tour!) We get there and was greeted by Young man, he took us in
    the Room with 20 other SALES PEOPLE and THEIR VICTIMS only to Try and sell us a $7, 000.00 Membership, Plus of Course you have a $360.00 Year Membership Fee! ARE YOU FRICKEN Kidding ME! We had No idea that this Might be an ambush!
    Hell NO! People you are Crazy to even pay this, do you realize how much camping you can get for 7, 000.00 Dollars?
    Really Sickened that the RV place put us in this Situation. WE had NO Idea!!

    1 Votes
  • Ji
    Jimmy Edmonds Aug 21, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    They are very un trustworthy.
    And you think a used car salesman will lie, just try one at Outdoor Adventures.

    6 Votes
  • Ju
    justsayin258 Aug 23, 2012

    Well ROB if you are so happy then why are there sooooo many complaints and only on person defending them. I think that we found the answer. You do not know who these people are or what they do with their families!!! My bet is that you are a fat, ugly, lonely, man that does not even have a family!!! How dare you talk about these people who have been scammed into driving out there for absolutely no good reason. Shame on you and shame on them. Why don't you go spend some more "happy" times with your "family" and let these people warn others about what is really going on. Oh and as for me since this is my only post and I know that you care so much about other peoples business, they have all saved me the time and effort of driving there!!! I would have been very upset to get there and find out that I was lied to. so thank you people on here warning others that just believe what they are told. They are not just mad because they did not win a truck you [censored] they are mad because they were lied too!!! And FYI you are just as pathetic as they are!!!

    2 Votes
  • Su
    Susan50538 Jan 12, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @justsayin258 We went thru this same thing in Kalamazoo, MI we fell for this scam and if there would be a law suit to join we would def sign up! We were told if we ended up with a financial situation they would def help us out by selling our time share for us because we bought the bal of someone in thos situation
    Claiming their bal was 12, 000 but we could actually pay only 7995 for it since it belonged to someone else because they needed out fast. Wr fell for it.. now we are in the same situation 2 yrs later and they claimed we commit sell it at all EVER!!! When I said we bought someones at a deal from your salesperson with the understanding they would do the same for us if we ever fell on hard times! My husband got laid off a year ago.. our payments have gotten out of control went from 89.00 a month to 271.00 a month... we have never been late we a payment but it's getting really hard. They told us we could stick with it on their credit card for 1 year when that year was up they would then finance a loan at 6%. So our monthly payments would be the same and would get it paid off in 4 years.. lies all lies!!! There's no financing available. We fell on hard times last winter with our house roof collapsed insurance refused go cover it. My husband got laid off from AM General H2 plant 3 weeks before that and then 3 months later our furnace went bad had to take a loan out for another furnace. So now we have a loan for roof, furnace. Car, and still paying on this damn credit card. We cant qualify for a debt consolation loan to pay off the campground because of our debt to pay ratio... so we are stuck with high payment credit card through the good Sam camping world comedinty bank when they get all their campers who sign up put through this bank!! Boy they are making out like bandits. High pressure, fast talking sales people... hooligans is what they are
    Bold face liars.. will sY anything to get you to sign on the dotted line. They dont let you read the fine lines. And even with a magnifying glass it's hard to read what you signed. Even lied about the yearly fees never going up!!! Sign me up to join a class action suit against this company!! If anyone says we are lying they work for this company trying to make it sound like only once person is making all these complaining remarks.. check Facebook you'll find alot more people complaining!!!

    2 Votes
  • Un
    unethical sales Mar 19, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Susan50538 You are 100% correct These people need to be stopped. I really can't believe there aren't laws prohibiting this kind of sales practices. More then willing to join class action or help to start.

    6 Votes
  • An
    Andi101 Aug 12, 2019

    @unethical sales I know the AG is going to go after these people. It was on our news friday night, right after we received our letter saying they want to meet with us. We made the appointment to go in and see what they want so we can tell our attorney what is going on. We also are fed up with these people and the promises they made. We haven't been able to make a reservation all summer in any of their campgrounds. We will go friday and find out what they want, was advised not to sign anything and just listen to what they have to say. Will call our attorney after the meeting.

    2 Votes
  • An
    Andi101 Aug 17, 2019

    @Susan50538 www.michigan.gov/ag and file a claim

    3 Votes
  • An
    Andi101 Sep 04, 2019

    @unethical sales www.michigan.gov/ag is Michigan attorney general, file a complaint and get rolling on things.

    1 Votes
  • An
    Andi101 Sep 04, 2019

    @unethical sales please pass on...go to www.michigan.gov/ag and file a claim please...we need more people to do this so she can get them into court so we can put this nightmare behind all of us!!!

    1 Votes
  • Wa
    Wanda48197 Aug 26, 2012

    I dunno... I have this membership, recently purchased, and have used the campground in Davison 4 times now and haven't had any issues. Even when I called kinda late for a cabin for the 4th, I was able to get in, wasn't exactly the cabin I wanted but I guess you can't be picky when you call a couple of weeks beforehand. It was a bit crowded, but that's it. No one was rude to us on any of the trips. I had to call for maintenance when the toilet broke on the last visit and they were there in less than 30 minutes. I've heard that the Saginaw Bay one is nicer and my son wants to try to canoeing campground, which we will probably do next year. I hope I don't see any of the issues people are posting about.

    -3 Votes
  • Ms
    MSU4 Aug 30, 2012

    ROB- First off it's you're an idiot, not your. Classic mistake from an "educated person" who bashes on people they know nothing about. Secondly its there, not their. Once again please read above comment.

    Get off your high horse. I know this may be hard for you to comprehend because there may be many words in this one sentence but people can disagree with your "righteous" opinion.

    Sincerely,
    College Graduate

    P.S. With lots more picture albums of college memories than you...

    0 Votes
  • Su
    Susan50538 Jul 31, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @MSU4 Dear college graduate,
    I'm so sorry you didn't like the complaints about said campgrounds. You must work for them the way you are defending them so much!
    There are way too many of us who have fallen scammed to this company with all their lies on how they will help sell your membership if you fall on hard times and can no longer afford to continue paying and camping at such wonderful sites. Sites that you can never get in.. sites that you are supposedly able to just drive in and get a place at any time. Or sites that you were told you could make reservations for certain weeks and there's never any cancellation fees because that's why you pay your yearly fees!! Covers all of that. Oh yes I forgot to mention the campgrounds that you visited when you signed up, they took you around showing you all the improvements being made by the following year, adding another swimming pool more campsites and tennis courts over here. Basketball courts going over there, and oh the best one, another building for parties!!!
    Lies, lies. And more lies!
    Susan M
    Elkhart, IN

    1 Votes
  • An
    Andi101 Sep 04, 2019

    @Susan50538 go to www.michigan.gov/ag and file a claim please so we can get the ag to get these people into court so we can put all of this nightmare behind us.

    2 Votes
  • Jo
    JoeKB Nov 19, 2012

    Agree - this is a total scam. High pressure sales will tell you all the great things you will get...BULL [censored]. Camp sites are always overbooked, facilities are often very dirty, Coast to Coast add-on has a fee and you don't save anything like they promise. Total waste of hard earned money.

    Nothing to see here...move along.

    4 Votes
  • No
    Northguy Feb 14, 2013

    I read on here about a fake key and opened my envelope (the one that said DO NOT OPEN) .. and sure enough, it's a FAKE KEY. Why would you do business with a company that lies to you on your way in the door? Also I see some posts on here defending the outfit; if you're considering talking to these folks, ask yourself .. why would a normal, happy customer seek out a forum like this and defend the place? So they can have more people there when they use the facility? A little common sense goe a long way folks; you hop in bed with a snake, don't be surprised when you get bit. If you have one of these "keys", open your envelope for good giggle. And Rob, feel free to call me a ### who doesn't take vacations, and enjoy spending your day cheating people of out of hard earned time and money at Outdoor Adventures (telemarketing didn't pan out?). I won't be back to this page but if I've prevented one family from blowing a single dollar's worth of gas and wasting a beautiful day with their family on this sham, that's all the feedback I need.

    6 Votes
  • Su
    Susan50538 Jul 31, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Northguy I agree.. they are either the people who are the salesmen for outdoor adventures campgrounds or workers paid to write great things about this company. I have been reading complaints on this place since 2009.. that's 10 years of unhappy people complaining on being scammed!
    Susan M
    Elkhart, IN

    5 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions