The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
NTTAovercharging

J Review updated:

My bill to the NTTA of $19.65 was (I admit) late. I then sent in my payment and they returned to me saying it had already been submitted to collections. In less then one month it turned into almost $300.00. I could not pay that. In less then 2 months it turned into almost $700.00. They had not only raised it by 34 times the amount owed in 2 months time, but have some kind of arrangement with TXDOT where people are given citations. This leaves people backed in a corner. If you don't pay you go to jail. This is an astronomical amount to punish a person with. I have used the toll way for years now, and where there have been booths I have always paid...even paying twice, because the booth didn't register all my coins. I wonder how much they make just from that alone?

I am a single mom, who works very hard. I obey all laws even the ones I can't seem to agree with. But this is not a law. This is robbing people who have neither time nor money to defend them selves. It makes my stomach turn at the thought that I possibly have warrants out for my arrest, and one day could be taken in, and my daughter is left stranded at child care. How could this be right, how could this be fair, how could this even be viewed by any perspective as fair and just?

I am at a loss as to what to do. This is extremely devastating to my finances. I pay this money to whom exactly and for what reason exactly? I pay, and then I don't pay for rent? I can break the payment up according to the collection agency...then I just don't pay my car payment and water for 2 months is that right? This whole thing really does leave me speechless. I can give the facts but don't know how to express my feeling about this. When I first realized all this I was shaking mad, and couldn't hold back the tears. I can not afford any part of this except for my $20 bucks and a reasonable late fee.

This is what I have learned in researching why they could possibly throw these fraudulent charges. TXDOT refused to let NTTA bid on the toll way. TXDOT and a private company were already in the middle of a deal for the Toll way. Originally TXDOT dismissed NTTA and refused to let them bid for lack of planning if you will. Underhandedly right in the middle of the deal, NTTA works a deal with TXDOT, and now the private company who gave a verbal agreement they would not sue, collects the tolls for the next 50 years. NTTA gets to collect on all the ridiculous late, admin, and whatever else fees, and TXDOT gets the money from all the citations that are wrongfully issued. NTTA had inadequate information when proposing the deal. They did not know how they were going to finance such a loan and now they have finally figured it out...rob the poor some more, and leave them no choice but to give it to them.

The mayor of North Richland Hills is also the rep of TXDOT. There are more then 12, 000 warrants issued in Collin County as a result of NTTA. Although I am not dismissing the fact that some may be earned and rightfully issued, I have a strong feeling that many are not. While we tie up Collin County's Court system, where does the money go? Future Trinity Mills project, expansion of the toll way to outside of Collin County, and lavish vacations to undeserving crooks who know they can get away with it. Mean while I have to sale this crap, excuse my language. If it wasn't at the risk of losing my job I would boycott, picket, and fight to the end against the North Texas Toll way Authority and TXDOT. I would hope that the privatized company that got the short end of the stick would join in on this fight as well. Every day we hear on the news about corporate scandal. How have we let this go for so long?

I have every intention of fighting this, and every intention of paying…with every hope that this will grow into a class action law suit and in the end I will get the money that is rightfully mine back. How can you even be allowed access to a road with no way of turning back once you know there is no way to pay? Might I mention there was no notice that tolls were now being enforced? This, to me is a clear set up and the people responsible for passing this law know it. Trying to cover a mistake, and then learning how to capitalize on it. This isn’t freedom. This is control, and everybody knows it.

Responses

  • Pw
    pwempe Apr 19, 2019
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I HAVEN'T EVEN BEEN TO TEXAS yet I'm getting another $17000+ bill for toll charges because their system cannot distinguish between a commercial and an antique Kansas license plate. And those charges are for one month's time frame? The first couple times this happened, I thought it was a scam. I then looked into it and they were real charges to me. It took several hours on the phone to get it resolved. Each time. And each time, I was assured they would make notes in the account that I don't really have so that it wouldn't happen again. Rather than fix their crappy software/hardware problems since they already paid the idiots in full for the system.

    And they have a type in their terms and conditions for the "make an appointment call". I figured I sure as heck better read it close since they were so crooked in all their dealings.

    I want in on a class action lawsuit or would love to find an attorney that would take the case on commission and put a dent in their pocketbook. Maybe someone would think twice.

    Kansas doesn't have the problem with I70 (KTA) as far as I know. And my dealings with issues with them has been pretty nice.

    1 Votes
  • Kl
    klamwright Jul 26, 2016

    I have had several issues with billing for North Texas Toll Account. I still receive zipcash billls for cars that have tolltags. The time it takes to call is frustrating. I think the company needs to look at their billing computer service and figure out how to make zip cash and tolltag more streamlined.

    1 Votes
  • An
    Andy Haines Apr 13, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I got a bill for a toll in North Texas... I live in North Carolina and have never even been in Texas. In addition the so-called picture of my license plate is fake! There are no registration stickers in the corner! Scam company!!!

    0 Votes
  • Go
    good frankensense Mar 15, 2016

    Dear all readers, my story begins with visiting dallas tx with my dad. using google maps to go to the stock yard, the route lead me down a toll way. mind you were from NM. we dont know where were going or how to get there. this happened late oct 2016. now at the beginning of march, my dad received a 2nd letter of nonpayment, threatening impoundment if we do not pay immediately. we never got a first letter in which i would gladly pay the rightful toll amount, but threats i do not take idol. i am a member of legalshield and i got a lawyer from texas to help me with some advice. the first lawyer never dealt with NTTA and was trying to tell me just to pay it. so i asked to hear from a second lawyer who had experience with the NTTA. both from Ross & Matthews. the second lawyer came at me very aggressively when i was trying to explain the situation to him. he made it seem like i was a criminal with a conviction and with no recourse. i truly felt upset with his answer. because of the fact that the car is registered in my dads name( even though i was driving) i cant assume the responsibility for the debt nor is there a court to dispute the charge. if the debt continues, the lawyer yelled at me that there will be criminal charges. looking online ive found many people who have had complaints same as mine, all these people ask for a class action against NTTA. i personally am going to write the attorney general and see if i can get some positive feedback. i am a proud, taxpaying american who loves his country (more importantly the people in it) but if this kind of shady business continues, i will respectfullylegally remove myself from the union. i shouldn't have to resort to this, but it seems like corporations rig voting to get the big contracts that entrap people. NTAA has 50 years of complete authority. i understand the purpose of a toll and do not mind paying a toll fee, but 50$ for a one time use is criminal. i have always loved Texas for it self sufficiency but this is Extortion. even the threat of civil forfeiture can be applied here. i honestly believe that having private corporations be the absolute authority in any civil matter is VERY dangerous. i am now boycotting a state that i liked because i do not know how vast this Entity has become. i truly fear for the residents of texas. please rise to this transgression with unity and resolve and know that good people have your back. DO NOT let corporate tyranny be the law of the land.

    0 Votes
  • Za
    Zaki Khan Jan 21, 2016
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Can someone please initiate a class action lawsuit against NTTA?

    0 Votes
  • Pi
    PissedOffTX Mar 30, 2015

    NTTA has strategically chosen roads that form the veins of Dallas.
    It is so cumbersome and time consuming to avoid the toll roads...and NTTA knows this!
    The tollways are creating more traffic jams and slowing down travel.
    This is NOT good for the growth of progress of DFW.
    The future prosperity of DFW depends on SMART city planning and the use of multiple forms of transportation for commuters, including rail, bus, train, car, bike, and pedestrian.
    This is as outdated and draconian as the toll-roads of Old Feudal England.
    NTTA and the tollways gotta go!

    0 Votes
  • It
    itfpro Sep 21, 2014
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Here is a fact. The NTTA charges the toll based on "Real-Time" so when you travel through or close to a reader it scans your plate and toll tag. Problem is if you call and pay or add funds to your account the NTTA cannot give you "real-time" amounts so you pay what they say and then the system updates the not yet processed tolls, thus there is no way to pay the balance as its infinite. This is a clear scam. If the readers can scan in real-time and a record is produced immediately why is attaining this directly to the bill not valid. Here is what I think. I think the scanners are real-time but the accounting data if delivered electronically but the accounting is transferred manually and the "catch up" has proved to yield millions of dollars so why fix it if of course it really exists. I think if we are held to "real-time" meaning each time we go through the record is in fact electronically delivered to a database, then why are we not able to see the toll charge right after we go through? We see our bank deposits immediately. Well some don't until after midnight when manually the system updates right? This is why I believe NTTA deliberately hold u accountable for real time but cannot produce results in real time. Not good to the tune of millions. If they would do it correctly the cost to travel on the toll ways would be affordable to all and very little staffing to handle customer complaints would exist. Greed and ego is the only motive. SO why do we stand for it and I am sure we did not vote for it, then why cannot we the people stop the fraud. This is clearly fraud. Does anybody have solid evidence to the documents that expedited this plan? Does anybody remember the Dallas North Toll way deal? After the toll way was paid for there would be no more tolls? lol Guess what? Its never been finished...and when it was deemed complete they just jacked up the toll. Here's a better one, why if the NTTA is an independent corporation if so is the TXDOT and The Texas Highway Patrol in charge of policing the independently owned roads? My driveway is not patrolled by Texas DPS. Probably will be someday...lol I would love to be part of the investigative team and my credentials may be more than adequate. I can be reached at www.itfpro.com I would be happy to donate my experience to expose this mass injustice.

    0 Votes
  • Ja
    jade1526 Sep 19, 2014

    True just sent me a bill due "October 2 2014" the date of transaction 06/16/2012!!!

    0 Votes
  • No
    NoThankQ [user banned] Sep 06, 2014

    Yes, they're crooks. They're in bed with the Texas politicians, who are also crooks, Like Rick Perry. Next time, don't take the tollways.

    0 Votes
  • Te
    Texas Driver Sep 06, 2014

    This company frequently sends "first notice of Nonpayment" without ever sending out a first bill and charge a $10 admin fee for it.

    0 Votes
  • Si
    silylily Oct 10, 2013

    Does anyone know beforehand that the stupid NTTA charges you for statement fees? First of, that has never happened for any type of service I have ever encountered, whether it's a bank statement, credit card statement, or simply a statement from a doctor's office. There is no such thing as a statement fee. So NTTA decided to do just that, and they never let you know beforehand. There is no where that I could find that information until the charges appeared on my statement. Even if they explained or listed that information somewhere, it's hidden so well that it is impossible to find out. The only way for you to know is if you check your statement then realize there's a $1.50 charge. This is a total scam, charging customers fees that they are not made aware. Everyone knows you get charge or money deducted when you use their road, and fees if you do not pay your balance and so on. But we are not made aware of statement fees. They need to be sue for that because imagine how much money they have collected from people who do not know.

    0 Votes
  • Ar
    ArmedPatriot2 Aug 11, 2013

    I received a notice of nonpayment on August 10, 2013 for a bill in April for two days of travel on NTTA. I never received a bill for this passage before and it was for $19.43 but was charged $113.23 for administrative fees. I had received another bill from NTTA for $5.74 due 8/22/13 which I paid immediately. I always pay my bill when received promptly but never received the bill for the April passage. I had received bills from them before where they charged outrageous fees but always paid them immediately when I was notified. This seems to be the habit of the NTTA so that they can collect outrageous fees. They simply don't send out the bill in a timely manner and when they do send it the bill is so late it accompanies outrageous fees.
    I have quit traveling the tollways due to this abuse and overcharges as there is no way anyone can get justice for the scam that the NTTA is running against it users. We are guaranteed the right of due process but the State of Texas has worked a deal with NTTA to deny that right.
    Why didn't the bill of 8/22/13 notify me of a late bill? It seems that ineptitude is rewarded by overcharges by the NTTA.
    All that is needed for a class action is suit is 15 people to employ a lawyer and sue the NTTA. I will gladly join in any class action suit that is brought against the NTTA if made aware of it.
    I have contacted my state Senator and Representative but have not heard back from them

    0 Votes
  • Aj
    AJMoore Jul 21, 2013

    My bill was $34 and they didn't have the correct bank card info and charged me over $300!! When I went online to try and fix it they said my toll tag number didn't exist. Uh, excuse me? So you charge me an extra $300 because I missed the deadline and the toll number YOU gave me somehow didn't exist, but existed when I called you the next day? I'm a single working mom, this is a joke!

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Mark64 May 21, 2013

    Complaint against Texas Tag http://www.txtag.org/index.php
    I used the toll road to go to Austin and then come back to San Antonio.
    Being the first time using the toll road I was expecting an invoice in my home but I did not get it. Since I drive a company car my company got the bill in March 13th. There was an internal miscommunication and then we got a Notice of Violation for $39.96.
    The bill showed a due date of 5/22/13.
    On 5/21 I called to pay my bill by credit card (Tried to do it on line but the system did not allow me). When I called to pay the $39.96 they told me that the amount was not $39.96 but 87 and some dollars! I do not understand since the Notice of Violation [protected] was showing $39.96 and it showed it must be received by 5/22/13 to avoid additional fees.
    This motivates me not to use the toll road never again.
    I will also bring this complain to the Texas Department of Transportation.
    Marco

    0 Votes
  • Nt
    NTTACANGOFTHEMSELVES Apr 02, 2012

    I found this site by doing a search. I actually live out of state. I was visiting a relative who isn't doing so well in the dallas area. I just received an invoice dated 3/10/12 for toll charges from 12/11. That's right over a year old. I was actually in Dallas for a few months. They waited and sent ALL of the charges at ONCE. That's right, all 715.00 bucks worth. Can they not send them out in a timely matter? So, the bill was generated last month (march 2012) and has a due date of 4/10/12 and 4/12/12. I paid it. Seriously, this is one CROOKED business. I don't see how you guys that live here can put up with this sh!t. I'm glad we don't have this crap back home. IT'S GOD AWLFUL!

    0 Votes
  • Fr
    Fresamaria Sep 28, 2011

    Being a spanish speaking, i calles channel 23 UNIVISIÓN trying to get some support through community issues section. It seems like they are all sold out to the system. The lady gave me all kind of excuses and told me practically that it was my fault I didn't pay on time. Nothing that I didn't pay on time. They didn't send the first letters but the second with fees. When i explained i hadnt gotten the first letter and to please let me pay the original amount, they denied me the opportunity. ( this is is houston and i live in Dallas). Now from $4.50 I owe $129.50 and have a citation I. Houston, as if I don't have anything to do. When I called another day, they told me I owed $130.00 and now I have no idea. They sent me a certified letter saying they will immobilize my vehicle if I don't pay. (a 2011 Jetta that my daughter uses for her school) I dont think they will go that far without somebody stand up and fight this robbery. I am so willingly to Participate in a Class Action lawsuit. I will becoming to check on this site and let us know. I will be reasons other people comments as well. My citation in Houston will be in November 2011.

    0 Votes
  • 12
    123anonymous123 Sep 27, 2011

    Here is the way to not pay the administrative fees from NTTA.

    If you did not receive the bills, they cannot charge you extra fees. So that is a way out. If they are being unreasonable, one has to figure out ways around the system.
    1. request a change of address. (you can always change address again later).
    2. get a toll tag. (you may even get a discount on the original due amount)
    3. use the toll tag :) the system gets you anyway.

    1 Votes
  • Ar
    ArnHux Jun 10, 2011

    I heartily agree. Just got screwed out of $2XX! FXXX NTTA!

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    roquey May 25, 2011

    I guess my story is just like most of you. I bought a car in May of 2008 and that's when the trouble with the NTTA started though I didn't know it at the time. My "salesman" told me that I'd receive my first payment notice in 45 days. Well, 45 days came and went. On about the 52nd day, I got a call from the financier and they said I was late on my first payment. Well, I never got a notice from anyone. The dealership nor the finance company, no one tried to call and say, "Hey, you're late" untill that 52nd day. Wel it made m late on the 1st payment of course. Prior to this, I'd gone back to the dealership to get my tags. While I was there, no one said "Hey, where's your payment." When I picked up my tags, I noticed something. The dealership was supposed to send a copy of the contract to my address, but I hadn' received that either. The trip to the dealership told me what was wrong. I live in an apartment complex. During the car buying process, I gave the dealership my SSN#, DL#, and everything they needed that might have my FULL address on it. When they "attempted" to send the contract to me, they failed t put my apartment #on the envelope. Not only was it not on the envelope, they didn't give it to the finance company either. Somewhere along the way, the State of Texas didn't it either. Why? I only figured that the state dropped the ball also because it took the NTTA 2 years inform me that I have outstanding tolls. Not only do I have outstanding tolls, they want me to pay almost 40, 000 dollars for tolls totalling maybe 1, 500 dollars. Now, I admit, the vehiclewith my name on it has been utilizing the toll roads. I'm not trying to get out of paying the actual tolls. But you supposedly can't find me for 2 years, but you have my liscense plate#? Well, they found me at my old address, but it's the one where the dealership, the State of Texas, and NTTA couldn't figure out that I lived in an apartment complex. So, I'm supposed to come up with 10s of thousands of dollars because you're too lazy to do your job? The toll sign says, " keep going, we'll bill you." Really? Two years and 40K later?
    So what do I want from the NTTA? I want the 2 years to pay the tolls that I actually accumulated. I actual want to pay for what I actually did. But I don't want no 2.75 late charge, no 8.75 admin fee, or that totally outrageous 25.00 admin fee. I shouldn't have to pay any of that. Hell, because 3 supposed reputable entities, 2 being the State of Texas branched, didn't bother to do their homework over more than 2 years I feel that I don't owe them diddly-pooh. You know that this is? Highway robbery. As cliche-ish as the term it, this is nothing but robbing citizens for using the highway.
    Go luck to all you guys out there. If a class action suit is filed, you can bet your last dollar I'll stand front and center with all my paper work ready to add fuel to the fire.

    0 Votes
  • Ac
    ACS1981 May 16, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I found out in January that I hadnt been charged on my tag for almost a year because my credit card expired. I was never given a notice of this, sent an email, phone call etc. I was the one that called after receiving a yellow light at a toll booth.

    I was told that I owed about $50 but they would settle for about half of that. I told them I would pay when I can. I am a single struggling from pay check to pay check and would have to save up to pay.

    I received a letter to appear before a judge a few weeks ago. But the letter says to contact the customer service number first. So I call and find out that i owe $17, 000 from 20 different invoices. And a warrant will be issued for my arrest if I dont pay one of the invoices today ($247).

    I asked to see the invoices several times but never got a clear response.

    I called the court and they confirmed that a warrant will be issued if I dont appear within the next few weeks. But the clerk informed me that I had the option to plead "Not Guilty" and go against a representative from the NTTA and the DA.

    Im sick just thinking that they have the right to do this to people.

    0 Votes
  • Tr
    trenthamfamily Mar 23, 2011

    How can they charge someone a total of $627.41 on a principal balance due of only $27.41 without any explanation AND I don't recall ever getting a bill in the mail? Oh they reduced it to $450.14 for us and said we wouldn't go to jail, I wonder if the texas unemployment agency appreciates where the money they are giving me is going to.

    Any updates on what we can do?

    [email protected]

    0 Votes
  • Le
    leon ly Mar 17, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    My name Leon [protected]
    I need to post my story too about NTTA and asks NTTA company and chairman a simple question do you feel guilty the way your company made money by charged unlimited amount of penalty to thousands or millions of good US citizen or became victim of unlimited charged. I think NTTA company or president needs to think of other people and their family too,
    Here my story, I received 3 mails on 03/11: 1 mail with white invoice, two other mails with pink invocie. I called to NTTA CS and want to pay for balance of 3 invoice; white invoice balance $7.76 pink invoice balance $9.22 and 2nd pink invoice balance $10.26 NTTA CS told me I owed $120 for two pink invoice. When I heard I owed $120 of two pink invoices, my blood pressure goes up and has very headache. I asked NTTA CS for upper managers until I luckyly talked to Angela manager at NTTA. I explained to her that I have very headache because I need her help because NTTA said I owed $120 for two pink invoices, Here is important point, I told her that I have not received any notice of paymentand late from NTTA why NTTA charges me $120 penalty for toll service I used only balance $16.98 I asked Angela the same question "do you feel guilty the way your NTTA company made money by unethical to thousands and millions of good American, I also told her that your billing dept have an loophole of unfair billing mail process. I told her that thousands to millions of American need help for this victim acted by NTTA.
    I want to say thank you very to Angela for the listened and understood of fair and unfair NTTA practiced.
    God bless you and your entire family. Please help more people out there. Again God Bless you.

    0 Votes
  • Np
    npwm Mar 13, 2011

    http://www.corealaw.com/

    Corea law has filed a couple of class action law suits against the NTTA. If you would like to join the fight email [email protected] all of your tickets that HAVE THE ADMINISTRATION OR WHATEVER FEES

    For more information go to their website to get the number and call and ask.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    Dallaslouie Feb 24, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Tollways need to be shut down period, make them just regular highways to drive on.

    1 Votes
  • Re
    Reggie Lacross Feb 24, 2011

    I am in the same boat as every one else. I have over $780.00 for $11.00 dollars worth of tolls. This is CRAZY!!! It is not my problem that there is no one to hand your money too. I work in vermont 5 months out of the year and my mail is held at the post office, All my bills are paid online so I did not get my ntta bills untill I got back in town, Now with these crazy amounts. WE all need to do something about this! I will never take the toll again.

    1 Votes
  • Da
    Dallaslouie Jan 21, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    This needs to be stopped. People are already struggling survive and work to pay there bills. NTTA is hurting our economy to survive in life.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Linda Estes Jan 21, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    WHAT IS THE DEAL WITH GEORGE BUSH NORTH RIGHT AFTER 35...THEY HAVE THE ORANGE BARRELS IN PLACE FOR THE LAST TWO MONTH BLOCKING OFF LANES AND SLOWING TRAFFIC TO A HALT DURING RUSH HOUR...THEY HAVE NOT STARTED WORKING ON WHATEVER THEY ARE TRYING TO ACHIEVE. STUPID, STUPID, STUPID AND VERY FRUSTRATING WHEN YOU PAY TO USE GEORGE BUSH...SOMETHING HAS TO GIVE ON THIS [censor].

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Linda Estes Jan 21, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I AGREE ...SHUT THE NTTA DOWN... WE DO NOT NEED THEM. SHUT THEM DOWN. A BUNCH OF STUPID EMPLOYEE'S RUNNING THE DAM PLACE. YOU CALL THEM UP AND THEY ARE WORTHLESS. TAKES FOR EVER TO WORK YOUR INVOICES OUT. I ALSO SWARE I AM BEING OVERCHAREGED ON ALOT OF THESE INVOICE.

    0 Votes
  • Li
    Linda Estes Jan 21, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I am sick of being raped by the NTTA...I go to make payment to them on Saturday the weekend before Martin Luther King day...I drive a long distance to pay so it will not go inot a viloation. And guess what...they have a sign outside the door. The customer service department is closed. I am furious. Not only are their fines so dam steep, but they don't have to let the public know when the NTA office in Plano that is suppose to be open on Saturday's is closed. They have Monday for Martin Luther King day off. I AM TRYING TO AVOID THESE DAM TOLL ROAD...GEORGE BUSH ESPECIALLY...THEY ARE WORKING ON THE ROADS SO BASICALLY YOUR STUCK IN A TRAFFIC JAM DURING RUSH HOUR. WHY SHOULD WE PAY FOR THAT STUPID CRAP.

    1 Votes
  • Da
    Dallaslouie Oct 24, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    THE NTTA NEEDS TO BE SHUT DOWN. WE DO NOT NEED THEM, SHUT THEM DOWN.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Matt Bachelder Oct 02, 2010

    I also had a problem with ntta. I receive a number of invoices monthly. Ilose track of whats due when its due so I sent them a money order for twenty dollars. They applied the money order to one that was past due. Instead of applying the remainder to the next invoice in line they skipped to one that wasnt due for another two weeks. I didnt find this out till they sent me a bill for 257 dollars in administrative fees. I have all my paperwork to prove they were in the wrong but they are offering me an early settlment of 90 so I guess I just pay rather than fight lose and owe more later. Everything about it screams dont but I gotta fold this time. If anybody does get a lawsuit together I would definatley like in on it anything I can do to help.

    0 Votes
  • Em
    emlalonde Aug 11, 2010

    I received a late invoice for $9.49. This included a late fee on top of my $6.99 toll fees. The orginal Due Date was August 4, 2010. I received this invoice with the late fees added August 10, 2010. I called to try to make arrangements for this charge. I literally had $9.00 in my bank account and a week and a half until my next payday. With being a single mom(no child support help), in an economy the way it is, things are tough. I explained to the lady, on the telephone, that I only had $9 in my account, but I want to take care of this. I cannot afford the additional administrative fees. I was .49 short and she said there was nothing she could do. I was willing to give my last $9 to NTTA to cover the invoice. I cannot believe they get away with this way of practice. They are not willing to work with struggling people who are trying to do the right thing. I will never use NTTA again. I can always take the service road, which is free.

    0 Votes
  • Sa
    SaltnPepper Jul 27, 2010

    NTTA is an independent political subdivision of the state. It is a governmental entity not a private entity. It is subject to the laws of most governmental entities, however, it has significant authority to operate its business in manner that are not typical of other governmental entities. This was by design to allow them to work more nimbly and to deliver needed road projects more quickly.
    The NTTA board of directors are appointed by the county commissioners in Dallas, Tarrant, Collin and Denton. The governor appoints only one person. The current chair is from Collin County. So there's no conspiracy between the NTTA and the governor to bilk the public. NTTA's decision to milk the public is all their own doing and that of its board members who are not elected officials and are only accountable to their county commissioners. To some degree that was the way it was designed to avoid politicizing the construction for roads and related tolls. Within the last six years, particularly, under the leadership of the current chair, NTTA has become much more politicized and territorial and its decisions have been more to feed egos than the public interest. They try hard to convenience the public that they are interested in serving their customers and that the customer is their utmost motivation. But don't be fooled. It's all about money and power.

    They can "get away with" a lot of questionable activity because of the lack of accountability. The general public does not attend their meetings or assume they have a say in their policies or the ability to influence them. Their meetings are attended by folks who have a financial interest in getting contracts from the NTTA -- vendors and consultants trying to influence the board and get very lucrative contracts. There charges for violation should be challenged because the law says they can only charge what it costs them to collect. They have said more than once that the $25 fee is more than their cost, but they still impose it. That's unlawful.

    0 Votes
  • Hi
    Highway Robbery Jun 16, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have a tolltag acount with TxTAG for 4 years. NTTA recently began mailing me zipcash invoices for tolls I did not use.  The supervisor says over the phone and by email that they are legitimate tolls and there is no "double-billing". After many conversations with the supervisor, she refused to remove these charges.  Many of  the charges are $1.17 for one location.  On one occasion the invoice shows a charge for $5.85 for the same location. There is even a charge from toll use one year ago. This one shows on my TxTAG acount and has been paid.  NTTA will not remove these charges.  They said they will reduce them to the discounted rate if I purchase tolltags from them.

    0 Votes
  • Ki
    kirkseyb Apr 21, 2010

    I got a $1500 bill, for neglecting the toll fees. $25 dollars everytime. I talked to them, and they did me the favor of knocking it down to $550! For $40 something dollars worth of toll. When I paid it in person, they acted like it's everyday business, so nonchalant, but I was fuming, and they have highway patrolmen to keep anyone in check. Talk about strong-arming. I had to take out a direct deposit cash advance from my checking account just to cover. I'll gladly put in a few bucks to get an attorney to class action suit NTTA.

    0 Votes
  • Ti
    TimeForRevolution Apr 15, 2010

    We the People have all the God given power within ourselves to stop being bullied and robbed by these pitiful punks... be it big government or the damned ntta. Just by shear numbers we're guaranteed to win if we chose to stand together and fight like our forefathers of this country once did. But here we sit like weaklings, wait for someone to come and save us and bail us out... NO, that's not going to happen. We will have to save ourselves or bear the consequences; whatever they may be.

    Here's how its done:
    1. pay attention to current events;
    2. don't fall for the ### the media is feeding you; it lies.
    3. vote anyone who lies to you, even once, out of office;
    4. vote anyone who tries to take any freedom from you out of office. my idea of being free is 'if I am not physically hurting someone, then leave me alone';
    5. punish judges who wrongly convict (an eye for an eye);
    6. bind together as people, it makes you stronger. many people do not even know their neighbors.
    7. be willing to take up arms as a last resort. if that scares you, then you have already lost.

    God be with you.

    0 Votes
  • Wi
    withoutend Apr 05, 2010

    I despise the NTTA as well.
    I had a tolltag for awhile due to an hour long commute that would have been longer if i did not use the toll way. I stopped using the toll way and all the sudden bills came at me left and right from months before. I attempted to get rid of it, but then i found out i had to keep it due to a 11.00 charge that turned into 400.00 fine because it was late 2 weeks (i was out of town and had no idea)
    So I had to keep the toll tag for 6 more months- then my car broke down and is no longer working so there is still $42.00 i will never use or get back- and plus the charge of 1.50 for every bill statement!
    I do not use the TOLL WAY anymore-
    I still get bills from 2 years AGO that [I'm assuming] they just processed!
    it's never ending-

    0 Votes
  • Gr
    gracebrown Apr 02, 2010

    All this is Know happening to me and my amount is hugeeeeeee, not paying not more money to use the freking highway, that is built with our taxes, they can take me to jail as far as im concern im pistttt, this is crazy! people can not the cost of leaving like this, if anyone knows in a way to help me let me know, email [email protected] not joking pplease thanks

    0 Votes
  • An
    andrewbenedict07 Mar 07, 2010

    10 TOLLS ADD UP TO 255 BUCKS!! I GOT A "FINAL INVOICE" AS A FIRST INVOICE?! I send them a letter and it gets returned with my check for 10.45 that i owed in tolls, told them thats all the money they were getting from me because i did not run ANY tolls, when i called they told me I ran thru the tolltag lanes without a tag, WHEN THE MANNED BOOTHS WERE BARRICAIDED CLOSED! RICK PERRY NEEDS TO GO DOWN, if ANYONE wants to team up with me to take these CROOKS down email me at [email protected]

    I WILL FIGHT THIS ALL THE WAY TO COURT, I HAVE WITNESSES WHO WILL TESTIFY WE DID NOT RUN ANY TOLLS...THEIR SYSTEM IS MESSED UP AND WE SHOULD NOT LET THIS GO ON ANY LONGER

    HOW CAN THIS HAPPEN SOMEONE EMAIL ME WE NEED A CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT AGAINST THESE ###.

    0 Votes
  • We
    WendyBonds Feb 22, 2010

    I got a call from collections for $400+, after calling NTTA and explained THAT I PAID MY BILL in Jan. 2010 for $79.00. They are telling me the $400+ in colections is from a seperate "invoice" number from October for $12.00. This makes absolutely no sense and I will pay a lawyer $400 before I pay them!

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions

    Submit

    IN THE NEWS

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints.
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues.
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices.
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people.
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem.
    Do a little research on the seller. Visit consumer complaint websites like ComplaintsBoard.