Complaints & Reviews

timeshare

We have never visited this resort but instead exchanged with other clubs within the Universal brand.

We have paid timeshare dues for over 10 years.

We have had some financial issues due to family illness and needed to release our timeshare. I apparently just missed the deadline for the year needing to pay $760. plus dollars to release the time share back.

Given that we have paid the maintenance dues and never visited we feel we have contributed.

We requested that they take the timeshare back. The other time share we owned took it back immediately but not this group. They have put a bill collector on the case.

How can we get this resolved - the bills are piling up.

villa del palmar mala experiencia

Compré un tiempo compartido con Villa del Palmar, pagué el día de la firma del contrato una pequeña parte de la membresia y con unos pagos pendientes a corto plazo terminé de pagar el valor total. La Razón por la que firmé el mismo día de la presentación fue porque si lo hacia ese mismo día obtendría inmejorables beneficios de parte de ellos que de otra manera no me los darían. Revisando posteriormente el contrato logro darme cuenta que el contrato da exageradas garantías a favor de ellos y para los miembros no, hay mucha desigualdad. No veía ninguna clausula donde se acuerde de que manera puede uno finalizar el contrato, cuando por alguna razón ya no lo quieras o no puedas seguir pagando la membresía. Si uno incumple con los pagos de las cuotas o pagos de mantenimiento ellos suspenden el servicio y cobran, pero si ellos incumplen con las reservaciones no hay ningún compromiso, ni está claro quién es el representante legal de la empresa o con quién dirigirte, porque siempre te mandan de un departamento a otro y nunca quiere tomar tu llamada. Decidido a no pagar un centavo más y que no quería seguir lidiando con los trabajadores incompetentes y groseros de Villa del palmar, contraté a unos abogados en Mexico que se llaman mexican timeshare solutions, lo mejor que me pudo haber pasado, nada que ver el servicio de ellos con los de Villa del Palmar, me ayudaron a salir lo mejor librado posible, ya no más pagos a Villa del Palmar y no más estrés por conseguir el dinero para pagar su membresía que jamás tiene disponibilidad. Si de algo sirve mi testimonio, no se dejen, ni regalen su dinero a hoteles abusivos como villa del palmar, investiguen que si es posible cancelar.

mala experiencia con villa del palmar

Fuimos estafados por grupo villa durante nuestras vacaciones en los cabos, nos tuvieron por más de 5 horas presionándonos y dándonos alcohol, ahora que entramos a estos foros nos damos cuenta que todo es parte de la trampa para embaucarnos y hacer que firmemos el contrato. Como ya queríamos irnos firmamos el contrato de manera forzada. Al día siguiente volvimos con nuestra carta de cancelación y no nos la aceptaron, hablamos por teléfono con el gerente y nos dijo que no era posible cancelar, pasamos 3 meses hablándoles por teléfono y enviándoles correos entre "negociaciones" y no nos resolvían nada, hartos de que se burlaran de nosotros contratamos con mucha desconfianza a mexican timeshare solutions, ellos nos ayudaron a cancelar nuestro tiempo compartido, nos tomó otros 5 meses más, pero salimos libres del contrato con grupo villa. Mi recomendación es que lean todo antes de firmar, sean firmes cuando digan que no quieren comprar y si los invitan a una presentación de tiempo compartido con grupo villa no vayan, solo es pérdida de tiempo y dinero.

horrible experiencia en villa del palmar

Si están pensando en adquirir un tiempo compartido con Villa del Palmar, pierden su tiempo así como también perderán mucho dinero, de preferencia por experiencia propia no compren ningún tiempo compartido, son totalmente fraudulentos, ni siquiera se les ocurra ir a alguna presentación de tiempos compartidos, lo mejor es que eviten este tipo de lugares, son personas sin escrúpulos de lo peor.
Mi esposa y yo compramos un tiempo compartido en el 2015 con Villa del Palmar, definitivamente no lo hicimos porque quisiéramos, lo hicimos porque no hostigaron hasta el punto que firmamos el contrato, al día siguiente hablamos para decirles que queríamos cancelar nuestro tiempo compartido y nos dijeron que estaba todo bien y que nuestro tiempo compartido estaba cancelado y que nuestro dinero aparecería reembolsado, al mes siguiente recibimos nuestro estado de cuenta y no solo no nos reembolsaron nuestro dinero, sino que nos estaban cobrando más dinero, inmediatamente me comuniqué para explicar mi situación y decirles que era un error y me contestaron que no había error que nosotros jamás llevamos los documentos oficiales para hacer una cancelación y que hasta este punto era imposible porque ya habían pasado los 5 días que teníamos para cancelar, y teníamos que quedarnos con el tiempo compartido aunque no quisiéramos.
Pagamos las primeras 3 mensualidades porque no sabíamos que hacer y no queríamos que se nos enviara al buró de crédito y después empezamos a tener problemas económicos que nos impedían continuar pagando una membresía que ni siquiera queríamos. Mi esposa entre sus amistades obtuvo el teléfono de una compañía que nos podía ayudar a cancelar la membresía sin tener que pagar nada por adelantado, yo me rehusaba a contratar alguien, porque creía que solo nos iban a ver la cara otra vez, porque una vez que te engañan te vuelves muy desconfiado, pero nuestras opciones cada vez se reducían más y teníamos muchos pagos pendientes con Villa del Palmar. Nos dieron la entrevista por teléfono, nosotros les platicamos todo y nos enteramos que prácticamente todos los que compran un tiempo compartido son engañados de la misma manera que nos engañaron a nosotros. Afortunadamente esta compañía que se llama mexicantimesharesolutions no nos estafó y nos pudo cancelar nuestro contrato, si no aquí seguiríamos regalándoles nuestro dinero a los ladrones de villa del palmar.
No cuento mi historia para dar lastima, ni para que vean que me Salí con la mia, la comparto para que la gente se entere de esta mafia y su manera tan poco ética con la que trabajan y que el gobierno también busque la manera de multar a esta gente por estafadora es hora de que se haga justicia.

villa del palmar mala experiencia

Mi madre adquirió un tiempo compartido en Villa del Palmar en Cancún en agosto del 2014. Después de pagar miles de dólares, ella no gozó de ningún beneficio, porque el sistema ha sido deliberadamente creado de manera que sea tan confuso cómo es posible. Nada de lo que se le prometió era verdad, intentó de mil maneras llegar a un acuerdo, pero nada resultaba de provecho para ella, mi madre es una persona mayor y cada vez la veía más preocupada, yo decidí ayudarla con la situación, esta gente de verdad es abusiva y sin corazón, son unos expertos en el engaño. Cansadas y después de varios intentos de ver que no nos iban a ayudar y solo querían darnos largas, contratamos a Mexican Timeshare Solutions una empresa que se dedica a cancelar tiempos compartidos. Mi mamá no quería contratar a nadie porque decía que todos son iguales y solo querían quitarle más dinero. Así que yo me contacté con ellos y me dieron una consulta gratis, donde me dijeron cuales eran las posibilidades de mi mamá, todo me sonó muy convincente, leímos detenidamente el contrato y vimos que estuviera por escrito que si no cancelaban la membresía de mi mamá no se les iba a pagar ni un centavo, ya solo tuvimos que esperar hasta que un día nos contactaron y nos dijeron que ya estaba todo listo, ya sin tener que lidiar con la gente de villa del palmar, fue un gran alivio para mi mamá y para mi verla por fin tranquila.

We are here to help

  • 16 years' experience in successful complaint resolution
  • Each complaint is handled individually by highly qualified experts
  • Honest and unbiased reviews
  • Last but not least, all our services are absolutely free

Villa del palmar timeshare fraud

My husband and I purchased a timeshare at Villa del Palmar and it had been a nightmare. The reason we made the purchase was for the promised return of 125-200% of the property rentals. We paid an advertising fee of almost $800 but the ad agency never rented our unit. They then told us if we pay the $2500 more dollars they would advertise our unit more to possibly get it rented. This whole this was a scam and we wanted to explore options to get out of this and all the thousands of dollars we had paid up to this point. I had been unemployed on and of over the last 2 years and this had been devastating to our personal finances. we tried to cancel the membership through the resort but they only avoided us, tired of so many lies, we decided to cancel by ourself, it was hard but not impossible. we found a company called Mexican Timeshare Solutions that helped us to cancel our membership without up fronts fees. We were skeptical at the beginning but for fortunately we had a happy ending. Beware!!! timeshare is NOT an investment it's just a WASTE of money.

  • Jd
    JDKelly Dec 11, 2016

    I urge anyone who sees this that has been scammed by a timeshare, no matter how long ago, to file a complaint with the Federal Trade Commission, The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau and their local Attorney Generals Office. If we can get a flood of complaints filed, the government will have to look into the deceit, lies and fraudulent practices that timeshare companies like Villa Del Palmar and Resortcom use to lure in and defraud people. It only takes a few minutes each. I have read thousands of online complaints, all saying pretty much the same thing. If we all take action someone will take notice!

    0 Votes

Timeshare Scam

While on vacation in Mexico. I was invited a timeshare presentation at Villa del Palmar. I signed the contract in April of 2016. I was initially not interested. However, their salesmantold me that if I doesn't use my week, then the company would rent out my timeshare week. That same night after thinking about it I decided not to keep the timeshare and the next morning I attempted to cancel the contractbut they told me that it was not possible to cancel it.
At first I doubtedIf I should keep the membership but after researching the Internet, I discovered that same false promises weremade to others. So I was 100 % sure that I should cancel it. I then found Mexican Timeshare Solutions on the internet and I was impressed by the fact that they didn’t want any money up front but only when they had accomplished cancelling your contract.I even believed that there was a hidden trick but I still tried it.
Since I was within 5 days rescission period MTS was able to help me cancel the contract and get the entire deposit refunded.I am very happy with the results and after a nightmare I can finally rest.

  • Jd
    JDKelly Dec 11, 2016

    I urge anyone who sees this that has been scammed by a timeshare, no matter how long ago, to file a complaint with the Federal Trade Commission, The Consumer Financial Protection Bureau and their local Attorney Generals Office. If we can get a flood of complaints filed, the government will have to look into the deceit, lies and fraudulent practices that timeshare companies like Villa Del Palmar and Resortcom use to lure in and defraud people. It only takes a few minutes each. I have read thousands of online complaints, all saying pretty much the same thing. If we all take action someone will take notice!

    0 Votes

Beware - don't buy

I bought and paid in full cash - for this 1 week ownership at Villa Del Palmar in 2009. They were ok until...

No response

I purchased a timeshare at Villa del Palmar, I know now this have been one of the worst decision I have ever made.
They scammed me and lied to me, after several tries I finally reached Sergio Calderon [protected]@villagroup.com.mx who let me know I should contact Mark [protected]@villagroup.com from the legal department. They were very polite until I told them my concerns and complaints, afterwards they just ignored me. I have emailed them 6 times with no response.

I have lost my hopes and will file a case with profeco. You should do the same.

  • Ch
    chads Jun 19, 2013

    My problems with Villa del Palmar have been resolved.

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    Patricia cas Apr 14, 2014

    I have never experienced such a bad customer service as villa del palmar, I don´t understand how this people are stay on business with such bad service, I suggest you to do not stay in their hotel. THEY ARE VERY FRIENDLY UNTIL THEY HAVE YOUR MONEY. The people I have contacted are
    [email protected]
    [email protected]

    0 Votes

CC charged without authorization

We are writing this letter to explain how we were mislead and cheated by the Villa Group. My wife and I went to cabo for vacation this year. Our first vacation in 5 years. The day we arrived we were confronted at the air port by individuals clamming to be our private transportation service. After they booked us for a visit with the villa del palmar we realized that they were not the transportation company as they tried to find our transportation. The next day we were met by Christopher Turner, he told us that there were no maintenance fees for the preferred points, there are. We were told they would rent our place whenever we want, they won’t. The lies went on and on. Chris turner gave us his card an told us to call him with any questions or if we wanted to go out. I called on the 5th day to try to cancel, he told us that we could not cancel the contract.

On the money side of things we agreed to a $1000.00 down payment. A promissory note for $8, 745.00 as additional money down that we could pay off when we returned in the form of a check or money transfer. THE NEXT DAY THEY CHARGED OUR CREDIT CARD ON ADDITIONAL $8745.00 THAT I NEVER AGREED TO.

I have never had someone sit and look me in the eye and lying to me for several hours. This whole thing is set up to rip smart, honest and hardworking people out of their money.

  • Sa
    SammiF Dec 26, 2013

    I know how you feel, and it seems like this is a common problen in Mexico. I purchased a travel program through Sandos Playacar at Royal Elite Timeshare Resort in Playa del Carmen last March and I requested to cancel within the 5 day grace period but they still have not refunded my down payment of over $9000 US dollars. I have been in touch with people there and they say they are working the process but it takes time. It has now been almost 5 months and I am losing faith they will ever pay me back. This is another forum with more complaints about this company:

    http://www.timesharescam.com/timeshare-complaints-resorts-black-list/6-royal-elite-sandos-timeshare-complaints/

    I believe we should do something about it, as I understand Mexican regulations forbid the offering of gifts, free vacation certificates or any other promotion strategies without informing the consumer the specific purpose of the offer. I want to complaint with PROFECO about this, and get my money back

    0 Votes

unethical sales practice

We went to a timeshare presentation at Villa del Palmar on November 7, 2011. We did not want to buy another timeshare but we wanted to see the resort. Right away they offered us something to drink and we drank a few margaritas. Once that the sale rep saw we were interested in selling our timeshare at Lawrence Welk Resorts she tried different scenarios so that We could afford the down payment of 20%. She said that she would give me $11, 169.00 for my Lawrence Welk Resorts with a balance of $9, 837.00. We really didn’t want to buy but we were drinking and our defenses were down and she was so convincing. On November 11, 2011 we went back to Villa Del Arco to cancel the agreement. We met with Shane Brault and when we said we wanted to cancel he said that we would not get our deposit back and would lose my Lawrence Welk Resorts.

I am not sleeping well and crying all the time because of this big mistake. I have to go to the doctor to get sleeping pills. I am an emotional mess. If I had been aware of the full circumstances I would not have signed anything.

  • De
    Debonako Jan 21, 2012

    Did you ever get out of the timeshare? We dealt with Shane as well. What a scam.

    0 Votes
  • De
    deborahs Jan 28, 2012

    Debonako, they don't even reply my emails.

    0 Votes
  • HUNTER Liars Jul 11, 2013

    7º Aniversario = 70% de Descuento en nuestros honorarios

    Más de 2, 000 ex propietarios coinciden que es mejor…

    “Un final con Dolor, que un Dolor SIN Fin”

    Si ya está listo ¡ Llámenos !

    Somos especialistas en desvincular a los Socios engañados de sus Clubes de Tiempo Compartido

    + info: 01 555 536-6997 * LADA sin costo: 01 800 558-8639 * www.hlmexico.com.mx

    0 Votes
  • Cs
    Cst4450 May 19, 2014

    Shane Brault was just arrested for attempted robbery in Cabo. http://peninsulardigital.com/sucesos/asalto-gringo-una-farmacia/139188

    0 Votes

Timeshare

I purchased a 2 bedroom unit from Villa Del Palmar in April. We thought it was a beautiful property and decided to buy at the presentation. There were items in the contract that were not consistent with what we were told at the presentation. We tried to contact our salesperson with very little success but managed to find the contact information for the Developer’s Representative in Puerto Vallarta. After speaking with him for several weeks, we were offered a solution that was completely reasonable and justified. After months of worrying about the outcome, the Villa Group did remedy the situation and now we are completely happy with our experience.


The Mitchell Family

Canada

Fraud and misrepresentations with timeshare purchase

On May 22 I arrived to Puerto Vallarta. At the airport, I was confronted by several individuals offering me special tours and promotions. I politely declined these offers; but a guy stopped me and invited me to a buffet breakfast the following morning. When I asked if this was a timeshare he replied no and stated that it was a marketing campaign to promote the Resort. The following day I was picked up at my hotel by a cab, and taken to Villa del Palmar where I met Claudia Velazquez, the salesperson. She showed me the Resort’s facilities and amenities, I asked repeatedly if this was a timeshare presentation and she continually ignored me. In order to make this story (or should I say, nightmare) short, SHE TOLD ME THE SAME LIES THAT MANY PROSPECTIVE CLIENTS HAVE BEEN TOLD. In particular, she stated THAT THEY COULD RENT OUT MY STUDIO OR EXCHANGE MY WEEK IF I DID NOT WANT TO COME TO MEXICO AND MAKE MONEY INSTEAD. During the signing processes, I was introduced to another lady who provided me with a contract and mountains of accompanying paperwork. I NEVER HAD THE OPPORTUNITY TO REVIEW ALL THE DOCUMENTATION ASSOCIATED WITH MY CONTRACT. THE AMOUNT OF READING MATERIAL MADE IT IMPOSSIBLE TO READ DURING THE SHORT TIME ALLOWED, 64 PAGES IN TOTAL. During the first six months after signing the contract, I WAS NEVER ABLE TO BOOK A ROOM DUE TO THE UNAVAILABILITY OF STUDIOS; HOWEVER UPGRADES WERE ALWAYS AVAILABLE AT A COST. WHEN I DID GO ONLINE, VILLA DEL PALMAR HAD MANY STUDIO ROOMS AVAILABLE FOR THE SAME DATES I WAS TRYING TO BOOK. I WAS NEVER TOLD THAT I WOULD HAVE TO PAY THE ANNUAL MEMBERSHIP DUES AND SPECIAL ASSESSMENTS.

I WAS CONSTANTLY BILLED INCORRECTLY EVERY MONTH. After repeated attempts to correct this error and being promised the matter would be resolved, it simply continued without any resolution whatsoever.

IN CONCLUSION, REGARDLESS OF WHAT THEY PROMISED YOU “DO NOT ATTEMPT” TO GO TO A TIMESHARE PRESENTATION. YOU HAVE NOTHING TO WIN; BUT YOU WILL LOSE TIME, SLEEP AND THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS.

  • Te
    Tennisace Nov 17, 2010

    I have to agree with Dawniette...and another important tid bit of information, don't be an impulsive shopper... Because it sounds good doesn't mean it is...lesson learned.

    0 Votes
  • De
    Developer's Representative Nov 17, 2010

    Dear Member, thank you for sharing your views about your experiences. You may often find rooms available through numerous websites or advertised on different travel service sites because this is inventory controlled by the hotel. Basically, the Villa Group builds properties across Mexico and allots a certain percentage to the hotel and a certain percentage to UVC, the CLUB that offers you a membership. The CLUBs availability at the resort fluctuates based on the season and location so it is always best to set your reservations early. If you would like to speak to the Developer's Representative directly I can be reached at [email protected] or you can contact me by phone at 626-389-0627.

    Sincerely,

    Developer's Representative
    Villa Group

    0 Votes
  • Mj
    MJDes Nov 18, 2010

    Dear developer’s representative,

    When I tried to book my stay, YOUR internet site stated that you had no room available for the date that I needed, afterwards I called the resort and I provided to the clerk office my member # of course that he stated again that you were full in those dates. I got skeptical so I called again but as a normal guest and to my surprise the clerk assured me that you DID HAVE space available for the type of unit that I have in my contract. INCREDIBLE

    I just don’t understand how can your company function with all the complaints that you have on the internet? With so many unhappy members?

    I will tell you how, because your company just care of getting the money from honest and hard working tourists.

    0 Votes
  • De
    Developer's Representative Nov 19, 2010

    Hi MJ Des, the reality is the only members who have issue with the Villa Group are the ones who make a complaint. There are thousands of members who have memberships with the Villa Group that would never think to go to the Internet because they are ecstatic with their memberships and visit us every year. I see examples of this in my office everyday. For those who do have complaints, we do the best we can to address each of these problems and make these members happy. Have you tried to contact UVC in Puerto Vallarta or Cabo? Try contact the following numbers and see if you have better luck. 619-342-0350. Also, if you like, you can contact me directly at 626-389-0627 and I will do what I can to put you in the right direction.

    Developer's Rep

    0 Votes
  • Mj
    MJDes Nov 23, 2010

    It’s very well known that only a SMALL percentage of the disappointed clients of any company post their complaints on the internet; therefore, it is obvious that you have many more unhappy clients than the ones you would like to … think about it, in reality your company has TONS OF UNHAPPY MEMBERS which is completely contrary to your claims! Anyways, I’m going to call you or email you this week. I have nothing to lose since I’m already a victim of your sales staff.

    0 Votes
  • We
    WeReNotGoingToTakeIt Nov 26, 2010

    Instead of posting complaints get a lawyer and a group of people to file a class action lawsuit in the States. This unethical, unlawful behavior from sales cannot and should not be tolerated by the company; and if they condone it they should suffer the legal consequences. Of course, with corruption in Mexico the way it is this is a difficult case but it can only gain weight legally when enough people complain and do something legally about it. Can treat these developer reps like they had a heart- bunch of liars.

    0 Votes

Villa Group BIG SCAM!

On December 28, 2009 we attend to a sales presentation in Villa del Palmar at Cabo, Mexico. We request the...

Big scam

I’m going to explain my case briefly: we are honest and dissent people and we stupidly believed israel curi...

MISLEADING TIMESHARE

Took an offer for a timeshare pitch from "Diego" at the Cancun airport terminal exit. We went to the sale...

Terrible everything

We had the same experience as Kelly and Jeff Shafer with Villa de Palmar, Puerta Vallarta. The told us the same lies about selling our other timeshare and sold us a "studio, odd yrs" for $13, 000. We paid $3000 down on Sept 29th and the rest was supposed to be in no interest monthly payments. We got a bill for the full $10, 000 balance and I cannot seem to get a hold of anyone by email or phone. Gary Dudley sold us the product, but we also talked to the manager, Jimmy Munoz as did the Shafers. Do we have any recourse? I also fell that it was a scam and will now contact an attorney.

  • Tr
    TravellingNutttte Aug 28, 2009

    WoW !!
    I guess my daughter got a great deal at the Villa Del Palmar (although she really got taken to the cleaners at Playa del Sol and hasn't been able to get even 1 day of use in 6 years of trying... they are always "full", but have lots of units for rent to the public on their website!)

    I have used many of her weeks at Villa Del Palmar, and she has used it a few times. Her friends also bought units there. We call in September and reserve Christmas week of one year, and New Year's week of the next year. 2 weeks---- one airfare! It has worked out great. I have done it that way every time.

    She hasn't been able to use it herself the last few years, and we tried to sell it for $10, 000 last year (just listed it one time, but didn't sell)... so I get to use it again this year!

    She bought a studio (I like how big a studio is at VDP as compared to the new resorts I've seen). She got 1 week per year... ANY WEEK SHE WOULD LIKE !!! And, it is guaranteed that she will get it !!! I guess what she bought is a premium kind of week? She can go at even the busiest of times. You have to put in the reservation at the beginning of each season... I think it is Sept 15 or Oct 1 for the winter season. AFTER the deadline passes and you give up your week and don't bank it, they can rent them to the public I think. Two years ago they were getting over $200 a night for Christmas week, and ran out of rooms. I don't know what they get now per night. I was at the desk, and a man offered them $400 if they could find him a room Christmas Eve... but they had none. All good hotels fill up during the holidays in Puerto Vallarta, so THIS condo unit has turned out well for my daughter (unlike Playa del SOL) !!!

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jeff Robbins Mar 21, 2010

    I would like to direct any readers of this posting to go to a website I just published www.universalvacationclubmembers.com and read to your heart's content. It is addressing many issues and concerns with the Villa Group (Developer) and the UVC. If you are a UVC Member and would like to add your name to my UVC Member mailing list, please contact me via the “Contact Us” page on the site or send an email to [email protected] Jeff Robbins.

    0 Votes
  • Cl
    CLunasky Jun 28, 2011

    I was also sold this wonderful timeshare and everything seems to work out the best for me and everything, my only thing going wrong here is that they were all false promise, since they are telling you one thing and the contract say a WHOLE different thing, i was upset to found out about the lies. I of course try to contact the resort to try to cancel but i was already outside my 5 days business period that you have to rescind your contract, I did try PROFECO but they just keep saying no.. i did my research over the internet and found Mexican timeshare solutions, i called them and got my free consultation and everything, few months later they told me they have cancel my contract, Im very happy with their work and I SOOO recommend you to give them a call. look them up.

    0 Votes

In The News

Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem