The complaint has been investigated and
resolved to the customer's satisfaction
Resolved
Mate1scam site

OK, I am about to finish my month on Mate1. The negative comments continue to be true. Let me say that I signed on to this five years ago, and it was NOT like this. I did meet people. NOW, it is ONLY a den of porn stars, and marriage scams. I found only one person that was where they said they were, and she was in Malaysia. Mere in Ghana, Nigeria or Malaysia but claimed they were in the US, on their profile. If you take one line of their profile and put it into Google, you find that very often that same line is associated with many pics on different sites. I blocked 40 people who directed you to porn sites or were clear romance scams. After canceling, I did spend the last few days to see if I could find a real person. Just anyone, even less than desirable. I could not find more than two in a month, one was in Ghana and the other was in Malaysia. They seem nice, although you never know. Again, five years ago, this was a neat site, now it is just horrible. It should be shut down, it is a scam.

I see now that they do not charge women at all. I watched many of these scammers just change names and show up in my face, again. They should charge a small fee for women if they want to regain a semblance of credibility. When I paid for this, my bank, called me. They wondered if someone had accessed my account. since they are sure this is a scam site. ( That may be related to the overcharging people complain about. I have not had that yet. ) A couple of things, you can tell that they are working girls if the age range they are looking for, is bizarre, for instance it is often 30-90. If they put their email in the profile that is a sign. They do not have to pay, and so, it is not like they are trying to avoid paying by putting their email there. Again, I could not find one person who was in the country, not one. This is just horrible. ( I will remain on here to respond to what are clearly people who troll this in support of this scam site and post the names of the blocked people and other data if necessary. )

I logged off, and the month for which I paid ended, I am not sure if I can post the names of the 40 profiles I blocked. I will try to do so if challenged. Finally, they say that they will ban these people, but they never do so. Not once, each time they kept their names and continued or changed their names. Now, often they would delete the picture they were using.

Responses

  • Sh
    Shonda Flowers Oct 27, 2007
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    He has Sexually asalted his wife. Possibility that will occur again to others.All women look out. He is physically violent to all females. Requesting membership to be cancelled.

    0 Votes
  • Da
    darkchocolate Aug 12, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i have been on mate1 4 bout a year & now they just drop me off ive tried 2 contact them 2 make i have the rite password but they want respone

    0 Votes
  • Da
    David jacobs Aug 24, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I only signed up for a 3 day trial period..So i tried it for 3 days and after my trial period was up i went to cancel my membership and the site wouldnt let me go to into their website to cancel..My email is [protected]@yahoo.com please get back to me asap...

    0 Votes
  • Pa
    paul dovenberg Nov 21, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    on the last day of free trial I was unable to cancel so I was billed for service I did not want. The did however let me cancel the next day. Total rip off!

    0 Votes
  • Mi
    michelle Dec 02, 2008
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    these 2 days (1 and 2 Dec, 2008) there are no pictures shows/appear on all mate 1 profiles. Why? What is the problem? Please solve this. Thank you.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    charles malone Mar 08, 2009

    I am being billed $49.95 a month for services I don't want, when I talked to customer service they say I need a password, which I never had, need to stop being billed!!

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jerry Dunbar Jun 20, 2009

    Continue to bill my credit card after cancelled membership, could never get there email service to work

    0 Votes
  • Dd
    ddmdunn Aug 26, 2009
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i have called them several times to stop my membership. i get put on hold & then after a certainh amount of time passes i am disconnected.

    0 Votes
  • Jo
    jojo4026 Sep 04, 2009

    I AM JOJO4026 I WANT OFF OF YOUR MATE1 I WILL BE NOTIFYING MY ATTORNEY IF I AM NOT REMOVED IMMEDIATELY. I AM NOT SEARCHING FOR WOMEN . I MIGHT HAVE PUSHED THE WRONG THING I AM NOT INTERESTED IN WOMEN BELIEVE ME. I DON'T WANT TO HEAR FROM YA'LL AGAIN. I DO NOE WANT ANY E-MAILS FROM MATE1 EVER. GET ME OFF!!!

    0 Votes
  • Ha
    Haroldo Lara Jan 07, 2010

    This annoucement for a mate made in MATE1 could cover a fake person or fake photo, under not too clear organization of persons in Ogorodu -Lagos - Nigeria.<br />
    Worth to check in about it. Could hide cheeting goodwill members MATE1

    0 Votes
  • Lu
    Luis Figueredo Jan 12, 2010

    This Agency charged me two months of service, without my authorization, charging my credit card, I don, t really know how they got the card number, I am positive I never send them, that information

    0 Votes
  • An
    anthony davis Mar 10, 2010

    Last nite my brother Micheal Sledge entered his credit card so that I could access the three trial of your service. I recieved conirmation but still can't properly access the service. I would like the three day free trial, but if not take the charge off his card.

    0 Votes
  • Te
    terry pettyjohn Apr 10, 2010

    Billed credit card after canceling

    0 Votes
  • tjulian48 Aug 15, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    Would like to have more details. I have made contact.

    0 Votes
  • Di
    Dick McCreery Sep 18, 2010
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    I have emailed Mate!.com on three different complaints, asking for a cancellation of membershipwith no response from them and they continue to take the fees formembership out of my checking account. I want to cancel aid membership and to be able to get the fees back into my account. Please help me with this problem.

    0 Votes
  • Bo
    BobInNewOrleans Oct 22, 2010

    Mate1.com charged me $49.95 without my knowledge or permission from an old account I had closed a long time ago.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    ron embrey Jun 25, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    the reason i want off of this is because i dont want to talk to someone in new york or neb alb i wanted local.

    0 Votes
  • Ro
    ron embrey Jun 25, 2011
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    i wanted locals not new york or or someother place 2000 mile away

    0 Votes
  • Li
    LINDAfLYNN Mar 27, 2012
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    someone PLEASE tell me how to unsubscribe to mate 1...

    0 Votes
  • Kl
    klippfilm Sep 11, 2012

    I WANT TO UNSUBSCRIBE FROM MATE1. I HAVE NO MORE MONEY AVAILABLE. MY COMPLAINT IS THAT I CANNOT UNSUBSCRIBE. I AM PREPARED TO CALL THE FCC AND REPORT THIS. I WANT TO BE UNSUBSCIBED NOW.

    [protected]@att.net [protected]

    0 Votes
  • Kl
    klippfilm Sep 11, 2012

    THE ONLY COMPLAINT I HAVE IS THAT I CANNOT UNSUBSCRIBE FROM MATE1. PLEASE UNSUBSCRIBE ME.

    0 Votes
  • Ge
    george clouser Sep 13, 2012

    charging monies fraudently

    0 Votes
  • Mate1 Support Sep 13, 2012

    We're sorry to hear about any disagreements or issues with our services. Mate1.com is committed to finding a solution for its members and offers some of the best Customer Support available in the online dating industry, including toll-free phone support available Monday through Friday [protected], or [protected] if you are outside North America), round-the-clock email support from our help page - http://www.mate1.com/nw/faq - as well as a live chat support feature available during normal business hours. Many similar sites offer only limited support options, some lacking even a phone number to get in touch with their staff. We’re even open for most holidays, and we post specific holiday hours directly on our Contact Us page when we’re not.

    Please get in touch with our Customer Support team regarding any issues you are experiencing, or any technical difficulties you have encountered and we'll be happy to try and resolve them with you. That's what we're here for!

    For additional options, please access our Help/Contact Us page from within your account itself after logging in, which you can do from this link:

    http://www.mate1.com/nw/login

    0 Votes
  • Be
    becareful674 Oct 03, 2012

    Oh yes, when you screen the profiles by putting snippets of them into Google, I did find three that had been men in the past. Net, I documented that you are not even talking to someone of the correct sex at times.

    0 Votes
  • I am not looking for Love on mate1, but We already have something in common.
    Being at the Right Place at the Right Time is the Answer.

    CB is for Lovers...
    It's up to you to take a chance.

    There is just so much to learn.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    becareful674 Oct 03, 2012

    sorry for a bad edit. In the third line, It said Most were, and somehow turned out Mere. oh well.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    becareful674 Oct 03, 2012

    A very common ploy is for the girls to ask you to their web cam. So, I would play along to see just what they were up to, and so I could docuement exactly what they were doing. FIrst of all, they ask you about the mate1 video cam upgrade. That is the giveaway, there is no such thing. But I would let them send me the link, so that I could document the process. Most often the link would LOOK just like a mate1 web page and tell you to put in your credit card information. At other times, it would send you to another dating web site.

    0 Votes
  • Mate1 Support Oct 03, 2012

    Hi becareful674. We thank you for bringing this matter to our attention. We do try our best to prevent and eliminate fraud from appearing on our site, and are constantly removing profiles of members engaging in any prohibited conduct, however, we are unable to identify all potential fraud in advance. We don't want such members on the site any more than our customers do. Unfortunately, the Internet is not the same place it was 5 years ago. High speed internet has become much more widespread, and more readily available globally, including in some countries where such activity is known to be commonplace, such as Nigeria and Ghana. Scam rings have become so sophisticated that even social networking giants like Facebook have reported vast numbers of such users on their sites. See for example http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/08/02/facebook-83-million-fake-users-active-accoutns_n_1733111.html

    As technology increases, cyber crimes will follow, so this is a phenomenon which will only get worse and worse as the years go by.

    Notwithstanding the foregoing, we want to reassure you that we are constantly devising methods to prevent and limit this type of activity. . One of the most important ways, of course, is to educate the population on how to avoid these online predators, and many of the ploys and tactics you mention that scammers use are noted on our website in the "Fraud Protection" section. We can also reassure you that the vast, vast majority of our members have always been, and continue to be, real people and that such false profiles are removed as quickly as possible.

    Please note that we offer a link at the bottom of each Site page entitled "Fraud Protection". This link provides warning to our Members about various types of online scams. We also provide several ways for our Members to report people who are violating our Terms and Conditions. The "Report a Problem" link beside every user's nickname can be used for this purpose, or you can email us at [protected]@mate1.com. Once the report or email is received by us, a trained agent will investigate the matter and if the Member in question is found to be in violation of our Terms and Conditions, his/her Profile will be removed and his/her Membership terminated.

    We apologize for any inconvenience that this might have caused, and thank you for your assistance in helping us to keep Mate1® a safe place. We hope that you continue to enjoy your Mate1® Membership. Please get in touch with us directly if we can be of any further assistance.

    Yours Truly,
    Mate1 Customer Support
    http://www.mate1.com

    0 Votes
  • Be
    becareful674 Oct 03, 2012

    lol, you barely responded to my complaints and never blocked anyone, i checked.

    0 Votes
  • Oh Yeah... I can see where grammar/ spelling would be important in your Online Fantasy World.
    Real Women look you in the face, not through a Monitor.

    If you are not FAT, BALDING OR UGLY, perhaps you will post a current pic. of Yourself here on CB, and let the Real Women decide why you are single( again?).

    And I challenge you to post the 40 profiles you say you have.

    I'm just playing along...

    0 Votes
  • Be
    becareful674 Oct 04, 2012

    sWeEtlOrEn
    sexyroxanne06
    rOxAnnE0913017
    Nathalie6848
    2hot4uxxx
    judsssss2327
    sexylady808370
    eVryLilThi6206 she was particularly persistent, changing her pic and what not.
    sweetkiss84388
    SweetAngel9654
    YourLOVE3072
    honestbabe6664
    YourLOVE1954
    Email FlirtChat
    love6479
    shy226244
    YourLOVE0654
    Andrea07271
    mee3213
    liza321489
    jkdnee
    homealone1456
    sharonj2002
    saratulove12
    lovingnattt
    sherwinboo
    truelove9670
    fish2012
    mee5656
    heart321
    lonelygirl5225
    love3891
    kissyte
    sweetkaye58962
    sweet7728
    me68745236
    shy33639
    mee6681
    qwerty026910
    cutiegirl256
    sab123
    hottie8824408

    These are the folks that I blocked, Thanks for asking.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    becareful674 Oct 04, 2012

    Looking at the log, the flirts continued even after I had finished my month on this service. That is pretty funny. They just keep on coming. Again, when someone did that, I would follow up. It would happen as often as it is still happening. I found ONLY working girls in following up. To be clear, I just copy pasted the screen names of people who flirted with me in the last four days. My last day on that service was Sept 30.
    mimi3737 flirted with you1 day ago
    Someone emailed you1 day ago
    emmyheart flirted with you1 day ago
    sexlardy flirted with you2 days ago
    Someone emailed you2 days ago
    loveme7996 flirted with you2 days ago
    cutie856 flirted with you2 days ago
    Jessy199 flirted with you2 days ago
    Jessy199 flirted with you2 days ago
    Jessy199 flirted with you2 days ago
    prettydiva0045 flirted with you2 days ago
    sandra4422e flirted with you2 days ago
    Haillove37 flirted with you3 days ago
    kate15808 flirted with you3 days ago
    cynthia0140468 flirted with you3 days ago
    Love723884 flirted with you3 days ago
    veronicaxxx flirted with you3 days ago

    0 Votes
  • Be
    becareful674 Oct 04, 2012

    Logging on right now, I can see several familiar faces with different names. if they charged you for each name or kept you from changing names, then that would not happen. This not rocket science, it is just fraud on the part of mate1.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    becareful674 Oct 04, 2012

    That is it for me, I have made my complaint. You can talk amongst yourselves.

    0 Votes
  • Thank you for sharing.

    0 Votes
  • Mate1 Support Oct 11, 2012

    Hi becareful674,

    Just to clarify, Mate1 does not allow members to change their Nicknames on the site for precisely this reason. More than likely, these members have already been blocked or banned from the site, and have simply created a new account or accounts with the same or similar pictures and information. Unfortunately in this day and age and with the onset and ease of social media, it is not difficult to obtain fake photos or profile information. We definitely appreciate you bringing these profiles to our attention as we continue to look into the matter for you. We try to make it easy for Members to simply report users who violate our Terms of Membership, and to ignore or even Block those they do not wish to correspond with.

    Please don't hesitate to contact us about this in you have any further questions or concerns.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    becareful674 Oct 20, 2012

    The change their name all of the time. I watched it happen and documented it. Again, none of these folks were banned in the 30 days I was on the site, AND mate1 only responded to about four or five of my complaints. Again, I am not one to complain easily. However, once I do, I am pretty detailed about it. This is my first complaint on this complaint board.

    I found a security system that could care less. This complaint was a further test. When you get a poor outfit like this, they routinely defend themselves when they receive a complaint that MAY affect their future revenue. Even though they could care less about the running of the site.

    0 Votes
  • Be
    becareful674 Oct 20, 2012

    Before I realized that I should open my own complaint, I did complain under another thread. THIS fellow responded to that thread. You can find what I wrote there by searching my screen name. He totally agreed with me, in less detailed fashion.

    11th of Oct, 2012 by got2go46 0 Votes

    I totally agree with the opinion that this is a scam site. After only a month on this site, I met over 20 women from Ghana or other places outside of the U.S. Many women tried to say they were citizens of the U.S. but after only a few questions, I could quickly tell they had no clue as to our language or the city they claimed to live in. I would not advise anyone to fall for this scam site.

    0 Votes
  • Le
    leslie campney Oct 29, 2012

    i want to be unsubscribed from this sight i never signed up and i don't appreciate getting mail from men unsubscribe me now!

    0 Votes
  • Ab
    abubakaremery Jan 30, 2013
    This comment was posted by
    a verified customer
    Verified customer

    im wraiting for some one

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    By clicking Submit you are agreeing to the Complaints Board’s Terms and Conditions