Outdoor Adventureslawsuit and accounting

J
This review was posted by
a verified customer
Verified customer
Review updated:

I am in the middle of a lawsuit with this company. Case # 12 - 7073 gc in the 74the district court bay city, mi.
I have seen courts lie for the plaintiff but theis is unreal. I had a previous case and settled with theoutdoor adventures counsel and a thomas soerger. But now thomas soerger wants to apply thee payments his way and not according to thee agreement. I had paid some more payments and when i asked thomas soerger to adjust theis he had a new case filed.
I will be filing and answer and counter - complaint since he filed bothe law suits at thee beginning of summer and denied us access for two full summers.
Be careful how you deal with these people as they are very untrustworthey. They have created some type of accounting documents which is very confusing.

Any one wanting more information can contact my email at: [protected]@yahoo.com

Responses

  • Mi
    Mike Suydam Dec 13, 2019

    How do we go about fileing a class action law suit. Count us in. They said they were mailing me a key to win a truck. I didn't receive a key so I called before my appointment and was told they have my key there it was to late to mail it. We got there and were told several things that we thought were good. High pressure sales. When we were leaving I asked about my truck key for the contest. The salesman reached behind the counter and said this is the key we give everyone. I new then that the things they told us were not true. My wife was rear ended in a serious car accident. I got the Dr. paper work they wanted and wrote a note explaining she has to have specific conditions to be able to be comfortable. To be fair we stayed in one of the cabins but we can't use their facilities any longer because of her condition. They called and said they will end our membership but instead of any compensation they will let us out but we have to pay two years fees. Nice hardship agreement don't you think. They push you through and don't really give you time to read the content of the contract. They tell you what it says and hurry you with other questions while you are trying to read the contract. I want to be included in a law suit with some other people who feel lied to and taken advantage of.

    3 Votes
  • Ya
    Yahoo Bill Oct 14, 2019

    Don't just post your frustrations on this website.
    Contact the MI Attorney General with a formal complaint against Outdoor Adventures, Inc.
    Click on the link to begin your formal complaint today.

    https://secure.ag.state.mi.us/complaints/consumer.aspx

    Post the link to your Facebook page to let all your relatives and friends know.

    3 Votes
  • An
    Andi101 Aug 17, 2019

    go to www.michigan.gov/ag and file a complaint.

    2 Votes
  • Ka
    Kaye N Jun 14, 2019

    Got scammed too. Got a ph call telling me I was 1 of 5 guaranteed winners for the vehicle. So they got us in the door. We are not wealthy people and normally do our camping our own way. However, of course we werent winners, total BS. I have contacted them and they tell me there is no way we can get out of the contract. We had a lousy cr rating too so they tried my overseas cr card which allowed them to finance us. So we are paying premium dollars for nothing that we wanted in the first place. Talk about gift of the gab. We will never use them and want nothing more than to get the heck out of this lousy contract.
    We dont even ask for anything back for it all. We still owe almost the full amount and have been paying interest only for about 2 years.
    Does anyone have any ideas on how to legally break this contract? Any info would be appreciated.

    0 Votes
  • Ta
    Tara Sherlock Aug 05, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    @Kaye N HI Kaye, we ended up calling Outdoor Adventures after having purchased the lifetime contract and having this membership for 5 years. We started at a low maintenece fee then all over the sudden it climbed to $580 per year. When I inquired why the fees were getting so high they said it was a cost of living fee adjustments for the employees that work for each location. We never had an issue getting on the campsites. We found we just didn't utlized the membership the way when thought we would. Now just before we were getting ready to make our next yearly maintence fee due in June, we called and asked what we had to do to cancel our membership. The employee took down our name and said they have a board meeting once a month and that they discuss matters such as cancellations and would get back to me. Approximately 30 days letter, I received an email that I can cancel my contract with a buy out option of $1, 067.00 and that it was due within 30 days of the email. Now we paid for our Outdoor Adventure right up front and owed nothing. I don't know if it was because of that is why they are allowing us to cancel but it can be done.

    0 Votes
  • Th
    Theresa Turner Quezada Mar 11, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Total scam and lie to get you to buy. Filing a BBB complaint.

    0 Votes
  • An
    Andi101 Oct 01, 2019

    @Theresa Turner Quezada I also went to BBB and they came back telling me that the company responded...their response was summed up that we were liars and we aren't getting anything from them...waste of time.
    Go to www.michigan.gov/ag and file a complaint with them...better results. She is going for them.

    1 Votes
  • Sc
    Scott Osentoski Feb 27, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i am in the same situation and will like to know if you were able to solve it and how. Thanks

    0 Votes
  • An
    Andi101 Oct 01, 2019

    @Scott Osentoski BBB is useless...company responds back and it isn't very nice what they say...go to www.michigan.gov/ag and file a complaint

    2 Votes
  • Ae
    aea998877 Aug 14, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    The kind of business that this company runs is despicable. we were invited to a site and were offer a tour of the facility. we were told that it was a great opportunity for the family to spend time together. After we bought the membership we discovered that the other outdoor adventure locations are disgusting, outdated buildings, campsites are very small. the pools are extremely dirty. when we tried to get out they said we were not allowed to sell our ":deed" and that like it or not we had to continue to pay out yearly fee or else it was going to be sent to a collection agency. They made no attempt to give us the opportunity to get out of the Membership they are obligating us to remain meters even thought we are not interested in been part of them. they also state that it will be this way for lifetime since that is the membership we originally purchased. We want to warn others looking in to this resorts to stay away from them and to not let the sales guy tell you that if at anytime you want to leave you can because it is a not true they will harass you until you can not take the 3-4x /day calls and just pay. It is no difference than a posy scheme . This is one of the most dishonest companies i have ever dealt with and i don't recommend it to anyone that is looking in to any kind of vacation rental/ Camping

    0 Votes
  • Di
    Diappointed Jul 23, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    For what we are all paying you would think they could at least keep the place up. We can never get a reservation, unless it's at Saginaw Bay. Is there some kind of note on my account that when I call, they tell me that's the only place I can go? The attached picture of the golf course tells the story of how this place is neglected. This is just one of many, many complaints about how disappointing this is. And the new policy about cancelling? How can they charge me to NOT do something I already paid THEM to do? Is that even legal? Funny, over the fourteen years we've been members they have changed the rules a thousand times, making the original contract almost null and void, yet we are expected to follow our side of the original contract. Not cool.

    Comments

    0 Votes
  • Te
    Terry Sterner Jun 28, 2018
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I was scammed too. They do not have resort amenities like promised, reservation line never answers, can't ever get a site even 2 weeks in advance. I would love to file a lawsuit against them to get out of this and get my money back.

    0 Votes
  • Bi
    BillGailR Feb 11, 2018

    Reading these comments is sickening! The language used, the comments about their staff? SERIOUSLY!? Im glad that these people are not members like us. My wife and i signed up in 2010 and this has been the best decision we have ever made for our family. Our children absolutely love all the activities that they have. This membership has made my marriage stronger than ever. We took the kids down to Disney last year and stayed in one of the condos, we saved over $2, 000 on just that one vacation. We have a 2007 Jayco travel trailer and are there at least 10 weekends a year and have had no trouble booking reservations. Sounds like these people dont know a good thing when they see it!

    -3 Votes
  • Ve
    veryshadyplace Oct 29, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Just went to the Grand Haven location to listen to this BS. They gave us the key when we got there and then told us all the great things about the company. Then went on a tour. Came back to the office, discussed price and then had his manager come out to cut the price. Super friendly and more than happy to answer our questions. UNTIL we told him we are not spending that much money based on a 2 hour lecture about how great they are. After that they were very rude and unhelpful. Got to try a blank car key in a house lock. Gave us 2 prizes that are totally worthless. Jason was the person we talked to and his manager. Can't remember his name though. Once we told them we needed time to think it over they couldn't get rid of us fast enough. Please don't fall for this scam. Don't even go there. It is a complete waste of time. These people need to be shut down.

    0 Votes
  • Br
    brendadarley24 Sep 28, 2016

    Valuable writing, Coincidentally if you are wanting a AO440, my friend filled out and esigned a blank version here https://goo.gl/Lq33PC.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    marlouuuuuuuuuuuuuu Jul 07, 2016

    I was one of the suckers that got suck in I said I would try it for a couple years than let them know if I wanted to keep it will I didn't want it after two yrs but cant get out off it the ones I had for sign up are gone from their so I cant prove GOOD SAM!CAMPING WORLD anything that they said I could do. so i'm being charge for the whole set up and only maybe if I get lucky once a yr. to use I do more good sam camping which is only a ten dollar discount that sure doesn't make up for what you have to pay in a yr for maintence

    -2 Votes
  • Bi
    Bing Tammy Jun 15, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Tom in the office is the rudest person I ever spoke with. I ran in to a hard ship and he treated me like ###. the place is run down and you never ever can get a cabin. the sales person told me they was building a indoor waterpark.. never seen it. the front desk help is rude and they allow their employees to walk around with confederated items on. The pool area stay nasty..Dont waste your money on this place. yes if u miss a payment they take you to court. I owe thousand of dollar more than I signed up for and I put a thousand down.

    -1 Votes
  • Be
    BenaysheKwe Apr 26, 2016

    In the packet for Cancellation after the three day window is an addendum. Right to Terminate: If at any time and for any reason you are dissatisfied with the Coast to coast programs, you may immediately terminate you Coast to Coast membership by written notice. It also states that it does not release you from your home membership. I wrote letters, sent e-mails and made phone calls on canceling this membership that we have never used and do not want. They have already gotten about $800 from my family which is a mortgage payment . Filed a Complaint with the BBB. Also When I signed up for this service, it was just 108.00 per month which was to include the yearly fees. Now the additional fees are being added on top of monthly costs. Under MICHIGAN CONSUMER PROTECTION ACT
    Act 331 of 1976 445.903 Unfair, unconscionable, or deceptive methods, acts, or practices in conduct of trade or commerce; rules. m) Causing a probability of confusion or of misunderstanding with respect to the authority of a salesperson, representative, or agent to negotiate the final terms of a transaction

    0 Votes
  • Ju
    Just-a-Camper Mar 07, 2016

    Went to a State Park Campground in 2012 and it was okay but we spent over 235.00 for 5 days. The restrooms were not the greatest, but useable. Park Patrol was almost unseen night or day. The roads were not kept serviceable and many access trails unsafe. We did enter the "Contest" at our local Mall and were contacted within 2 weeks, that was in Oct.2012. The wife and I did show up at the Appt. Time and were given the same information that, I believe, all Prospects are given. The info. is given very fast and the "Tour" conducted almost immediately. (most people do have selective hearing). We were offered the Life-Time Membership Program and the CLOSER was brought in to help secure the Sale. I work in the Sales Field, I knew what to expect. I talked with my wife and we took out a sheet of paper and wrote down the "Pros and Cons". We went back in and talked more with the Sales Staff. We did decide to enroll in the Membership and our 1st visit to the facility was summer 2013 at Davison. We did not have any "problems" with reservations or our stay at a Park Model and a Campsite for 7 days. We have NEVER encountered any rude or distrust worthy looking employees. We have also stayed at Saginaw Bay and look forward to the new additions to the OAI family. This Membership is NOT for everyone, I agree, but most people are impulsive and do not consider the " what-ifs". We took almost 4 Hours to make our decision that evening and we are Happy with our Investment. I will suggest that those who are interested by very careful this is "like buying a home away from home". :)

    0 Votes
  • Bu
    Bubbletoes Feb 21, 2016

    I received the call last week that I am one of the lucky few chosen to win the truck. I was excited, at first. I entered at Woodland Mall in Grand Rapids about a month ago. I got my information packet in the mail and my sealed envelope with the "key" that could start a truck. Sounds like after reading several comments online that you don't even get to try it in an actual truck. But what really tipped me off is when we went to the mall this weekend...there is the same box i entered in and the truck...still there taking entries. I'm pretty sure my "key" is not the "winning key" since the contest is still going on! Ridiculous! We will not be driving out to your ridiculous camping resort this week and spending 90 minutes on a weeknight to tour a resort we have no intention of staying at...in fact on the entry form I checked I do not like camping and they even asked me that on the phone and I replied no! Hello...I am not about to waste a valuable weeknight to hear your crap and try to sell me on your campground.

    0 Votes
  • De
    Deanna Campbell Feb 17, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Outdoor Adventures is a legitimate company and the truck giveaway is legitimate as well. We have been doing the "Truck or Cash" Giveaway since 1997. Only once, in 2008, did the winner choose the truck. The rest have chosen the cash. We do many other giveaways as well, and those prizes are awarded too. Not only do we award them because it's what we say we'll do, the giveaways are monitored by the state of Michigan. We follow the requirements to do giveaways such as these.

    A little info about the winner of our giveaways:
    http://www.mlive.com/davison/index.ssf/2011/01/st_johns_couple_wins_outdoor_a.html
    https://outdooradventuresinc.wordpress.com/2016/02/16/winning/

    A little info about our company:
    http://www.mlive.com/news/bay-city/index.ssf/2015/01/outdoor_adventures_purchases_f.html
    http://www.mlive.com/news/bay-city/index.ssf/2015/11/outdoor_adventures_in_downtown.html

    Our website:
    http://www.outdooradventuresinc.com/

    Our phone number, in case you have questions:
    [protected]

    We celebrated our 20th anniversary in business in 2015. We have thousands of happy members, many who have been with us our entire 21 years in business. Yes, there are people who have had concerns, and we work with them individually to work through those. Yes, there are people who get calls from our accounts receivable team because they haven't paid their bills. It's no different than your mortgage, your car payment, your cell phone payment.

    We are proud of what we offer to families and individuals. We have a great product in the perfect state for outdoor fun. We look forward to more years of fun to come!

    Comments
    Comments
    Comments
    Comments
    Comments
    Comments
    Comments
    Comments

    0 Votes
  • Av
    Avoid-it Jan 15, 2016

    Believe it or not, they REALLY DO give away a truck or $20, 000 cash to ONE person each year. If they don't, the feds would shut them down and put them all in jail. It is a small fee for them to pay to run their "barely legal" enterprise. Their contract is concrete . . you sign, you are stuck . . unless you can find a bigger fool to buy you out of it. These campground schemes have been around for decades and people still fall for them. CAVEAT EMPTOR . . . and good luck to those that have already signed on the dotted line.

    -2 Votes
  • Be
    Benitar Aug 04, 2015

    My husband got a call regarding potentially winning a truck and was told on the phone it was NOT a time share (honestly, I would have hung up before they got to the second sentence). I told him it was clearly a scam anytime someone needs to tell you it was NOT a timeshare or not a "fill in blank" (scam). If it smells like a scam, sounds like a scam and walks like a scam then guess what? When the flyer came in the mail yesterday it was obvious that it was a scam. I asked my husband if he really wanted to go and he said no so we won't be going up there to witness the scam live and in action. Plus I would have been irritated at wasting my day and he would have been irritated for mentioning it and wasting our day even though 5% of him was wondering if maybe there really was a truck being given away and he had the winning key (I'm sure nobody is winning a truck). He's an idealist and I am a realist. It reminded me of the movie where the police sent out flyers to all these parole violates and people with outstanding warrants. It said they won a free TV and all they have to do is show up at this place and pick it up. Hundreds showed up and were arrested. That is how we function as a society...how can we get something for nothing? Answer--we can't.

    Glad I missed this one. (Also the key they sent him is super cheap and crappy obviously to mass produce at the lowest cost possible)

    -1 Votes
  • Fe
    fearing shattered dreams Jul 07, 2015

    Just curious, in Michigan, has anyone started a class action lawsuit to help all of us out that fell into the hands of these crafty scams? We just recently signed a contract after touring the Davidson location. We toured the grounds, went through a couple of the cabins and then decided it seemed like a sensible, reasonably priced deal and would give our family an affordable place that we could actually vacation to. Then I started googling the facility and came across this complaint page. I spent hours reading through everyones horror stories. My heart started to sink and I started to feel sick to my stomach. We had made reservations for a cabin to celebrate my birthday weekend in a couple weeks. What seems to be the ongoing horrible thing is that these con artists get people to sign on the dotted line and then its "too bad so sad". I am now worried about how this is going to NEGATIVELY impact me and my family. We got sold on the "this deal is only good for today" pitch after my husband entered into a drawing to win a truck. I was skeptical and really wasnt interested in going, as we had other plans earlier in the day. I tried to reason with my husband that it was senseless to drag our boys, ages 8 and 15 months, on an hour car ride for something that he may not even win. We are a young married couple who is rebuilding and aspiring to get a house, we have an accepted offer and are just starting the loan process, now I fear that by signing into this, we are going to be royally screwed. We got hooked on their sales pitch and stupidly signed. Neither mt husband nor I are usually one to make inpulse purchases. We looked at the opportunity they were presenting us with as an inexpensive way to take family vacations every couple of months. We feel loke they pulled on our heart strings making promises, as we had both of our young boys with us at the time of the appoontment. Please if anyone can offer help on how to get out of this mess with minimal cost, please let me know ASAP! emails appreciated at [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    Satisfied with Campgrounds Jul 02, 2015

    First off we have NO problem getting an reservation any time we call. Second, I would never stay at Davison, no matter if I wanted too--- too crowded, too many Detroit people are able to get in in droves. There sites are too close together. Third, we also have a "Full Family Plan"- but they won't let all of us to come in together for a family camping day/weekend. Each site is limited to 10 people--- we have the 2 of us, 4 children and their spouses and 16 grandchildren-- that's 23 people. We don't want to do this every year but JUST once. That would also require 3 sites and that is a problem since you can't make 3 reservations. SOO we suggested we have them come for the day but you can't bring in that many people on one membership------- like I said ONE DAY. What good is a Family Membership if we can't use it? None of our 4 children are interested in inheriting the membership- not to mention paying the maintenance fee at the TODAY rate. I've noticed some members stay 2-3 weeks in Full Hookups (Wilderness) and as son as they leave-- their friends or associates/group comes in right after to take a site-- do they call each other and let them know they are leaving?? All that said-- we love Saginaw Bay, Wilderness, Rifle River and West Branch. We MAY try out the Mt. Pleasant resort but we are looking forward to Grand Haven, All the people have been polite and facilties are always clean and neat- at the mentioned places. I'd like to see a Cadillac/Traverse City Campground. There's never everyone's happy with everything in life -- but we love our stays and campground ds we stay at. ----The Pletzers

    1 Votes
  • Ca
    CautiouslyOptimistic Jun 11, 2015

    My dad was really excited for this membership and purchased it. He added myself as a "family member". He was excited that we would all get to camp for free, etc. As a listed "Family member" there are some differences to note: 1. Card Carrying members can book camping 90 days in advance. Family members can only book 30 days in advance. 2. Holiday weekend booking: Card carrying members get top priority on reservations, family members are put on a waiting list AND can only book the Thursday before the Holiday. So if the Holiday falls on a Saturday, you can only try to get a spot two days prior. 3. If the card carrying member is camping anyplace else the dates you want to camp, family members have to pay $25 a night, if no card carrying member is camping those days, camping IS free for family members listed on the membership. When I say "Card carrying member", I am referring to the person that actually holds the membership, when I say "Family member" I mean the secondary people listed on the membership. Frankly, I feel that my dad jumped into this membership way too quickly and I can only hope and pray that he will use it as much as he can. He paid almost $9000 and a fee of $492 a year, thinking my husband and I would use the heck out of it. I understand he gets the perks because he is doling out a large sum of money, I just want people to be careful because when we went back to speak to the Salesman, he neglected to mention all the hassle family members have to go through to participate as secondary users. I'm camping July 24 and 25th, I hope we have a nice time and I really hope this works out for my dad, who is getting ready to try to do the Coast-to-Coast portion on a major trip back and forth across the United States. So far I've not been very impressed, but time will tell. State Camp grounds are pretty much the same price, but have less options (like pool, laundry, etc). During the tour of the Davidson facility in June 2015, the indoor pool was closed and some of the bath house showers (women's) were a little ratty. One had electrical tape wrapped around the shower spigot and there was black mold on the shower curtain. An item to note as well, my BFF works for a law office in Saginaw, MI and she told me that her law office goes after people who don't pay their bill and end up going to collections. The biggest complaint from the people that go to collections are that they can never get into the campground to use the membership. That's third party information so take it as you see fit. We didn't have any problem booking June 24/25 (Wed/Thu), although we did want to stay the 26th (Fri) but were told it was full, no big deal. But June 24/25 are in the middle of the week. So I'm assuming that weekdays are great if you can take the time off from work. I can post more about our experience once we camp...So far I am just reserving my feelings to see how the rest of the experience goes.

    1 Votes
  • Ga
    GaryYoung May 05, 2015

    I read a few complaints about this place and I'm also getting calls from some attorney now

    0 Votes
  • Do
    dominique courg Apr 13, 2015

    Glad i didnt go here she keeps calling me its a scam i went here they tried to sell me some bs run away we drove two hours for Nothing terrible crap

    2 Votes
  • Ma
    mandykaybaby Mar 17, 2015

    Just gonna say out right that I am an employee of OAI and if you have questions you can call and ask and we will tell you out right everything you want to know. I deal with it daily and explain what will happen step by step when you come out to try your key. We give away one of the grand prizes each year and you do leave with 2 free gifts when you come out. Last year (2014) and the year before both winners took the 20, 000 so we are far from a scam and I see and talk to may happy members daily.

    -1 Votes
  • Th
    Thanks for the disappoint Mar 16, 2015

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts and feelings of the park and the contest because they told me I was the lucky few that gets a key to the truck and not 1 out of 75, 000 so thanks again for your help and saving my time and money

    3 Votes
  • Go
    goodguy123456 Feb 19, 2015

    To terry and Linda dodge. You were never told you were 1 in 6 of anything it's sad when people hear what they want to hear instead of what is actually being said. You were told you would receive 2 of 5 GIFTS you were never told you were 1 of 6 anything. Your husband heard 5 and it stuck in his head that is not our representatives fault he didn't understand what he was being told.

    We officially had our winner for 2014 who chose the 20, 000 and that couple lives in Onstead, Mi. So this SCAM as yall call it paid out for the 13th year straight.

    Not mugged sorry to hear you passed on your chance to win and collect your gifts. You go by the theory it's on the Internet so it must be true right?

    Starrbird had you bothered to show up you would have collected 2 of the 5 gifts listed on your letter plus tried for the truck. Nothing we say on the phones is false and we will tell you everything you want to know if you ask.

    0 Votes
  • St
    Starrbird Feb 13, 2015

    Yep, I knew what this was the minute my husband told me he won, one of 5 prizes, plus a chance to win a new truck. Sorry I can't be bothered with this... we camp but I never put all my eggs in one camping basket. Things change and I will never be locked into a contract for camping. Looks like they will not be seeing us at this "appointment"! sounds to much like a scam to me!!!

    1 Votes
  • No
    Not mugged Dec 30, 2014

    Thanks for the posts and saving my wife and I a wasted Saturday with our 2 little ones in the car for 3 hours plus another 2 hours listening to some cheesy sales pitch.
    My BS meter was going off on the big promises of prizes by the salespeople on the phone as well so I googled. Thank god for the internet and good people like you who post to save others grief!

    3 Votes
  • Te
    Terry and Linda Dodge Dec 04, 2014

    I just wanted to share our experience with your contest of winning a new truck or $20, 000. We received a phone call that we were 1 of 6 winners and each would be sent a key and we needed to appear on Dec.4 at 3:30. The odds of 1 out of 6 are pretty exciting. I am a caregiver so I had to find a replacement and take off work to go. But the odds seemed pretty good. So we drove 120 miles. And we find that yes it was 1 outta 6 people with keys in each group going on for many days with a total of 75, 000 people all told the same thing. Ummm... seems pretty dishonest to me. I am from the north and no matter how much sugar you put on a donut its still a donut. This was a lie no matter how it was worded " a lie is a lie. You could have said 1 out of 75, 000 and then we would have been able to decide if that was something we really wanted to do. But you didn't do that. You misled us. I find that very sad. Good example. This is why I am learning that you can't trust anyone. You just joined the group of poor business procedures with misleading advertisment. The casinos are more honest than you. You wouldn't even give your contestants all the facts so they are able to decide if the odds were worth taking work off, spending the gas and the time.

    2 Votes
  • Go
    goodguy123456 Nov 02, 2014

    Ok up front I am a employee at Outdoor Adventures. I can tell you that most of what I read here is concerning especially if you know NOTHING about outdoor adventures inc. It IS NOT a scam. We DO give the truck or the 20, 000 in cash away each and every year as it is REQUIRED BY LAW. If you read the letter we send or the entry form you filled out the odds of winning is 1 in 75, 000 on January 1 of each year. As the weeks and months go on the odds get better. So if you set a appt to try your key on January 2nd you odds of winning arent very good, but if your appointment is December 1 your odds are a lot greater. If the winning ket DOES NOT come in by December 31st there is a random drawing and then a phone call. Once again OAI is LEGALLY REQUIRED BY LAW to give away the truck or money each and every year they run this promotion.

    Now on to the people with negative experiences with the sales team. Our team is very professional and treats everyone with respect. Don't come in with blinders on and you won't feel pressured. We will tell you on the phone to budget at least 90 minutes for the tour and you'll be taken out and shown around if you ask. We hide nothing when we call you. You are under NO OBLIGATION to purchase anything to try your key or claim your 2 gifts. Furthermore NO ONE has ever said you're GUARANTEED any specific one of the 5 gifts that are offered. We say you are GUARANTEED to get 2 of the following 5 gifts just for trying your key.

    Also the key IS NOT to a TRUCK it is to a LOCK BOX which is on site at the Davison and Standish campgrounds(I've seen it with my own 2 eyes. I know it's there.). If your key opens the LOCK BOX and you choose the TRUCK you will then get to choose your make and a trip to the dealership will follow to pick up YOUR TRUCK once all applicable taxes and fees are handled which is clearly written on the back of your entry form if you flip it over and read.

    I've had plenty of visits to the campground before I was a employee and I can tell you that most of what has been said here is FALSE from my PERSONAL EXPERIENCE. The staff is nice, the people are great to work with, and your overall experience should be great, but then again not a single one of these posts addresses the attitude with which they approached the employee or employees that were so RUDE. I'll guarantee if they did tell it it would be something like I was perfectly calm and very pleasant or I didn't even get a word out of my mouth and I was met with rudeness before they ever knew what I wanted. If half of what has been written here is true OAI would not have been in business for the last 20+ years and they most definitely wouldn't be EXPANDING.They just added 2 new locations Mt. Pleasant and Grand Haven.

    I cannot speak on the tactics with which OAI use to collect the money they are owed once you sign the contract. Like it was mentioned by another poster here if it was your cell phone, cable, mortgage payment, or car note and you fell behind cutoffs and/or repossession/foreclosure would be sure to follow in short order. So you hate on OAI for wanting whats owed to them. Would you be on here posting that your mortgage lender or your car dealer is a SCAM!!! if they came and took your house or car for non payment? If not then why would you come on here claiming OAI is a SCAM!!! because they just enforce their contract like any other BUSINESS. They are not in BUSINESS to give their services away for FREE so why would you expect them to?

    -2 Votes
  • Jw
    J.Wiesman Aug 07, 2014

    My husband and I are also very unhappy with the Davison Outdoor Adventures. They were supposed to be open year round but we found alot of restrooms to be closed especially during colder months., the chlorine in the pool was so high that it burned our skin and eyes. Most of the time, we could not get into the hot tub because it was overflowing with kids and adults. (kids were not supposed to be in the hot tub) Management was never available. Garbage overflows the outside dump barrels in the summer. Most of the arcade games did not work either. If renting the cabins, we found a number of electrical plugs that did not work and the following year, the same plugs in the same cabin was still not working, the water smelled and staff was never to be found .Kids were out and about and very loud till well after midnight. I could go on and on and yes it was very difficult getting reservations

    DECEIVED...YES... I FEEL THAT OUTDOOR ADVENTURES BROKE THEIR CONTRACT WITH US.by not honoring the terms of the agreement... SOME ONE PLEASE START A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT AGAINST THESE PEOPLE ...Respectfuly Concerned

    0 Votes
  • Te
    Tech740 Jul 21, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am thinking of buying a used membership. Seems that if I don't mind paying the dues for the rest of my life then that's not a bad deal. I can get it for 1500 on Craig's list. My only worry is say 15 years from now I move or don't want to camp anymore in these locations(I am only 30 years old) then I have to resell the membership or continue to pay the dues. I was also told that these memberships are only transferable a set amount of times. So if you are the end user that may not be a good thing. We just stayed in the Standish location for 21 days with a free pass to try to get us to buy. It has been great. They do not know that you are a person on a free pass in anyway. You make the reservation and show the pass when you get there. After that you are like any other member. I am originally from Standish and can tell you that the people that use their memberships seem to love them. When we stay outside the parks it is around 50 a night for a nice campground. So after 8 nights you have spent the amount of your dues plus. It is not a bad deal as long as you think it through ahead of time. The only reservation issue I see that people do not want to be clear and honest about on here is that the one that is always booked is the Davidson park. Try another and you will get in. They only sell as many memberships as they have sites. Granted if Davidson is why you bought it then its probably useless.
    P.S. No I do not work for the park. I am a Fire Fighter/EMT and they do not employee those at any of there parks.

    -1 Votes
  • Ci
    Cindy Prossen Jun 24, 2014

    Joined in March and have taken 5 trips there since. I have not had any problems getting reservations at all. I am going for a week on the 4th but I had to register in advance for this, common sense says you need to be on top of big weekend reservations. We have had no problems even on Memorial day with it being so crowded. We didn't have problems doing what we wanted even putt putt. They have so many things to do and places to be that it distributes the people well. Not to mention, we have a golf cart and it is great fun getting in on the Fri/Sat night party rides.

    They are very strict about the 5 mile an hour speed limit but that is awesome because I feel my 12 year old is safe riding her bike around, and she does. My husband and I have enjoyed spending time with our 21 year old as well as he is more than willing to come hang out and swim, kayak, fish, play putt putt and just sit around a campfire with us. Try getting your 21 year old to hang out at a state park with nothing more to do than jump in a lake. Not going to happen.

    If you have a problem with the yearly dues than you shouldn't have signed up for the membership because they are clear on that in the presentation. And honestly, they keep things up and add new things with those dues. I have not seen a dirty bathroom or anything in the times were were there in fact I was impressed with how clean they did keep the whole park. Plus, by having yearly dues it gives all the members a vested interest in the park and the upkeep. I don't see people throwing stuff all over and for the most part members follow the rules to keep it safe and clean for everyone.

    I am very happy that we signed up and I look forward to years and years of camping there. It will pay for itself for sure. Go see how much a private campground is with just 1 pool or just a pond is per night. Last year it was $45 per night. $30/month and you can go every weekend if you like, I think that is a great deal.

    -1 Votes
  • Gu
    GULLIBLE PEEPS May 22, 2014

    People...you must watch reality shows eyes wide shut and believe.
    I'm not a lawyer, but I can tell you with street smarts how to avoid the next scam.
    1) A legit contest requires most or all contestants to be present ----- especially for a vehicle or $20k
    2) Raffles don't require "appointments".
    3) Don't sign any paperwork under pressure. Ask to take it home to read it over. If you feel like you have to sign, make sure your name is clearly misspelled or just sign "paid in full".
    4) READ the fine print on the information packet you receive with the key...they disclose everything, less the contract signing.
    5) And this is REALLY a BIG ONE! If you enter any contest, and they contact you, AND they EXPLICITLY ask you, "How much income you make?" AND "If you are married", AND it is important for your spouse to be with you at a prescribed appointment time to get your prize...JUST SAY "NO"!
    6) Lastly...Did you ever give it any though as to how they can have "odds of winning" on a pre-fabricated flyer you receive, when the numbers of entries are infinite? Even when they say you have already been picked to win one of the top five prizes...You should be asking them to just send one of the prizes to you.

    5 Votes
  • Sc
    schnellfamily04 May 21, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    absolutely same thing happened to y husband and I. currently have open case against oai in 74th district. would appreciate any comments or help anyone could give us. [email protected]

    2 Votes
  • Fe
    Fed Up With Whiners May 12, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    It cracks me up that everyone feels that they were scammed by getting a key in the mail that was not real. Have you never gotten a key mailed to you by a car dealership that could entitle you to win a free car? My wife and I probably get one of these in the mail at least once a month. It is how they entice potential buyers to come in so that they can try to sell you something. They mail out thousands of "dummy" keys and 1 real one. 90% of people who receive keys more than likely do not show up, which greatly reduces the possibility of the real key being brought in and then the 10% who do come in are seen as potential buyers and the sales staff does their best to try to get them to buy something. In this case it is an expensive membership. In the case of car dealers, it is another vehicle that they have on the lot. There is no scam to it, just a different approach at boosting sales.

    You people need to quit crying and actually read the details of the program before getting yourself all excited thinking you were "the one".

    -1 Votes
  • Ku
    Kurtis13 Mar 09, 2014

    parents are being sued
    need help
    can someone email me a copy of the membership agreement
    maybe counter sue???
    email: [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Ku
    Kurtis13 Mar 09, 2014

    My parents were scammed to join this ridiculous "investment" a while ago with the the 5 prizes thing. A lot of calls were made by my parents to cancel and i believe nothing happened. After a while my parents thought they canceled the membership and just today they got sued by the company. Could someone email me the agreement contract because the one they have is a little blurry and also if anyone can tell me their email so i can contact you about any detail to help my parents fight this injustice id really appreciate it.


    Email: [email protected]


    Maybe if we get a lot of people we can counter sue and have them pay back everyone they scammed???

    1 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.