Maruti Swift Dieselnew swift diesel engine complaint

1

I bought a new Maruti Suzuki Swift diesel, last week. The same say itself, the car's engine was too much noisy and engine getting turned off automatically while driving. I reported this to the dealer and they are helpless in rectifying it and they said that the complaint is registered with maruti, but nothing happened till now.

Responses

  • Ni
    Nitin Mar 08, 2007

    Dear Premjee,

    This is very surprising, as the car runs perfectly with me. I have not had any trouble with it. Would suggest you to check the quality of fuel as I believe that some petrol pumps mix Naptha with diesel to cheat the customers and make money...

    Do write back if the situation improves with my suggestion.

    0 Votes
  • Sr
    Sreenivas Mar 15, 2007

    So far every thing is great with my Swift diesel, i have couple of my friends who are using diesel Swift, they dont have any complaints so far from them either. Lovely car to drive. One can really enjoy the driving. May be the dealer need to fix the Idling of the engine... honestly no clue... good luck.

    0 Votes
  • Am
    Amandeep Singh Brar Apr 14, 2007

    I am from moga [Punjab]. In our state Maruti dealers are taking 20,000 to 30,000 premium on Swift Diesel. They don't even book car on control rate saying that the car is not available. But after taking extra money [premium] they delivered you the car in 2-3 days.

    0 Votes
  • Ma
    Manuj Darshan Apr 24, 2007

    I have driven this car. It's absolutely silent engine. Please tune in your ECM with the dealer.

    0 Votes
  • Ch
    charlie george May 10, 2008

    One thing I am sure.This Premji is a liar! that's all I know now!

    0 Votes
  • Re
    RejithTG May 15, 2008

    I have a Swift Diesel car. Some times am also getting same complaint only while applying break.that time its getting turned off wih that signals EPS and all.several times i got the complaint..Its too dangerous when we applying breaks in turningthat time we cant control steering .

    0 Votes
  • Je
    Jeny Jun 19, 2008

    I m also facing the same problem where the engine might turned off while applying the clutch and brakes and we cant control the steering at that time.

    0 Votes
  • Me
    Melroy Fernandes Nov 04, 2008

    my frnd is owning a swift diesel vehicle which has clocked abt 19, 000 kms. with the 20k servicing already done, just few months back after the servicing( not immediately after servicing), the vehicle reported with a very abnormal engine noise

    ((ie. a sort of valve play noise [[kat-kat]] & specially when the vehicle is picking up..i.e..in the 1st gear, after which the noise disappears & the vehicle just runs fine just like a normal one)))

    The following are the diagnoses done on the vehicle (even after which the pblm. Persisted) :

    1) When the vehicle was 1st brought to the service station the 1st thing they checked was the condition of the diesel fuel. The entire fuel was drained and refilled with new diesel with a new filter as well. However the problem still persisted.
    2) The next thing they did was replaced the oil with new one and also added an additive. no change.
    3) Than they removed & checked the turbo charger. But that was also fine...with no flaw in it.
    4) The next was cleaning of the EGR. even than the pblm persisted
    5) The compression of the cylinders was checked & found ok
    6) The connecting bearings were checked for wear and damage, but were ok.
    7) The fuel pressure reading was checked & compared with another swift, was found ok.
    8) The injectors were than repl. on another vehicle & were found 2 b ok.
    9) ECM put on another veh. & checked.
    10) Than on consulting with some top maruti engg. they decided to open the tappet cover to check the HLAs (hydraulic lash adjuster) & they did observe that 2 of the HLAS were punctured..which they repl. with new ones (it was informed that the new HLAs does not require priming as they are self primed & will fill up on driving abt 50 to 70 kms...)

    Still the pblm persisted. So they removed the tappet cover again & checked the HLAs. Those replaced b4 were halfl filled & were ok, , with the opposite HLAs being punctured. They were however half filled & were found ok. Even though they replaced the entire HLA set. (this time by priming them, which was successful [only priming] )...no change with the noise..
    11) Than after few days the fuel pump (in fuel tank along with the gauge) was put for another swift vehicle...which was also found to b ok.
    12) lastly the engine has been removed & sent on the lathe for checking the bores & other wear out. Awating the same in anticipation.

    If anybody hav come across such pblm or has got anyone who can help in diagnosing this pblm…plz share

    1 Votes
  • Sa
    saju mon Mar 06, 2009

    i have been experiencing same problem since my second service.that time i thought it was normall sound of all swift diesel engine.After that only i got chance to drive my friends cars.Then i came to know that my car having problem.now the car is in servise station still they cant find out the problem.If anybody hav come across such pblm or has got anyone who can help in diagnosing this pblm…plz share

    1 Votes
  • Da
    darpan Mar 24, 2009

    Hi guys ... can you tell me which engine you are using ... old Quadrajet or the new CRDi engine of swift

    0 Votes
  • Am
    Amandeep S Arora May 31, 2009

    hi guys
    i v a Tvs Scooty pep +.. want to sell it... If anybody wnts to buy it then he/she can contact me at: 9814146707, 2780343
    asarora
    669/8-b, chd...
    160009

    0 Votes
  • Am
    Amandeep S Arora May 31, 2009

    SIR
    I think u should go for the new Indica Vista Quadrajet... it's better thn the maruti swift diesel...
    asarora

    0 Votes
  • Ab
    Abhi Jun 11, 2009

    Yes mine too. I was thinking that it will go in after first service but it still persists and around 2000 rpm when turbo kicks in, it sounds like you are driving a tractor, becomes very noisy.

    Taking it today to acer, hyderabad . Will update all

    0 Votes
  • Ab
    Abhi Jul 14, 2009

    Melroy, kindly update us, what happened to your swift thereafter. In my case, I was told by the dealer that all swift get this noise and this is usual, to avoid it change gears earlier than 2000 rpm, funny isn't it

    0 Votes
  • Av
    AVD Aug 19, 2009

    It seems that the new swift models of 2008 are having this problem in particular. I had complaints of engine making 'cranking' sound if u push the engine bit on higher speeds in initial gears. Also the engine is noise when it is on idle position very unlikely for CRDI engine. The beauty of the problem is its occurrence. Every time I take my car to dealer, she drives so nicely that I need to face embarrassment :(

    There is absolutely no use if u ask Maruti Service engineers or head of them to help on it. They will give u some engineering definitions about it & very smartly wont write that in service check list. Even the dealer engineers privately admit that they have told parent co about the problem of excessive noise & they are trying to solve it.

    If your facing this problem them
    1. Do ensure that in your free service job cart to mention that & always keep your complaint open at dealers post servicing survey for future recourse. Also ask for a dealer rating survey letter from your dealer that the parent Martui conducts.
    2. Drive your car for a minimum distance of 20-km everyday & on some highways on weekend. Pls note diesel car are meant to be driven & pls do so.
    3. See if you are getting a low millage, if yes then get it corrected.
    4. Use Diesel additive of 3M or other company. Best you can do is to keep engine in optimum condition. Also after 15K go for 3M de-carbonizing treatment of 3M.
    5. As mention in previous post of long check the tappet.It can be issue for excessive noise at idle condition. check for that with other dealer & not the same where you are currently servicing your vehicle.

    I am yet to do step 4 & 5. Currently cranking sound has minimized post regular use of car & millage is also improved.

    If you have any remedy for that or able to solve this problem do let me know. As you I love my car but this problem is denting on my pleasure of driving with no support at all from 'Maruti' who seems to be busy in just selling as many diesel I they can...

    0 Votes
  • Va
    Valav Sep 09, 2009

    Hi,

    I too have the same complaint . I get a lot of noise nowadys. Car has run 25K and after service i hear hell loto f noise and they service engineers say the problem is wth tyre. My tyres are good but they don agress and say tyre noise is a common complaint from maruti. Especially with JK tyre which the company provides when u buy. I don understand when the know they have a problem why don they change the tyres and deliver to the coustomer.

    I have taken the issue wuth the maruti Regional manager here. If iam not satisfied aim not sure whom the next level i need to approach.

    If some one aware of how to take the complaint to Maruti please let me kn ow.( [email protected])

    0 Votes
  • Sh
    shivendrab. Nov 15, 2009

    i have palio elx petrol engien, i would like to change it to diesel...
    can anybody suggest, which engien is best fit to palio...

    0 Votes
  • Ri
    Riyaz KRash Dec 05, 2009

    Yes Premjee...
    Infact i am writing this post just as my sister called in saying the same problem while she was driving.
    At first, the EPS (power steering Orange indicatr) lights up and steering wheel hardens. soon after all other warnings come up and engine shuts down..
    Another problem is that, sometimes the car fails to start again after this issue. I had to take off the key and put it back and crank again.. When i try cranking again without taking out the key, it does not crank up.
    One of my office mate owns a DZire mileage under 5000km experience the same problem twice..
    I hav experienced it around 6-7 times

    Sounds like a ECU bug. or something..

    0 Votes
  • Re
    RejithTG Jan 08, 2010

    I have same Complaint for my swift Diesel like Engine getting turned off when we applay break and cluch.its too dangerous while turnign and also...I have this issue for the past 3 yrs.

    0 Votes
  • De
    Deepgoa Aug 16, 2010

    hi
    i have the dzire and run 40k now. the engine noise level has increased and engine off problem also exists. the engine suddenly goes off while driving when clutch is pressed. as such power stearing becomes inactive. but engine restarts after clutch is released due to car in motion. my model is of sept 2008. i have tried diesel at diff pumps and now i use extramile fuel. the noise level is high with normal diesel and lower with extramile.
    have not received any feedback on the problem from maruti.
    VJ

    0 Votes
  • Su
    sujikarthi Sep 26, 2011

    marthi swift ecm board not working

    0 Votes
  • Ka
    karthik reddy Jul 12, 2015

    My brand new swift diesel (face lift version - 2014) has got 4500 kms on it. Ever since the completion of the second service, the vehicle reported with a very abnormal engine noise, which I have never experienced this kind of sound neither before dropping it off for the second service nor during the first service. When I got the car checked by the service dealer, they checked the engine by connecting some kind of electronic device (DST) and they said that the engine is normal as usual and they said that diesel engines cannot be tuned like petrol engine to reduce the engine sound and that everything is automatically controlled by ECM. I don't know what to do next and i'm totally unhappy with my car...any suggestions plz!!!

    0 Votes
  • Su
    Suresh Kumar Jan 14, 2016

    my swift diesel make a sound shooooo when x1000 rpm needle reach 1.5 and press the accelerator my swift model 2010 vdi i discuss some automobile maintenc worker the say it is aproblem of terbo

    0 Votes

Post your comment

    In The News

    Unhappy consumers gather online at Complaintsboard.com and have already logged thousands of complaints
    If you see dozens of complaints about a certain company on ComplaintsBoard, walk away.
    One of the largest consumer sites online. Posting here your concerns means good exposure for your issues
    A consumer site aimed at exposing unethical companies and business practices
    ComplaintsBoard is a good source for product and company gripes from especially dissatisfied people
    You'll definitely get some directions on how customer service can best solve your problem