Menu
ADVERTISIMENT
Home Phishing OffGamers Global phishing!! beware!!!

OffGamers Global review: phishing!! beware!!!

M
Author of the complaint
4:02 pm EDT
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment on this complaint.
Featured review
This review was chosen algorithmically as the most valued customer feedback.

Short version: do not give them any personal information. They are major phishers for personal information, and they are supposedly based in hong kong and malaysia, away from most jurisdictions.

Now, for the long version:
I shopped around online to find a merchant selling a legal cd-key for guild wars: nightfall. What I mean by legal is just that: since guild wars is a downloadable game directly from ncsoft, a merchant can purchase cd-keys in bulk from ncsoft during a sale period and sell these at a profit when the sale is over. Basically, I was looking for a reseller that sold below ncsoft's current price.

Offgamers offered the lowest price I could find on the 'net, and their website said that once I paid, I would be able to see the purchased cd-key in the "my accounts" section. I used paypal instead of directly giving my credit card information to them, and the payment went through. I received e-mail confirmation from paypal. Next, I was led to a webpage that displayed my phone number where I could allow offgamers to call me to verify that my given phone number was correct. I clicked and waited for the call. However, instead of the phone call, I received an email telling me that they needed additional verification. You won't believe what they wanted from me:

(1) a signed purchase authorization form allowing them to take my money from paypal (Which they already did!)
(2) valid photo identification (Which has not expired) revealing my name and address that matches the billing address of my paypal information, and
(3) utility bill that matches my billing information.

They wanted scanned copies of these.

I immediately demanded a refund, and after playing stupid a little, they did promptly refund my money. So basically, these guys will not scam you up front — they just gain the ability to hack your account at a later date, when it's less obvious.

For you younger gamers that aren't familiar enough with the dangers of giving out those 3 documents to strangers, let me tell you that the combination can let them impersonate you successfully to basically any online company. That includes the game companies that you have your account on. They can hack your account using the game company's support by impersonating you completely. They can change your passwords. They can transfer all your game money and items to their own and sell everything. And they can do a lot more.

Here is the email I received a few minutes after paying them through paypal:

Dear xxx xxxx,

Order number: 2999871
Order date: friday, 15 april, 2011
Detailed invoice: http://www.offgamers.com/account_history_info.php?order_id=2999871

Status: verifying

Comment:
Thank you for shopping at offgamers for all your gaming needs. For verification purposes, we require for you to upload your scanned images here.

1. Purchase authorization form. (Below)
2. Valid photo identification (Which has not expired) revealing your name and address that matches the billing address of your paypal information.
3. Utility bill that matches your billing information.

These additional payment information are needed for us to proceed with the order. Please kindly print this form, complete, and sign it. Your order will be processed as soon as we receive the forms.

Offgamers limited - paypal authorization form


1. Paypal e-mail: _

2. Name as appeared on paypal: _

3. Billing address as registered with paypal:

_

_

_

4. I authorize offgamers limited to charge us $10.99 to the paypal account listed above.

5. I write to confirm that I recognize:

Paypal transaction id 5jc41585pl278830d for us $10.99 dated 2011-04-15 payable to offgamers limited.

I authorize this payment to be debited from my card account or paypal account.

Paypal or card-holder’s signature: (Must be in handwriting)

_

Date: _

Thank you for your cooperation & your business.
Offgamers limited
Room 813, hollywood plaza,
610 nathan road,
Hong kong.

For any enquiries or assistance, you may use our online live support service or e-mail your enquiries to [protected]@offgamers.com. Please remember to include your order number when contacting us to expedite the process. Thanks again for shopping at offgamers.

Best regards,
Offgamers team.

*
Offgamers - your gaming alliance
24/7 live support & instant delivery
*
Online live support: http://www.offgamers.com/customer_support.php
E-mail: [protected]@offgamers.com
Usa (Delaware): [protected]
United kingdom (London): [protected]

ADVERTISIMENT
Update by Mitsuhashi
May 27, 2011 4:20 am EDT

All right, Offgamers, it's now been 21 days since I asked you to give me your owner's personal information. I have yet to hear from you on this site, by e-mail, or by phone.

You tell customers that it's OK for them to give you their personal information, but you will not do the same with your own.

Why? Because it's frigging dangerous, and you know it.

GG, Offgamers.

Update by Mitsuhashi
May 05, 2011 1:38 pm EDT

I do have another qualm with your reply.

How is the delivery of a cd-key untraceable?

Update by Mitsuhashi
May 05, 2011 1:20 pm EDT

Thank you, Xenophobicons. I'm glad I'm not the only one seeing the outrageousness of this company.

To OffGamers: Your "guarantees" mean nothing to me if I can't go after you in the event that you do defraud me. I do understand that you do have some unconventional risk in your line of business since selling game gold and power leveling is frowned upon by the very game companies managing your virtual business environment. However, YOU take those risks by performing these services. DO NOT PASS THOSE RISKS DOWN TO ME AFTER TAKING MY MONEY!

The same documents you wanted from me AFTER TAKING MY MONEY AND BEFORE DELIVERING ON YOUR PART OF THE DEAL are used to get driver's licenses and bank check cards issued!

You say you're trying to "protect" me? How? How do you protect me, my money, and my personal information by holding my money hostage while you ask for more personal information?

*****************************************************

Since you're so intent on persuading me and others that it's completely safe and OK to give out these vital pieces of personal information to complete strangers like you, let me ask you this:

Will you agree to send me your company president's scanned signature, current photo ID, and utility bill displaying the same address as his Paypal or credit card?
Oh, and I almost forgot. Will you pay me $10.99 before you send me that information?
Make sure you include a copy of your corporation's annual report, shareholder meeting minutes, or tax filings so I can verify that the person you tell me is actually your company president.

If you send me all this information, I agree to "refund" you the $10.99 you sent me in advance. OK?

Don't worry, and just trust me. I guarantee the safety of your CEO's personal information. I have no criminal record. I won't show you my record, but you can trust me. OK? By the way, I may not live in the country you think I do.

Update by Mitsuhashi
Apr 20, 2011 2:00 am EDT

You may not have been scammed, but that doesn't mean that they never had the power to. Offgamers does have very strong incentive to scam you. Why? Because they sell game-related products, including game gold. You put yourself at the mercy of complete strangers.
I've already given my personal information to Paypal to create my account there, and they handle my money -- yet, they NEVER asked me to submit my personal information to the extent that Offgamers did.
Think about it. Why would a random merchant ask for all that personal information? Do they NEED that personal information to sell you their goods? NO! And why didn't they lay out their requirements BEFORE taking my money? Why the heck did they take my money first and use it as collateral in negotiating for my personal information? NO TRUSTWORTHY MERCHANT DOES THIS!

Resolved

The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer's satisfaction.

More OffGamers Global complaints & reviews

OffGamers Global - fraud and scams!
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
OffGamers Global - scam
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
OffGamers Global - failure to deliver
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
OffGamers Global - scammed me hard
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
OffGamers Global - payment made but item delayed tilled verification process completed
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
OffGamers Global - Hellgate London items
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
OffGamers Global - item never received
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
OffGamers Global - they are trying to scam me
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
OffGamers Global - Neosurf voucher
Resolved
The complaint has been investigated and resolved to the customer’s satisfaction.
Replied
The company left an official comment to this complaint.
3 comments
Add a comment
D
May 30, 2018 7:58 am EDT

offgamers are totally scammers, guys beware, i also tried making a payment on g2g.com and I'm being forwarded to offgamers for the payment,

F
Nov 12, 2017 1:48 am EST

They are scammers today i make an order and after paying them my account stop working right away. Try to contact them but no use i open a dispute on PayPal hopefully i will get my money back but you guys be careful from them.

F
Apr 18, 2011 5:57 am EDT
Verified customer This comment was posted by a verified customer. Learn more

I totally disagree with you as i am platinum customer over there. For your information, it was same thing they did to me 2 years ago and it was a 1st time i buying there. Trust me after after completing this step..you no need to go through this verification again . It was made for security purposes.

ADVERTISIMENT

Learn how the rating is calculated

41 complaints
27 resolved 14 unresolved

OffGamers Global contacts

(added by reviewer)
Phone number
Address
17 Upper Circular Road, #03-00 Juta Building, Singapore
Website
Category
ADVERTISIMENT